Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Windsor Excelsior Copacabana 4 stars

Avenida Atlântica, 1800, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22021-001, Brazil

#60 of 404 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2331 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    8.3
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that CNN was the only English speaking channel. While I respect Portuguese, this is an international hotel and cosmo city! English is the language that bridges. Portuguese speaking channels should have had closed caption that translated to English! Not have this option was unfortunate.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    The location was great and the room with a sea view made us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During breakfast there’s an unfriendly man that kicks you out of the restaurant when the breakfast is about to end. I think there are other polite ways to let people now that the restaurant is closing. Also he doesn’t let people in if he thinks the restaurant is too full even when there are empty tables!

    The location was great and the room with a sea view made us decide to stay longer at the property. Luckily we were able to remain in the same room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    Location on the beach is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Built in the 50s and hasn’t been updated since, even the staff uniforms look like the originals. It’s a little bit like going back in a time machine!

    Location on the beach is perfect

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - No View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing so far.

    The hotel met my expectation, the staff are very nice and helpful, especially that we dont know Portuguese, so they helped a lot... the beach is next to you, amazing location.. the restaurants are very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Excellent location. Rooms with great view of sea.plesant and accommodative staff.. provided late check-out with out any hassles.Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfy in Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was some confusion about our room when we arrived and the Deluxe Room we had booked wasn't available. Brito the Front Office Manager was extremely helpful in getting us the room we had booked by the end of the day and he gave us another a room to relax in while the sorted out the issue with the room.

    Great location right on Copacabana Beach. Worth paying extra for the Deluxe Room with the corner ocean view as it is larger as well. Rooftop pool is quite small but the view of the beach from up there is great. On-site breakfast was very good and included lots of options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    The location, right at the Copacabana is hard to beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not for people with a light sleep! You hear every toilet being flushed, every shower being taken in the adjacent rooms. I would probably not go back there for that very reason. I have rarely been to a hotel that was so badly soundproofed.

    The location, right at the Copacabana is hard to beat. The rooms have a good size and a comfortable bed. The roof-too pool is rather small, but has a nice chill-out area around it. The breakfast has plenty of choice, different shakes (banana, mixed fruit) are offered every day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    complete lack of shower gel (yes, soaps are not enough). There should be a body cream also. the whole hotel seems a little left in the previous decades. The shower has signs of moulding, it s totally basic for a 4-star hotel. No coffee facilities in the room. Expensive for what it offers.

    Its location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Had a great time in Rio thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The no guest rule is horrible. If I am paying for a room I should not be told who can come see me. Nothing in booking,com saying anything about this restriction. You should put that in the booking rules that no guest are allowed. I will not stay again with this kind of restriction. If I have a guest then I take responsible for that guest.

    The hotel employees were very nice and professional breakfast really nice and room was always clean. All in all the hotel was very nice and the hotel employees were awesome. Friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Service great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misinformation by reception about excursion.

    Service great. Good variety of food. Restaurant and staff were awesome and very friendly. Beach lounges great. Location perfect. Surprise birthday treat in room fantastic surprise. Check in was great. Our room were ugraded.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location , great staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a bit small.

    Awesome location. Nice comfortable room with great view over Copacabana beach. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice restaurant with great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Very good location, right on Copacabana beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dated, need modernising. Bathroom needs updating. WiFi is very very poor and they do not provide complimentary water in the room which is very odd.

    Very good location, right on Copacabana beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    I would stay again if they offer me a room with a cupboard.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s the first time in my entire traveling that I had no cupboard or drawer in the room! I stayed in 2/3/4/5 stars hotels but this was shocking. You need to leave all your clothes in your suitcase and make the best out of it. At least my fiancée wasn’t with me. She would freaked out! Can you imagine how your shirts looks like for meetings!

    They speak English. Helpful front desk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    The food was excellent and Aline from the front-desk was...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent and Aline from the front-desk was very attentive and welcomed us very warmly! She delivers a very efficient service to the guests that come to stay at the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Location is pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a cockroach in the room, roaming the table and who knows what else. The hotel does pre authorize the total sum of the stay, AND some more for whatever reason. That Is just sleazy. Either say that before hand. The whole authorize a quantity so then you can return the difference is just odd, specially when not previously informed.

    Location is pretty good. Breakfast is fine, although the waiters seem way to eager to get the dishes out of the table. We theoretically got an in upgrade and it was an ok room. In general, good hotel, could work on some things, specially the transfer to the airport. The transfer doesn’t offer seatbelts and the itinerary is all around the place, as it hops many other hotels to get other passengers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    would return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with King bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    reception/lounge area could do with new seating

    very helpful reception staff. excellent location for beach and amenities. no cable tv for uk. breakfast self service and reasonable choice however would have liked an egg station. although requested smoke free room which was'nt a problem there was a smell of cigarette smoke in the corridors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location staff and very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aline the front desk receptionist is absolutely fantastic!! She made our stay so comfortable and helped us with dinner reservations and shuttle reservations. She remembered us from a previous visit. So personal and welcoming!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    excellent location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff at front desk on check-in not the best, although on other days the staff were very helpful. The 'security' men at the front entrance could be less serious and smile a bit- they don't make you feel welcome- a simple greeting and smile would go a long way.

    location excellent, near restaurants; easy access to buses and metro, and other facilities to sight-see in Rio. Breakfasts very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel with a good location on Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I arrived very early in the morning and was offered to get my room immediatley for half the price of one night including breakfast. A great option since I could get some sleep and didn't have to hang around for many hours but could after the sleep eat breakfast and start exploring Rio. Hotel is located just opposite the beach that have sunbeds/umbrellas and towels for the guests at no cost, fantastic! The pool area on the roof was great, had a bar and you could if you would eat there too. Amazing views of Rio from up there. Room was spacious, maybe not the most modern, but clean and had everything I needed, was very comfortable there. Breakfast was excellent, had a huge choice from hot and cold dishes, always looked after and refilled by the staff that were very nice overall at the hotel. Area felt safe even during night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, clean rooms, professional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located right on Copacabana beach. Professional service from all the staff. Good rooftop pool and bar. The hotel is clean and functional. The beds are comfortable, and most rooms have a full or partial sea view. A good hotel option in Copacabana.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable hotel on Copacabana Beach with helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooftop terrace is a great asset watching the sun go down over the Copacabana and back towards Christ the Redeemer. The breakfast was pretty good even with a large throughput. The shuttle service to and from the airport worked well but allow enough time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little of the staff could speak English, which is also our second language. If no outside drinks or food/chips is alloud at the pool area please put up a sign stating so. The breakfast needs to change at least every second day.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Repeatable, and overall a very acceptable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 18 nights

    Laundry service arrives late, or next day. Breakfast staff more concerned with collecting plates that being attentive to diners.

    Room always very clean. Breakfast sufficiently varied.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    I would look elsewhere to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms looked nothing like the pictures. The rooms were dirtier and I may as well have stayed at a hostel for cheaper being it would be the same quality.

    I liked the front desk staff and how knowledgeable they were.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    The location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk is always busy, like most plush hotels. The airport shuttle service is only available at certain times, i think from like 9am to 19 or 20pm. Not great times. So if you land early or late at night, (the times you need an organised shuttle the most) you cannot get and you have to pay a VERY expensive amount for them to hire you a private car. Even then they wanted separate credit card details for that up front (even though they had on their system from the room booking already), but I asked them to send a driver who would go to the airport without credit card security that we would arrive or not, as I did not want to pass credit card details over email. This they arranged and things were fine, but was a bit of a hassle to organise and was annoying because a big part of choosing this hotel actually was because they offered free shuttle service and we were arriving late at night. Turns out, we couldnt use it and had to pay like R$220-240

    The location is amazing. They made a mistake with our bookings originally but after only one email semi-complaining about this they upgraded our room. When we arrived it turns out we had a double upgrade, (in both rooms, my parents were staying in one and me and my brother were staying in another). Very clean as you would expect and a very nice breakfast spread.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, friendly staff, and a fantastic situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints at all.

    The breakfast was superb. The rooms were comfortable and we had a lovely view over Copacabana beach. The rooftop bar was a lovely place to enjoy a cocktail.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, near restaurants and other amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    The location of the hotel is fantastic. Copacabana beach in front of hotel, and also near all restaurants plus taxis. Lovely Italian restaurant across the road. Beautiful views of Copacabana beach. You can go for an very early morning run or walk on the Copacabana strip, before the sun gets to hot, and there is a separate lane for runners and cyclists. The breakfast was fantastic. Staff great, especially Lucas at the front desk! Nice deck swimming pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Slightly below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was smaller then expected and we got very bad view on the back yard. They did not respect their own promise of free transfer from the airport, but instead we negotiated the late check-out. After late arrival we decided to have a dinner in their restaurant - it was expensive and not so tasty (very salty), and there were five bored waiters serving 3 guests. All weekend one of the elevators was broken. Check-out was slow.

    Location is the main feature here. Staff was polite and helpful at the hotel, but not responsive and not respectful to their promises on the email. Big, comfortable bed. Very good breakfast, eggs, sausages, cold cuts, cheese, fruits, sweets, yogurts, a lot of drinks, etc, but coffee cold be better. Great view form the roof but we didn't have time to sit there. Safe, a lot of guards. I mistakenly thought that I paid for one night in advance - they investigated the case in a very professional way. Thank you. Transfer to the airport was OK (but one hour too early, we had adjust to their schedule).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay on Copacabana beach .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast had so much choice, get there early to get a table though. Located on Copacabana beach, I recommend paying for the upgrade to the Sea View room. The staff were very friendly. Only problem we had was unable to have a late check out but appreciate being such a popular location, it's not always possible.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    The view from the room is fantastic, really worth having a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in was slow due to some inconsistencies between Booking's reservation and hotel's registry.

    The view from the room is fantastic, really worth having a sea view!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Excelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have to pay to print flight check-in, and the coffee in the breakfast is cold and served in an old fashioned way.

    Great location in the Copacabana beach. Great view in the terrace, and good number of staff with kind attention. Good bed, and nice breakfast. Quiet room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    5.4
    Poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unhelpful. We didnt speak Portuguese or spanish and requesyed to make a phonecall to South Africa. They dont bother notifying you that it can cost up to 200 dollars for 20 minutes!!!

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general the staff were great, although on New Years Eve not only did the hotel want to charge us for a glass of ice (not a whole bucket) which we found unreasonable, but the way we were treated by the bar manager was generally disrespectful and disappointing for such a high quality hotel. It was NYE, but I would have expected better customer service/appreciation in this case. Put a bit of a negative mark on an otherwise great stay

    Fantastic location right on the beach front, with an unbeatable view from the great rooftop bar and pool. Room was modern but spacious and a really comfortable bed with good breakfast spread.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location, but the room and accommodations were rather lackluster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air conditioner barely kept the room cool. We had to buy a fan to assist. The stool backed up every day for 3 days. The upstairs neighbors were so noisy it was like having a basketball team above us. The ocean view is very limited unless you're on the far end in one of the 4 or 5 rooms facing the water. The room service food is fairly bland. The breakfast buffet was ok for a european style, but honestly a Hampton inn buffet is better.

    The room was ok - nothing exceptional. We asked for and reserved a room that was listed as an upgrade - but don't do it. it's not worth the money, as the room is no bigger and has no better accommodations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    The rooms were clean and comfortable, best location on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - No View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little small thing; Coffee on the breakfast could be improved

    The rooms were clean and comfortable, best location on the beach in copacabana. We had a good stay here!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    I stayed for 5 nights and would love to have stayed another 5!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea/coffee facilities in the room. The pool was much smaller than I was expecting.

    The breakfast was amazing! It's also free to have it in your room so we did that one morning and it was fantastic. The hotel's beach service is great, no need to bring money and you put everything on your account. Drinks not too expensive over there and they serve food too. Rooms/showers are modern and comfortable and the view from the rooftop is 100%!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.7
    reommended !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - No View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    roomservice (no towels, bathroom not always cleaned) swimming pool dirty (grease on the walls) hard closing doors - rumour in the hallway (see photo) no electricity in the bathroom poor wificonnection (fluctuates all the time)

    excellent location in front of the seaside magnificent view from the top roof great breakfast staff at the front desk and at breakfast busstop to the airport in front buses and metro within walking distance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    I can not think of better location when staying in Rio for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not think of better location when staying in Rio for weekend. The best value for money out of all of my trips so far. Great choice of fruits for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay at the nice city of the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Yellow taxi which reception could call has high cost. It is possible to reach all places of interest by bus. By the way call UBER.

    The hotel is located on an avenidf Atlantica overlooking the ocean. Friendly staff at reception and arestaurant. Excellent breakfast with abundance of fruits, pastries, hot dishes. Around there are a lot of restaurants and bars. Place is secure. Bus-stops near hotel and buses go to all interesting places of Rio de Janeiro. There is an open terassa on the up floor, with pool and bar. The beautiful view opens from there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.1
    A PLEASANT STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out could have been faster

    Good wifi Good breakfast selection Prompt cleaning of room when I realised you had to ring housekeeping to get it cleaned Plenty of toiletries

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Entirely satisfactory and served the purpose for which the hotel was booked.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet was sometimes good and sometimes bad. At 3am it was excellent but in the early evening it was often impossible to work.

    Location and service was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was OK but not too much variety.The rooms were quite small.Smallest hotel pool i have ever seen.

    Very good location right by the famous Copacabana Beach.Staff could speak good English,something unusual for Brazil .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.0
    Hotel for older tourist
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    View from the room is terrible ( first picture). Some small equipment in the hotel is a little bit outdated. compare the other 4star hotel. ( let see the pictures, door of the refrigerator, the mirror in the bathroom). It has 3 elevators which are generally not enough, but one of this sometimes does not work.The sound insulation of the walls is not good, so I listen at the morning the next room football match... They have a free sun umbrella and bed on the beach, but sometimes when you go, you can not have it and you only get a towel. The orange juice in the restaurant is terrible (diluted with water). It is forbidden to receive guests in your room, but this information is not warning well when you reserve the room.

    The bar an pool on the top of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful helpful and supportive staff from first welcome...to leaving
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Wonderful staff from first welcome...to leaving We had an issue with vaccinations to get us to Columbia that hadn't been identified by our travel agent....but Aline was truly wonderful....all the information we needed to get away after a further few days at the Excelsior....as well as finding us the best rates for our suite for our unexpected extended stay in Rio. Many Hotels seem great when things go well but really good hotels excel when things go wrong for their guests unexpectedly....Thanks to Aline the Excelsior proved to be a truly top class hotel with some of the best support, advice and guidance that we could have wanted....... If ever we come back to Rio we'll be booking into the Excelsior Copacabana without a doubt

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant location in a value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent breakfast with a variety of choices to suit all needs. Staff were very accommodating in giving us a late book out at no extras cost. Plus brilliant location across the road from the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Great service, free shuttle to airport. Superb views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent, all spoke excellent English and very helpful and obliging. Woolf recommend this hotel. Great views over Copacabana beach from 9th floor terrace.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Good position, clean and excellent roof terrace, pool and bar with excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight smell from bathroom and room suffered from noise from adjacent bathrooms and waste disposal.

    Helpful friendly multilingual staff on reception. ALL staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. Plenty of local knowledge. Good position and trips booked at hotel reception, good value and punctual.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    You can’t go wrong when choosing Windsor Hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, as All was great.

    The location, security, attention to child security, friendly staff, attentive staff, good selection for breakfast, and dining, the Windsor hotel chain is always an excellent choice since 2011 when I started using these hotels around Brazil.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Exellent! Gorgeous!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location!!! 1 mins walk to copa Beach!! Our room can see the copa beach at one side, and Christ the Redeemer at the other side!! Very helpful and warmhearted staff!! Thanks sooooo much for the handsome gentlemen at the front desk, they really helped us a lot!! Superb breakfast and it's free!!!!! choose a seat near the window, watching people walking or running near copa beach at the morning while drinking coffee, what a wonderful start of the day!! Must try the beach service!! It's also free!! Lots of great souvenir shops nearby! The staying at Windsor really change my impression of Brazil!! Definitely will choose it again if I have a chance to travel here the next time!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Good overnight hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea-making facilities. No BBC TV..

    Close to CDG Airport. Take shuttle and walk 100m. Modern style. Good food quick service in restaurant. Quiet. Great for 1 night after long trip before picking up rental car. Edgy style appeals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Was good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too strict on going with your Guests to top floor and in the rooms. Is better they make security identification and allow it.

    The hotel, food and staff is exteremely good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Would highly recommend the Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only two things I did not like, you had to wait for almost a minute for hot water to come out of shower (lot of water lost). Also the WiFi was a disaster. Was getting disconnected all the time. Very poor

    Staff really helpful and with a smile. Prime location. Clean and all essentials are there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Perfect and clean room with prime location in Rio and fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was initially planning to stay for 1 night. I booked additional 2 nights out of Booking.com. I had to ask the front desk to re-program the keys every night. Their system didn't "understand" it was the same guest and the same stay with different booking numbers... Not a big issue, actually.

    🔝breakfast 🔝bed 🔝location 🔝wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, great staff and make sure you get the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    My partner and I looked forward to the breakfast every morning. The staff were absolutely amazing and were quick to help us with anything we needed including sterilising our baby bottles every day. The pool on the roof topped off the whole trip, I made sure we went up there every day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.5
    Stay there again only if there is no where elsa to stay thats it in a nut sheel .
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is dated old reception and the sofas in the lounge are terrible .

    The hotel is dated the cocktail bar is like something you probably would find way back in the 1960 old very old

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast is great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff could be more friendly, especially at the reception. Taxi pick up from the airport is extremely expensive (220 BRL) compared to any regular taxi or Uber.

    Breakfast is great! Location is very good in Copacabana.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    I will definitely stay again. Love the staff. I definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue I had was the bed was very itchy. I noticed mold on the sheets and blanket. I told the staff and they changed them quickly. The rest of my stay there was way above average. They could modernize their rooms as well. They are a little dated.

    The staff was excellent. Breakfast had many options with very fresh fruit and juices. Also, the food in Brazil is not filled with high fructose corn syrup, so it takes some getting used to. But still very delicious. I quickly got used to it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The offer of a different room in arrival. Better views at higher price (fair enough) and the need of making the decision there, changing rates etc. I like to have everything planned in advance. The building is a bit older than expected (in the pictures looks newer) but it is nice in overall.

    Location is very good. Breakfast is nice. They are friendly and it is clean. The terrace in the top is very nice too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to pay for plain water was a big no-no....wouldn't expect that from a fancy hotel, most of them give you at least one or two bottles

    Nice staff and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is next door to the world famous Copacabana Palace Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were not fluffy. I like feather pillows and they did not have these so they were a bit too uncomfortable for me.

    The hotel was very beautiful. The lobby was spacious and well appointed. There were several seating areas where one could sit and visit with friends and family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Only place to stay in Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only a few hotels offer sun loungers on the beach for guests and this hotel is one of them. We would book again for this reason. Lovely pool area and lookout at top of hotel. Staff helpful and speak English well. Very good breakfast selection. Very reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room AC was temperamental, couldn't adjust to auto so was either on and freezing cold or we couldn't get it on and it was hot

    Great Location! Clean! Nice and helpful staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.8
    It said executive suite but if I'm honest it was just a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Superior Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It said executive suite but if I'm honest it was just a basic room. Nothing special. The staff are lovely and the location is perfect but the actual hotel itself isn't worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Compadres restaurant nearby very good Brazilian fare...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compadres restaurant nearby very good Brazilian fare reasonably priced. (Many meals priced for 2). Grocery, banks, ATM within 4 blocks. Booked very good tour through hotel operated by Grayline.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.5
    Staff friendly and professional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were a bit old and the pool was very small

    Staff friendly and professional. Good location in front of the beach. Very good breakfast.Very nice view from the top

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    6.3
    The breakfast was great, lots of choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't provide wash clothes, shower gel, or lotion. Saw a couple of roaches in the room.

    The breakfast was great, lots of choices. Everything was prepared well. Location was awesome right across the street from Copacabana Beach

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.3
    The location, wonderful views from the roof.
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with King bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    High prices, low performance of organisation and staff (re-booking for staying another 6 hours took more than 2 hours because of discussions with head and absolutely overprized; trust people otherwise you will die earlier one day!!!!), ratio not given. Dinner at restaurant - very poor quality versus high price, never again! What fitness area are you talking about? The small room w&o any air, preferred to exercise in our room; sauna completely understuffed (e.g. without any showers). Love it or leave it.

    The location, wonderful views from the roof. The breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was beyond expectation, I enjoyed the mango. And Aline at the reception was super friendly and supportive helping us to extent our stay kn Rio. And we enjoyed the roofgarden pool with a spectacular view over Copacabana.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.2
    Great stay right at Copacabana beach.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Their wifi is despicable, and any extra thing, like a simple expresso, is ridiculously expensive.

    Excellent hotel. Clean, comfortable, with great, safe location and fabulous breakfast. Beautiful rooftop pool overlooking Copacabana beach and a view from Christ the Redeemer. Great sauna and gym. Helpful, efficient staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    5.4
    I don't recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I found a dead cockroach on my napkin when I ordered my food, I did not touch the food since I lost my appetite unfortunately and asked to cancel the order, they did not accept and gave me only one option, sending back to the kitchen and having a new one prepared. I definitely did not want to eat at the hotel again.

    good location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping could be improved in bedroom. Room not cleaned until at least 1630 and one day not done at all, had to ask reception who got onto it straight away Also the cleaning standard was not great.

    Great bed, good size room. Good choice at breakfast. Staff were friendly with top marks for Jean on reception, who was very efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.6
    We only stayed two nights in this hotel but would stay here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would be very cautious using your credit card in the area, as our number was scammed. We believe it may have been a restaurant/bar down the street, but not sure.

    We only stayed two nights in this hotel but would stay here again anytime. Firstly the location is right across from Copacabana Beach. The hotel was clean, staff friendly & food was okay. The pool area on the rooftop was great to sit around & get a drink. We didn't go swimming in the pool. The service to get a meal was a little slow one evening. The price for the room was very reasonable for this area of the city. It may be a little dated, but sufficient for our needs. We asked for an ocean view which was nice to have based on other reviews. We appreciated getting free transfers to and from the airports. Even though our flight was delayed arriving, the transportation company who works for the hotel was able to accommodate us even though the reservation was for different times. I would recommend this hotel!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    5.8
    If you are used to European hotel standards don't expect to much from this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although Wi-Fi was free I broke my phone and had to use the Business centre. There was no flexability on Google they had set it up only to work on Google BR. Business centre charged for Wi-Fi. At breakfast all the glasses by the juices were dirty. The coffee was cold. The interior of the hotel was tired. It could really do with a face lift at the prices I paid

    The people were helpful. The roof top swimming pool was quite good all things considered.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was right across the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wi-fi was really spotty. the connection kept disconnecting and for the few minutes it did connect the speed was awful. The reception didn't do much other than tell us that they would call the "IT staff" :)

    The hotel was right across the beach. The even had some complimentary umbrellas available for guests. breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    Great location, service and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof top pool is quite small for the number of guests but still nice to have. The food in the pool restaurant is very poor quality. We order pizza and frango a passarinho - low quality chicken meat. The rooms are clean but it's a bit old.

    Location, view and breakfast. I loved the chicken soup on breakfast buffet. Also the service Beach with towels, parasols and chairs is so convenient!

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil