Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel 71 4 stars

71 Rue St Pierre, G1K 4A4 Quebec City, Canada

#5 of 104 hotels in Quebec City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 326 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    The staff was very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the hotel aggravated my allergies. There is a specially formulated scent that is prevalent in public coaxes in the hotel.

    The staff was very accommodating. Philippe, Francine, Matthew and Nicholas were especially helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is in the heart of the old town, which turned out to be a tourist "paradise", meaning there's not a single place in walking distance which would offer you a decent quality meal (be it breakfast,lunch or dinner). The hotel is rather old with no soundproofing in the rooms, so you hear everything your neighbors or housekeeping busy with. In general rooms feels rather worn out and can surely use some refreshment. Smell of hotel's restaurant cooking overwhelms the whole building every night.

    Very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    we are planning a return trip in fall and will stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    gorgeous room overlooking river. fireworks were marvelous staff and concierge helpful Nick gave recommendation to local restaurant (legend) -- was truly memorable meal

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner didn’t work, but the hotel was awesome when they realized they were not going to make us happy as they only had a room that was a downgrade. We moved to a new hotel but the staff at 71 were very helpful in getting us there.

    Nice decor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    The layout and the decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried to charge us $100 for extra person who is 11 yrs old. And I showed them the mail that I received earlier from them regarding the extra person staying in the same room. It was 20 dollars. They apologized and charge 20 dollars instead. Just not feeling comfortable about this situation. A nice hotel like this should not do this kind of thing, especially to the tourists. What a pity!

    The layout and the decoration

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    The very high ceiling and comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a fire in the hotel. The alarm rang and we called the reception. They said it was false alarm. Then the alarm rang again and we called. Then they said it was a real one. The alarm was exceedingly loud., so loud that you could not even able to think where to escape. No one come to help. I walked down 7 floors of staircase, and when reaching the ground floor, I saw receptionists were talking to a customer over the counter! No measurement of fire escape arrangement!!! Bad communication between staff and bad administration.

    The very high ceiling and comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and interesting experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really nothing in particular to dislike.

    ery congenial and helpful staff - extended themselves to be helpful. The bed was very good as was the cleanliness. Beautiful view of the river and old town, All kinds of attractions , restaurants and shops within walking distance. Looking forward to coming here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful. Can you help us get in touch with booking.com so we can get our money back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not your fault but we booked thru bookings.com. They both lied and cheated us. They guaranteed lowest rates, your rates were lower so was Trip Advisor. They cheated us because they take away your complimentary breakfast, and we didn’t know that until we checked in. We booked 2 nights, but booking.com only paid you for one night. So, we had to pay you again. We have contacted booking.com but they do not return any of our emails or calls.

    Service from all of the staff was excellent. Rooms were nicely decorated. Shower was terrific along with soaps, shampoos etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Everything was magnificent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room Plus
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! Absolutely loved the cloud 9 bed, Loccitane toiletries, and phenomenal view!!!

    Phenomenal hotel in the heart of old town Quebec City. Luxurious amenities and the best views of the lower part and St. Lawrence River. Super friendly staff and we will be coming back again in the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Great restaurant, good room and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations are taking place, and the room we stayed in was just above the construction site. Terribly noisy from 7:00AM. Awful!

    Great restaurant, good room and amenities. Exceptional location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel. Great location. Staff service somewhat wanting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise!!!! And the slowness of staff to respond to our concern. We stayed for three nights (Thurs-Sun) at Hotel 71. When we arrived at the hotel it was obvious loud (jackhammer on stone) repair work was happening. We were told there would be no work over the weekend and we then agreed to upgrade our room to be far enough away from the noise so it wouldn’t bother us and to ensure a quiet experience for our first night. However the jackhammering commenced at 7:30 the next morning - right below our third floor room. Again jackhammering. We contacted the front desk staff who undertook to report this to a manager but we did not hear back from anyone. On the evening of our third night we again spoke to a front desk staff person who had no ability to authorize compensation. And no apology was given - just a repetition that the noise was not present over the weekend. We requested a refund for the room upgrade and an extended late check out for the next morning. We thought three hours extra was a just compensation for the three hour discomfort we experienced our first morning. Again no one with authority was available to respond to our concerns. The next morning we received a phone call from the front desk offering a waiver of the upgraded room fee but reporting that the hotel could only offer one hour extended stay. After asking to speak with a manager, Emily, this was improved to two hours. After again reiterating the degree of disruption, Emily finally agreed to contact housekeeping and arrange for an additional hour. My disappointment is based on the fact that at no time was an actual apology given and I honestly do not think hotel staff understood the degree of disruption caused by the timing of hotel renovations. Staff were polite and friendly during all interactions, however they did fail to show they understood or empathized with our experience.

    The location is great. Lower town and port district right at the doorstep. Funicular to upper town also close. Hotel has a modern vibe yet still feels warm and welcoming. Very clean. Coffee available at all hours in the lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    The only negative comment - the morning buffet was less than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative comment - the morning buffet was less than expected - cold clearly overnight refrigerated hard boiled eggs, some bread, a little bit of cheese and cold cuts , some pastries and that's basically it. No fresh omelettes, no vegetables, no fresh fruit, no variety of cereal, no flavoured yogurt, no bacon or potatoes and all the other stuff you'd expect from a breakfast buffet. But everything else was amazing so didn't change my overall review of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    We felt welcome at the hotel and in the city. Would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a boutique hotel so room service is limited to dinner

    The front desk and concierge staff were very helpful and friendly. Location was quiet and yet very close to all the prime tourist attractions. loved the high ceilings in the room - made it feel very spacious. Very clean. Liked the breakfast included price package. Flexible on our check out time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.0
    I booked it for my family as a gift and they loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was interested in packages available online on hotel 71 website and they were no longer available when I spoke on the phone with the agent although clearly available online.

    The front desk agent was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Everything exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything exceeded our expectations. The staff went out of their way to help us with restaurant reservations, making sure we had coffee and other drinks in the lobby, etc. The in house restaurant was superb and reasonably priced. We look forward to returning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was ok, not wonderful (they could offer more options). They could have a swimming pool.

    Great location, right in the middle of Vieux Quebec. Great bedroom, wood floors (not carpet!) amazing shower, L'occitane amenities, great ceiling height, very comfortable. Good fitness center with new equipment. Good italian restaurant inside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Ended up being one of the best hotels we have picked from the Internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no complaints

    Great Bar, all service excellent from check in to checkout dropped of luggage to front desk, bellman took directly to ship! Fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    An elegant and comfortable boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV in the gym was tuned to FOX channel, no remote to change it.

    Modern without the starkness. Warm and hospitable staff, on the phone and in person. Francine the concierge was helpful with dinner recommendation and reservations and tours. Nicolas helped, via phone, with selecting our room. Location in the old port near restaurants and sightseeing. A very walkable city even with the hills. Our room overlooked the river, 4th floor. Recommend a corner room with views to river and Frontenac.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable room with morden decorations conveniently located in the center of old Quebec
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. As we also stayed in another wonderful hotel nearby, I think your price could be more competitive.

    Good location, close to restaurants, shops and art galleries and with easy walking distance to main tourist attractions in old Quebec. Large room with high ceilings and morden decorations. Comfortable beds and good brand toiletries. Free and good coffee in the lobby. Nice restaurant for good breakfasts. Welcoming and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Euro-awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental style breakfast comped with room. Very fresh but somewhat limited offerings. Enough to see you thru happily...but an eggs benedict was what I was craving. Poteewheet.

    Awesome boutique hotel! Pricey, but an awesome stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Hotel 71 is an absolute gem in Quebec City!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we had to leave!

    The room was wonderful. Very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom is generous and the shower is amazing. I hated to come home to mine. I will now be comparing every shower head to Hotel 71! The smell of the lobby is yummy and the staff is top notch! The concierge was awesome. The breakfast buffet is lovely and I had the best cappuccino! We loved everything about this hotel. The location is excellent for walking the city. I can't wait to come back here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    This is our second stay at Hotel 71. It did not disappoint and we would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast is excellent. Concierge provided great recommendations for tour and restaurants. Hotel staff is extremely welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Makes an immediate impression! Excellent location, terrific, modern, boutique hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room Plus
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are all professional, knowledgeable and courteous. Great location, and the restaurant has a wonderful variety at the breakfast buffet, which is handy if you have early morning tours. The vieux port area is full of shops, galleries and restaurants. The hotel is a block or two from the St. Lawrence River. My room was large, quiet and had hardwood floors. A plus for me. The bathroom was large and modern. The concierge was available whenever I had a question or needed a recommendation for dinner. Taking tours on the hop-on/hop-off bus or excursion buses is convenient as one of the meeting points is in front of the Museum of Civilization, across from the hotel. Staying at Hotel 71 was a pleasure and my four days travelling solo in Quebec City was a real treat and totally safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    3.3
    Poor value for the money. Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    housekeeping very poor. Had to ask for SOAP every day; they kept removing the used bars and not replacing them. Room not cleaned well. Lighting in bathroom very bad. Beds made very badly; had to remake the bed 2 of the 4 nights we were there.No interaction with staff unless I went up to the desk, no eye contact or pleasantries. No mats on lobby floor or entrance on a rainy day, very slippery. Thin walls. Breakfast unimaginative and mediocre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Overall a wonderful hotel. Would definitely stay here again on a return trip to QC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dined at Matto. My husband loved his lasagne. I thought my manicotti was a little bland. We Both thought the tomatoes in our salads had no flavor. Pretty important when one is a caprese salad. Also the entree specials that evening weren't offered by our waiter.

    Beautiful old hotel with great location in old port. Nice appointments and modern amenities with Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful staff and hotel. So close to all the key places to visit in Old Quebec. Concierge was very accommodating. We would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    We just arrived back from a 3 nights stay in Quebec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just arrived back from a 3 nights stay in Quebec. My husband and I decided to book Hotel 71 as it was reasonably priced and in a great location. From the time of check in to check out we were impressed. Staff was great, room was nicely renovated and rain shower in the bathroom was awesome ! Free breakfast in the morning served by a pleasant staff. If you stay here don't forget to make a reservation at the restaurant Matto. It was the best meal we had the entire trip. Almost forgot, they had a fantastic high end coffee machine in the lobby that made any cup you'd like. Doesn't sound like much but was nice to make a latte on your way out in the morning. Thank you Hotel 71 for making our stay a memorable one.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location, Great views, great buildings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing as it already "exceeded our expectations"....

    The bed and duvet were excellent; bathroom facilities were excellent; places to put our suitcases to be out of the way without having to unpack.Pleasant manner from all hotel staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    The staff was super nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super nice. I love that. Heres a great story; my wife lost her wallet on our trip. One month later I get a call from the hotel, they traced the wallet to us, all the contents still were inside. And a week later my wife had her wallet back. Just going beyond the job to care for the clients

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    A very peaceful chic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the second floor and didn't have a view, although this did not spoil our stay but it would be worth asking to move to the upper floors.

    Large modern room; friendly helpful staff and a really excellent location in the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Very pretty place, super location, but a little too high tech and modern for our tastes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is high tech in that there is no bar - you use a drink card to pour your own spirits and wine from dispensers and it's charged to the room (pretty hefty prices). We're a little old school and would have preferred a cozy bar with a bar tender. The continental breakfast was good but it was the same every single day - could use some variety. There was also a light burned out in our bathroom - we reported it 3 days in a row and it was never replaced. Bathroom was pretty dark for putting on makeup. For what we paid, we expected a little better responsiveness.

    The bed was very comfortable with great linens. We liked the bathrobes - very comfy. The rain head shower is awesome. The room was clean and quiet and spacious (we had a suite).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Plus Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet only offered hard boiled eggs. Could have offered more variety

    Loved the shelving in the bathroom for storage. Very comfortable room that felt spacious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Quebec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok ( it was still good).

    Great location. Nice and spacious room. Nespresso machine in room. Breakfast is ok, but they made as many cappuccinos as I wanted, which is a plus. Overall, a great place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Location was wonderful, convenient to all Quebec has to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room Plus
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was wonderful, convenient to all Quebec has to offer. Entire staff was warm, welcoming and extremely helpful. We had a beautiful view of the river. Would definitely recommend this property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.5
    Reception area all very friendly and helpful as well as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladies serving at the breakfast area were not friendly at all!!! It's not exceptable to wait 20 minutes for the croissants which were not fully baked when they arrived 5 minutes before breakfast closed.

    Reception area all very friendly and helpful as well as the valet parking staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Visiting Quebec City? This is THE place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel lacked nothing!

    Hotel 71 is a superb hotel in an excellent location, and it is near all that Quebec City has to offer! The linens and pillows were noteworthy--soft and luxurious. The breakfast was delightful--always fresh with a nice variety of fruit, meats, and breads along with specialty coffee made to order. The self-serve wine and whiskey bars were a fun and unique element. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant (Italian) as well, and we would recommend it highly. The food was fresh and flavorful and the prices were within reason. It was very popular and with good reason. Consider making a reservation to ensure you get a table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    The location is perfect - walking distance to great shopping, food, points of interest, bus & train station, the staff were friendly, room was clean and well appointed, the breakfast had good choices and the restaurant Matto is exceptional - look for the turning tree across the street!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location and stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a litttle bit cold and I tried to change the temp but not work so well. Also there is a "water flush sound" always heard in my room

    Amazing location and stuff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Great boutique hotel, full amenities, great location, comfort, style, and ease.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very comfortable beds, great toiletries, friendly staff. Relaxing and artsy vibe, great restaurant ajoinining hotel and many others in walking distance. Great shops, bars, and cafes all within walking distance. A great choice for Old Quebec City

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Modern hotel in Old Lower City Close to Attractions, Restaurants & Shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some construction going on outside ,but, staff graciously moved us to a different room

    Excellent breakfast, great location - walk to major attractions, restaurants and shops. A very chic hotel with friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    A cozy place to stay in old Quebec City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The traffic in the area made it difficult to find a place to park to check in to the hotel so that the doorman could park our car. The bare wood floors in the rooms are really nice when you are awake, but when you are trying to sleep in and the person above you is walking around with their high heels on, good luck on the sleeping in.

    The property was just down the hill from the Chateau which allowed us to walk through the old City of Quebec, and we found a number of places to eat in the area. The room were well cared for and the bathrooms were very modern and they had plenty of hot water in the shower. The owners have done a great job putting together this hotel in a historic area. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well as making sure that we had all of our needs met. We were celebrating our wedding 35th anniversary and had a great time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.5
    Perfect location close to the old port and covered market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't equal to the hotel standard. It was a cold buffet with the same items every day. We stayed 4 days and would have enjoyed some variety and hot food like eggs and pancakes.

    The location, the attentive staff and lobby area because there was a very nice and relaxing sitting area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely charming hotel located in the lower town of Old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely charming hotel located in the lower town of Old Quebec City. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the staff. Check in was quick and efficient. The hotel lobby seating area was beautifully lit with candles which added to the charm. There was also a convenient self serve wine bar in the lobby which was accessible by a hotel card that you are given at check in. You are charged by the glass and type of wine you select. A very nice added touch. There was also an excellent Italian restaurant, Il Matto which is connected to the hotel. It was booked solid on Friday & Saturday night so advance reservations are recommended on weekends. The rooms were very well appointed, with high ceilings, which gave the room a very open feel. The highlight was the beautiful modern bathroom. My only complaint was that the air was very hot and dry in the room. This could be improved with the addition of a humidifier. I would recommend this hotel to couples who want the comfort and tranquility of a boutique hotel which is just steps away from all the sights and good restaurants. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Cozy Winter Hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little sparse

    This was a extremely comfortable room. We traveled here in the winter and it was wonderful to lay in bed and watch the snow falling outside.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.2
    A very quaint and cozy Christmas holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The easy chair in the room was only moderately comfortable and there was only one. The pillows are too stuffed, even though they seem high quality, and are the type to give you a neck ache. I'm glad I brought my own pillow. We had no rug on the wood floors (all pictures show a rug). When it's cold out, I like a rug on the floor. The valet parking is a mixed bag. The employees attitude is awesome, but we find it inconvenient to have our vehicle parked 5 blocks away. Warning: we walked to our truck to get it ourselves to go exploring, only to find you can't exit the parking garage yourself. An employee must do it with a remote control to unlock the gate. It only took them 10 minutes to come and let us out. Another warning for anybody who has never been here. The streets are cobblestone and very narrow. At dinnertime, all vehicle traffic is banned and there are LOTS of people walking. We arrived at around 6pm, were unfamilier with the tight little neighborhood and wound up in throngs of people walking. Thankfully, a man showed us how to get our truck out of there. Also would have liked two vending machines, hidden away, to get a soda or snack. The streets were icy and it would have been convenient.

    The location in the lower part of Old Quebec was convenient to restaurants, art shops, and other shops. The Funicular is several blocks away. The Funicular is a ride from lower to upper parts of town, or you can take the stairs. The staff was friendly and nice. The room was clean and modern with interesting views across the rooftops and the river. The shower is a large walk-in with pump dispensers of shampoo, conditioner and body wash. There are low light motion sensor lights that come on when you get out of bed. We ate at the Italian restaurant on the first floor twice, and loved the food. The continental breakfast is presented in the restaurant. It's definitely better than an American continental breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous small hotel with excellent customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be sure to figure in taxes when you see the price-- perhaps for any hotel in Canada? Our first time traveling there from the states.

    Fantastic customer service. Would definitely return

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.8
    Great Old Quebec option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking expensive, street access to hotel a little unsettling. Hotel has no visible street name.

    Croissans were extra flaky! Breakfast was nice change, great coffee options. Location was excellent, quiet with lots of retail options close by, room was very quiet and comfortable, bathroom excellent, bed very good. TV channels choices very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely room and great to come back to this part of the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived early and it was a long wait till after well 2pm to check in.

    Lovely room and great to come back to this part of the city after an excursion to Charlevoix. The concierge was lovely. After all the daytime tourists leave you have Old Quebec as your own.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.3
    One of the best options in Quebec City
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not that I didn't like something in specific, it's just that I've stayed in better places for about the same price. I think there are little details that they could add that can pump up tremendously their guests / hospitality experience.

    The location, the concept of the hotel. The restaurant Matto was excellent. The breakfast was great although on the continental side.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Quebec City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Excellent hotel in a very good location for visiting Quebec City. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel includes many great features including complimentary coffee lounge and delicious continental breakfast. Room was spacious - great shower, towels, toiletries etc. Restaurant attached is also very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    A Quebec City winnner in the Old Town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were cleaned very well but items that should have been left in the room each day such as bottled water were not left in my room. Most other rooms had turn-down service but mine did not.

    Friendly and professional service. Convenient location and comfortable rooms. Also liked their "self-service" wine bar in the lobby. Breakfast was included and very good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.0
    First stay at Hotel 71 Quebec City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast seating too crowded and not well organized. Many standing in the hallway waiting to be seated when there is 7 empty tables. You could have a better selection like your competition. More eggs, porridge etc

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    I will return to 71!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful location in center of the lower old village; great restaurant: little touches like water and apples for the room at 6pm, bikes to ride, two block walk to board tour ship and hop on hop off bus. Oh, and automated wine dispenser in the lobby as well as cappuccino machine 24 hour us the coffee room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    Quite modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, poor sound-proofing

    Quite modern

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast would have been nice

    Modern, trendy and great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Gorgeous hotel and ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous hotel and ideal location. Will book again!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    A fabulous place in QC.
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave and return home.

    Clean, upscale, new, great location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    3-11 pm shift was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion with concierge regarding car rental. Taxied us to wrong location, but paid the fare.

    3-11 pm shift was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Location, great lobby, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room, A/C not working correctly

    Location, great lobby, great service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Best location to visit Quebec City
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location, service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    One of my favorite hotels ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Modern, clean hotel. High ceilings, cool decor. Great staff. Awesome bathroom especially the shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    All the rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioning system in the room Average breakfast

    All the rest

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Make sure to get a chance to meet Matthew, the valet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Make sure to get a chance to meet Matthew, the valet extraordinaire!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good except the noise level. 5th floor.

    breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    It was perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service from the staff The valet service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Matthew at the front concierge was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matthew at the front concierge was awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Too short and room was too cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too cold

    Cosy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    A fabulous time !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants and muffins were delicious. Staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel in great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic!! Amazing staff (Emily, Oscar) they were always one step ahead of our needs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    Not as soundproof as I thought it would be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as soundproof as I thought it would be.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    A little pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Look forward to another visit to Quebec and Hotel 71
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    Great accommodations, location convenient to Old Quebec downtown

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Extremely pleasant. Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room Plus
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn’t make bed properly. Sheets not tucked.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: