Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Austrian Chalet 3 stars

462 South Island Highway, V9W 1A5 Campbell River, Canada

#14 of 20 hotels in Campbell River

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 357 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    2.5
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff has no considerations I have little kids then she gave my reservations to others.rude and mean,cannot talk nicely,July 12,2018 at around 6-7pm.dont answer the phone,not checking voicemail and emails.

    Staff values!

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean and good size comfortable bed, breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with aircon but who new it would be a heatwave .

    Clean and good size comfortable bed, breakfast was nice. Friendly helpful staff. Nice to have a deer appear in the gardens .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Overnight stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head wasn't adjustable and just sprayed high to the back of the shower. My small grandson mostly just had the shower hit at his head. Not a great shower.

    The pool was nice size and the mini golf and table tennis was perfect if you have kids.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Great place to stay, wish I could have stayed longer.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shrubbery blocked the view of the water, there was no door on the freezing unit in the refrigerator, did not feel comfortable to open a window for fresh air being on the ground level.

    The breakfast was a 12. The sleeping area separate from the sitting area. TV's in both areas. Ease in heating the room. Very quiet and very receptive and friendly for pets. Staff was vey friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    We needed information about how to get from point A to point...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed information about how to get from point A to point B. We hadn't expected to stay there, and were without transportation. A very nice reception clerk came to our aid, and found out a very reasonable way for us to to travel. It was very much appreciated! She was helpful and good humored. Also, the breakfast lady was very nice, with fresh pastries and friendly service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great location and affordable rate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked that the lady at front desk accommodated us even though our booking hadn't gone through with Booking.com. We got an upgrade at no extra cost that we were very satisfied with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Not the best hotel of our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older hotel. Our room wasn’t very clean. We found multiple dark hairs in one of our beds. Room wasn’t vacuumed properly, and we saw a spider web in a corner.

    Nice location. Friendly frontdesk guy and breakfast lady. Breakfast is basic but good. There’s a pub / restarant onsite (we think mainly visited by locals). For other restaurants you need a car to get there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Easy access to facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loft Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower controls poor. Difficult to adjust to comfortable temperature . Beds in a loft so warm for sleeping. No temperature control on bed area

    Easy access to facility. Good hit breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    See you soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t ask for more really.

    Staff was super friendly, room and view were syellar, the hot tub was so relaxing, housekeeping checked on me three times to make sure I has everything I needed and the breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    We liked the cathedral ceiling and the fresh sea air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the exterior windows were very dirty and the wood panelling in the patio spoilt any view. The motel must have been repainted. It did not look as good as on the listing. The wooden railings on the balcony needed to be replaced due to wood rot.

    We liked the cathedral ceiling and the fresh sea air.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    2.5
    Awful. Absolutely disgusting.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was the dirtiest hotel room I have ever been in, I traveled for surgery and needed a clean place to stay and this hotel was the complete opposite. There was cum on the headboard, curtain and sheets along with a dirty pair of socks on the floor, a used toothpick, moody food and a receipt from the day before I even checked in. Absolutely disgusting you couldn't pay me to stay at this place again.

    The only good thing I have to say about this place is the women at the front desk was very kind and felt terrible or room was so disgusting

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Friendly helpful front desk staff
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of small items had not been cleaned, bedside tables hadn’t been wiped(sticky ring marks and ice bucket wad dirty, maybe pop residue?)

    Excellent shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    Unfortunately will probably look at other options next year when we travel to Campbell River.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not ready on time. The breakfast was only available until 9 on the weekend even though it was stated in the room as being opened until 10. 9 is too early on the weekend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    We needed a cheap, convenient place to stay, and this did the trick.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pulled out the extra pillow and it was stained... not cool.

    My reservation was "lost" through booking.com but they held me a room anyway. The staff was helpful. Not impressed that I personally had to plug in all the electronics, fridge, coffee maker, etc... this meant getting behind a dresser to do it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    3.8
    would not stay again, and would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The minature golf and grass area was just off of our room. MANY UNWATCHED CHILDREN played in front of our rooms. Unable to rest in afternoon. Parents had bonfire outside our room until late. Room was no clean, and they failed to freshen up our room on Saturday morning. We had to clean/freshen room, and not even fresh towels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    Very adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More variety of hot breakfast, more variety of muffins would be nice, especially when we stayed 6 days. We were on the end unit and kept running out of hot water in the morning, but it was over Christmas and the place was full.

    Convenient, warm, comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    A Cheap Place to Stay Across from the Beach
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loft Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was middle-of-the-road North American with truckers. I like truckers, so that was good. The decor is faux Austrian, from the 70s, Canadian style, which is unique. If you never experienced faux Germanic architecture and carpeting in Canada in the 1970s, a stunning museum awaits you. If you have experienced it before, you might like to leave it in the past where it belongs. The architecture is weird. You zig zag with stairways and hallways to get downstairs, and to get to the lobby, you have to zig and zag, then jag out through a narrow hall and then outside into the barbecue pit, turn left into the mini golf, skirt the pool, cross the parking lot, and there you are. It's kind of like a mini Alpine village with rainforest rain, I guess.

    A spacious suite with a loft, which was a nice touch. The price was great. Freddie's pub is right on the property: the favourite local hang out. The food is actually very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money, centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was only cleaned very late in the afternoon (5:00) and first night not cleaned at all. We were out the whole day and upon returning at 4:30 room had not been cleaned - turned up after mentioning to the front desk but as it was already 5:00 pm requested to leave and just give fresh towels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    I would definitely stay there again. Good value for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Kept shorting us coffee and towels. Treated us as though there were two not 3 of us.

    The cost for what we got. The breakfast. accommodated 3 adults with a room with an extra bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Spacious Stay in a Fairy Tale Setting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    My maintenance concerns were poorly addressed and against my advice. The takeaway "breakfast" was a small granola bar, a bottle of water, and three oranges. I even got an explanation of why their rewards program is better than booking with Booking. The decor was faux-austrian from the 1970s. As a Canadian of middle-european background, I find this cozy nationalist image deserving of an upgrade, fast. The coffee was what one has come to expect. A kettle or even a microwave would have allowed me to make my own.

    The room was spacious. Heat was excellent. Room was quiet. Wifi and TV worked well. Breakfast was early. The business centre worked well and was convenient. The staff was very good about arranging my early checkout process and gave me a take-away "breakfast."

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay while visiting Campbell River.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were inviting, bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good even offered make your own fresh waffles. Would stay here again on my next visit to Campbell River.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Generaly satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture was dusty, eg. TV, top of dresser and dusty carpets.

    The rooms we had where separated from the highway noise by the pool building. Easy access to and from highway, comfortable beds, deep bathtub.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    It was decent but booking online with the " best deal " basically got us the worst room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st room was pretty bad... the bathtub was gross and we got locked out on our balcony due to a faulty door latch. Staff corrected thus issue by upgrading our room though. So stay got better

    Comfy kitchenette with mostly friendly staff and a decent breakfast. Great views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.0
    3 years ago we stayed at this location but we will not stay here again. I wish I took photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in— the desk clerk could have been a bit more okeasant. Our room was quite dirty. Thick black hair over the bathroom. I moved a pillow and thought there was a spider but it was a cluster of hair. The one bed did not seem to have clean sheets as there was a bit if dirt and the sheets were wrinkles liked they were slept in.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first night was very disturbed by, I believe, an anniversary party which started in the pub on the next plot and continued in the room immediately next door until 3.15 am We received a reduction on the bill for this. We'd had a great holiday and a good stay so didn't bother taking further action.

    Most things were to a good standard. It was in a quiet area but handy for driving in to town. Breakfast was good but plastic knives and forks take a little mastering!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating could not be adjusted because thermostat not working correctly and room very very hot. Staff tried to fix but unsuccessful. Manager gave us 50% refund so uncomfortable night but pleased with response

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    3.8
    WORST HOTEL WE EVER STAYED IN - DO NOT BOOK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most dirty hotel we have ever booked! There was hair - from all body parts! - and dust everywhere on the floor in the bathroom, I do not even want to know what was on the carpet in the room. When we noticed this when checking-in we returned to the lobby to ask to get the place cleaned as this was clearly not done for probably several weeks. The only answer we got is that they would notify the cleaning crew for the next day. Since they did not have slippers available we were forced to walk around with our socks which we threw out when leaving. We expected, since the cleaning crew was notified, that we would enter a clean room and bathroom the next day - what a joke. Nothing was cleaned!!! They just hung up our towels and made up the bed but clearly nobody bothered even swiping the floor. We of course went back to the reception where they acted surprised since there was a clean note for the people to clean the room but there was yet again nothing they could do about it in the evening and the manager was not around. But they promised us that the manager would be there the next morning already from 7AM. We checked-out around 8AM and of course no manager to talk about this important issue was around. Hygiene a big fat zero and customer service equally bad - DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE!

    The only good thing about this place was the location, but believe me there are plenty of other hotels in the same location that would be a better fit!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    Nice location but disappointing room and not a Best Western.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a best western with best western standards. This looked like a renovated motel not what I expected from the name. Not clean enough , beds where clean but carpet washroom needed more. No air conditioning , tiny dingy rooms, definetely needs a reno, and we had more than a standard room. Website pics deceiving.

    Location is great across the street from The ocean, front desk courteous and helpful. Outside of hotel looks nice with lots of flowers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Clean and Comfy Bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Torn shower curtain and weathered bath mat, extremely limited channels on the TV, noisy kids running up and down the stairs next door (which was sorted once we complained @2300) and the entrance and exit doors that slammed and was heard in our room every time someone came to or left the building.

    Place was clean and tidy and shower was nice, the place had been recently rennovated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.2
    Mini golf, pool, and ping pong
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee maker in room broken, trash in room waste basket when we arrived, less towels than people room was reserved for, freezer in room didn't freeze, had to climb on the sink to turn off loud bathroom fan because switch is up by ceiling (this is not an exaggeration). Wifi spotty. No discount or even a "sorry" at check out when this was all explaned. Room was costly and so small I set my suitcase on the desk so I didn't have to step over it.

    Mini golf, pool, and ping pong

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    The Balcony views of the water were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside door needs some WD40 on the hindges made a horrible screeching noise when opening and closing.

    The Balcony views of the water were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    We were able to park our boat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was bland and the breakfast staff (two young women) were snippy. They had an omelette station set up but when asked they would not tell us when they would start cooking. It was well after the open time and there were only four people in the dining room. The girls seemed to be visiting more than working.

    We were able to park our boat. The room was comfortable. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay while visiting Campbell River
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because the hotel is built in a U shape, the water view was restricted. You can see straight out to the water, but not to either side. The waterfront is just across the road from the hotel with a walkway, so you can get good views within a short walk.

    The room was quite comfortable and had a kitchenette (fridge, sink, cooking top, cutlery, etc). The TV and WIFI worked really well. A breakfast is included - it's nothing fancy, but you can eat as much as you like and there was a fair variety of things to choose. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We didn't have any kids with us, but it seemed very good for families since there were lots of kids and there was some outdoor space for them to play.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.4
    Wish we had'nt bothered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from rowdy children running up and down the corridor and banging on door. Busy road outside and stony/full of log beach area. Bathroom tap loose,unable hot water. A total disappointment after such a good stay at Best Western/Port Alberni. Felt old and tired-like us after our stay.

    Nice pool,good food next door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Great for families!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no air conditioning so rooms where hot, although a fan was provided. rooms were a bit on the small side.

    free breakfast was great - omelettes made to order. Great activities for kids with mini golf, ping pong and the pool. And community bbq area great when travelling with kids sports team.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.0
    My hands were a mosquito buffet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No screens on the doors/ no A/C so I am covered in mosquito bites. Kids going crazy in the halls and common areas thin walls and floors . Times of common area posted as 9:00pm. Nobody policed it.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Just another hotel; nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wouldn't let me check-in at 2:00 PM when I arrived No parking close to the door, had to carry bags upstairs because we had to park on the lower level.

    Just another hotel, nothing special

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    3.8
    Will not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reached at hotel appox 11pm on 7 July/17.Got the key from desk lady,open the room door and found big BUG looks like spider(Took pictures).Kids got scared.Made complaint to front desk.Lady said not a big issue cause i have those kind of BUGs at my house now & then.Wasn't very good to talk like that.We as a family rented 3 rooms and 2 of the rooms have no AC.Traveled a lot and this is first time found hotel room without AC.Poor plumbing tub controls cannot pressure balance HOT & COLD water.Poor experience.

    POOL,BREAKFAST

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Campbell River
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the price was good for Summer at the beach, it was still more than I can really afford. $308 for two nights is not a cheap weekend, 😂

    Nice people, good hot breakfast comfortable and convenient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Location,location,location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    see above

    The location of the property,situated opposite the sea,fantastic views.Room was average and hadnt been cleaned properly before we arrived.Breakfast was adequate.An average hotel at an average cost.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Everything was excellent
    • Group
    • Queen Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, Great location,Nice WiFi,very good breakfast,very beautiful resort place,thanks!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Excellent experience!Great stay!
    • Group
    • Queen Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was very good resort place!the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable,Nice WiFi,the breakfast was very good,would be back again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Great stay in Campbell River
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We especially liked the omelet stand at breakfast, which made a nice change from buns and coffee! The landscaping was especially attractive at this property. All in all, we'll be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel!Great location!
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff was very friendly,very good service,very clean room,very comfortable bed,enjoyed the breakfast,love the hotel,Nice Campbell River,beautiful city!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Excellent experience!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable, Great location,Great pool,Great breakfast,Nice hotel,Best Western!Love Campbell River !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm being picky now but there was only one bedside table and lamp. Small complaint but important.

    Very well kept grounds.we had an upstairs room with nice balcony furniture(not your usual plastic chairs!)good breakfast included in the price. Nice pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Great Stay!great location!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, the location was very nice,Great views,the room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable,Love breakfast,Campbell River was very beautiful place,I recommend the hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy as room next to road and could hear people in rooms next door- walls very thin. Plastic bath, found multiple hairs in it

    Breakfast was excellent Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Everything was nice,Excellent experience!
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was very good location,beautiful views!the staff was friendly and helpful,Good service,very clean room,Nice pool,breakfast was very good,I like it,enjoyed the hotel,hope come back again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Excellent experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and quiet, the bed was very comfortable, breakfast was very good,Great location,Very beautiful views,Best Western,will be back again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    My review
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, just 1 girl in the breakfast room in the morning was rude but she was the only one

    It was quite & clean bed was comfortable. I the morning went out on the deck looking for whales and ships

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    4.2
    all staff we encountered were very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the facility is old and not well maintained for a Best Western chain. Rooms were not comfortable, no ac and no sliding screen door on balcony door to open to get fresh air in without letting in flying bugs. room did not feel as clean as we normally get at a Best Western.

    all staff we encountered were very nice and helpful. the breakfast was good and enjoyed the outside seating patio area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Great, great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that she fell!!

    Outstanding co-operation from the staff. My wife had a fall in the room, and we needed assistance from two people to carry her to our vehicle. The housekeeping staff were extremely understanding about the damaged bed linen. The breakfast room staff were also very helpful in preparing a meal for her, which was then delivered to the room, as she was unable to walk and we did not have our wheelchair with us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.1
    Overall good, just a shame about the breakfastroom and disposable plates etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep stairs to loft bedroom with no window. Picnic plates and cutlery for breakfast. Knives no good for cutting. Floppy plates. NOT a nice dining room. Shame as the food was good. Not up to Best western Standards. Check the type of room before you book as some rooms up steep stairs.

    Good room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and great facilities - Highly recommended!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside was that the breakfast closed very early so we had to use alarm clocks on our holiday! Wish they had it open until later!

    Excellent hotel! Especially loved the heated pool, the sauna and the free 6-hole mini golf! Asked for a quiet room and my request was kindly accommodated and the room was great with comfy beds!! Breakfast was delicious!! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Good room, great breakfast and excellent swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small. It had two queen size beds, but would not recommend 4 people as it would be tight.

    Excellent complimentary breakfast. So much to choose from. Very pleased with it. Loved them swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather but nothing the staff can do about that!!!

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Great room with attached balcony, would have been a real bonus in better weather. GREAT complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    We love this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at the pub next door was dreadful. The hotel is blameless, but without a restaurant on site, the pub is the only option nearby without driving.

    We returned to BW Austrian Chalet for the 3rd time because, for us, the setting is romantic and holds special memories. Sadly, we couldn't get our favourite suite as it was occupied, but the room was good and the sea view is special to us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.2
    Good quality for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Disabilty Access Tub
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking limited, patrons parking across multiple spots tying up multiple short spaces

    EXcellent breakfast everything you could imagine and free too. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.9
    Warm and welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lotion from the bathroom amenities looked like it had been used before. The room was very clean so i wasn't concerned. A little thing that was over looked. I let the front desk know when I checked out and she immediately took care of it.

    The breakfast ladies were friendly, warm and welcoming. As was the front desk staff upon arrival and departure.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    It was worthwhile experience. Quite unexpected considering it was our first time and in winter.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service and the breakfast were all excellent. We didn't regret staying there.

    The service was excellent! We asked for four bottled water and even though it was so late, Kelly came in with a smile and refused my tip. That is what \i call serviced with a smile. We all enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast included with room was great .
    • Family with young children
    • Loft Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting by the pool,was poor, could not read the sign to ring buzzer to have the lobby staff, open door. Pillows were too high for a good sleep , I'm used to a thinner pillow. Also , had overheard reservations, saying with a best western rewards member, they could upgrade room at no cost. This was not offered to me. Not sure why.

    Breakfast included with room was great . Staff were friendly .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.1
    It was a great stay!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish there was bacon for the breakfast.

    Approachable and helpful staff. Pet friendly. Location is good and easy to find. Very accommodating and enthusiastic restaurant staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Perfect value for money, great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything negative to say about this hotel..

    The location and facilities are perfect. 20 meters from the water, if you choose the right room, you will wake to a wonderfull view of the sunrise over the channel. Also, the lady who greeted me and checked me in was absolutely charming (blonde haired, bespectacled). I stay here everytime business takes me to Campbell River

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.2
    We'd like very much to return to Campbell River.
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was too close to the hwy for sleeping. The pillows were too hard. The room was cold at first. The breakfast room was too small -- overcrowded.

    It was easy to find and close to our destination in Campbell River, and close to the ocean. The staff and all the people we saw in CR were friendly and helpful. Great communal attitude!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.1
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was nothing special. Also the staff saw fit to start cleaning rooms at 8 am on Sunday morning, that's a bit early to start vacuuming in my opinion.

    Location was pretty good. Right off of the main Highway through town, close to a shopping area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    The stay was excellent and would stay there again and recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was slightly bad was the pool is a public pool and some people went rumaging through my stuff.

    The rooms were excellent, you felt right at home and they were relaxing. So much so i didnt want to leave the next day.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    Had everything we needed for a great overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints!

    Staff very friendly and breakfast was good and lots of variety. Close to a great bar, Freddies, that serves good food and very large portions.A good hotel to use as home base for exploring the Campbell river area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Accommodation that met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off season price seemed hi and unfortunately pool and hot tub closed for upgrades

    Solid building with comfortable rooms, quite good self serve breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.1
    We were satisfied with our room which provided easy access to the places we needed to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disabilty Access Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view could have been better.....yes, we overlooked a golf course, but it was a mini golf course :) The ocean view was very minimal from our window, almost non-existent. However, our room had to be on the ground floor because it was designed as a room for a handicapped person. Overall, we were satisfied with the service and the room.

    We enjoyed the breakfast that came with the room......there was good variety, and lots of choices for every appetite. The room was very comfortable, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and that makes any stay worth being there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    5.8
    Full price for half the service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sort of clean, the internet at best was spotty, the shower barely got warm and the pool and hot tub where closed without warning, when I pay for a service I expect it. The need of a room left me no option but to stay, no very fair that I pay full price for half the service.

    The staff was great and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast very poor. Paper plates and plastic knives and forks. Insufficient seating room for number of guests. On very busy road, noisy traffic early morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.1
    The room was a good size for a family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the wi fi was patchy. The seating area was not adequate for breakfast

    The room was a good size for a family The cleaning staff were very approachable and happy to help without being invasive

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    Good location and rooms. Staffing shortage issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping Staff called in sick. We were gone all day and room still wasn't cleaned. We called desk and told they'd send someone over. It was several hours before they came. The staff were apologetic and friendly when they did come. A tour bus of people were in line at breakfast. We decided to wait an additional 1/2 hour and returned only to find almost no food available.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    3.3
    Bathroom tub had not been cleaned.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tub had not been cleaned. Towel left behind from previous people. NO AIR!!!! One window in bathroom. No screen so door could be left open. On main floor facing parking lot.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: