Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tamboleiro Hospedaria

Ladeira do Carmo, 07 - Centro , Santo Antonio, Salvador, CEP 40301410, Brazil

#14 of 78 B&Bs and Inns in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 81 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to drive to, narrow cobbled one way streets...but worth the effort!

    We had a lovely apartment in the historic centre of Salvador! Full kitchen and sitting area overlooking the street, bedroom is off the street and totally quiet. Secure parking close to apartment. Hostess Edith is wonderful with lots of information (ask her if you can visit her rooftop) and she serves a lovely breakfast in your apartment. Great little restaurant Mafalda downstairs as well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very nice and the property manager Claire was very helpful and even helped booked a trip around the island. Would definitely come back here

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For non-Portuguese speakers communication with maids will be difficult. Only the landlady speaks Spanish and German as an addition to Portuguese. It was a shame we were told we could not stay in 2 hours after the check-out (our flight was late in the evening) even though our room was still empty 4hours later when we got back to take our luggage to the airport. But all in line with hotel policy so no complaints here, basically. Also, the contents of the fridge is actually a mini bar. The landlady made us think it is for free but at the check-out we were charged R$30 for a bottle of water and 4 beers. Quite pricey for Salvador!

    First of all, we were able to check into the apartment late at night which was a blessing at 1:00am in Salvador (trust me). However, not all Uber drivers know how to get to Tamboleiro (our driver did not know and it gave us quite an “excitement” on the road). Follow the location indicated on the map and do not rely on the address itself. The breakfast was adequate - simple but it sufficed until lunch. The location is great - really in the heart of Salvador’s old town. The apartment is spacious. Our room (101) overlooked the street so loud music was playing all day long (and some part of the night too) but we liked it! Radio stations in Salvador are really great :) Air conditioning was good - both the ventilator and classic A/C combined ensured the right temperature. WiFi signal was strongest in the kitchen but passable in the bedroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no complaints

    very spacious and clean, good breakfast, very friendly and supportive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Room Apartament (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No notie o era muito alto

    Staff was very kind and had delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, super friendly and helpful family-owners, delicious breakkie, and lovely area with shops & restaurants!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only owner spoke a little English. Bed and pillows were not confortable.

    Excellent location. Nice rich breakfast served in our room. Spacious apartment on third floor and backside so not too noisy. Avoid rooms facing the Main Street. I.e 101, 201, 301

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All over Salvador it is noisy all times of the day and night. The day time the boisterous music and general noise level is welcome but less so at 3 am. This is all over Bahia not just at our location. Just bring ear plugs to sleep.

    Tha staff is a complete delight. The breakfast delicious. Location is great. I highly recommend Tamboleiro Hospedaria.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you have a room at the front, then the street noise is an issue, but with ear plugs and a closed bedroom door, it is manageable. I slept Ok. The bar 5-10 metres across the road closes very late, at least 2.00 in the morning. It's the only negative on what is a nice, central place to stay.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Offered me a higher floor room on my last night to help with the noise from the bar across the road. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Bedrooms have their own door which helps considerably with the street noise. The restaurant Pysco on the ground floor is a great place for lunch or dinner and is run separately. The chef is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It can be a bit noisy depending on the people on the street.

    Owner and staff very kind and helpful, great breakfast, nice and clean room, very good location

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff is very caring.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location in centre of old town. Very helpful and nice owner.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful Large room, great breakfast in the room

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff doesn't speak English

    central location, breakfast room service, friendly staff

Showing 1 - 14

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil