Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Acadia 3 stars

43 Rue Sainte-Ursule, G1R 4E4 Quebec City, Canada

#74 of 104 hotels in Quebec City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2320 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location but less than adequate accommodation, as accepted by the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not given our. expected accommodation. We were given a large room, but there were stained, dirty smelly carpets in the common areas. The bathroom was in very poor condition with chipped surface in the bath and cracked and missing tiles.

    Good location. When we made a complaint, the staff did attempt to find alternative rooms but without success. At checkout, we again complained and our issues were accepted and resulted in a 25% discount.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Great place, bad policy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The policy of retaining the whole amount and then charging the full price for the room is too much, I paid 790 as a security deposit and then got charged another 840$ for the stay, so the hotel is holding 790$ of my money for over a week. I will not be returning or recommending this hotel chain.

    Beautiful room, nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    AC & Spa not available + Valet dings up my car
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn't have A/C as they said it was broken. Was 35°C+ that day. 2 fans were not enough to keep room cool. Couldn't sleep or get rest. I had booked this room months in advanced. Spa was not open as well due to renovations. They initially offered free alcohol but I refused...afterwards they offered breakfast, free parking and discount on the room (even though I would gladly have paid to be able to sleep comfortably). The valet backed the car into something and the manager left a VM without asking any further details saying they talked to the staff who said they didn't scratch the car.

    Location that's about it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Location was great. I would not stay here again, however.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The actual hotel they put us in was one of their three, which was over a block away. It was okay and near the restaurant. We thought our room included breakfast, but because we booked through booking.com, we had to pay for breakfast. The air conditioner was leaking water out onto the floor in our room. We wiped it up and called the front desk. They sent someone to take a look at it and whoever that someone was, moved the wet towels to a chair. So, when we got back to our room, the leak was running across the floor again. It was never fixed.

    Bed was comfy. Room was quaint.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Great Location but just an ok staying experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed there for 5 nights and housekeeping came in only once.This was despite us hanging the "please clean our room' tag on our door. And the one time they did come, they came in at 4 PM. A time we were relaxing in the room after a whole morning of sightseeing. The bathroom tub had a broken tile,and the soap/shampoo dispenser was absent. Everything felt clumsy.In short, it didnt meet our expectations for a relaxed, clean stay.

    Location of this hotel was just perfect. Everything was in a mere 10-15 min walking radius so that was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    I didn't really want to leave Quebec City... but work is a tyrant that always demands a return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The recommended 'breakfast' venue had closed during my visit so I resorted to purchasing my own food stocks and eating 'casually'. A desk or table in the room would have been good, just so as to be able to write letters and such. I guess it was unusual to stay at a hotel that didn't have some sort of formal eating space. Nevertheless, I enjoyed staying at your hotel and the beauty of your city is breathtaking.

    The location is the selling point, along with the quaintness of the building itself. Other hotels nearby are similar in appearance and also have that old world charm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't advise staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was broken...rooftop spa was closed. Room was nothing like pictures. Room was claustrophobic. Ended up cutting stay short.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Old Quebec
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking was extra. No other viable options for parking but everything is within walking distance.

    Small but sweet! Love the historical old building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a garret on the 5th floor with no elevator. The room was not cleaned the first day of our stay and again at 4 o'clock the second day until we complained again. Even then we had to call down for towels. The air conditioning did not work.

    Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location in old Quebec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning was out of order for our entire stay. Towels were the thinnest, smallest bath towels I have ever seen. No lifts in the Louisbourg building.

    Great location in old Quebec. Valet parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    We liked Quebec City but would not stay in this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was overpriced and run down. The room was tiny and the hallways filthy. The bed was too small and did not fit a normal-sized couple. There was an ajoining door in the room, and we could hear everything our neighbors said and did. The sink was in the room, which was not a big deal, but some people may not like that. When we checked out, the hotel tried to charge us for local taxes that were included in the Hotel.com price.

    The neighborhood was ok but super crowded. I would not stay in Old Québec again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like everything

    It was a gorgeous vintage hotel. It was charming and very clean. The girl at the reception was friendly, kind and very professional. The hotel is near to everything. The beds and bedding were perfect. The perfect white, clean crisps of fresh linens. The bathroom was vintage but very well kept and very clean. The room was one of the highlights of the trip. Love it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.2
    Disaster!Don't go there!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the water tubes an waste tube ran along our room,so we had this water noise all night in our room.The bathroom sealing edges were full with humitidy.at arrival the receptionist told us that we'll not staying at the acadia but they booked a room in there annexe hotel(louisbourg)which was 100 meter away from the actual hotel.parking fee is 22$ per night...too expensive.for breakfast they send us to another place which was a steakhouse 1 block further...disaster...13$ without taxes and the choice wat they had on the buffet was miserable...the service was so unfriendly that we just left without eating.at check-out the receptionist didn't even ask if everything was ok,he just wanted me to pay and get rid of one client.

    Location is good.aircon was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Over all the stay was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like the fee for parking. We thought the parking was offsite and they had to go get our car for us, but really it was just behind the building. Felt we had to tip for valet when we could have gotten the car ourself.

    Location was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommend for those who enjoy old European style hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared to climb stairs--which really was fine--we needed the exercise

    The hotel is very old, and initially we were put in a room with a broken air conditioner, which would have been fine most of the time in Quebec, but there was a heat wave. They moved us to a lovely suite--an upgrade for no extra cost and gave us two days of free breakfasts and no charge for parking. Love the old building and the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    We were celebrating our anniversary and loved Quebec City. It was great that we could walk to place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the basement so lack of windows. The bathroom was beautiful but you had to be very careful in the shower as it would go all over. That is why they had a drain in the middle of the floor. Wish we had known and would have brought some supplies for the kitchen. No grocery store nearby.

    They upgraded us from a standard room to a studio apartment. Very spacious and clean. The location is excellent as they parked the car at $22/nite and we walked everywhere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    The coffee maker was broke and that was all about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee maker was broke and that was all about it. Overall I was satisfied with my stay. Hopefully when we come again for sure I’ll be choosing hotel acadia

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.6
    Good for backpackers or single travelers. Oh, so bad, for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly carpet. We paid for a double room and they gave us a single (tiny) room with a very uncomfortable folding bed. No chance for upgrade when we asked. The staff was not very friendly, they don't look very engaged to their mission. The valet service works only from 8am to 8pm, if you need your car after this hour you have to go look for it /and park it yourself in very tiny streets, sometimes far from the hotel. Overall, not a good place to go with a young kid. The location was good, easy to walk to everywhere, but again, the parking offered by the hotel is very expensive (22$ + tx), it's so not worth it. It's better to go a bit far to get a better value for the money and pay for parking in the center of the city when needed.

    The location was great. Close to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    We eloped the day we were married we returned to our room and they had a bottle of champagne on ice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant in hotel as we like room service for breakfast.

    The room was excellent the staff were extremely nice and very helpful. Had a great stay. Will be returning in September.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel within Quebec's old walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had absolutely no complaints about or stay.

    This hotel is in Vieux-Québec (Old Quebec). All essential sights and activities are within easy walking distance. Parking is an additional charge, but you get valet service. This is essentially a group of three adjoining hotels. We were in Hotel Louisbourg which fronted onto Rue St. Louis and a short stroll from the Château Frontenac.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    All depends on how lucky you feel, but for the money, I'm confident you can do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we learnt from the receptionist, they have 82 different rooms, no two rooms are the same and she didn't have a chance to see them all. What this means in practice is that there are some rooms that are probably very nice, those would be the ones in the pictures, and then there are others. We were first upgraded to a studio. Now this studio is someone's deceased grandma's flat all with original features like the kitchen appliances from the seventies. Bathroom had cracked tiles, carpets in the stairway smelled, you get the picture. When we kindly asked to be downgraded back, we got a room that looked ok, but the bathroom was tiny and walls paper thin. To sum it up, not great and definitely poor value for money.

    Location quite handy, bed comfortable, rooms clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    A comfortable stay in an old, centrally located place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of noise from the passage but this only occurred during acceptable hours and is part of being in this type of old character building.

    A very centrally located old style private hotel with parking available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    The bathroom was a significient deterent to resturning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small and cramped bathroom. The photos on booking were misleading. They showed a much different type of room that we ended up with in another building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    the junior suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was so dark, I know, I read the comments about that but I was thinking I won`t care, but it actually bothered me. Bed could be more comfortable, probably there are some electrical issues that TV and jacuzzi was turning on by itself in the middle of the night and we started calling the room 'haunted' after experiencing this issue couple times :D

    Location is perfect, in the heart of the old town Quebec. Fireplace(electronic)in the room was having a romantic ambiance :) Bathroom is big and exactly looking like pictures. ( we stayed in the junior suite)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not appreciate my room not being cleaned. I was on vacation getting clean towels rinsing out my cups and making my bed was not high on my agenda No response from staff when my husband raised these concerns.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    Centrally located hotel in walking distance of all that Quebec City has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the Ermitage. It’s one of 3 hotels connected to Acadia. Our ground floor room had a window overlooking a public thoroughfare so privacy was limited. The room was a little cramped too.

    The hotel is ideally located in the old town of Quebec. Walking distance to everything you need to do and visit. Including La Citadelle, Chateau Frontenac, Parliament building and more. Staff were very helpful too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    I got a renovated room, it was nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub was out of order, which is one of the main reasons we decided too book this hotel, besides the property's central location. Apparently it has been out of order for the past couple of weeks. The staff was not very friendly, curt is a fitting word for them. There were also stains on the bed sheets. Though the location is great, I will likely stay at a different hotel if I return to Quebec City in the future.

    I got a renovated room, it was nicely decorated. The location was very central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub was out of order and was going to be for 2 weeks, and the air conditioning unit was broken in our room. We were told we were getting a discount on our room because of this and did not.

    Close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    The good and the bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower taps and shower itself in not so good condition. Drawers in the closet sucked and the carpet in the staircase worned down

    It's location, old architecture

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    A very nice, quiet place to stay in the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price is fair for the location but the extra $22 a day for parking, although convenient, seems a bit much. Still, I didn't compare other options so it may well be that that's what it costs to park in that neighborhood.

    The staff is bilingual and very helpful. The location is terrific, close to everything in the upper old city. Our room was small but more than adequate and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    It was very clean and that is very very important
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy sometimes as it is an old building, you can hear people running or jumping upstairs. Besides that it was a good hotel

    It was very clean and that is very very important

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Cosy room with exposed brick and stone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bed, leaky tap that kept me up at night despite two requests to have it repaired.

    Cosy room with exposed brick and stone. Not luxurious but some nice design features.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    The water pressure in the shower was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa which we were looking forward to spend time at, especially that it was raining from 6 pm onward, was out of order. The staff did not even bother to offer any basic compensation.

    The water pressure in the shower was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There's no elevator in the hotel and the room is too small. Although we booked Hotel Acadia, we were not living inside Hotel Acadia but Hotel L'ermitage which is a 2-star hotel. FYI, Hotel Acadia is a 3-star hotel. It was not a really good experience.

    The staff are willing to help and enthusiastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair on bathroom floor .

    Our room 221 had long hair all over floor! I took a wet Kleenex and wiped them up ! There were at least 10 . We got moved to that room. . It was great other then that

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Beware the basement rooms!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My other two stays were wonderful. But for this one, I was put into a basement room with no air circulation (window didn't open) that was incredibly stuffy, stained ceiling tiles, and the bed located underneath exposed stained ceiling pipes. Super gross. I paid more for this trip that my last two, but the room was a nightmare. Sorry.

    Staff is always wonderful, and the location is excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    The hot tub ("spa") was a nice addition to my stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check-in was awkward, the hotel employee wasn't very helpful with directions and they didn't inform me that the restaurant they have a partnership with for breakfast was closed for renovations.

    The hot tub ("spa") was a nice addition to my stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.6
    Dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I was booked into the Acadia I was moved across the street to a place called the HERMITAGE. It advertised Bed and Breakfast but no breakfast was available at the hotel. You had to go down the street to find the place. When I got there it was closed for renovation. This was by far the worst place I have stayed at on this trip from Vancouver to quebec across the whole of Canada. Lastly it advertised WiFi available but only for windows 8or 10. What about guests with 7 or XPro. I would never reccommend this hotel in its present state for people to stay at.

    Nothing. The only good thing was the shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.0
    The location and the old building that had been lovingly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs to get to the room and their restaurants were closed for renovation

    The location and the old building that had been lovingly restored. Very comfortable bed, large double room and the friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladies who were staying next door they talked so loud I could hear every single word of what they said.

    Staff were excellent. Great location close proximity to everything! Cleanliness was acceptable overall I'm happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    We will definitely go back to this hotel. I will make sure to book on a lower level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm asthmatic so I didn't like walking up to the forth floor to get to my room.

    Loved the location of this hotel. We stayed in the Louisburge hotel. The valet took our car and we did not have to worry about it until we left.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall it was a great stay, excellent location, fantastic price and we would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was a gym to do yoga and workouts in the morning. The breakfast was ok, it was a typical continental buffet breakfast (too expensive considering all the other fabulous restaurants around). Noise in the hall could be easily heard in our room. The shower was quite tiny. A luxurious shower would be a nice upgrade especially after being outside in the cold weather while on your stay.

    The room we stayed was beautiful with the exposed stone walls and decor. Very comfortable and cozy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Beds were very comfortable and nice modern bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Chairs in Room 130 are weak and need to be replaced before someone falls. Carpet on stairs and additional entrance should be cleaned -- otherwise facility was clean. I had to ask two men who were working outside our room to try and be more quiet. They were very loud right outside our bedroom.

    Beds were very comfortable and nice modern bath. Location excellent and close to everything. A/C wasn't working but able to open windows for fresh air.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Perfection, in Old Quebec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a nightmare and it was tough to find the hotel at first. No direction on breakfast in the morning.

    Amazing location for strolling through Old Quebec. It was everything I felt it should have been. Charming, bold and romantic. True Quebec experience. Don't miss this.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Loved it and I can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom needs updating - it was serviceable but the utilities were tres small!

    Room was big, beds very comfortable, location terrific! Centrally located but pretty quiet street, although it's still cold season so who knows that it would be like in winter! Staff was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    2.9
    Perfect location for sequel to the movie, "The Shining"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walking into this for the first time brought back memories of the movie, "The Shining"; these initial images were only reinforced as we weaved through a bizarre labyrinth to reach our room, passing through winding, lonely corridors and scaling wheezing stairs lined with threadbare carpets. The room itself was equally unimpressive; huddled in the attic, it was small, unrenovated, cramped, with a steeped roof that made it impossible to walk upright in the majority of the room. While some may sell the room as "cozy", the more accurate description would be run-down, a closet-esque space with faded, unrealized dreams. In sum, it was a far cry from the promotional pictures. To be polite, the amenities were lacking, while the staff were rude if you didn't speak French. In sum: unless you are a producer seeking a set for your next horror movie, my pointed advice would be to book anywhere else!

    The location is the only positive of this accommodation, but can hardly outweigh the many negatives associated with this "hotel".

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    4.2
    Don’t be fooled by the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much older than what the picture suggests. The floor was very dirty, the carpet in the hallway was dirty. The room had an ant problem. The bed was old and uncomfortable. And the shower wasn’t very good. We also didn’t get room cleaning service during our 2 night stay

    The hotel is well located in the old town of Québec

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only heat was an electric fireplace, which was pretty but the heater part kept switching off.

    Lovely room and the hotel is really charming and a beautiful mix of historic with modern facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked 2 rooms. One for 2 adults and another for 2 adults + 1 child. We got 2 classic double rooms. The child could hardly fit in there. We asked what went wrong, they said we have to call booking.com to sort it out. Well, after a few discussions they did help with an extra cot but I guess they should update their booking.com interface with a bigger bed for 2 adults and a kid so that booking.com in turn can show it to their clients.

    Location is really good and all major spots are in walking distance. Lot of restaurants around the area right in the center of all the attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    location is very convenient, close to most tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we enjoyed the spa, but it’s located in different building

    location is very convenient, close to most tourist attractions! staff are very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On ground floor of Louisbourg location right beside the parking lot and had the plumbing in the walls - could constantly hear water flowing down from the rooms above. Water pressure was a bit low in the shower.

    Great location within the walls of the old city in an older building; easy walk to most sights in the old city; good wifi connection; clean quaint rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location in the old town, great hot shower &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was okay but not what we expected from the photos on Booking.com & not the same as the photos attached to the room we selected. This was a bit disappointing.

    Great location in the old town, great hot shower & friendly staff. The buffet breakfast at the restaurant down the road was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location, basic room and necessities to stay for a night or 2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit noisy but I suppose with a building that old, it’s almost to be expected. Could hear child crying, alarm clock going off from people on same floor. Plumbing pipes (I think) bang often. $22 a day to park is costly. Public parking is the same but you at least save taxes. I would think they’d offer a better rate for their guests, especially when staying 3+ nights. Lastly, my reservation on booking.com did not instruct to check in at hotel acadia which is a different building and it didnt list the address of the actual building we stayed in. Overall still okay for a couple nights stay with the basic amenities. Great location in old Quebec.

    Great location. Dcecent room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    A little taste of Europe right here in Canada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was confusing, at least where I could stop for the valet service to take over.

    Situated in vieux Quebec, this hotel gives you the true old-Quebec experience one should have when visiting this city. Yes, the hotel is split amongst 3 buildings, but that’s the charm! You get to experience the wood craftsmanship of centuries old buildings - very romantic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Charming and Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was that our room was a little chilly. However, we understood that they are older buildings and that naturally can come with drafts. Our room was also on the top floor of the Louisbourg building and to help with the cold they did have a heater on the wall that blew hot air. This wasn't a big deal but just a detail we noticed. What can you expect from an old building in the winter.

    Room was spacious and comfortable. The building was quaint and full of charm. Location is perfect, close to everything, we arrived by foot from the train station with no problem. The hot tub on the top floor of the main hotel was a nice feature, just be sure to reserve your spot in advance. Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Right in the heart of Old Quebec
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a little dated, air conditioning wasn't the best and took a while to cool/heat the room. No fridge in the room.

    Receptionist very helpful in giving tips for the city, location is superb, stay right in the heart of Quebec City. Ice machine available in the hotel with bucket helped cool drinks. View was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Very clean. Pillow was too hard, exacerbated my back shoulder problems. I thought I was getting. Three star hotel but ended up in a two star because the room given was in a different building than the named hotel. That’s lying and misleading. Good thing I was there for one night. Next time I’d know better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.3
    Great shower and bathroom facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are very small and from the pictures on the website, we were expecting a much bigger room. We were also under the impression that parking was included, which it was not.

    Great shower and bathroom facilities. We loved using the hot tub upstairs although one day it was very dirty with loads of hairs and other things floating in it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Except for difficulty going up 40 steps to our room, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In spite of needing a lower room due to health issues,we were required to go up forty steps to our room. Management said because we were staying for four days,we would have had to change rooms after two days. We had booked much earlier but our request was not noticed until two days prior to our arrival. Given the opportunity we would have made the room change. We adopted our daily schedule so that we only had to climb the stairs once a day. In spite of this issue, we found the accommodation superb.

    Beautiful suite! Staff very helpful when we were leaving early in the morning. Helped us with luggage to taxi and made sure taxi was there on time. Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Superb location and wonderful, wonderful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb location and wonderful, wonderful room. I had a studio on the second floor overlooking the street with no less than 4 windows with shutters. It was difficult to leave the room it was so comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    It's an okay stay, but great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wasn't told that my room would be in a different building before booking. Also, I wasn't warned that my room had an extra door. The people in the room next to mine could have walked into my room. Any noise they made was audible in my room. Also, the housekeeping people were incredibly rude. I didn't want my room cleaned because I had just arrived. I put the "do not disturb" sign on the door, yet they still tried to enter my room. Upon realizing that I was in it, they began to insult me deliberately so that I would hear it.

    There is 24 hour check in service. The man at the front desk was very nice. The location is perfect for anyone who wants to experience Old Quebec.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommend, will stay here if back in Quebec again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised with upgraded rooms upon arrival, which were extremely nice with very comfortable beds. The staff were always very helpful Would highly recommend!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    Room too hot and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) We had to ask the reception three times to please turn the heating down as our room was so hot that we had to leave our door wide open all night on one occasion and sleep without sheets in order to be able to sleep. The temperature in the hallway felt fine but in our bed which was right next to a large radiator it was unbearable. The thermostat outside (which was locked so only staff could adjust it) was set at 21C, even after we’d asked once for it to be turned down. Recommended temperature for optimum sleep is 16C or 18C depending on which study you listen to, but certainly not 21C or above. When it’s sub zero outside it feels like you are entering a sauna. 2) The walls are also very thin as we could hear a lot of noise from other rooms. 3) We were placed in a hotel across the street from Arcadia which was a little run down. I don’t think it was clear when booking that this would be the case.

    Great location within walls of the old town. Price very reasonable. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    A great few days in a picturesque part of town in a hotel with rustic charm but modern facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were too small, and the pillows could have been filled a little more; but these are 1st world problems.

    The staff were friendly and super helpful and even offered us a free upgrade on our room. Because we were in Old Quebec, the rooms were rustic, but were clean. The spa on the roof was a definite winner! The location made it really easy to navigate the entire area. Excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    A charming and convenient place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a bit of confusion about our bill, but the hotel is working that out.

    On checking in, we were upgraded from our standard double to what the hotel described as a "studio." What we got was an apartment: huge living room and bedroom, complete kitchen and standard bathroom. The place was full of charming features (bay window, working fireplaces, hardwood floors) and very well located for walking to attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Heritage at a reasonable rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was street front street level so it was a bit noisy early in the evening.

    Close to everything - big room - comfy beds - minifridge, microwave, coffee machine, good hot water pressure, old quebec rustic feel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Excellent family stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location is wonderful if you are looking for something in walking distance from the historic upper and lower town of old Quebec City.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Excellent location and amenities, Hotel Acadia is perfect for your Quebec City getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The original room we were given was not like the photos, I talked to the front desk and they were able to give us another room that was similar to the one pictured, so not sure why we were not given it in the first place

    The location is great and the parking in/out privileges allow you to make the most of your stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    The location was great. Many breakfast spots along the strip of hotel Acadia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our fireplace didn't work and we noticed it was a little loud with the walls being super thin. You have to walk a little bit to get out of the touristy areas to find cheaper dinner and drinks (worth it to save an extra 25$ on a meal)!

    The location was great for touristy things such as the Chateau Frontenac, Old Quebec City shops, etc. Many breakfast spots along the strip of hotel Acadia. The room was good with coffee available, comfortable bed and lots of space. The hotel had plenty of security with having to use two keys to get into the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not actually in the hotel, it was round the corner at a partner restaurant. Though the food was excellent, be aware you have to leave the hotel for breakfast

    The hot tub on the top floor overlooking the city was fantastic. Beds were comfortable and the WiFi was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    I would do it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on site is advertised. It was parade night of Carnaval and so the off site parking was full. This became a hassle.

    Great deal for being in the heart of Quebec City during Carnaval. It was a ovely old building, nicely adapted for accommodations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.0
    general condition of the room was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there were no indoor slippers provided or sold. whirlpool was really not clean, especially the nozzle part. whirlpool have to be cleaned carefully and throughly.

    general condition of the room was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    it was a nice stay. staff are courteous and enjoy old quebec
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there are 3 different buildings for this property. the main building is hotel acadia, try and get a room here . even luxembourg is not far. I am unsure of the other building. Also all the roads are one way in downtown area so if you are driving you will have to go around. no complementary breakfast is provided considering the price. but i guess it is normal for most of the hotels in old quebec city.

    Bed is a double bed and was comfortable. i visited old quebec with my husband. The best part is this hotel is in the downtown old quebec city and everything is walking distance. There are plenty of restaurants around the hotel. even for vegetarian and vegan too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Simple and comfortable room perfect for a stay in quebec
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very comfortable the room was very clean. Staff were very accomodating and nice and efficient with if any issues came up and helping me with heavy baggage.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Was very nice although it was cold and extra warm blankets would have been good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast on site. breakfast not included. Breakfast probided at nearby restaurant (buffet) lasted until 10 only would have been more practical until 11

    They upgraded us at no xtra cost

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Acadia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: