Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Coral Sands Hotel 3 stars

Chapel Street, Harbour Island, Bahamas

#1 of 4 hotels in Harbour Island

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 78 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    The whole experience has been great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience has been great. The big draw back for me was the fact that horse back riding is allowed on the beach and the guide brought the horses to dump their poo in the water when we (and a bunch of children) were swimming just off the shore. I thought this was disgusting and also dangerous. I thought the hotel should have done something to prevent this to happen or compensate the guests for having ruined everybody the afternoon on the beach. They didn’t do either.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    excellent stay...booked for next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    continental breakfast was included and valued at $18 according to the a la carte menu....oatmeal was $12 but you had to pay extra for anything if you chose not to have the continental breakfast even though it was priced lower....that seemed a bit odd to me

    continental breakfast was lovely...good pastries...dinner and lunch were both good... our bungalow and bathroom were large and very clean ...the bed was excellent ....all the staff were friendly and helpful including the beach staff....the pool area was very clean and gorgeous view....for those who can not disconnect, the WIFI was very good for the Bahamas as was the cable tv...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Harbour Island's greatest asset is the beach, everything else compliments your stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are roosters around the property crowing throughout the night making it difficult to sleep.

    The hotel location is great. The beach is pristine. The staff is very attentive. The resort is very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location but not luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was unclean when we checked in Beach towel staff very unfriendly and not helpful - they didn’t look like they wanted to be there at all Shampoo and conditioner holders fell off in the shower Broken AC

    Lovely pool Great food Very good gym Wonderful restaurant for lunch

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed it immensely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi the first day very iffy but it got better.

    Everything was very good - there for a wedding. People great not overly friendly but good amenities were excellent.Loved my room and view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    It was an unforgettable paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the dining room staff did not seem to enjoy their jobs. Smiles were rare. It was also annoying that when offered water, it was automatically poured from a bottle for which you were charged $8 without being offered regular water without charge.

    The food at the restaurant was fantastic and the best we had on the island, although expensive, as it was everywhere on this island. The room needed updating as the bathroom fan was unendurably loud and the pull-out sofabed was beyond uncomfortable. To their credit, they did make corrections when we complained. Overall, the hotel is lovely and the beach is incredibly beautiful! Without doubt, the pink sand beach and the amazing, sweet water is the best I've ever seen anywhere in the world. I would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place, great staff and beautiful accomodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Should offer coffee maker in every room

    Decor is organic modern, soothing and ahead of its time - not typical dated, overly colorful Bahamian like so many other hotels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Very relaxing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Garden View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The view and beach at this hotel is breathtaking! Great beach facilities and staff. The hotel is relaxed and beautiful. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Excellent resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Garden View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The side stares from other guests. lol. Sorry to have to say this... but as a person of colour, travelling solo, the dirty looks and side stares I got from other guests was a little disturbing & more than usual. This definitely has a "country club feel", and unfortunately many of the older guests of European decent did not seem too pleased with a young professional with a diverse ethnicity dinning beside them. Not the staffs fault, but just the demographic attracted to this higher end resort (I'm guessing).

    Excellent resort. Great getaway spot. Right on the beach, beautiful pool, excellent concierge service. Champagne glass when you check in, golf cart rentals arranged on site and tips on site seeing. Good on-site restaurant (personally a little pricey for the quality... but you are in the Bahamas, found the food quality/cost ratio pretty poor all around).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Location & Accommodation: A+; Service: C-
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Service could need great improvement. Some of the waiters could smile once in a while - they look like as if someone passed away. There is a general feeling around the restaurants that the staff is not managed well. Sad, because the rest is just fantastic.

    Excellent location to the famous pink sand beach. Very nice cottages, well kept.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful but don't expect great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed with the service and the staff. No one went out of their way to accommodate anything. If you asked for towels or an umbrella the attendant seemed annoyed. The same was true of the staff at the restaurant and bar. For the amount of money we spent on the hotel and food we were extremely disappointed with the lack of service for such a beautiful property. The general manager was delightful, friendly and helpful. We wish her staff had her same attitude. We loved our vacation with our 3 teenagers and want to come back but hope the service is friendlier on our next trip .

    The hotel is a beautiful property with a gorgeous beach. Loved the lobby decor and the bar and the beach restaurant was awesome. The food is very good and the rooms are well appointed. Loved the decor of the bungalows. It is by far the nicest beach we have ever seen. I definitely will come back .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Perfect experience with the exclusions of irritating bits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1) wifi in the main building is poor (literally no internet connection). 2) breakfast included in the room rate is always the same. No variations at all. 3) there were some noisy contractions near bungalows.

    Amazing location! Bungalows are really nice and spacious. All the stuff you may want on the beach is provided for free (not only sun bed and umbrellas, but snorkelling tools, boards etc)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    3.3
    nightmare!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was terrible... this hotel really destroyed my vacation. I dont want even to waist my time to write the comments for this stupid hotel...

    just the beach

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Ideal for a break... a very cool place to stay .. lived up to all our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing springs to mind

    pretty much everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    The rooms are very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food. Their menu is limited and really expensive.

    The rooms are very nice! The beach is amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Best place on the nicest beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best place on the nicest beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic - would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive to eat and drink but in line with the rest of the Island

    Everything!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well - the price of it all was a bit much - but still well worth it

    The Beeeeeeaaaaaaccccchhhhhhh!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice beach facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service a little bit long not. Ring a buffet

    Situation, beach access , restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Recently redone property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Recently redone property. Very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Loved the stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ?

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cheap, out was included, but bland.

    The lobster was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Captivating views and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chef prepared excellent meal with fresh fish we caught that day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    Newly renovated and very well run. Staff professional and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No Tea facility in the morning. Was more expensive than anticipated

    food was very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Front desk and beach staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front desk and beach staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    The location is perfect right on a long and wide pink sand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The leaves of some of the coconut trees in the garden were cut down which made them look weird.

    The location is perfect right on a long and wide pink sand beach, and the premises are large and well kept. Lots of space.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.6
    Everything was delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We felt the prices for dinner, as well as a full breakfast, instead of the included continental breakfast, were overpriced. The meals were excellent, but guests are rather limited on the island for alternative dining venues. We realize that all the food must be imported from the mainland and that is perhaps the reason they charge so much.

    Everything was delightful. We loved the antique British Colonial decor, the beds were very comfortable and our large balcony overlooking the pink sand beach and sea was worth the extra cost.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    We stayed at Coral sand for 3 nights as part of out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at Coral sand for 3 nights as part of out Honeymoon - it was our first time in the Bahamas. The hotel is small and friendly, but has seemingly dozens of staff on hand keeping the place running smoothly. The rooms, public areas pool and beach are all pristine and gorgeous. The hotel were able to ammend our booking at the last minute after AA let us down - this was amazing service and we're so greatful!

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.6
    The Coral Sands is right on the most gorgeous pink sand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Coral Sands is right on the most gorgeous pink sand beach. Hotel staff is friendly and attentive. Wish we could have stayed longer. Next time, we want to stay in one of the cottages, which have kitchens.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    9.6
    Location was amazing, one of the most beautiful beaches in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was one bar person in the evenings called Tee Jay who was extremely rude and so we did not go again to the bar in the evening, however there are lots of other lovely bars on the island and it is a shame that one person put us off as the hotel is otherwise excellent and all of the other staff are great.

    Location was amazing, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Hotel has a lovely beach bar / restaurant which is open during the day and the pool overlooks the sea. Our room was spacious and had a lovely view. All of the staff (except one) were lovely, in particular Mathew at the beach bar!

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Loved this place on Harbour Island! Great staff. Great food and super relaxing Pink Beach!

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    8.8
    Beach was gorgeous and the hotel had a beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff acted like they didn't care, especially in the restaurant.

    Beach was gorgeous and the hotel had a beautiful view.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Alexandra and Norman down at the Beach Bar are fabulous! And the Bloody Mary Norman makes is deelish!

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    8.3
    Our room was a little tired looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was a little tired looking. Could use some newer touches.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic Mattress, since you asked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic Mattress, since you asked. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    7.9
    The beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weather

    The beach

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    9.6
    see above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    minor room amennities. only 1 towel bar in bath and only one switch for lights,fan,etc,could use alittle better lighting

    see above

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: