Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel ZED 3 stars

3110 Douglas Street, V8Z 3K4 Victoria, Canada

#27 of 52 hotels in Victoria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 445 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Mostly good! We would come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was kinda umcomfy and the garbages from the last people weren’t cleaned out! We knew what they had for lunch 😂 a lean cuisine if you were wondering 😂

    The staff are super accommodating, and quick for fix any issues etc

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    Too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smells. Almost like mold or some kind of old smell. We had to sleep with the windows open all night. High traffic area. Also the pool was closed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Fun for a family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air condition, but we did have fans.

    Hotel Zen was a fun, funky retro hotel for our family. We enjoyed the pool, ping pong room and the shuttle to downtown. We had a Starbucks in short walking distance as well as a 7-11 so we purchased drinks, slurpees and snacks for our room. There is a mall being constructed right across the street so in the future, there will be more to offer in the area. Not far from harbor and we rode the city bus one day back to our hotel. The hotel also offers free bike and skateboard use but we ran out of time to take advantage of this. The staff was very nice and answered all our questions. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Something different, that’s for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very noisy to sounds from other rooms and traffic

    Something different, that’s for sure. Great eye for detail, keeping retro alive. Good breakfast place in house.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.3
    An overpriced gimmick in a bad location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a ripoff. Location was poor- far from downtown and right on a busy street - traffic all night kept us awake. Supposedly they have "incredible coffee". Not feeling it.

    The waterslide is pretty cool. The decor is interesting. The blended retro style is amusing but doesn't justify the expense.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Quirky Retro theme. Was find for our needs of a night stay in Victoria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning but room had 2 table fans. On main road so traffic was noisy but we knew that would be...they provided earplugs..was that for my snoring or the road noise! No coffee/tea facilities in room however it has 24 hours availability in reception area with real cups.

    Friendly staff, the young man at desk when we checked in went the extra mike to get us rooms together. Beds and pillows were comfy. Retro details were fun. Lots of towels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    The quirky decor, the pool & the amazing food at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little loud during the night as right by a busy street & had to leave windows open due to heat. The two fans in the room really helped with that though.

    The quirky decor, the pool & the amazing food at the Ruby cafe for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    overall a very fun stay especially with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hot tub was a bit of a let down

    super bright & fun space my kids were very happy & all the little extras kept us all amused. the shuttle was very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, renovated "retro" motel with good facilities, a bit outside of downtown.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very hot and the rooms (or at least mine) were not air conditioned. The price was on the high end for what it is, but it is mid-summer in Victoria, so that is a general problem. It is not right downtown (~30 min. walk or 10 min. by bus).

    Hotel Zed is an updated "vintage" motel. The furnishings are "funky retro", in bright colours, with vintage touches like rotary phones (with instructions for people that have never seen one). The beds are modern and comfortable, and the facilities have everything you would expect from a modern hotel, including a popular restaurant. I didn't use the pool or waterslide, but the other guests must have enjoyed them, as they were constantly in use. There is a large mall right across the street, which seems to be undergoing major renovations, so that will be a plus once it is done.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    This is an older motel that has been economical funky...
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, not a big deal in Victoria.

    This is an older motel that has been economical funky upgrades. Everything works well, it’s clean and the bed is quite comfortable. The on-site cafe does a great breakfast with gluten free options. The dinner menu looked good, our food was well presented. Family friendly, but our stay was quiet. Shuttle service to downtown on the hr, or city bus is a strait shot downtown, you can also walk downtown in about 30 mins, easy safe walk. Save a bundle over staying downtown. We’ll be returning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Fun place that is a throwback to the 60's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    Loved the decor and ambiance. It was a great value and very comfortable. The kids loved the pool area and slide. It was a great location with restaurants and grocery near by. The beds were comfy as was the sofa for the kids. The cleaning staff was excellent. We had a suite and it was great for 6 people. Also the mini kitchen was stocked with the basics for our use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Great for kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite small. It’s in an OK location , a bit of a walk to Chinatown and shopping. A tiny bit of a not so great neighborhood. Not threatening at all just a bit run down but being worked on to upgrade.

    Cute , quirky and great pool and big fun slide. Fantastic for kids! Extremely nice personnel! Very helpful. Hilarious directions on how to use a rotary phone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff, great amenities including free bike hire,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit of walk into town and advertised shuttle only available 10am-6pm and had to be pre booked in advance, this made using it to get to and from town quite difficult. Our shower could have also been a bit cleaner. Room was also quite noisy.

    Friendly staff, great amenities including free bike hire, ping pong and pool with water slide.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    The staff was so kind and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so kind and helpful! The rooms were eclectic and fun. The Ruby restaurant is the only place we ate! Wonderful, fresh food and with all of our dietary needs, they had accommodations! Great value and a super relaxed atmosphere!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Great retro motel theme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from room to room could have been better - although ear plugs are provided and it didn't stop us having a good stay.

    Great retro motel theme. Lovely staff, free tea and coffee in the foyer and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washroom wasn’t as clean as I would have liked; there were remnants of the last guests.

    Good fun when you return from a day out! Ping pong, swimming, cycling, , longboards, board games...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    we came down for a hospital appointment for my son so needed a family friendly place for all-this is
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all good!

    absolutely loved the family friendly vibe, it catered for all our kids ages from 14-6 , and the grandmother too ! such an amazing and different hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.0
    The colours were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon entering the room there was a very musty smell. The smell was embedded in the carpet and it smelled like dirty feet. Unfortunately, it was very difficult getting to sleep. When asked for a business discount, which I was told to do at the time of check in, I was denied, as I booked from the booking.com website.

    The colours were great! The shower was a great size. The location was very good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Kids enjoyed the waterslide, Wii and funky decor of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poolside needed extra attention as there was mud and dirt. Not much room to sit and watch the kids comfortably. I didn't like the fact that I did not know in advance that an extra charge was going to be added to my bill for "incidentals". As we did not break or damage anything, the charge was removed at check out. Oddly, they didn't bother to check the room. This hotel would be better value at $120 per night max.

    Kids enjoyed the waterslide, Wii and funky decor of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    I was not over impressed but not completely disappointed either
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mall across the street is still under reno’s so it gets noises in the morning. The rooms aren’t that sound proof as well. You can hear the conversation of your neighbours very easily. The beds only have 2 very small pillows and a thin sheet with no extras in the room.

    We were happy with the location and having the pool for the kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    The location was direct on Douglas the Main Street into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was on the main road- making it very loud due to car traffic. The parking lot is shared with KFC. Turning left into the facility wasn’t possible so we had to figure that out- as well as traffic causing inability to turn left out of facility in morning. The facility is old, but revamped, however you can hear all the people beside and above you when they open doors or walk. Honestly their photographer did an excellent job because you wouldn’t know it was located in a worn down area. We had a car, but if you didn’t, this isn’t the place to stay since it is a little further from downtown.

    The location was direct on Douglas the Main Street into town. It was a Motel so, all room doors are accessed via the outside of the building. The bed was nice and firm, thick pillows. Located walking distance from a Starbucks and Mall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    The vintage decor was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vintage decor was awesome!The Zedinator water slide was my son's favorite! I loved the free shuttle downtown! We both loved the lobby restaurant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Great funky space just a short distance from downtown Victoria - pool area great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you have small children, you might want to ask for a room a little further from the Zedinator pool slide. It was a little noisy right up until 10 pm.

    Very nice space for the five of us - and the kitchen was a great help for getting breakfast together before we explored Victoria. Nice vibe, friendly staff, good value!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms need work as do th fridges could use some attention. The "retro" ambience was fun, staff were great.

    The pool was great for the family as there were twelve of us. location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Awesome!! I can't wait to stay there again! Will highly recommend to friends :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Conditioner pump needed maintenance.

    The place was so cute! I've never stayed anywhere like it. The shuttle was so convenient!! Great idea. The staff was so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Good location, price and fun
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of our rooms was very close to the main road and it was a bit noisy. There is a construction in progress in front of the hotel and the noise in the morning is very annoying, although this is not an issue the hotel can solve.

    Kids had lots of fun in the swimming pool. It is open until 10pm. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Everything was clean and we had enough towels and washroom amenities. The staff is always keen to help and they gave us lots of information. I loved the free coffee and the ping pong room. Although we did not use the downtown shuttle it was offered free of charge. The heating in the room worked very well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Probably will come back in a future
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy inside the room (maybe just our room). People walking outside sounds like they are in your room. Balconies too small to place a chair and enjoy a fresh air. Poor variety of vegetarian dishes in restaurant. Coffee is too bitter, but better than nothing.

    Kids loved the room design. Very polite staff. The VW driver is a nice guy. Loved the sauna.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    To fast, wish we could’ve have stayed longer to really appreciate the amenities of the hotels .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park on the other side of the parking lot rather then right outside our room, designated parking stalls maybe should happen?

    The location, the vibe, cleanliness, decor , pool/slide/gameroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic rooms and amazingly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are decorated amazingly and gave the vacation a fun and whimsical vibe. Retro/hipster and a hint of geek, perfect for my taste. Fourth year in a row my friends and I have chosen Zed to stay in as other hotels and motels just arnt as fun and friendly as well as the added bonus of being able to check in late at night as the reception is always open. Definetly would recommend!:)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Simple, clean room with fun things to do!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the pool, hot tub and waterslide. Would have used the free bikes if it was warmer out. Would have used the VW van shuttle if we were going downtown at night. Wasn't sure where the ping pong table was but we would have used it if we weren't so busy with other plans.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.4
    Great concept, but a disappointing stay overall
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -room was incredibly stinky and hard to be in because of the smell -Toilet wouldn’t flush -Bathtub enamel was falling off and disgusting -blanket wasn’t much warmer than a plain sheet -no spare pillows -The lounge/checkin area was hot as a sauna in the evenings, making it impossible to enjoy the vinyl listening station, or ping pong, or wii station... something my kids and I would have really enjoyed - just not drenched in sweat!

    -overall concept and decor -bike rentals -pool/hot tub -allow pets -overall grooviness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Affordable, quiet and clean room which was adequate for the one night stay in a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The compactness of the room. Quite small but sufficient for my purposes.

    It was quiet, though you could easily here neighboring rooms open and closing doors like it was your own rooms door. Room was clean and stylish.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    As always, I enjoyed my super retro stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction of the Mayfair Mall across the street was noisy.

    The beds are super comfy and I like the pillows. Not too fluffy. Just perfect. Such a small thing but when you are away from home anything helps to get a good night sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    The Zed is an exciting and colourful place to stay for all ages ...just check it out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes here...all great a service and place to stay that is affordable.

    We liked everything about The Zed. A very interesting place to stay and would definitely come back again. We did not get a chance to use the slide and pool.... The Ruby restaurant out front is very very good as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Hip and fun in Victoria
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Queen room was a little small; there's not much room on one side of the bed.

    Hip decor and lots of interesting and playful details in the room. It's a great reminder to have fun when you're traveling. The outdoor hot tub was a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Retro stay.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi was intermittent but other than that it was great!

    Its a cool retro hotel with a pool and hot tub. The zeddinator (slide) was actually fun no matter what age you are.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Love Zed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of course being an older hotel you can clearly hear people going by the room. Ah well can’t win them all.

    Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Zed, got the room with the king size bed and full bathroom. It was a lovely New Years. Finally got to enjoy the water slide even if it was cold out. The coffee is awesome in the lounge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    We will be back
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    The suite was good with 2 comfy beds & a pullout couch. Kitchen, separate bedroom & groovy decor. Staff was excellent & there's an attached restaurant that's quite good. Lots of gluten free items.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud, dirty, smelly. There was a comic book with explicit content in our room. Advertising was misleading. Just a dumpy motel painted in bright colours.

    Might be ok for hostel customers

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Property was great. Service was great. Luckily they fixed your mistake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a confusion about what size of room we booked. We were assured that the room fit two queen sized beds and there would be no problem getting a cot for grandma, only to find out that you folks had booked the smallest room available, and no cot would be available. We felt misled, and yet the hotel fixed the situation for us. Your phone representative should never done this.

    Great style and retro feel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    Ok, but too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sink was clogged and drained slowly. The main reason I would not stay again was the noise level -- even with a room far away from Douglas St., it was like staying in room made of cardboard. Not for light sleepers.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room seemed acceptably clean. The restaurant on site is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Retro cute rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound travels through the doors so you can hear clearly people talking in the porch.

    Enjoyed the decor of the room, the comfortable queen bed and the great lobby. Our room was called the bachelor pad which totally suited the name, small and cozy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.7
    ok but not good value if i had had to pay regular price
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no chair in the room --- nothing to sit on except the bed, which was too high. even though there was a desk, and a desk lamp (without a light bulb). Instructions for the tv would have been useful.

    great shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Another great stay, pet friendly, clean, great staff!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In room coffee makers would be so great, I am a self professed coffee snob and bring my own beans, grinder etc. A kettle or maker would be great :)

    The bed was excellent and I am pretty picky! Traffic noise was significant but we were right beside Douglas so understandable. Staff were excellent, very friendly, very efficient on check out and in and over the phone. I have stayed there 4 times now, will be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and great price for a great room and the staff was awesome.thank u will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How small all the towels are, in room and for the pool

    Complimentary items in the room :) and the great 'bored' game as well as everything included, meaning free bike rentals and ride services etc. Great place to stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    An excellent, reasonably priced place, with retro charm and an enthusiastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed every aspect of our stay.

    The room was small but cosy, clean, comfortable and well appointed, with excellent lighting, including a lamp on each side of the bed (rare in rooms with one queen-sized bed!) The sink area had a large convenient counter, while the toilet and shower were separate. The bright colour scheme, the useful bulletin board, and rotary dial phone all added to the room's charm. Outstanding coffee in the lounge area made our 6:00 am departure bearable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value for son's birthday weekend!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was right next to the highway so it was a little loud but they warned us about that and gave us earplugs. It was totally fine! Also need a bigger hot tub at this time of year! :)

    We were celebrating my son's 13th birthday this weekend and this hotel just added to the experience. The decor and extras were a lot of fun. He loved the waterslide and pool! Having such a good restaurant right on site was an added bonus. Oh, we also really appreciated the friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay for a short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was to small the first stay at beginning of the trip. The last night at end of trip we got a larger room and it was great. Make sure to ask for a larger room

    clean cute hotel. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value. Rubys is the best breakfast place I have EVER been... Amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all perfect. A little out of town... But the VW was always available to take us ....

    Staff went out of their way to make us welcome. The VW bus was amazing and the driver was better than a tour guide.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in a very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though the rooms were decorated nicely (style of the 70s) they were really small and the bathroom was actually situated in the room which limited personal privacy a bit

    It was really great that the hotel offers various free amenities: free coffee and tea in the lobby, a large pool, a free shuttle service to the city, a ping pong table as well as free bicycles which were great for a quick ride to the city center; the restaurant located at the property of the hotel was really good; staff was incredibly friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    The room was bare bones but okay. The staff needs to be trained better to monitor the disturbances.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were placed on a floor with a baseball team that partied all night and kept as up. They were banging on our door all night swearing and drinking The pool should be open after 10pm for adults only to enjoy it. It closed way too early especially in the summer

    The manager was awesome. She was deeply concerned about our nightmare of a stay that she credited us a full days stay. The pool and zedinator was awesome

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Very original place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little bit small. Considering the size of the room, the table is too big and there is not space to leave your suitcases and your clothes.

    Very interesting and original decoration. It is great that an old motel has been converted in such a different one. Hotel provides with free shuttle to the downtown, hires bikes and it is accessible with the public transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    The restaurant in the lobby was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no screens on the patio doors and there is no air conditioning.

    The restaurant in the lobby was excellent. The environment was cool. Nice vinyls. Free bike rentals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Great price for a unique hotel experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is in a mixed commercial/industrial area, which, though near downtown, isn't walkable to much beyond car dealerships.

    Unique aesthetic, nicely appointed rooms, my son loved the waterslide!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Great value in a very unique motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a retro themed hotel but it's dated. No air conditioning, our room was directly behind the water slide so kids screaming 9 am until 10 pm. Some of the appliances didn't work (fan that didn't rotate, light that had no outlet accessible to it to be plugged in).

    Pool with great hours and a waterslide and hot tub. Colourful, great staff, free bike and longboat rentals and on site shuttle bus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish ping pong and swimming pool facilities open earlier for early riser.

    The restaurant has nice and healthy food for dinner. It is crowded, so either get there real early or make a reservation before hand. Nice ping pong tables, too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    It was a quick stay so didn't get to fully explore the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses were a bit hard. The bathroom very dated, tub surface was worn. Decor in the room was not as funky as expected based on the website pictures. Parking lot was full, hard to get a spot. Towels were too small both in the rooms and at the pool.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Atmosphere was great for picture taking, pool was a lot of fun. Loved the bulletin board with fun tips, "bored" game suggestions and the Zed stickers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Fun retro hotel, great for kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was remodeled in a retro 70's style and was very fun! It was very clean and the Zedinator (slide to the pool) was the highlight of the trip for our 5 year old granddaughter. The staff was friendly, and a number of things for kids to do. The restaurant was also good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.8
    There is no air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning. We found out upon arrival that the shuttle would not transport our children under age 6, complicating our travel plans.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Back into the 70's. In every detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many things to do in so little time. Free shuttle to city centre with the 1967 Volkswagen van. Bikes free. Heated pool with water slide. Hot tub. Need some more to decide to book here???

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Trendy, nice feel good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a converted motel, that remains. Area is commercial area, not great.

    Lovely staff and atmosphere. Nice vw van for a free ride into town is great attraction. Trendy feeling. Nice furniture.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Zed - A departure from the hum-drum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction across the street... but that's only temporary.

    Because we were celebrating a birthday we were given a free upgrade to a stand-alone cottage that had both a large porch and a backyard (with hammock). Any difficulties we had (with TV connection for example) were dealt with quickly... with extra benefits thrown in. Hotel Zed is a 60s concept hotel... certainly different than any place I have stayed before. Free shuttle (inVW van), free bike rental nice and unusual amenities. There's even an Airstream trailer to rent (maybe next time). A fun place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Stay at The Zed; you won't be disappointed!
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOT A DAMN THING! It was perfect! :)

    LOVED this property! We arrived very late at check in and they still had our reservation; They had assigned us to a second floor room where a bottom level room would be best for us. The change was made immediately with no hesitation! My son LOVED borrowing a skateboard and helmet for the day - for FREE, and he also LOVED the pool, hot tub and water slide which was very clean and supplied with many, many towels for guest use. I loved that coming out of the pool area there is a barrier stopping any kids from running out into the parking lot - that is HUGE with me as a mom with a son with special needs, who often runs without thinking of cars! Loved everything about The Zed!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Unique, but pricey for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included, location not close to any attractions by walking distance, no air conditioning, noisy road outside, construction across the road was an eyesore, the room had a bit of a musty smell, parking very tight.

    Free longboard rentals, vinyl listening station, ping pong tables. Colorful, quirky, nicely refurbished rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Get your Zzzs and have fun at the Zed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little closer to town would have been preferable but they shuttle you around in an old VW bus, so that makes up for it!

    Staff was super friendly and kind, went out of their way to show us the airstream out back. The design elements and furnishings in the rooms and common spaces were really cool and unique, I particularly liked the rotary phones.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    LOVED HOTEL ZED! SO RETRO AND GROOVY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    I loved everything about Hotel ZED as a lover of all things retro I just loved this place! So cool! The service was great, the room was spacious and very clean. Would stay here again in a heart beat! Also super great if you don't have a car as they have a shuttle to downtown Victoria.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    Cool place to stay with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The VW camper van as a shuttle, retro style and the pool

    My son is crazy about cars and this visit was for him, the pool and location for us was great. The room was small and it a noisy place to stay but it's in beatiful Victoria and was perfect for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Funky, fun in Victoria!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were cramped and we had only 1 bathroom in our 6-person suite...1 more would have been helpful. Mobile website was terrible-- Amenities in a suite were not clear/-it would have helped us plan better.

    Staff was great! Helpful and friendly. You could have used more of them --Morgan was quite busy at 9:30-11:30 and one other person would have helped move things along. Free bike rentals rocked! Coffee was awesome! Typewriters in lobby kept my kids entertained. Shuttle and driver John was fantastic and informative!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel if you like riding in old VWs or walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just how far out from Victoria it is. For its price you would think it was closer

    The restaurant was great. The staff were great. The rooms are super cool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.3
    Cool motel but far from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is quite far on foot from the town centre and opposite a building site on a busy main road. The bathroom wasn't great and we didn't find the room well ventilated. While there are good facilities there are a lot of kids so it's quite hard to enjoy the hot tub and pool if you don't have kids yourself. Would be nice to have some kid-free time for the facilities e.g. In the evening or early morning. Overall while the staff were friendly and the decor is fun, for what we paid it didn't feel great value.

    The diner was excellent, with great breakfast, and the decor was cool. It also had a pool and hot tub though there were quite a lot of children so not so relaxing. It's a motel, so you can park right outside with ease.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy but to be expected from an older property. Thin blankets too...

    The pool and hot tub were lovely. We also liked the retro theme...nice and clean too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    Awesome fun cool place with a xcellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much sound proofing from out side so if when people were talking outside at night it was very loud in the room. Also m, although free team and coffee is available 24/7 in reception, I did not like the inconvenience of having to leave my room in the morning to get. I would have preferred a kettle to be available on the room.

    This will place is really cool to look at with typewriters in the reception. Bicycles and longboards to loan for free. Ping pong tables and a wii for guests to access for free. A pool and a hot tub. All really cool, I would say caters to the young adult traveler.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Simple but outstanding good motel style accommodation with unique design
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC

    Very nice renovated and designed rooms. Motel style but really nice. Can recommend the ZED for families, we stayed there with 3 people. Nice pool with hot tub and water slide. Clean and quite. No AC but portable fans in the room. Price very reasonable, free bicycles provided. Many restaurants close by, we went every morning to Deny's which is 50m away to avoid waiting for a table at the crowded hotel breakfast room (not free, seems to be a concessional business). Would stay there again anytime.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.4
    No croissants ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No brekky...no coffee in room. Way over priced ! Only reason we came was for visit to see very sick friend. 460 bucks for two nights is insane ! This is one reason we don't travel anymore. Thanks....but no thanks.

    No croissants ?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    The slide is the most fun you will ever have-book now!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Waiting to speak with the hotel clerk; The lobby can get quite busy and chaotic! There were no lockers at the pool/hottub; My new-to-me hand-me-down dress was inadvertently taken and never returned. The iron had melted black plastic on it, I didn't noticed and ruined the work shirt I was ironing :(

    The staff were extremely welcoming and attentive. They treated me like family, were always smiling and willing to help. They were also genuinely curious about me, my stay and where I came from. I felt like I had friends at the front desk! Staying in the airstream was an absolute blast! It has its own deck, a luxury so many hotel rooms don't have. The slide is the most fun you will ever have. Book now!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: