Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Howard Johnson by Wyndham Victoria 3 stars

310 Gorge Road East, V8T 2W2 Victoria, Canada

#45 of 49 hotels in Victoria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 854 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.5
    A bit dated, Coffee only in the lobby, like an afterthought,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit dated, Coffee only in the lobby, like an afterthought, seemed like a bother to stuff. Hat to unplug fridge from the wall - it was making strange and loud noise.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.0
    Average place. If your just looking for an inexpensive place to sleep at night-this place is it.
    • Couple
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertised restraint and bar, I think it's closed permanently, so no food on site-a vending machine of the usual assortment of snacks just don't cut it. When I asked the front staff if it was closed for good, they wouldn't answer, just kept saying "it's not open today". From a peek in the window, it hasn't been "open" in a very long time, and sure doesn't show any signs of ever opening. Upon check in, the staff was anything but welcoming.... They where short with answers, and didn't smile at all. They just looked like they didn't want to be there, and could barely be bothered to check people in. That's sad. However, for an older Hotel, you are getting what you pay for. Could be cleaner, but, I've stayed in much worse. Also, I would NOT recommend using the elevator. It gave me the fright of my life! I think, for a brief moment, it slipped the track, or something blocked the track, as it stopped, made a loud bang and sharp movement sideways and up at the same time, and jumped back up. I thought I was a goner! Use the stairs....

    The towels where big and fluffy. Tere's extra coffee to be found, so that's a plus as well. I also did my usual bed check, looking for nasty critters-signs of bedbugs, or unclean sheets- PASSED with flying colors!! I can confidently say, these are CLEAN beds!!!! Room was larger than expected too! Didn't feel like I wanted to keep my shoes on in the room either. Lol. We all know "those rooms".

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.3
    it was close to downtown walking and driving close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Studio with Kitchenette - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the heating system out of date the pool wasnt working said there is a saunano sauna around the fitness room needs an update maybe add a hot tub the waer was shut off with no notice.

    it was close to downtown walking and driving close to groceries

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    I opened up the door and there was a light on, makes the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't any water in the fridge. Just a small thing but it goes a long way especially when you arrive late.

    I opened up the door and there was a light on, makes the room feel very inviting. Room was clean, bed was comfortable!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.2
    We will never stay at a Howard Johnson property again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the receptionist and their lack of helpfulness.

    I did not consider a stale muffin and a coffee as breakfast. Plus standing at the reception desk to consume the so called breakfast was unacceptable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Excellent staff and service. Dated hotel and no breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated property. Not as nice as other HJ's. Older TV. Could use a nice light breakfast as offered in other hotels

    Very comfortable beds, clean. Excellent staff and service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    the fitness centre was very lacking.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the fitness centre was very lacking. one treadmill was cracked and I was nervous to even try it, and the second couldn't be ran on without incident and injury. the bike control panel was broken and the seat's angle couldn't be adjusted. all the machines were very old, and i don't think the hotel should be advertised as having a fitness centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Staff and cleanliness of the Hotel where satisfactory, The...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff and cleanliness of the Hotel where satisfactory, The property need a lot updating , I found the hotel to be well aged and I need of some major reno's I.E. furnishings in the room and hallways where well worn.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to sleep because of other guests. Breakfast was collected in a paper bag from reception.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. They gave us a 10% discount because our night was disturbed by people drinking and allowing an outside door to slam.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.3
    Not memorable for good things - - - will not stay at this location again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were uncomfortable - and the room was very small. The TV was also very small. Our room was adjacent to the parking lot, where there were a group of males drinking beside their vehicles, and peeing in the bushes. My daughter did not feel safe. The bathroom was not very clean, and it was very cramped. The room was cleaned and made up for our second day, however we had to send bed-sheets back - -as there were brown stains on them. The pictures of the hotel seem a whole lot nicer than the actual rooms themselves. The air conditioning was noisy - - if we turned it off it got very warm very fast. I thought that breakfast was included, but turns out guests have to "ask" for coffee and muffins at the front desk. I opted not to do this - - - - as I just felt uncomfortable asking for food and drinks in the lobby.

    Not too much - - - - - -

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.2
    It was not worth what we paid to stay, and I woudn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Studio with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool was freezing, the towels were gross, the shower was scary, our kitchen fridge smelled so bad, and our room was not comfortable. I wouldn't recommend this place

    not much.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Not good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    They advertise as having a pub and a restaurant. They have a large lit up sign hanging outside the hotel stating the same thing. They in fact have neither of these facilities. Very disappointing. Had to go out and find somewhere for dinner and breakfast.

    Bed was comfortable enough.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    One of the few affordable hotels in Victoria and fine for a short stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is obviously old and could use an upgrade, the carpets in my room were stained, the paint chipped, and the bathtub in pretty poor shape.

    The staff was welcoming, professional and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    2.9
    Horrible value for the money this is maybe a 2 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are out dated. The pool was freezing. The gym has three pieces of lousy equipment to use. No bathroom fan. The breakfast was crappy dry muffins and yogurt. They didn’t even have the ingredients available to share with people who were concerned about allergies. The hotel was run down. We were very unhappy as we paid $200 a night for this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Shabby hotel, location was reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Many things do not work starting with the microwave in the room, one of the two treadmills in the tiny gym, toilets in the pool area. The washroom doors in the public area do not lock and, in one case, cannot even be closed. This hotel needs a major renovation.

    We were forced into accepting this reservation in place of the Broadmead Garden suite that we had booked; the owner over-booked that facility. I suppose the only good thing about the Howard Johnson was that it was available for our family group. The staff tries very hard to keep the place going, but is a very shabby old hotel with lots of problems.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.0
    Staff was friendly but will not go back due to the condition of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was old, worn down and dated. Not the cleanest but hard to tell with such old carpeting and fixtures. Not at all like the pictures of the rooms. Didn’t dare use the pool.

    The staff were very kind and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    Way to much money for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down. Housekeeping left a cleaning rag in bathroom. We found an oven grill unclean.

    Booked specifically to have a kitchen. Fridge and microwave were new and clean. Coffee and muffins were a bonus. Didn't like the artwork at all.inappropriate and creepy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    wish a bigger complimentary breakfast (in a spare room somewhere) was included. Though there was a hot tub in the swimming pool area but there wasn't.

    The beds were amazingly comfy, had the best sleep of my life. Glad there was air conditioning. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    2.5
    stay away from this location ,turn back now!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very outdated and smelled bad daughter hurt her hand on outdated door knob ,pool was dirty exercise equipment was broken ,staff was nosey and rude. beds were uncomfortable and the tv was small furniture was all mismatched and dirty. Online pictures were very misleading. price was not reflective of this room.no utensils or way to eat in room .overall very unsatisfied. wont be back!!!!!!!!!!!!

    nothing I was disgusted

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    If you just want a quiet night of sleep, this was very adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the down side, the curtains could cover more window are to keep the room darker in the early morning. The walls are a bit thin and we could hear the TV next door but fortunate that almost everyone in the hotel was in bed early and the evening was quiet.Small things like a box of facial tissues would be nice. Breakfast is a joke - you go to the registration desk and they give you a paper bag with a muffin and a small container of yogurt. There is a swimming pool which is decent but no hot tub. What they call a fitness room is a room with a couple of treadmills and a stationary bike. I was hoping for at least a universal gym or some weights.

    While it is not a luxury hotel it is comfortable enough. The beds were comfortable and our family had a good night's sleep. Everything (fridge, toilet, faucets, internet) all worked. Every one of the staff had a smile for us. But overall, I guess the value was good enough. Location was 5 minutes drive from downtown Victoria, even shorter drive if you wanted to go to a mall.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy third floor. Old building and furniture. Very noisy. Was put in a room with an adjoining room and could hear person beside me. Do not book through booking.com if staying here. Room rate thru hotel is$149. Booking.com is well over $200. Neither price worth it. On site restaurant closed for renovations.

    Close to downtown. Had a pool. Bed comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    2.5
    Good location to downtown, but crummy hotel. Pub & restaurant closed "due to flooding." Not good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are shabby; definitely not as indicated online. The air conditioner didn't work - not adjustable for temperature, made loud thumping noises all night. No replacement coffee provided after Day 1. No new toilet paper provided.

    The breakfast muffins were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    Over all satisfactory. Though does not fit into ( value for money).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with 2 Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front entrance of Motel looks very poor. Vending Machine NOT working. Water tabs Plumbing lines make noise and water tabs are jammed. Not easy to open and close Water tabs in the Bath room.

    Quiet and convenient location. Public Transit to down town Victoria with in a walking distance. Though only one vending machine in the entire Mitel which was OOO.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    It did what we needed--gave us a safe, comfortable place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in took a long time, and the breakfast options were sad.

    The pillows and bedding were very nice. The shower was both clean and had a good stream.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.2
    Room wasn’t made up by 4pm even though we left at 8am that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t made up by 4pm even though we left at 8am that day. They wanted to charge for a cot when the booking website didn’t mention extra cost. It looked old and dumpy - deferent from the pics.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.9
    Hotel Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the time we checked in, we already had a bad experience with the hotel. The receptionist at the hotel had given us the room where someone had already checked in! It was a horrid experience as we entered the room and a stranger was inside. We immediately reported it and got it sort out. However, during the check out, the same receptionist had thought he had already checked out our room hours ago. It was very frustrating. I wish I could speak to the manager but she wasn't present at the time. The receptionist promised I will receive my room deposit of $100 soon, but hours later, I still didn't receive my room deposit so I came back to the hotel and sorted things out with the manager. She was very apologetic. About the room, it desperately needs a renovation. The sliding door on the cabinet was falling apart, we had to lift the sliding door to access the cabinet. Paint on the walls were chipping off. The room didn't also have a microwave, I thought it was included in the room as it was listed on the website under the facilities. To be honest, from the look of the room itself it look like an old roadside motel, not worth of your money.

    The location is only a few minutes away from the city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    -Air conditioning worked well
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Nasty unswimmable pool - yuck! Old & tired-looking place, not worth $150/night - more like half that

    -Air conditioning worked well -Free parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For $250 a night I was anticipating a higher class. I feel $180 ish would have been fair for a prime time rate per night

    Friendly staff, clean property, secure location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We ended up switching to another room due to a faulty lock on the door. Otherwise, the hotel was very pleasant.

    The bed in our room was very comfortable and the hotel was quiet. They have "no noise" policy that is enforced, which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.2
    Probable bedbug infestation, dingy, the manager should gut it or just knock it down and start over
    • Group
    • Executive Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though we didn't have any bites or see bedbugs, two people were bitten in bed by a "masked bedbug hunter", an assassin bug that eats bedbugs, later discovered in a suitcase. The rooms in the hotel were so rundown that they were impossible to fully clean. Ours was impossibly cramped when we used the hide-a-bed. The hotel in general seemed to have a layer of dirt on it that could only be helped by gutting the place. The pool and sauna were dingy and the pool was freezing, despite being advertised as "heated". The showers in the pool area mysteriously don't drain and the pool towels were disgusting. The exercise room was also... interesting... The elevator had a constant overwhelming bizarre smell (sort of like sour crayons) and the staircase smelled like pee. The hallways smelled intensely of garbage during the day, enough to make you gag, as the rooms were being cleaned. The area isn't the greatest, very industrial, but far less drug addicts than in downtown Victoria. Though helpful and very sweet, the staff were not always present at the desk and were confused as to how to check us in. If it weren't for the probable bedbug situation, I could live with staying at the hotel again, but it definitely wouldn't be my first choice. Due to the bugs, I'd say stay away.

    Staff was very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. They were always pleasant and talkative in the halls. The room held a lot of people, which was perfect for our group. It also had good air conditioning, which helped with the heat wave. It was very convenient to have a kitchen and we had full access to the pool, conference rooms, exercise room and sauna. It was easy to get downtown from the hotel by bus, car or even walking about 20 minutes. The rooms were as clean as they possibly could be, considering the condition they're in. We were provided with muffins and yoghurt every morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.3
    Staff make this place, so helpful & happy, cant fault...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s really dated, it’s a bit like ‘the hotel that time forgot’ from broken door locks to skirting boards fallen off the wall... it’s also quite far out of town, for that I feel they should lower the price to reflect the value it really offers

    Staff make this place, so helpful & happy, cant fault them

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    HJ victoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were short. There were 2 plates missing in the room because we were 6 people. It did not have hot tube.

    They provude muffin and yogurt in the morning at least.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    I liked the location and the rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an older building in need of repair. Door was hard to open and close. Air conditioner was old, very loud and hard to adjust. Coffee maker in room did not work.

    I liked the location and the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.8
    It was very expensive for a very two star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had an old smell and the decor was very dated. There was no restaurant available at the hotel and the fitness room and pool were disappointing.

    Our room was cleaned regularly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.3
    I have been traveling for 16 days and this property needs help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in great need to have an overhaul, the pictures on the website look great but the hotel needs major maintenance, will never stay here again

    The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Polite staff/management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am upset with booking.com and the hotel or the communication between both... There was NO BREAKFAST offered at all and my confirmation states that breakfast is included in the price! Apparently this hotel has NEVER offered brsakfast... I picked this hotel in particular for this (as it was stated on booking.com), even though the star/rating was lower than i wanted. I travelled with my aging mom who has a hard time walking and 2 kids including a toddler and having to drive every morning out for breakfast was an extreme discomfort and inconvenience. I am still waiting to have booking.com t contact me with a reply to my email about this matter.m which I sent almost 2 days ago as the hotel couldn't help me since the reservation was made directly through booking.com and not through the hotel Upset Customer Anna

    Polite staff/management.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.3
    Miold and dirty carpets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with 2 Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miold and dirty carpets. Although the staff was friendly we had to ring the bell 4 times and were about to give up and leave when the front desk showed up. She had been busy helping other customers at the pool. When we got our key to our room, the keys didn’t work.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    Quiet, good price for stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Studio with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival we didn't get room which we booked via booking.com. We booked a room with 2 beds & sofa bed and 40 sq ft. Instead we got 2 beds suite, studio much smaller than expected. Luckily we had photos saved on confirmation of the room we were looking for and we were able to change it after negotiation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    This is near the Gallaping Goose Trail which I discovered on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room early needs some updating. The water pressure was low and the shower would run hot and cold.

    This is near the Gallaping Goose Trail which I discovered on our last night. Really nice! The staff were great and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.5
    Not recommended not even to stay free
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Manager Christy did try to help by switching us to another room, unfortunately did wasn’t much better either as the king bed was the complete worst, it’s was sinking in the middle and was not worth sleeping on. The bedroom had a twin bed but of course you could not get the air condition in that room. Total disaster

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    stay was ok nothing special will probablty not stay there again
    • Couple
    • Room with 2 Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pool was cold and not that clean no place to eat on site that nite we were there for medical appt no special rate was given for this

    beds were cpmfortable and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    It was very nice just from the beginning , professional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very nice just from the beginning , professional greeting, breakfast was pre packed, fresh coffee, clean linens . Yes hotel is not new but we enjoy it very much !We will definitely come again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Helpfull staff at the reception
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Altough my room was a nonsmoking room it was smelling bad. I couldn't open my window cause there are always people smoking marijuana at the parking lot.

    Helpfull staff at the reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.3
    Had to go somewhere else for food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place advertised a grill & bar. That is why we chose it. The restaurant on the property has apparently been closed for several months. There is no bar and grill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    The location was convenient to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room smelled a little (old cigarette smoke, even though it was non-smoking), the air conditioning was extremely noisy, one lamp didn't work (although when I mentioned it to staff they fixed it right away), the pool was closed for maintenance, the complementary breakfast was a lunch bag with a muffin and yogurt.

    The location was convenient to downtown. The building was quiet - you couldn't hear street noise or other guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    Overall I was a little disappointed by how old everything looked.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Studio with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room smelled like smoke. This was surprising after the gentleman at the front desk stressed a few times that our room was smoke-free. Staff wasn't friendly, but wasn't rude either. I just wasn't very happy with my overall experience and didn't think it was worth what I paid for it.

    I really liked the pillows. They were soft, and seemed new.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Very noisy guests in the room above and woke up to people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy guests in the room above and woke up to people shouting at each other outside our room in the middle of the night but I suppose that’s not the fault of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff was nice. The accommodations were below the standard we thought we were getting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Studio with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. And the restaurant was closed for renovations, won’t be open for months. Would not have booked here if we had known.

    The room always smelt like moth balls or like someone had been cooking with ethnic spices. It gave me a headache every time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    The check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet and the shower mat. They need to get rid of these items. They are bacteria/funghi nests. (In every hotel)

    The check-in. The two staff membera that checked me in are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    It was ok I guess but just quite run down. The pool was not clean and not heated either.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had a bedroom on the street (Gorge Street) wing. It was noisy and I kept waking up with the traffic noise.

    I like the fact that it had a laundry. I had been travelling for 6 weeks and it was really a bonus to be able to do my laundry.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    I found the hotel quiet and comfortable, with a location that suited me well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No light in the entryway of the room. Low quality complimentary toiletries. Medium grade towels.

    The hotel was quiet. The bed comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.3
    Bedbugs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Studio with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came to my house finding bites on all my body. Bedbugs had bitten me while I was on that hotel. The second night I found a drop of blood on the sheets, now I realize it was from the bedbugs from me or the last guest. Also the shower wasn’t working properly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Came for wedding good value for number of ppl. Adjoining rms great help for larger families.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with key cards worked intermittently. Fans were noisy and one rm couldn't open window the other couldn't close but locks on window. Toilets were a bit low for seniors and bath tub needs rails. Double beds were small for larger couple.

    Good value. Free parking and wifi.Booked 3 rms wanted adjoining rms only 2 connected but that was plus bcz traveling with 3 seniors who needed help. Fridge and microwave good to keep beverages cold and the complimentary muffin, yogurt coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    The lobby was nice and slightly deco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot is very steep, the rooms are small and very poorly lighted and the water temperature in the shower fluctuated terribly, the cooling system was loud and inefficient? The linens smell of chlorine Hi

    The lobby was nice and slightly deco The staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Details are not attended to. The room was like an oven even with the window opened. Thought the heat was on, but it could not be turned down; the knob just turned with no effect. Turned on the AC and the room cooled down, but it is so noisy, even on the lowest speed that it was difficult to sleep.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    My sister and I were pleased with the room and the overall quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Studio with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few dishes in the kitchen for anyone planning to cook and eat in.

    Room was s good size and clean. Was pleasantly surprised to be given a muffin and yogurt inthe morning. I wadexoevtingto have to go out for breakfast but was able to stay in the room until ready to start the day in Victoria.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Over all ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Notices on front desk said, coffee available from 6am to 10am. I want to get coffee ar 945AM but staff has already removed the coffee, not a good coustomer service.

    Cleaning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Was fine, but some basic expectations were not met
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner removed soaps and shampoos in the middle of our stay and didn’t replenish. Fridge didn’t work.

    Good location. Approx $10 taxi into downtown/wharf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    2.9
    Never again at the Victoria location on Gorge Road East! Horrible :(
    • Couple
    • Business King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    dank old smell upon entering from back parking lot extreme smell of bleach in our room bed was not king as requested everything leaned downhill in our room doors so out of square needed to be slammed to close old single pane windows rattled all night bathroom was old and in rough shape Bed was impossible to sleep in, we were literally awake all night! Do not care for the location at all. Honestly will NEVER stay there again.

    Easy room access. Fridge had a freezing compartment to freeze the cold pack for our cold bag we travel with.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Decent hotel, a little worn & dated but ok for the price!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 2 Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite dusty in the corners. Bedding was very clean but everything else could have used a good wipe-down.

    Great staff, very helpful. Nice pool and sauna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    Pool was not great very very very cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms Not clean pool way way too Cold and no restaurant OPEN on site

    Pool was not great very very very cold.... stated it was an indoor heated pool No Resturant on site open (website stated there was) Room NOT clean my child found someone’s medications on floor under bed Also my “booking” was lost even tho I had electronic confirmation Last time we stayed it was great I’m Not sure what happened this time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    I book a lot of rooms and think I should be in for a free night stay soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Area was good lady who booked me in was great as she knew me from lots of previous stays but late night staff and check out staff was not helpful and I may not book again because of them

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Twas a good time, good price, and good place.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sauna takes about 15 mins to heat up. No weights in the fitness centre.

    The staff at Howard Johnson Hotel in Victoria was excellent. They went above and beyond the job description to not only ensure our combined comfort during our stay, but also helped me when I ended up locking myself out of my vehicle. The complimentary yogurt and muffin was an unexpectedly tasty start to the day, and the facilities were okay, though it was slightly disappointing that there were no weights in the fitness room, but fully understandable after hearing why the weights were taken out... One person's kid has to ruin everyone's chest day :p. Other than that, it was a walkable distance to downtown as well as lots of pizza close by. 8.5/10. 9/10 for price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    Sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was a little run down. Bedside lamps bent. Little to no artwork. Mismatched or stained furniture. Small lobby & no common area (outside the pool).

    Sauna. Proximity to Galloping Goose Trail & Gorge. Very attentive & friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Low quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    - hotel is old - bed wasn't comfortable - noisy air con in the bathroom - deposit is $250 for debit cards - the receptionist (on check-in only) was rude

    - we didn't expect a complimentary breakfast (muffin, yoghurt & coffee/tea) - nice surprise - big parking lot - good location - cheap

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    Not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room very poor. Some staff very unhelpful, noisy in corridors room doors slamming. Keys sometimes didn’t work. Nowhere to change near pool so belongings sometimes got wet. No restaurant so had to go downtown. Plugs in room terrible. Could only have one thing in at a tim ie kettle or microwave and you had to move fridge to swap plug. Same for bedside lights.

    Beds very comfortable and room was always kept clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 2 Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a little chunky and uncomfortable. The support bar for people with mobility issues was to close to the toilet and forced you to sit at an angle.

    The beds were comfortable the price great. The shampoo had a nice fragrance and the staff were courtious and attentive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    Not good... Not even okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom walls were almost falling in. Held together with about a tube of silicone (covering obvious mold & mildew). Their maintenance man should be fired. The rooms have a stale odor. No breakfast at all.

    The price was the only upside & I wish I would have spent the extra $40. The staff were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Great option outside the inner harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No big complaints. Can’t use air conditioning this time of year. Spring weather changes rapidly. One night got quite warm, even with the heat off, so we opened the window but the birds were quite noisy. No screen on our window either. I would’ve liked the pool to be open later than 9pm. Didn’t seem too strict about locking it up though. No outdoor guest areas like balconies or patios that I saw.

    Convenient location for visiting Victoria, especially with a car. Easy access to different parts of the city. The restaurant is closed but there are a few nearby (Tim hortons, pizza..) and they provide a muffin and yoghurt in the morning which was perfect for us. There are bus stops on gorge rd and the galloping goose trail is very close so a car isn’t necessary. Excellent value! It’s an older hotel but well maintained and has all the amenities I’d expect. Also has an elevator. Our room was clean, bed comfy, and the pool is nice. They gave us a kettle to make tea and there’s an endless supply of towels (nice big fluffy ones).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall good value and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated and really need renovations

    Rooms were comfortable enough. Good value for the money. Stayed twice within a week so it was good overall. Staff was amazing and super friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    We come for the pool and the short distance to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an old and tired hotel. It could use some updating, and grounds and building maintenance.

    We stay here whenever we come to Victoria because there is a pool for our young son to enjoy. It is fairly close to town and it is one of the most inexpensive places to stay. We have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Considering it is close to the road, the room is reasonably quiet. We come here during the week because there is a pub in the hotel with loud music on the weekends. Overall room cleanliness is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    The bed was comfy and the temperature is easy to control.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfy and the temperature is easy to control. I have stayed at the Ramada and the Days Inn next door and this one is so much better quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel and nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great for the money. We are very happy and we'll come back. Thank you!

    Very good customer service. Great update for the room as we came with the small child and that was for free. Kind and considerate. Clean and quiet. Very happy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My son was very excited about the heated pool but it was way too cold to go in so we sensed up just splashing with our feet for a couple min.

    It’s a good quality for the price. Clean and nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    The place is a bit worn out around the edges but clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool was deep enough to do water therapy exercises, bed was comfy and room was clean. Giant muffin and yoghurt brown bag breakfast with tea or coffee in the lobby in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: