Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3 stars

337 Banff Avenue, T1L 1H8 Banff, Canada

#33 of 46 hotels in Banff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 709 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Honeymoon/Birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was amazing, close to Banff shops and restaurants. Great helpful staff. The room and balcony we had was perfect so beautiful and great views, most definitely go back next time we visit Canada.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect as it was only a short distance to all the shops. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We'd stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Adequate without a hassle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chief for egg choices nice touch, but food offered on buffet mediocre at best.. No fresh fruit, no assortment of pastries, an poor choice of meats and no cheeses. This is not a $250/ night offering..

    Not much stands out as a luxury hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Best asset.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Top notch full service quality hotel right in the heart of downtown Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the room too dark. Bedside lighting was focused but inadequate to light the room. Wall sconces seemed more for decoration. A/C seemed to consist of an open window and a plug-in floor fan.

    Check in as easy; underground parking with easy access to hotel; large, comfortable room; excellent hot/cold breakfast; Keurig coffee in room; in-house restaurant and bar; on the main shopping/restaurant street,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay and might go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Going to the lower garage is rather sketchy.

    The location was perfect. You can use the public bus to visit many of the places in Banff at no charge by using the room key. The staff were helpful and the omelet made to order is a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    We would definitely stay here again, wonderful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi and steam room were not hot enough but the sauna was nice.

    Perfect location, park your car in their garage and walk all over Banff. They also provide you with a pass to ride public transportation if you wish.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    The restaurant was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was fabulous. Ate a number of meals there.Location really good for pickups for gondola chair lift and also tours.staff really friendly breakfast good choice. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.0
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the room was too high, the room was too warm and no air conditioning. Took forever to get hot water.

    The big comfy bed, the convenient location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel contributed to an enjoyabe short stop at Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of noise from other travellers in the hall way.

    There were no issues with check in. Parking was convenient, The room was a good size, comfortable and clean. Wi fi worked easily. The buffet breakfast made for an easy enjoyable start to the day. The hotel was an easy walk to shops, restaurants and art galleries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    It was extremely warm, no air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely warm, no air conditioning. Staff said they would come and check things out, they never came to see if the room ever cooled off. They didn’t seem to care. The cost of the room was not what we saw on Booking.com

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Solid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't realize our room would not have a window, but whatevz.

    The included breakfast was great. The room was nice, comfy, clean. Staff was great. And location was top notch. Great spot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    2.5
    Room was well decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to thank booking.com for charging me for a more expensive room than the hotel gave me. I love throwing away money. Hotel staff called booking.com and even though I paid for an upgraded room there was nothing that the hotel would do. Deleting app off phone.

    Room was well decorated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    AC would be nice to have in the room, when we arrived the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC would be nice to have in the room, when we arrived the temperature in the room was 27.5c! Even with the fan on and window open the temperature only dropped one degree making it very hard to sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Our only complaint is the rooms do not have air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Our only complaint is the rooms do not have air conditioning. This is a necessity. Our room was very hot and sleeping was uncomfortable. Hard to imagine that in a tourist Mecca, like Banff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Close, clean, and cute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have very bright lighting. The bathroom, although nice wasn't very spacious especially counter space.

    The room was very clean. The proximity to the downtown core was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Well placed hotel in Banff with good amenities. Could do better for gluten free!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chef in restaurant when we arrived in evening was fed up with my requests regarding gluten and dairy in their meals. As kitchen is on show it made me feel very uncomfortable so we didn't eat there again. The waitress did her best to get info. I don't expect to be able to have a big choice of food but just require the information so I am not ill. Better for breakfast, I was supplied with gluten free bread on request and omelettes were great but I've had better experiences in hotels with kitchens just as busy. Usually a little basket of gluten free choices, cereal, muffin etc. Poor as it advertises itself as gluten free friendly.

    On the whole very pleasant staff. Rooms had everything needed for a comfortable stay. Great location. Free use of Roma bus was an excellent idea even though even though we had a car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Will definitely be booking another night in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting wasn’t the greatest but I mean it made the room romantic so not all bad.

    I was given a Complimentary bottle of wine and a card! because I mentioned it was my partners 21st! Was extremely happy with that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful location and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful location and staff! Breakfast was very good every day. The location was perfect, right next to downtown. We were able to walk everywhere in town. Our room was lovely. View was awesome. We had a great time1

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Had a very pleasant stay. Enjoyed the breakfast and the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the view which was looking into another hotel room across the way.

    Enjoyed the location of the hotel. Just a block away from shopping and convenient to many restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    The bed was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was fantastic..best two nights sleep in a long time. Bartenders were super friendly and efficient. Also..we drive an oversized truck and they were VERY accommodating to that! Will absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    The hotel seems like it is nice but it appears they are struggling to get staff who care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast staff seemed not so much into their tasks. Seemed to be distant and not concerned during the buffet breakfast. Took a long time to get one of them to pay attention when we required service. Very laid back in appearance and attitude.

    Front desk staff were attentive and accommodating. Location is awesome and rooms were clean. Enjoyed a pretty sweet deal on price for our one night stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Little getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways leading into parking and lobby. The tiles and grout looks so outdated.

    Most of the people in the hotel were helpful and friendly except for the evening check in young man. He barely greeted people. He looked like he doesn't want to be there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    I have stayed in far more expensive hotels that were not nearly as nice as this one. Very impressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was impressive and exceeded my expectations. The breakfast was a full hot breakfast with quality food and an omelet bar, not just a cheap continental breakfast with muffins and oatmeal. The room was very well appointed, with higher standard bathroom fixtures & tile. In short, the hotel far exceeded my expectations. Excellent value for the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.4
    I have paid way less for way more in Banff. Paid extra for a good view, got the worst view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid extra for a Superior Mountain View room and got a room on the first floor facing the parking lot and another tall building. If I cocked my head to the side and looked way out in the distance I could make out a peak of a mountain. Not impressed. There was also insufficient parking for everyone so I had to park on the side of the road and wake up early to move it so it wouldn't get ticketed.

    The soaps in the bathroom were incredible. The location of the hotel was ideal for walking around Banff, which is what we needed to do to get the views we paid for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable - glad we visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought we were getting 2 queen beds and instead had 1 queen and 2 twins. Poor view, however, we didn't spend much time in our room.

    They used the local soap company's soap in the bathroom. Very nice touch. Liked the reading lights above the bed and the easy access to USB ports. Fresh omelets for breakfast from a very friendly chef.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Wished we could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so cozy and inviting. Very comfortable beds with the best pillows I have ever slept on! Loved the exposed beams in the vaulted ceiling! Having a Keurig machine for a special coffee in the morning was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    We chose this hotel for the location (in the downtown area),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing at all.

    We chose this hotel for the location (in the downtown area), the excellent breakfast and the updated room. All three criteria were met and exceeded. Our room was beautiful with great beds and all the amenities you would need. Housekeeping were great! The breakfast is fantastic as you can quickly grab a bite and go or take your time. It would be nicer if it opened before 7 though....but not a big issue. A real bonus was the free ski locker usage which included a lock! All staff were always pleasant to deal with and provided great customer service. Would definitely stay there in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    The staff were all so very nice and accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the morning we could hear the dinning room below us. There was a balcony in the hall across our room that overlooked the restaurant and since we weren't early risers we weren't happy to be awoken by those who were.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    didn't like the potatoes in the breakfast buffet

    pillows were good bacon was nice in breakfast buffet awesome that they provided gluten free toast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    awesome 🤩🤩🤩
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the tub is too low and the clearance for the parking lot is too low. we sratch the back of our car because there is a lot of stuff lying around the parking lot area.

    the bathroom looks super nice except the tub is too low. room is clean and very warm. the area where ptarmigan inn is really perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    Good except for the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was horrible: limited choices, long wait for cleaning dirty tables, staff not paying attention, completely unprofessional and disorganized, overall - worst breakfast experience ever!

    Location, price, parking extended hours, quiet room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    We were very pleased with the room, the breakfast was great and staff was attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was friendly and helpful ( front desk and breakfast staff). As we were on our way to the elevator, we passed a housekeeping staff member entering another room. We asked if they could fill our shampoo and conditioner containers in the room as they were empty. When we returned to our room several hours later, both containers had been filled.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Location, newly refurbished rooms, great receptionist and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were putting up door stickers in the newly renovated rooms on my building during my stay. It was a little bit troublesome since they asked us to open the door for quite some time for them to be able to do so. It took almost 20 mins when they said it was only going to be 5-10 mins max for the time needed for the work to be done.

    Location, newly refurbished rooms, great receptionist and staffs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    This was our third visit to hotel. Will choose this hotel again if we visit Banff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurant only open on weekend. So bar little crowded for evening meal Monday-Thursday.

    Room spacious and comfortable. Hotel within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Visited in winter so beautiful scenery .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    We thorough enjoyed our stay at the Ptarmigan and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was OK, buffet was limited and only eggs on offer were omelettes, after 2 days we discovered however that you could have your eggs fried you only had to ask, a menu on the table on what was on offer would have been good.

    Fantastic room, comfy bed, very quite at night so a good nights sleep and a fab bathroom, all that with the best location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.3
    It was good a little bit of problem about cleanliness but overall its fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee maker or coffee brewer dirty theirs a black stain in the water refill.and the coffee mug in the breakfast area when i open it.it has a mark of coffee that maybe never wash properly i didnt complain because im in a hurry.sorry to say this but i hope this will help you to improve more specially in cleanliness because its very important.

    the bed is comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Good central location woith very friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking garage is very low and ski rack on my car almost touched the roof, so need to be very careful when driving in the parkade. Basic breakfast

    The location was brilliant and the Lobby bar is very cozy for a beer or two after skiing. The staff was very helpful and the heated parking garage was good to have in the cold weather we had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Very good otherwise. Fantastic look
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door on 238 was weird. Sometimes it would just be open to the push no key needed. And the room was bad if you want to sleep in because you were right above the restaurant so it was loud in the morning.

    The beds were very comfy especially after a long day at the hill and after the bars.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice clean comfortable. But not over the top with extra amenities
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The like warm (vs hot) tub One staff member in the restaraunt could have been more accommodating. Putting us off for 20 minutes when the restaraunt was a quarter full encouraged us to take our business next door.

    Very close to restaraunt, bars and shopping Very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was a fire place in the lobby. The breakfast was not too tasty.

    Everyone was friendly, free parking in the garage was awesome and you can’t beat the location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected to get a good sleep but since our room opened onto a “patio” in the lobby we were woken up by how extremely loud it was. We could clearly hear conversations of people having breakfast. Any stay in the future I would have to guarantee to be far from there

    Beds were great, staff was awesome

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel. Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was super hot. No a/c. 25 degrees in the room. No window. Room faced into a courtyard which was under construction so we couldn’t open the patio door for fresh air. Allergies and asthma.

    Very comfortable beds. Good proximity to all amenities. Tasteful decor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Beds were comfy, close to downtown and shopping. Wouldn't stay any further down the main drag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessing the parking lot from the building was a hassle. Because of renos, we had to walk all the way around the next hotel around the street.

    Super close to downtown. Really easy to walk to dinner reservations. The walk home was always no more than 5 minutes (which in -36 you appreciate). Room has a keurig with pods and water kettle. Lots of space for storing outdoor clothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice Hotel in a very good location, with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Garage was a bit tight and the ski rack almost touched the roof. My car is a mid size SUV (Audi Q5)

    Nice Hotel in a good location in Banff. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    I would likely stay here again if I were to travel to Banff for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were super comfy, pillows were comfy. Rooms were good sized. The sofa beds were new and totally comfy (a first!!!). Breakfast was included and was very good - omelette station, fresh fruit, good coffee. The staff were very helpful & friendly. Because it was New Years Eve & because we had to book months in advance due to size of our party, we may have overpaid given the excessive number of vacancies - likely due to the extremely cold winter weather. The location was great - we could walk to restaurants & shops without calling cabs or trying to find precious parking in the shopping area. The hotel is old, but the room was renovated & the public areas are currently undergoing renovations as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    I would like more options on beds rather than just one king.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like more options on beds rather than just one king. I'd rather have two queens. Its impossible for more than a couple to stay without having someone sleeping on a pullout couch. Also there could be more breakfast items. It was lacking from the first time we were there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    Good Stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -The breakfast, just terrible, the worst one in all my travels, absolutely no choice of anything, and the bland taste. Dirty dishes as well. The cook was able to mess up even the omelette :/ -There is no air conditioner and the air in the room was very-very dry, so the skin will suffer, so we slept with open balcony. -The staff seems to be unmotivated and for some things you had to ask repetitively every day

    Booked a king room with mountain view - Great room (very spacious) - Great beds (sleep was amazing) - Fireplace is great addition - Loved the shower facilities with warmed up floor - Really nice view and close location - Gave us a gift for our special occasion!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Stayed in king mountain view room which was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in king mountain view room which was wonderful. However it was situated right next to stairway exit. We heard people coming and going all night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    The bed and accommodations were really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was by the stairs and on the first floor so it was pretty loud. Walls are thin.

    The bed and accommodations were really nice. Great breakfast that is included with a delicious omelette station. Great location...walking distance from good restaurants and ski rental shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Proximity to downtown Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction on the first floor. 1 elevator during the day time hours.

    Proximity to downtown Banff. Everything was in walking distance. Newly renovated rooms. The breakfast in the not ing was really good. Each day was something a little different.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy between sofa bed area and master suite area. Bathroom on the smaller side. Lighting level is very low in master suite area.

    Parking Good storage in room Ski equipment storage area in garage. Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included but there were not enough tables in the restaurant. Had to sit in the bar. No coffee available, food was subpar. Requested pet friendly room and it was not set up for us when we arrived. Parkade will only accommodate small vehicles

    Great location! Clean room and comfy beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    Not a comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was so hot that we had to play musical windows to keep the room tolerable. NO air conditioning so heat only in the room. Without open windows the room was 27 degrees. we would open the window (40 below outside) and after two hours the room would be a more tolerable 22. I am not a fan of waking up with a sheen of sweat in the mountain parks. The room was well laid out with a nice bed (king size) and pleasant washoom (shower and separate bath). Breakfast buffet was mediocre. The scrambled eggs were so salty neither of us could eat them. Only sausages (labeled not gluten free) were available for meat, which was unfortunate as my partner is gluten intolerant. Coffee was a bit burnt tasting (closer to the "joe" category of coffee if you take my meaning). Had an omlette after the scrambled eggs debacle, made which was nicely made to order. Overall we will try elsewhere next time.

    Good location just off of the main downtown core. Parking was free and located inside (very important when windchill is -40)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice and giant King size bed with a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No divider between the sitting room and bedroom. The jacuzzi tub had too much cholrine and the work out equipment was subpar.

    The omelettes were the best I've ever had.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark and cold,not inviting at all. Probably a smoking room in previous life. Nice view of dirty linen carts. Had a pet and only thing in room was dirty doggy bed. Streets very slippery for crossing on foot, saw many a poor soles fall.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Great price for an amazing night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was to the inside unfortunately. But we spent most of our time touring arounf Banff and exploring as much as we could.

    Very well maintained. Clean. Organized. The staff were very professional and personable. Would recommend to everyone

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    I would pick this hotel over any other at a certain price point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inside room was a bit noisy.

    The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was really nice, especially the fresh cooked 3 eggs vegetarian omelette. The hostess Solange was the happy go lucky personality and very friendly. Really made the time at Breakfast fun.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the money compared to other accommodations in Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if they say there is parking you may not get a spot. The rooms are small and there isn't fitted sheets on the beds, just a top sheet messily tucked in. Bathroom cleanliness was lacking. Also loud as some rooms back onto an indoor atrium.

    Location is great, staff was very nice and tried there best with what they we're given.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the room next to the Ice Machine and it was impossible to sleep, it might as well have been inside of the bedroom it was so loud.

    Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    Feiendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was dim so I turned on ALL the lights.

    Feiendly staff. Great location. The room was nicely layed out and updated including the bathrooms. Overall a great stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear everything. We were right by the elevator and people were so loud in the hallway in the morning. You could hear their whole conversation

    Nice big bed and they gave us a free upgrade

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Comfort and style in the centre of Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and relaxed atmosphere, well located in the Main Street and close to everything, breakfast was very good. We highly recommend the view rooms at the front of the hotel with spacious living and bath rooms as well as a fire place, table and chairs. The staff were most hospitable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    The bed was really comfy and window coverings kept it nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't keen on the toiletries. There are two very important things you do in a hotel room - sleep and shower. The shampoo and conditioner leave something to be desired and could be vastly improved for the price you pay per night! The bathroom sink and vanity are also super tiny!

    The bed was really comfy and window coverings kept it nice and dark in the morning. I liked the upgraded decor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Included breakfast, new furniture, clealiness, walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Falling toilet paper and facecloth holders, food overcooked, pizza, pasta sauce, no one picking up pizza box for 3 days

    Included breakfast, new furniture, clealiness, walking distance on main street, acceptance of dogs, friendly staff, small healthy soaps, restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The underground car park has a very low clearance of 6 feet, we could not drive our truck far enough to gain a parking space without damaging the roof. there were other people in car park in smaller vehicles that could not park because of tight turning.

    Breakfast was excellent. Bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    Hotel was clean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have warned us parkade has extremely low ceiling. Trucks and SUVs scraping roof. No room to maniver as tight spaces and at the time items from recent renos left in parkade and in the way. Ended up breaking tail light traing to back out of tight spot and hotel staff was less than apologetic about forgetting to warn us anout tight space and low ceiling. Another staff said it is common problem and damage could have been worse.

    Hotel was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    I would definitely recommend the Ptarmigan Inn for comfort, location and the on-site restaurant.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quite large, but it was odd that the bathroom lacked counter space. There was sufficient shelving, but an extra table (or more counter surface) would make it easier during morning and night routines :)

    The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were as well. The room was a nice size and had plenty of space (drawers and closet area) to put clothes away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    Okay But did not sleep well Noise at the elevator went till 2;30 AM
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got the room directly across from the elevator..We checked in early so there should of been lots of rooms available. It was beyond noisy

    Nice location Good Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Too busy but good location to leave car parked and walk everywhere !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very busy with tourists and most of them came on buses . They were very loud they stood in the hallways talking loud at all hours of the night.

    We ate 3 meals in the restaurant and all times the food and service were great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    This property was in a great location near all the shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dark decor of the basement dining room and the steps were a challenge to negotiate with hot food or drinks.

    This property was in a great location near all the shops and restaurants. Our room was comfortable but I failed to notice the 2nd blind so I endured a night that was bright. The breakfast team were a great crew as was Sophie on the front desk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    We really enjoyed our stay at the Ptarmagin Hotel - great location and accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way breakfast is set up for self service with the large round serving dishes . The food was packed into it including the mini pancakes . The croissants were baked a bit anemic and only margarine portions were available no butter.

    We had a king suite for our stay and it was a lovely room and a very comfortable bed ! The bathroom was high end and had all the amenities there was also a small living room to watch tv. The location was perfect for getting around the town of Banff ! The breakfast was self serve but there was also an omelet / eggs service where it was cooked to order. Overall a nice stay for our 20th wedding anniversary .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    Great place to stay, if you don't mind sleeping in your own sweat?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No A/C and very little ventilation. First night was miserable for my wife! The temp was mid 80s and the room was stifling when we arrived. They supplied a small fan and we used it to pull in the night air. By morning it was approaching tolerable. When we walked into the hallway, it was very cool. Apparently they do a much better job of providing air movement to the halls than the rooms.

    Close to downtown Banff, Comfortable bed, clean room, easy indoor parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    2.5
    Not a positive experience- quite disapointed and need to be contacted about what happened.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think anyone going to book the Ptarmigan though booking. Com should know that what looks like a firm booking may not be so. I want booking. com to phone me to talk about this experience after Sept 17 th.

    How would I know - when we arrived we found our booking had been completely changed without telling us and we were in a completely different hotell further out of town. Our rooms booked in feb for sept wete given to a larger party despite having a notice about our booking a few days before we travelled saying nothing about these changes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Beds gorgeous.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds gorgeous... room was really hot and temp could not be adjusted Food in restaurant not so good. Staff friendly /helpful . location fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    I was disappointed.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv wasn't working there was zero hot water to have a bath or shower was completely overcrowded with very loud people that had their doors open and running around the whole time and I had read on the pamphlet that there would be dog bowls and treats and a toy and a bed and it had none of that. I had to go ask the desk for a dog bed. The room was so far away from the parking lot and I had to drag all my luggage and my dog with all his things so far it took 3 trips to get everything into the room. I had originally picked to stay in the cheapest room available because I was just stopping for the night after driving across Canada and I was upcharged to a more expensive room because there were no pet friendly rooms at that price and then charged again for a pet deposit. So my 280$ overnight turned into 405$ for less then 12 hours.

    The big bed

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: