Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de l'ITHQ 4 stars

3535 St. Denis, Plateau Mont Royal, H2X 3P1 Montréal, Canada

#25 of 134 hotels in Montréal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 656 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Strange hotel but nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one elevator for the two hotel floors , and conference floor which resulted in long waits.

    Ample room, good bed, nice view, good location. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Nice staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely helpful and nice beyond expectations Location is good, in a quiet neighborhood, close to nice restaurants and next to subway station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    We didn’t realize that the hotel is also a school for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t realize that the hotel is also a school for tourism and hotel management! The staff was wonderful!!!!! Very helpful especially Stephan and Eddy! The front desk was very accommodating!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful Montreal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delightful breakfast included in stay. Hotel is literally right above the Sherbrooke metro station -- super convenient. The staff were particularly helpful with restaurant and entertainment recommendations. They even exchanged USD for CAD with no fee! Highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    Close to the metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not what it claims to be. This is at best a 2.5 Star Hotel. Faucet in bathroom was disconnected from sink. Stainless shell Kleenex box attached to tile wall of bathroom looked institutional. Decor was basic. Bed comfortable and clean. Staff very pleasant though as a training school, students had different levels of experience. Motel.com charges more than the house rate and it is not easy to get any adjustments.

    Close to the metro

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location , very nice hotel, but watch out for the smokers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no smoking signs on balcony and could not go out on balcony as neighbor smoked all the time - when I opened my balcony door his smoke would pour into mine and it would take a half hour for the ac to clear it out

    The location was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    The room cleaning service is not that great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff does an average job. The door knob did not work properly ( my room was left open a whole day ( security risk) because of the knob. I reported that. Hope it gets fixed. But this is not a road block.

    The room cleaning service is not that great. Reception staff is amazingly friendly. Restaurant staff super nice. Personalized service. The breakfast is great! Recommended !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great place! We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of us had a little trouble setting the right temperature on the tub faucet. We loved the coffee maker in the room, but it was a little noisy.

    We loved the location of the hotel. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The parking space was roomy (I loved that, I could barely squeeze in at other hotels). The breakfast was great, a lovely start of the day. Our room had a lovely view of the city, that we could enjoy from the balcony. It was really nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    We had the best breakfast experience here in our US-Canada...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was old with an old carpet and furniture. Despite the perfect cleaning service for this reason didn’t give you a nice experience as all old carpets has a smell. This is a pity, as service was great and caring and breakfast so delicious.

    We had the best breakfast experience here in our US-Canada trip. High quality food, so variable (egg benedict, salmon, omlett, bacon, cheese, fruits, delicious pastry and finally great bread and many other things..). Elegant, spacious salon for breakfast, nice tea service and table preparation. So french :) Hotel staff was so helpful, regarding any enquiry. Clean rooms, finally with all necessary things in bathroom, not only lotion and shampoo like in general in the US-Canada, but stuff for make up removal, shoe cleaning, etc.. Rooms with balcony, so finally you can have fresh air in the room which is important and not very common here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant, high level stay in very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are not completely sound proof from the traffic on the busy Rue Saint-Denis (even on the high floors), but it didn't bother us very much since we associated the occasional background noise with the livelyhood of an interesting metropole. The internet in our room was poor. But most of all we regret that l'Institut isn't a hidden gem anymore since it was nearly fully booked when we wanted to return a week later and the prices thus had gone up above our budget :(.

    Location in the middle between The Plateau and Downtown and Vieux Montréal, and right above Metro Station Sherbrooke, so if you don't feel to do the (short) walk you can use the excellent public transport (very fast and very frequent service). Large rooms, excellent beds, nice views (high floors). Excellent breakfast with some prepared extra's above all what you regularely expect at a first class breakfast buffet. This is the hotel school and it is very pleasant to be helped by enthousiastic and clearely very well trained students (and an equally enthousiastic teacher :)). We also got very good restaurant pointers by lovely consierge trainees.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Everything accept that
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told when we checked in the breakfast was included....they then made us pay fir when we checked out..$44 fir 2 people...it was NOT included

    Everything accept that

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the tiles in the bathroom were broken or the grout was missing. This gave it a more dingy feel than the rest of the room.

    The room was very quiet. Because this is a teaching hotel, all of the staff practiced excellent customer service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Very cosy
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly staff are students undergoing their studies in tourism with supervisors one step a way to guide them. I ’ve enjoyed the Nespresso coffee in the morning, the housecoat and especially the pillows. The bed was comfortable and the were diffrents chargers for cell phones or tablets. There is even a patio but it was too cold to enjoy it at this time of the year. There is a buffet breakfast that has a fair variety of choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    The staff was great, extremely friendly and helpful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was great, extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions for meals, exhibits, directions/transportation, etc. The hotel is very comfortable, with great facilities in the room and in the general area. The breakfast was OUTSTANDING!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful staff and very good breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For an “eco” hotel, I was surprised by the little shampoo bottles and stairs that were for emergency use only.

    Wonderful staff and very good breakfast. We had lunch at the restaurant and it was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    The balcony view, comfortable bed and breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom sink was VERY tiny, it was difficult to wash my face or brush my teeth without splashing water everywhere.

    The balcony view, comfortable bed and breakfast included.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    I will go back to the Hotel ITHQ on St-Denis Street in Montreal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could be improved, I found my experience absolutely perfect.

    The bed and pillow were extremely comfy. The size of the room and the view were great. I will certainly go back. They have an interesting approach to environment. The bar is held by a very talented barmaid.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The students were on Christmas break.

    The hotel is centrally located, and the staff are very friendly and professional. The breakfast was excellent, I just wish the students were working during our stay, as I would have loved to sample their cooking. The rooms were clean, well stocked, and roomy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Great place to stay for a Montreal visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were there between sessions and missed having the restaurant open for dinner. We had a balcony on the 7th floor which triggered my fear of heights every time I wanted to go out and take a photo of the skyline.

    The staff was very friendly, professional, and competent. The location above the Sherbrooke station made getting around Montreal in frigid weather much easier. The complimentary breakfast was exceptional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was clean, comfortable, bright and only feet away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was included. It needs to be hot and improved upon however the coffee was good.

    The hotel was clean, comfortable, bright and only feet away from the nearest Metro stop making it very convenient fro travel in the city. Staff were friendly and pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    nothing but good things to say
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duvets were way to heavy in terms of weight on your legs. No need as the rooms are nice and warm. Meter patrol around the facility is ruthless. Be sure to pay for you parking right away if you park on the street nearby!

    wonderful breakfast included love the balconies!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Great spot to stay in Plateau area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only slight issue was when we arrived to our room the door was ajar, and the window was propped open with a pillow, and the heat was on high?. We were unable to get into the room early as they were cleaning the rug, so apparently all of this was due to trying to get the rug dry for our arrival. It was dry except for one spot so not worth a complaint to management, just their timing here was a little off.

    Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was fairly typical, not outstanding but good. Would like to have gone to the restaurant but our schedule did not allow, perhaps next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Everyone goes the extra mile to accommodate guests needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an unexpected ‘ fire drill incident’ which forced all of us to evacuate the hotel and I was recovering from bad jet lag, so it was quite untimely.

    Everyone goes the extra mile to accommodate guests needs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    The rooms were good. The breakfast a total disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful. It was never the same. There were undercooked eggs, or there were no eggs left, there was no choice to have a boiled egg or an omelette only undercooked scrambled eggs. NO BACON, the sausages were extremely gritted and did not taste good. Where there was fruit I ate it. There was cold meats that were tasty but very little of it. There was mould on the bathroom tiles.

    The breakfast was awful. It was never the same. There were undercooked eggs, or there were no eggs left, there was no choice to have a boiled egg or an omelette only undercooked scrambled eggs. NO BACON, the sausages were extremely gritted and did not taste good. Where there was fruit I ate it. There was cold meats that were tasty but very little of it. There was very little of everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    A friendly hotel with a really excelent restaurant on a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking garage.

    Helpfull staff. The underground parking was for me to narrow with a rented unfamiliar car. Beyond their duty the security people parked the car for me.The location is very central,everything on walking distance. The restaurant is on his was to a michelin star. the food and service are excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    A very nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was some confusion about the price and the booking but we sorted this out.

    The breakfast was delicious and way more than just a continental breakfast. The room was very beautiful and clean. And I would certainly recommend the restaurant. We had an excellent dinner. In overall I would recommend this hotel. Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect choice in downtown Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive, but that can be expected which such aminities.

    Perfect beds, balcony and window that could be opened. Great breakfast, metro station in the same building, at walking distance from Old Town and museum quarter.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance from street not highly visible due to construction in the area - not the fault of the hotel.

    The included breakfast was delicious. We decided to walk from Place des Arts back to the hotel instead of taking the metro and it took only 20 Minutes. Many restaurants to choose from in close proximity. The balcony and opening window was lovely and fresh and the beds were very comfortable!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    We loved our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved our stay. Everyone was so friendly and very helpful with information. The front desk staff went above and beyond. The cleaning staff was also accommodating. We also loved the neighborhood and nearby eateries. I would definitely stay here again and will recommend Hotel d' l ITHQ to others! Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Its better to stay in a hotel chain then individual hotel unless its a well known boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi connection, constantly disconnects, make sure you are on flight mode. Old style A/C, very noisy A/C engine, as a result its hard to sleep at night if you are w light sleeper (they did gave me $50 credit for that which they could avoid if there was a proper central A/C system like most hotels do) My mom visitied me at the hotel and fell as a result she ended up with a broken arm due to negligence of proper marking of floor hight difference, hotel didn't offer compensation and or repair the issue. ( i was there for 6 nights).

    Excellent custome service Great service at the resturant and food is fresh

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Christina a receptionist at check in was exceptional, going...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Christina a receptionist at check in was exceptional, going out of her way to ensure that our stay in Montreal was successful. The restaurant was great value for dinner on a quality/cost basis.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    This place is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No health club or workout facilities on site and no partnership arrangement.

    Super friendly and accommodating staff, especially concierge who helped us in many ways.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Convenient to our needs, basically comfortable, and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    See above. We had to move to a less fancy room for the last 2nights which was a bummer, but couldn't be helped. Staff tried their best to make it easy for us.

    The bedding was too tucked in, so we had to pull it loose. and because it was such a warm week, the duvet got shoved off! And it would have been nice to have a softer and a bit smaller pillow available. Other than that our first room was convenient and comfortable. Great lighting! The breakfast was good, lots of choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in a lovely location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC was noisy and seemed to dry the air out more than cool it.

    The breakfast buffet was beautiful and delicious. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great, although the tub was noticeably slippery. The staff were also wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    I liked the staff and the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was average. I felt like I was in an all inclusive in Cuba. The buffet had limited choices and the food didn't taste delicious. I didn't like that they charged me for "other charges" and GST & PST. Those charges I thought were already included in the final price provided by Booking.com

    I liked the staff and the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    It was excellent, we loved to stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee for breakfast at the restaurant was very weak, good that we had the Nespresso machine at the room, so we're drinking this in the morning. I would have liked to have a drink at the bar in the evening.

    We loved to stay there! Excellent for us also was the easy access to the the Metro. The staff was so kind and helpful, they had always a big smile for the guests. We loved the parks around and the colorful houses and the atmosphere of Quartier Latin. Beside the coffee, the breakfast at the restaurant was also excellent and always very fresh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything! The room, balcony, bed, blankets, Nespresso coffee in the room.. staff is fantastic at front desk as well as in the restaurant.... and the breakfast is delicious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Super spot in a very cool city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much to say except there was no help with baggage.

    Incredible food! The breakfast buffet was amazing with numerous choices including vegetarian (but not vegan) options. We had a dinner as well which was amazingly good with superior service. This is a training facility and all the students provided exemplary service and help. Very, very comfortable quiet rooms with access to useable balconies. Very convenient location. We walked, took the metro (virtually in the building) and could enjoy the city. Very nice vibe to the place and lovely staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.5
    Tolerable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced. We were on vacation and there was only a 1.5 hr window to get breakfast. We missed it. There were 5 people in our room and they only gave us a breakfast voucher for 2. Then charged us for the extra person who was 8. No pool. Unable to park due to height restrictions. Have to park 2 blocks away.

    The staff was kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location, decent service, couple areas for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived on time for check-in but they told us the room was not ready yet. We waited about 10 minutes and then they said they were giving us a "better" room. Not sure what the difference was, but OK, just why didn't you just do that in the first place? When we got into the room the floors were still a bit damp from the cleaning I guess. The sink in the bathroom was ridiculously small, not sure what was going on there. Really annoying to use and looks ridiculous. Would have been nice if it was cheaper, but it's still less than some of the other hotels we looked at.

    The breakfast came included, and it was pretty nice. Served in their restaurant so it was quite fancy in fact. Cool lemon/orange water in the lobby. Great location near a lot of interesting parks and neighbourhoods, and a bit off from the centre of downtown. Got a room with a balcony and it had a nice view. Rooms were nice with good bed and nice bathrooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was clean, elegant and quiet. We.loved every encounter with staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was unreliable and resulted in a lot of frustration in our communication and as we planned our activities and travel out of Montreal.

    The front desk, concierge and wait staff in the restaurant were courteous, friendly, and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Big thumbs up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrific breakfast included, and the room was bigger than a typical room. Comfy bed, too. The convenience of a parking garage and the Metro station next door was great, as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing. After the build-up on your site, I expected excellence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building and the room need renovation. The room actually smelt bad, like old student housing. Dinner was very uneven, some parts fine, others less so.

    The generally young staff were very courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Incredible property which still needs a work out facility...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A gym would make the hotel perfect. In today's day and age it's almost unthinkable not to have one. It's rare that I would spend $300 plus for a room without the ability to work out. Our room also needed an exhaust fan in the bathroom. The taxi stand is not the place to drop off. We didn't realize that and a driver chased my wife off. Sigh... Had no idea the property was owned by the province and that it had 4 component parts. How impressive. Congratulations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One morning, roof work began right below our room at 6.30 am. Fortunately, the Canada Day holidays started the next day our morning was blissfully quiet.

    Breakfast was superb. Front desk was consistently cheerful and very helpful. Parking was indoors, and a subway stop was right below the hotel. Perfect! Lovely park across the street and very interesting architecture throughout the neighborhood. Aside from the roof work (see adjacent remark), the hotel was remarkably quiet. Really enjoyed ourselves.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Great long weekend in Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi is a bit tricky but we sorted it out with the help of the front desk! Although we thought it was a great location, some people might not like the walk (although Metro is in the building).

    The location was great for us as we really love walking and exploring and there were some great restaurants nearby. We were also there for Canada Day and our balcony had a wonderful view of the fireworks. Staff were very friendly and breakfast had great options for vegetarians.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Found a gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, really.

    Very convenient location - the hotel is literally on the subway station. There were many good restaurants in a walking distance. The staff were friendly. And faburous breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    The decor of the room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor of the room was lovely. The hotel rooms are on the 7th and 8th floors and all appear to have balconies with great views. The staff were friendly throughout our stay. The hotel is right beside the Sherbrooke Metro station which is great for getting about. The breakfast selection wasn't huge but it was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic staff, nice room, clean building, safe and easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No toothbrushes in the room, even the small bottle of water cost money. The perks like breakfast and parking were excellent, but these two small shortcomings were surprising when everything else was so exceptional.

    Fantastic staff, nice room, clean building, safe and easy parking, PRIME location for a good overnight sightseeing stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.3
    Suspending Judgement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a waiter in the breakfast restaurant who treated us poorly, and was rude and defensive about his mistakes. The hotel required 48 hours to repair a constantly running toilet in our bathroom.

    Location. Also love Montreal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Super great for a school
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "wine and food accord" could be a real one. It's great food and ok wine but far from an accord, they need to do their homework about this.

    The food was amazing, the room was great, the staff was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    4.2
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk staff aren't too friendly or helpful. They're able to say hello, but aren't able to effectively problem solve. The hotel is smack in the middle of an up and coming area and has shops and restaurants I didn't care to go to, also had some pushy homeless people outfront ((I understand that can't be helped but it doesn't make you feel secure)). I'd strongly disagree with their 4 star rating - they're a solid 3 star hotel, which there is nothing wrong with, but if you're used to top notch service and comfort, seek elsewhere!

    The bed and comforter was nice. The breakfast set up was really great, good food and great service. Friendly cleaning staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Great Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed here for 4 nights, the staff were very friendly and helpful, room was clean and spacious. This hotel is also in a great location close to restaurant's bars and shopping. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    Excellent value in Montreal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable room, handy location, nice views from the rooms, which all have balconies. And windows that open to allow fresh air into the room - bonus!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.9
    Good hotel maybe too pricey for what they offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything i have to complain about would be nitpicking. I wish the price was a little cheaper.

    The provided breakfast was very nice, clean warm room. Very enjoyable stay overall.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice stay, good location and restful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buzzing sound from the bathroom. And the cleaning lady spilled a blue substance on the carpeting.

    First time I slept in a hotel bed that was not completely mushy. This bed was firm with some give. Great nights sleep. Bathroom is large. Not many tv channels if you are into watching tv. Free wifi worked great thru out the hotel. And that breakfast buffet was fantastic. Lots to eat and choose from. The smoked salmon was a nice touch and their strawberry jam is delicious and for sale, too! Last thing I noticed is how nice and quiet and insulated our room was - hardly any noise, except for a strange buzzing sound coming from the bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Try StDenis/Plateau area of Montreal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good - location, trendy but authentic neighbourhood, great room w/a view, great restaurant/bar on site, excellent breakfast included, excellent value. Appreciated staff and personal attention. Underground parking @reasonable cost.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    All of the front desk associates were extremely friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All of the front desk associates were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was very central and an easy walk to explore the different parts of Montreal. Nice, clean rooms, and a balcony with a really nice view on the 7th floor!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Top Flight Hotel, Easy Access to City
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They have already thought of everything!

    Booked here as I was unable to get anything closer to Vieux-Montreal. Turned out to be a fantastic location right next to the Sherbrooke metro station, you can get anywhere in the city very quickly. Also many restaurants and the Latin Quarter within 10-minute walking distance. Room was very spacious, the décor is in modern style, and had a balcony too, with a stupendous view of the city. Even provided recycling bins in the room. Excellent Sunday brunch included in room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.9
    A good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Considering this is a school for Hotel Management the Hotel was quite ordinary, except the front desk staff who went out of their way to be helpful and considerate. The location in Montreal was excellent with buses and an subway station on the ground floor of the Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.2
    Fantatstic find in great neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattresses were too soft and pillows too hard.

    Convenient location, excellent room with balcony, outstanding restaurant and breakfast, overall an excellent place to stay and excellent value

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Lovely place in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a coffee refill at breakfast

    Staff was great, I arrived early because I had an event in the city. They started my check in process and held my bag so I could just go to the desk after my event

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    One of the BEST for reasonable price!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a. Simply one of the best option in central Montreal.

    Excellent location! Quiet. Close to everything. Very nice neighborhood. Breakfast buffet is out of this world!! Extremely tasty with huge selection of variety of food/drinks. Clean hotel, knowledgable stuff!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Montreal Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really didn't enjoy the neighborhood. There was many homeless people that were very aggressive and I did not feel comfortable going out at night. Many said the neighborhood was safe but I just did not feel that way.

    The rooms were very nice! The breakfast which was included was good. The staff tried to be helpful but were not very familiar with what was available. They charged me the incorrect price but since I booked with booking.com they handled it for me.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    10
    A new 1st choice destination when I stay in Montreal again - Can't wait to go back and stay here!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1st morning of breakfast fell short of having enough hot food choices, they ran out. Every morning after had plenty and the wait staff was Excellent (and I appreciated the sense of humor and remembering our drink choices :) ) Great Job!!!

    Very clean room and hotel, friendly staff, staff very helpful, located right next to the Metro, not a bad walk back to hotel after Metro closed, felt very safe walking back to hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice Institut stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lobby is a little dark and isolated.

    I liked supporting students of the culinary arts and hotel institute. Its a very comfortable room and quite large for the price. The location is great next to Sherbrooke metro.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.5
    Clean rooms and competent service but uninspired downstairs appearance and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I understand that it's a school facility, but the appearance of the lobby itself was a letdown. It looks very much like you're entering the administrative building of a school (which it is). But if you're paying just about hotel prices, it would be nice if the facility looked a bit more like a hotel -- or at least looked as much like a hotel as the restaurant looked like a restaurant. Also, there was room for improvement with the food at breakfast. The eggs were granular and cold; the salmon did not taste fresh. The food and the appearance downstairs made me question if we'd gotten our money's worth, even given the discount. I suppose I'd recommend this hotel more for a solo business traveler than a couple looking for a romantic vacation.

    The room was spotless (minus a standing stain on the chair), well outfitted and large. The staff was helpful, friendly and competent. Restaurant servers were fast and attentive. We appreciated our balcony and also our proximity to the Sherbrooke Metro station and Boul. St Laurent. Parking was also a breeze.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less waiting at the reception desk when staff not there but in room behind the desk. No bell to get their attention

    Comfortable bed. Balcony Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    Great location and stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we stayed an extra night, we were told it would be at the same rate, then they wanted to charge $50 more. When I told them we had been assured of the rate, they finally offered to take $20 off the new rate. Very disappointing.

    Phil, a student/front desk clerk, was an excellent guide to the city, and very helpful at hotel. Great breakfasts!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    2.9
    Jail-like hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacks of basic room needs or available but dirty or lack quality.

    The elevator is operated by the room key card going up to the rooms which makes it safe being unaccessible to strangers "good thing"

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.8
    Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AirCo needs to be modernized. Quite noisy if switched on and only moderate in terms of effectiveness.

    Staff. Very helpful and friendly. Location - great neighbourhood. Plenty of good restaurants and shops. Metro station nearby. In-house restaurant with interesting choice - good food for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Great trip to Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't stay there longer. Their were no issues.

    Both the staff and the facility were a complete delight. I will be recommending this to friends and family that will be traveling to Montreal. The hotel is well located with a Metro stop right behind the hotel. Breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.6
    Heart of the Latin Quarter: worth it even in quieter August!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby is spacious but not many seats and not overwhelmingly inviting. The restaurant's decor and music are right out of the 1970s (need a makeover).

    The staff are mostly hotellerie and culinary university students and are VERY swell prepared. The rooms are spacious with a balcony overlooking the city and the Mont Royal. Breakfast is included & is very good. The neighborhood is wonderful, with the metro Sherbrooke metro stop two steps away to access every possible neighborhoods in Montreal, and the Latin quarter all around, as well a 15 minutes walk to the bottom of the Mont Royal for hiking and views. The restaurant l'Express, a Montreal classic is 15 minutes walk up St Denis. Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Artistic, well kept, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff was very friendly and helpful. We were located right beside the metro which was a bonus. They showed us how to get where we wanted and recommended several locations to visit which was great. They booked our dinner reservation in old montreal which was great and advised us of a great breakfast place walking distance to our hotel (universal). Overall experience was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel in city with a lot of construction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel itself was very nice...but the location was a little deceiving. Downtown was very difficult to get to (CONSTRUCTION EVERYWHERE), and area surrounding hotel had a lot of graffiti.

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff were kind and helpful. The breakfast was phenomenal too.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel de l'ITHQ traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: