Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Canada hotel reviews
  3. Nova Scotia hotel reviews
  4. Sydney hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Cambridge Suites, Sydney

Reviews of Cambridge Suites, Sydney This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

380 Esplanade, B1P 1B1 Sydney, Canada

#3 of 8 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 395 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    9.2
    The room is very big and the location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disposable toiletries were not replenished in time.Overall, it was a good experience and I would recommend it!

    The room is very big and the location is very good. It is near the sea outside the hotel. Parking is convenient and waffles can be made for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    5.0
    we have stayed on multiple occasions and this was the first unpleasant experience we had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet was very wet in front of the bathroom The heating system was broke. Even with the heat turned completely off we still had to open the windows to sleep it was so hot.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.5
    I would stay again.
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The posted cost on Booking was $139.00 Final price was $171.10. I was not pleased that hotel guests need to pay for parking.

    Overall, it was a great stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay in Sidney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay for parking, breakfast could be better tasting, room is little outdated could use an upgrade.

    Spacious and clean room, quick check-in and check-out, great location and great view, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    This is the place to stay in Sydney- right on the water!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Although we had to eat at the bar the service and food was outstanding! Location with boardwalk helped us to walk and enjoy the harbor. Parking was easy and functional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    10
    Welcoming and Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My flight was delayed and I arrived hours later than planned. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. They upgraded my room to Harbour View which was perfect - as was the bed. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    7.5
    We arrived we left !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We went to the lounge to have a drink . they were using the lounge for dinner . We were a little surprised when asked if we had a resonation . We left disappointed !

    We liked the location of the hotel , water front was nice .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.2
    Staff and service was excellent and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furnishings could use a serious updating. Old worn out furniture and wall paper and carpet. Room was clean however and service was very good.

    Staff and service was excellent and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.8
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location was perfect. Right on the boardwalk on the Harbour. Walking distance to restaurants cafes etc. loved having access on laundry facilities on site

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and close to the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite with Harbor View with Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that was disappointing is that that you have to pay for parking and additional $7. You would think that that would be included in the stay. But it wasn't the end of the world.

    Very nice and close to the waterfront. Hotel suite was very nice an roomy. Beds were nice. View was very nice out of the harbor. Has little mini kitchen with microwave, sink and fridge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful spot to put up your feet after daytrips to nearby attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location and clean, comfortable room with lots of space and useful kitchen area. Staff were wonderful. The laundry room was easy to use. The bed was very comfortable and the room temperature control worked very well. We ordered from the restaurant to eat in our room and received very generous portions, very tasty! Highly recommend this hotel and would come back without hesitation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    9.6
    Great place on the boardwalk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms need a bit of an update but it was a perfect view and very comfortable.

    The staff were great. Very friendly. Courtney greeted me every night she worked and we had a chat about my day . Made me feel at home.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    10
    The price is worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly dated furnitures. One time Pet fee, more worth it for longer stays.

    Good quality breakfast buffet. Great location. Professional and welcoming receptionists. Spacious room/suite. Clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    10
    Cape Breton charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was huge with a separate sleeping quarters and had a view of the harbour and a window that actually opened so that you could hear the sounds of the harbour. The hotel staff were very friendly and the hotel was located on the boardwalk where there was a couple singing local songs every night and a very central location that was close to good restaurants and the cruise ship terminal. The hotel also had an an excellent well stocked breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    6.7
    A little pricey for what you get.
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At check out, the clerk at the front desk was not very friendly. It seemed to me that he did not enjoy his job, he was just going thru the motions.

    The waitress in the restaurant was very friendly. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    5.8
    Deceptive Photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pictures they show on line must have been when they first did up the room. Very very run down! Needs new everything inside. And the hot tub area is very rundown also. The hotel itself is very nice inside (lobby, halls) they just need to put some effort into their rooms. We tried to get into the restaurant for supper when we arrived, but they asked us if we had a reservation for supper. They were full until 8:00pm, so we had to go elsewhere when we were tired. Cleaning service isn't great! Left over towel from previous people in bathroom, spills of something down wall in hallway and blood on sheet in one of the beds. We were going to change hotels after we got there, but my two elderly parents were to tired and didn't want to leave. :(

    The size is good and the location is great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    5.0
    Check in girl was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to move room as toilet wasn’t working. Thin walls, very soft beds, breakfast not great, hotel in need of doing up.

    Check in girl was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was excellent, suite was large and spacious, comfortable bed, fabulous views, friendly staff, free room service, safe parking, couldn't ask for better.

    Location was excellent, suite was large and spacious, comfortable bed, fabulous views, friendly staff, free room service, safe parking, couldn't ask for better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    5.4
    Good location comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated and worn. Mold present around shower tile, wallpaper peeling off the wall, and carpets soiled. Staff wasn’t overly friendly but was efficient. Breakfast had a great deletion but the buffet was not well maintained. A lot of other travellers were complaining. Seems like 9am is the sweet spot to get the most variety of food.

    Good location comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    10
    Good location for exploring Cape Breton & accessible to the ferry for Newfoundland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Cenrally located to downtown & off the waterfront. Excellebt gym available together with a chill out roof top area, overlooking the straits.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location Generally pleased with accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On a previous visit two years ago, our room was stocked with kitchen equipment such as extra glasses, cutlery, dishes, etc. this time there was nothing although there was a note saying it could be provided on request. Because it's a full housekeeping suite, I would have expected that a few basics be immediately available like a few extra glasses and some basic cutlery.

    Well Located; beds comfortable; clean. The setup of the bathroom and bedroom was very convenient for use by more than two people. We appreciated that breakfast was served early and we were happy with the choices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous view from spacious suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Suite with Harbor View with Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed hurt my back and hot tub was broken as well as AC didn't get cold

    Fabulous breakfast, location is amazing, rooms are huge and have everything that you need, front desk was friendly and accommodating, and views from my room were absolutely gorgeous. We would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    9.6
    The room was very clean and the bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Suite with Harbor View with Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was ok but not great

    The room was very clean and the bed was comfy. We especially liked walking the board way along the Harbor next to the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    6.3
    We had dinner at the onsite restaurant and all were...
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service at checkin was very rushed. When I went back to get directions, the same staff member was very rude.

    We had dinner at the onsite restaurant and all were impressed with the good & service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    9.6
    A pathway to heavenly Cape Breton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Cambridge Suites restaurant is very well appointed with a great menu. Unfortunately a pre-planned tour bus meal delayed our order and we left without eating after a 60 minute wait.

    The property is well situated on Sydney's harbour and Sydney is well situated for touring Cape Breton. The Cape Breton Trail, Keltic Lodge and Glace Bay coal miners museum are all must sees. Do not miss the opportunity for dining at the Coal Miner Museum's restaurant - 10/10.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    parking lot was a bit of a walk to the lobby. Hard to load and unload bags, etc.

    Great location close to the Port of Sydney boardwalk, nice rooms, good breakfast which was included in the price of the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot tub needs to be replaced, completely rundown & broken. Carpets in hallways & suite soiled & smelly. Sofa & chair in suite old & soiled. Cleaning of suite not well done, smelt like stale cigarette smoke when we walked in.

    Best location & views, close to shopping & restaurants. Suite was spacious, comfortable & quiet. Fitness area good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.2
    We'd come again! Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drapes/curtains did not meet completely when drawn together in our 7th floor room; Special Measures were taken to insert pins to hold them together. Checkout staff were notified, but laundering means the fabric has shrunk... Breakfast buffet hot items could be perhaps varied a little more? Having more choice here would be better for those of us staying for more than one night.

    Very good location, we recommend the harbour view for the sunsets; and of course this side is away from the highway. Spacious rooms, comfortably furnished; comfortable bed with good support. Easy access to parking ($7/day?) and the harbourside boardwalk, which is a big positive for walkers or joggers. Restaurant standard of food and service for evening dinner is very good; we'd come again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.5
    Great Breakfast!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some things were a little dated (wall paper peeling back, old furniture).

    Very good hot breakfast included in the price. Great view. Nice walk along the boardwalk to the Cruise Ship Pavilion.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.1
    I have stayed at this facility many times over the years...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility is starting to age and it feels a little dark and dingy. I believe they replaced the carpet in our room and there seemed to be deposits of old glue possibly underneath. There were old used face cloths on the shower rod and we did not get housekeeping on our second day despite leaving out our "please clean sign" all day. When we arrived at almost 4 pm our room was not ready, however after a little negotiations they did upgrade and get us in a room right away.

    I have stayed at this facility many times over the years while visiting family. The location is great on the waterfront with an easy walk to many attractions, restaurants and bars. The restaurant onsite is excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    An awesome visit ...I will be back for sure ...ty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing i was dissappointed in ...was the coffee in room ...It could be a better quality .

    The staff were exceptionally friendly ...My most important thing .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Should be a key lock on the outside door to the parking lot for guests. I still like the idea the door Is locked overnight.

    Great staff. Good breakfast. Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    10
    Clean room, great staff and phenomenal restaurant!!
    • Solo traveler
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, everything was great

    The Trio dining room is exceptionally delicious!!! With great service. I really cannot day enough about the stay and experience there the staff were very friendly and amenities were fantastic. Nice sunsets in the jacuzzi!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.9
    1pm check out
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff member that checked me in was very loud and repeated all my personal information so everyone else could hear it. I was very unhappy with how rude and inconsiderate she was.

    1pm check out Most of the staff was very polite and easy to deal with.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    8.8
    Over all an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found that the veggies served with supper were bland, too many and not much flavor.

    They have great sausages there and nice selection of food ie cold and/or hot for breakfast. Every thing set out well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite with Harbor View with Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not see what channel you were watching on the TV. Pressing the info button on remote did not bring up the information. Would be great if it had a pool.

    Excellent view of the water. Breakfast was great. Everything was hot and fresh. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    10
    Awesome place to stay...and most excellent staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing...it is a beautiful hotel!

    Excellent location to everything, and restaurant is very wonderful! The whole hotel staff extremely friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    8.3
    I would happily stay at this location again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not get my room cool enough to sleep comfortably, but then I like it really cool for sleeping. Breakfast coffee was putrid; coffee in the room was fine.

    The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful plus I was able to check in two hours early which made things much easier for me. Breakfast was excellent as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    8.3
    Very positive. The people make the difference.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    refresh paint trim in rooms. and cleaning of tables. Leave 2 coffee packets in the room. Not enough blankets. The jacuzzi was lukewarm. (water level down)

    The staff, friendly and helpful. The room service staff, service and food was extraordinary. Very good. Loved having a bottle of wine in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    8.3
    Riverside Suite Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast had very few healthy, vegan options. The gymn was tiny.

    Rooms on the river side have nice views. We enjoyed have a spacious suite after some tiny hotel rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    9.2
    Very likely best choice in central Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff appeared slammed at Sunday breakfast: chaos! Regardless, choices were so uninspired we skipped the next (unslammed) morning.

    Front desk staff were great, Jackie in particular. Upgraded to a suite when concern expressed about noise from adjoining room. Both rooms clean and comfortable. Location couldn't be more central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    6.3
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was quoted 2 bedrooms , with 2 queen size beds I got one bedroom with 2 48’ beds , the bathroom door would not close , the carpet in front of the fridge was soaking wet . I am sure I could have gotten better accommodations for far less money . This was my first & last stay at your location

    Staff was awesome , food was excellent in dining room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our proximity to the city and had a very restful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was the same each day with little variety and luke warm coffee. As we were staying four nights it was really uninspiring Having ground coffee rather than instant coffee in our room would also have been a bonus.

    The fact that breakfast was available The standard of the housekeeping was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    7.1
    Nothing wrong, but less than outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The free breakfast buffet was very standard, lacking in fresh fruit and pastries were so-so quality. Big urns of coffee were mediocre.

    The room was comfy and sofabed reasonably comfy, however, we had trouble keeping a comfortable temperature. The restaurant had reasonably priced, good food at dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant but costly hotel near Sydney's waterfront
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although my stay was very enjoyable, the room rate still seems to be a bit too high.

    The suite was very spacious and well equipped. The staff was friendly and check-in and check-out times very short. Breakfast is included and very good, the breakfast room is big and very comfortable. Generally, a very good hotel close to Sydney's waterfront and downtown area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Property reminded us of Delta hotels, but better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The buffet would be 10/10 if they used fresh eggs when making scrambled eggs, not the powdered eggs.

    Property reminded us of Delta hotels, but better! Extremely clean and spacious room and common areas. Very comfortable bed. Wi-fi excellent. Friendly and accommodating staff! Breakfast buffet excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    9.6
    Great location on waterfront and easy walk to casino,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot tub wasn't too hot and many of the jets didn't work which was very disappointing after a long drive.

    Great location on waterfront and easy walk to casino, restaurants and cruise port.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.9
    Hotel is OK. But Sydney is no city, just a collection of buildings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok, no more. The serving was badly organised so that the guests had to kew up hole the way out of the restaurant to get the hot food. The capacity at the tables in the restaurant is too small compared to the number of rooms/guests. We had to pay exta for parking. Not acceptable when the parking lot is spacious.

    The room/apartment is unusual spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    7.9
    Waterfront views , shopping and dining nearby, great food and comfy big beds. What else is there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I believe I got charged for parking which was the only place in all of NS that happened. The lot is a fair way away, but beside the hotel , down some steps . Carrrying luggage or a suggestion from staff top unload before parking would have been helpful, or they should install a ramp to roll the luggage up. Thank got I wasn't handicapped. Room was large and well appointed but had wet carpet near bathroom and the place smelled quite musty when we first arrived . It could use a little refurbishing as some of the wall paper was showing in need of repair. On the whole it was very nice though

    Really nice sized room , super comfy king bed, right on boardwalk to waterfront , close to shopping and dining and cruise ship pier. Nice property !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    6.7
    We were a couple plus one friend so being able to share a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were a couple plus one friend so being able to share a suite was good. The hand washing facitity for the toilet was off the bedroom s mot available yo other guests. There was a kitchen sink available but a door on the bedroom side would have been much better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    6.7
    Desperate need of a makeover but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very old & tired. Couches have had so many heads leaning on them they are permanently stained. Also the towels are so thin you can see through them. That said the beds are comfortable.

    There is not a lot of choice for accommodation in Sydney so this is probably one of the better ones. The location is great - right on the water & the room sizes are good. There is a good restaurant on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    9.2
    Good place to stay in Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property needs major TLC; wallpaper is falling off; carpeting is worn. Nothing that impacts stay but sad. Towels are small and scratchy.

    The bed was super comfortable. Staff was nice and accomodating. Very quiet room. Nice to be directly on the boardwalk, which was lovely. Could walk to many retaurants. Good wi-fi, tv.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    9.6
    On the Boardwalk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's hard to be critical but If I wanted to be picky, I would say that in the king suite there should be a door between the bathroom and the bedroom - there is a door between the toilet and the bedroom, but one still needs to wash one's hands in the other part which is not separated by a door from the bedroom. The problem being that if the person in the living room needs the washroom in the middle of the night - then it disturbs those sleeping in the bedroom.

    When we booked, we knew it would be close to the water, but what we didn't know was that the hotel is on the boardwalk of the ocean! Wow! We had booked a king suite with a sofabed in the living room, and this worked well for us as we were travellling with an adult child. The breakfast was plentiful and we loved the waffle maker! The front counter staff were very friendly and helpful, and the housekeeping staff were very friendly. And while we didn't have time to use it, the hot tub up on the 8th overlooking the water looked enticing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.6
    Convenience location, beautiful river scene.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Convenience location, beautiful river scene. The suite we stayed in this time was clean and comfortable. Service was good but don't expect a good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    10
    Best hotel stay ever, and I am old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of a thing!

    Everything was perfect. Best hotel and staff I have ever encountered. Staff exceptional. The amenities were something we have never had before. Hostess in the welcome night and super delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    9.6
    Good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom door handle was loose and we were a bit scared of getting locked in, but the staff responded immediately and fixed it. Also, it wasn't great that we had to pay for parking on top of the nightly rate.

    Great hotel. The rooftop was amazing and we used the patio to read and relax. Staff were great and helped us find restaurants in town. Breakfast was tasty with hot food options. Would recommend this place because of location and comfort.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location to explore the Sydney waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a bit dated.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly and the Cambridge was in an excellent location on the Sydney waterfront boardwalk, within easy walk to the "giant fiddle".

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    7.1
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Barbecue was charcoal so bring your own coal, but wait to be sure if you can use it only one family can use it at a time. The same thing goes for the Jacuzzi one family in it the whole time. So do not go if you want these pluses because there is a good chance you will not be able to use them.

    Great view,clean, and hotel staff ready to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    5.0
    Not as advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked for two couples and on arrival and booking in gave us one bed and a very uncomfortable hide a bed. On booking said we were supposed to get two queen beds. Said nothing else available.

    Good for one couple, however booked for 2 couples not.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms can be noisy from the traffic on the street, even though the room is not facing the street directly. The breakfast place is bad managed. Never saw a big line up for breakfast. Everyone was stuck at the entrance to get their food while there were lots of tables available inside. They can arrange the food section inside in more open area with multiple table to diverge the eaters.

    Good location, big rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    8.3
    Our 'room' was a suite with a separate bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two light bulbs were burnt out and one lamp was very difficult to switch on. No information in room about hotel services, the area it was located in or the city of Sydney itself. The $7.00 per day charge for parking wasn't a major expense but surely this could be absorbed into the room rate.

    Our 'room' was a suite with a separate bedroom. Lots of room to lounge around. Top floor (8th) with a great water view. kitchen counter was adequate. Bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    4.2
    Incorrect booking details mislead us to book a room which made 4 the most uncomfortable night ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking we put the total number of people and this site brought up a room at this hotel that I could book as an option for my entire family. We arrived really late - 1pm and were exhausted from the long ride only to find out that our booking resulted in 6 of of us in a room with one king and sofa bed. This website had made us believe we were booking 2 double beds and the sofa bed. When we went to complain the staff were very robotic with their answers immediately stating that I booked with an outside company rather with them directly and they cannot do anything. In fact the front desk person stated the wrong website that I booked with which made it obvious that this is their standard excuse when complaints are brought forward. When checking my confirmation indeed I did book the king...but I realized later that when booking I see two double beds symbols and offering and later the kind bed shows up after you make the payment as confirmation. So everything was so confusing and there was nothing more I could do. I begged them to at least provide a cot for the kids and they said only if there is one available. Turned out they had one which made it a little less uncomfortable. Having just recovered from a hip injury and travelling with my elderly dad we certainly learned a hard lesson and changed our ways with booking our hotel stays from thereon.

    Clean hotel room overall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    4.2
    Just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had an odd smell, like harsh cleaning chemicals had been used, or the carpets hadn't dried, or something weird like that. We not fussy or smell sensitive people, btw. Since it was only one night we just let it go. Overnight we discovered that there was a strange noise every few minutes, all night long. Sounded like furniture scraping on the floor above us, could've been a HVAC problem or the elevator moving, as we were close to it. In the morning as we checked out we thanked the clerk, very politely told the her about these two small issues that made our stay a bit less than ideal. She looked at us very blankly and never said a word. Embarrassed by her rudeness and lack of response, the other desk clerk not looking after us came over and said she had also had a guest mention the same weird noise and described it back at length, and that she would be sure to have maintenance look into the issue. I think most people would've insisted upon a new room or some form of rebate. We didn't ask for anything and only told them so they would know and be able to resolve the issues.

    At check-in, staff were quite courteous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    9.6
    Staff were extremely friendly & helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Suites are very spacious and comfortable. Have been staying at this location for many years for personal, business and with sports teams.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    9.6
    Great view of the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that BOOKING.COM had CANCELLED our reservation without telling us. The good folks at Cambridge Suites took steps to accommodate us, otherwise we would have been out on the street. THANKS, BOOKING.COM!

    Great view of the harbour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    5.8
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is dated and dirty. Pretty much everything (sofa, armchair, lamp shades, walls, sheets, etc. Had stains on them). The beds were old, worn and uncomfortable. Breakfast items didnt seem fresh or good quality.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    7.5
    Clean hotel with unhappy and unfriendly receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No good parkingspace for registration Chech in staff was not friendly and during my check in which take me 10 min she answer the phone 4 times!

    Cleanness and room were okay the parking was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent in every way. Totally relaxing and enjoyable and the staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite with Harbor View with Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been wonderful if there was a full pool. The kids enjoyed the dipping pool and hot tub but were ready for a good swim.

    Excellent staff and service. Tremendously warm, inviting and accommodating. We arrived in time to enjoy the weekly complementary Happy Hour which was an extra treat. We also loved the location right on the beautiful waterfront. The breakfast was fantastic, too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    7.1
    Could do a lot better and offer some compensaion when thigs go wrong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having booked a three night stay we were unable to exit the car park after our first night "as the key had expired"; had to do back to reception to have the key updated. On arrival back at our room at the end of a busy day, the room key would not let us into our room for the second nigh of a three night booking; back to reception to have the room key updated, The manager(?) was not very sympathetic but accompanied me to the room on the 7th floor to make sure that the key operated ; on entering the room we found that the room had not been made up despite having left the please make up our room as we left in the morning - the room was made up for us quite quickly after the third complaint by we had little time to shower and change to get to a restraint for a pre-booked table. The manager was not prepared to offer us any compensation for this total inconvenience.

    The bedroom and location. Most of the staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    9.6
    NO disappointments here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guests are charged to park. Parking for guests should absolutely be free!!

    Beautiful suite, very spacious, nicely laid out! Great view of the harbor. Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. This is a great location with restaurants within walking distance (we had a wonderful dinner at the Governor's Pub). There is a restaurant on site and it looked very nice however we didn't try it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    5.8
    Good hotel for family of 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was fine the booking was not sent to the hotel properly. We have a family of 6 and got a room that only fit 4 the hotel staff helped us out but it did cost extra upon arrival.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    9.2
    The included breakfast was good, the staff very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a charge for parking.

    The included breakfast was good, the staff very friendly and helpful and the room large and comfortable. The hotel was very central and easy walking to shops etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    7.1
    The breakfast was really disapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was really disapointing. The place to get the food was too small and not cleaned (or rarely) and the coffee was undrinkable. Two morning in row I had to ask for ustensils because it was empty. They should rethink the disposition. For the quality of the hotel, I was expecting more. The bed was really comfortable but they were a smell in the room really intense. Not sure what it was....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Harbor View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Furniture, especially the couch, is looking a little worn. At checkout they initially charged me full price for the room, without the genius discount on my confirmation.

    Huge suite with separate bedroom overlooking the harbour. Generous sized vanity with sink separate from tub and toilet area. Nice sized desk by window. Bedroom quiet with comfortable bed. Dinner at onsite restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay!
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Bathroom needs an update (rm 518) - actually the whole suite could use one. Not awful, but obvious nothing been done for many years. Evidently Decaffeine Coffee is not generally wanted, but even instant decaffeine would have been a good idea. The waiters in the restaurant were very accomodating, and agreeable to make a pot. The same potatoes, boiled eggs, and sausages got old after 11 days.

    The people in all areas were friendly and accomodating. Liked having a suite where other members of the family could meet. Close to downtown - walking distance. Ate supper several times in Trio with guests, and everyone had a great meal with great service.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Cambridge Suites, Sydney Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: