Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Galé Salvador 4 stars

Rua Morro do Escravo Miguel, 320, Ondina, Salvador, CEP 40140-610, Brazil

#51 of 162 hotels in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2485 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartament
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 2 lifts; the lift on the left didnt go to 7th floor. Basic maintenance things like this didnt work all around the hotel. the jacuzzi didnt have hot water, swimming pool water was very cold, and sun only until 1pm; they overcharged for bottles of water and only have extra small ones, in a city where its needed to drink plenty of water. situation of the hotel is in a hill in the middle of nowhere with NO restaurants around 1km . The only option I found was to go to shopping Barra by taxi every time I wanted to eat something. Very unconvenient location. Ita a hotel I never felt comfortable to be in.

    I appreciate the effort some of the staff did by speaking Spanish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel and rooms felt outdated, in need of update/maintenance Rooms sparsely decorated

    Great location on seafront - fantastic to wake up to sound of sea Sufficient choice of savouries, cakes and fruits at breaksfast Spacious room with great views of ocean (family room with corner setting)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really catered for kids. Not much to do in the neighborhood; must take taxi.

    Located on the sea; close to the city for visiting. The food was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View with 01 Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at the pool is rather chaotic and the pool itself is often dirty.

    Comfortable hotel with seaview, with very good breakfast. Especially the rooms are good value. Nearby are small but beautiful beaches for adventurous people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed mattress was too hard and dank a/c smell. I only used the a/c to reduce humidity levels, then turned it off and opened the window. The pillows where comfy soft. The hand towel looked more like the bath mat (confusing). I recommend you request to use the iron soon or you will have to wait. Wifi is accessible in rooms, though I wish it were secured. I left my voltage converter for S. America at home. I asked the front desk for one and they don't keep any on hand. Luckily the Barra shopping center is a 20 min. walk away. I got on there. Only 1 or 2 of the staff understand English and that's only the front desk. I try to learn to speak the language and will use my app translator if need be. I order fried shrimp and tarter sauce, the order was delivered to me pool side w/o the sauce, the waitress didn't understand me so I had to leave my food and find a menu to show her what was missing (smh).

    Loved the ocean view and surf sounds at night. The hotel restaurant food was delicious and wait staff friendly and accommodating. I enjoyed the dinner buffet and free breakfasts. The breakfast buffet had a very good assortment of hot & cold food items. Fresh fruits and cook to order omlets. Loved the hot cereal. The business center was new. The browser was in Portuguese good luck converting it too English, it took me nearly an hour to figure it out. No Intl. language signage anywhere to help with computer usage. Onsite tour desk. Great round the clock security staffing and camera surveillance at every entrance. The northern part of Brasil is undergoing upgrades to it's infrastructure. There was a brief energy failure but the hotel has a back up power generator backup, it kicked-in within seconds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Activities are quickly complete so you have to book before the arrival.

    Good property, bedroom cleaned everyday, good sound insulation, beautiful swimming pool with sea view and a bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartament
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception seems tired and ready to excuse for what looks problems of overbooking, with different types of beds. Listen a few and in our case was nice to have 2 big singles beds, but we would rather have a normal double. Walking distance 2km of main points

    Swimming pool, breakfast, comfort of bed, spacious room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the furnishings seemed a little out of date, and the switches for the bed lights were only on one side of the bed, away from the side where the outlet was (and also one bed light didn't work). Also, I wasn't planning on using the mini bar but it was incredibly lacking... no beers or juices, just a few mini waters, one coke and a candy bar. I would say this is a more family-friendly hotel as there was tons of children.

    Offered champagne at check-in was a very nice touch. The room was average, but the sea view was spectacular! The location was safe and walking distance to some of the city beaches, the nautical museum, and some restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel exceeded my expectations. I had reasonably low expectations after reviewing the comments on Booking.com. Many comments focussed on the hotel needing maintenance, and the rooms being outdated etc. My room was just fine, with a stunning view out to the sea. Perhaps it had been recently renovated, and other rooms are old. The rest of the hotel is also great. Wonderful breakfast, with a varanda overlooking the sea. Swimming pool overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi at the swimming-pool. Also the water in jacuzzi needs to be change more often!

    Breakfast was amazing, very friendly stuff! The cook was the best one! He prepared for us delicious tapioca and omelet. We really enjoyed stay there. Now looking forward for Vila Gale in Rio de Janeiro!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View with 01 Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location, breakfast. and very cheap hotel price compere to Copacabane in Rio

    Location. Pool and beach. Just 10 minutes walk to famouse Bara Beach. 15 minutes walk to Bara shopping Center (high standard shopping center with a lot of food center ( cheap and very good restaurants) + very good restaurants with very reasonable prices. Freeshuttle bus every 1 hour to our hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the waiters turned up at my room with a free drink I had said that I didn’t want earlier by the pool and made me feel really uncomfortable

    View, room, breakfastt

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This property cannot compare to Vila Gale in Fortaleza. I was looking forward to a baech holiday and instead found that there is no access to the beach from the hotel. A great disappointment because the adds show the pool and the sea so I thought it wouldbe as wonderful as Fortaleza. I was so disappointed that I changed my flight backto London and only stayed 2 nights instead of five.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the Hotel has no charakter/style nor gives you a welcome feeling. The Pool is to small for the amount of children - even there is a little kidspool) Every time we wanted to enter the room - the roomcard did not work - so back to the reception - waiting until they could find the only englisch speaking person - to load the cards again (up to 5x a day). In the evening: only buffet offerd - unable to order anything 'a la card' or sit anywere outside for a dink . Best on our stay was ... to go on the boat to Itaparica and find a nice beach.

    still surching ... guess the only good part was: the friendly doormans/clean room / variety at breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is getting old and no much investment has been made to renew the hotel. The safe was broken and the place where we supposed to put the card to have the light was broken too... So i didn't need the card to have light. Broken cameras on the corridor... Stay away from the evening restaurant the food is really poor quality... Uncooked fries, salad was missing dressing and preparation... They took the salad from a bag and put into a plate.

    The property is located in quiet area and the bed are confortables. Staff from the reception were very friendly and helpful. Tv had lot of channels and managed to see some nice movies. Personal was cleaning well the room...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View with 01 Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay here should been longer, spent first days in morro de São Paulo which was a tourist trap.

    Salvador is very interesting and beautiful city, fair prices and good value overall

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Apartament
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. Loads of variety, but not very fresh. The breads were slightly hard and the hot food slightly over cooked and dry

    Location is great! Staff is very friendly The place is clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a atenção dos funcionários deveriam melhorar , e o bar da piscina deveria funcionar a partir do horário do funcionamento da piscina

    gostei do café da manhã e a limpeza do hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no plug around the bedhead. The room looks very old

    The hotel was well situated, 10 minutes walk to get to the beach and the Christ status. I got a big room 30m2 with sea view. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gym had no windows open, and no weight lifting devices. I asked for an adicional extra hour for check out, which was not able to offer.

    Nice swimming pool, nice variety at the breakfast with local fruits and receipes, spacious room and a great view to the see.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fitness center was very very poor, lacking basic equipment, almost nothing. The maintenance of the hotel was poor. The service in the restaurant was very slow.

    Location was it was just between farol da barra and Rio Vermelho

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I read this before our stay in the reviews and can confirm: The rooms desperately need a complete makeover. After Check-In a chair and table were broken in our room (even though they were repaired very quickly). A short circuit in our hair dryer apparently caused a power outage in other rooms. The air condition leaked water in the bathroom.

    The the view of the sea from the room windows is extraordinary as their is no large street between the hotel and the sea. The breakfast is rich and good. There are some nice beaches, restaurants and bars 10-15 mins walking distance away.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Bathroom smells weird - Staff tried to rate us for two nights, while we were staying only one. It may have been an unintentional oversight, but I had to be careful in checking exchaging rates and comparing to the original booking.

    - good location - affordable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service, however, is a mixture of well educated and cool people, but a slow vibe, so you can spend too long there on your check in or check out; I believe it needs to upgrade the system. I did not like to ask for a pizza, and after a long trip and already been on my bed relax to have to get dressed and go back to the reception as they do not allow the delivery to get up to the room.

    It offers a beautiful view of the beach, and the hotel is well located, near to the best acarajé of the city. The hotel offers a variety of amenities that I did not have the time to explore; the rooms are spacious, but it is old and does not pay attention to the details, which I think is not good for a hotel chain on that level and cost. Overall a good experience, good breakfast option but forget about dinner, I gave it up going down and just looking at the buffet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture, bedsheets and towels are old. The hotel doesn't look like a Vila Gale branch

    The view is stunning! Waking up with the sound of the sea is marvelous!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View with 01 Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning is bad!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property are in a beautiful e strategy location. Its near of Pelourinho.

    The breakfeast is good. The Pool espace is very clean. The rooms its ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartament
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant should be better.

    My room was very clean, with many towels, soap...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View with 01 Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel with amazing facilities for Brazilian standard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The commodities in the toilet were not coherent with the hotel. The room was smelling bad. Big line at the check in.

    Location and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    O valor cobrado do estacionamento do veículo na garagem do hotel, o certo teria que ser gratuito

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Demora no chek in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Delicious breakfast, excellent cleaning of the whole hotel and the staff was excelent!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely except at reception

    Great view lovely hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Café da manhã fraco para a categoria do hotel.

    Cama King Size.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No strawberry , grape , berrys jellys. First stay didn't get us the room as reserved

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel in need of some modernisation, breakfast coffee is undrinkable, a bit distant for walks to the centre of Barra

    Decent place for a good money, great view of the ocean

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the fitness machines were dodgy and the TV plug sparked so much the TV would turn itself off

    Location, price and overall feel. Lovely terrace. Nice (if slow) restaurant. Lovely pool, and steam room with gym

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was less than we expected, and the hotel seems to be pretty old. It could use a renovation.

    Clean and comfortable. Lovely view from the room, with the sound of waves crashing on the rocks.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi was unreliable.

    Room was spacious. Good breakfast. Taxi service was good. Good neighborhood, although a bit far from the tourist areas of the city.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff, including management, were horribly rude. They attempted to charge us for the crib requested and reserved for my 22 month old son, even though my confirmation explicitly stated there was no additional charge. They also made my husband eat outside, in the dark, not letting him eat in the lobby even though no signs prohibiting eating were posted. My husband explained that we had been at a restaurant with our young son, but had not been able to finish eating because our son was not feeling well and I was in our room trying to get him to sleep. Very poor service overall, with unjustified attempts to overcharge for services.

    The facilities were well maintained and the breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of well-prepared items.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Upon arrival, they couldn't locate our reservation and made no effort to communicate or apologize while we stood there for 30 minutes waiting. Seems they had to enter the booking manually, then they tried to charge more than we had reserved for. Finally got the keys to our room and realized they put us in rooms with double beds and street views when we paid (more) for ocean view and king beds. Finally in the correct rooms, we noticed how badly they were in need of repair. On one occasion we went to the front desk to ask a question and were immediately told "I don't know, I'm not from here". Finally, upon checking out, we again stood there for 20 minutes while the clerk made no effort to communicate or engage. The rooms and hotel were aged but manageable, however some of the front desk staff really need to be more friendly.

    The bed was very comfortable and the location and views from hotel amazing. The lady that books excursions was very nice as well as the young bartender and doormen.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One of the pool staff was rude to guests and not accommodating. A second pool staff was just the opposite. The breakfast had many options, but I found it mostly tasteless. I had lunch one day and never went back. The food was pricey and not very good. Most restaurant staff was aloof and cold. I ate at local restaurants. Much better food, less expensive and much friendlier. The door to my hotel room was badly warped and was not easy to open and shut.

    The seaview was worth the extra money. Some of the staff were very nice and helpful. The location was great.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    rooms need maintenance. Something ain´t working in almost every room...

    huge, well appointed rooms, quiet location close to main business and leisure areas, very friendly staff, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They do not provide an iron for ironing clothes. Have to pay high price for getting in house ironing. This makes it difficult for business people.

    Location, room, cleanness, restaurant, breakfast, view

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I come here since years and realized the Vila Gale group did downgrade this poperty a bit from 5 stars to good 4 stars (however prices also rank in the 4 star category only). Rooms did need a bit more attention on maintenance, I have hardly seen one where everything was working. A bit better selection in the minibars wouldn´t hurt.

    Very good location in a quiet and safe neighbourhood, with spectacular sea views (for sea view rooms that is); friendly staff, some speak decent english, big and well appointed rooms, nice pool and workout area, extremly good value for money,

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service needs serious improvement

    The view from the room

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely breakfast with a huge choice.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast, too much people and too less staff.No good organised.maybe because every room was sold out that moment.

    Really big rooms, and clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    upkeep works needed

    location, view, breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the ocean view is amazing but the hotel is not near any restaurants or other points of interest.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A internet n funcionou no meu quarto.

    A vista do mar!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Vila Galé Salvador traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil