Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Auberge Michel Doyon 2 stars

1215 chemin Ste-Foy, G1S 2N1 Quebec City, Canada

#81 of 104 hotels in Quebec City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 734 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Great spot, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    We asked for a quiet room and were given one. It was easy taxi travel from the airport. ($27) We arrived late but the access instructions were fine. The room was basic but ok. There was just a fridge and microwave for cooking in the room. I had to ask the next day for crockery, cutlery etc and it was no problem. There is a supermarket nearby for basic food items and bus tickets. Loved that the 807 bus was close by and easy to catch into town. Also the 800 bus for Montmorency Falls from another close by venue. Its always more interesting staying just out of the main drag, to see how the locals live. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was basic and more than adequate. Great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was small and my bike got boxed in. There was no not disturb sign so we got woken up from our nap in the afternoon by the nice cleaning guy.

    Clean room with balcony and kitchenette. Good location and price, parking included

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel with excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a warm welcome at the frontdesk. They gave us good advice and showed us the room we booked. Hotel is near a busstop which connects directly to downtown Quebec.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice place with basic but fine breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no restaurants nearby, but it is easy to take the bus or car towards the old city, so that's not really a problem.

    Clean room, with private bathroom. Breakfast was basic, but totally fine for us Dutch people. If you feel like walking, you can walk to the old city almost all the way through a park. It takes about 50 minutes. But there is also a bus stop right in front of the hotel. There was nobody at the reception when we arrived, but the room key was waiting for us at the entrance, so that was no problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff was nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking site states aircon...had to suffer for 1 night and ask them to install next day. Room facing bz street... Was noisy. Soap provided was the size of a mini chocolate.

    Staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very nice. A small kettle in the room would be a bonus for a tea at bed time.

    It is perfect, location, staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value. Staff was wonderful and spoke English. Bus stop right outside and only took about 10 mins to get to Old Quebec. Cute room, freshly painted. Nice and quiet. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Excellent! Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was a tad hot but when the window was open it was perfect

    check in was easy, our key was there waiting since we got in late. breakfast was cute, lots of options! check in lady was so nice and helped by giving us map of the city and showing us the best route to downtown.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Nice area, good location for getting around. I would have taken the transit if we stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs. I don't live where there are stairs (or a lot) and stairs are beginning to be difficult for me.

    I liked the breakfast in the morning. The location was great on a bus line, nice area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny but adequate. Could have used a small table in the room, but there was literally no space for it. Bed cover was heavy and canvas-like. wifi kept failing.

    Location, parking, access to public transit. The staff were nice, especially the fellow who managed the breakfast area. Coffee was strong and good. Appreciated the fridge. Bed was comfortable. Free wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely small hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an excellent accommodation. Very friendly service: I was late checking in, so a key and instructions were provided for me in an envelope by the door. The rooms had everything I needed: desk space, microwave, fridge, and bottled water for a small and very reasonable fee. I loved the fact that I was able to open the window and get fresh air! Breakfast was great, they made sure I had some soy milk as requested. There is a bus stop right by the hotel, so getting to the historical part of the city was quick and easy. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    great value for money... highly reccomended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    LOCATION - though its quite far from old city to walk .. the property is on main road and there is a bus stop right in front of the property which takes you to old city in 10 to 15 minutes.... there is supermarket right next to the accomodation but no resturants STAFF - excellent... co-operative and helpful ROOMS- clean / comfortable / and very clean toilets with bath towels and toileteries BREAKFAST - highlight of my stay here... for as little as less than 2 dollars per person we had lavish breakfast with bread / muffins / cereals / orange juice / coffee / fruits... PARKING - spacious car parking behind the accomodation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    ok for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is in a main street, can be very loud. Our room was on the "back yard" so we didn't have any car noise and was very quiet.

    A bus to downtown is on the corner, great! Rooms not modern but VERY CLEAN and for two days was more than enough. Breakfast very cheap is only toast, marmalade, coffee or tea. Parking free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    2.5
    If this is the only place you can afford, stay home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room temperature control, no ventilation, bathroom was filthy ad the toilet ran constantly, could hear everything our neighbour did, and if someone else in the building flushed their toilet, the shower went ice cold.

    Leaving

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location and very nice staff, ideal for car travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a private studio with private bathroom, the shower and wc were separated, the shower was very good but the wc is too small with no lavabo inside, i don't like it. the double bed was not comfortable for 2 people and i think that the structure is a little bit old for that you feel some smell inside the room which i don't like.

    the staff was very helpful and kind offering us free WiFi which was not included in the price. this is a very good solution for car travelers, once you are there you leave your car in their private parking and just you cross the street and you take the bus number 807 to the old city (around 15/20 minutes), and even the day when you do the check out they are very kind to let you leave the car in the parking and you can come to take it later after 11am. the breakfast was good for 1.75$ per person.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Best Value for the Money and I highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi Coverage could be improved.

    A humble place which is really nice, clean and well maintained. For a two star hotel, this is the best experience I ever had. We had a private Standard Room with ensuite Bathroom. Spacious and clean. During our stay they are fully booked which explains everything, the previous reviews are real and they are popular among the clients and tourist. The staff were accommodating and very friendly(Elisa and Ann). One of them (Elisa) even took an effort to show the best places in quebec for us 1st time tourist there, make a route plan and explained how to get there. They are not your typical "Hello, Welcome, Good Day, Good Bye" receptionist. They talk and care. Location is great. From Airport to Hotel: 15-20 Min (Taxi/UBER) Hotel To Old Quebec City: 15-20 Min by Bus-RTC (less by Car) There is a Convenience store 3 min walk from the Hotel which also sells RTC Unlimited Ride weekend Pass ($15 only Starts 5:30PM Friday - Sunday). You can also use the same pass, no extra charge, to get you to Montmorency Falls (1 Hour away from the the City). Bus Stop is just right beside the Hotel. Convenient for budget travellers. There is a parking lot if you brought a car or rented one. Breakfast is OK. Buffet -serve your own style. Choice of Cereals+fresh milk, Oatmeal, Bananas, Bread - Butter, Cheese, Marmalade, etc. Coffe, Tea, Pineapple Juice, Chocolate. That's for an extra $2.00 breakfast charge. Not bad really.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    Unusual
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very concerned about the safety of the wiring. All lamps etc were joined to one extension block. The control from the television was missing, so no entertainment. The kitchenette had no cups, and it appeared that all electrical goods e.g. kettle or hairdryer had to be requested. Very odd altogether.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Very Very Kind staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room doesn't have the individual heater so our family caught a cold. It seems that From mid of Oct, This hotel turn on the heater..I don't recommend to stay here late Sep and Early Oct. Except this, Everything was good.

    Very Very Kind staffs. Good Parking location and Wifi service. Room is clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable and convenient and charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The staff was so friendly and helpful.The entire property, our room, and the dining room were immaculate. Our room was well designed for comfort and was quiet and welcome after a day of sightseeing. The Auberge is located on the bus line that takes you to the entrance to old Quebec and the ride was only 10 minutes! We were delighted with everything and we intend to return. Merci!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    loved the city. the price. location. would go again.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the gardener. very unpleasant. the black out curtains were not all the way across the window. no fan in batthroom. stall for shower very small. noisy because of the street

    it was close to the Hockey stadium. the room was very clean. beds omfortable, great selection for breakfast.close to nice old church and hospital, Front staff , kitchen staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.7
    Youth hostel type of comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpowering air freshener, loud AC window unit, very small room and uninspiring breakfast.

    Good value for money as long as you are not looking for anything fancy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    The hotel/Auberge was approximately 30 blocks away from the Old part of Quebec City, too far to walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What we didn't like was that our room/suite had the bathroom divided into 2 very small rooms. The toilet was next to the fridge, a very small room just with the toilet, and the shower with sink room was across the kitchen, also very small with no shelf to put your toiletries on.

    We had a room with a kitchenette which was great. . The suite was nice, the bedroom had a closet and chest of drawers and the kitchen area was fine with a table and chairs, fridge, stove, microwave, kettle and toaster.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    the room was comfortable but small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No place to sit and meet others, no lobby to sit or place to sit and read other than the bed. lots of carbs for breakfast. Could have used fresh fruit. the bananas were a bit over ripe. the room was comfortable but small.

    the room was comfortable but small. The staff were friendly and informative. the bus was right in front and delivered us quickly to Old Quebec.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only a suggestions that maybe small yogurts be added to the breakfast menu.

    Location was excellent, once we arrived we parked the car and didn't use it again until it was time to go home. Bus travel to old Quebec City was a 20 minute ride. An hour to Montmorency Falls. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Clean, comfortable, convenient ...a very good value when visiting this most beautiful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cleaned the first two days, but on the third day, only fresh towels were provided -- no sheet change or anything else.

    Very clean, comfortable (though small) room with a decent-sized fridge and microwave oven. The first person we dealt with when we arrived was a young woman who went out of her way to give us all kinds of information. Our room was also ready when we arrived several hours before check-in time, so we were able to rest our weary bones before heading into town. There also happened to be a full kitchen just steps away from our room so we could save money on meals. There was a market a block away, and the public bus stop that takes you right into downtown Quebec City in about 10 minutes was also a block away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    This place is not 5 star but doesnt claim to be. Its good location, clean and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Place needs a renovation. Nothing awful but a lick of paint would do this place wonders.

    Bus stop right outside bringing you to old town Quebec. Easy to find from the highway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    We had a great stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fortunately we didn't have to pay for wifi, because at times the connection was slow, but overall decent.

    We had a great stay here! The location was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful in giving us suggestions for transit. They also told us about popular tourist places and events to attend in old Quebec. Although we drove and were able to park in the hotel parking lot, we opted to take the transit since it was only one direct bus to Place d'Youville (old Quebec). Our room was very clean and comfortable. Would definitely come again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    The proximity to the bus and ease to old Québec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel like arrangement. It wasn't what I expected. Poor shower. Long wait for washrooms. Extremely small room in the basement. Very small for 2 people.

    The proximity to the bus and ease to old Québec.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Very good hotel for one - two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Two Double Beds with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although washrooms and bathrooms need some renovation.

    Very good hotel for one - two nights. Rooms are not so bright, however, everything which traveler need for one night after long way is available. Although washrooms and bathrooms need some renovation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    This is a nice hotel, not far from the historic city center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a nice hotel, not far from the historic city center (there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel). The room is small but very comfortable and clean (the shower is great!), the staff is nice. They also have a parking lot so it is very convenient if you arrive by car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Really nice place to stay when visiting Quebec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice place to stay when visiting Quebec. Comfy, big room with great bed. TV, microwave and fridge available in the room. WiFi is available but extra paid (5 CAD/day) For breakfasts (extra paid 1,75 CAD/person): cereals, jams, toasts, processed cheese, coffee, juices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.1
    Not a bad place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Two Double Beds with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washroom with no fans to let the air out after toilet. walls too thin and car hear other rooms noise. streets too noisy with all the truck and cars.

    Staff are very nice and friendly with detail cares on every information we needed even with late night check in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    THE PLACE IS GOOD FOR THE MONEY YOU PAID FOR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights

    OUR ROOM WAS NOT PROPERLY EQUIPPED WHEN WE GOT THERE. I HAVE TO GO AND ASKED FOR KITCHEN STUFF NEEDED WHICH SHOULD HAVE BEEN IN THE SUITE ALREADY.

    THE STAFF ARE ALL SO FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Great room, hotel and breakfast for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road a little noisy take ear plugs and you will be fine

    Great location to a bus stop that took you straight into town, but also an easy 50 minute ali. Great breakfast arrangements for $2 a person a day well worth taking the deal, really friendly staff and comfortable room. Everything you need from a reasonable priced hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.7
    The basement rooms are cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathroom.The bath taps dripped and the water pressure was feeble. The stairway to get downstairs was very very narrow.

    The room was small but clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.1
    The place is situated in a very nice area, with many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner was not working properly, the stores were almost broken, the window did not slide easily, there was not a toilet paper holder in place (broken), there was not even a bottle of liquid hand soap at the bathroom, the TV was old and very small, the shower has not a fan to take the humidity out. The bath tube was stained and did not drained well.

    The place is situated in a very nice area, with many services readily available. Very easy to find and with a parking site big enough and safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    3.3
    Could not wait to leave in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was filthy. Door locks did not work properly. Shower pressure was very poor. sink was cracked. Mattress and pillows were very old. There were no mirrors in the room. Air conditioning unit did not work. Room was in a basement; did not feel safe. Furniture was in hand-me-down condition.

    There was nothing to like

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Clean, quirky and dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No in room tea/coffee facilities. Dodgy door lock.

    The fridge and air conditioning. Great location for the bus to town. Adequate DIY breakfast choice. Clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking lot was very tight. One evening we came back and the parking lot was full, even though our booking promised parking on premises. I had to use the phone at reception to call someone who eventually told us we could park in the side driveway...

    The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our tourist questions about busses, restaurants, etc. We were able to upgrade to a room with a private bathroom very easily, and it was great value for the price. Breakfast was simple yet always plentiful and the dining area was always clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Had the studio was just like having an aptartment made it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff was frendly, but didn't know too much of what was around like nice restaurant.

    Had the studio was just like having an aptartment made it feel homey.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel with good value if you come by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Small room but ok for 1 night. -Internet is not free : 5.75$/day

    -Good location, the bus stop is very nearby the hotel and it's a direct bus to city centre (15min). -Friendly and helpful staff -Free parking -Breakfast is only 1$. Not many choice but there are bananas, cereals, bread and jams.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    This hotel needs to be refreshed!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall location needs to be refreshed. One of the window in our room had no lock on it and people from the street could easily come up to our balcony and just open the window. So we didn't feel safe and no one could fix this. One of the blind had a few pieces broken. The room was pretty small and just looked old. Internet had to be paid per device (5$ per day). We got 2 devices included after negotiating but even two for two people is not enough. Internet should be included like every where else.

    The staff was nice and the room was clean. Big parking with lots of space. The breakfast was basic but good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Very friendly, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly, warm welcome when we arrived and everyone was so very helpful throughout our stay. The bed was so comfortable in our room and the room itself was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. New planting outside the property looks lovely 😊 Good bus service into Old Quebec City and stops are so very nearby the Auberge entrance. Thank you Ann and all your team!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Clean and Friendly; gladly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was a little sparse; I think they should consider charging a little more for breakfast and offering a few more choices. Getting hot water in the shower took some patience but when it came there was lots off it.

    Very clean and friendly! It is a 2 star Hotel so our expectations were not super high; they more than met them; what they miss in amenities they make up for in cleanliness and service. I would recommend this hotel with pleasure to anyone who is not spoiled by staying in more expensive places.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.4
    I would stay elsewhere next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on a very busy street with quite a bit of traffic flowing fairly rapidly, so even though there were windows we could open, we had to keep them shut to reduce the noise level. Also, being on a corner, street lights shone directly into the room all night. This was somewhat attenuated by closing the curtains, but a lot of light still came through, so it was difficult to sleep. Another thing: the parking is in the back but our room was in the front of the building. It had been raining and you have to walk on grass and some muddy areas to get to the room, which wasn't very pleasant. They should install a walkway so that people can get to their room without getting dirty, wet feet. I give the room A+ for cleanliness but a low score for location and sleep quality, and getting to the room from the parking area is not very convenient.

    The room was very clean and the breakfast was great for 99 cents.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Great stay at a wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing negative.

    We had a great stay. Nice, quiet, warm and cozy rooms (we booked 2 rooms with in-room bathroom) - we felt very comfortable there. Staff was wonderful and helpful. Parking was easy, the parking lot is huge. Great bakery (boulangerie "au péché mignon") and café ("Café Follia") in less than 5 mins walking distance. Bus stop right in front of the auberge. Would stay there anytime again!! :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was excellent for 1CAD/day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were very thin - could hear every drawer opening/door closing/hairdryer etc Hairdryer in bathroom did not work Was a 50min walk from town but there were regular buses

    Breakfast was excellent for 1CAD/day Microwave and fridge were useful Lady on the desk was great during check in Bed was comfortable Room and bathroom were clean Upgraded from shared bathroom to personal bathroom (unfortunately still separate from bedroom)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    Staff are nice and updated my basement room to standard room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are nice and updated my basement room to standard room on second floor with private bathroom. 1 dollar for breakfast! They provide toast, oat, tea, coffee, banana, orange etc. Room was comfy and clean. Though not located in downtown old Quebec, very convenient to take 807, running every 15 minutes till 2 am.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Nice rooms, big enough and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking places had to park on the streets and breakfast only until 10am after new years eve... of course we missed it

    Nice rooms, big enough and very clean. Great value for the price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.9
    Not for the noise sensitive.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is not sound proof and one hears people in the corridor very clearly, as well as the street noise.

    My neighbourg smoked in the evening and morning; seems that no one checks the floor. My room was cold in spite of the heating because the windows let the very cold air through. The staff and cleanliness of the room is very adequate though.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.3
    The staff were very welcoming and happy to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location didn't have any food places very close. You had to pay for wifi Needed more English channels, or option for subtitles.

    The staff were very welcoming and happy to help. My room was super clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    Very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sound-prooofing is not great, so the movement of other guests in the corridor was a little disturbing at times. This wasn't a big problem for us, since the other guests were considerate, but could be an issue if any guests aren't so aware.

    The accommodation was very good value for money: very clean, basic but comfortable, with the addition of our own kitchenette, and very friendly and helpful staff. It's out of town but directly on a frequent bus route, so getting into the centre was easy. If you want a basic breakfast, 99 cents is well worth it. Would recommend this hotel if, like us, you are on a budget and would like to do some self-catering.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    A great city to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We gave full marks for location because there is a bus stop outside the hotel for a frequent bus that takes in 10 minutes into the old town. 5 minutes walk away is a lovely restaurant (bring your own wine), La Girolle.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.9
    Well presented!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a microwave in the room but no kettle. It would have been nice to have ve a kettle to make a cup of tea.

    Good breakfast. Beds were comfy. Good shower.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.5
    catching the bus out side the door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no coffee pot in the room need an extra light and two comfy chairs need a queen size bed for tall people

    catching the bus out side the door being able to park the car and leave it staff clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Excellent value location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a bit small, but we were only in it to sleep.

    Excellent value. On main bus line to Old Quebec. Easy to get around and staff provided maps and options for the bus. Optional breakfast was a great start in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.9
    A Thoroughly Enjoyable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Wireless is not free and it was slow and dropped a number of times – I travel about 4 times a year and cannot remember the last time I had to pay for wireless, let alone poor wireless - Walls are paper thin. I could hear my neighbours talking and watching TV - The people on my floor were loud about slamming their doors. Would sometimes slam them several times in a matter of a few minutes. - No desk/chair in room, just a round table so when I wanted to use my laptop I had to either use the bed as my chair and have the laptop on the table or lay on the bed with the laptop.

    - Great location and very nice neighbourhood – the #807 bus is right outside and will get you to Old Quebec in 10-15 minutes - My room was cute; had nice decor and wall art – suitable for one person, but could be cramped for two people - Fridge and microwave in room - Very clean - Basic breakfast for $1/day – coffee, teas, OJ, milk, oatmeal, toast (with butter, PB, jams), cereals, bananas - Friendly staff - Comfortable bed – good level of firmness - They let me check out at noon instead of 11, I really appreciated that

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable and homely accomodation close to all amenitites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet access poor - would have expected better than this given the $5 daily fee.

    Older style accommodation in a residential area of Quebec city. Bus right at the door, and only a short ride away from Old Quebec, shops and restaurants. Kitchenette and basic breakfast provided. VERY helpful and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    6.3
    Clean place, nice and working tv.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge for wifi which is ridiculous. For the location that it is without wifi it's not worth it. They charge a dollar for breakfast which I don't understand why it isn't just free. If you want to walk downtown and see Old Quebec, don't stay here.

    Clean place, nice and working tv.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.5
    Reasonable choice for Quebec City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms facing parking lot gets real hot in the morning even the weather outside is 20 Celsius. AC too loud and not very efficient.

    Price, Good Location, Nice Staff, Clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.7
    Friendly staff. In need of some repair.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable and the shower water temperature fluctuated a lot.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. It was a good place overall.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    4.2
    Terrible experience . Will not recommend anyone to stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom hot water not working. air condition not working. No racks to hang towel or clothes In wash room. No mirror in the bedroom . Not a clean place. Website said additional bed for $20 however one day bef our visit we are told you will have to move to another room and pay $100 more .... Misleading And felt cheated

    Nothing except courteous staff... Misleading information on website . Terrible experience

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    9.2
    Super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't used to sharing a bathroom with other rooms in the hallway but there are rooms with a private bath.

    The staff was super helpful and flexible. There are so many sites to see taking the bus from this location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    8.8
    Good experience over all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seems kind of silly to charge $1.00 for the continental breakfast. Just include the dollar in the price.

    Clean and quiet place. Convenient location with one bus directly to the old city. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    4.6
    We booked a self contained room with Kitchener.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a self contained room with Kitchener. When we arrived there were no cooking or eating utensils in the kitchen or anything to wash up. The WiFi cost $5 extra per day. It was also a much further walk in to town than was suggested. Overall very disappointed and would not recommend this place. Poor value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.6
    Bright, clean and spacious room in a quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet took some time to flush

    We had a studio with kitchenette. Room was very spacious and had a private balcony. There was plenty of light and windows in the room. Staff was extremely helpful, especially the black gentleman (unfortunately, do not know his name) - he let me carry away a breakfast tray to my room for my significant other who could not wake up early. Location was good - quiet, clean and residential area. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    7.9
    good value for your money, clean and safe for a solo sightseer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    just a plug in the sink I guess

    the bed was comfortable, the room was clean. there could have been a drain in the sink. the wifi was easy, the breakfast cheap and location and free parking was the draw

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great Value, very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ice machine... But hot a big deal, we had our own freezer!

    Clean rooms. Nice staff. Good price. Good location. Free parking. A+

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Nice vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Excellent place, nice people, clean and quite. Was a pleasure to stay there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Very convenient plaCe to old Quebec city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient plaCe to old Quebec city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.3
    This place should not serve any customers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Two Double Beds with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place should not serve any customers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent people, clean and quiet.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent people, clean and quiet. Close to the downtown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.3
    Sharing washroom were pretty dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Two Double Beds with Shared Bathroom - Half Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing washroom were pretty dirty. Locks were broken, far from downtown Quebec City.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    the environment is good, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Two Double Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the environment is good, comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Auberge Michel Doyon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: