Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre 3 stars

700 Lakeshore Drive, P1A 2G4 North Bay, Canada

#11 of 21 hotels in North Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 153 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan was noisy when heat on. I was dissapointed that there was no breakfast included but guess that is to be expected when there is a restaurant on site.

    Very comfy beds. Coffee in room good but they only leave enough for one cup each, would like more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 149....it's time to replace the bathroom door or sand it down to bare wood and paint it . Poor paint job on the inside plus the hinges are binding badly! Hard to close. Better fix soon before it gets ripped off the hinges!

    The staff were extremely friendly and the breakfast menu was excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continuous problems with one of the outside entry key pads. No continental breakfast but did have a restaurant on site.

    Quiet location and room. Ample free parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the arena where the events were held

    The price was reasonable Room have a fridge and microwave Can see the lake from the hotel On a Main Street so driving to events was easy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was terrible. Water just warm. Not hot enough. Weak water pressure. Clumsy nozzle. Upon check-in no hand soap for sink or shower and no bath mat.

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Time to go shop..no time on this trip. I kept the business card, to stay the next time

    Bed was great after 3 hours sleep ( night shift) on Thursday, drive up..nice Breakfast was super ! and so was the supper !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't stay longer 😂

    Good location near shopping. Loved Farina restaurant being right there. The pool was big and warm! The room was spacious and had everything we needed. It was quiet so we got a good night's sleep. Overall a great experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t clean properly. Hair in the bathtub and hair in the sink. When I mention this to the front desk the next morning it seem to fall on deaf ears.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could use some updating such as the carpets in the hallways.

    Good choice for location and close to the lake and met our needs for an overnight stay on our way to Ottawa.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu. If you like healthy eating this is not the place for you. Even the few items that are healthy come with creamy sauces, or butter as the feature topping. The menu is not keeping up with eating trends in the market and really the only negative I had. However it did have a lot of favorite indulgence foods.

    Overall a great experience mostly connected to the staff. First the front desk’s helpfulness, to the cleaning staff that made my room perfect, the bartenders great service and the kitchen staffs presentation of the food. It was very nice and a nice homely feeling.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no dislikes at all.

    great location. the on site restaurant and bar was a great place to relax and unwind. They had a fantastic enclosed dog run which our dog really enjoyed! It was also close to the beach which made walking our dog a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included with price of accomodation?? Unable to open windows in the event of a fire; or even for fresh air??

    choice of breakfast good - location good Like to access lake in surrounding areas or have access to walkways in vicinity

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's hard to find your way around the place. pool wasn't easy to find. There's no towels at the pool area. I didn't even have the free breakfast because I couldn't find the area it was in. The built in restaurant served me the worst chicken parm I've ever ate. And it was expensive. Room smelt like old carpet. Not impressed at all

    Pillows were good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My next door was constantly going in and out that the door shut noice was somewhat bothersome. Breakfast included would have made the night stay fantastic.

    Clean and comfort.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bugs were really bad. The smell from the bugs was the worst. Staff explained about the bugs but it is what we will remember the most

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ALSO DIDN'T like that out of the 3 rooms for my entire family only one was ready & that was 20 mins after arrival. The other 3 of us got our rms just in time to change & rush to event. We all asked for early check in which they listed as available but wasn't. We found this dishonest!

    There was a restaurant & bar but hrs were horrible. I got back from my event at 9:30 & changed to go get some food. Restaurant is open only from 5-10 pm??? So no food. I thought okay I'll go to bar get a drink & maybe have some appetizers but the bar closed at 10 pm. What bar closes at 10 pm?? Most bars r just getting going around 10 pm. When I had tried to go get some lunch earlier before my event I went for a bite to eat as I had to wait 1.5 hrs to get into my room. When I got there gates said closed at 1pm & were only open for 3 hrs.It was also an extremely expensive restaurant & earlier when my daughter-in-law brought my grandchildren to eat they waited for 45 minutes with food. My 5 yr old grandson was crying as he was sooo hungry & restaurant kept shooting him dirty looks instead of giving him a pc of bread or something to eat!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room had a king size bed and maybe the room should have been a little larger to go with it.

    .the room was clean and smelled clean the food and the staff at the restaurant were great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is a little dated, but clean.

    The pool facilities were excellent and not busy. The room was very clean. The receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed amazing food from the room service offered from the delicious restaurant on site!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No extra linens, no towels at the pool, sauna didn't heat up, the door stop was coming out of the wall in our room. It was very expensive for the class of hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant waitress unfriendly at dinner. Hotel is a bit old and in need of a face lift.

    Front desk staff were wonderful. Maintenance staff very helpful. There were a few things in the room that needed to be fixed ie. light bulbs and door lock. As a result we were giving breakfast vouchers.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort of the lobby minimal. Free coffee in lobby no longer available. Cocktail bar closes too early on weekday evenings.

    Indoor pool and gym. All staff courteous and friendly. Farina restaurant food very good as is the bar burger menu. Local bus stop outside and good punctual service. Great for non-drivers. Tourist attractions greatly reduced after Labour Day but still plenty to do if you look for it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    #1 - Bathroom door in room #115 kept swinging closed, had to place something on the floor to keep door open if using the sink. #2 - The card swab on the side entrance door by room #115 doesn't work very well, had to continuously insert the card for the door to unlock.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool was shallow but large, which gave lots of room for people to have their own space. I was directed to a local beach (Sunset Point) in walking distance which was great to visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Nice restaraunt within the hotel , clean room and comfy bed. The staff was receptive and willing to answer all our questions. Thanks for the hospitality.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were damp, windows don't open, noisy, low ceilings, they resurfaced the bathtub in a connected room with enamel paint which gave me a two day headache

    The restaurant served breakfast until one thirty, and maintenance guy named Chris was so earnest and lovely

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Pool and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    friendly & helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing especially the bar tender!The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful with our needs.Everyone was super friendly!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really enjoyed the restaurant. I wish I had more than 2 nights to order from the menu. having a laundry facility was also nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed. Clean bathroom Room smelled clean Early check in time Restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Second Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even thou the motel was booked to capacity we didn't hear any noise day or night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed too early.

    Loved the bar. Great bartender. Amazing restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool not well maintained...over chlorinated...smelly. Unappealing water clarity.

    Comfortable bed. Excellent hotel restaurant la Farina.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost vs quality. For $10-20 more a night I'll stay at the Homewood suites.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    That it was clean and lots to do

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old but clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    going home! but every outing must come to an end at some point.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a quick stop for us to get some sleep on long road trip. nice quite room. coffee in the room was decent. front desk staff was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Hot tub not working. Sauna Bench broken. Noisy at night from neighbours.

    Room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed everything here from the comfortable beds, pool/sauna, super friendly staff and wonderful restaurant ‘Farinas’

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    too expensive for the permissesgood

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included in room, beds are very small, hot tub not working, pool very highly chlorinated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whirlpool spa looks like it needs to be cleaned

    Property is clean and well maintained, staff is friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find, good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was great....comfortable. Staff was welcoming, friendly and at 1:30 am!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was noisy & the pool was cold.

    Beds were clean & comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    great on site bar and lounge. open are pet run

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was excellent , we didn't know it was there before we got there , no mention of it when I was booking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated room broken air conditioner etc

    Great service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air quality in room was awful. Room had stench of cigarette smoke. Room needs ventilation

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a double not a queen as we were told.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything

    The staff were Extremely helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not much all was great

    restaurant rooms people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi not working. Staff should be more responsive.

    Nice location.clean room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Keys for rooms didn't always work and were tough to keep consistent.

    Staff were attentive and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    whirlpool was out of order

    Desk people were very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to pool.

    Very clean. Modern.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything we didn't like.

    Everything was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I made 45 deposit and they only gave me 25 back I did not notice until I was in Toronto

    The beds

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant very slow

    Location to snowmobile trails

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets and wallpaper showing wear

    Nice and very clean but property showing age and could use some renovation. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had amazing mattress and pillows. The king suite was very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware of some noisy rooms.

    Nice place, near the lake, good surrounding.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid , price, noise

    Restaurant and staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is aged and worn...

    We had a good time in pool and facilities

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pharmaceutical items taken from our room

    Pool hours, restaurant on site.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty! The halls and the room. The check in staff were not not friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a very quiet room and were booked by a side entrance so we were disturbed all night

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to the room did not close properly at all times (saw other rooms with the same issue).

    Pet friendly. On site restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door needed more force to open and close

    Very clean, helpful attendants

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed not comfy, hard mattress. Pricey rate.

    Location ok, quick access to hwys, beach,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly and helpffull

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took forever to checkin. The air conditioning was awfully noisy, could not sleep. NO ELEVATOR

    Very few things

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: