Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bow View Lodge 3 stars

228 Bow Avenue, T1L 1A5 Banff, Canada

#34 of 46 hotels in Banff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 941 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Paid WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved the location so convenient for Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two Double Beds Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it abit much to have to pay for the wi-fi was really the only negative during our dtay

    Loved the location so convenient for Banff. The rooms were large and well equipped and the staff helpful and polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Close to the centre of town and parking on site very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door very hard to open, needed help to work out how to use the bathroom taps and tv, wifi not included in tariff

    Close to the centre of town and parking on site very important on a holiday weekend in summer, access to facilities from neighboring, fancier hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.3
    Not bad view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible beds, room way too small, bathroom even smaller and with no fan, not enough towels, NO INFO provided about anything and staff barely responded with answers like "the pool is in the other building" but should have added "go all the way through the underground carpark, take the stairs up a level, go to the left and persevere with your pass card for as long as it takes to get the pool door open". Ruined our stay in Banff!

    Not bad view from the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.4
    Pretty good stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no central air. It was unbearable and stuffy. We cracked the back door open for the last 2 nights because we couldn't stand the sound of the fan. If I has known, we would have stayed at Banff Lodge.

    Location on the river and central to everything in Banff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Fixer Upper In a Great Neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, pay for wifi, and outdated decor. The beds are very hard, and only a few outlets in the room.

    Location, view of the Bow river, walking distance to town, canoe/kayak rentals, and nearby trails. Also great you can use the next door Banff Park Lodge's swimming pool, sauna, and exercise bikes for free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    River views located in the heart of Banff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location overlooking the Bow River locactsted in the Centre of town. I am not a coffee drinker so when I asked for hot water for my tea the staff gave me a kettle, spoons and a mug, which made my stay much better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Good on a budget, short walk to main street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was not great, seemed not that cool, fairly simple rooms, a bit dated

    Close to walk to the main strip, Banff relatively expensive so this was good on the budget for average-good accommodation. Spent money on the sight seeing tours and wouldn’t change that!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free WiFi!!!! For the price of the hotel free WiFi could be thrown in. Also can’t make local calls without being charged.

    Close to everything. Short walk to downtown and Central Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Wonderful location overlooking the Bow River and convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showing its age. Tired looking and dated but then it’s room rate does reflect that

    Wonderful location overlooking the Bow River and convenient to the town centre without the disturbance of the nightlife

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Shabby but not very chic - good value for money though in Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although our room was clean and relatively recently decorated the first impression is that it’s all a bit shabby. Annoyingly you have to pay for the Wi-fi. However if you have breakfast next door you can use their Wi-fi for free.

    Location and staff. Also it’s worth paying extra for the river view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location, big bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room with river view was a view of a road and parking with the river in the background. The hotel is outdated and the room was cluttered with random furniture. The tv has hardly any channels.

    Good location, big bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Spacious room at good price near Banff city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi. Had to pay CAD100 cash as deposit upon check in, not sure if this was mentioned in booking and it's refundable, but still quite a surprise and could be inconvenient for travellers depending on payment with credit card. No free breakfast.

    Room is spacious, short walking distance from city centre with about the most economic price in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean but outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor is very outdated, and TV is big and old school! You had to pay for wifi, but it wasn't too much.

    The location was excellent, right near town and the bow river. It was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice view, no air con and hard bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no Air Con but that was noted in the description. What was bad was that the window didn’t open and the sliding door could not be secured. Advisory to close the door at night. So no air into the room. Bed was rock hard. Ok for one night.

    Right on the Bow River. Lovely view and balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    We had a very comfortable stay in a nice room with a river view and a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very good for getting into town. Just a short walk takes you into the centre with all the resraurants bars etc. Comfortable with good facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no microwave for guests to use.

    The hotel was clean and right on the river. Also, the location was very convenient to town and the highway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    This has to be the best value place to stay in Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two Double Beds Room with River View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicer chairs and a table on the balcony - and free WiFi !!

    This has to be the best value place to stay in Banff. OK yes it could do with some tlc and modernisation but if you want a clean comfortable room and don't plan to spend all day every day in your hotel bedroom (and quite frankly you don't come to Banff to stay indoors !!) with a fantastic location in the heart of everything you'd be hard pushed to find better. Tip: upgrading to a river view room is well worth the extra cost

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry in another building fitness centre was in another building and never made it there pool in other building. Restaurant in other building not impressed. And one night was 115 and the other night was 186 or close to that not impressed but that was my fault but I a was not happy every thing was in another building

    It was a clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little over-full of furniture. Hotel have policy to overcharge your credit card at check in just in case you incur extra charges but it then takes up to a week for the amount to be adjusted to your actual bill. Customers should be told this in advance.

    Excellent river and mountain views, comfortable bed and plenty of cupboard space

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    I’d stay here again 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV is almost vintage

    It’s a step back in time yet clean and well maintained. The location is very quiet and extremely close to the Bow river. The balcony door is great to let the mountain flow through the room and the bed is comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location on Bow River
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little old but well worth the money paid for the location.

    The location was great. We had a Queen Riverview room and had a lovely view of the Bow River. We could see beavers crossing the river at sundown and had a couple of elk and deer visitors! Jess on reception was particularly helpful during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Big 3 quin bed room for low price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big 3 quin bed room for low price. Pretty clean everywhere. Was a problem with the sink, water didn't drain fast. Wi-Fi for extra charge 5$ per day (REALLY?!!). Couldn't reach front desk from my room, phoned them 3 hours in a row, and always busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The river view and balcony was amazing and the bed was super comfortable. The wifi was fast and never dropped out, and we were happy to pay the extra for it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice mid-week stay in Banff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wifi.

    Rooms were clean and nice, if a bit dated. Very close to Bow River pathway and on a quiet street. Very close to all the action on Banff Avenue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Clean and quiet, but the unhelpful staff really put a damper on our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately some of the staff are not very helpful or informative, which really affected our stay. We were surprised to find out that the advertised pool, restaurants, etc. were actually in another hotel. We were also surprised that we had to pay for internet access.

    The location is great, very quiet. The rooms are clean, and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    We liked the location.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is out dated. Renovation and upgrading some appliances will not hurt.

    We liked the location. Walking distance to downtown Banff. Free wifi as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    We liked the bed its not that soft nor hard just right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were just a bit disappointed about the pool be because on the website it says that the pool is just on the hotel where in reality we needed to go out from the hotel and walked outside just to go to the other hotel's pool.

    We liked the bed its not that soft nor hard just right. I liked the sofa bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Met our needs and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room with 2 double beds is small. Had to pay for Wi Fi.

    The location was great, within walking distance to the Greyhound station, downtown and along Bow River. Good value for money. The staff was very helpful. Free shuttle to Sunshine Village and Norquay.Met

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good. Front desk was very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No leaks in the roof. Heated room with proper heat control. Running water and toilet facility. All the creature comforts necessary. No rowdy neighbors at time of stay - could sleep if you wanted to. If you're not a princess this place is way better than sleeping in an abandoned bear den. Price and facility more than agreeable for the average cat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for the money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were small and dated but fine for the amount of time spent in the room. Parking is limited unless you want to pay but this is probably common in Banff. Used RV parking in the winter.

    Probably best bargain in Banff. Good value for the money. Great downtown location and quiet near river with some great walking possibilities either downtown or along river. Exceptional views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable room with lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything except perhaps that we couldn't check in early as requested, but that was understandable as it does take time to get rooms ready.

    The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. We loved the view of the frozen river and the mountains in the distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Early check-in and late check-out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic, everything is old, needs renovation. Wi-fi in additional charge 5 dollars per night. Old-fashioned TV hidden in the cabinet. No breakfast options in the hotel.

    Early check-in and late check-out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How the TV was situated, opened the doors and couldn't see it from one of the beds close to the window or couch. It should be on top. Bathroom is way too small.

    Proximity, quiet, fantastic views

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    Could've been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot was cramped. Having to go to another building for a cold pool wasn't great. My tub drain was clogged and the coffee maker didn't work . but I guess for the price I paid that's what I get

    It was ok for the price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    A very good stay in Banff facilitated by the hotel's convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't enough storage space. The room was a little cramped.

    The location was conveniently central so Banff's central facilities were within easy walking distance. The room temperature was reliably comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Well worth the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot tub and swimming facilities are not in the Lodge and you have to walk outside to get to them. Not a big deal, just wasn't expecting this.

    The room was a little too warm at night and mine was on the ground floor so I was weary to leave my window open all night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    Just fine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I remember staying here about 5 years ago and liking it a lot more. Mostly clean but door looked like it had a bit of mold. Also it was so darn hot even when you turned the heat down. Overall not bad for what you pay though!

    Excellent location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    Fair, solid choice for a night in Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some parts in the carpet that were stained. Not the cleanest of places, but you get what you pay for.

    The room met our standards. Nothing extravagant or fancy. Just a good room for staying near Banff downtown.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    It was not bad anyway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have pool in diferent hotel. Which means you need to walk outside almost naked then underground garage ... elevator. Every hotel i was in so far had a fridge in the room. You guys dont

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Great value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing if you are looking for a trendy place this is not right place

    Location and value this is a good place if you plan to be active and busy this is not a place where you hang out all day we love location price and simplicity

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.8
    Seems like this hotel is on the verge of falling apart.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium King Room with River View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Most of the lights did not work in my room. 2x my room key just stopped working. The heat was on way to high and there was no way to turn it down. I don't understand why we would have to pay $5/day for wifi.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Close to everything and good value for the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Behind the bed there was an electrical outlet that crackled and had no cover. The bed was right against the wires so I had to move the bed away from the outlet. A bit of a weird experience. The beds were rock hard so if you want "plush"...this isn't for you.

    It was close to everything and the parking was convenient. Also liked that you could use a pool and facilities close by. The price was reasonable. I like that it had a mini fridge and a tub.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Really affordable and pleasant place to stay during our conference.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The parking lot is a little cramped, but we were told that we could park in an adjacent hotel's parking garage if it was ever full.

    The concierge was helpful in recommending us places to see in town. The rooms were warm and clean when we returned at the end of the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay for a couple nights on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool or hot tub is in a separate building which is the hotel next door. So you have to take all your stuff with you to go use it. Not as nice as having one in the hotel where you can just go in your shorts and tshirt with a towel in winter and back again. Parking gets full really quick. Just have to park and walk into town as it’s nice and close to the center.

    Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was clean and nice. Location is great. Really close to walk into the center to restaurants and the shops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful staff. Extremely clean hotel. It's a no frills place, but is really exceptional value for the price! Guests can use the pool at their sister hotel (across the parking lot, new and fancy!). Located in the centre of Banff which is especially nice if you are out there when it's cold outside! You won't need to worry about walking all the way down Banff Avenue (where many other hotels are located) in the freezing cold. Also it's right by the river, where there is a lovely path. I'll note the negatives, in case one of these is a deal-breaker for you when booking a trip. Sound insulation between rooms is great, but between the room and the hallway, not so much. We didn't have any problems with noise when we stayed, but you could certainly hear people moving two and fro. The beds are comfy but the pillows aren't great. Those are the only negatives in my view - overall, you will not be sorry booking here!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.0
    Worth of my budget and that was only strength.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking space is too small and I requested the crib for my baby bit it was stinky and dirty. Many stains on the crib so I didn't use it.

    The location was convenience easy to go to Banff centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.4
    Just nice to be in Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleaning chemical odors were too much for me. They made me sick the first nite stay. Thank you for the room change. Bathroom exhaust fans do not work. Gross! The carpet shampoo residue just lingers in the hallways, (sickening) , why not a water rinse after shampoo?

    Queen room, view. Our room was rated handicap so the extra space was appreciated. Like the patio door to deck ,even in winter weather we used it every once in a while.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is pretty old and crossing the parking lot to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is pretty old and crossing the parking lot to the pool wasn't ideal but doable. I can not for the life of me understand paying what we did and being charged extra for wifi and extra to use the phone in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Great stay place for ski in revelstoke
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if breakfast could provide some meat(like sausage) or eggs will be great for the customer.

    value for the price. breakfast, yogurt, fruit, bread, juice,etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location and ok value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allowed to borrow a kettle but not a microwave. Lift was very slow. Previous guest rubbish left in the room. Lack of power outlets in the room.

    Large room with patio. (Good for warmer months)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.4
    A horrible anniversary weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My hubby has a sore back because of the bed, we come here every year for our Anniversary and our room is amazing with a view of the mountains and river,this year we received a tiny room with the view of a parking lot and another hotel! Thanks for ruining our anniversary bow view !! Your terrible !😔 I also asked for another room and they refused ! I also paid too much for a crappy room

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall, was a perfect weekend in Banff due to our stay at the bow view lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for wifi.

    Rooms were comfy and kept neat, and the view was great. The location was perfect as well, and being able to use the swimming pool in the other building was a bonus!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    The room was really clean and it was nice to have a balcony.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little too hard for my taste and our room wasn't noice proof from the room beside us.

    The room was really clean and it was nice to have a balcony.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Had a wonderful experience and romantic getaway :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that we had to pay for WiFi when next door it was free. Had to walk across to Banff lodge to access pool and hot tub facilities, this was not made clear in the description

    I enjoyed the river view and the quaint room. Location was great, really close to the downtown. Staff was super helpful in suggestions for massage and dinner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Would gladly return when we have our next convention in Banff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was tight because lodge was at full capacity during our stay.

    The location right next to the river would be great for anyone wishing to use the walking paths.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.6
    The view from our room was beautiful and it's a short...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff on our first night gave us the impression that she hated her job and couldn't be bothered to help answer a few questions. The hotel says it has a pool, it does not. The pool is located at the sister hotel next door. You access that by walking outside and then entering the parking garage of the next door hotel, then you walk through the garage until you happen upon the elevator. There are no signs indicating where to go if you are coming from the Bow Valley Lodge. The bed was quite uncomfortable and the neighbors partied until 2:30am on the second night. A complaint call was made. I do believe someone did come up promptly to check on the noise but that resulted in quieter partying and door slamming. Overall, we were quite disappointing in the stay.

    The view from our room was beautiful and it's a short walk into town which are the best features of this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Great location but Not so good ammenities
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was in a different hotel across the parking lot which we had to walk there and there was no free wifi or microwave. The room that we stayed in was a little small so our neighbors made a noise complaint on us even tho we weren't even loud

    The property was close to downtown which made it easy to walk to places

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.0
    Location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a non smoking room that smelled like smoke heavily. Also smelled like men's cologne. As I have an allergy to smoke this made my stay very uncomfortable.

    Location and price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Good cheaper option for a stay in Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a room with a connecting door and could clearly hear the neighbours conversation and the people in the hallway. Pretty loud.

    Very short walk to shops and restaurants and the river trail. The hotel is older and the furnishings are dated, but it is well kept and very clean and a great place to stay for a reasonable price in banff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location and hot tub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were generally unhelpful and unfriendly. Rooms could do with a microwave and set of cutlery etc. Cable was annoying with hundreds of channels but access to few.

    Good location. Close to town and ski resort bus stop. Great having access to hot tub and jucuzzi at Banff Park Lodge after skiing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.1
    Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no microwave but could rent one for $15/night? Instead we were able to use the one in their sister hotel next door but very awkward and inconvenient. The tv was very outdated.

    It was cheap and effective for the one night we wanted to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    I would stay here again. Was a little pricey but it WAS peak season so to be expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The description also says " A cable TV, seating area, and private bathroom are provided in each room." and further says "TV • Telephone • Radio • Cable Channels ". Sadly we could only get about 2 channels to work on the TV. I rang reception and was advised that "that's all thats available at the moment", then i asked how to access the Cable even if i was willing to PAY for a movie, and was advised that "no the Cable is not hooked up at the moment". So no TV for us over 3 nights of minus 30c degrees .... not good! The WiFi works 'okay', drops out from time to time and speed is workable but not 'high speed'. Lastly only a minor thing for some, but as the desctiption said "• Free toiletries •" I assumed this meant shampoo and conditioner.... I was wrong. There was shampoo and body wash. Not sure how many women shampoo their hair and NOT use conditioner, but it was another little annoyance.

    The front desk seemed to be manned 24/7. Helpful staff. The rooms whilst quaint were very clean and well maintained. The location is very handy to the main street and shopping precinct. We caught the Greyhound Bus and Bow View Lodge was only an 8 minute walk (with suitcases) from the bus station. We requested and enjoyed a River View, although for safety reasons the doors are locked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Lovely simple clean room with great staff and awesome location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast offered. Lots of close restaurants but would be nice to have something quick to grab before heading up skiing.

    Staff was so friendly a d helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Somewhat misleading from internet to what it actually looks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Says it has a pool and steam room but you actually have to walk across to other building to use. The facilities are great tho especially the eucalyptus steam room🖒

    Somewhat misleading from internet to what it actually looks like.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.5
    Was not a great experience
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean room Poor lighting To cold room , ineffective heating system Complicated access to the pool and fitness centre you have to go out in the extremely cold weather in order to get in the swimming pool ,restaurant or fitness centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Great Christmas Holiday. Lots of good memories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not a lot. Perhaps a covered walkway over to the Park View for restaurants and pool??

    Welcoming staff with local knowledge. Clean and comfortable bedroom. Good amount of space in the room for luggage. Impressed would book again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.8
    it was a good thing we spent most of our time out in Banff than in this lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description was very off from the website. Everything in the room was very dated, old carpet,a tv from 1996, and the lights didn't work all the time.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Great budget Banff stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold weather and draft through glass doors made the room a bit cold. But they provided an extra heater.

    Nice clean room. Handy location to town centre. Reasonable price during high season Room on 2nd floor with balcony and view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    3.3
    Hotel is outdated and is not worth the price i waa charged
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its outdated no free internet pool jacuzzi restaurants were in a hotel across the street not inside the hotel we were staying at I asked the hotel to change the sheets the bed was made but the sheets were never changed

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    No better location/price/facilities combo! The hot tub/pool area is amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a fancy place but the beds are comfy and rooms are clean. The best part is nothing beats the location and being able to use the facilities at the Sister hotel Banff park lodge across the Parking lot make it the best stay for price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Our stay was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful, we moved over to Banff Park Lodge on the third day the rooms were a lot bigger. The staff moved all our stuff over and it was better over there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Great location, dated hotel but good for the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn’t explain the leisure facilities and when asked about wifi , was informed “yes we do have it but there is a charge !”

    Excellent location,dated hotel but comfortable for the price paid.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    We would definitely return to this location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were fold out style and not the most comfortable. The pool and hot tub were in another building.

    The suite was large and bright with a small fridge and microwave. There were 2 TVs as well as a sitting area. We loved that that the shower was in a separate room from the water closet - there were two areas for getting ready in the morning. The hotel was within walking area of everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.0
    The beds were very uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were very uncomfortable. The hotel is in a great location, but next time I would pay more to stay at their sister hotel, the Banff Park Lodge. If you don't mind the hard beds, the Bow View is a good value for what we paid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfy, retro, great value, peaceful location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plug in for the coffee maker didn't work so we had to move it to another spot. The bathroom tap was very stiff and hard to turn on. Small things that did not affect our overall enjoyment.

    There were 3 chairs, a small table and a sofa bed in our premium king room - perfect to meet up with friends before dinner.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: