Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau Versailles 4 stars

1659 Sherbrooke Street West, H3H 1E3 Montréal, Canada

#55 of 134 hotels in Montréal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 558 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.5
    We will definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit pricey but a wonderful hotel.

    Every part of our stay was excellent! Our questions answered, suggestions made, assistance given. Extremely comfortable bed and fabulously beautiful accommodations Basically — everything!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    Tea and cookies in the atfernoon was very nice surprise :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough light in room and weird smell in the room. I had room in the basement with very small window, which was very depressing. Unfortunately, according to receptionist, it was not possible to change the room, as all other was much more smaller.

    Tea and cookies in the atfernoon was very nice surprise :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice location, close to some landmarks
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad and noisy breakfast Small bathroom Bit far from the Old Town/ Notre Dame Expensive parking (not free!)

    Nice location, close to some landmarks Friendly staff Good AC Comfi beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Like staying at somebody's house
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the pillows were down filled - but not a problem -we might just be very picky and particular about pillows.

    Location easy access to everything, building is charming and staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast was perfect for our taste. We have stayed many different places in Montreal over the past 3 years and this place has a personal touch that makes you feel like you are staying at somebody's house.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Our 6 month baby really appreciated the free upgrade to King suite as did we !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate Parking a whopping CAD 28

    Friendly helpful and hard working staff For the money the room was spacious, well equipped, comfortable and had character Great spread for brekky Loved the comfy bed probably one of the best around irrespective of price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice location, dark room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room in the basement which did not look like the advertised room when I booked it. We had no natural light whatsoever and no matter what time of the day it was, it was dark inside the room. Also the view was awful: we looked out the window to see gravel and low concrete walls.. I was also charged twice for the room even though during check in and check out I was informed that the room had already been paid for. They refunded me very quickly but it was still an unnecessary mistake that was made. Luckily I have a large credit limit on my card and was unaffected by the double charge.

    The bed was comfortable and the location was convenient. There were a lot of nice restaurants in the area and a large paid parking lot available about a three minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    3rd stay was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Always a clean and convenient place to stay for our needs. Staff friendly, and helpful. Small hotel, with a quaint boutique vibe. Simple breakfast included.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.0
    noisy breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bilding was awful so they changed our hotel and shifted us to next hotel bcz we claim to them about the place but unfortunatly we ahould come back to there for breakfast and breakfast was awful too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff were so helpful & replaced our room with room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no elevator so they gave us first room in the ground floor which was do noisy

    The staff were so helpful & replaced our room with room in merdian hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    The food is the same every day, not very good and if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is the same every day, not very good and if you unfortunately have to stay a couple of days it won’t be eatable anymore. Because they didn’t have a free parking place they made us wake up at 7 in the morning to move the car, saying that they are not allowed to move the car and the next day they asked for the car keys so they can move it:(((

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    3.8
    Overpriced and simple + Mold in the ceiling
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I usually don't complain about hotels, but when paying for a 4 star hotel I expect at least a 3 star standard as a bare minimum. This hotel is even below the average 2 star hotels around the world and here is why: Cons: 1. *Mold* in the ceiling (see pictures). Yes, it was literary a lot of mold in a well spread out area in the ceiling, just outside our room, which they haven't done anything about in a long time. We reported it to the reception to prevent further damage, but they didn't report back to us at all. We noticed it was mold on two other floors as well (see pictures). 2. The breakfast was rather cheap and dull for the price and nothing like other 4 star hotels in Canada. Also, they didn't greet most of the guests good morning, but just asked for the room number and went away. --> 2.1. Unhygienic: One of the breakfast-staff was blowing her nose loudly several times beside the food and then she continued to prepared the food without washing her hands... At a 4 star hotel(?) None wore gloves either and no sign of alcogél. --> 2.2 Small room for breakfast. Although we got a place, there were others having to wait in line to get breakfast, since there was a lack of places to sit. 3. Half of the receptionists was unhelpful, but half of them was great (se pros). 4. No lit fireplace anywhere in the building – neither in the vestibule nor in the room, as they show on the public pictures. 5. The gym had only three machines (2 cardio and 1 weight station) and hence the smallest hotel gym so far... 6. We stayed in a 4 star hotel in Toronto and paid less per day, but got at least three times as much (breakfast, service, personality, gym, pool etc). Sum: I won't recommend Chateau Versailles for anyone and regret I picked it from the start. Don't let their pictures fool you.

    1. Four of the staff was very forthcoming, pleasant and service-minded. Charles was one of them (sadly, I didn't noticed the names of the others). 2. The grape juice was actually amazing! And the yogurt was natural, unsweetened. 3. The beds was very nice and the room was big. 4. The cleaning was really great (but not under the beds...)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointed in hotel and bookings. Com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the roof from our window, Bathroom was too small like closet size, from toilet to bath tub 3 feet fixtures were cheep. The toilet was so low that the shelf would stick into your back. It was rated 4 1/2 Stars I would give it maybe 2. For the money I spent their you would think it was the Ritz.they served breakfast bagels and cream cheese with hard boiled eggs. The TV stations were awful.

    The bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Really a very good hotel.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small much smaller than I expected. The guy who helped us with our bags said it was his favourite room in the hotel which I think could not possibly have been the truth. In saying that we still had a great time in Montreal.

    The bed was amazingly comfortable, the room was very clean. Breakfast was great to have on site. Hotel very well located. Close to metro, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.2
    Not for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After booking a room for 3 people -and paying a premium over a double room- I found that the room just had one king-size bed. Only after asking 3 different times for an extra bed I got a clunky folding one. It was already 10:30 at night... and had to make the bed myself! No problem at all making beds, but after paying $300 for a bedroom I was expecting that someone did it for me... By the way, after hardly sleeping in that small and uncomfortable bed, I woke up at 6 am with the alarm clock that was set up by the previous guest! Continental breakfast is quite limited and served in small low tables that are not thought for families with kids either. Bad experience overall

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautifully convenient location. A very underrated detail that makes the biggest difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only gripe we had was a small one. Not really the hotels fault. The street it is on is extremely busy. Made it a bit difficult to wait for uber when the parking in front of the hotel was full.

    The bedroom was clean & quiet. Linens were crisp and fresh smelling. Staff was extremely flexible and accommodating even after we had checked out. Breakfast was above expectation for quality. Even though the hotel was busy, we felt attended to. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location and reasonably priced with a great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a basement suite - it was stuffy with poor air conditioning and the bathroom had a damp smell that didn’t make you want to use it. Le Meridien across the street (sister hotel) is much better.

    Good location and reasonably priced with a great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in a beautiful, well kept historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have absolutely no complaints.

    The location was excellent, right on Rue Sherbrooke near museums, shopping, restaurants, and Mont Royal. The room was large and clean, with a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. We stayed in one of the Versailles Suites, and the historic fireplace and plaster ceiling details were gorgeous. It was a really wonderful hotel, and we'll definitely book it again when visiting Montreal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice little boutique spot in a convenient location. The gym was small but had what I needed, also the sauna took a little to heat up but is a nice feature.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    The location of the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you’re visiting anywhere near the summer months, be prepared that the AC doesn’t work well and the hotel gets very hot.

    The location of the hotel was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    We enjoyed our stay and loved Montreal'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is in need of some updating! Paint missing or chipped of walls and bathroom. Furniture was definitely not antique just worn out and the piece being used as a mini bar had the door coming off. Lightbulb on bedside lamp was out for entire stay. Otherwise bathroom and bed were clean and kept that way for our 5 night stay.

    The location was excellent! Nice street and neighborhood. Walked just about everywhere we wanted to go in the city. Front desk was very accomodating with information and directions. They were well informed of what was happening in the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable but inconvenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The initial receptionist was unhelpful although other staff more friendly with them kindly storing luggage and arranging a taxi on the final day. The location 'downtown Montreal' might be accurate but its not a very picturesque area- the old town which is 2 miles away or more is more tourist friendly. Beware - there is no lift in the hotel - I hadn't realised this before booking and although a kind porter took our heavy bags up top the top floor, there are steep stoes step soutside the building which we had already navigated independently before this help came!

    Room was as in photo and bed was comfortable. Room was light and airy and windows opened( onto a busy road but there were trees and it was nice to have fresh air!) Complementary breakfast was welcome although on the second day there was nowhere to sit so we had to wait by the reception area. Staff were overworked and stressed when we asked for more butter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    F1 weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the breakfast is cheap for that kind of hotel. We’ve expected more choices and warm plate. Eggs was cold.

    Great hotel, nice location and very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location will stay again on upper floors!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in the lower level not very bright and needs a renovation. Carpeting looked like it needs a good cleaning! I would stay again however on upper floor!

    Excellent front desk service . We checked out and our bags were kept for us. Valet service excellent ...when we came to pick up our car we had our bags in the car and ready for us. Good continental breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    A fantastic place for a weekend get-away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Using the tv was complicated, you had to be close for the remote to work. Because the hotel is located on a main street, ambulance and police sirens and some traffic could be heard.

    The bed was very comfortable, especially the pillows. The location was great. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment were all within walking distance. The fireplace in our room was a nice, cosy touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Large, pretty room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic

    Large, pretty room Walking distance to great museums, food, Mont Royal Bike share right next to hotel. We rode bikes almost everywhere!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Lots of character with the comfort of modern renovated rooms. Great breakfast and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not a lot of affordable options to park. Valet is expensive and there is only one person parking he cars which takes a lot of time.

    Room was comfortable, well decorated, great breakfast, clean and with lots of character

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location, although on a busy street we didn’t hear...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, although on a busy street we didn’t hear the traffic, slept very peacefully. Took a gorgeous walk after a lovely breakfast up to the lookout at Mont Royal. Staff super friendly! We’ll definitely do this again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Worth to try once as it is a cute place, nut not returning most probably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the hotel is really old it is very noisy. You make a lot of noise by just walking in the room which can wake up others in the room up if you decide to go to the bathroom at night! The breakfast was too simple, nothing exciting. There is not always a doorman on site, which is surprising for a 4-star hotel and one time when he was there he was looking at his cell and even didn't notice I was coming in with some luggage! Not a good attention from the staff, especially the evening ones.

    The hotel is very cute and the location is great. You can find all you want in a walking distance. The rooms are also clean enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast, friendliness of the stuff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a dog with us. They put us in the dark small room downstairs, like in a basement. I don’t mind paying extra for the dog, but why room without the natural light?

    Breakfast, friendliness of the stuff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was delicious - the whole place was cute!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were downstairs so the room was a bit too humid, weird sound one night but it didn't bother much

    Breakfast was delicious - the whole place was cute! Bed was comfy, room was a great size, clean. Concierge was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    An amazing time - had my peace here!
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quality of the shower package (shampoo, conditioner, etc.) can be improved - already decent.

    Extremely clean and quiet place - opinion from a person who lived in Montreal for a long time before. Chateau style hotel filled with peace and harmony. Stunning vintage style decoration shows the luxury of the place. Location is 10/10 - in the heart of the city with easy metro access. Breakfast is buffet style - nice and simple. Bonus points: Place is very quite. Each room is equipped with a mini bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    We had a great visit to Montreal at a small reasonably priced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front facing room received lots of music [?] noise from vehicle traffic outside. Lots of boom, boom, boom. Cost for valet parking [we found parking for half price nearby].

    We liked the good proximity to shopping, restaurants and museums. Close to Metro for easy getting around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.0
    Not coming back to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noisy floors as it is an old building, I can hear everything happening upstairs. Expensive overnight parking. Staff wasn't very welcoming. I didn't expect all the stairs (up to the hotel, then down to the rooms), so when you're carrying a suitcase and your carry-on it's not great.

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.5
    Enjoyed the atmosphere of an older elegant hotel conveniently located within Montreal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the rugs should be cleaned more often in the rooms but I think every hotel should do this.

    Friendly staff and appreciate access to hot water and hot beverages whenever I wanted.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Definitely worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Girl at front desk wasn't really sure of what she was doing, but ended up upgrading our room when we noticed our room did not match the photos on their website. Breakfast was cute and fulfilling, but no elevators.

    Clean, cozy and elegant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Good 3-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a good hotel, I just don't think it deserves 4 stars. That's why I was disappointed with silly things, but they are important if you claim to be a 4-star hotel. When we arrived, there was a tray with finished lunch in the hallway and it stayed there until the next morning! It happened the next day again. Toilet was broken, it would work one every two times. We could hear running water in the bathtub in the next room - not very soundproof walls. Breakfast room was so tiny that every time we would come for breakfast we would have to stand with our plates waiting for someone to leave. The breakfast was good, nothing fancy though.

    Electric fireplace in every area of the hotel was a very nice touch. It was the only thing we used to warm up the room! It's an old building with nice antique decor. Staff was very nice, gave us some directions on what to visit in the city. The WiFi was very fast, so it's a plus, even if we didn't use it much anyway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in the hallway, stairs and in rooms The shower has problems The heating was too hot Télévision no câble only 10 channels

    The bed was confortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Cozy, quaint, beautiful, clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish it had a small elevator. To carry luggage up the stairs is a challenge. Wish it had a better breakfast.

    Loved that it looks and feels like a cozy home. Love the fireplace and how clean it was

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Great accomodation at reasonable price in city area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing! it's a city area after all so expect confined spaces a bit

    Location! vicinity to subway, vicinity to Mount Royal and museum of fine arts, courteous staff, great breakfast that is open till late, reasonable parking charges (C $27), valet service, reasonable upgrade to the room, and many more

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chateau Versailles is located on a century old house located on prime Sherbrooke location. This is one of the rare small charming hotels left in our days. The fact that one has to access rooms via stairs, not elevators, has to be taken in consideration for those with mobility issues or the ones travelling with tons of luggage. For people that enjoy a quaint hotel, this is a gem. And the value for money is unbeatable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    We got the king room and it was large and comfortable with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not what we expected for a 4 star hotel. Poor selection of food with no warm or fresh food. Valet parking was not convenient, one day we had to wait more than half an hour for our car.

    We got the king room and it was large and comfortable with a beautiful ceiling.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.7
    Lacked customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had only debit cards on me I paid in full and a deposit at the beginning get the girl came down and locked the mini bar and also locked the tv. Definitely lacked customer service.

    As described

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel with great reception staff. A bit of a walk to things but a nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minibar fridge not working and a few power points didnt either. Shower was ok but you will wait a bit for the hot water. Heating system a bit loud. Fireplace was basically a fancy electric heater with fake wood.

    Check on staff and porter were fantastic. Wonderful bed and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.3
    Expected more. Was UNDERWHELMED
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They downgraded our room, overcharged my credit card and failed to clean my room. Gave big hotel excuses (the system overcharged your credit card for example) when they are supposed to be a small hotel. I don't understand why they were not more responsive or why there was no housekeeping for our room after they downgraded our deluxe double room to a cramped basement room. Would not stay there again

    Friendly Euro feeling. Nice Continental breakfast. Helpful suggestions as to where to eat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall, we had a lovely time at Chateau Versailles. The staff show excellent customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the mattress a bit soft and the bathroom in the standard room small. The croissants could have been a bit bigger and fresh.

    We found all the staff but especially Manuel and Gwen very friendly and helpful. We felt very relaxed. We had the standard room and found it a bit small. The next time we will upgrade to a bigger room if available. Loved the availability of coffee and tea; the sitting area outside the dining room. The location was excellent. Loved having the safe in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs outside and inside were not a problem for us but it is not accessible and could be problem for those who are out of shape

    Location for museums walks on Mount Royal and shopping. Large room and non American style decor

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.3
    Expensive ، low quality
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet Fan was not working. If we wanted to warm up the room we had to turn on the fireplace and or fan which both were so noisy and in the middle of the night it made us to wake up. There was no toothpaste and no tooth brush Shower curtain and bath tub were not clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.0
    Pleasant location, decent breakfast. Would probably have enjoyed it more in a nicer room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedroom was a claustrophobic single room. Basement level. Bed far too small for 2 people (who were reasonably small). No natural light or fresh air. No safe so they removed one from another guest's room!

    the staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Too crowded for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were too crowded. Would not be good for claustrophobics. No elevator!

    Hotel itself is beautiful old style, with nice antique qualities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Convient for hop on off tour bus and not too far to walk into the centre. Good stop for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a basement room which was short on ventilation and dark. The electrics were a little to be desired! I think some attention in the bathroom would be a benefit regarding wiring and plugs.

    Clean and very comfortable beds Good buffet breakfast with good choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was beautiful, the mattress was very comfortable, lots of old-world charm, yet totally up-to-date. The neighbourhood is in Montreal's "Golden Mile", so couldn't be more elegant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    I came to meet with my children from Ottawa for a special birthday and it was the perfect place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If at all possible, a ramp, maybe at the back and without affecting the lovely front? The view from Room 121 could be improved (underneath the "bridge" between the buildings but with sideways views to the street and interior courtyard)? The interior courtyard could also be prettier - there is tremendous potential! But these are really small things only noticed by perfectionists. They would not stop me coming back!

    Atmosphere in general, tasteful furniture and pictures, location in a very nice part of the city, convenient to sights and local transportation, fabulous free breakfast, safe luggage storage, help in minor emergencies (emergency sewing kit in my case), reliable WiFi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our superior room was tiny and dark. AC did not work (they gave us a fan instead that took most of the available place in the room) and the bed was squeaking as soon as one moved. The breakfast was a joke considering this to be a 4 Star hotel. The breakfast room was too small so people had to wait. There was not much choice either and as there was only one staff member taking care of everything there was always something not available. Not that there was a great selection to begin with, or we haven't seen it since it just ran out. The pictures on booking.com are completely misleading.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Great stay despite front desk hiccup
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We love the location of this hotel, super convenient for lots of things int he city and right by a metro station. This hotel feels very much like a hotel in Paris, so if you want to experience that first hand, stay here. It is in a few beautiful old row houses on the main street near the museums. NO elevator, just winding, carpeted stairs. Rooms are very clean, bathrooms a decent size and big windows. Sadly our first staff encounter was a bit of a let down. We booked a deluxe queen room, young lady behind the desk gave us a key card to a miniscule double room. I immediately called down and she insisted it was a queen bed, no it was neither queen, nor deluxe. She said she would send someone up to show me another room, we waited, in the end I went back down. She was not very friendly and acted like she was doing me a favour by giving me the room I paid for. I was not amused, service is her industry, she needs to get the memo. Second room was much, better, and yes actually has a queen bed in it. Other that that all the other staff we encountered on the front desk were super friendly, as was the lady working in the boudoir! Breakfast was actually very good, a nice continental breakfast served on real dishes in a lovely room they call the boudoir. A range of pastries, cereals, natural yoghourt, fruits, hard boiled eggs, bagels etc. We were more than satisfied.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel, good location, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy on the ground floor as you are underneath the lobby so if you are sensitive to noise maybe opt for a room on a higher level. Otherwise I recommend it😊

    Beautiful hotel, good location, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators,you have to walk almost two blocks to parking area. Also no one helped with luggage up the many stairs

    This place is very quaint and elegant,a real French atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    It met my needs. I was there for 4 nights and I left each morning early and returned each night late
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think it was a smoking room because they had definitely sprayed something to mask the smell, which I noticed when I first went into the room. Last year I was on the top floor and that was excellent.

    Breakfast was fine. Nothing fancy but good. The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean. I was in the basement this time, so there was no view, although I was only there to sleep so I didn't mind that actually.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevators, but only a few floors, so there weren't many stairs to climb.

    Beautiful hotel in former mansion, in a wonderful location. Close to shops, restaurants, museums and public transportation. Very clean and well kept. Only problem was that AC didn't shut off, but it felt good because the days we were there were so hot. Would definitely stay there again. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place in walking distance to the old town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When noting to use Über, they were quite pushy to use a Taxi instead - may have been cheaper but I did not appreciate it as much.

    The staff was very friendly in assisting with questions and providing helpful hints on what to do.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    comfortable stay, but this is a basic hotel with misleading promotion claiming it is luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the quality of the breakfast was poor: the boiled eggs had been cooked the day before; the choice of breads and cheese was not very good; the breakfast room was not well cleaned (floor felt sticky); the tables were not well cleaned. in the room - the bathroom was not vented and did not have a window - the toilet did not flush properly; the cleaning agents used to clean the wall-to-wall carpet gave off a terrible smell; as well it would have been good to know that when one reserves a room in this hotel through booking.com and if one chooses a standard room (which I did) - the room is in the basement (or what they pompously call ground level).

    not much to recommend about this hotel other than the excellent location on Sherbrook Street. the room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Not much to recommend about the breakfast other than it was provided and that a free globe and mail newspaper was available to read.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Loved the Versailles!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast was adequate. It was the same every day - and we stayed a week. Also, every other day the housekeeper would forget either wash clothes or tub mat.

    Loved the old character of the building, the upgraded room, the friendly people, and the location. The room was always cleaned beautifully, and the bed was super comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    2.9
    I was unhappy at all , for the money i paid i could of stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    from head to toes this hotel has no value , i would put this hotel in level of 2 stars only,

    I was unhappy at all , for the money i paid i could of stay in a better place, this hotel sound big but service is very poor, breakfast has no value, so cheap class just few toast bread and every thing is can food, my room for some reason was very noisy and i had to wake up @ 7 am in the morning, i have asked to change my room and they have offered me a room next to the reception in ground floor no privacy and very public,, i was very very disapointed and will not book any thing from your website,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice historic place on busy street , 1-2 miles away away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk told me " we upgraded your room to a suite" I was wow , that's so nice , I asked does it have fireplace as my original room the answer was absolutely What was absolute is it was a downgrade from what I saw, the room was next to dining hall and behind the reception , no fireplace , and it smelled! I asked the receptionist then to give me my original room and she was clearly not happy doing that and somewhat rude. At the end kept calm and got my original room which was very nice with amazing fireplace and crown molding end very nice setup , it was away from all the nonsense I mentioned before. Breakfast is rare to find for free in hotels here , this was bagels and fruits and coffee , nothing fancy, there is lots of options outside. I would go back for sure but never trust them for upgrades sorry meant downgrade 😉

    Nice historic place on busy street , 1-2 miles away away from all action in downtown

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.2
    For sure we will not come back and not recommend to others.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even it was summer, it was awfully cold in the room, around 13 Celsius. We asked for a heater, but it was insignificant, as the room was big. No elevator. Centralized heating system, we couldn't change, therefore we became ill. Breakfast was poor, without vegetables, the same every day. The personnel was inflexible when we asked for directions, they didn't know in which part is the central station when we asked for printing the bill one day before, it was impossible when we asked for an early breakfast (with 15 min earlier), it wasn't possible etc

    The location, the name of the hotel, the room was big, the bed was huge and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    We absolutely loved Chateau Versailles... a very warm and welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of a thing!

    Beautiful architecture. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We have been to Montreal many times (from Australia) so didn't really require assistance with getting around Montreal but they were always on hand if needed. We would definitely stay at Chateau again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    All in all, it was a good experience and we will visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small and the mattress a bit too soft.

    The location is very good, just a few steps from the Museum of Fine Arts and the Metro. The staff at the reception was very helpful and accommodating, specially the person in charge of the valle parking, sorry I didn't take his name down.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing for a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was far too limited (seats and variety) for a 4 star ranked hotel. I also expect a bar where you could get coffee in the afternoon or some drinks in a 4 star hotel. Elevator was missing which is very nice to have with a room on the 4th floor.

    Room was small but OK, location was very good, staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Would not hesistate to stay again at this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! It was a great stay! Would book again without hesitation.

    The location was perfect, the staff very friendly and helpful. I had some challenges with printing in the business office and the staff came immediately and helped me out... in fact did much more than expected. My wife and I would not hesitate to book this hotel again when we return to Montreal. A 10+ with staff, location, facilities. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Sumptuous and Satisfying Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    not one thing

    Yes, the bed was like a cloud, giving us deep rest each night. We were simply amazed to be so close to the street and not hear any sound of street noise or traffic . The hotel was an insulated fortress. The quiet nature of the hotel, though fully booked, allowed for the buzz of conversation among guests without the feel of noise or clamor. The service persona and knowledge of every aspect of Montreal of every employee was extraordinary. Manual was exceptional and we have him to thank for restaurant suggestions and not-to-miss highlights of Montreal. Guena arranged for a rental car and followed up to be sure that the arrangements went smoothly. And the breakfast and breakfast room each morning gave us big smiles to start the day - delicious food, quiet music and wonderful service. We were ready to move in and stay longer. Thank you for a most wonderful vacation. John and Rebecca Jordan

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.7
    Location, ambiance, breakfast.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfort - no elevator may present a problem for some people but we were aware of it prior to. A/C in our room (and some other rooms) could either function at freezing temperature or be turned off by the maintenance so it would be hot... Complained, waiting for an answer for 48 hr already - no call back and no response... The support stuff at the hotel was good, but no resolution to my concerns received.

    Location, ambiance, breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    4.6
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is way past its best-shabby,tired furnishings. Dreadful breakfast.very expensive parking.very overpriced- not a 4 star experience.

    The staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    A good confortable hotel, with good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are comfortable, but somewhat old fashion (not renovated lately)

    The price of the room was very reasonable, especially compared with very high prices of other 4 stars hotels in the center of Montreal, during that time-frame (with a lot of events / rally of Montreal/international conferences etc. going on in the city).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.8
    NO Air Conditioning for the Weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I realize that the Canadian FI Grand Prix, is a very busy wekeend, and we only booked 2 months ahead, and getting a room in Montreal this weekend for $350 is a good deal. I think our room is only rented for this weekend, it was tiny, I felt like I was in a Closet, especially seeing all the rooms adjacent were bigger. But really, NO AC, when it is over 90 degrees? Then the Hotel staff was not honest with us that there is no AC. In addition, our toilet did not flush with consistency, by the last monring it wasn't flushing at all! THEN the remote for the TV was sketchy (my theory is since the room is rarely rented the batteries, needed review before renting the room) on Monday morning I turned on the TV, couldn't get the volume to lower, woke up husband, the TV would NOT turn off, or swithc stations, WE had to move the dresser to unplug it. Husband lost 2 hours sleep and we had to drive home, hot and aggravated.

    We have stayed here before. Love the location, used to love the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend this hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, nothing. I like the room, the staff was excellent, and the location was perfect.

    The breakfast was excellent (and lasted three whole hours--very unusual). The staff was so helpful and went above and beyond. There are no elevators, but the wonderful and pleasant concierges will be there to help with your luggage. Manuel was especially helpful and recommended restaurants. The hotel is close to the Guy-Concordia subway and is on a very safe and bustling street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    I live about 1-1/2 hours north of Montreal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't really think of anything.

    I live about 1-1/2 hours north of Montreal. The Versailles was easy to get to, fairly close to where we were celebrating a family birthday, and in a great walking around area - what's not to like? The room was clean, bed was comfortable and the area is quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chateau Versailles traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: