Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Comfort Inn New Glasgow 3 stars

740 Westville Road, B2H 2J8 New Glasgow, Canada

#3 of 7 hotels in New Glasgow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 142 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was good, room was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very unfortunate, heater was very loud making it difficult to sleep. Bed had either old sheets or had crumbs in it. I perfer to think it was old sheets

    Breakfast was good, room was ok.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    We enjoyed this location although our first night was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed this location although our first night was awakened by fire alarm and it seemed like a long time before we we’re cleared to go back inside. Was a bit chilly and annoying knowing it was a prankster who pulled the alarm.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Although it may not be home but it certainly feels like it when you're there
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only had one bath towel in our room not the end of the world and I was able to get another one

    It's what I expect of a hotel. And there was a Tim Hortons right next-door something I'm very fond of

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for >$200 a night, this place was grim. breakfast is worse than macdonald's. at least they have a waffle maker. they can charge a lot of money as there aren't many other places around. i would recommend planning your trip so you don't have to stay here

    it had a roof

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing & enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathmat for tub; very slippery when showering.

    Friendly Staff The fresh smell of a clean & well maintained hotel. Lots of towels & toiletries. Convenience if a fridge & microwave. Breakfast Buffet included Location is great; near shopping mall & restaurants. Easy access off/on the highway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable, great location and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit of a challenge as there was not enough for the number of guests. It was a busy weekend.

    Excellent staff, especially Julie - she was a delight and very accommodating. She was able to put us on the ground floor as 2 of our travelling companions had challenges climbing stairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem is my key kept getting erased. They said it could have been too close to my cell or a bad batch of cards.They were very apologetic.

    We were in the front of the building on the second floor. I thought it was going to be too noisy because I could hearthe cars but once asleep did not wake up until morning. Very clean room. Comfortable bed and TV was easy to operate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Loved the parking right at the door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the parking right at the door. Staff accommodated booking me on the ground for for accessibility purposes. Room was clean. Although housekeeping was poor. They came to the room and replaced a bottle of water, emptied garbage but did not make the beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    . insufficient parking, There is a large parking lot adjacent That I am sure could supply the 12 or so parking spots needed,Especially I am sure The coffee spot is used by the majority of the motel guests. Lack of ELEVATOR,

    a good place to stay , close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.7
    Don't Book this Hotel If You Have Trouble Carrying Your Luggage Up Stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "promoted" price is apparently only for rooms on the second floor and there is no elevator at this hotel. My wife has hip problems making stairs difficult so I requested a main floor room. The senior person at the front desk said the cost to relocate to the first floor is an extra $25 per night. She suggested I call Booking.com, which I did, but they were unable to help. If you have any problem with carrying your luggage up stairs stay away from this hotel. I would suggest Booking.com include the "second floor only rate - no elevator" in your copy for this hotel.

    Good location, clean and up to date hotel. Junior person at front desk offered to help us carry our bags up stairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice clean comfortable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Over 2 km from 'downtown' New Glasgow and from the long-distance bus stop.

    Spacious room, very good amenities, great wifi connection. Staff were very courteous and helpful. Good choice of eating places within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.0
    When booking room I didn't see any king beds.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator; had to carry luggage up the stairs

    When booking room I didn't see any king beds. At hotel when I asked about these beds the clerk said they had them but I could not change my booking. When she saw how unhappy we were she called and got permission.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Recommen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't stay long enough to enjoy what the city has to offer explorers like myself.

    The friendly staff, lovely people, and the location of the hotel is awesome. Next to Tim Hortons and Wendy's and across the street from the city's mall. I recommend this hotel because it offers free breakfast, free wifi, clean rooms, and really friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    absolutly a great place to stay......Very homey and staff where excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i didn't like the fact I had to leave net day....will defenitly be back

    was really satisfied and the women behind the counter working the desk was so pleasant and really friendly, loved her..she was a gem.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    Pleasant stay at Comfort Inn, New Glasgow
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Provision of gluten-free products for breakfast (cereal, bread) would have been most gratefully received.

    The room was clean, well equipped and the bed was very comfortable. Hot breakfast was most welcome and my son particularly enjoyed the waffle-maker! In addition the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.3
    Appreciated our stay and would not hesitate to recommend or stay there again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We appreciated the accommodation to meet our needs with our pet. Employees were respectful and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Clean and go location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and go location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.0
    It was acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was way too small.

    Overall,it was a good accomodation

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have the room on the first floor, but gave us a different one that was.

    Nice room. Great clerk at desk--very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    modern clean highway motel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints

    modern clean highway motel;

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    It was enjoyable and we would recommend it to our friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    traffic

    the location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    We liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other guests. The first night.

    We liked the location. We liked how you checked in and checked out.pending time with family

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Close to shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to shopping. Great breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. Comfy clean room. Location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.6
    A stale smell from carpet and washroom floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A stale smell from carpet and washroom floor. Bathtub clogged.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay . Clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Exceeded my expectations for hotels and I have high expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and was as clean and modern as most Marriotts

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Graduation from St FX
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    The customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ice machine on the 2nd floor

    The customer service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Easy check-in and check-out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking spots.

    Easy check-in and check-out. Comfy pillows and bed. Great breakfast nook to start the day!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool

    Staff was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.0
    Will book another hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Motel room had a smell like sweat

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    I would come back again!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area was a bit small

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location and staff. Very friendly and accomodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were a little hard

    Staff were exceptional

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Please provide two luggage racks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please provide two luggage racks....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    What a relief after a long drive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little more breakfast selection.

    Great wifi connection and tv channel selection. Nice to relax there after a long drive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Big clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift made it difficult to get heavy bags to the second level.

    Limited fruit options for addition to cereal. Muffins were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    the room was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the room was excellent. I didn't eat breakfast so I cannot comment on it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    It was a brief but nice stay. Comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Convenience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Over all we enjoyed our stay at the Comfort Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all very close to shopping and dining

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Overall good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was kind of hard to get to room 208 from a side door with lots of bags.

    Beds are very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    the bed was very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed was very comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    will come back if you improve the eating area for breakfast
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was very good but the room where it was held was to small

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.2
    Expected more for a chain hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very hard and uncomfortable. Room had a weird odour. No elevator.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast was not as good as some other Comfort Inns

    Great location & newly renovated rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.3
    Parking too small.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking too small. Hard to park a large vehicle

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    The room was clean and comfortable.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel's location was ideal for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Good quality for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was more European Style

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Clean room and free breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area could be bigger not alot of sitting area and tables

    Clean room and free breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.3
    Convenient and friendly
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to expect hallway horseplay when there's a big hockey tournament in town!

    Pricey but comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Friendly staff clean room great price easy access as I have mobility issue

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    They charged me twice for the room not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides that everything is okay.

    They charged me twice for the room not impressed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    5.8
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise coming from the hallway, (guests and staff talking, shutting doors) was very loud. Likely because there are large spaces under the room doors. Price of the room was significantly higher than local competitors. They were already fully booked so we had to pay the higher price of the Comfort Inn.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Location. Decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.2
    Location right off the highway with resturants near by and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast space was very small for our family and the two other family's travelling with us. Also there was only sausage and egg that morning in wa breakfast and the sausage was all gone by the time I arrived. Also would have used a vending machine and ice maker if it was on the second floor. And our toilet pluged every time someone would use it, even with the little tissue from peeing. I was able to borrow a plunger for the night though and prob used it 5 times

    Location right off the highway with resturants near by and comfortable beds and room temp upon arrival

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.5
    It was very well situated off the highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very well situated off the highway. Room was clean. Staff friendly. Breakfast good. Conveniently located at one end of town with all amenities. Shopping mall across the street. Restaurants close by. Gas stations hard to find. Book early.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    9.6
    The breakfast was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator. But stairs were not too bad

    The breakfast was fantastic. Waffles out of this world. Plenty of choices. Room was great. Staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    As always staff was great and the breakfast was fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weather but you have no control over that. Lol

    As always staff was great and the breakfast was fantastic and plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    One of the room smelled like someone had been smoking in it.

    Staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast was poor quality of food.
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was poor quality of food. We looked and left to go elsewhere.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    8.8
    Staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating.
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was very good

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast selection very limited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast selection very limited.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.2
    The staff person Tracy was wonderfully helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were a bit on the hard side for me.

    The staff person Tracy was wonderfully helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff that went out of their way to be helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff that went out of their way to be helpful

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    8.8
    staff very helpful and nice!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    staff very helpful and nice! Clean, quite hotel great location

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Convenient location.
    • Solo traveller

    Limited Parking.

    Convenient location.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    Staff very friendly and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly and informative.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Handy to shopping and the wedding that I attended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Handy to shopping and the wedding that I attended.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    9.6
    Bed was comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is a typical in healthy chain breakfast. It closes at 9am

    Bed was comfy. Appeared to be newly renovated.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    6.3
    Wifi won't connect it is so overwhelmed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi won't connect it is so overwhelmed. Bed is a rock. No comfort in the "comfort Inn"

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    8.3
    Noise in the hallway at late night.
    • Couple

    Noise in the hallway at late night. Loud and boisterous occupants but it did not last very long.

There are also 58 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: