Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Banff Caribou Lodge and Spa 3 stars

521 Banff Avenue, T1L 1H8 Banff, Canada

#23 of 46 hotels in Banff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1180 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    The room was definitely not worth 265$. It was worth about $100.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was essentially in the basement (cave like) dark decor with one small window looking up at a car park. Only a tiny view view of the sky/weather. The toilet was low/small & the toilet paper holder/rolll was located over the toilet so had to remove tpaoer to use toilet. The TV is the size of our computer screen (small in this day & age. The bathtub had low sides, so no soaking. The heat was electric baseboard - unadjustable / at 80 degrees F on arrival and remained at hat temp despite adgustinhg.

    The bed was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable and I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was really good, staff friendly and helpful,beds comfortable, spa area lovely,location was good just a short walk into banff, and if you didn’t want to walk you have the complimentary buses

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Our three-day stay would have been enjoyable if there had been air conditioning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a three night stay. It was early September, and the weather was in the mid 20s. Our room was very HOT. We were told that there was no air conditioning in the rooms, only heat. This puzzled us, as there was a thermostat/fan wall unit which appeared to be capable of reducing the temperature. The corridors had air-conditioning, so we had to leave the door to our room open, as well as the window, to bring the temperature down to a comfortable level. The bed coverings, duvets, were too warm for such a hot room. We had no scenic view.

    We found this hotel quite pleasant. The hot pool was beautiful, although we did not use it. The onsite restaurant, The Keg, specialized in steaks, served a satisfactory breakfast buffet, but one had the option of closing a menu item.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    The Keg restaurant is located adjacent to the lobby and is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far off from the main shopping area.

    The Keg restaurant is located adjacent to the lobby and is a lovely restaurant. Free tea and coffee in the lobby in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Very clean & comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast unable to meet dietary requirements & unable to access bar for drinks due to restaurant bookings

    Very clean & comfortable. Easily accesible to local transport

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Reasonably comfortable and handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding could have been better. Did not use the spa but seemed ok. There was not a lot we didn’t like

    Very friendly staff. Provided free public transport which was close by. Restaurant on the premise so did not have to go far to eat. Restaurant has quite a range of options and we were able to share a meal as we are not big eaters. Bedding was not that comfortable. Looking old and tired. Staff provided excellent assistance on local attractions and how to get their

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place in Banff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like the rest of Banff, it's relatively expensive - but that's the area.

    Team in the restaurant was very helpful - when I asked if I could borrow some cutlery for a picnic (instead of using plastic throwaways), they very kindly obliged and said Yes. Rooms very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Stylish hotel but overpriced, and the 1600 checkin time for such an expensive hotel is unacceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 1600 check in time is totally ridiculous, especially for an expensive hotel. The hotel staff were unapologetic and didn't recognise that for guests who have endured long flights and journeys to get there, waiting so long to access an expensive room is unacceptable. Nobody cares that it's common practise in Canada - hotels in other countries manage it, so change it up. Hire a bunch of staff between 9-12noon in the morning. It's not rocket science.

    Tastefully decorated and nicely styled hotel with lovely hot pools in the spa area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some cleaning staff made a lot of banging noise with his Hoover in the morning. Did get a bit better once we asked not to kick the hoover around...

    The atmosphere and the 24hr front desk. We had a very late check in but that was no problem. Breakfast was not included but amazing. Better value than some other hotels we encountered during our stay in Rockies. Would happily go there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.0
    Only plus was the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are are very congested. There was no air-condition. Hotel very outdated. We had to keep the windows open and it was like sleeping on road as out room faced the traffic side of road. It was so hard to find plug points. The price was so high with no added facilities like breakfast.

    Only plus was the staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Happy Visitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall, we were pleased. The bedroom was a bit tight for a family of 5, but we were happy to have had a room at the Caribou! No complaints here and we would consider staying here in the future.

    We enjoyed our overnight stay. The staff was friendly and the property was quaint. Dinner was outstanding!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Amazing just stayed for 4 nights fab rooms , fab staff ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing just stayed for 4 nights fab rooms , fab staff , great food , great location . Was able to hire bicycles from hotel in see area at a lot lower rate that downtown. Beautiful Spa called Red Earthquake and lovely Gym , highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Would definitely go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c but window opened

    Good restaurant attached so didn’t have to search for somewhere to eat in an evening. Friendly reception staff, good facilities in room, comfortable bed,very clean room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    2 nights in Banff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds seemed to sink in the middle and mattress walls were weak.

    Great amenities at the hotel including The Keg for room service! Hotel keys could be used for bus service and the hotel rooms/lobby are well decorated giving a lodge/cabin feel. Sizable room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean resort stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food is only meh for the prices. A bit of a walk to downtown but not a big deal if you're moderately active.

    Comfortable, clean resort stay. Nice heated pool with plenty of space in the room. Wifi worked fine. Garage parking and on the bus line into town. Free coffee in the morning!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did not have air conditioning. That is the only negative. Everything else was wonderful!!

    Staff was awesome. Having the KEG on the premises was grand!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice place to stay just very pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed a bigger shower screen to stop the floor from flooding

    Easy walk into town. Great to use the public transport for free as part of the hotels facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    The courtesy of the desk staff and personal greeting on tv.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed on the last night. And I had to hookup the tv.

    The courtesy of the desk staff and personal greeting on tv. Was expecting a continental breakfast too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Closeness to a breakfast and dinner restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom furniture (sink cabinet) was rotted through due to water from the shower. Very small bathroom.

    Closeness to a breakfast and dinner restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    The lodge is located right at the end of the "main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking in the garage is a bit tight.

    The lodge is located right at the end of the "main street" of Banff, making it possible to walk along Banff avenue possible. The lodge is a short drive to some of the popular attractions such as the Banff upper hot springs, Cave and Basin national historic site. Beautiful view looking out from the rooms seeing the mountain range in the distance. Great that elevator gets us from parking garage to rooms directly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced, small superior room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was being renovated when we showed up, which is good because it needs work. The only pool is really a a large hot tub, with tons of chlorine dumped in it. The hotel is on the edge of town, not walking distance. The pictures of property are very deceiving.

    Clean bed to sleep in, in a very small superior room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    A great Banff stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The hotel was easy to find and had plenty of parking with just a short walk to the centre of Banff. Check in was quick and efficient and the bedroom was great, a generous size and clean. The breakfast was a bit over priced for what it was but that wouldn't put us off coming back. A great hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay in Banff , good quality family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was an inner courtyard looking overnight other rooms .

    Good size room , great spa facilities , nice breakfast . Check in swift and efficient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.5
    The room we were allocated on arrival was awful, in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were allocated on arrival was awful, in the basement , very dark and small. We spoke to reception and were upgraded to a lovely room on the third floor, much bigger and brighter, much better!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Great Location for a romantic gate-away in Banff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that I didn't like was finding somebody's else eyelash into the bathroom. I believe the rest was clean though and that this was just missed during the cleaning of the room.

    Our room was really amazing and the location was very convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    A nice weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A microwave in room would be nice. In room coffee is pretty bad (may be due to the coffee maker), but they do have free coffee in lobby in am that is much better. A bit expensive for what you get.

    Nicely decorated hotel in good repair, reasonably sized rooms with comfy beds, adequate facilities - hot pool, steam room, small exercise room. Located at edge of town, so a bit of a walk (or bus ride) to shops and downtown, but much quieter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to stay in Banff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    needs air conditioning. We were provided fans to address the heat.

    Staff were friendly, loved the coffee in lobby in the morning. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice room, nice steam room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process was not good. The check in receptions first gave us electronic room key that didn't work, then after she reset the key, it turns out there was already someone occupied in the room! It turns out she wrote down the WRONG room number and gave us the key to somebody else's room. But the receptionist only apologized briefly as if it was a mild inconvenience. To me that was a grave error.

    Nice room, nice steam room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    A nice base for your visit to Banff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included ($18 for a buffet breakfast in the attached restaurant - The Keg). Uncomfortable pillows

    Nice large room. Secure underground parking. Only a 10 min walk to the main centre of Banff. Relaxing indoor hot pool. Handy guest laundry room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall we had a a great experience at the hotel. It was very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the room was small especially and it was a tight squeeze when there are two suitcases.

    The staff in the hotel were very helpful and the arrangement where you can have your bills consolidated at the hotel was very convenient. The hot pool was a plus and having the facility to rent bicycles made it easy for us to get on bicycles to ride around Banff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    The room we were given was quite small and didn't appear...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size, A/C

    The room we were given was quite small and didn't appear to have A/C. You could only use the thermostat for heat and then there was a fan in the room. For the $240 we paid I was expecting a bit more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    pleasant all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was not informed of roof replacement construction, was not an issue. carpets needs replacing in suite an bit of a face lift to the furniture in suite but other wise IT WAS GREAT.

    excellent front desk staff. lovely foyer , great spa services.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    We’ve stayed here a few times and it’s never disappointed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’ve stayed here a few times and it’s never disappointed, but at the same time it’s not our must-go-to. It’s our “we need something nice, reasonably priced (for Banff) and clean” place. I feel like it could do with a little bit of an upgrade (TV is small and only has basic cable, shower head could be better, bed post anchor had been pulled out of wall, furniture and prints are dated). When doing Banff on the cheap (is that even possible?) without sacrificing cleanliness or convenience, this is our go-to. I also like that they use Rocky Mountain Soap 😁

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Not the best nights sleep I've ever had !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unaware that the hotel was getting a new copper roof so construction started at 8am ended at 6 pm. Fire alarms were going off early in the am because of some water leak. The 'upgraded' room they put us in was sitting at 22degrees when we entered at check in with no air conditioning. The bed was squeaky.. yes squeaky and very uncomfortable.

    We stay at this property whenever we are in Banff and have mostly had a great time. Until now ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was warm and only heat option.

    Really enjoyed our stay. Easily accessible and friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and include a safe. Short walk in to Banff itself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    We loved finding the RED chairs and the hikes to get there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive food that we expected to be fabulous but was no where close. Staff was sweet to us but gave outrageous directions when all we needed to do was cross the street. We are both professionals and really wanted to be away from crowds to just relax and enjoy but staff knew very little to recommend.... which was disappointing. Not really their fault they are probably not used to visitors wanting to SLOW down.

    Walking distance to Pretty much everything was big bonus. Food was okay but we expected much better. It rained continuous so our trip was cut short. This Country is breathe takingly beautiful so bring your cameras!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Definitely Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Great location, close enough to walk to business centre, far enough away to be quiet, great Restaurant The Keg, provide meals to room if requested. Overall the facility is exceptionally clean and inviting. Wish we could have stayed there longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    The room was very clean and the stuff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was only available for warming up (no cool down) so we opened the window so it we could hear the outside noise from other rooms.

    The room was very clean and the stuff was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Will not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms did not have air conditioning (the hallway did?) and were hot and stuffy. The roof was being replaced so it was very loud and workers were outside the room most of the day. There was only a small sheet of paper on a stand informing about the roofers and only a fan in the hot room with a label saying "heat only" and a fan. I would have appreciated that information upon booking so I could have made an informed decision as other hotels had comparative rates.

    The room was nicely decorated and clean. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction outside our window. Roofing which we were not told about prior to booking. Did not get any sleep as was out until 3am then construction started at 6am above our room. It was a nightmare. Didnt get compensated

    the bed was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Great customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating. Pool had too much chlorine.

    Great customer service. Clean facilities. Great location. Good value. Provided a bottle of champagne and a lovely card in our room for our anniversary. Very thoughtful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place, great staff, would do it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a little warm, so we had to open a window at night as the room did not have A/C. However it was fine and I totally understand - especially this time of year in May - that you would not have A/C in the hotel rooms.

    The hotel is exactly as described. It is clean, quiet, a small walk from the center of town, free parking onsite. Staff was wonderful. Totally met our expectations. Would stay here again if traveling to Banff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Ok stay. Have stayed here years ago. Hotel showing its age needs attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were old and uncomfortable. Room was very warm even with the window open.

    Good location on the main street in Banff. Close to shops and lots of restaurants. Free parking. Keg restaurant on site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel - comfortable room - nice room service breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit dark - we did have a loft room so that was part of it.

    Nice hotel - comfortable room - nice room service breakfast - served hot and fresh. Great location easy to get around and nice that they offer the bus pass (which we used). Helpful front desk staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Generally speaking excellent, very satisfied. Only add variety in Buffete breakfast options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would add the possibility of having pancakes and/or waffles in the Buffete breakfast. The price charged for the Buffete, could easily include some more variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Awesome 👏 memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little to complain about

    Front desk Supervisor Rachel was very professional, courteous and helpful. She make us feel welcome and our stay memorable.👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Not what I was expecting or hoping for to say the least.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I begin, without being too harsh... I requested a room with a balcony and great view. Well I got a room with a small window with a view of the hotel I guess you could say... The lady at the desk the night of my arrival was not only rude and aggressive upon arrival but also didn’t seem to care that I didn’t get the room I requested. I was told everything else is booked, though there was vacancy. I should have left then, as it only got worse. The first night it was so hot both my boyfriend and I were uncomfortable all night and couldn’t wait to leave. After a long day you would want to come in cool off, well that wasn’t happening. The room had a small table fan, after we called and complained again they brought up another table fan that was loud and pretty near broke. The second night was no better, it was just as hot and uncomfortable. I wouldn’t recommend a friend to go, yeah it’s a bit cheaper and that’s why!!

    It’s in the middle of Banff along with most other hotels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    The damage deposit demand was not a great start to our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They demanded that we pay a $ 50 per night damage deposit upon check-in . We have never been asked for that in Banff ever before in other hotels! My husband was not impressed with that!

    They delivered our champagne glasses to our room on time so we could drink a special bottle we brought with us and also wished us a Happy Annivers.ary with a bottle of wine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.6
    Mediocre at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bedside table on one side of the bed. The carpet and furniture was not very clean. It was noisy from the hallways in the mornings and from construction right outside the windows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Location is good, restaurant on site, food was great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few issues with the room, first the sink in the master bathroom took forever to drain and had no hot water, second the shower head in the master bath sprayed everywhere, some of the towels look dirty. There was only one coffee cup with the coffee maker.

    Location is good, restaurant on site, food was great !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved a room 3 months ago for four nights. When we checked in they assigned us room #239. This room in right off the lobby and the window is right above the entry. When we walked into the room it smelled of bus fumes and was noisy. I was told they had no other room to move us to unless we upgraded to a suite for an extra $50.00 per night! Ultimately we did upgrade:(, the suite was lovely albeit a bit worn out looking. The tv’s got very, very poor reception (we could only get two channels in the bedroom). If you’re going to stay at this Inn I would note you do not want a room on the second floor.

    Location-within walking distance to all restaurants, shops etc. Free parking. The staff was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent property offering good services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Breakfast should be a part of the booking and the prices can be adjusted accordingly. Housekeeping can be a bit better.

    The Hot Pool is a winner after a long tiring day out in the cold

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Meh, could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garbage was still full of previous guests items. Washroom did not appear to have been cleaned very well as there was hair everywhere.

    Convenient location with parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    glad our children changed their minds, would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very hot room (26 degrees) fan first night, changed room day 2. breakfast poor quality, better to walk into town. weekend attracts hen and stag parties, very noisy at 2.45 am

    leaving

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok stay. Have stayed here years ago. Hotel showing its age needs attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed. Very hot in the room even with heat turned off and the window open.

    Good location in downtown Banff. Good restaurant in the hotel. Quiet at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    All in all our stay was pretty good! Will be back to Banff for sure, the weather was beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from hallway was really LOUD, room coffee was ok not great, WIFI was really slow!

    Loved that The Keg was in hotel! Our meals at The Keg were terrific! Liked free underground parking this was a definite plus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Parking shortage!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking shortage!!!---I would expect at least one parking stall to be included with each room, (assigned if possible to ensure that you get one!!) and this was not the case. It was first come first serve for a lesser number of spots underground -- and if you moved your car or went out in the evening you lost your spot altogether---and had to park 3 blocks away on the street if you could even find a spot. Not very convenient with a family along. Also, the spots were tiny and difficult to get into. As a result, I will not stay here again---too much of a hassle to park, and had to plan our schedule around parking----negatively impacted our trip!!!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.6
    I am not too impressed with my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Multiple things. [1]The elevators were horrible. [2]The pool is not properly monitored. People were literally roaming around in their towel in the hallways between rooms drinking alcohol.[3]Room's ok.

    I like the fact that the hotel is right in Banff town and not too far off. Walkable distance to the Main Avenue.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    It was pleasurable and the massages at the Spa are highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot pools need a really good clean, as does the area around them. The room was very small with a slanted ceiling on both sides making it difficult to maneuver. The rooms need some TLC and a good scrubbing. Dusting wouldn't hurt either.

    We had massages at the Spa. They were amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Love staying at the banff caribou lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We always love staying at the caribou mountain lodge, its so relaxing to take some time in the hot tub, pool at the end of the day. The beds are really comfy, the rooms are always clean and the staff is always very accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    This is a great place to stay in Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t get a good view. I think you have to request one.

    The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. The free bus pass made my stay much easier and more enjoyable. I tried the steam room and hot pool and they were very relaxing.There were deer on the front lawn one day when I walked back from town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Everything and more than we expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A variation of what's on offer at the buffet breakfast would be good, like different types of eggs. The hot food (bacon, sausages, eggs benedict) weren't very warm despite being kept under cover.

    The free Roamer pass was very useful to get out&about Banff. We also appreciated the free entries to the Whyte museum and the Hot Springs. The arrangement with Ultimate rental where they drop your equipment off at the hotel and collect from there at the end of the stay makes the whole rental process so much easier. The buses to the ski resorts leave from right outside the hotel front door, you couldn't make it any easier!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Awesome stay just wish there was “warm pool” and a normal swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t know the pool was a hot tub. The picture online looked like the pool was bigger than it actually was and it was described as being warm not hot.

    The room style and the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    The hot pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room location was not that standard we are used to and the light was burnt outside our door for most of our stay.the staff was not as friendly and helpful as in past stays

    The hot pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    It was ok for price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is a hot tub; it is too hot, excessive amount of chlorine makes it hard to stay more than 5 min, showers in the pool area do not work properly.

    I liked the overall decor style

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were extremely uncomfortable! Blood stains on sheets and pillow. Swimming pool left eyes burning within a few minutes and a terrible smell on our skin and bathing suits. Wifi was brutally slow!

    Staff were friendly. It was nice to have the Keg right on premises.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Great room for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of hallway noise! They need insulation around the room doors to block the noise.. Inside room so our view was of a small courtyard. The hotel is located a little ways from the core but busses stop outside the hotel...or the walk is great exercise!

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable especially for the price!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.0
    Wifi was horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was horrible!! It had the worst connection out of all the hotels we stayed at. The warm pool was too crowded as well as the Clorine was too strong and hurt the eyes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    The price was right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms and they were not on the same floor. It appears that they had been but one room was switched (crossed out and written in with pen). It was really inconvenient to be separated from our foreign family members.

    The price was right.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Small walk from town, Keg was great, nice and quiet with a great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was way too hot - had to leave the window open at night to cool it down - extremely uncomfortable to sleep. Clock wasn’t set ahead with daylight savings, fridge right beside the bed isn’t condusive for ease of sleeping (constantly running), felt awkward to use the pool when spa guests came into the pool area and gave us a dirty look.

    The room was good - toilet was in an awkward position though. Great view of the mountain

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have had a complimentary continental breakfast option. The chlorine is very high in the hot tub, limited our time to be in it.

    Clean, comfortable, friendly and helpful staff. Nice and large hot tub. Wonderful buffet breakfast in The Keg Restaurant in the building. Underground parkade is a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee makers heating element was filthy black,the parking stall was so dirty you couldn't put your luggage on the cement,would liked to have more light shine onto the bathroom mirror, would've liked 2 luggage racks instead of just one,didn't like the sloped cement v-shaped ceiling that you had to watch not to bang your head on all the time that took up a lot of room,would've liked the toilet paper roll to be in the front of the counter and not behind the bathroom door,didn't like how noisy the housekeepers were with slamming doors and yelling when trying to sleep,

    Loved the huge bed with lots of pillows,loved the pool,liked having a mini fridge,liked having wall hooks for hanging your clothes,liked having extra chairs and table,loved having underground parking,loved having elevators,loved having ice and drink machine on every floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    A nice little weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our coffee mugs and ice bucket were not clean when we wanted to use them, so we had to wash them.

    There was a gorgeous view of the mountains outside our window and the room felt spacious for our needs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    Okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff couldn’t get the move rental to work on the tv. Somebody’s hairs were between the bed sheets of one of the beds (maybe just a one off).

    Fireplace in the lobby, underground parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    All your needs catered for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Courtyard view (not very exciting but then it allows to keep the price down). A small limited breakfast to be included in the room price would be great

    Did appreciate the fact that coffee was made available to guests every morning, free of charge, thanks to The Keg restaurant (I think...) Even though, coffee is generally poor in North America, it was a nice gesture and well appreciated! Bus pick up to lake Louise or Sunshine available and very well organized. Perfect for skiers. Free Roaming bus to go downtown or to explore. Very helpful staff. Laundry facilities. Spa Pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: