Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Universel Montréal 4 stars

5000 Rue Sherbrooke Est, Hochelaga-Maisonneuve, H1V 1A1 Montréal, Canada

#73 of 134 hotels in Montréal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1254 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.3
    WYSIWYG
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists attitude on arrival.We were directed to an elevator that he knew was broken.He had a couldn’t care less manner.He needs to retrain or find new career.

    3 star hotel ideally located for Olympic Village and surrounding attractions.Free parking was a bonus and within short walking distance or free shuttle to metro.On arrival male receptionist was a bit “robotic”explaining facilities at super speed.Rooms were clean and had all the facilities of a 3 star hotel.we were in room 121 just above boiler room and felt at times as if we were on a ship when the floor vibrated!All in all a pleasant good value experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washroom was small and lacked privacy.

    Comfortable room. But a little small for four of us. Not much privacy in washroom. Great helpful staff. Helped us find a great restaurant that night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    The 2 pools (even during our visit the outside pool was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel need an update. Mini fridge needs a defrosting, TV remote new batteries

    The 2 pools (even during our visit the outside pool was closed) the beds were comfortable, staff very very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff is extremely friendly and it is a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was basically in the basement by the pool and it was very noisy. Also, on our last full day there they had some kind of wedding party there in which the guests took up a lot of the parking spots. So we had to park at the opposite side of the hotel from where our room was.

    The staff is extremely friendly and it is a beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    The staff at the desk were friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that the lifeguard needs some additional training. Three teen age boys came into the pool area while we were there and were very loud, jumping off the sides right next to small kids, their aggressive play took over the entire pool and many people left rather than wait for someone to get hurt. The lifeguard didn’t ever say a word. I think she mostly looked at her phone.

    The staff at the desk were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Great value for your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside is that the walls are thin and we could hear everyone in the hallway.

    Great location! Walking to the Saputo Stadium. We loved that there was free parking and two pools (indoor and outdoor). They also have a very good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Great place for its value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor pool was not heated. The equipment in the fitness center needs to be updated and in working order. Breakfast was not included on its price.

    The location on the east side was convenient...away from all the road construction. Room was clean. Next to the Olympic Park and Botanical Garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Staff was very nice and the location is perfect with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a private bathroom and there was no option of adding an extra bed or having a suite with a sofa-bed (the option is only available with a 1 king-size bed, not with 2 double bed). They offered me to bring my own mat.

    Staff was very nice and the location is perfect with kids.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.0
    For the price I would not stay here and get a better place for an extra $20 night .Not very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Better service.requested an early check in at 1pm. First time ever was refused. All the other hotels I stayed in managed to get me in at this time. Safe in hotel was not working,staff member checked it and said it might need new batteries.Never saw him again. Indoor pool very small and too much chlorine. Requested a shuttle service to be picked up from Metro Viau station at 10;30pm after a long day of walking everywhere. Was told it was very busy.Told us it was a 30 minute wait for a 10 minute walk.Like I said a long day of walking with a young child in tow.Very tired. That's the reason chose this.BIG MISTAKE!!!!!!!!! We walked and when we got to the hotel the shuttle bus was parked in front of the hotel where it always is .WTF? Can hear people talking very loudly in the hallway at 2am two nights in a row.Woke me up. Need better soundproofing.

    Nothing .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    Not even a 3 star Hotel never mind 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was outdated and the staff were not helpful when asked for something that my 7 year old can sleep on. Not even extra pillows or blanket. Apparently we didn’t pay enough to have a couple of water bottles in the empty cooler. TV in the room was disabled so that you can’t connect your own laptop to watch a movie or PS4 for the kids to play.

    The price was reasonable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    We can't wait to return to Hotel Universel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We really enjoyed our visit to Montreal and our stay at this hotel. The staff was absolutely incredible. We have never stayed somewhere where the people have gone above and beyond to make sure our stay was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family loved everything. The only thing that would have been nice to have was a complimentary Continental Breakfast in the mornings.

    The accommodations we're very clean and modern. I loved the colorful stained glass doors in the room. The hotel is also close to the metro and the Olympic village. We loved that!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coupons were a little overpriced.

    Clean hotel for the money. Madisons resturant a block away was amazing. Not a bad walk to the Metro. Center of Olympic Park.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel; excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One elevator in a 7 floor structure?

    Hotel was clean and staff super helpful and friendly. Breakfast was unfortunately not included, and this was not clear from the Booking.com listing about which hotel said breakfast was merely 'offered' but not included in the price. Language matters; so this listing should be clarified. There was a nominal discount offered on the breakfast though. That was the only minor glitch of the stay. Also, the shuttle service to the metro was nice, but we always had to wait at least 15-20 minutes as there appeared to be more demand than supply.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    Bed was quite good and feel comfortable, And the other good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one of main elevator was out of order. Considering my room on 5th floor, it was very inconvenience for kids. Also I believe the parking area is not enough for weekend. I had to wait for half hours to find spot.

    Bed was quite good and feel comfortable, And the other good thing, it is very close with stadium, it take 5 mins by walk. The pool seems great, however, I`ve not used.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building must have been built for the 1976 Olympics - it definitely needed renovation. The breakfast menu was disappointing, with only a few healthy options. In general, the hotel was seriously overpriced.

    It was great to have an open air swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    Nothing special...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, and for no reason. I said hello, and one of the receptionists gave me a dirty look. The beds are also like laying on boards. Not what I was expecting.

    The building itself was nice, the room was clean and the location was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Room and hallway appeared recently renovated
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ONE elevator from the lobby!? We were on the 7th floor so you can imagine how much time we wasted waiting! Housekeeping made the bed but didn’t leave shampoo or conditioner the next morning, I know we can call front desk for this but when it is obvious there is none left how can they miss that and I have never stayed in a hotel that skips this! Breakfast overpriced. 2 stars maximum.

    Room and hallway appeared recently renovated

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Great family location for visiting Montreal.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice people working at front desk, but can get a little busy if a few people in line and phone calls coming in.

    Convenient location, two swimming pools (indoors & out) and free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    We were really pleased with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked breakfast included with the stay.

    We were really pleased with our stay. It was great value for money. The hotel is clean and comfortable and in a good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Basic and dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is dated. Told we had been upgraded to a renovated room , furniture dated room basic, indoor pool not fit for use. Looked dirty paint peeled in bottom and appeared black and flaky, breakfast not included and not worth the extra money .

    Outdoor pool, free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    This place was fantastic for our family.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place was fantastic for our family. The front desk staff were very helpful with everything (thanks Catherine and all others!) and we appreciated the attention to our needs. Breakfast was superb and the atmosphere was inviting. We had a sweet room and it was situated was very quiet. The Botanical Gardens nearby were beautiful and made a great outing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Decent hotel in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bed and th fact that one night rates had been doubled due to the Canadian Grand Prix.

    Hotel is in a good location for public transport downtown, and had good facilities. The bar had a nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    My first night was excellent, not my second.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel welcomes groups. My first night was quiet. On my second night there was a bus load of teenage girls staying on my floor. Not only were the girls loud and noisy but the adults with them were conversing loudly until 11:30pm. That started all over early in the morning. In my view, if a hotel plans to accept large groups of kids they need to isolate them on their own floor not assume they can cohabitate with other paying guests. This practise is unfair to all the others trying to get some sleep.

    Great location and very nice clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    2.9
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly. Room was sme)ly and dark. lLight was dull. Carpet was old and worn as was couch in the room. I found candy on the floor which asked me the question was the room vacuumed. would certainly not recommend. Stayed one night of two and could not wait to leave. Had to forfeit payment for second night as thwy would not refund.

    Nothing .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    We booked a suite with "spa bath".
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a suite with "spa bath". When we filled the tub and switched on the jets, the filth of several years was blown into the water. It was a very disgusting experience. The staff in the restaurant just ignored us when we waited to be seated for breakfast. It took them 10 minutes until they finally approached us, although they definitely noticed us standing there already. Their speed of service and general attitude gave me the impression that it's my fault they have to work so early. To be specific, we made this experience with the waitresses, not with the waiters next day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was ok and location was good with a low price tag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really uncomfortable. We stayed on the ground floor which was extra noisy. The rooms aren't sound proof and there were lots of people with their doors open travelling from room to room. Thankfully the noise stopped around 11pm. Other floors were way more quiet.

    The hotel was ok and location was good with a low price tag.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.4
    We were charged 3times the amount because the front desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged 3times the amount because the front desk staff erroneously placed a hold then ran it 2 other times. When we brought it to their attention we were hard pressed to get anyone to assist us

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    I would reccomend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice if there was a hot tub near the pool area. The restaurant was a little pricey but the food was great!

    When I arrived the concierge was absolutely great! The room was nice and the beds were comfy! The kids were happy that there was a pool inside, it was small, but very clean. I would totally stay here again with my family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hotel could do with an updating.

    Friendly staff, lively hotel which we liked, great location as we were taking our kids to biodome nearby. Really beautiful area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    It was clean and personnel was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did not have continental and I found it quite expensive. I would not rate this 4 stars. Room was small and furniture old and random.

    It was clean and personnel was very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.4
    It is well located, about 5 minutes from metro station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for what the room is. It was noisy, and not really clean. The bed was not really comfortable.

    It is well located, about 5 minutes from metro station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice place, first time, and will most likely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad timing for arrival (15h45), approx. 20+ people in line for checking-in due to event at Stade Olympique on Dec. 30th, long delay. Some elevators Out of Order. Sauna at pool location Out of Order.

    Proximity of restaurants, and restaurant and bar onsite. Swimming pool appeared to be very clean. Gym appeared to be well maintained. Check-out time is 12h00 (Noon), which is nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    I would recommend if you don’t have to valet your car and there is no construction. It’s a great loc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My rental car was scratched while in possession of the valet. Hotel manager did not want to claim any liability. This was a mistake for me. Other than this the hotel service and staff, value for the money were excellent. Lots of construction starting at 7am outside my window and I had specially asked for a quiet room. These two problems we enough for me to consider not returning. The room was perfect and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    We shall return!
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was not working properly but our stay was so short that it was a very minor inconvenient

    Staff was polite, helpful, and smiling. We were well greeted.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    I'll be going back again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've been here twice. The first time the staff was excellent and on a general note they are great from reception, to cleaning staff, to servers in the restaurant. However, just a minor comment is that this time one staff at reception seemed confused and didn't give us basic information automatically on his own... we had to think about asking him.

    Very clean and comfortable hotel. Free parking right on the hotel's property. Location is great if you have a car as you will be able to easily drive downtown. Otherwise downtown is not walking distance although there are activities in the area to go see.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Over all very pleasant stay. Really worth for money that you spend.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night bit noisy. Could not sleep properly since kids were running in the hallway and making noise but this is nothing to do with management. They can’t do anything. If you are a couple I would highly recommend you to book king bed room so that you could escape from this problem..:)

    Very friendly staff and very accommodative. I requested for late check out and there was no problem to do that.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Great value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy company at the pool (obviously not the Hotel's fault) which made us leave, and the somewhat lackadaisical service at the restaurant at breakfast.

    The comfortable and spacious room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Very helpful reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The special deal breakfast was mediocre, a bit pricey for what it was ($13) but it was convenient

    Very helpful reception staff. Excellent location for botanical gardens and bio dome. Upgraded room with good view and very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.1
    Very large and somewhat impersonal hotel, but a reasonable stay for a 2 night visit to see Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room on the ground floor right next to the lifts. This is a busy hotel and obviously noise is a problem. However the staff were very good and our complaints were listened to and we were given a discount.

    Good location near the Olympic park, however it is a fairly long walk to the metro station which is not so easy to find. OK after you have figured it out though. Easy ride on metro to city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel located by Olypic Park/Botanical Gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a few things I didn't like. The door to the hallway didn't keep out sound very well which although could be tolerable, wasn't as a bunch of high school athletes were in the hotel for a competition. Also the fold out bed was not very comfortable, and despite being advertised as sleeping two people, could not do so comfortably. Finally I was surprised that the hotel did not offer breakfast with the room. However, we were further disappointed to find out that my eight year old daughter "had to" get an adult breakfast which she of course couldn't finish. The set breakfast was very limited with only a choice of only (three) pancakes or eggs with potatoes and toast; both meals were served with drinks. We expected a nicer meal with more variety for a hotel of this caliber and the option of a child meal should be offered to children! It's so disappointing when hotels can't accommodate small things like that which should just be options available to the discretion of customers.

    The hotel and our room seemed to be in very good shape. It was centrally located across across the street from the Olympic Park and Botanical Gardens so several sights including the Insectarium, Japanese and Chinese gardens, Biodome etc. were all in walking distance and there was access to the metro nearby as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful rooms, super friendly staff!
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was a little far from the downtown attractions but really not that bad. Only a 20-minute walk to the nearest Metro station then about 20-30 minutes to downtown. But very close to the Olympic Stadium, Jardin, Montreal Impact stadium, Biodome, Insectarium.

    Beautiful rooms, nice view! Very clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    I was very impressed by the high quality - excellent value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good!

    I was very impressed by the high quality - excellent value for a decent price! The staff were very accommodating to a specific (small) need I had.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.8
    Mostly positive but be aware of the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems at checkout mainly because I had double booked the room and despite my earlier cancellation of one of the bookings the hotel proved most reluctant to make a refund

    Nothing special

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Great bang for the buck. Defiantly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can find a issue with was the restaurant breakfast staff. They where a little slow and seemed uninterested in being at work. We still got the service and the food was great, the staff just seem sluggish.

    The staff was friendly and curtiouse. The rooms where clean and spacious. The hotel was within walking distance of many point of interests and a park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Good clean hotel offering value for money with an easy tube rude to down town Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little further to tube than led to believe but walk was through the Olympic park so quite interesting.

    Had an excellent meal in the restaurant on the first night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    It's a good and quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sliding door allows everyone in the room to know what's happening in the bathroom. A huge issue when sharing one room with 4 people. No air flow/exaust as well.

    It's a good and quiet hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.8
    Outdoor pool and gym where a great bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in a ground floor room which concerned me with security. The gym had a carpet! How do you clean a sweaty gym floor when it has a carpet!

    Outdoor pool and gym where a great bonus. Staff were very friendly and efficient and check in and out was quick and easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.8
    Close to major attractions and the local eateries were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs more parking. The elevator is extremely slow, and only having 1 makes it difficult for the visitors. Always have to wait because it's full.

    Close to major attractions and the local eateries were great. Especially having Coras within walking distance from the hotel for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Hotel was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Annoyed that 18 of us booked the exact same type of room on the same floor, through booking.com and all got wildly different rates and the one family that booked directly with the hotel got it the cheapest rate. over 20% cheaper going directly with the hotel.

    Hotel was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    I didn't want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My dream breakfast would have been to have a great cup of coffee, like espresso, a poppyseed Montreal bagel, with smoked salmon and cream cheese.

    I liked that it was a possibility. We considered having breakfast when we checked out at 11:00 am but breakfast ended at 11:00 de we couldn't. This is not a complaint, Just explaining that we did not have breakfast there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    Never seen worse beds and pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First floor smelled so bad, both hallway and in the room, like had someone's thrownups, also bad in indoor swimming area At outside pool, smelled strong cigarette smoking from parking lot, we had to leave. The pillow can't be worse, the bed got us all including my children backache

    Has a gym, a pool and free parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Very pleased and a good deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my sister's room the toilet paper holder was too far from the actual toilet. In my room it was on the sliding door which was fine. The door to the toilet and shower is a sliding door so not too much privacy if going to pee or poo. Does not lock. I ordered a brownie and ice cream at the restaurant which I picked up but for 10$ it was not worth it. 5$ for just a plain scoop of vanilla ice cream (no syrup on top or anything) and 5$ for a cold piece of brownie that was just cut from a slate was not worth it. I did not even eat it. No breakfast included.

    It is right across the olympic stadium and the botanical garden so location is amazing. Not too many restaurants around but they have 2 there. Beds were comfy. Service at the front desk was great. I was able to get a room next to my sister who had booked a while ago. I had booked 30 minutes before my check in. We got an upgraded room. Very nice!internet was included and parking too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Very comfy and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger menu in Le Toit Rouge.

    Very comfy bed. The pools were great; not the weather, but you can't fix that! 😉 Like the lower price than staying in town. Nice that you have a little gift shop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Hotel very well located and good if visiting planetarium, Biodôme, Botanical gardens or Olympic Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of staff at restaurant. Very slow service food is good. Good choice of wine. Excellent breakfast and staff very nice

    Two pools. Exterior with lifeguard. Very good in watching children. Very nice person.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Very pleasant, very nice, clean and comfy. We would recommend it to anyone..........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we only had one night there Would have love 2 more.........Excellent

    We enjoyed our stay very much.Very nice staff, very courteous.unfortunetely we did not eat there , but my husband said that eating area was very appealing.Maybe next time..........We'd recommend this place to anyone.........

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel but far from Montreal Downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is located close to the botanical garden and biodome, but very far away from everything else in Montreal so we had to take the subway. It is quite a walk to the subway (about 1 km). They have a driver that can take you to nearby places but the service is on demand, so not always available. The restaurant closes at 10pm and there are not any grocerie stores within walking distance.

    The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Location was a big plus as we walked to mass transit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy. Factory work next door into all night long. Swimmers attending National competition at the Olympic Center were noisy at times

    The location for my trip was perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    3.3
    Didn't clean our room at all, and no explanations at all. Horrible experience.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning service is horrible. It was unbelievable!! When we came back to the hotel 10 o'clock at night, the room was a total mess, the towels and toiletries weren't re supplied or changed at all. The dirty towels were still in the tub. The people at the front desk didn't seem to care at all, gave us 3 free breakfast coupons that worth 10 dollars. They even refuse to tell us the phone number for customer service. The next day, the front desk said that their supervisor will call or email to explain what happen, but nothing came for a whole 2 days.

    Parking is ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Medical Service Dog - extremely stress free environment recommend to all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was glorious

    Absolutely fantastic. Free shuttle and friendly smiling staff anywhere you turned. SD friendly and respectful.... Fantastic breakfast... Perfection

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait 45 minutes for our room to be available. We arrived at 2:30 so we were a bit early. We were told it was because we were upgraded. Also the morning breakfast with the voucher is very expensive (for $13 for anyone over 7 you get either 3 pancakes or eggs, hashbrowns and toast). Even though it includes tax and tip, it wasn't worth it. Especially for a slightly older child who doesn't eat much. Also the outdoor pool wasn't open during the day. Which was a bit weird since daytime temps were around 25C. Instead it would open late afternoon.

    We were put in a renovated room which was very nice. However, there is no enclosed private area to get changed in. The toilet and tub are in a small room together. The sink and mirror are right beside the door to the room. Ok for families or couples but could be awkward for others...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    I would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints

    Beds were comfy. Staff was super friendly. Excellent location. No complaints. We booked 2 nights on booking.com then extended it another day once we were there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.0
    Not very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was fully booked at the time we arrived which was after 11PM. We were given a room on the lower level where it had a hidden door to the parking lot. We were not even told about this door which as we realized the next day was unlocked the whole time. Ended up cancelling our stay there, stayed only one night instead of the 3 originally intended and paid for! The clerk who checked us in was a sweet talker and told us if we don't like the room and decide to cancel we can simply cancel the next and find another hotel. But after we found another hotel, the staff made a big deal the next morning and gave us a hard time about cancelling

    Not much!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa wasn't open for the two days we stayed when the Hours said 10-9 Monday to Sunday and I was looking forward to a spa day at the hotel with my mother in law.

    Great hotel! Great staff! My kids loved the inside and outdoor pool! Room was wonderful! Just overall a amazing and family friendly hotel ! Will for sure come back again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Clean, modern facility, friendly service , free parking, comfy rooms and close to metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 2 comments I have about the room is that the key card did not consistently work for us. The other is that the beds had one heavy comforter over the bed sheet. It was too hot to use the comforter and with only the bed sheet, it could be slightly cold at night if the A/C is not set properly. They did have one lighter fleece blanket in the armoire that we used for one of our beds. I'm not too keen on having a comforter that is used as a bed cover as well given how dirty these covers can be (reversable). I would have preferred a fleece blanket in between the bed sheet and the comforter/cover. Otherwise, the beds were firm and comfortable.

    We stayed 2 nights on August 27th and 28th with friends. We were greeted by a very friendly and talkative front desk staff named Marc. He gave my friend tips on where to dine and which sights we could reasonably see in 2 days. We each had a room with 2 double beds on the main level. Very clean rooms with modern bathroom decor and ample clothing storage and mini fridge and safe. Hotel restaurant prices were tad pricey for breakfast items. A large bowl of oatmeal was $12, but it was pretty good! Crepes and omelettes ranged from $12-15. I had a smoked salmon bagel for breakfast and was shocked at how big the portion was for $12. The toasted bagel came with 1 slab of cream cheese, 2 large and thick slices of smoked salmon, red onion rings, capers, lettuce and tomatoes. I could only eat 1 slice of the smoked salmon and 1/3 of the cream cheese and half the bagel. The other half went to hubby, and we had leftover cream cheese. Dinner choices were ok. Entrees were priced between $12-$25...you could also order a set menu ranging from $25-36 depending on what the main dish was. This included a beverage, main dish and dessert. We dined at St. Hubert one night and the hotel had a shuttle that drove us to the restaurant, which was about 10 blocks away. After dinner, we called the shuttle to pick us up. Lots of restaurants along the street where St. Hubert was but not within walking distance. You would need a car or use the hotel shuttle service. Our hotel was near the Biodome, about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. There's also a movie theatre next to the Biodome. The Metro was also really close, which we hopped on to go down to Old Montreal for the rest of the day. It was about a 20 minute subway ride to/fro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Great spot. I would stay again but not for that price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The price was hugely expensive. There is no way it was worth that much. I believe there was an event in town but I was still surprised.

    The rooms were comfortable. The internet was fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Great price and great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice, clean hotel with free parking and swimming pools for kids. Easy to drive to. Location was far from Old Port, Mount Royal, Notre Dame, ect., but super close (like a five minute walk) to Biodome, Botanical Gardens and Insectarium and also the old 1976 Olympic Stadium.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little too hard go my liking.

    The hotel was exceptionally clean! the facilities were great,(gym and pools) Free onsite parking was a bonus!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    I enjoy the facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast I would have prefer buffet for that money !

    Room size was perfect ,bathroom very good , the little fridge was not defrost close to Metro to get down town , and the hotel sutle bus to take us to the station and to the Olympic stadium was a bonus , I would recommend it for the money I pay it was worth it !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Overall a great stay while vacationing in Montreal. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'd suggest access to tea/coffee somewhere near the main lobby. I've been to hotels where there's a shelf situated in an area where you can go and get coffee/tea for free :) I think most travelers would love this! Free lemon water could be set up at the table by the elevator... the little things that cost little make it a nicer stay..

    The staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean and comfortable! The family enjoyed the sauna and pools. The free parking, wi-fi and close by tourist attractions was definitely A+. The souvenir shop items were priced right compared to shopping in the city. Overall the price was suitable for the services provided at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Clean rooms, and very accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They provided a free shuttle for around the hotel and it was an amazing place to stay. We got passes for the Metro which was also easy to commute by and it came often! Just a heads up though, there is a bus to take you from the airport to the metro where you would pay 13$ instead of 50$ like we did on the way in! They also let us check-in early when our flight was early, at no extra cost!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Had a good stay, thanks to the bartender - Pablo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could have been better. Only had one friendly person, the bartender. Restaurant was OK, but food could be much better.

    Room was big enough for a group of friends to stay comfortably. Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.3
    I enjoy Montreal but the hotel sucked
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -20 min walk to food -Loud -downstairs look like jail -View of the parking lot in are room -Maid never changed the sheets only give new soap and picks up towels off the floor and hangs them up -the gym everything was broken and old -Didn't get the view I was promised

    It was close to the Olympic stadium and the soccer stadium.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    The beds were very comfortable and the shower had good water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late and the only room left was on the lower level/first floor. The room was dimly lit and smelled of mildew. The room needs updating.

    The beds were very comfortable and the shower had good water pressure. It is across from a beautiful park and the Olympic/soccer venue,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Good Location for Biodome and family friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the food to be just ok. There is only one restaurant and not alot of places close by for food other than the restaurant.

    We liked the convenience of being close to the Biodome. We found our room to be well maintained and comfortable. We found the staff to be very helpful and accomodating. Gave us plenty of direction on how to find the attractions close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Universel Montréal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: