Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Canada hotel reviews
  3. British Columbia hotel reviews
  4. Ucluelet hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Reviews of Black Rock Oceanfront Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

596 Marine Drive, PO Box 310, V0R 3A0 Ucluelet, Canada

#9 of 17 hotels in Ucluelet

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 629 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay. Main restaurant needs to catch up to the accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed with our meal in their restaurant Fetch. Quality of the meal needs improving. Had a MUCH better dining experience in Ucluelet at Norwood

    Accommodation and sight were amazing. Great property

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    5.0
    The wifi was almost non exaistant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    M

    The wifi was almost non exaistant. And the shower was dirty and it was a shame the pool closed at dark since dark was at 5 and we were only able to check in at 4. Weve stayed at a lot of nice hotels and the check in for a non busy time was totally ridiculous. For that reason alone I wouldn’t stay here again

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    7.5
    Up to the expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Trail One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spacious, cosy and clean room with a beautiful view on the coast. The available trails within walking distance. The options between a nice restaurant and a bar for a quick snack.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great place.super trail system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving 700.00 deposit as using cash. Should have asked beforehand. No bk in suite to let us know of incidentals Like info on restraunts spa Pool and hot tub hours. No handicap parking in front for ease to get into building No lids for frying pans!!

    Comfy bed and loved the pillows!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed had a bit of a dip in it but everything else was fantastic.

    Excellent staff, we came for our anniversary and got upgraded as well as had a bottle of sparking wine delivered to our door.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    The soaker tub the view the amazing showe the balcony and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar needs a blender and then you can make awesome belinni’s

    The soaker tub the view the amazing showe the balcony and the view from it was utterly breath taking. Home refreshed. Thank you

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    8.3
    Overall we really enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cooks attitude in the kitchen. He shouldn’t be inserting himself in anyone’s conversation and especially if he doesn’t have anything nice to say. I was talking to someone about the menu actually being quite affordable and how my father said it was pricey. The cook told me I didn’t have to eat there. I was like what? He had no idea what was being said and kitchen staff should never be speaking with the customers. Other that that my experience was amazing!

    It was a great experience! The view was amazing!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    8.3
    Despites our complaints we would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    lighting generally poor in the room especially the bathroom-room and hallway far too hot-difficult to control room heat-the bed mattress topper was lumpy and overly stuffed pillows.

    location-walk into town and Pacific coastal walk-view from our room was better than described-good size room-excellent restaurant on site-very good waiter.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    7.1
    We really enjoyed a relaxing time away, the hotel was nice and we liked the kitchenette.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevator stopped working for an entire day, the atm machine was down the entire time, they were out of mussels, room key didn’t work, fetch restaurant was too pricey for what you got. Seemed like the Black Rock is trying to be really high end and although it’s a nice place, it does fall a bit short.

    The room was lovely, especially the bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    10
    Worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If I had to choose anything, I would say, some new sheets would go a long way.

    The staff, location, amenities, are wonderful! Very accommodating to our requests. We've been quite a few times, so I guess you could say that we always enjoy ourselves!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.2
    I will definitely be back for another stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hostess at Fetch was not accommodating. Server was excellent.

    The Black Rock Mojito in the lounge. Massage at the spa was very nice but a little pricey.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    went to the lounge for drinks before dinner and they did not have my choice of beer, and asked me for second choice. They did not have second choice either, then a third choice and that was also not available. All of my requests were on the beverage menu. I ended up with water and then we left for out dinner reservation.

    spacious suite, with a nice view of the of the water. Fan in the bathroom wouldn't shut off, kind of annoying. The suite was very clean and we liked the kitchen facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.8
    Impressive design in a stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    $239 Room-Only, & you get a single solitary teabag included? Could have managed without what was presumably a cleaning/maintenance team crashing around an adjacent area at all hours of the night. View from non-Sea View room was non-existent.

    Impressive design in a stunning location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    8.3
    Room was great, very disappointed with the beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Trail One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was uncomfortable, so soft we rolled to the middle. The pull out bed was extremely uncomfortable-mattress was thin therefore the springs were easily felt.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location; Spacious room ... fitted out and furnished in an amateurish manner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room despite being spacious was badly designed and fitted out. Shortage of cupboard space and Chest of drawers. And the drawers they did have were in the base of the bed. (so had get on hands and knees to put stuff away). The Kitchenette was too small and difficult to use ( a redesign would take 50cm off the bathroom which was unecessarily large and add it the kitchenette). Lighting poor in living area and kitchenette ...and too much lighting in hallway. How could they get so wrong!!!

    Fantastic Location ..on rocks over looking the ocean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.6
    Super comfortable bed and really nice bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we didn't love was that the windows didn't have screens. It would have been nice to be able to open the windows without bugs getting in.

    Super comfortable bed and really nice bathroom. The view from the balcony was lovely!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was not the best, a bit saggy and lumpy.....and bottom sheet a bit scratchy...

    the location is excellent, service terrific and the wait staff are friendly and professional...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    6.7
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The option where we chose to not have a room cleaned daily and get vouchers and then we went to cash them in and were told only one per day if you’re going to give vouchers don’t put stipulations on them...And everyone should have access to lockers for the hot tub is not just spa clients so we had to walk five minutes in our bathrobes in the rain in public

    The free coffee every morning

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.5
    The location is unbeatable, stunning views.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant should be better for such a wonderful resort.

    The location is unbeatable, stunning views. My only complaint is the restaurant was disappointing. Out of normal beer and cider and steak was grisly for the price. But everything else we loved. Spa is awesome !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.6
    We'll be back but will remember to make restaurant arrangements ahead.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were unable to get a meal without a reservation and there was no room in the lounge. The dining room had a sign which read 'fully booked" and we stood stood at the lounge entrance for 10 mins and no one approached us to offer any options.

    The location is outstanding and we were very satisfied with our large one bedroom suite. Comfiest of beds!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    7.5
    Location amazing, fantastic views, very calm and relaxing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spa area was disappointing, there were no steam rooms or saunas and the jacquzzis (one was closed) or pool did not look inviting at all.

    Location amazing, fantastic views, very calm and relaxing, the restaurant served great food + a nice bar and access to great walks along a beautiful rugged coastline.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    5.4
    Great location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurant very expensive. Fireplace didn't work. Shower temperature impossible to keep constant. Key cards worked intermittently. Balcony not private at all. People in adjoining rooms can look directly into your room from their balcony. Construction ongoing next to resort including blasting. Noisy.

    Great location and view. Friendly staff. Food good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't that clean and a bit tired. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable, luckily we were only booked for two nights. The restaurant and bar were disappointing and don't have the capacity to cater for the number of guests.

    A stunning location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    10
    Fabulous Property in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    When we arrived they had mislaid our booking due to a computer system upgrade. However, they immediately found us a King Suite ( we had booked a King Studio) which was fantastic. It was very large with all the facilities that you could need. Full kitchen area with hob, oven, dishwasher, sink, fridge, utensils and crockery etc. Beautiful lounge area with dining table, large sofa, chairs, TV and gas flamed fire. Patio doors opening out to a full length balcony which overlooked the forest. The bathroom had a large walk in shower, a free standing bath with views out to the forest. The bedroom had a massive king size bed with patio doors out to the balcony. In the hallway there was a walk in wardrobe. Property was clean and well stocked. Good choice of restaurants on site (we ate at the Bar Lounge). You can eat and watch the ocean as the sun goes down. We were able to park the car at the resort and walk into Ucluelet (about 15 minutes). Also lots of coastal walks nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    9.6
    Majestic Property on the Ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant needs some better-trained staff. They showed up with the wrong bottle then brought the red wine warm. We asked for a bucket of ice to cool the wine and the waitress brought very little ice. She just didn't know the proper temperature that red wine should be served at

    This is a very special hotel that is right on the ocean. It has an amazing spa which I had 3 treatments and all were great. The room we had was lovely with an ocean view. We ate in the restaurant one night, the food was very lovely. I would highly recommend it and it would definitely go back. It was one of the highlights of our summer vacation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location with very comfortable suites
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the facilities (pools & jacuzzis) looked a little tired. Couldn’t get into the restaurant on either night if our stay.

    Beautiful location with very comfortable suites

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    5.4
    Huge room door security flaw
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Door locks can stop working randomly, leaving strangers access to your room and valuables. Housekeeping doesn't complete job sometimes. Management don't care.

    Wifi OK. Hot showers were great. Good restaurants on site.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    10
    Gorgeous views and beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good for finner in restaurant was ok but over priced.

    Stunningly. Beautiful views from the restaurant, hot tubs and our room. Friendly staff. Located a short stroll to big beach where you can roam on the black Rich’s and search for sea life.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    7.1
    We had a good stay but the value for money ratio was not as high as it should be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There needs to be a greater emphasis on service. Fir example the pool area should be open later and should have food and drink service. We had to wait nearly an hour for a simple dinner of a hamburger and and s veggie burger. Restaurant wait time is too long and there needs to be a greater number of staff. The menu needs to rotate or change. If you stay several days there isn’t sufficient choice on the menu. There are very few decent restaurants in U that a rotating menu would better ensure choice to patrons. Amenities such as coffee shop were not open on weekend. For a facility that holds itself out as luxury and which charges high rates clients expect a total service environment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    7.5
    Experience with Blackrock Oceanfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The refingerator is very noisy and had to be turned off before sleeping. In addition, I had requested a room with sea view half year ago before going there but my request still could not be accommodated. Quite disappointing

    Nice resort and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for a relaxing stay at the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Trail One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely long waiting time at both restaurant and bistro. 1 hour between order and appetizer !!!!

    Beautiful and modern appartment with a view on the ocean. A large bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    8.8
    Unique and stunning location with lovely views and walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had an unsatisfactory experience in the restaurant but this was sorted at the time but was still disappointing.The corridor was extremely hot and the rooms did not have a/c although a fan and mobile unit were provided.

    The location of the hotel was stunning and the staff were particularly helpful when we arrived in the early hours of the morning and with queries at other times.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    7.9
    Very nice, but would thinks twice about going again because of the eating facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very disappointed in restaurant. Overpriced and the alacarte idea is awful. Eg husband had chicken and ordered potatoes.... he got $10 worth (the cost of a side) a huge plate of potatoes and no veggies another $20 for some broccoli and one other..... better to have regular meal with a small carb and couple of veggies. Enough said.... we were not happy 🙁

    The bed was above average and lots of room in bathroom 😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    Perfect place to escape to, overlooking the Pacific surrounded by nature and rocky tidal pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t anything

    Room overlooking th rocks and ocean. Comfiest bed made mor comfy with a mattress topper. Big bathroom and modern tub and huge separate shower. Lovely design in slate and pebbles.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Relaxing, all needs catered for, superb position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had no complaints at all.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We upgraded to a one bedroom suite with kitchenette, which was fully equipped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.5
    5-star location. Service was great. Sofa bed could be updated and cleanliness could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Trail One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet wasn’t completely clean you could see a rim of build up on the top edge. The sofa bed was not comfortable at all. Very poor quality sofa bed it was hard to sleep.

    The location was great. The view was 5-stars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.8
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pricey

    Nice view. Clean and nice bathroom with both rain shower and deep soaking tub. I like the kitchenette area with microwave and oven function. Easy access to hiking trails.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.2
    We loved it.. with a more competitive pricing we would recommend to our friends too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms got very warm in thensummer night. No ventilation or air conditioner. So had to leave the door open to cool the room. Would be great value with a bit mire competitive Pricing.

    Comfortable beds... the hot tub.. dinner and oceanview in all parts of the hotel. Good architecture. Well designed bathroom and rain shower head was fantastic !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    6.7
    Hot and disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mosquitoes. The room did not have a screen door so we couldn’t keep windows open so we were hot all night bc there is no ac. They gave us a fan after we finally went downstairs to reach someone bc nobody was answering the phone after we first made the request. Also nobody answered the phone when we were trying to request a late check out. There are two small jacuzzis for the whole property and I thought the plunge pool was full size based on the pictures. The blinds are not blackout.

    Beautiful location and facility

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    We loved it here and upgraded our room to have a complete...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved it here and upgraded our room to have a complete view of the sea, which was amazing. The rooms are big, clean, fresh and bright. The restaurant offers a good range of dishes with lovely views. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the rocks of the beach and we watched a black bear, search for food one afternoon from our balcony, which was amazing. Loved the sound of the sea. Great access to so many areas and very peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    Hell of a view and great place to get the Wet coast flavour and avoid the crowds of Tofino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was lacklustre.... only ordered appetizers and maybe the mains were good. For the price though I was underwhelmed. Very nice cocktails and wine selection. Staff at the restaurant was great though, helpful and pleasant.

    Bed was amazing, and the bathroom was a treat - had a nice long soak in the tub and a shower with the huge rainwater shower head. A fridge and kitchenette in the room was such a nice option, though we didn't use them. Would love to have a guest cabin on our property just like that room - even a sweet porch. The view was great even though we were in the cheaper rooms, and would stay there again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay here again. Probably one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms not always cleaned 100%, for example, dirty dishes were in the cupboards upon our arrival - staff should check that the dishes are spotless before the next guests arrive.

    Beautiful surroundings, beautiful rooms, awesome views, Brita water filter in fridge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    8.8
    A memorable trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At this price point, we expected complimentary breakfast but it was not offered.

    It’s a wonderful resort for a city getaway. We stayed in a King Studio which has a on-suite kitchen equipped with all the basic cooking items that you need to make a quick meal. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. We had a great view of the ocean from both the living room and the bedroom which was simply breathtaking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.3
    Bed's are good, restaurant service was good, front desk was not!
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No business center - I had to go to another hotel and use their's - on my on cost. Front desk service is terrible. One person seems to have some experience but she was far from friendly! Not nice reception at all.

    beds were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    10
    overall a very enjoyable and relaxing property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was a very warm day and the room did not have air conditioning. however, opening the door and window provided a very nice pacific sea breeze which cooled the room nicely. as a matter of interest, we left the patio door open (screen closed) all night and slept the to sound of the sea and crashing waves. so, essentially this worked out to be a plus.

    every room has a view. restaurant and bar service was good. front desk staff were very helpful except we got a newbie and got directed to the wrong wing for our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful view, dramatic hotel and good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Earlier breakfast start

    Nice setup in room with one-bedroom suite. The non-ocean view actually had a partial ocean view. Great to have a small kitchen, fireplace and good-size balcony. Bathroom rain shower beautiful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent resort with excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room booked with booking.com may have a limited view. You may get a better view and cheaper rate by booking directly with the resort :(

    The room is fully equipped. Everything is clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    8.3
    We will certainly be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been better info in the room for local attractions, pool times, room service, how to contact the front desk, etc.

    Even as a non-ocean view room the view was spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.6
    Wild but peaceful - definately worth the drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice to have more variety for food choices. Even just complementary coffee and tea bar. The food venues are either a lounge or an upscale restaurant. Also the fitness room is small, and the hot tubs are in a lovely location but close too early at 9 pm.

    The view is amazing. The location is great - nice and quiet with the outdoors literally at out doorstep. The rooms and lobby are in the style of Westcoast Comtemporary - very calming and elegant. The front desk staff was very helpful and responsive. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    7.1
    You can't beat the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This place could be a gem but there is some work to do. The balcony glass needed a serious wash, it was absolutely filthy. The cooking facilities in our room could have used a few more tools that most resorts supply, such as colanders and knives that don't wobble. We were also extremely disappointed with the bed. It was extreme low quality which they tried to hide under a pillow topper. The bed creaked and bounced with even the most delicate movement. It made sleeping extremely difficult. I've never been more relieved to leave a place and have my own bed back.

    You can't beat the location. The resort is right on the Wild Pacific Trail, which was the primary reason for booking. The staff was also pleasant and helpful, and our room was fairly clean and in working order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    7.9
    LOVED the rooms, set up was amazing wouldnt change a thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool and hot tub facilities need to be updated badly, the hallways smell musty (especially the stairs). We ate breakfast once at the restaurant and I will never eat a meal there again... The food was dry and not what you would expect. The service had to have been the worst service I have ever gotten at a restaurant. Not once did we have the server come to top up our coffees, bring us condiments, or check to make sure we were enjoying our meal. Halfway through our meal we were given the bill without us asking for it, still no conversation and staff had left before you could ask for what you needed.

    LOVED the rooms, set up was amazing wouldnt change a thing. Bathrooms were beautiful, and kitchenette had everything you would need. Would definitely come again just for the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    7.9
    Except for the location and view I was disappointed and underwhelmed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is awkward. No storage. Fireplace in a corner. Tv overlaps pictures. You have to get in the closet to access the safe. Showehead is really weird and hard to use. No wall switch for bedside lamps.

    Location and view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.9
    The location of the hotel is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restsurant in the hotel is definitely overpriced and the food quality is very average, let alone the fact that the wine which we were served has gone bad...

    The location of the hotel is beautiful. The Village of Ucluelet is very charming. The rooms are comfortable and spacious (we had a one-bedroom suite).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    The location and setting for the hotel is stunning. We enjoyed our stay very much.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I couldn't turn the light off outside the door to the room, or block/cover the window, so it was brighter than I would have liked at night. There were no cotton wool pads provided in the bathrooms.

    The property was stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place in a beautiful area. Ucluelet seemed quieter and more genuine than Tofino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee maker carafe had a hole in it, but it’s okay because we didn’t expect one at all and brought our aero press.

    The bed was incredibly comfortable and large! The deck with ocean view was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.2
    It was fabulous!! Would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breath taking view. Crisp clean linens. Great pillows and plenty of them. Luxurious shower and tub. Loved that the room came equipped with a little kitchen, with dishes and utensils, wine glasses and a toaster.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is beautiful and the scenery is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought things were nice, but didn't quite live up to the quality they portrayed. For instance, the restaurant was nice, served nice looking (and pricey) food... that lacked flavor and that "punch" you'd expect from a top quality place. Similarly, the heated floors in the bathroom were great but why didn't they extend to the toilet? There were just a few things that didn't quite live up to the feeling they were trying to create.

    The hotel is beautiful and the scenery is fantastic. Ucluelet was awesome and the hotel offers easy access to many great spots and the cool restaurants and shops of Ucluelet. Much less touristy than Tofino.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a strata(timeshare). Not a "resort". No coffee shop/ store. Lounge not open during day. Just doesn't have a welcoming resort"feel"..does have resort $prices though$.

    View Access to beach and trail

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.5
    Very little privacy in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very little privacy in our room. We were on the ground level and on the walkway down to the beach. The blinds were see through, so everyone could see right in to our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    5.4
    Mediocre at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was old and saggy felt like sleeping in a hammock Bathroom was not adequately clean, used dental floss on the floor, hair In The sink and on the counter

    View and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.9
    A family-friendly hotel in an mazing location that is aspiring to be a luxury resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place needs a bit of work; little odds and ends are in need of repair. It's nothing serious but it gives the resort a slightly shabby air.

    The views and setting are beautiful. The staff is very accommodating, and the restaurant and bar are excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.8
    Best Black Bean Veggie Burger EVER!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best Black Bean Veggie Burger EVER! The outdoor plunge pool and hot tub were a delight!! We found the bed uncomfortable...too soft. It was not until the morning that we saw the note saying that staff would be happy to come and remove the mattress topper. Next time... The coastal hugging trail right beside the hotel was awesome to run on...hilly and challenging!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    5.8
    Great location. Poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were encouraged to sign up for the Go Green Initiative as hotel guests. Basically no services for our 4 days to “help the environment” but were given no support. Where do we put our garbage , our recycling? We received weird looks when we had to ask for extra toilet paper. The “Go Green” idea is good. Who need new towels after every use but I would never ever sign up for it again. They use it to save money

    Location. The beaches were near and the proximity to the Wild Pacific Trail was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, first time but definitely not the last time
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The prices for dinner are way overpriced. You get only a protein and if you want veggies and potatoes you can order them aside for $10 each. Food was extremely salted and way too much pepper. Keep it plain so people can add salt and pepper themselves.

    Definitely the location, nice and quite. Walking the trail and within 10 sec. we saw 8 whales, just amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    5.8
    Ocean view, rain shower head, and soaker tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room needed some maintenance, the sliding glass between the bathroom and bedroom came off the track, the patio door was hung out of plumb and the lock plate was loose. I found it too bright to sleep with an orange light on the microwave and light coming from the fogged glass on the front door.

    Ocean view, rain shower head, and soaker tub.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    8.8
    Location and the facility in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed uncomfortable(soft and lumpy). No real sitting area in room. Inadequate drapes, blinds were see thru. Would have preferred a smaller bath and larger living area. Kitchen was very limited-small refrig, sink, and micro/conv oven, no counter or kitchen workspace. A desk would have been nice. Fireplace faced wrong direction.

    Location and the facility in general. TV able to rotate from chairs to bed. Nice outdoor porch with water view. Two dining options were nice although we ate elsewhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    8.8
    Terrific resort just to relax and enjoy the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor lighting in room and bathroom. Would be nice to have more comfortable chairs to read but we understand space is limited.

    Ambience and location outstanding

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    7.1
    Location and facilities good. Room average. Bed uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above.

    Bed was not comfortable. Lumpy. Fireplace not working. Sliding window at bathroom needs repair. Balcony door lock stuck so not able to use balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    10
    We had an excellent stay here. Beautiful spacious room with a view. Staff were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful room and the view was awesome. Nice kitchen, very clean. Bathroom was very nice with the separate shower, and ability to take a soak in the bath and enjoy the view. Staff is excellent! I felt sick one night, and my boyfriend called the front desk to ask about doctors in the area. The kind gentleman (I believe French) connected us with a nurse on the phone, and I believe a manager ran to our suite to check on me, and offered to drive to the hospital. Although it was not needed, this was above and beyond what I would ever expect. Their kindness and care will not be forgotten, and I look forward to staying here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    10
    It would be nice to have a sos pad or pot scrubber in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would be nice to have a sos pad or pot scrubber in the room, the convection oven bakes everything on and it's very difficult to get it off with just a cloth

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing service and stay. Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Resort completely lost our reservation!!! We had made special arrangements for a room drop of wine and strawberries to celebrate our anniversary. Not only did we not receive any anything in our room but were told we did not even have a reservation! Very very disappointing stay and very poor customer service. Room we ended up staying in had no view of ocean.

    Spacious room. Wonderful views from lobby and restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    6.7
    The front desk staff when we checked in were condescending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff when we checked in were condescending and generally rude. when I called up to say that our door to the balcony was confusing and we couldn't open it, he sighed and said "you're doing it wrong, I'll send someone up to help". No one came up and 20 minutes later we eventually figured it out ourselves. I admit we were doing it wrong but the front desk person was quite obviously irritated with us. I feel like this is a common problem amongst guests since the lock to the door was actually dented like someone else has gotten frustrated and tried bashing it. We tried to go out to eat and not a single restaurant in Ucluelet was open so we were forced to return and eat at the hotel which was quite honestly mediocre. We had eaten there on our previous trip and were not impressed that time and didn't want to relive it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.3
    The bed was comfy and like the bathroom (tub and shower).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing I can say that we don't like.

    The bed was comfy and like the bathroom (tub and shower). Also like the hot tub. It was a very relaxing in the room. We had a fantastic weekend there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    10
    We were there to celabrate my wifes Birthday and she loved the entire experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not a thing we didn't like. It was all perfect.

    We loved the size, layout and location of our room. The veiw was fantastic. We would stay again and ask for same or similar room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    9.2
    GREATGETAWAY @ the end of the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trail Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    UCLUELET needs more days of sunshine. Dont blame the hotel tho.

    The end of the world. Away from everywhere. Your own private escape to decompress. The rocky ocean. The mossy timber trails. The amenities if you want them. Spent half the stay in the tub and by the fire.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Black Rock Oceanfront Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: