Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Rica 2 stars

Rua Conde de Lages, 2, Centro, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 20240-080, Brazil

#365 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 542 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Cheap but good quality hotel near Lapa entertainment area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff is only portuguese speaking.

    modern Equipment in my room, bathroom new refurbished, good WIFI-Connection. breakfast with a lot of different kind of food and drinks. Villa Rica Hotel is 2-star rated but standard is like a 3-star-hotel. Near (only 5 minutes walk) to Lapa entertainment area, underground for Copacabana and Ipanema (7 minutes walk) and city Center (around 10 minutes walk) Santos Dumont Airport is only a short taxiride away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    2.5
    A true nightmare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could help instead of being rude and lazy.

    Staff extremely rude, the receptionist make me feel like an enemy, he didn't explain us the rules properly, he wasn't able to solve any issue. I strongly do not recommend this hotel. I big trap, scam, whatever you want to call it. A real nightmare.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    5.8
    Only adequate..................
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was small with a air-conditioner not working the best. Breakfast area small and seemed rushed when eating. There were many people in the hotel so I understand to keep things moving. The bed was not the most comfortable and location so so. Next time in Rio, I will spend more and stay further into Gloria.

    I thought the breakfast was OK and staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel for its price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows very hard. Instead of two large beds pushed together small.

    The staff fulfilled all our requests, thanks for that! Close to center and not far from marina. Breakfast was ok. Air conditioning worked fine. Shower is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.3
    For the price it is a nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is not comfortable and the air condition seems it was not cleaned since they bought it.

    I liked the breakfast and the place it was served, the room is spacious.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they can improve on breakfast!

    decent and clean and modern rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    6.3
    We liked the great breakfast and wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bed needs to be an actually queen bed and not two single beds put together.

    We liked the great breakfast and wifi. It was close to the locations we needed to be.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    6.7
    Close to the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The surrounding area is a bit terrible and dirty, especially the stingy urine smell. I feel not safe. I discover cockroach in my room. Nearby Lapa area is more dirty and horrible.

    Close to the metro station.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.1
    The hotel is 2 blocks from Arcos da Lapa, and next to Escada...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extremely warm as it's a very old aircon system...triple room had barely enough space to put our 3 bags around

    The hotel is 2 blocks from Arcos da Lapa, and next to Escada Selaron. It is also near Gloria Metro station. It is a very basic hotel but it is clean, wifi was not the best. Decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    7.9
    The room was immaculate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The neighborhood was intimidating, to say the least, but once I was in the hotel, I never felt unsafe.

    The room was immaculate. The breakfast was full of fresh fruit, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating for my late arrival. The hotel was located very close to the Selaron Steps and the Lapa Arches.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    8.8
    Great location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really loud noise all night long (4pm-6am) from nearby bars ruined what should have been a good stay in a nice hotel in Rio. Beware, the Lapa district is known for loud music and partying particularly on weekends. We didn't like the fact the hotel took all 4 nights payment in full the first day and made it nonrefundable. Due no doubt, to the noise and the fact people likely request refunds due to the impossibility of getting any sleep!

    Great location and very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    5.4
    Nice location - quite close to the subway station and to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely overpriced hotel (thanks to Carnival!) with a tiny rooms. Poor cleaning & dirty floors. Almost transparent wall to the WC, i.e. person in the room can see a lot of happening there. No way to stay again for anyone, but for an occasion.

    Nice location - quite close to the subway station and to the city Carnival activities.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    10
    We really enjoyed this hotel, though the location was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We really enjoyed this hotel, though the location was not our first choice. The staff and rooms were nice and it was not overpriced (for the period). The feijoada lunch was even organized for guests during the carnaval, this was really excellent and contributed to the fact we really very much enjoyed our stay!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.5
    I like the ambiance of the hotel easy access for everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The internet connect is a little bit slow

    I like the ambiance of the hotel easy access for everything

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.5
    The breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location & our room for 4 was crowded

    The breakfast was great. Fruit was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.9
    Localization is good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Localization is good!!!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    5.8
    Good place if you want to go partying in lapa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small, dark room. Aircondition didn't work.

    Good place if you want to go partying in lapa.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    6.7
    Location and the place it self the nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was not helpfull and sligthly rude

    Location and the place it self the nice

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.3
    Good location, excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No security box

    Good location, excellent value

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.5
    locación
    • Solo traveller

    charge me 25 reis more

    locación

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Hotel Villa Rica traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil