Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ByWard Blue Inn 3 stars

157 Clarence Street, K1N 5P7 Ottawa, Canada

#12 of 56 hotels in Ottawa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2731 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Third year in a row , because we like location, staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it’s a heritage building, no central air. They have units that are a little loud.

    Third year in a row , because we like location, staff, cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Location, in the heart of downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking too tight Have to pay additional for parking

    Location, in the heart of downtown. Walkable distance to parliment area and bridge. Good breakfast with multiple options

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, would stay sgain
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The white curtains did allow the sun to wake you in the morning early and the noise from the free standing air conditioner made it difficult to sleep, but better to have some air than not at all.

    Perfect location for getting around on foot, close to a large selection of dining, sightseeing, shopping.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    The location is excellent, walking distance to all the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two bedroom suite comprised two rooms both with a double bed, which I hadn't expected as a room suitable for a family would normally have one of the rooms as a twin. To be fair, the hotel provided a folding bed free of charge. The inner room had no windows and was very hot. It also had the kitchenette in.

    The location is excellent, walking distance to all the main sights. Comfortable bed. Secure parking. Afternoon tea was a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    It was perfect. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the full breakfast, complimentary teas/coffees. The room had the right balance of comfort, luxury and feeling right at home. Also loved the art that decorated the room, the stairwell

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    General facilities would require renewal

    Location is perfect, really close to the main activities to do in Ottawa. Close to restaurants and shopping center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was chalanging onsite parking unavailable. Parking garage located near by 16.00$ per day.

    Convenient location, Discription of room on Booking.com was accurate, neither over or under stated. Complimentary breakfast wexceded my expectations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    The location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner in the room was very noisy!

    The location was ideal. Close to the attractions and so many restaurants within 5 minutes walk. No need for a car. The breakfast was excellent. Lots of choice both hot and cold.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful hosting; comfortable bed; delicious breakfasts; clean room; easy walk to downtown; quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked: the continental & hot breakfasts; excellent coffee; well-stocked kitchenette; cold bottled water in the fridge; lovely furnished patio outside our room; 3:00 tea-time; fabulous housekeepers!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Given the location, cleanliness and breakfasts, a great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking stalls are small so we should have rented a small vehicle. We ended up with the inconvenience of parking on the street.

    This property is in the ideal location, very close to the entertainment area yet quiet for sleeping. Overall it is a three star hotel but the location cannot be beat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is located just a few minutes of walking distance from the ByWard Market and other major attractions. Yet, it is quiet and free from traffic noise. The room relatively big, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    The location is great and I liked that it wasn’t a chain.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy. The retro fitted air conditioner was really noisy and there was a lot of street sounds

    The location is great and I liked that it wasn’t a chain.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Location, balcony, friendly and knowledgeable staff, self...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance issues with toilet and bath ( although fixed promptly). Tub very slippery when wet - I slipped and fell onto bathroom floor. Bath mats must be requested - should have been supplied before accident.

    Location, balcony, friendly and knowledgeable staff, self contained rooms, breakfast and afternoon tea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    highly recommended in the middle of town, loved the balcony too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    toilet was leaking

    morning breakfast and afternoon tea great , the location absolutely fabulous balcony was an added bonus we would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    The perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The twin beds were comfortable, but double would have been that much better ;)

    The location was ideal if visiting the ByWard market area. If you've never visited the ByWard market area, I highly suggest it! It met and exceeded any expectation we may have had. Can't wait to come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We liked the breakfast, the cleanliness of the room and loved the comfortable bed and pillows. The hotel has an excellent location near ByWard Market.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    The location was great right in Byward Market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of a thing

    The location was great right in Byward Market. Smaller hotel. Morning coffee on your personal balcony. Good size room. Kitchen section stocked with dishes,glasses and kettle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely comfy hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that happy that we had to pay car parking fees as advert said parking available

    Excellent. Location literally a few mins walk to centre rooms had balconies which was a real bonus slippers and dressing gown were provided excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location close to everything, fantastic breakfasts, nice room; all you could need!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts were truly excellent, lots of variety and always fresh. Afternoon tea was lovely and a nice treat when we were around. The location was excellent, right in the heart of everything. Having a balcony with the room was nice to sit outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    One of its kind - value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room with kitchenette and balcony, good breakfast , one of its kind-evening tea, with a spread of snacks and many more like- all day coffee etc. Value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Extremely comfortable hotel in excellent location run by very helpful and well organised staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Loved this hotel. It is extremely well run. They even printed out something for me for free. This hotel had a great verandah and lots of little things to make your stay very comfortable. The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    We were greeted with afternoon tea when we arrived. A most pleasant surprise after a day of driving
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, friendly and helpful staff. A few minutes walk to Parliament Bldgs, National Gallery etc and all that ByWard Market has to offer. Excellent breakfast in a lovelly sunny room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Attractive hotel in ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was in the public car park next door (15 dollars a day) - but that seems to be the case for most centrally located hotels in Ottawa.

    Attractive hotel, great location on the edge of Byward market, close to Rideau canal and Parliament Hill and a pleasant walk to a number of sites in Ottawa, including the National Art Gallery and Canadian Museum of History. Our room was very comfortable and had a lovely balcony from which we could see the Parliament building. Wifi was good and fridge and microwave and cups, plates, cutlery, etc, were useful. The breakfast was excellent - choice of hot food, fresh fruit, cereal, breads. Coffee and tea available all day and there was afternoon tea/coffee and biscuits!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely clean hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Objected to having to pay car parking fees even though it was next door to the hotel.

    Excellent location good breakfast nice balcony a lovely touch was having robes and slippers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    I had a great time there the locations is just perfect the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a great time there the locations is just perfect the breakfast is so delicious and there are many varieties ,and having a balcony was so nice . Ireally enjoyed my stay in Ottawa. And definitely next time l will stay here

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Com fans safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    I liked the feeling that your business is appreciated, the staff is very nice and helpful. Just an all around great experience, will be back for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is somewhat small. Noisy a/c. Not really a suite from my perspective since there is only a microwave.

    Clean room, friendly staff, very good breakfast, very good location close to everything without being in city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect overnight getaway downtown Ottawa for Victoria Day weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to Byward Market yet quiet location. Friendly reception staff, easy check-in, transparent check-out. Room spotless and comfortable. Good quality bedding. Fantastic breakfast! Parking $12, great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing it was great

    Very well situated ,Super ffriendly ,so clean ,just loved the balcony ,Breakfast that was free was so so good and nice to have a cafe and tea in the afternoon . SUPER TIME ,SUPER place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    I keep going back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the heart of the city, yet among low-rise buildings so feels surprisingly less urban. Just the right size. Good quality linens, all the basic amenities at hand, generous and varied breakfast options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay, would definitely recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy at night, if your window is open. I guess that is the trade-off for being on the edge of Byward Market and so close to restaurants with outdoor patios.

    It was a great location, close to Byward Market and lots of restaurants, and short walk to Parliament buildings. Room was simple but had absolutely everything we needed. Great continental breakfast with lots of choices. Breakfast staff was very attentive to guests needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Ottawa break
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attention to detail with the teapot and kettle in the room, afternoon tea, umbrellas to borrow and an excellent breakfast. Good, friendly staff and great access to Ottawa sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay and enjoyed the balcony after a full day of sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a top sheet on the bed. I will bring one next time.

    The complimentary breakfast was very good. The availability of umbrellas right in the entry was very handy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall enjoyed the stay very much. Great value for the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a bit outdated and the view from the balcony was disappointing. Looked straight at the building behind the hotel. Never used the balcony as a result and kept curtains closed.

    The staff is very friendly and responsive. The breakfast and complimentary afternoon tea were a great surprise, entire family enjoyed it very much. Tea, Coffee etc. were available all day long. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and perfect location, very close to all museums and attractions. Walking distance to everything you want to see in Ottawa as well as to great restaurants, stores and Byward market.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tight parking space.

    We liked the clean and cozy room. Well equipped kitchenette with all necessary utensils and dishes. Staff is very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    The Inn is a great value for your travel budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can't ask for a better location then the ByWard Blue Inn. Situated on Clarence Street, you're only steps from the ByWard Market area with its great restaurants, pubs and shops. You're also within easy walking distance of Ottawa's major attractions. We were there specifically for their Tulip Festival which was absolutely beautiful. The Inn's full breakfast was also delicious and convenient. Even though they don't have a "business center," they readily let you borrow their laptop so you can check-in for your departing flight(s). We found it easiest to take a taxi both from and to the airport (at the rate of approx. $35 Canadian).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    It'd book this again in Ottawa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit basic but this is only a minor issue.

    Fantastic location in the heart of Byward Market. Room (5th floor) had good views and a balcony! It was clean and tidy and very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    We are so glad that we chose Byward Blue Inn for our weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More parking spots although we didn't have an issue parking, we did get the last spot in the garage.

    The complimentary breakfast was great and the dining room was a nice bright clean place to enjoy a meal. The staff were very friendly. Our room was incredibly clean and the balcony was a lovely bonus. Great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit old property.

    Very clean, great location- walkable to some good restaurants & bars, right next to the parking garage. Balcony was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    A hidden gem in Byward Market.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at all.

    I can't praise it highly enough. Good room, great breakfast, complimentary afternoon tea, excellent location on the edge of Byward Market. Easy access to a wide variety of cuisines, and also to downtown Ottawa. If we go to Ottawa again we'll definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    For the adventuresome traveler who likes to be within walking of cultural sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After dark this is a teenage dominated neighborhood & on weekends gets a little wild. There are lots of pubs & the gatherings can get noisy & argumentative. We were awakened at 2:00am by the police dispersing a group of girls who were starting to get out of control.

    Unique inn with quirky, comfortable charm. Within walking of National Gallery, Rideau Canal & symphony. Nice breakfasts and delightful balconies.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    2.9
    That breakfast was free (not great) and we had a balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was old and small. The reviews and pictures on the website would likely have been from their one decent room. Advertising was misleading and so were the reviews about breakfast. They did not have a crib for our baby, even though we requested one when booking and offered a cot instead (that our baby fell out off) and reduced the floor space in our room to even less. It was tiny and uncomfortable. Staff was not accomodating but ever so eager to receive payment. Do not recommend.

    That breakfast was free (not great) and we had a balcony attached to our room. Fair location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean comfortable boutique hotel in the centre of Ottawa's major attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location. 17min leisure walk to Parliament Hill, National Gallery and Notre Dame Basilica. Lots of restaurants and pubs within 10 min walking distance. Secure onsite basement car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could always be less expensive but very reasonable pricing

    Great location, friendly staff and free breakfast included! Great value for price at $150/night after taxes!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Best surprise on my trip and if I go againto Ottawa, I sure want to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was my third hotel in Canada on my 13 days/5 cities trip and again the wifi was really bad with speed was extremely slow (1.6Mb/0.5Mb)

    Best hotel I had in Canada. Simple, clean and charming. If I go there again, the hotel will be my TOP option. Staff was nice and room had a balcony with city view - I could see the St. Brid´s Centre for the Arts which looks like a church. Room was a Kitchenette style, so it had minifridge, microwave, coffee maker, dish and silverware. Also had iron and iron board and in room safe. Shower was excellent... really! I am even recommending the hotel to a friend from a travel agency. Excellent location with walking distance to many bars, pubs, market stores and attractions like Fairmont Château (9min), CF Rideau Centre (8min), Notre-Dame Cathedral Basilica (8min), the Memorial Chamber (17min), St. Peter Lutheran Church (27min), Monument to the Canadian Fallen (18min) and of course 4min to the Byward Market. BTW, you can walk 2min to York St and you can see the Ottawa city sign to take a picture. Parking was available at the hotel but you need to arrange in advance. Parking in Canada is difficult. Breakfast was the best in Canada. Let me see if I can get it in order: sausage or bacon, potatoes, eggs, a cheese and egg bagels sandwich, vegetables quiche, bread, butter, peanut butter, cream cheese, cakes, yogurt, coffee, tea, milk, fruits and juices. There is a 5pm tea at the hotel, but we were walking the city all day so I cannot report this, but for all the services, it should be good. I liked the hotel so much that I have many pictures!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good location, close to all tourist attractions and in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some hard-to-reach places were a little bit dusty

    Very good location, close to all tourist attractions and in the same time pretty quietly. We took a free upgrade for our room, thanks for that. Great view from balcony. Breakfast didn’t have a variety of food, but everything was good and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee, both in the breakfast and in the room.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel location was very good, everything was in order. Room has nice facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    A lovely little inn. If the price is split between several parties, then it’s very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of an issue, and the walls are thin, so you can hear your neighbors. Also the bathroom door was awkward to get around to open and close. Could use some updating for sure.

    It was exactly what we needed, a cozy spot for a girls weekend! Beds were comfortable and we had everything we needed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Okay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one TV remote for two TVs and it didn't work. little candle type light on table did not work. No plug for the bath tub. So dark in the dining area we could not see anything. Minute parking space and tiny entrance to garage. And a very strange "tea" - gummy bears in a jar!!! - but the other food was fine if a bit odd.

    Excellent location. Very clean, most comfortable bed, good bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Loved the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the parking lot. The parking lot they offer, is an public one in the centre. Just fine and not that expensive if you keep your car parked. Expected a parking lot from the hotel just for guests.

    Location was just perfect. Staff friendly and breakfast was fine. Good bed. Option to borrow umbrella at reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    An appropriate place for visiting all the important must see places. They are in a walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The kitchenette in the room was well equipped, we used it instead of going out because of severe (according to us) weather conditions. The breakfast was wonderful. The service of free tea and coffee all day long and pastries around 5pm was something extra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Very satisfied
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be better to have more options of coffee.

    The environment into hotel is relaxing and comfortable. They provide both breakfast and afternoon tea. Staffs are friendly and willing to help anytime.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Would go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather Not in anyone's control But you supplied umbrellas!

    Breakfast buffet Afternoon open for tea snacks cozy fireplace. Loves the blue abstract art Cozy and comfy perfect for our trip close to walking most tourist areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful little Inn in a great location that has amenities that larger hotels don't have.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that I didn't like.

    The room and Inn itself was very clean. It was an added bonus to have afternoon tea. Unfortunately, the weather was horrible so I could not enjoy the patio but I would love to return in good weather. Location was perfect..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay, very central, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was good.

    Breakfast was amazing! Had a ham and cheese sandwich, which they prepare themselves and a veggie wrap and I was full. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Homey feel and balcony to stand on.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    Homey feel and balcony to stand on. Having 2 single most comfortable beds and nice pillows. Would definitely stay there again. The staff super nice and they even held our luggage at front desk while we waled to Parliament Building etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was clean and close to all sights you could walk and didn't need a car. Very good breakfast that included eggs hash browns bacon toast and yougurt. Then at 3-5pm they had snacks with coffee and tea! The service was excellent from all staff. Very nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Over was a great stay and would come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a what was called a 2 bedroom suite . There was only one room and the other room was ajoined with the kitchen. Also lighting was very poor I had to move one of the bedsaide lamps to the kitchen because there was no overhead light over the table . The one bedroom was super small , every time I rolled over while sleeping I would hit my head on the night stand . Also where we came in from the parking garage it stunk of smoke really bad .

    Loved the breakfast that was included with out stay . Excellent coffee , breakfast sandwiches, croissants, fruit anything you could think of . My favourite part was being able to make myself a cappuccino

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Great little hotel in wonderful part of Ottawa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was out of commission for the last day of our stay but the staff couldn’t have been more helpful and moved all our luggage to our car for us.

    They provide house coats and slippers in each room! Our room also had a balcony with table and chairs. No carpeting in the room either. LOTS of good restaurants within a block or two. Fun area of Ottawa with lots of photo ops. Small amount of parking available on site for guests, so contact them early to book... glad we did!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Quite a pleasant stay in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable place to stay. Extremely clean. Breakfast was wonderful and afternoon tea was delightful. The staff was extremely pleasant. Very well situated in Byward Market area. This was a great place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Location was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several things weren't working (bedside light and kettle). They would have taken care of it right away I'm sure. It's just surprising such basic amenities weren't checked.

    Location was great. Cleaning staff were lovely and full if smiles

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Liked how clean it all was and how the little kitchen area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have included more vegan options and better coffee.

    Liked how clean it all was and how the little kitchen area was stocked with utensils and napkins.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was included and had a great selection of menu...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was included and had a great selection of menu items. chose this location because it was close to the venue where we were attending a concert.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Byward Blue Inn is my home away from home in Ottawa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is limited underground parking at the hotel, but a large public lot is located next door.

    The Byward Blue Inn is my preferred place to stay in Ottawa. Centrally located, it is clean, comfortable and the friendly staff are excellent. I would not stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Really cozy. We enjoyed our stay at Byward Blue Inn so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff may need to put more smiles on their faces. 😊 The room should be a little bit more sound proofed.

    Atmosphere. Interior design. Friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    Front desk girl was rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk girl was rude. They couldn't give me my change because they don't keep money at the front desk? No parking. Room was extremely overpriced. We've stayed there before but one year later service was worse.Wouldn't stay again,location is good for Byward Market and shopping mall

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Realaxing and cosy stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Very confy bed with spotless good quality linen! Good breakfast! Very friendly and helpfull staffs! I was allowed to do check-in two hours before the right time and I was upgraded to a better room! Great to met two brazilians girls workings there! Carla and Mirena! Thanks to everybody!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good stay for money spent.
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains are NOT light blocking. Pillows were not as soft as we need.

    Hotel has a bit late check-in (4pm). I have arrived earlier and hotel; was able to accommodate my needs. Breakfast was really good. Next time I will definitely book the same hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    The location is OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is super small, bed is small and cheap. In the room the smell of chlorine used for cleaning was so strong I had to open the balcony door for 10 mins. Too much money for such a room.

    The location is OK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Cute room, breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t use the AC because “it’s too early in the season” which I get but at the same time some people are generally more warm. It tripped the breaker and when I called the desk the gentleman answering sounded annoyed like I should have known, but he didn’t tell me when I checked in about 10 min earlier. It was like I was being scolded. He said “I’ll reset it but just don’t use it again, okay?”

    Cute room, breakfast included. Most staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    A friendly, cozy and clean place within walking distance to many major tourist sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There is no on site parking and you have to park at a city facility next door for $15/24 hours. Luggage needs to be carried up a number steps to front entrance.

    The service was excellent. The breakfast was one of the best we have had in a hotel when included with the price. Hot food items were served and your tables cleaned by staff who were very friendly and helpful. The staff even helped us take out our luggage to the car.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast and location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We told the receptionist lady that we don’t have WiFi on the sixth floor and she said that it is working for her in the lobby. Did not offer to check on things or make some calls. Couldn’t feel that “the guest is always right”. She was very rude

    Breakfast and location was great. The room was very clean except one area carpet which hasn’t been vacuumed forever.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Close to the National Gallery and the Byward Market and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onsite parking is limited and difficult to use. Some electrical plugs were loose.

    Close to the National Gallery and the Byward Market and restaurants. Buffet breakfast is convenient and can be as leisurely as you wish. Artwork is quirky.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Friendly helpful staff, relatively small but very well...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff, relatively small but very well equipped room. Hotel had a good friendly feel, the free afternoon tea, which unfortunately we only had one opportunity to sample, was neat

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Extremely good location within 5-7 mins walk from all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -no free parking for the guests

    Extremely good location within 5-7 mins walk from all the sights Best breakfast we have experienced in Canada Nice interior design Comfortable bed and balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: