Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau Victoria Hotel & Suites 4 stars

740 Burdett Avenue, V8W 1B2 Victoria, Canada

#18 of 52 hotels in Victoria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 572 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Really nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom had small air conditioning unit which was needed as our room got lots of sunlight and was hot at night but the air conditioner was noisy and only cooled the bedroom not the living area. Better air-conditioning would be good but otherwise it's a fantastic hotel.

    The rooms were clean, comfortable and fresh. Had everything we needed, full size shampoo/conditioner ect in bathroom was so helpful didn't want to leave. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The portable A/C is causing the electrical breaker to trip when we use the kettle or hair dryer. Only may be two outlets are not affected. I feel bad for the guests who do not know how to reset the breaker and the staff who is being summon to restore the power.

    Very conveniently located. We can walk to most attractions and loads of restaurants close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Well the room was really comfortable and staff were friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the elevators were smelly and the price was too high for this hotel

    Well the room was really comfortable and staff were friendly , we stayed for 2 days and we were satisfied .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location. The rooms are very well maintained. Nice and quiet. Beds are super comfortable. I would recommend the Chateau for business or personal trips.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant stay once we got settled into our new room and a great location to explore Victoria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were originally put into a room opposite the lift which was very noisy, so eventually they did move us to a much better room, which was spacious and comfy. The pool was not working due to renovations which we were not aware of however we were given passes to use the facilities at another hotel.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    I specifically asked for a quiet room, but the staff (was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I specifically asked for a quiet room, but the staff (was a assistant manager o rsomething) simply ignored it and said (like a boss!): you are on the 4th floor! Anyhow, didn't sleep at all due to noise from the street and the ice vending machine next door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to be able to use the pool but it was broken

    The staff was friendly and helpful the bed was very comfortable the room and washroom were very clean the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Our room was upgraded to a suite at check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door closers to the rooms are very noisy. Everytime a door was opened on our floor you could hear the loud clunk of it closing. There's no music channels on the tv.

    Our room was upgraded to a suite at check in. Our parking was also valid in the parkade for the entire day even after we checked out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Service in the hotel and in the restaurants was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately our room overlooked the lobby skylights so our light was blocked and there was no outside/balcony space to enjoy.

    Service in the hotel and in the restaurants was exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    A stay at the Chateau and a cocktail at Clive's will make your visit to Victoria perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Chateau Victoria is located in downtown Victoria so it is perfect for city and waterfront walks, shopping, dining and sight-seeing. The bar in the hotel, Clive's, is one of my all-time favorites and the roof-top restaurant was quite nice. The rooms have been recently updated and the whole place feels like it's had a well-done face-lift. The views from sea-side rooms are fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful very accommodating staff. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature in the room was warm. Had to open a window to cool off.

    The Chateau Victoria was very convenient located near the ferry terminal, restaurants and other attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.4
    Pool was under renovation, I had to walk two blocks to other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was under renovation, I had to walk two blocks to other hotel to use pool, the whole reason we picked this “luxury” hotel was for my son to swim. They couldn’t even toss in a breakfast voucher for us. Also not sure what made this hotel luxury. Nothing fancy at all, regular hotel, no chocolate on pillows, no cute expensive shampoo bottles to steal, no nothing... I’ve stayed at motels better than this.. sorry, not coming back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    It's a nice hotel, not extravagant. Great location. The staff were very helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom smelled of cigarette smoke. Then we did find lots of butts on the patio. We did tell the front desk and they were very surprised and apologetic and offered to move us but by that point our kids and bags were all unpacked into the room and we were too tired to move. The parking should be free or at a very reduced rate. It was $15 a night which they had a parking lot so why charge for guests. Wish they offered a free breakfast for guests.

    The staff at the desk were wonderful. Very helpful and most friendly. We got upgraded to a larger family suite which was wonderful since we had a young child and baby with us. They provided a crib with bedding or we had the option of a pack n play. Great location. Quick walk to the waterfront, government building and miniature world. They had free coffee in the lobby for guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    The stay was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof top bar/eatery was disappointing. Appies were poor and it took a long time to get waited on. We decided not to have dinner there.

    Location and parking. Beds were good. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    We were surprised on every turn at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were surprised on every turn at this hotel. The Chateau Victoria had an 18th floor panorama restaurant and bar, and a cozy lounge on the main floor. Both venues offered a Happy Hour. We received a wonderful room upgrade, which provided two sleeping areas and the ability to make breakfast as there was coffee, a toaster, a small fridge and a microwave. The front desk staff offered and delivered us a ride to a recommended restaurant when we asked for a recommendation. Late check-out was easily arranged and happily provided! Everything was conveniently located! We will be back and will be sending friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    The pool was closed and we were not notified even though we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed and we were not notified even though we booked several months in advance. Additionally, we were charged to park . This was not disclosed in advance. Finally, we arrived on March 31 and stayed 2 days. We received the first day at off season rate and were charged high season for the second day. This would have been a could time to wave the difference especially considering the condition of the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Staying at Chateau Victoria is icing on the cake for visiting beautiful Victoria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been staying at Chateau Victoria for many years and have never been disappointed - staff, facility, vista breakfast, shuttle service - all excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Okay, but we should have been told about the pool before we paid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was not in service. We should have had a discount. The main reason we chose this place was for the pool.

    Dinner was excellent. The meat was cooked perfectly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Nice view and location. Comfortable updated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was too small. Insulation between rooms and hallway not great. I could hear my kids talking in our room as I was waiting at the elevator. I chose the hotel for it’s rating, great location and pool. Unfortunately when booking, I did not see that the pool was closed for maintenance. We were able to use a pool at the Parkside a block away. It was inconvenient, but worked out ok.

    Rooms were great! View the as awesome. Great decor in hotel and rooms. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    We were put in a bedroom that overlooked a vent and garbage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a bedroom that overlooked a vent and garbage. We were on our anniversary. Maybe a good idea to ask why we’re staying, on your booking site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Couldn't ask for anything more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman that checked us in was amazing and friendly.... Giving recommendations with restaurants etc. All the other staff that we encountered were also exceptionally friendly.... Will return when possible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Despite the few setbacks my stay was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I checked into there was a lot of debris in the bathroom sink.. as the upstairs was running water my sink started filling up as well. Plumbing issues, changed rooms. Pulled the sheets back and found two long dark hairs on the bed. 😕 Should probably take, what looks to be, a pair of men’s underwear off the roof that covers the lobby parking.

    The location is superb, the decor beautiful, bed was VERY comfy, the staff was very accommodating and helpful. I had a very comfortable, peaceful stay although wish I could’ve stayed longer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.0
    we loved the location , liked the size of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no tub in the room was a big disappointment, when we pulled out the hide a bed we looked all over the room for a blanket we had to call for a blanket we felt like we were bothering the employee the pots in the room needed to be cleaned before used when we were packing up shaking out the blankets pillows to make sure we were not leaving anything behind a out of one of the pillows a piece of jewelry fell out it was not ours so our pillow case was used by someone else this was very disgusting . when you are paying roughly 1900.00 for 4 days i would expect a lot more

    we loved the location , liked the size of room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renting a movie costs $25?!?! We walked to Capitol 6 which was 3 blocks away and watched a movie there instead.

    The room was clean and very nice! Also the location of the hotel is walking distance to restaurants, shops and pier.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    The beds were creaky and a little lopsided and our room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were creaky and a little lopsided and our room looked out into a pile of construction debris -- literally at the same level of the room. The room was a bit small, but we needed two beds, so it worked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, comfortable and quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very friendly and attentive. We got a free ride to Harbour Air. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is on a side street so it is quiet, but it is still close to everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Can't wait to come back to Victoria!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kinda felt like we could've stayed somewhere else close by that also would've had a great location, cost less, and come with breakfast included. Felt like we paid more for less. The price we we were charged was $75 more than what it showed on booking too. Overall the trip was a great experience and we liked our hotel, but we'll try somewhere else next time.

    Staff was awesome! Hotel and room was clean and neat. Perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Check in was super fast and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in was super fast and accommodating. Easier with children munching from the apple supply that they visited each day! We had a 2 bedroom suite that fit the five of us with generous room to move about.The stocked kitchenette was perfect to take care of our breakfasts and snacks. Location was paramount to be able to return so the young ones could recharge. Shopping, and restaurants all around and the convention center steps away. View of the whole city and the water to Washington This will be our choice again when attending Capital City Con.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Room was clean and comfortable, but noisy..bring ear plugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under renovations, so no pool. Very loud drunk neighbors woke us up at 3am....

    Location is good, the room was clean and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    A very pleasant surprise. I did not expect such a Top Notch facility for the price. Fabulous Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It turns out the pool and hot tub were under renovation but the hotel did make compensation by having arranged an agreement with the neighbouring hotel to use their facilities. We were upgraded from a deluxe room to a one bedroom suite which was a nice surprise. The rooftop restaurant offered an amazing panoramic view including ocean and city sites. The staff was some of the most accommodating, friendly I’ve experienced. The menu prices were surprisingly reasonable for the spectacular venue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Had a great time !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    CLOSETS ...so small you can't unpack and only two tiny dresser drawers ...they need clothing racks if requested ..... the room was tiny also not good if you have kids - fine for two people.

    Location, restaurants at hotel were awesome, cleanliness, style of hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Dissaoiinted we did not know the pool was under renovation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel because there was a pool and when we arrived we were told the pool was under renovation? We should have been advised during our booking because we probably would not have stayed there had we known .

    Our room was nice !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.8
    Not great
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer Service is not the focus at the hotel. I’ve stay 3 times in 3 months, lack of service has always been an issue. Welcome your guests or say hello would be a great start. I should not be greeting you when I arrive. If you are with a customer THEY are your first priority.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    I very much enjoyed the Chateau Victoria. It would be my first choice for a return trip to the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hallways need to be brightened up a bit; they are not in keeping with the esthetics of the rest of the property.

    Bed was very comfy. Room was spacious and in excellent condition - nicely renovated. Lobby was very inviting. Location was quite convenient. Be sure to visit the Vista Bar for spectacular views!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.3
    I just wish the rooms were nicer more upgraded because this Hotel is nicely located to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reported at front desk fridge not cold and was told temperature needs to be turned up? Bathroom looking pretty tired baseboard area close to flooring should be cleaner looks dirty near grout line.

    The entire room needs an upgrade.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with our dinner at the Vista (restaurant on top floor). Beautiful view we would have expected higher quality of food

    Friendly front desk, complimentary coffee in common areas, cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    4.6
    Would not recommend Chateau Victoria to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not advised the pool/hot tub was not available. Very disappointed as that was the reason I picked this particular hotel. There was no reduction of price. It was only mentioned after I paid for the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.7
    Parking was a nightmare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very limited at best. Parking was an additional 15$ a night on top of our hotel fees. If we’re paying 15$ a night I at least expect to be able to park at the hotel.

    Location was central. A lot of places within walking distance. Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Incredible bed and lovely view of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible bed and lovely view of the city. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Overall a great experience and would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast, bar service was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When We checked in we were met by a expressionless individual who could’ve shown more hospitality and been less officious.

    Excellent breakfast, bar service was good. Very comfortable, well appointed facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay; best location value for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Can walk to most attractions and restaurants. Easy access to shopping and dining. Great with teens as there is a queen bed in the living room of the 1 bedroom suite, not just a pullout sofa bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Great value, clean room and fantastic location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and location were great! However, the restaurant upstairs was terrible. We were advised to reserve as it's really busy, so we did. We went for Sunday morning breakfast and it was one of the worst breakfast we've ever had. The eggs tasted like carton eggs, the pancakes were only cooked on one side, the potatoes, sausages and bacon all tasted like they had been sitting in a hotbox all morning. Even the coffee was rubbish. Will never eat here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Stay at the chateau, they've got you covered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My key stopped working with one night to go. Not that it was a bother, I struggle to find things I didn't like.

    It's always been my favourite hotel in Victoria. The only hotel with the ability to accomodate our group.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    A most enjoyable stay of which we will repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food portions in the top floor restaurant were undersized.

    We enjoyed the coffee in the lobby. What is the name or brand of the coffee? Also the cider was very good. Loved the view from the top floor restaurant. We will stay at this hotel the next time we come to Victoria.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    WOULD STAY AGAIN BUT MAKE SURE MY ROOM DID NOT BACK ONTO THEIR PARKING LOT
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY NOISY FROM HOTEL GENERATOR OR SOMETHING OUTSIDE IN THE PARKING LOT KEPT ME AWAKE ALL NIGHT. WE WERE OFFER ANOTHER ROOM BUT AT 10:00 PM WE DIDN'T WANT TO MOVE AS WE WERE IN BED ALREADY.

    STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL, NICE BAR JUST OFF LOBBY. LOCATION DOWNTOWN WAS GREAT. THE GENTLEMAN ON THE FLOOR AT THE TIME WAS VERY HELPFUL FOLLOWED US TO THE PARKING SPACE AND WAS VERY ATTENTIVE TO OUR NEEDS.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Overall great will visit in may after pool renovation is complete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop restaurant as the food was not prepared for taste high price for quality of food too non chalant for service

    They were accomadting to give us upgrade for an extra small fee they had so much complimentary items for guests and made sure all guests were included with Christmas spirit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel, great location. Careful ordering at the restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not draining properly and the water pressure was very low. Also the food in the restaurant was not very good.

    The customer service and size of the room was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.4
    The location is good😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't had a good experienced as we requested wheelchair accessible, the room is too small and have to move to the other room and no comforters as we get sofa bed😳

    The location is good😃

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay once we cleared up the reservation. The bar had excellent food and drinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seemed confused when we checked in. They kept trying to tell us we had booked for 2 nights. I had a printout of the reservation which clearly showed 2 rooms, 1 night. And the price of the room was also in question.

    The room was excellent. The only negative was that there was a vent just outside our window which was a bit noisy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on the front desk was unfriendly, the room was small and gave us the one next to the roof main entrance(3rd floor) we couldn't open the window because its was dirty that roof. No view

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great stay. Very clean. Great location. Amazing shuttle service. The room was a little small, but that is to be expected for downtown Victoria. Also, we could hear our neighbours come in and out of their room, so it was a little noisy. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable. Would definitely recommend.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was clean and comfortable. The exercise equipment was clean and in good working order. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and well maintained. The bath robes were very nice and fluffy. The complimentary coffee was great. The complimentary shuttle was very convenient especially when it was raining.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous Hotel in a Fabulous City!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't really mind, but there was no breakfast included.

    The room was beautiful and much larger and had many more extras than expected for the reasonable price. There was a balcony with an amazing view of the harbor and the city- especially at sunrise. The beds and bedding were extremely comfortable. The staff was very welcoming and eager to help us with our travel plans. Great pubs, shops, and sightseeing were a few steps away. I will stay here the next time I'm in Victoria. Victoria has always been one of my favorite cities and now I have a favorite Victoria Hotel! Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, stuffy staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be loud at night, due to nearby bars, depending on where your room is. Parking costs $15 and the parking garages are not closed off at all. Staff was a bit rude as well.

    Close to everything. Beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    I truly enjoyed our days in Victoria!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above the room was a little small for us.

    The location of the hotel to the downtown couldn't be closer. We walked pretty well everywhere we went in the city. My only comment that the room was too small for the luggage and its occupants. The staff was absolutely great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Good except for bar staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in bar/ restaurant discusting. Left without ordering as staff never came to our table. Just laughing and joking amount themselves and ignored us for 10 minutes.

    Best pillows I have ever slept on. Excellent room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Overall excellent experience.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main living room area didn't have its own air conditioning or heating thermostat so regulating the room temperature was unavailable.

    Friendly staff. Excellent location. Pet friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    convenient and seamless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe have a selection of high/low pillows. All the pillows were too high for both of us.

    Walking distance to near attractions and eateries. The restaurant has a wonderful view with a choice of set or buffet breakfasts that are very fairly priced (by Australian standards). The meal we had at night was a beautiful mix of flavours and cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location and the roof top restaurant was great for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little impersonal but that's understandable in a large city hotel

    Good location and the roof top restaurant was great for drinks and light bites

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Best vacation ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like the free upgrade to a suite. The one bedroom suite gave my wife and I some privacy from the kids. The staff was very friendly and accommodating throughout the weekend. We will stay at this hotel every time we visit Victoria B.C.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.0
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady that came to our door to deliver the crib was the rudest person in the world. It's also why I won't come back her again. She didn't even look at me when she talked and just tossed the playpen on the ground and told me they are out of crib so here is what they have. And SHE WALKED AWAY. The playpen was literally just laid on the ground by the door. What a service!

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for room and parking was high Coffee in the lobby only available until 930am

    Location Suite with kitchen Pool Balcony Proximity to shops, restaurants and tourist activities Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Good location, close to Inner Harbour and lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and overpriced for that size of room. Bathroom was very small as well.

    Good location, close to Inner Harbour and lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Haven't stayed here for years and what a magnificent upgrade- well worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...

    We were so pleasantly surprised with both the cleanliness and friendliness of the Chateau Victoria staff. The service was excellent and the suite was perfect - great size and well appointed. We will return and highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    Not worth the price I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was unclean, my room was "upgraded" but the corner suite we were in had no AC in the main room, the balcony had a great view but the floor was disgusting.

    Location was awesome

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Great Service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was friendly helpful, outstanding really. A real plus was the shuttle service they offered to nearby points of interest. Enjoyed the stay very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Terrific property - location, staff & rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, thick absorbent towels. Very comfortable beds and nice linens. Beautiful views of Victoria and the water. Terrific location within walking distance to everything - many restaurants and bars close by and also on the property. Very friendly staff that really took their time with tourists/guests asking questions about Victoria. Parking was very convenient. Gorgeous flowers flanking the entrance and spotless public areas too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    The Food at the Vista 1800 outweighs any other inconvenience one could have there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy A/C that is very, very hard to adjust to a temperature that is comfortable.

    One of the key reasons to stay at the Chateau, besides the superb service all of the staff provide, is the restaurant. If there were a 6th star, it would get it in our book

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Staff we're all really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was warm and didn't realize that the heat was on until later when we tried to run their portable air conditioning.

    Staff we're all really friendly and helpful. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Conveniently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioner- not easily adjustable - got too cold so had to shut it off For the rate they could include a continental breakfast with the coffee provided

    Location was convenient as everything was within walking distance Room was clean, bed comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable and pleasant enough for short-stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall, I would have to say that it is pricey for what you're getting. Location is great but at this price, you'd expect parking to be included at the very least and perhaps even an complimentary continental breakfast counter that had yogurt cups, muffins/pastries/doughnuts, bananas/apples in addition to coffee and tea. * would have liked it if complimentary hot water/tea were also made available in the mornings as coffee was * would have liked it if complimentary iced water with cucumber or lemon/lime slices was made available in the lobby (many other hotels offer this, especially during warmer months, in a large, clear beverage dispenser with spigot like https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B004TWWPMG/)

    * front desk staff were friendly and helpful especially when there was an error in the room type given (different from what was booked) * housekeeping was very accommodating to extra towels, soaps/shampoos * liked that complimentary fresh fruit (apples) were readily available at the front desk * liked that complimentary fresh coffee was available in the morning BUT would appreciate it if hot water/tea were also made available * liked the in-room fridge but noticed that not all rooms had the same model (other family and friends were staying at the hotel as well and reported differences); some had a freezer section which was very welcomed for cool treats the kids wanted

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel within easy walking distance of all major attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Include in the pool description that it's a 5' - 8' deep pool. We really couldn't play much in the water with our small children because the pool is deep.

    The hotel staff quickly moved us into a suite after a misunderstanding of the "standard room" description on your site. They were extremely professional and willing to adjust to accommodate our needs. The child friendly activity recommendations were perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Highly recomended =)
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asked about microwave for a couple hours but did't get it.

    Really good location.Great parking slot for free and there are several floors. There were very comfortable pillows and beds. Great looking lobby!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    Great experience for short weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed for two nights one day. Spent it site seeing and not inside hotel. Not much to say what I didn't like.

    Great location. Literally walking distance to everything and price wasn't too expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    There was a dog barking all night long a couple of rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dog barking all night long a couple of rooms down the hall. Super annoying and the night staff didn't seem to care to do anything about it.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: