Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Bahia 4 stars

Largo do Cruzeiro de São Francisco, N. 16/18, Salvador, CEP 40.020-280, Brazil

#9 of 162 hotels in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 202 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only stayed 2 nights

    Everything: the location, the super professional and friendly staff, the incredibly well decorated hotel, the very good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Security, police stations on every street corners to protect tourists from robbers. It is not about the hotel but Salvador in general.

    The hotel is a 200-year-old colonial era heritage building located in the heart of Pelourinho. It is perfect for someone who loves walking around, taking pictures of this amazing quarter. Each room is decorated uniquely and named after former Portuguese colonies. My wife loved it here so much that she hated me for leaving the mansion :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    70 minutes to get your drinks and food at the bar is crazy, especially when they bring you the wrong food ...twice. Aldo half of the menu was not available. Non reliable taxi service.

    Excellent location. Beautifull boutique hotel with a very friendly and helpfull staff. Breakfast is very traditional which is great to get to know the local food. But its not a buffet so people who are picky can have a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner at the restaurant was good, but did not match my expectations considering its price.

    Hotel is absolutely gorgeous. From the pool to the reading room to the room decoration. Super friendly and helpful staff. Location is a plus, as well as the abundant and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was very low...more romantic but not great for putting on makeup.

    Beautiful location, great breakfast, nice room with lots of character. The staff were very friendly and helpful even though some could not speak English. The bathroom was great with an immense tiled bathtub which my kids loved...like a mini pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Absolutely everything! The staff were super friendly, hotel was Charming and right in the centre of town. We were lucky to have a roof terrace complete with beautiful views and a hammock. Breakfast was spectacular

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was soft and lumpy. Extremely Uncomfortable! I Was there three nights and was not able to get a decent nights rest the whole time. Avoid room Timor.

    The staff were incredibly kind and attentive. The building is historic and magnificently renovated with great taste and style. The location can not be better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Love the whole colonial vibe in the House, it's very tasteful. The room was very spacious, the bed was huge! The staff has been super helpful, breakfast was delicious. Our evening flight was at 11:50pm and they kindly let us check out at 9pm. It made our stay extra special! Would definitely recommend to stay there if you are planning to visit salvador. The location is great, in the middle of the Pelourinho area with a quick access to everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of this hotel is very good - in the center of town, just nearby one of the oldest Church. The hotel is gorgeous, in an old colonial house, super charming and with the nicest staff. We felt at home. Also big plus for the restaurant (brealfast, but mostly lunch and dinner - the chef is super talented!)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about villa Bahia ! Feeling in Bahia just by opening the window of your room is absolutely lovely (if you are not bothered by music), the setting is beautiful and the staff was absolutely lovely, trying their best in every way to make us happy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So we had a little bit of an issue. This hotel has only 1 category of rooms which they call luxury rooms. When we looked at the pictures on booking.com we saw these amazing rooms with french doors, large bathrooms, 4 poster beds,... BUT when we checked in we were sent a small room on the top floor with a small bathroom. Still clean and also a balcony, but nothing like what we had seen online. So when booking, please find a way to assure you have one of those amazing rooms. They were also not willing to move us to another room (they were fully booked) or to compensate/give a discount. So all in all a bit of a disappointment, knowing that with the right room it would probably have been a 9* rating.

    The building itself was beautiful. Restored with an eye for detail. Also the breakfast was very generous and nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was horrible, We asked if all the beds were like that and the answer was yes. You get one complimentary bottle of water for your entire stay either you stay one night or 3!! After you are charged for water in the room.. A bit strange for a 4 stars hotel...

    The hotel is a beautiful house, If you need peace and quiet this is not the place as it is very busy. But it is was fun to see all the ambiance of the place from your bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit of an issue, there are car parks close by but it not that easy.

    The hotel is a traditional historic Bahian property with all the traditional features

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite noisy but that is expected for the central location

    Great location in centre of historic area. Helpful staff. Huge rooms with beautiful decor. On site restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super friendly and accommodating. We happened to meet the owners one day as well who were very charming. The property itself is a little paradise . Very private and charming . We were a family of 6 and had our own villa which was perfect . By the way the pictures on line don't do the place justice . It's so much better in person.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic staff and very helfpul and welcoming.Very charming and authentic accomodation at the heart of the town, easy access to everything Wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed a business center, which they did not have. Windows were not noise-proof.

    Very charming hotel and perfectly well located in the historic center of Salvador. Very charming and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We loved to be on the top-Roof terrace, however when there is kitchen-time, the dust (which can be nice, but depends on what the People in the Restaurant order) is flying over the terrace - i know it depends on the construction of the old house, so we arranged with it... and it is just during some hours, so in General quite ok -nevertheless it is worth to try out

    breakfast is getting a super plus! every day variating Food, top Roof terrace with stunning view over the roofs of Salvador

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is more like a fountain than a real pool, but it wasn't a problem for us as we weren't planning on using it.

    Really great hotel situated in the main square of Pelurinho so felt very safe. The decor is also very nice and rooms are big and confortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening arrival so different staff than morning. Friendly but not too service oriented. Morning staff was delightful and cheerful as well as efficient.

    Great historic property. Location is great but beware of hoards of tourists and music and noise in front and back. It is pelourinho so nothing you can do about that. Restaurant offers terrific dinner menu by Chef Luto. Breakfast was generous and delicious. Rooms are quaint and bathrooms very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel in a beautifully renovated colonial building and nicely decorated rooms. Extremely nice and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Good location in the historical part of Salvador.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    could'nt be better located! In the heart of Salvador! The Interieur, the food and the friendlyness and efficiency of the staff were high standard. I can only recommend this place!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Typical and charming house of Salvador. Cannot have a better localisation ! Service is great. The breakfast is excellent. I also recommend to have a dinner at the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't find the bed that comfortable, it was a standard double not the giant kingsize we were used to . Room also quite small (but very clean & bright).

    Lovely staff, great restaurant, small charming hotel in historic centre of Salvador!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The personal of the hotel did the best to resolve all my problems! The room was great, the location was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location and I had a nice rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not very confortable. Our room was dark

    The forniture style create a pleasant atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not a buffet breakfast but they changed the food every day and it was very delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A jewel in the city center Magnificent building & rooms Extraordinary staff Glorious breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and breakfast. In addition all staff spoke both English and Spanish and were very accommodating to us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. All details are perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet tissue bin not emptied every day

    Lovely hotel good breakfast friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a local, unique and beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loud voice of the street

    The location, the staff and the cleaness

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambiance of the hotel is really nice: old colonial decoration and attention to details.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice place Great location Wonderful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nicely located and a really interesting building. We had a huge room which was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pool is tiny, but if you want to spend time by the pool then this is the wrong hotel for you anyway.

    The location is excellent, right in the heart of the Pelourinho but protected from noise. The hotel decoration is tasteful and with many references to Salvador's historical heritage. Breakfast is amongst the best I have had anywhere, and in the evening the restaurant is first-rate.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booking.com Website is very confusing and did not state clearly that the price we booked was for only one person even though it's stated it was a double room.Booking.com was absolutely no help and actually made things worse. The hotel resolved the matter on the spot. dont use booking.com to book this hotel for any reason. Neither should you use it for any bookings in Brazil. We had the same problem booking a The iberostar cruise on the Amazon and they initially wanted more than $1000 extra for four days. After much protesting booking.com it was lowered to $400 extra for four days. Beware.

    The hotel is nice. It is somewhat expensive. The staff is friendly and the location is the best possible

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was excellent but don't venture off the main squares without knowing where you are going or with out a recommendation of a local as it can be a bit dodgy.

    Fabulous location, superb suite overlooking the square. Comfortable bed and the room was fully kitted out with everything necessary. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location in the Centro Historico, walking distance to local attractions. Beautiful historic details throughout the property. We stayed in two rooms, "Madagascar" with a view of the street and "Ceylon" with outdoor terrace. Enjoyed exceptional breakfast and dinner in the dining room. Staff are wonderful and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I stayed twice in this hotel, the second time the bedroom was much nicer. Wish I had this one all the time.

    The building is beautiful and the location is great, in Pelourinho, very central. There are a few restaurants in the square, lots of souvenir stores and there is always music coming from one of the side streets. During the day feels very safe, at later hours of the night you need to be aware. The staff was kind and attentive. The breakfast is just amazing, the best I had in Brazil, the freshness of the fruit, the homemade bread...Fantastic!!! I also had dinner one night at the hotel and is proper chef food, high quality and great flavours! The restaurant room is quirky and the terrace is also very nice, definitely is worth having dinner here. The bedrooms do not all look the same, what gives an authentic and unique touch.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I just wished the individuals that serve breakfast and dinner speak some English

    Everything. The hotel had lots of antiques and an elegance capture of in time. In the heart of the historical area of Pelourinho.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quaint hotel in a great location in Pelhourino, Salvador. Located close to the main square, this hotel has friendly and attentive staff that ensure the safety and enjoyment of their guests.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing that could be a problem for some is if you have a room on the square side can be noisy. It was no problem for us but we are no light sleepers.

    Our room was beautiful with good eye for detail. We loved the colonial style and design. It was a good place to relax and feel at home. Staff was very friendly and helpful, meals were very good with delicious wine. In short, we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend your pousada to others.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The amazing staff worked well outside of their job descriptions to help us feel comfortable, fed, and at ease. They helped us work through issues with local parking, gave us incredibly worthwhile recommendations for food and sites to see, and served up the classiest and most delicious food and drinks.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We discovered that it was a band playing just below our bedroom and the staff told us that they didn't know it. It was unbelievable. The bed is too small for person 1,90m tall. A bit expensive just for B&B.

    The building is wonderful and the bedrooms are really original and nice.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely décoration , very nice roof top , excellent and generous breakfasts, served by an very nice bahianese lady, and à spécial mention to the staff, very professional, helpful, attentionate and giving insightful advices.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet wasn't always working on our floor.

    Nice and helpfull staff. Big and beautiful rooms. The hotel is situated centrally in the old historic area.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    great food; staff very friendly; wonderful location

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    booking.con and their customer NO service

    the hotel was fine just dont boon using booking.com. they created problems when there were none.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great breakfast and best lunch menue in town - by far!

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location for visiting the old part of Salvador is the best, very well decorated! Wonderful breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The furnishings in the room and throughout the hotel. The hotel breakfast was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1 rude staff at front desk (I think she was manager), ants all through room

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful Hotel with ideal location in Historic District.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location! Great hotel, very cozy and clean. Staff is adorable, hands-on and very helpful!! I love them all:)

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The water system was completely strange, either provided cold water, either too hot...

    The colonial style and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location in the Centro historico, beautiful colonial building, excellent staff. Top notch experience!

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience.

    Location. Quality of the accommodation. Superbly efficient and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect hotel on a perfect location. Great service en lovely restaurant

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is for brasilian standards a little bit average.

    Great staff and a beautifull hotel

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Staff, location and decor.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location. Most tasteful design.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and helpful staff English spoken by staff was about as good as it gets in Brazil

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    During the whole stay the internet not worked once.

    Very nice location. Excellent food!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Hotel Villa Bahia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil