Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Auberge & Hotel Montreal Espace Confort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

2050 rue Saint Denis, H2X 3K7 Montreal, Canada

#43 of 54 B&Bs and inns in Montreal

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 921 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    It was satisfactory for what we paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Space was a little tight, and problems with the T.V. We were inconvenienced because of the festival going on not able to unload infront of the B&B.

    I don'y believe there were any croissant, though self service breakfast was just fine. The person who looked after the breakfast the front desk was prompted and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.5
    The staff was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower gel bottle had not been filled. However for 1 night it wasn't that important. No lift so when carrying more than 1 suitcase it's a little bit annoying.

    The staff was lovely. Nice rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.5
    Good location and a good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The hotel has no elevator, so it is sometimes difficult to move luggage around. There is no parking available, so we had difficulties parking our rented car, while the receptionist did not know about parking regulations outside the property. The corridors smelled a bit stuffy.

    The location was pretty good, near the city center and a walking distance from the Gay Village. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. The rooms were made every day and although being on a busy street, the rooms were quite quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking. You have to park around 500m distance by feet in a public park, which is ok as it is clearly stated in their description.

    Extremely well located. Staff is very friendly. Honest breakfast. Super well-located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    The location was very well connected with the airport bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was very well connected with the airport bus and metro. Has many restaurants around and the old Montreal is really close. Everyone was really nice!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.5
    The staff was really nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite dated and could use some general cleaning and upgrading.

    The staff was really nice and helpful. The room was fairly clean and cozy. The location is great - right in the Quartier Latin, full of charm and lovely restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    5.4
    The owner an staff were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was poorly fitted out. Breakfast was not good, fortunately Starbucks is nearby

    The owner an staff were very nice. The location is one that would suit the young.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    9.6
    The staff were really kind and the location is perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    An elevator would be nice.

    The staff were really kind and the location is perfect,walking distance from the center and really close to the autobus gare. The place was clean and the breakfast was rich enough. For sure I ll come back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.5
    For the price, this 3rd floor small room was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi a bit weak, but manageable. Floors could use a bit more attention.

    For the price, this 3rd floor small room was fine. The little kitchenette was exactly what I expected, there were clean towels every day and even though the bed was a little on the creaky side, I was comfortable enough. It's not luxurious, but the location is superb, the breakfast satisfactory and the staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.6
    Footsteps but nonetheless very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some lights in my room did not work. And you could hear footsteps allllll day long from the hallway nextdoor rooms and upstairs, it was pretty noisy.

    Because i prepared myself i found the location of the hotel excellent. The room was good and very happy to have my own bathroom this is rare these days with cheap hotels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.9
    Economic, clean and safe accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is heavy on the starches (crepes, chocolate croissants, cakes, bread, etc.) but there are bananas and yogurt every morning! Bring less luggage and request a room on the upper floors rather than in the basement (which is a bit dark and dreary, but still comfortable as a place to sleep).

    The auberge is in the heart of Montreal's nightlife, right on St Denis Street, with a relaxed and un-fussy atmosphere! The staff are young, engaging and kind. Parking at the national library (BNQ) is cheap and easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Divine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    that I missed my first day I needed to stay more :)

    the staff were very nice friendly and make my stay very comfortable the location is amazing the room was spacious clean and was like a mini apt with microwave and small kitchen way exceeds in value what I actually paid for and the whole place and city have such a good vibe and energy u feel chilled and relaxed right away

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    A very safe environment. I loved the place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Friendly staff who were able to assist me. It was home away from home. Breakfast was also well prepared. I loved the environment. Thank you hotel Auberge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    6.3
    Smelly, tiny but good location & cheap...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel had a funky smell, the girl that checked us in was unhelpful (maybe because her English was poor, which is fine), the room was TINY and had valuable space taken up by unnecessary items (table with a phone, a desk that couldn't have been used, an ugly chair blocking the pathway to the door so that a suitcase had to be lifted over it...), the bed had a very old looking cover on it which made me feel like it was unclean. We left very early so didn't have breakfast, but I was glad to get out of there. We were on the 3rd floor and to get out before 7:30 am you have to go upstairs to the 4th floor, along the corridor and back down, which is a bit of a pain when your tired with suitcases!

    It was cheap and did the job for a one night stay leaving early in the morning. Randolph's across the road is great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    2.9
    Very Poor, Smells Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Dirty and smelling place. They have that bad smell coming from the kitchen - it's really make you feel dizzy. The rooms and the corridors are not ventilated properly. The property is definitely over-priced. If you care about the hygiene and are expecting to see a good view - I don't believe you will like this place. I hated the place - I cancelled after the first night.

    The manager of the hotel was kind to refund the amount remaining after I told him that I don't like the smell and I cannot spend more time in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities are a little dated, but everything is still very clean and comfortable

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the facilities were exactly what I needed to combine a business and leisure trip. It has a decent location and is only 5 min walk from the airport bus stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    9.2
    Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No stairs but luckily we were assigned on the lower floor though there are few steps required, heavy suitcase is a bit tight.

    Great staff! Camille was really helpful and accomodating. The hotel itself is in the grewt street of Latin quarter bustling with great food finds. Area was lively especially at night and the diversity of the food was great. A 3-5mins walk from train station and the bus going to airport was very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.6
    Nothing like an impersonal, international hotel. Unpretentious, good value, and staff terrific.
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff very warm, friendly, helpful and genuine. Value for money. Suited my purpose for locality, and being alone. Water hot, room facilities generous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay with friendly staff! Would recommend for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really friendly staff that tried to accommodate as much as possible. The bed was good and we had a very pleasant stay for 2 nights. They even changed our room to a lower level so that we didn't have to carry our big luggage to a higher one. The location of the Auberge is very convenient and in a nice and cozy street with loads of coffee places, restaurants, and just across the street a very nice board game cafe. So, no need to go far for a fun night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.9
    Other than offensive cleaner smell, good value and friendly hotel!
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to absolutely change your housekeeping cleaning solution brand...very strong and overpowering smell in our room..had to open the window which wasn't ideal since it was cold outside!

    Liked the fact that the two beds were in separate rooms. Liked the fact that breakfast was included and available early enough before we had to leave for our event. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    4.6
    Basically unhappy with hotel. Staff friendly and helpful though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small and had a peculiar smell!! Bed was uncomfortable!! Floor was sticky!!! Did not look clean!!! We were booked in for 5 nights but only stayed one!! The only good thing was it was in a good location in Latin Quarter! and easy to walk to Old Town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    A great value, would stay here again, no doubt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the $80/night Easter weekend price, a hot shower and bathroom, a clean bed, microwave and fridge. No weird smells or sticky floors, CLEAN. Exceptionally clean and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    10
    It is a very comfortable place to stay, staff is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a very comfortable place to stay, staff is very helpful, the breakfast is in a pleasant setting and they always have boiled eggs, toast, cereal, tea, coffee. We Have stayed here when visiting Montréal each time over the last few years and would happily recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    5.4
    The Hotel Mtl. Espace is in a great location, but is not recommended for large individuals!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The problems with this hotel start with its narrow design. The rooms are surprisingly large, but very narrow. Its as if the hotel were designed specifically for Liliputians (ref. Gulliver's Travels). This is great for people who are slim! In some cases the space between the end of a bed and the opposite wall is virtually inches. I wasn't even able to walk to the other side of the room, where the desk and chair are. Secondly, the plumbing does not work well. I experienced a sudden loss of hot water around 9:00 am. Also, there were no croissants at breakfast. It also would have been a nice touch to make maple syrup available to go along with the crepes, instead of having just corn syrup. The orange juice was of poor quality as well. Finally, there was too much scented air refreshener in my room! I like the smell of orchids, but I don't want to smell like one!

    The location is great, right in the heart of the Quartier Latin, with amazing clubs and restaurants. The staff are good, both night and day shifts. Noise levels are good. Most of the rooms are oriented away from the street in this unusually designed old building. The TV is excellent. The hotel is one of the very few that provides Bell Satellite TV, a real treat. The breakfast is above average, but in some ways cheap.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    7.9
    Auberge Montreal Espace Confort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floor was a bit sticky and the shower temperature control was a bit finicky.

    The property was in the Latin quarter of old Montreal and is very close to the metro. The staff were really friendly and the breakfasts were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    5.4
    Not great- decent; pictures do not match reality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not clean, smelled funny, dark room, hairs on the sheets, bathroom shower head did not work, only cold water in the shower

    breakfast included; staff aimed to be helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    5.4
    We would have been fine staying here if we were younger, on a tighter budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floor in our bedroom was sticky. No mattress cover. Did not feel comfortable walking around without shoes on in our room. Our tv did not work, I'm sure the staff would have helped us, but the front desk closed down at 9pm, and we didn't find the problem until after the fact.

    Crepes were delicious! Clean sheets & towels. Staff were friendly and spoke both English and French. Many restaurants, bars, and pubs down the street - great location. And it wasn't too far to walk to the port of old Montreal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    6.7
    -Staff was kind, generous, and helpful face-to-face.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -Room service was unresponsive when called upon. Attempted over 10 times within an hour period, ringing multiple times but no answer. Eventually, gave up and was forced to improvise. -Body soap was empty and hand soap dispenser was absent upon arrival, which forced us to use shampoo and a throughout rinse to wash our hands/shower. -TV was not functional as it was plugged into itself(instead of the satellite dish). Fortunately, I was technically savvy to recognize the problem. Others may have gotten very frustrated.

    -Staff was kind, generous, and helpful face-to-face. -Room was as advertised.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    9.2
    Super friendly and helpful staff, GREAT location, what a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was a little hard to navigate, had to close the door so water didn’t go everywhere initially which meant dealing with cold water till it heated up. Woke me up though!!

    Super friendly and helpful staff, GREAT location, what a beautiful street! Room was clean and hospitable, good value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    8.8
    Overall it was a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was a little hard to find, even with the map provided. The shower was a bit small, but I understand why.

    Beds were very comfy. Also love how the beds were separated for added privacy. 😁

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    9.6
    Super accommodations for the price and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast. It should be a lot healthier. I’m not sure who has Oreo cookies for breakfast but they were on the table. Even the addition of some whole grain bread or some decent bagels would have been great (I mean come on, we are in Montreal that has great bagels). And maybe fresh fruit other than bananas? I can go out for breakfast but if it’s going to be included, reduce some of the sweet stuff and add some healthier options. The breakfast was truly the only negative thing I have to say about this property. There is no doubt in my mind I will book it again AND I would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

    For the price and location, this property is an excellent choice. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable with all the necessary amenities. I also found the bed very comfy. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Just be advised that there are quite a few stairs and no elevator.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Lighting near the bed but this was fixed. Replacing towels everyday. Breakfast is a bust for me! Need healthier choices!

    Bed was comfy. Kitchenette was very handy. Location is excellent. Clean except for microwave. Staff are very young but professional and personal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.5
    Location, quite close to Metro and Airport Shuttle, 20 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast, very basic and poor, tables not clean

    Location, quite close to Metro and Airport Shuttle, 20 min walking distance from hold harbour and City Centre. Silent rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    4.6
    Just okay to stay overnight .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have to go up and down four times to go back and forth because the keys to our room didn't work. Parking was a problem. Staff recommended the parking building 2 blocks away from the property and signs, machine instructions of the building are all in French.

    All staffs are great and friendly. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is situated in a very convenient location to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms have a strange smell, more likely from the cleaning product they use. Bring a Fabreze or open the windows. Besides that I would recommend the hotel for being good value for your money.

    The hotel is situated in a very convenient location to downtown. The area is full of life at night!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    8.8
    Great area near the subway and lots of restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had the smallest rooms available to help keep our costs down. We would stay here again but upgrade our rooms. One of the rooms had a musty smell. The staff were all very friendly and we enjoyed the included breakfasts. Location was very handy for going to the Museum to see the Leonard Cohen exhibit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    8.8
    I guess I have finally found my standard place for future Montreal visits:)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are a business traveler, you might have a problem with breakfast which is not served before 7:30, but again, there are at least three places where you can have your morning coffee earlier.

    Probably the best location for a hotel in Montreal, St. Denis street is full of small shops, cafes and restaurants and you would need days to try them all. Bonus is that Starbucks is just 50m away and I don't think it ever closes. Place is nice and clean (which is the first thing people question for such cheap places), so don't worry about that. Staff is friendly, internet works well, my room had heating and A/C so OK to visit at any time of year.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    9.6
    Super friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A few things in the room were broken that would have been easy fixes. According to the room description, there was supposed to be a coffee maker/kettle in the room. However, that was not the case.

    Super friendly staff. The freshly baked crêpe at breakfast were delicious. Excellent value for money!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing overall
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad smells of either dirty mop or old carpet through out hallways . Room in need of serious deep cleaning . Moldy smell throughout room which did not fully dissipate even though I opened the window . Spill stains on bathroom walls, gunk on soap dispensers , dusty/grime in corners of bathroom and sleeping room .ive stayed in dozens of cheap Albergues and hostels all over and was shocked to pay $110 for this accom. Maybe they have better rooms on other floors . Breakfast ok. One can find way better deals/quality for the same price

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    4.2
    Wouldn't suggest this place to anyone. Maybe for 50.00 a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of things could be better

    Not much, the place is a dump. Towel bar falling off wall, broken window pane taped together with scotch tape. paint chipped off the walls, dirty carpet in the hall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    7.1
    Might be OK if you're used to staying in a hostel but I'd probably stay elsewhere next time round.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was old and tired. I don't think it could have been painted with a more depressing colour. The floor was 'sticky', like walking across the party room floor the morning after. Staff said it was just the wax they used on it. The room had a strange smell. It seemed to go away after I ran the heating unit for awhile. Add $15 a day for parking.

    Bed was comfortable. Staff very friendly. Room was clean. Breakfast included. Coffee was good. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smelled like cleaning chemicals as soon as we arrived. Since it was in the basement and the windows were shut, there was no real way to air it out. Happened both night we were there.

    Great location. Close to parking which allowed us to walk or drive without worrying about having to pay too much for parking or being too far away from the car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    3.3
    I checked out and took a loss over staying one night in such a dirty place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was filthy. Rugs full of last guests dirt. Hand prints everywhere. The sheets were stained. Paint was peeling off of the furniture. Worse than a cheap motel.

    The friendly staff seemed surprised that my room was so filthy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    9.2
    We had a good stay here and wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was clean and staff very helpful and attentive. It was located in the vibrant area of Montreal close to great eateries and shopping. Short distance to main metro and buses.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walk up 38 stairs. Probably good exercise for an older couple.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and our room comfortable. Location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room's wooden floor was a bit sticky. Was lucky to get room on the 3rd floor. For rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor you have to go downstairs from the reception.

    Breakfast was good....Nice and small room...with reasonable washroom. Iron with small stand provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    5.8
    It was a good stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was large but the layout was strange. It was so odd that the TV was mounted to the ceiling and impossible to watch easily from either a chair or the bed. Other than this the room was okay. The breakfast room and breakfast was nice. Although, the coffee was truly terrible.

    The location was good. There were good restaurants close by and the metro entrance was a short walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    4.6
    The staff were the only redeeming factor for this Hotel.
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In a five day stay, I stayed in 3 different rooms. First room smelled like stale alcohol and the TV didn't work. Second room was right below the compressor/heat pump fans on the roof, and they clicked on and off about every 30 seconds all night long. Third room was below the second room and was OK, but the TV was intermittent. All floors were sticky. They may have been clean, but sticky floors are gross.The breakfast was primarily white bread,cold crepes, eggs, and bananas. The coffee was truly awful. I live in Montreal and this is not the best part of town. I would not recommend it to travellers, especially older solo travellers.

    The staff were the only redeeming factor for this Hotel. They were great, and really tried hard to make things better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    6.7
    The pictures on the web site looked much better than in person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The linoleum floor was clean but very sticky feeling. There were no side lights or plugs at the bedsides. Only an overhead light for reading in bed. The bed was surprisingly comfortable but both of us hit our toes on the protruding metal legs that extended past the width of the bed---ouch!

    Location & staff. Did not have free breakfast. Went to cafe instead.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    8.3
    A great place to stay in a large city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The auberge is right on the edge of the Latin quarter. Approx 20m away. Loads of restaurants to choose from. Very close, walking distance -( 5 mins max) to city metro. $18 for 3 days unlimited travel on the very easy to manage city metro system. This takes you everywhere you need to go in Montreal. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were fine, room clean. Small kitchenette in room.great air con and plenty of hot water in shower. Quiet hotel. We loved the area too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    7.9
    Very interesting area, great restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So much garbage and derelict empty buildings on both sides of the hotel, spoiled the overall experience.

    Location in the Latin quarters was very interesting with lots of great restaurants!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    7.5
    Great location, renovations could have been better thought out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom flooded when we had showers (look like the shower was a later addition and they didn't think drainage very well). It is more hostel than hotel, although they do come and clean your room. They tried to overcharge us. Would still stay again.

    The room we had (double confort with private bathroom) was quite big. The location was the best part of this hotel, Subway, bus and restaurants were all close by. Breakfast was ok, albeit limited (toast, boiled egg, cookies and coffee, at times fruit). Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    4.2
    The mattress was comfortable, the air conditioning worked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor in the room was sticky, the bed was set up with some weird cushion off to the side and there was space (about 5 inches) between the mattress and the wall. Bathroom was in serious need of an update (cracks in the paint and busted up tiles). Toilet paper roll clearly had been used by the previous guests, door didn't have an extra lock, shower had button dispensers for body wash, shampoo and conditioner. There was no soap for the sink. Only one garbage can in the room and it was in the bathroom. Bananas at continental breakfast were all badly bruised. TV is set up about ten feet in the air.

    The mattress was comfortable, the air conditioning worked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    5.4
    Good location, but a very uncosy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very, very basic. The hairdryer in the bathroom didn't work, but luckily we found another hairdryer in the closet which seemed to work. The water pressure in the shower was very low, and the warm water ran out very quickly, so washing our hair was a challenge. I'm 1m90 and I could just fit in the bed. The bedsheets had a stain on them tough. Their wasn't a light near the bed except for a switch to the main light which wasn't really cosy. The window in the room had a nice view of the opposite roomwindow, which was.. weird. Our room was situated in the middle of the hotel next to the staircase, and at night we could hear a generator(?) humming rather loud.

    Pancakes at breakfeast were good.. The receptionist also asked if we would like coffee and prepared it for us every morning. The location of the hotel is awesome. it's in a busy street with a lot of restaurants near an university. So a lot of young people around which creates a fun atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    7.1
    Good value. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking lot was several blocks away from the hostel. This would have been a concern if our arrival was after dark or if traveling as a solo female.

    Excellent location. The crepes at breakfast were delicious. A bit noisy at night but a fair trade for location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    4.6
    The worth one ever ,too bad.
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Oh my God , it was the worth one ever , breakfast was so cheap on the second day they was bringing what ever last day we didn't eat,and for 2 night I paid 300 $ witch is not worth just the location was okay , I didn't like it at all and too much expensive , I won't go back and I don't recommend to any body to stay there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    7.5
    The small fridge, microwave oven and sink made my stay more...
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They forgot to clean the room one day. I checked out after 9 pm and it was very hard to find my way out, it took me more than 5 minutes and I missed my cab to the airport.

    The small fridge, microwave oven and sink made my stay more confortable. Network speed was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    8.8
    Overall, good value, THE best location, confortable and easy to book, we were pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness of the bathroom was quite poor. There was a wet sock on top of the shower which meant that it hadn't been cleaned properly if the housekeeper hadn't seen it. The tiles and floor of the bathroom could do with a little renovation because it makes it look dirtier than it probably is.

    We loved the fact that there was kind of two rooms into one, the beds were really comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    7.9
    The staffs are awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi was very weak in our room. We can't use it so sometimes we have to go to lounge but lounge was closed at 9pm.

    The staff named Ximena was great! She helped us a lot when we missed a bus to go to mont-tremblant in the morning. My bf was so surprised that she can speak Chinese! Location is also good. Near from station, downtown, old city. I recommend this hotel to the people who are looking for a place to stay and use a bus that travels long distance from Galland Laurentides:)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    5.8
    Not especially clean, uncomfortable bed, unbeatable location, accommodating staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was cramped, outdated, and not especially clean. Several up-and-down sets of stairs to get to any room. Bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable.

    Location was extremely close to interesting bars and restaurants, convenient to main subway line. Secure entry.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    6.7
    Overall ok for the price, but I was a little disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was a bit... dingy, though considering it included a kitchenette, I suppose it was decent value for the price. The bed was a little hard and could have been more comfortable. I would have slept okay though, if it weren't for some other guests on the floor above who were extremely noisy. There were people shouting at the top of their lungs and jumping on the floor late at night when I was trying to sleep. I know this isn't the staff's fault, but I was surprised they didn't even ask those guests to quiet down.

    The staff were very nice, and they made good breakfast with fresh eggs and crepes. The location was also great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    3.3
    Stale smelling room, broken shower, threadbare blanket, way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stale smelling room, broken shower, threadbare blanket, way overpriced. The city was 96% booked which allowed this place to charge 3-4 times more than usual.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    7.5
    Busy street with lots of nightlife and restaurants nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lots of stairs to go to the room, making especially difficult for large suitcases (it´s an adapted house). Small rooms and small double bed, even for a thin couple. After 9 pm there is no one at the front desk, the guest should ring a bell or call a number indicated on the door.

    Busy street with lots of nightlife and restaurants nearby (no noise in the room, though). Very close to the subway, main bus lines and the airport shuttle ( Berri-Uquam station). Satisfactory breakfast, (lack of some items such as cheese). Clean room with the essentials. Good cost benefit ratio.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    8.3
    Reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We weren't told how to exit the building if we had to leave the hotel before 7am. So it was a bit of an anxiety for me as i wasn't sure how to exit the building at 6am since we booked to leave on a tour to quebec at 6.30. There is no emergency call number, so i had to dial 911 and get help and they suggested i use the fire-escape route. The breakfast can be improved as it wasn't the best. Coffee was too sweet and the options were limited.

    I loved the cleanliness and comfort in the room. The staff spoke english and were extremely friendly. They allowed us to keep our luggage safely until check-in. The room has a cozy bed with night lamps and electric socket to connect your phone. The room has a television though was hard browsing through channels. There's a small kitchen with microwave and kettle and wash basin. The room has a closet to put your bags and clothes. there were sufficient drawers to place our clothes too. The stand up shower was great and the toilet had a hairdryer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Floors were sticky. Couldn't remove your shoes. Bed was a good down Murphy bed with a thin uncomfortable mattress. Bathroom was tiny. Shower head leaked and sprayed most of the water on the wall. Shower was very small and the door was difficult to open and close. To turn on the shower you soaked the only roll of toilet paper provided. Our window was facing the adjacent room window and about 3 feet away on the back alley side. Alley (or adjacent room) was noisy until about 3am. Overall a bad tiring night of sleep

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    7.9
    It's a good value choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very friend. The building is organized, and the room is basic comfort and clean. For people who don't need lux deco room when traveling. This is what you are looking for. The breakfast is better than another location I stayed. Lot's restaurant on the street bucks. And it not far from Metro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    8.3
    Truly helpful Staff and good Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Truly helpful Staff and good Breakfast Great location to be either in the old town or in centre ville in 15' by walk Very close to underground too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    4.2
    We had fun with our friends. Thank good they had a nice room.+
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small, shower did not work very good. Had to fix the shower head just to get enough water to take a shower. Water ran down the wall out into the bed room, soaked the rug and my husband shorts. Toilet would not flush right. Asked them to fix it before I went out for a walk. Came back still was not fix. TV did not work. when I checked out they told me they took 10% off our bill because the TV did not work. By the time I left they gave us back 50% of what we paid for the room. will not be staying there again.

    not very much

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location to walk around montreal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Continental breakfast. Would have been nice to have fresh baked goods as apposed to packaged dollar store products.

    The location was excellent. We were able to walk all over montreal and easy access to metro. The room was very functional, and air conditioning was appreciated! Continental breakfast was okay. It would have been nice to have Montreal bagels or bakery croissants and bread rather than dollar store packaged products. Service was great, very friendly! There were a lot of police on the street intersections and they were very helpful and friendly to talk to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    Perfect price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was fantastic, so much night life literally across the street from the hotel. Easy walking distance to Old Port and St. Catherine's as well as the Metro. Free breakfast was offered every morning (is it the best? No. But great for those of us on a budget). Room was super clean, comfortable, and had a small kitchenette.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    8.3
    Good location, with basic needs met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would have been nice to have two staff available around breakfast time, so one could attend to check-outs and the other can keep breakfast stocked. It gets pretty thin on choice after 8:30. The lower floor we were on had a view of brick walls and a gutter. Fine for having a place to come back to, which is great, since it's in such a good location there shouldn't be need to stay in the room all day anyway!

    Lovely crepes for breakfast, but otherwise nothing to write home about. Staff were great for both English and French speakers, though I'm sure some speak other languages.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location old town was within walking distance,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning, no soap,shower door off the hinges,

    Excellent location old town was within walking distance, metro and bus station only a few minutes away,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    2.5
    NEVER EVER consider booking this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's disgusting! - pubic hair all over the bed sheets - dirty floor - mouldy ceiling - really bad smell I went to the reception to get my money back - the "not so well cleaning" happens regularely! The receptionist was used to costumer claims and asked if we "also complaining because of the bugs" :( worst place I EVER been to in my life! Good thing: at least I got a 50% refund - nevertheless it was an aweful experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    Perfect visitor haven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked everything about this place.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast had many choices and the room was updated, clean, quiet and comfortable. There was ac, if needed and many TV channels. Terrific location, near greyhound bus terminal, metro, and Old Montreal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful Hotel Close to Downtown Montreal Hotspots
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at this hotel is very welcoming, accommodating, friendly, and helpful. The service was excellent. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Montreal on a fun street, full of restaurants, bars, and lounges. It is within walking distance of Gay Village, Old Montreal, and the nightclubs. Perfect location! Great deal for the price. Highly recommend this option if you want a comfortable hotel and want to avoid having to take cabs.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: