Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Banff Aspen Lodge 3 stars

401 Banff Avenue Box 1017, T1L 1A9 Banff, Canada

#13 of 46 hotels in Banff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 675 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were absolutely terrible. They were so hard both my partner and I could not sleep through the night. We actually asked for extra pillows and slept on top of them. For this reason alone we won’t be staying there again.

    The hot tub area was great and the location was awesome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service rendered by a couple of the front-desk staff was not particularly great. They seem not to be aware that not all visitors to Banff are local Canadians or Americans & will therefore ask questions that may appear unnecessary to them. Having said that, there were a couple of the staff who were more patient & helpful.

    Breakfast was good & pretty complete.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary breakfast was $22 per person and there was no way to opt out. The breakfast was not worth that amount of money.

    I liked I’ll the facilities and the hot tub and sauna. Location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather was warm - and I neglected to realize that the property did NOT have air conditioning. This made it less restful during a warmer weather stay. The hotel did provide fans in the room.

    The Location was convenient, a short walk to downtown. The breakfast was very good. The room was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was located between our two queen beds. This wasn’t mentioned on the Booking.com website. No airco in our rooms, therefore quite warm. But they had a fan instead.

    Friendly staff. Clean nice room. Few walking minutes away from town centre. Room price includes breakfast buffet, and this was the best breakfast we ever had in a Canadian hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little small

    The room was clean and comfortable, no noise from outside. Loved the hot tub, the breakfast was awesome, staff were great. Great location, good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink located outside the bathroom was very strange. Also the lack of air conditioning was really rough, we were located right above the entrance and by the street so it was extremely hot in the room. Couldn’t leave the windows up because of the noise. Didn’t sleep well most nights because of the room temperature.

    The breakfast is always phenomenal! Can’t beat it anywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking however was not available some days. I had to go elsewhere to park and walk back to the hotel. This was the only downfall.

    The room was super clean and comfy with a great view.Also lots of space. The heated pools were great also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like finding hair in my breakfast. I also didn't like the fact that the bath couldn't drain because of the amount of hair that was caught in the drain.

    Comfort. Modern Decor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room with Two Twin and Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldn't wait for us to park at the front to put the luggages down. staff came out to say "no park!" Then I said we gonna put some luggages out first since the parking lot was full then she still said "make sure you move your car!" Lol

    The hot tub was awesome. It was kinda snowy when we were in there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy on lower floors from systems like water. I suggest paying for bigger rooms.

    Very friendly staff, free underground parking, nice short walk to town, good vibe...HOT TUBS!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfy enough but starting to show little signs of wear around the edges. Bathroom also looks due for a refurb before too long.

    Perfect location in Banff with the free ski shuttles leaving from hotel next door. Lovely hot tubs for after ski. Good food in the little coffee shop attached to hotel. Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could have had more bathrobes in the rooms, only 2 in our room where there were 4 of us. However I'm sure if we had asked they would have been happy to provide them, we just kept forgetting to ask.

    The outdoor hottubs were big enough not to feel cramped if a few different groups were in there and we all liked the short walk from the main high street. The food at breakfast was excellent, with enough to choose from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could be a lot better since the picture shows a lot more then what you actually get. Someone of the staff at the breakfast place were rude.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Room with Two Twin and Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping was pretty aggressive at getting into our room right after we left for breakfast if we didn't put the do not disturb card up. We were finished with breakfast one morning went back to the room to grab our ski stuff and head out, and had to wait 15 minutes for housekeeping to finish. We were one of the first rooms off of the lobby, but I think some patience in getting the cleaning started would have been appreciated. We were also having trouble with the tv connection and watching the Olympics. The staff tried to come fix it but it still wouldn't work.

    The queen and 2 twin room was perfect for our group. One couple and 2 additional friends. It felt like we had our own rooms and gave us a little bit of privacy. Even though the road and hottub were right outside of our rooms, the rooms were still quiet and we were not disturbed. Hotel is in a GREAT location to walk to town and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on street side was noisy.

    Location was great. Our every need was met. Bus to ski areas next door. Hot tubs were awesome. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eaves in front of our room was leaking. It didn’t bother us too much, but good to fix it.

    Quality of the free breakfast! Size of the room. Easy to access outside jacuzzi. Great value overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was definitely extremely small for the price that we paid. I paid over $200/night and I personally think I would pay just slightly under $200/night for what it's worth. There were also lotion stains on the back of the bathroom door. We were definitely cozy, but I was a bit embarrassed walking into the room since it was a surprise for my partner.

    I loved how close we were to the hot tubs, and how large the hot tub was. It was great. The staff at the front were extremely friendly. The breakfast in the morning was also impressive! I liked how dark our room was, even in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Our room was situated on the 3rd floor - however the noise from the Jacuzzis was very loud! In one instance until the early hours of the morning. We were given a room with 2 queen beds - but each bed was in a separate room. Ideal for 4 guests sharing. We got used to it!!!

    The breakfast was very good and the staff were very pleasant and tried hard to seat you quickly at busy times. The grab and go breakfast - excellent idea! Adjoining café - great for snacks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room with Two Twin and Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a “no alcohol” policy for the hot tub... but it’s not enforced at all. There are large groups of people drinking in it from mid afternoon to close (10pm) almost every night. That kind of atmosphere is not family friendly at all. The staff would have been well aware by the number of beer cans and solo cups in the garbage every morning.

    The rooms with 3 beds were spacious and clean, breakfasts were really good with variety day to day, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room with Two Twin and Queen Bed
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room next to outdoor spa which could get noisy especially at weekend when guests were still using it at 11pm despite it supposedly being closed at 10pm. Should have been enforced by staff.

    Excellent value. Great breakfast, friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, warm rooms despite -28 outside temp

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The closet was too small for our snow gear, boards and suitcases to all fit

    Fantastic location, easy walk into town and close to public transport. All tours and shuttle buses picked up and dropped off from the aspen. Room was clean and warm. The hot tub facilities were also clean and well kept. Wifi had good speed and was reliable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with lots of options.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t say there was anything we didn’t like. Only thing i wish we had a microwave in the room.

    Loved the location. The staff were super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Two Twin and Queen Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tubs outside the door were quite noisy at times until 10pm and we thought the bathroom was quite small with no separate shower.

    The location of the hotel was excellent with ski bus stop close by and easy to walk to town. Great idea to choose to either get your room serviced each day or give donation to charity or gofer voucher! Rooms were comfortable .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricing at times is too high compared to some other hotels in area that have more amenities are newer and higher rated.

    Location, room, breakfast, staff, hot tubs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our suite door was a little difficult to open. They fixed it a little bit but still was a bit stiff to open the lever handle.

    Liked the out door hot tubs. I believe one was salt water and the other was chlorine. The out door fire place was also a bonus. Our room was right outside the hot tub on the main floor, so we were nice a close to the entrance of the hot tubs. Most of the people at the lodge were skiers (us included) so the hot tubs were very popular. Breakfast was really good, lots of variety. Never had a better breakfast at a hotel. Granola was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If anything could be improved: Netflix would be it :) Does anyone still watch regular TV? Alternatively, the option to mirror own device onto TV screen would be appreciated.

    very friendly staff, comfy bed, environmentally conscious, great breakfast, underground heated parking for small cars, great location. Loved the Hot tub, dry sauna, and steam room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Static shocks from toaster, light switches etc. Fridge in room fairly noisy.

    Hot tubs! On site parking. Close to lots of shops and restraunts. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk provided in the room to go with the coffee. Fridge was kind of loud but otherwise everything else was great!

    Room was really clean, nice size. Spas, steam room and saunas were really cool. Reception staff really nice. Complementary breakfast was great. Short walk to heart of banff. Everything was great definately recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad sound insulation. Exacerbated by odd decision to put the bedroom facing the noisy inner courtyard, with the living room at the quiet end of the suite.

    The homemade granola was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all

    Everything about the place amazed us. W have stayed in Banff a lot in different places but this is going to be our place from now on. We are going to bring our children there and make it a usual occurrence. We are also telling all our family and friends about it and highly recommending it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been charged twice for the price of a very expensive room during the holidays and I have sent 2 emails regarding this issue with no response, so I'm hoping they see this and contact me.

    I stayed here before on October by myself and I liked it so much that I decided to stay for Christmas and bring my boyfriend with me. We stayed 2 days at the Premium Queen on the 3rd floor and we really liked it and we enjoyed the hot tubs and breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean, but the first thing we noticed as soon as we walked in was the ratty and worn comforter and throw on the bed which was kind of gross - you don’t want to be reminded of the thousands of people who have slept in that bed before you. I had mentioned in my booking that our stay was a surprise for my husband on our anniversary, so I thought they might do something nice like have us in a quieter part of the hotel, but they didn’t offer any special little touches at all. The room set up was really weird too. It’s a motel style hotel, with our room overlooking the courtyard with the hot tub. Our bed was directly beside the door, the the bathroom divides the suite, with a small sitting room on the other side. It would have been nicer if we didn’t have to lay in bed listening to kids screaming in the pool and other guests stomping past our bedroom door all through the night and early morning. The bed should have been put on the quieter street side.

    Good location, walking distance to downtown Banff. The feee breakfast and indoor parking lot were definitely bonuses.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure you double check the taxes. We couldnt get an extra blanket, staff was not friendly, breakfast was overcrowded and selection lacked (the photos are misleading), parking was packed, long walk to the room in the cold. For the price and no cancellation policy we definitely expected more. Would not stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee overall in Canada isn’t what we used to.

    Although we didn’t try the hot tub, because it was -35°C and we had a cold and didn’t think it was hygienic to use a public tub. The location of the tub was very cosy, hidden in the courtyard. I assume sheltered from wind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was quite small, so quite tricky to manoeuvre with our bulky belongings (baby gear)

    Room was spacious. We travelled with a young Baby and the hotel kindly facilitated us with a late check out time as requested

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater was noisy. You can hear the water draining and toilet flush from the room above (we were on main level). Buzzing sound, again either from the heater (can’t detect where it is coming from.

    Close to restaurants, stores, etc. Heated underground parking. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are quite hard and uncomfortable

    Great pool facilities. On the main road and within walking distance of shops. More options than most free breakfasts.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the room layout a lot. The bed was on one end (accessed by an outdoor walkway that runs along the courtyard and overlooks the outdoor hot tub), then the bathroom in the middle, and the sitting room on the other end (with its own balcony that faced Banff Ave). The bathroom had tub and toilet in its own room, and then there were two separate counters each with its own sink. It was really nice. I enjoyed having a sofa in the room in case you want to read or watch TV not in bed. I think the sofa was also a pull out bed but it was just the two of us so we didn’t need it. The breakfast was also yummy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cons- Underground parking too small, elevator was broken, hotel need some renovation/upgrade.

    Pros- lovely staff, nice hot tubs, best breakfast ever.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located in the main avenue. Room was quiet and spacious. Good quality of breakfast with home-made granola and muffins. The cafe by reception serves great coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was broken but other then that it was fantastic!

    My partner and I go to Banff every year for our anniversary and this year we decided to stay at the Aspen lodge. Was not a mistake, they left a kind letter and chocolate for our anniversary. Each room I believe has a balcony which was amazing to wake up and walk outside to see the glaciers. The front desk agent that checked us in was also very friendly. No complaints at all would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tad expensive, but felt like this is the price range in the area.

    Great place to stay! Good location, a minute walk from the stores and restaurants. Staff super friendly, breakfast was included and there is free parking. Plus the bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast looks as if there are a lot of choices, but they are quite limited. The meat did not taste very good. A bit expensive.

    The room was spacious and modern. Nice hot tubs outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not really clean. The bathroom is smelly (urine) and the shower is disappointing: low waterpressure and lukewarm water.

    Early October 2017 we stayed one night in a Superior room. It is a small room with balcony and queensize bed. The lighting in the room is excellent. The hotel has a very nice coffeeshop end free, very good WiFi everywhere. Breakfastbuffet is good. The hotel has free parking and a laundry room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I wasn't impressed with was the bedding, they used a top sheet over the mattress instead of a fitted sheet, which doesn't exactly secure to the bed very well and touching a hotel mattress while trying to relax isn't the most pleasant of experiences.

    The Economy suite with the queen bed was the cutest little room; perfect for what we needed (1 night stay, 2 people). The hot tub area was beautiful, so nice to sit outside by the fire and relax. Really pleased overall with our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC. It was very hot and the fans provided were mostly useless. It was 28C @ 10.00PM in the room!!!! Even the staff were not happy.

    The separate sleeping areas

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room with Two Twin and Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning. Instead they have stand up fans in the rooms. The temperature in the room was very uncomfortable. It was much too hot and stuffy and the fans were noisy. I barely slept the entire night. I would not recommend this hotel to others if they have issues with noise in their room. For the price that we paid, the room should most definitely had air conditioning. We travelled all through Alberta and this hotel was, by far, the most expensove and least worth the money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost not value for money breakfast was absolutely shocking had better in cheap motels they really need to up their game if they are charging these prices perhaps the position of the hotel goes before it would never recommend to anyone

    Position

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room. Fan provided but not enough to cool room when it was 28 degrees outside. Woke up numerous times sweating (I'm Australian so that's saying something!). This was the only negative though!

    Staff were lovely, super friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. Room was modern and bed was comfortable. Room was small but standard for a hotel room and shower was lovely and large. Breakfast included was awesome! Pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna were added bonuses! Easy parking behind and under hotel and location was awesome, we could walk everywhere in town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is almost the same everyday, meat (sausage or bacon) choice was limited. Fruit sometimes was not fresh. For the room price I paid, way below expectation.

    Stuff was nice, the location is close to downtown.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hours for the hot tubs could have been longer. 10pm close was too early for us.

    The layout of the room. I loved the fact that there were two separate bedrooms and windows to open for fresh air. The rooms were very comfy and well stocked. Also, we left our car and checked our luggage there for the day even though we were checked out, which was an added bonus. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Two Twin and Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The capacity for single lift was not satisfactory.

    Excellent location along the Main Street. We did not use the car at all one day. The room was large and had a balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room and mid summer made for a hot night, windows couldn't be opened as it was ground level and full patio so safety meant doors had to be closed.

    Lodge feel was nice, location was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not have air conditioning. Few hotels in Banff do as weather is normally 39-72 in summer. This summer it has been unusually hot so our room was warm. The room came with two fans. We left slider on balcony open and put fan there to draw in cooler air at night. Our room was on front facing Banff Ave which is main road through town. Traffic noise was a bit loud at times but the mountain views were incredible! Mountains can be seen from front, back and side rooms.

    EXTREMELY CLEAN! Very modern. We had a premium king room. Bed was very comfortable. Excellent free breakfast! Huge buffet with table service. Food varied daily and was delicious. Few hotels in area offer breakfast. The staff was very helpful and polite. The hotel is also home to White Bark, a local favorite coffee shop and bistro. It has a great outdoor patio also to enjoy mountain views. Grocery store around corner and hotel is a short walk to all shops and restaurants. Highly recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey for a basic hotel.

    The breakfast was great with gluten free options available. Comfortable bed. Lovely cafe at the hotel with good coffee and lunch/snack items.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not having air conditioning was awful. Fan cords could not reach outlets so that fresh air could be blown in from sliding door. Left screen open at night to let in as much air as possible and let a few mosquitoes in. Finally cooled of by morning. Leaving curtains open to get air in means people across st could look right in. Breakfast was awful unless you like cereal. Hot things were tasteless. No outlet to plug in laptop by table. Nice decor, but needs a few simple upgrades. Even leaving a couple extension cords that work with 3 prong plugs would help. Also only 1 elevator and very small. big group with lots of luggage ties up for too long.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They were not Cleaning The Room properly. Breakfast was not as good as it is expected.which other similar Hotels are offering.

    only the location was Good of-course ,The City is small ,so it was an easy access to shops,restaurants ,bars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt that the property was overpriced. When I booked the rooms and spoke to them I was told that we got the last two rooms because of high season and the 150th anniversary of Canada. When we arrived there were vacancies on the property. Banff was quite smokey from the nearby fires, so there might have been late cancellations. Perhaps some kind of small refund could have been offered to compensate for the poor air quality.

    The breakfast that was offered was excellent. We also appreciated the extra room provided in the "premium queen" rooms. The staff had the front desk was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place to park my truck. Too high for u/g parking by inches. No A/C and no ventilation. Small room and bathroom 126 Not worth $360.00+

    Continental breakfast was awesome. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room with Two Twin and Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed 2 remotes for the tvs, bathroom wallpaper is not invigorating and energizing!

    Breakfast, service with a smile. Location. The outdoor hot tub uniqueness, balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room with Two Twin and Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no pool - just 2 hot tubs. We couldn't sleep because the room was way too hot without air conditioning

    The location is excellent. The rooms were attractive and clean. The underground parking was convenient. The king size bed and two singles worked well for our family of 4.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Two Twin and Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was too hot in the beginning and we had to unplug the fridge as it was very noisy

    We likes having the extra bed and use of the hot tub. the breakfasts were very nice, lots of choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm no snob but this hotel cost almost $500 per night. Only $200 more and I could have stayed at the Banff Springs Hotel This over priced hotel is no 4 or 5 star hotel. NO Valet parking No Bellhop to assist with luggage No secure parking (outside behind building) NO AIR CONDITIONING. It was the weekend of a heat wave and it was 28 outside. It felt like 45 in the room. They provided a useless fan that shut off on its own after a few hours. Trying to sleep was impossible !!!

    The staff was the Only Asset this expensive over-rated hotel had. If the staff had not been so outstanding. I would have walked out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    my vehicle's antenna hits the basement parking height clearance bar, but not the garage door ceiling; maybe you can get rid of the height clearance bar

    staff was very nice, excellent location in Banff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really hot in the room.. NO AC in the building. It's really noise in he building.. you can ear housekeeping working the morning at 630am.. terrible, terrible hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Musty smell from the shower when we came back to the room due to lack of air circulation. Housekeeping forgot health products, but it was supplied once we had to ask for it. Lack of a/c meant a room that was a little too warm with only way to cool it down being opening windows to a main street.

    Location, friendly staff, room layout.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst the staff is nice and friendly they have some terrible policies in place. Upon arrival we were asked to pay the entire stay, after having paid a one night deposit many months earlier. I asked to check in go to the room with my luggage, and park the car prior to paying the balance - this was denied and I was refused a key to the room until I paid for the entire stay. Secondly, be aware the hotel has no air condition, which means you must open the window to get some fresh air. So far so good, now to the very negative aspect which makes us wonder who runs this town. Every other hour a train rumbles through (near town) and in itself would not be a cause for complaints. But the trains take pleasure in using the sirens so often when rumbling along that sleep becomes impossible. I scratch my head and wonder why such childish, disturbing behavior is allowed. There are better ways to secure road crossings than sounding a loud horn, so I cannot think of any valid reason. If it is to avoid an animal which may cross the track, then the citizens and tourists of this town are paying dearly to save the odd animal. A good night’s sleep is important for an enjoyable day hiking or sightseeing. You will not find this in Banff, sadly so.

    To avoid the noise from the main road we requested a room facing the parking, which we got. No great views but this is not important in this location as you go out to enjoy nature during the entire day. Room is very large and really comfortable with nice and warm lighting. We felt extremely well in this room. The room was cleaned in time every day, excellent. The coffee bar next to the front office sells wonderful coffee, which helps as the coffee served during breakfast is just simple filter coffee. Note: no cappuccinos or espressos are served during breakfast. Internet connection was fine. We enjoyed our stay - with some exceptions mentioned later - which are beyond the control of the hotel, except check-in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is at good location, in walking distance to center of Banff downtown where you can find shops, convinience stores, restaurants. Parking lots are plenty. Breakfast is on average.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found used products and a nail on the bathroom counter.

    The included breakfast was yummy! Everything you needed for a good start to your day. Unique layout of suite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't offer toothbrusher and toothpaste as amenities..eventhough they offered something comparatively unnecessary like Iron..

    Hot tub was beautiful..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely need air conditioning. Our room faced the street (nice view) but the noise was too much to allow an open window. Very nice fan provided, but sometimes you don't want it running all night.

    Breakfast room is the nicest I've experienced in MANY hotels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Underground parking so our vehicle was secure. They had no problem with giving us a late check out time of 1pm and didn't charge additionally for. They allowed us to leave our car there (after check out), so that we could go get married. I liked that the living quarters were separated from the bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is mediocre.

    The location is very convenient. The staff are very helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Our bed was very comfortable. The washing machine and dryer, which are for the use of guests, were good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints .

    Great hotel -beautifully remodelled , beds very comfortable and the bedding and pillows were top notch ! Great location and walking distance to everything !

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: