Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville / Downtown 3 stars

1005 Guy Street, H3H 2K4 Montréal, Canada

#81 of 134 hotels in Montréal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 592 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and shabby furniture in the room and across the whole hotel, room smelled bad and it felt like the place was stuck in the seventies and there has been no modernisation ever since. The food was bad at the hotel restaurant. The place needs a serious refit.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't like the noise, unfortunately you can hear noises in a hall and next room as well, that's the only minus of this place :(

    I don't know why there is negative reviews on this hotel, but I totally don't agree !!! the hotel is great , the room is clean, very comfortable room, we booked a king room, huge bathroom ,amazing king size bed,great coffee, we loved it! the pool outside was great, overall experience is AMAZING!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unclear about the extra charges that were going to be assessed. When we checked out the room was spotless so we were shocked to see a much higher total charged then quoted. Turns out many hidden fees and certain things were not advised charged daily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was extremely poor. No access to sauna or pool (website should be updated to reflect this status). Hours should be told to guests upin arrival; Had to pay for parking and breakfast (website should be clear as to what one is paying for)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom requires uplift. The fitness room should be bigger and needs cleaning. Some rooms are better than the others. In my previous stay I was very happy with the room, but this one was not that good.

    The room was big enough and clean. Coffee machine in the room was good. My colleague had a microwave but I didn't.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only able to get the room from the photo by calling and having to upgrade my room. Original one booked was not. You can hear all noises from room. Some areas of hotel were nice others were smelly.

    Size of room and that it looked like the photograph. Staff was friendly, professional and courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was there was some hallway noise during the afternoon/evening which wasn’t a big deal as there wasn’t any when we went to bed.

    The staff were very friendly. The hotel was close to the Bell Centre. The parking garage was $24.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping employees didn't come until 4 or 5 pm which is typically when we would be just back to the room from being out all day. Or it would be when we were getting ready to go out for the evening. This was fine for us but I can see how it would inconvienience some people, especially anyone who would need things replenished.

    The location and employees were great. Very friendly. Also the rooms were nice, modern and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't figure out the heater in the bathroom

    The room was clean and bright. No noise from the street. Bed was very comfortable. Very happy we got upgraded to a suite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vending machines need an upgrade

    Property was clean and very close to nearby great sites! With restaurants and clubs just around the corner. Amazing stay I will definitely be coming back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice and modern, great price, and great location. Parking was $27 a night but you’re in the perfect location to have the convienence of parking and walking everywhere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower could have had a better water flow.

    Staff was friendly, beds were comfortable, room was clean with laminate flooring/tile, elevators readily available and the coffee made at front desk was excellent. The location was within walking distance to restaurants and Bell Center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Many problems: there is NO spa, as advertised, only a small sauna that took time to warm up, staff tries to close early, masseuse is called from elsewhere, NO hot tub. We had to move from original room several times for different reasons. Our first room was drafty, temperature dropped at night, it was mostly very noisy, internet was poor, coffee maker filthy. The next room was cold, had no internet, broken coffee maker, then something burned, fumes made us sick. Then we were reluctantly moved to a freezing room with no internet and at 11 pm told to find another hotel or contact Booking.com if not happy. Finally by midnight a room was given with NO tap water in a cold bathroom, old chipped floor & furniture, got cold during the night. We checked out one day early, were given only one credit, not charged extra but told to get refund from Booking.com. Waiting for refund from Booking.com - your description is very far from reality!

    Good location, good floors, good beds, clean sheets & towels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets and comforter were dirty. Both beds had stains on them including the pillow covers. The floors had dirt on them as if they hadn’t been cleaned or swept. The hotel was very noisy throughout the night and well into the morning. The desk and tv stand were dusty as well as the coffee machine. The desk chair was torn up and looked worn out.

    The service at the front desk was great. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures are very deceiving. This hotel is not as up scale as they believe they are. The price point is very high for its average accommodations. They seem to think a free espresso is a great luxury selling point and each staff person is very eager to get you one. Parking convenience was great but for the price of the room it should have been included. Excessive $200 deposit on top of the room fee as well. THey graciously point out the value of each item in the room in their welcome book which makes the customer feel uneasy. Room was dark and cheap accessory lamps didn’t help. It’s not a bad place to stay but when you can see the Marriot from your window at the same price you feel some booking remorse.

    Easy to get to and parking was convenient

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've used this hotel for years. I love the location. The upgrades are nice but price has more than doubled in the past year. I'll look elsewhere for my next trip to Montreal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs work.the doors were old and it didn't even close properly.

    Great clean room , the beds and facilities were up to par . The staff was very accommodating and took their time to help us around the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heat in bathroom. Took 2 hours for them to send a technician. Not acceptable.

    La Perle Blue Morrocan restaurant was amazing. Great food. Superbe service. Great value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived early and couldn't check in until 3pm. My room door wouldn't lock. They came to fix it but then I was locked in the room. Got locked in 3 times and last time maintenance cussed at me and said it was my fault. Had a fire broke out I wouldn't of been able to get out quickly as I had to call front desk to have someone open door from the outside all 3 times. Sauna was out of order. Bar/restaurant had non accommodating hours and only served 1 type of beer. All vending machines were our of bottled water and gift store wasn't open much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The common spaces in the hotel are pretty old and outdated. The other guests can be pretty loud.

    I liked the big room, lots of space in the room. Montreal was fully booked that weekend, and it was the only hotel which had some rooms available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very low-rent and exceedingly expensive, though booked a week in advance. It is located across from a police station. The price suggests a luxury hotel, but it is not. We could not believe we paid $400 for our room.

    The room was large and clean. They provided a nice espresso when we arrived. The staff are nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything! I stayed there before so i wanted to stay there again! It’s close to ste-catherine st where all the shopping is. The hotel staff were great and offered me a coffee. They have a coffee machine at the reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can think of that was more of an annoyance was the location of the toilet paper. It's just awkward to get toilet paper so we just put the paper on the vanity!

    Super comfy beds. The rooms were a lot bigger then I imagined. Pool area was amazing. The location was good if you want to be close to nightlife (5/6 minute walk to rue crescent). Super close to shopping, and patios!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really walked too much. The transit system offered a daily pass for $10, use all you want.

    Close proximity to downtown clubs and restaurants, and metro stations. Nice variety of cuisines in the city near the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some strangers knocking my door at around 3 am. He knocked the door so loudly and it continues around 1 minute. Then he knocked the door room by room! It was so horrible! Then when I asked the staff the next day morning he just said it's okay…I didn't get a reasonable explanation. I felt not safe!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, the cleanliness of the room was very good. My only complaint is that there were some stains in the bathtub. Certainly not a deal-breaker.

    The rooms were very spacious, and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the sauna wasn't working, which would have been nice for my sore neck. Our room looked across to the police station, but I guess there's not much that could be done about that. The parking's also a little pricey.

    The check-in clerk bumped us up to a suite, on the house, which was huge and comfortable. The front office staff we're all great, actually. I didn't have enough time to try the pool, but that looked really nice, even just to sit out in the courtyard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    He beds were rock hard and the front desk staff had bad attitudes. Waaaaaay over priced for what you receive. Also the breakfast absolutely horrible.

    good area of Montreal to be in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The hotel felt unsafe, which is quite remarkable for Canada. A lot of shabby (low income) people stay around and even inside the hotel for some reason. As someone else wrote, they actually seem to have rooms there, which is nice for them, but unacceptable if you stay there as a guest for this money. These people gave us the feeling they were checking up on our whereabouts, which feeling we never had in the 100+ hotels we've stayed before, including the very cheap ones. A contributing factor to the unsafe feeling was that someone actually tried to open up our room in the middle of the night, and that we got several ghost calls then. When we complained about these last things the reception didn't seem to be alarmed/surprised about this; - The room was very noisy, the door and walls dont seem to keep sound out; - The rooms don't have good lightblocking curtains. They only have three rollar blinds and two small curtains to the side. These all don't connect good with one another, so the sunlight wakes you up at 5 am unless you cover the blinds and curtains as good as you can with the plentitude of pillows that is on every bed. An exemplary photo in the lobby suggest every room is like this. My guess is that this is because the gargantuan airco in the room sticks out too much to be able to close proper sunblocking curtains safely, and that the staff therefore didnt install these curtains at all; - They ask for a deposit of about 200 dollars (or higher), for no apparent reason (we paid already); - A hotel that is called "Espresso" and gives free espresso's to guests at the lobby (which of course is nice on itstelf), should make sure the coffee tastes good, but regretfully to our personal preference that was not the case. - All this made our stay there very uncomfortable and certainly unsuitable with a child, even though the decoration of the rooms and the beds are pretty good, and the hotel has good facilities and an ok location.

    The lobby and the rooms are spacious and decorated well. The hotel seems clean. The swimming pool and fitness room seem nice, but we didnt use them. The personnel was ok. The hotel is not really in the centre, but very near the excellent subway system of Montreal, which takes you to the old town in a few stops. With these ingredients the hotel could be good, but it isnt.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was over priced. The beds were very nice. The bathrooms were a bit dirty

    The location was. Very far from the center and I was unsure if it was safe to walk around at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room neighbours in the hallway in the early morning. Should be better monitored and/or people should just know how to behave properly in a hotel.

    Location, clean room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to this hotel might be enough to turn you off, but if you can get one of the rooms on a quieter floor, you will be more than pleased. Montreal is not a cheap city when it comes to finding summer accommodation. I was shocked by the price of the downtown hotel, so we decided to give it a go for one night. Upon arrival we were greeted by a number of people smoking outside, and a general sense of unease. The concierge wasn't the friendliest, but we could later understand why. Heading up to the 7th floor, my husband and I walked slowly from the elevator to our room, I say slowly because we were both taking in what was happening on the 7th floor. There were a number of people in the hallway drinking, and loud music coming from the room across the hall from ours. We turned right around and headed back to the concierge. It was late and we wanted to sleep. The concierge was kind enough to provide us with another (more expensive) room at no extra cost on the 5th floor. It was very comfortable and we both slept wonderfully.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cree Nation hospital / primary care located on site (which didn't realize at first) but felt badly as there were a lot of ill people in lobby and staying on site for care.

    Rooms have been remodeled

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dark hallways, very gloomy, but we were staying in the room, not the hallway. ;)

    Great espresso! Able to book us immediately after another booking fell through. Very close to everything. Great location and great staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were good but the building was dated as was the carpeting in the hallway. The rooms floors were also dated.

    The location with what we needed it for was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as I got inside my room, the toilet was already clogged, one night parking costs 26 dollars, and their room cleaner stole my shirt, pants, and my phone charger!

    It was located in an area close to a lot of places

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 % tax Hospital like odour in the corridors( not in the room thankfully) No curtains only shades so can't control lighting in the room, especially early morning when you want to continue sleeping. Construction work and loud banging early Sunday morning which is sure to sabotage sleep. Only 2 elevators and one frequently breaks down.

    Location Cleanliness Free internet Easy parking Room service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never again will I book with this hotel! The receptionist was incredibly rude!! For the amount of money spent on this hotel it definitely deserves a 0. The parking is a joke. I had to go in and out of the hotel lobby area because the ticket that was prepaid for kept stating invalid which was even more frustrating when we were trying to get to a certain place at a certain time. The beds were uncomfortable and extremely hard, the air kept turning off making it super humid in the room and the hairdryer was broken as well as the plug in the bathroom. Overall horrible stay!

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite with Murphy Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was sold for family of three but prepared for two people ( not enough pillows comforters, towels). Broken elevator (only one working), very uncomfortable super firm bed, unreasonably high price, no complimentary breakfast, one Restourant on premises with terrible quality food.

    Close to the center of the city, very spacious rooms, nice contemporary furniture and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy aircon and a noisy room. Had a room just over the entrance, was told it was the best one. It was nearly impossible to sleep. Pool was closed, they told it should be open. It wasnt. The resturant was absolutely a disgrace. Awful food.

    The room was big, Friendly staaff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside of the building is not impressive and the lobby and hallways are dismal, and frankly, smell bad. At check-in, the desk staff were overwhelmed and not friendly or welcoming. We were very concerned about what awaited us in our room, because the feel of the hotel was pretty run down, and almost seedy. However, the rooms are fine, and while a little old and well-used, they are comfortable and pleasant. The bathroom was clean and okay, although the towels are very thin. The hotel is located about 4 blocks off of St. Catherine's, and is in an area which feels derelict - although we walked to and from the hotel at all times of day and evening and never felt unsafe. One elevator (out of 2) was out of service which was a gigantic hassle as the hotel was very full. Didn't see the gym or pool.

    The beds were very comfortable and the room's temperature was easy to control. There is a parking lot attached to the hotel, and parking was easy and while not inexpensive ($27 Can/24 hours), probably fair for the city. The hotel is an easy walk from St. Catherine's Street. They have free bottles of water available in the lobby. They also offer free expresso for all guests all the time and it is delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping was good but came too late in the day

    Staff were very friendly, the location was great as was the ease of the self park Wifi did not work

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevators had strong cigarette-smoke odor. Hallway rugs were stained and dirty. Hallway walls were scuffed. The room was dated (mattress stained). People can be heard through the walls.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where do I start.... The place is used as a living quarter for low income people on the 7th floor. When I first arrived I was a little shocked at the outside and how old it looked. The lobby wasn't so bad. When they gave me my key to my room on the 7th floor I was completely disgusted with what I had seen. This hotel is like a hostel or goodwill location for the poor to stay for long periods of time. I wanted to leave immediately. I would have but your site had a no cancellation. So I called the front desk and told them what I thought. They moved me to the 4th floor , the so called Executive floor. Has anyone ever seen an executive floor before ? it doesn't look like where I was placed. When I stepped off of the elevator I immediately told myself... Never ever will I use booking.com again. This place was disgusting and I honestly don't even know how it's a listing. I will make sure people know what the place is really like. The reviews that are on trip advisor are fake. There's no damn way anyone wrote that it was a nice place to stay and they've been there twice unless its the people who are low income and living on the 7th floor. I should have received half of my money back for the complete disappointment of my trip. I didn't feel like my belongings we safe. I didn't feel comfortable even hanging out in the area. What a complete hole of a hotel

    I didn't like anything about the place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like my room being right in front of the elevators. I didn't like hearing every person who came and went off my floor, all night. I didn't like how small the room was. I didn't like the bathroom door which was really hard to close, and lastly... I don't like having to wait more than a week to get my deposit back. Being a three star hotel, I would expect better. I will not stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Occasionally noisy neighbours from playing loud music. It appeared that people came to party in Montreal during the Saint Patrick weekend and parade on Sunday. However, staffs and security were very quick to act on my request to tell my neighbour to low down / turn off their music.

    Staffs were friendly and accommodating. Free espresso coffees by the front desk as much as you'd like.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many people do partys Can hear them tru the door. Staff non chalant The free wifi wasnt working at all. Lo connection was detect

    Large renovate room. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The croissant that I had gotten with my breakfast was pretty hard and not as fresh as I would've liked it. The bathroom handle that was in my room (413) was lose and should be replaced.

    The front desk staff when we had arrived (Louis) was very friendly and helpful for giving us the best location on where to go. The complimentary espresso was a good perk for those late nights and early mornings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not clean and pee was all over the toilet I didn't like that, parking very expensive and no meal I think hotels like that should have breakfast included ☹️

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were so thin we heard the people in the adjacent room. Right accross a police station, so we heard the sirens at night.

    Location is incredible and the staff was awesome!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were many people just hanging around the hotel (both inside and out)...felt a little sketchy at times...this was not appealing.

    Location was very good in respect to Bell center and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel location was not really pretty, weird in the night, very noisy because there is a train station aside, police station infront so siren non stop during the middle night. The whole street on the other side of the hotel was on construction, so bad view. Behind the hotel is a empty land, kinda huge parking lot but no light during the night, so very dark. I was on top floor, i did not have a nice view of the city. No security guard. No valet. I did not feel safe totally. Breakfast was simple, not alot choice. Price was fair but they should mention plus tax because it was not included for what paid when i went for check in and they forgot to mention the 200$ depot before check in. Anyways, i dont think its a good location for family trip or for business people.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were a little rough in spots - the hotel had obviously been renovated in the not-too-distant past but has not been kept up. Cracked tiles in the shower, handle missing from a drawer, toilet roll dispenser missing ... Nothing bad just a bunch of minor details that suggest the current management is a little lax on maintenance.

    Very reasonably priced. Comfortable bed, nice sheets. Staff was helpful and patient. Hotel is located just two blocks from many shops, restaurants, etc - very much walkable even in the winter. Many of the restaurants are even open late (10/11pm close) which is very convenient if you had a late flight into town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors need to be sound proofed more as lots of hallway noise at all hours of the night from occupants. Every night my sleep was disturbed more than once but front desk quick to send security.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Great price. Rooms are nice looking and beds nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    them wanting $200 deposit Main floor lounge need some Seating instead of just tables There used to be some . now they are gone.

    The room and facilities were great. Best I have had there....

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were way too thick and hurt your neck to sleep on; bathroom door didn't close; staff refused to provide us with a plate required to actually use the microwave...

    Microwave, location, fridge

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...all good.

    Staff made us feel welcome right when we walked in the door. Carolina at front desk was excellent and the free coffee/espresso was good too. Room was also modern and large. Hotel was an easy walk to the Bell Centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are paper thin, and they hosted a Indian wedding, you could of sworn it was right there in my room. Music went on till 23h00, with young kids lets just say that not ideal. Ps: Do not pay for the breakfast buffet, you get better food in Cuba... Me and my son were sick on our way back home.

    Close to the downtown area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is just horrible. It is served by an extra conpany, so the hotel does not feel responsible for the very poor quality. The rooms where decent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is associated with the local hospital so there are many patients staying there who are getting out patient treatment. Can have some bizarre encounters with those guests.

    Location was excellent. It was clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it wasnt a huge issue, the hotel contracts with the local hospitals for residents from northern quebec. They seem to take over the feel of the entire building. Again, I understand but for some it could be a little off putting.

    The location was great...the room has a good attempt of modern touches. Great Value!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks nothing like photos on site. Much more run down. Lots of people hanging around outside and in lobby. Some improvements made in room but fixtures dirty, burnt out lightbulbs and noises from waterpipes, other rooms at all hours. Toilet clogged. Coffee and cups in room not replaced by cleaning staff when room made up. Would not stay again.

    Good location, short walk to shops, bars, restaurants. Very nice staff, good price but questionable value. Beds were clean and bathroom looks renovated and newer.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing about the place was the slow draining shower.

    Great location! In town for a Bruins game, right around the corner from the Bell. Easy access to all of Montreal from here. Staff was very freindly. Price was great too! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone in Montreal for a couple days.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I found the place so crowded, and on some days there was a lot of noise in the corridors. Possibly they were hosting a large group of people during stay.

    Was able to adjust my booking at the last minute because my flight got delayed. This was done at no cost.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping did not come at all over three days until we called. The room itself was acceptable. The common areas are quite tired and in need of refreshment. There is a vacant lot next to the hotel which a bit run down with litter. Not great value for money.

    The location is very convenient. Some of the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some on-going construction around the hotel... Not possible to sleep anymore when the workers started at 7:00.. Garage is not cheap..

    Very good and large bed Car park at the same level as the lobby, very convenient Not far from the metro, and even walkable distance from downtown Montreal

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was VERY noisy - the air conditioning is too noisy to be left on while you're in the room, and the corridors are wide enough that echos travel down them. My room was next to an ice machine that made odd noises until late in the evening. Free WiFi is a nice touch but occasionally was too slow/unreliable to be of much use - light browsing an email was possible though.

    Rooms are spacious and well-equipped. The bed was possibly the most comfortable I've ever slept in!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the front desk staff to be less than congenial. It was a long wait to check in, and the staff person did not go out of his way to be friendly. I was given a room at the far end of the corridor, the door was out of sight of the elevator, which for a woman travelling alone is undesirable. Upon checkout I was not asked by the desk staff whether I enjoyed my stay at all. I stay every week in hotels in the same area, and the desk staff at this establishment are the least congenial.

    The housecleaning staff were extremely pleasant and friendly. The room was clean and well-appointed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The exterior needs sprucing up...the restaurant needs improvement in food and service...

    The room was ample and nice...housekeeping did a good job each day... the bathroom though displayed evidence of mold (not overwhelming...but it was there)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hair in our tub upon arrival. The shower curtain won't stay closed on either end, water spills out on floor then, not much pressure in shower. Bar closes at 10?? Even on weekends... Seemed to be a lot of Inuit people just kind of hanging around..... Which isn't an issue, but it felt like a housing unit rather than a hotel.

    Beds were very comfy. Very close and convenient to metro and shopping,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress had a protective cover that allowed the sheet to slip and bunch up when someone got into bed. We arrived in the early evening so had dinner at the hotel restaurant. Because I have food intolerances we passed on the buffet and ordered off the menu. We did get service but it was slow. We noticed that the waiter, desk clerk and possibly the cook were having a conference down from us while we waited. After we were served I wished a condiment and the waiter disappeared. After waiting for some time I went in search of iit myself, never did find or get it. Front desk personnel were business like and except for a couple we had dealings with were not overly friendly.

    Hotel was reasonably comfortable. Room was basic but clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise outside my room late at night. The hotel seems to have a number of permanent residents. However, I was able to ignore it after the first night.

    Great value and a good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have microwaves, a little coffe shop or bakery would be nice for mornings on the run.

    Location was excellent to attractions, restaurants, shopping. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar weren't open all the time.

    The location of the hotel was convenient to the Metro, restaurants and bars. The jacuzzi tub was an added bonus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly dusty, and pictures were a little different from posted. The outside of the hotel could use some updating!

    Location! Pretty quiet, and enjoyable staff who were reliable and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville / Downtown traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: