Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Zank by Toque Hotel 5 stars

Rua Almirante Barroso, 161, Rio Vermelho, Salvador, CEP 41950-350, Brazil

#48 of 162 hotels in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 339 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant boutique hotel right in the heart of Rio Vermelho
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness of staff could be better. If you stay at the top floor becareful if you wish to sleep in the morning. Pool machinery at the roof top very noisy.

    Overall the hotel is good. Staff is helpfull and pleasant. Beautiful inside garden/lounge. Nice views and good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Great time! Totally recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would maybe say that the wait during lunch or diner can be long - but then it is Bahia and we were still getting used to the fact that it is how it is there :)

    We loved our time at Zank Hotel. It is a very beautiful hotel, quiet and relaxed atmosphere and very kind and friendly staff!! We stayed four nights in this hotel, the rooms are clean and original, each room having a different decoration - we had a great view on the beach (which I completely recommend to go to as situated 3 minutes walk from the hotel and a very quiet beach). The hotel also offers massages - I totally recommend the AYURVEDIC massage, amazing! Also, they offered a sailing boat trip, which we really enjoyed doing one full day with the family to visit some islands around Salvador - I also recommend taking this trip, even though it seems a little expensive at first it is very much worth it!! Great time, great place and great staff! Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    the staff at the reception (incl luggage organiser) are the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    both swimming pool and sun area are very small. We couldn't sunbath because all (ca 10?) sunbeds were taken. far from the old centre Pelourinho : almost 20 minutes taxi drive (but at a low cost). When entering the breakfast room it stronly smelt of garlic - both days we had breakfast. Luckily we could sit outside.

    the staff at the reception (incl luggage organiser) are the visit card of the hotel : very helpful, considerate to our requests. Room & bed are very good; breakfast as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Friendly Boutique Hotel With Beach Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff. Stored our luggage and even offered an afternoon shower on the day we checked out. Good breakfast. Local eateries good (some need reservations)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Zank hotel is a cozy place in Salvador, but it has long way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Breakfast is poor - no hot meal, only sweets and fruits 2) Pool is very small 3) Working hours of the bar should be longer 4) PRICE is way too high for such a place

    Zank hotel is a cozy place in Salvador, but it has long way to the beach and ALL the pictures on the Booking.com are photoshoped and are away from reality...everything is pretty old, which on the one hand brings you to the feeling of "old good days" in Latin America, but from other doesn't give such a comfort as it should be for such a high price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    An ideal perch in Salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though there are routers on every floor and Wifi works fine in hallways & communal areas, Wifi in room (#20) was extremely weak.

    Building. Location. Security. View. Amazing Staff. Food! Breakfast!! & the best driver / tour and gastronomy guide ever (Carlos)!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Ordinarily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a funny smell around the property almost like the sewage or something rotting but it was not in our room it was mainly in the corridor and garden.

    The breakfast was lovely and our room view was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Kind luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Zank hotel is my preferred hotel in the world. I simply love to stay here. Each of the persons working here is utmost gentle and genuinely working for each guest to have the best stay. I can warm-hearthed recommend this place!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Great exclusive hotel, would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had some hair and dust on the floor, so cleaning could be improved. The bathroom and bed linen were very clean though. The facilities in the hotel need a caring hand (like fixing the glass on the top terrace etc)

    The hotel is really exclusive, the personnel were very attentious and welcoming. Great service, beautiful view from the hotel and very nice facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    A quirky small hotel with ooodles of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The most miserable male waiter I have met. Please find out why he is unhappy/unwilling and help him!!:) The swimming pool steps are broken. Little bit of TLC and simple maintenance would vastly improve the impression on the eye!

    Staff are wonderful all except the waiter. Breakfast delicious. Massage a real treat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Very helpful nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mostly it was excellent one or two rooms are a little noisy in some due to air con/ventilation being a bit noisy. Would stay here again for sure. really liked the vibe. very honest hardworking staff and they made good recommendations not sending us to the usual tourist traps.

    Very helpful nice staff. comfortable rooms if very nice rooms. Homely feel and easy to walk into Rio vermelho. Nice quite beach nearby. kitchen staff were v obliging and make nice cocktails. The food is good for a hotel and much better than many others in Salvador. nice view from the roof. Quite a little oasis and really laid back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel that could be even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facilities are starting to lose their luster and need a refreshing. Internet was very inconsistent and not possible to use for serious access.

    The service was excellent. Staff attentive and eager to make the stay a pleasant one.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.9
    Above average stay in Salvador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we wanted to have some wine by the pool, however, the hotel had no bottles of rose or white wine available! And also, what's with the service interruption at 11am-1pm and in the early evening as well? That's not something a so called 5 star hotel would do.

    Gabriel was very friendly. They also got us a reservation at a very famous restaurant which was hard to get.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location with a beautiful view and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet seat in the public bathroom was broken.

    Location, Beds, the view. Friendly staff (that speak English).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    THE VIEW AND THE SIZE OF THE ROOM
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom The size of The sink doesn’t combine with The Room!!!!!

    THE VIEW AND THE SIZE OF THE ROOM

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Restaurant is overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is overpriced

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Cute hotel, well located, but only go there if you speak a bit Portuguese, if not you will be lost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff, while very friendly, do not speak sufficient English.

    Small boutique hotel nicely located in upscale Rio Vermelho

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    The perfect hotel to experience Salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big rooms Comfort in general Location in Rio Vermelho is top Nice terrace with pool and spa One of the best breakfasts I saw in Brazil

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Room for improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where grumpy and go no smiles for another the front desk. Bar staff was miserable and grumpy.

    Breakfast and all facilities was awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location for a stay in Salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in rio vermelho Great bed and view Amazing breakfast Very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Very very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely place. Nice reception. Great location. Nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff ! Beautiful view and pool ! Very good food :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Life changing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The most amazing experience I'm my life!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.3
    I don’t recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad service Bad building Smell of sewer Unfriendly staff It’s a 3 star hotel at best Falsely advertised on the web

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Perfect place for ocean view lovers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better - more choices! Although everything was fresh & good-looking!

    The view from the rooms, the staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    The setting

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    I felt welcome, at ease, and at home at Zanck
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dedicated and friendly staff. The interior decoration is outstanding. The neighborhood is hip and lively.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    So the hotel are so clean and so nice !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything's i like , this service so nice , start on reception at service room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice and calm place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not exactly near all main tourist locations

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    6.3
    Average hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old furnitures and rooms Poor wifi connection

    Great staff, very responsive Good breakfast with a buffet and a la carte eggs and tapioca (included)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.3
    Amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The terrace view and the swimming pool were nice!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel with nice views in a great location for nightlife
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Hotel with nice views in a great location for nightlife

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Top
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakefast!

    Location/staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.2
    Very tasteful, charming room and panoramic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No enough shade at pool, even with two ombrellas

    Very tasteful, charming room and panoramic view. Gorgeous! Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    Fine staff with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. We expected more local fruits (we are in Brazil, it is easy to find good fruits)

    Staff, location, room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    4.2
    Broken shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is way too expensive what it offers.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    9.6
    Friendly staff who spoke good English and offered a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Netflix Wouldn't load in our room although staff tried to help. We'd been travelling lots and fancied making the most of our lovely bedroom. Air con units outside were pretty noisy, turning on and off, which we could hear during the night

    Friendly staff who spoke good English and offered a very professional service, quality well made drinks, beautifully furnished common areas and our room with a super comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    10
    the architecture of the place, its choice of furniture, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the architecture of the place, its choice of furniture, the bahianese breakfast, the helpful staff, the beautiful view of the ocean. the young, fun area, an amazing place!

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    8.8
    Fantastically attentive service - couldn't do enough for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tatty decor in places and small gym with broken equipment. The hotel could do with a bit of attention.

    Fantastically attentive service - couldn't do enough for you. Staff stayed up serving caiprinhas until we went to bed. Good food. Fab swimming pool with amazing view, as well as other nice relaxation areas. Large room with great sea view. In heart of Rio Vermelho, one of Salvador's most vibey neighbourhoods.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful room, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited breakfast buffet options compared to other hotels we visited in Brasil.

    Beautiful room, comfortable bed. small but sufficient rooftop pool. A real oasis in chaotic Salvador.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is stunning, wonderfully designed, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's really hard to fault this hotel, it's pretty perfect. I would say the only slight downside is that the location is just a bit far from the old city and you need to jump in a taxi to get to the nicer beaches.

    The hotel is stunning, wonderfully designed, beautiful furniture, great garden area with a view and the roof terrace is amazing. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.9
    Very nice design style, we arrived on Saturday evening and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast-despite it looked stylish, rather my eye enjoyed than my stomach. And the breakfast room was smelly. I would wellcome at least a small balcony in the room. In 5star hotel I would expect, that you have at least one English speaking person in reception constantly. It was true in most times, but not all. Overpriced drinks in room minibar.

    Very nice design style, we arrived on Saturday evening and my reaction on the view supported by evening lights and saxophone player was "waw". Close to a beach, even though the more beatifull beaches are a bit far away. Number of quite good restaurants in surrounding. Nice roof terrace with small swimmimg pool and whirlpool, with great view.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    As a solo traveler who speaks little Portuguese, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As a solo traveler who speaks little Portuguese, the staff went out of their way to help me with any request I had organizing cars, translators and showing me their neighbourhood. The rooms were comfortable with good views. This is one of the best breakfasts I have been offered at a hotel. Zank by Toque is the ideal hotel for a person who really wants to experience Salvador and the friendly nature of its people.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    I was between work trips, and found Zank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was between work trips, and found Zank. I was traveling alone and it couldn't have been more perfect! I recommend going for one of the ocean view rooms! Floor to ceiling views of the beach with palm trees. It was delightful! It's a little far from Old Town, but I just took taxis. It was no problem. I appreciated being out of the "rat race" anyway. Great hotel! Great experience!

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    Where to begin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative thing I could possibly say is that the wifi didn't work in the hotel, but if you are on vacation than put that phone away and go explore I say!

    Where to begin... Upon arrival you are greeted with pink champagne while the scent of the warm ocean air breezes through the beautiful windows. Everyone there is extremely friendly and accommodating. If you are like me and aren't very big on touristy areas, than this place is for you. The hotel is perfectly situated in the local nightlife area of Salvador and walking distance from amazing restaurants and street cart food. I can't recommend Zank hotel enough when traveling to Salvador. The interior is stunning, clean and spacious and the roof top deck gives it that added punch of flair.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    9.2
    Champagne welcome in the lobby during our registration was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some common areas that were painted white needed a paint touch up where there were black marks . They detracted from the Zen aspect. Some pool towels were threadbare and should be retired.

    Champagne welcome in the lobby during our registration was the beginning of an excellent stay. The staff really know how to spoil their guests. They were all pleasant and well informed. We enjoyed the roof top pool with bar and food service. It is an excellent place to relax after a long day and watch the sunset. We had excellent restaurant recommendations. The taxi driver called for our requirements was professionally dressed in a shirt and tie and the car was clean. The rooms were very comfortable , beds had good quality linens and good quality towels. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    9.6
    The location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Aside from location and design, the hotel is mediocre and so was the staff, besides Renan and Thiago. They were super fun and nice. The others were super low energy. Kind of like they get scared when you approach. The breakfast waitress was also very nice. There were some minor details in room that could have used some maintenance, but nothing major.

    The location is amazing. Rio Vermelho neighborhood is a safe area where you can walk to beach and many restaurants, plazas and bars. The hotel also has a nice design; especially the old house part. That is where I stayed. I had a wonderful room with big bathroom with claw foot tub. Nice fixtures and decor.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    9.2
    The breakfast at Zank is a good and health one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The draw back is the very limited gym. Also they should have an agreement with one of the excellent local gyms.

    The breakfast at Zank is a good and health one. The staff is very helpful and kind. High class bar next to the lobby and terrace.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.9
    Nice decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hôtel is located in a "bohemian" neighbourhood, i.e with lots of restaurants and galleries (all about 10 mins walk). The immediate surroundings are not vey inviting. The food is really not special Minimalist swimming pool on the top floor Most of the staff speaks only portuguese

    Nice decoration Great sea view Affordable beauty parlour

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    9.6
    Amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Amazing hotel! Super nice staff and the ocean view from the room just incredible!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    10
    Good location, great views, spacious, super comfortable bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, great views, spacious, super comfortable bed and great shower.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    9.2
    Great ambiance - relaxing, friendly and warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great ambiance - relaxing, friendly and warm welcome

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.9
    Jazz night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    View of the beach is blocked.

    Jazz night! Coconut water welcome drink!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.3
    Almost everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location could be better, but nothing that make you not go for this hotel.

    Almost everything.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.1
    I love the 2 girls that took care of the breakfast: tati e...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I love the 2 girls that took care of the breakfast: tati e marilia

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Zank by Toque Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil