Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge Place d'Armes 4 stars

24 Rue Saint-Anne, G1R 3X3 Quebec City, Canada

#16 of 50 B&Bs and Inns in Quebec City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 511 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish they could provide slippers and a bathrobe. The cafe breakfast is okay if you are in a rush.

    Our room was the suite with the hot tub. Good choice for people looking for a bathtub.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room , the food , the smiles , the way they made us happy and welcomed

    The staff was just wonderful and interacted appropriately in all situations , such a nice place to stay , we would go back and back again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a delight & the location is perfect. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful, everything is very clean & the food in the restaurant is superb! We actually extended our stay here for a further 3 nights. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Great location! We had a great time at the Auberge. We had the room at the very top so the stairs going up and down was our daily exercise but it was worth it. The room was cosy and had its charm. Staff was very helpful and nice. We would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for the room with a tub and fireplace since it was our anniversary. They said they could not promise. Why? Why not just tell us it was already booked instead of getting our hopes up that just maybe... The resteraunt offered us a 15% discount but they didn't tell us it closed from 130pm till dinner. We came home hungry looking forward to a warm snack but once again....

    The staff was very helpful and never paused to wait for a tip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should get a deal with Hotel de Ville for parking, 35$ for 2 nights... I didn't plan to pay for parking when staying at hotel.

    You can't get better location. The staff is truly awesome. Restaurant serves delicious food. The room's decor gives European ambiance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was pretty uncomfortable, and the water temperature fluctuated between hot and cold.

    The room was gorgeous, and I loved the heated floors in the bathroom!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments because there wasn’t anything not to like.... if you don’t like to climb stairs but In all honesty, after you’ve climb the many sidewalks of Old Quebec .... seriously what’s a few more ! And there’s a bonus at the top ... your luxurious room !! What more do you need .....

    We were talking about ALL the hotels we have stayed at over the years and this one is at the top of our list, from the moment we stepped inside to the entry of our room ... which blew us away , the decor, ambience everything was magnificent !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Power went out for 2 hours one evening and there were no emergency lights in the hallway.

    Overall room was charming. Bathroom heaven with heated floor, deep tub, rainshower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Banging my head on ceiling beams. 3 flights of steep stairs. Power was off when we left and there was no emergency lighting in the top staircase.

    Very central location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water took a while to warm up, and instructions to use the shower, (was part of the Jacuzzi bath) they could be written and left close by.

    the location, the bistro at the Inn. the overall charm. The attentive personnel to our concerns. Being small,but quaint, in in the perfect location was a total success for our great weekend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was difficult but that was due to a lot of snow. No fault to the hotel

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. They couldn’t do enough for you. Very unique boutique hotel. Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast. Understaffed and as a result we checked out without having breakfast. We did so with silent dignity.

    Breakfast was convenient and good Nice bath Healthy staircase

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having dinner at restaurant required a reservation.

    Loved the location, close to everything. Fabulous restaurant right in the hotel. Room was very attractive and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very, very helpful and welcoming during the entire stay, even providing us to-go water for our trip back home. We had a small issue with shower temperature, which was remedied easily and immediately.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in old Quebec with an excellent restaurant. The food was excellent there and everywhere else we went. The people very friendly. Great trip.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything. Y

    Everything was beyond expectation. The staff was wonderful and helpful in answer to any of our questions. The room was delightful and tha Auberge location was perfect. And the food was superb!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Our stay in Quebec City was the highlight of our trip and this hotel would be the only one I will choose to return to. It provides clean and charming accommodations and is situated within walking distance to everything you could want to see including the tourist info building to help with all travel plans. We enjoyed their restaurant and room service very much. The front desk staff was always attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The valet parking was a bit of a nuisance, but only until I remembered that I had my spare key and didn't need to call the valet every time to visit my car, even though I was supposed to (insurance reasons?). It is a mere 3 minute walk, which is very reasonable.

    Everything was as expected from other reviews. Incredible ambiance. Each room is so unique! The cafe is superb. Courteous, accommodating staff. Fantastic location. My special impression was the old windows. Their age is the source of their charm. It was interesting to see the antique opening mechanism, figure it out, and note that they kept it clean, but it became a real delight to discover that it still worked smoothly and the mechanism hadn't been ruined by too many coats of paint over the years. One more thought to emphasize how good the location is. We explored on foot at night, again in the morning, and then drove around and discovered for a few hours after checkout, with no wasted time getting to or from anywhere. Our only lost time was a few minutes spent in traffic. It allowed us to really squeeze the most out of our 24 hours in the city. I got a package that included a welcome beverage (sugary and weak, but a thoughtful touch) and some coupons for the restaurant. Super worth it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great rooms, great staff, wonderful restaurant and the location was ideal. Nice touch to have a complimentary cocktail available at the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower enclosure did not have a full door so the water got all over the bathroom floor. The bathroom door was a sliding glass door that was quite beat up and awkward to have a glass bathroom door. The info about amenities in the room advertised free breakfast, but it is only free if you book the hotel directly, not on a booking site.

    Restaurant was so good we ate there both nights we were in the city. We received 15% off vouchers for meals taken at the hotel resturant. The hotel and restaurant staff were very nice. The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location. Very friendly staff. Really cool room decor and amazing restaurant downstairs. I would go back and recommend to friends immediately.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises and stairs to the room. Tile stairs were steep to walk in to the facility. Poor lighting in the bathroom and no place to put your toiletries .

    The bed was comfortable and spacious .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific people and a great location. A perfect option for a couple looking to get away for a few days. Quebec City is a magical place and Auberge is right in the middle of it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking is avaliable, however unloading in public area and carrying luggages to 3rd floor without lift were stressful.

    Central location in old Quebec City. Walking distance to any point of interests in the old city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in our room needed a good cleaning.

    Great location in Old Town. Right in the middle of the restaurants, boutiques, and historical sights. Staff was helpful and friendly. Great shower with body jets to soothe the weary travelers aches and pains.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking is bad for everyone inside the wall. Their valet parking was convenient.

    The location was unbeatable. It was across from the Frontenac and the stop where all of the tour buses pick up guests. The funicular was there and it was a quick jaunt down to the restored old town at the bottom of the hill. Our area was very historical, quaint, and had no shortage of restaurants and shops. The staff were very accommodating and helpful when we had to leave early for Hurricane Irma. I could not brag enough about the staff. Wonderful people.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms are small and there is no elevator. The small rooms can feel cramped, even for a romantic getaway. The lack of an elevator makes for a tiring climb on the narrow stairs, especially if you're on the top (3rd) floor, as we were. (I'd take a lower floor room, if available. The charm of exposed rafters in the 3rd floor rooms doesn't make up for the climb, in my opinion.) The staff offers to take your luggage up and down the steps on check-in and check-out. Definitely take them up on their offer. The free breakfasts at Chez Jules are only available if you book directly with the hotel. If you book through Booking.com, it's a 15% discount, instead.

    The location is fantastic - right by Chateau Frontenac but on a pedestrian-only side street. The neighborhood is absolutely charming, with lots of sidewalk cafes, quaint shops, street performers and nightlife. It's convenient to all the historic sites and tourist attractions. The hotel itself has a lot of character and charm. The staff is great - friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the restaurant menu so ate in lovely restaurant next door and others. Don't know anything about Genius perks?

    the room decor style was lovely, great shower. Great location right in the old city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didnt stay long enough - was only there for an overnight visit

    Great location, loved the old world charm combined with modern touches. Very comfortable bed and great bath / shower with plenty of hot water. Good coffee facilities in the room too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff are efficient, hard working and very friendly. They easily switch back and forth between French and English depending on a travelers language skills, making you feel very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved the location...room was a bit small and was hoping for a balcony and larger bathroom, but issues are overlooked since the location was so great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entryway where you check in is very small and crowded. It also serves as entryway of restaurant attached to hotel. The hallways/stairway were warm and we did not enjoy the smells emanating from the kitchen of the restaurant. Fortunately the odors did not permeate the walls of our room. Our bed was very hard. We are used to softer mattresses, so we did not sleep well and were a bit sore. Perhaps they could offer a soft mattress topper for people not used to hard beds.

    This hotel is so charming and right in the middle of everything in Upper Quebec City. When arriving and seeing the crowds of people on the street in front, I was worried it would be loud, but the stone walls of the building keep all the noise out of the rooms. Our room was peaceful and quiet. Loved the decor. It was very clean and pretty. The staff was friendly and professional. There is no elevator, which didn't bother us, but should be kept in mind if you can't do stairs. Location is perfect for touring Quebec City.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    You need a good location to explore Quebec City and this is it. Good resturant, friendly staff with clean rustic charmed room. No elevator but if you're fit, it will just give a bit more to the ambience of the place. No complaints, will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had one breakfast and one dinner at the hotel restaurant Chez Jules. While the food was fine, it was not as great as meals we had at other establishments in the upper and lower Old Town Quebec. But that is a minor quibble.

    The hotel is in an ancient building in the center of the upper Old Town Quebec near a lot of tourist attractions, sidewalk cafes, restaurants, shops and pubs. The Hotel staff was very attentive and helpful, including with last-minute dinner reservations at their restaurant. The room was nicely decorated, clean, bed was very comfortable & linens were nice. The bellhop brought our bags up to our attic room (3 floors, no elevators) and also brought our bags to the curb so we could load them into our vehicle. The hotel also provided discount coupons for breakfast at their restaurant Chez Jules, and coupons for ice cream and crepes at neighboring shops. We would recommend this property as a great value in a central location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Section of street on which hotel is located is closed to vehicle traffic. Need to temp park to check in which is rough. Thankfully they have valet parking. No elevator. Could use more coffee in room.

    Excellent location. Comfortable Euro style room. Food in restaurant is excellent. Plan to return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apartment had window to the crowdy street and at evening it was a bit noisy inside. No parking.

    Guy from the staff was very friendly and helped us with our troubles in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is valet parking, which was fine upon departure, but a great hassle upon arrival as the stopping place was full and the streets were jammed with traffic. The stairs are very steep and could be a problem for some. Our bathroom door was frosted glass, right next to the bed, flooding the sleeping room with light when one of us got up in the middle of the night. The rain shower did not work (it fizzled not showered). Breakfast was discounted 15%, but mediocre and still not worth the price, especially the cocottes.

    The location is superb, on the only street in the Haute Ville closed to traffic. The heritage character and the Art Deco furnishings give the rooms a warm comfortable feeling. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant, Chez Jules is very good, perhaps the best in the old city, except for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The location was great right in the heart of Old Quebec. Able to walk to all sites. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful. The room was large and from our window we looked over the plaza and the Chateau. Everything was a short pleasant walk. The Coq ua Vin Jaune was incredible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though our breakfast was delicious, in our booking it was advertised as 'free breakfast included with stay' and it wasn't. We received 15% discount coupons on their A la carte menu to use on each of our breakfasts for the length of our stay. We used them only once and ate breakfast elsewhere for the next two days (we wanted to walk around and try different restaurants....the food at the hotel was really good though; this was just our personal choice to eat elsewhere). We found out at check out time that after your first stay with them you will receive the free breakfast plus other discounts. I read in a previous review before I booked how the stairs at this hotel were steep....they are very steep. They aren't too bad if your room is on the 2nd or 3rd floor, however, if you have to keep climbing as we did to get to our attic room the stairs become a workout. Do the stairs I would say make sure your suitcase isn't too heavy or bulky (the staircase to the attic room we stayed in was narrow). Overall though the stairs add a lot of charm despite their steepness, the food is good, and I would still stay here in the future.

    My sister and I stayed here for three days and four nights. Absolutely loved the location, you can walk to just about everything! Loved the architecture, old rustic charm, as well as the modern accents. Our room was the superior attic room, was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The room was exactly like the pictures except for a couple different furniture items. The bathroom was very modern -jet shower- and clean! There was plenty of space that it felt very roomy with the vaulted ceilings even though in some of the pictures the room looks tight. The breakfast at the restaurant inside was delicious! I booked excursions with the hotel staff and this made our trip much easier because they had all the brochures and knew where we were supposed to go. They advertised an eco-friendly cleaning service option (basically you choose what days you don't need room service during your stay and receive $5 off for that day) and we loved this! Overall, we loved staying at this hotel and would definitely stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only recommendation would be to people that have problems with stairs, that there are a few. Not lots but some.

    Great property! Room #3 was great. Only stayed one night as the weather was so poor (originally were scheduled for 3 nights) The room was very Art Deco. Merged the old flavor with modern convinces. Everyone in the hotel were VERY helpful. We will be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location near the Chateau Frontenac, Place Royal and the hop on hop off line was fantastic. It is a very quaint hotel. The stairs to the entrance need some beefing up but otherwise the renovation is lovely. Chez Paul is a very good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heat went off around 10PM and came back on at 7AM. It was extremely cold for Quebec City in May we were told. We were cold the first night. The rest of the nights we slept in extra clothing. The bill was higher than we were led to expect by the booking. There were some serious taxes and we may have misunderstood the cost of an "upgrade." Nevertheless, we loved the place and will stay there next year again.

    The food was incredibly good. Many obviously local folks used the restaurant also. The location could not have been better. The staff were really helpful, friendly and spoke English.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front desk very people friendly. Bed extremely comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Stairs were a little bit of a challenge for a senior citizen but we managed without a problem.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were a little uncomfortable/hard. Back was hurting after a couple of nights.

    We absolutely loved this hotel. It was in the perfect location, in the heart of old Quebec. Amazing restaurants near by. The breakfast at Chez Jules was also very delicious, we ate there every morning! The staff were also very nice, even though we didn't speak French, they made us feel very welcome. It is a bit of a hike up to the third floor attic rooms, with no elevator, so I would suggest requesting a room on a lower level if stairs are a problem. Overall this hotel was perfect, I would definitely recommend staying here, and I will be going back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was fairly small but big enough for a short stay, and lighting could have been better. The weather was cold and rainy - but the hotel could not help with that!

    This hotel has a wonderful central location in the old city of Québec. It is a carefully renovated and quite old building. There is no elevator, but easily manageable stairs, and staff helped with bags. It has an adjoining restaurant that is excellent, and so busy as to require reservations (though we had no problem - maybe because we were staying there). The room was perfectly cleaned, the large sauna bath was delightful after a day of walking in cold weather, the bed was very comfortable and warm, with lovely cotton linens and a first-nation inspired and very warm throw blanket. The free wifi worked perfectly so that we did't have to use our cellular plan while there. The staff were probably the best part - friendly, helpful, and very accommodating, especially when we discovered that, due to airline delays, we would have to stay an additional night. They were fluent in English, though their first language was French, and also tolerant of our efforts to speak French. There showed kindness and concern that are often hard to find when traveling. In fact, this was true of many people whom we met in Québec.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good though an earlier check in would have been nice.

    Very cute hotel in the heart of old Quebec. My room was in the attic and was lovely, great bed, quiet and warm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i was informed after my stay that had i booked directly through them i would've received breakfast....i can't remember what was included at the time of my booking but i was quite upset that because i booked through booking.com that breakfast was not included

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were on the 3rd floor, which was fine with us, but 4 flights of stairs (no elevator) may have been tough for some folks, so just be aware when you book what floor you are on.

    We were worried about the parking, but for $25/day the valet was great. Location couldn't have been more perfect to walk to everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't super quiet with the old walls I guess. Could use some updates in the washrooms and bath.

    Perfect location! Walking distance to everything. It felt very cozy. The room really reflected the Old Quebec feeling with the charming attic space and stone and the furnishings. Even the small fridge was inside a vintage-looking cabinet to maintain the consistent charm. I love that it had the restaurant attached to it, Chez Jules. And service was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In our room under the roof, and the top of the hotel there was the intermittent sound of a fan turning on and off at night - the only annoying thing about our stay. Next time we'll choose a room lower down.

    The food at the restaurant was always excellent, as was the quality and attitude of service. Our room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and a clean, comfortable room. Great breakfast and also enjoyed a tasty evening meal. We will definitely recommend Auberge Place d'Armes to others.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bathroom had an odd design, nice materials but the shower/tub was open to the room and the enclosed part had glass walls, some transparent. Does anyone really like that?

    Lovely restoration of two historic buildings. A modern interpretation of an auberge (inn). Romantic and sleek at the same time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What's best then staying at Frontenac? Staying in front of it, in an historic hotel full of charm yet recently renovated and enjoying seeing the Chateau Frontenac from bed. Beautiful hotel, wisely located, at walking distance of everything. It even has a first class French cuisine restaurant which is a must try for anyone staying around. Will go back for sure.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a wee bit small for the price considering the room's ceiling sloped down so much you could easily hit your head

    Loved the jacuzzi jets. Thee aesthetic was a lovely combination between contemporary and 'homey'

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast plan was confusing/annoying. Bad lighting everywhere. Poor heating settings. Uncomfortable chairs/couch.

    Good location and view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower leaked. Very steep entrance steps and no elevator inside, so not for the unfit or those needing wheelchair accessibility.

    Great location. Comfy bed. Free welcome drink and meal discounts. Quaint room although you have to take care not to bang your head on the sloped ceiling/rafters! Good food in the adjacent restaurant, Chez Jules.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old hotel, comfortable room, wonderful staff, and you couldn't ask for a better location! The attached restaurant, Chez Jules, is also excellent. My only caution would be if you have mobility concerns- without an elevator, be prepared to do a few stairs! Staff is available to help carry your bags to your room, which is nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful polite, & courteous. Chez Joules was perfect. Receiving coupons for the restaurant was nice. The room was very clean & comfortable. Location was perfect directly on the square within walking distance of everything.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cozy little attic bedroom was charming, warm and with a lovely comfortable bed. Tasteful decoration, friendly accommodating staff. The adjoining restaurant was fantastic, delicious food. Perfect location to walk around Old Quebec.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If we stayed in during the evening, we noticed very loud music coming from somewhere nearby. It was off by before 10 pm, so it didn't disturb our sleep, but it wasn't ideal for a quiet evening. It was probably related to the location of our room on the first floor of the hotel.

    The location was amazing and the hotel was beautiful. Our room had a wonderful view, and the free cocktail was a nice addition! The service was also excellent, and the staff was very welcoming. We would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was lovely, with great views of the Chateau Frontenac. It is perfectly situated within a short walking distance of all the sights. The staff was friendly and incredibly helpful. In short, we will be staying here again for sure!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on breakfast shift at the restaurant were not as well trained or friendly as all the other staff we encountered.

    The staff were friendly and attentive. We were offered a room upgrade to the jr suite for our honeymoon, and all the staff made us feel special during our stay. The restaurant Chez Jules was fabulous and we ate their both nights. Love the quirky boutique vibe of the hotel, the charm, and the old stone everywhere.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everyone who works at this hotel is very friendly, helpful and went the extra mile to make our stay a pleasant one. Bonus: attached restaurant (Chez Jules) had the same level of service and great food, both for breakfast and dinner. Would not stay anywhere else on my next visit.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    By booking with booking.com it actually ended up costing us $50/night more. The hotel had better deals than what you offered.

    Service and overall experience at the hotel was excellent. We would return again for sure.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the old-world character and original architectural details of the building and rooms. Outstanding location, and a wonderful restaurant and staff. We visit Quebec City often and will stay here again for sure!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that we did not like.

    The room was charming, spotless,well-appointed and comfortable. Will definitely return. The associated restaurant, Chez Jules was terrific, excellent French cuisine and first rate service. The staff, from front desk to restaurant were great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all save for the steep steps up to the front door and the lack of a lounge - but its a character building and these are not criticisms

    Perfect location, lovely room with lots of character, friendly staff and an excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were advised in advance that the hotel didn't have a lift and were quite prepared to carrying our bags up the stairs.This did not happen as the staff were helpful and keen to carry our bags to our room and down again when we were departing .

    We were caught in a taxi strike and witnessed the staff going the extra to facilitate transport for the departing guests well done . The hotel is situated right in the best area to experience the old Quebec . The rooms are unique in the old style with very modern facilities no problems there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being right downtown you have to take everything you need for your stay out of the car and have no access to your car or pay another 25usd valet fee

    I loved that we were within walking distance to everything we wanted to do and see

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After a long day of walking the streets the stairs to the 3rd where a tiresome. Although it not take away from the experience.

    The hotel and staff are excellent. We stayed in a superior loft, very cozy. We have stayed at a couple of hotels in the city all are great. We are planning another trip back for next year and will be booking this hotel again. Not the Loft, once was enough :) The location of the hotel is fantastic, very easy to get too and from sites.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The Auberge Place d'Armes is located directly across from the courtyard in front of the Hotel Frontenac. What a spectacular location! Have no fear about the language. Everyone we met spoke English. A five minute walk to the funiculaire, it is easy to quickly descend to the lower city. The hotel rooms are clean, richly appointed, and quiet. Though there is no elevator, the young staff eagerly transports your bags as needed. Connected to the hotel is the Chez Jules restaurant--a brasserie Francaise. What a delight! They offered eight different breakfasts. I had six different ones, and two repeats. They are included in the price of the room. We also had two spectacular suppers there with friends. The staff is poised, energetic, and playfully cheerful. Just outside the front door is their heated, covered patio. After finally checking out, our final memory on the patio was sipping sangria and watching local artists ten feet sway sketching portraits of very lucky couples. In the past few years, I have traveled extensively in Tuscany, southern France, Paris, Normandy, Alaska, Seattle, San Francisco and the Napa Valley. Our total experience in and around Quebec City topped all the others. I rate the Auberge Place d'Armes five stars!!! Magnifique, et merci!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't love the configuration of the bath in our room, but only a minor issue.

    Fabulous location, staff was friendly and helpful, room was charming and comfortable. Also had a nice restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was exceptional as well as the restaurant downstairs. They brought our bags to our room while we waited to check in. They even booked a reservation at the restaurant when I called to inquire about the closing time even though I didn't ask for one. But it ensured our table otherwise we would not have gotten one! The shower was a bit small but we booked a small room. The towels were big and soft though! We'll book here again!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Auberge Place d'Armes traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: