Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Canada hotel reviews
  3. Ontario hotel reviews
  4. Huntsville hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Deerhurst Resort

Reviews of Deerhurst Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1235 Deerhurst Drive, P1H 2E8 Huntsville, Canada

#11 of 20 hotels in Huntsville

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 506 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    7.5
    The room was very big and comfortable, wish it had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very big and comfortable, wish it had a microwave in the room.Great view from our room! It was a bit confusing finding the building but that could have been the darkness. Maybe lght up the signage for easier viewing. . Great stay, thank you!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.3
    I attended a family wedding, the meal was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No USB charging points anywhere in our room or public areas though I understand there are some in some rooms. Getting around the campus was via a minibus which was free but one driver had his coffee cup for tips. If I had tipped for every ride I could have upgraded my room.

    Sunday brunch was a little pricy at 36 Canadian Dollars but was an all you can eat and included fresh fruit and cereal all the way through cooked eats and smoked salmon and deserts. First time I've had lemon meringue pie for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.5
    Enjoyable. May wait for the construction work to finish before we book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit disappointed on the condition of the beach area. There were empty plastic bottles and some wrappers strewn around.

    We always enjoy that get away feel of Deerhurst.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    3.3
    Will not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked a Bayshore room on the ground floor but there was no such a thing as a Bayshore room on the ground floor. I got a room on the third floor with no balcony. I was told that was booking.com mistake and you have to contact them. I will not book with booking.com again and I will not go to deerhurst resort again. They did not even have showercaps in the bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    6.3
    Rooms were clean;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wasn't in main building which wasn't made overly clear when booking - it said '2 mins walk' and actually required a 5/10 min drive. The external building of this separate area looks really dated although the room itself was fine and had a lovely lake view. Room wasn't ready when arrived although hotel gave a drinks voucher to apologise (but still charged tax on top of the drinks!) Limited meal menu in restaurant although quality of food was good but very expensive for some options i.e. Steak. Money for hotel taken off weeks before actual stay and not returned (i.e. not used to check card was valid as a deposit) which was rather cheeky. Same (debit) card then used for additional charge when staying despite being asked to use an alternative (credit) card which was presented (we only realised this when returned home from Canada.)

    Rooms were clean; main hotel looked grand but our own room was actually not part of the main hotel which was a shame.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    7.1
    I loved the area but if I return I will definitely seek other accomwdation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food, if accommodating specific dietary needs is difficult then perhaps the offer to accommodate should not be made, the food was very disappointing. The temperature in the conference rooms required me to wear a coat, as other people did.

    Room was exceptionally clean and the location is beautiful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    5.4
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property currently under construction and as such, sleeping past 7am imposible. 3 tourbus of tourist arriving late in evening and visitors not respectful at all of other guests. Loud and uncurteous.

    Nice country setting

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    6.0
    We enjoyed the stay as we came to visit the area and visit Algonquin Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not in the main building and the room was very ordinary. We expected a more luxurious experience for the money we spent. We stayed the previous night at Super 8 and that room was much nicer and the bathroom was bigger and better stocked with amenities.

    Excellent view from our room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    8.3
    The room was nice and the environment is great around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are some worms crawling on the blinds when we were there, also there are not enough instructions on how to operate the kitchen unfortunately.

    The room was nice and the environment is great around the resort. Not much activities due to the weather but still very beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful view of lake. Buildings + furnishings are dowdy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sadly overpriced. Resort fee should not apply in the off season. Room not ready by 4pm. Shower/tub did not drain. Changeroom at pool - no locking mechanism for lockers, moldy showers, dirty carpets. Outdated.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.1
    The Hotel was clean ,rooms size good for three adults.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was good. Except we did not have a bottom bed sheet on either of the queen beds. So improvised and d used the top sheet as our bottom sheet. The rest was great

    The Hotel was clean ,rooms size good for three adults. View off our balcony was nice. The grounds were clean and front desk were helpfull.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.1
    I booked one suit with 3 room for 6 people.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked one suit with 3 room for 6 people. But when I check in. They give me different room. I call Booking.com service phone. Over 30 Mins no body take the call!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    7.5
    Quietness, colorful, amazing nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 311 Bayshore PATIO DOOR outside - not wash and meldew growing on the door, full of spider webs, dirt at bottom. CURTAINS - blood stain BATHROOM: pink color at bottom of shower curtain, meldew in surrounding corners BATHROOM FAN: or not functioning or not connected FRIDGE: to way to small - for family and diabetic needs and medications. Spacious room : would need : top bench/foot rest

    Room 311 Bayshire The bed very comfortable but the fitted sheet did not cover the mattress. Beautiful view of the lake and all of the surrounding. Fall season. Variety of activities - excellent Nearby town. Personnel very courteous and helpful Bath product- excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    All you need to spend a great time in Muskoka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lobby and common areas at the Bayshore buildings need some revamping.

    Beautiful property, comfortable rooms, great views and excellent service. It was our second stay there and we enjoyed every single minute of it. We booked a room by the lake and got a huge and super comfortable one on the beach. Great dining at Compass added to our wonderful experience. Will go back soon!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    7.9
    A response to this disgruntled guest would be appreciation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 1 night

    I tried to make dinner reservations in advance as this was a special occasion only to discover you had ONLY one restaurant open and would not accept reservations. We went to dinner at 7:30 to be told it was a one hour wait, and no room to sit at the bar. No room service and no lounge/reception area servce! We were disgruntled. This is not acceptable for a resort with the reputation of Deer Hurst. You knew how many rooms you had booked, you knew how many dinner guests you needed to accommodate and through experience you knew when most guests would be wishing dinner. Waiting in the reception/lounge area was NOT an alternative as it was filled with a bus load of tourists. A refund would be acceptable!

    Everything about Deer Hurst was excellent except meal time!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a 400 dollar reciver hitch stollen off the back of my truck, a cooler and a case of water. I called the front desk and told them and there response was call the police and file a report. I asked if there was cameras on the site and she said call the police.

    Size of the room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    3.8
    The location of the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness of the facility. Lots of cup lids left over on the desk in the lobby, Paper tissue on the room floor inside the closet. No Shampoo in the Pool Shower and lots of used towel in the Pool Change room everywhere.

    The location of the resort. The leaves color in the Fall.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant for dinner, too expensive.

    Beautiful location, just on the lake. Nice rooms, clean and spacious. Great indoor swimming pool, many leisure options and activities for the family.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    10
    The friendly accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't see any area to dance.

    The friendly accommodating staff. We were able to switch our room to an area close to the main entrance lobby. The decor, wonderful art displayed amazing beautiful sculptures and paintings in the main building. Cozy spots to sit in the main lobby near the fireplace. .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    5.0
    Will not go again. Felt like the resort is going on previous fame. Was not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Construction was going on. Hard to get into building with our luggage. Very expensive for what we had. Rug was stained, chips out of the paint etc. Needs refurbishing.

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    5.8
    The nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom. Not any standard facilities,like lotion . Slippers. Empty fridge. The sheets smelled not good . The bath tub was leaking and all the floor was wet . The bathroom was so disgusting .

    The nature. Indoor kids room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    4.2
    not again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 1 night

    They gave us a wrong room with only one bed, while we booked for a room with 2 beds (we have 2 toddlers). The staff at the front desk were not at all apologetic for this and said that the room given to us was actually an upgrade (as if we should shut up about the mistake!). Oh and then, there was no rubbish bin in the room. We had to carry nappies all the way to the bin at the car park!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant experience in a nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is a bit pricey. The beach sand is awful although I cannot be sure whether it belongs to the hotel. Over-priced or should at least include breakfast at this price.

    Very pleasant environment. Good view of the gold course. Hotel room is in very good condition.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    6.3
    We were disappointed compared to what we were expecting given the price point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were not as comfortable as I would have anticipated given the price point. There were not an adequate number of pillows or towels or coffee/tea packages in the room. When we asked for more, it took way too long to receive what was asked for. On the first day, there were some issues with power outages but not adequate communication about contingency plans or notice of elevators not working, particularly at check-in.

    The location of the facility is its strongest asset.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    6.7
    Nice vacation spot but outdated and way overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were outdated and lacking that luxurious feel you would expect for the money paid. There was a construction going on right beside our building as well. Also there is only 1 restaurant open during the week and it was packed on the day we went there for dinner. Waitress completely ignored the fact that it was a Birthday celebration and food took 1 hour to arrive.

    View to the lake at the Bayshore building is wonderful. Main lobby is beautiful and cozy with amazing paintings from local artists. At this time of the year on the weekdays it was super quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    5.4
    The canoes and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s tired and dated. Most activities were closed post 4Sept and the tree walk was only avail on Fridays ( the day we left). The pub shuts at 4pm and the other “bar” serves a menu that doesn’t offer casual dining.

    The canoes and location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    5.4
    If you offer this property you have to write the true to the clinent. I will write to the customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The refrigerator at the room was so small. I request 2 floor with balcony but I got 4 floor with out of balcony. The beach is so small and not very clean. The swimming pool was closed at this time. WE was at 2 night from Monday to Tuesday, was not good time to my family. My daughter is mentally challenged She wanted go to the Animal Farm and horse raiding, but was closed at Tuesday. Also restaurant Eclipse was closed for the dinner. The Pub club is not good for eating. If we stay there out side for lunch out was very close to the parking for golf car for the gas. The gas was smell badly not good air for this time. I paid so much for this property $249 plus tax and additional cost and expected much better.

    The room was clean and size was good, close to the beach, but not balcony on 4 floor. Air condition work well, elevator was importing, but so long way from elevator to the room and not air condition on the hall was so warm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    8.8
    The shuttle driver was rude and embrace us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shuttle driver was rude and embrace us. The resort management did nothing. I was so disappointed that they did not contact me as I left my number and was told that manager will contact you🥤

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant destination with lots of onsite activities especially for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a daily resort tax in addition to fairly expensive room rate. Also, the hotel charges for local telephone calls. The pool area & change rooms are dirty needing repairs. There is extensive black mould around the indoor pool. I am sure the health department would close the pool area & change area if they were aware. Exterior of many of the buildings need painting and most interior carpeting should be cleaned.

    We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo which was spacious,comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    5.8
    Pleasant except for the start time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stick to the check in time not fair to have guests wait for over 2 hours before they can check in.thats a bad start.

    we were very disappointed that we had to wait 2 and i/2 hours before we could check in .to the room check in was at 4pm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    9.2
    Overall nice experience and would be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had a very small fridge, no usable freezer to it and did not have a microwave or kettle. Making tea via a coffee machine creates an unpleasant taste.

    Everything was within walking distance on the resort. Lots of options for dining. Nice large room with window opening to view of the lake.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    7.1
    Good location if you are wanting to explore Algonquin Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don’t like the fact that you are charged a resort fee even if you do not use all the facilities. Restaurant choices limited.

    Good location if you are wanting to explore Algonquin Park.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    4.2
    There is a ongoing condo construction on property with dirt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overpriced and very expensive in comparison with the other resorts in Muskoka region.

    There is a ongoing condo construction on property with dirt and noise right at the beaches. It had not being mentioned on website or any other web searches. The whole resort is dated even after renovation has been made in few condos. It looks like back in 80s. The win for this resort is a lake and nature! Great experience with kayaking! The owner needs to invest a lot to make it like Marriott in Minett.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing property, would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was not ready until after 4pm even though we asked for an early check-in. Even given this, we were still required to check-out at 11am.

    The 1 bedroom condo was amazing. Everything you need. We brought our own food and drinks, which helped with costs. The property is stunning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    5.4
    Location was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property is in desperate need of maintenance and updating. Breakfast was terrible and overpriced. Little to do in the evenings and Bayshore building is old and not worth the price.

    Location was beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    8.8
    Fun, relaxing and enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The outdoor pools weren't the cleanest, also ni towels. Walkways not very stroller friendly. Not much dining options.

    The rooms were very clean. Eclipse restaurant, buffet had lots of options and very good food. Rock wall climbing, toddler room playhouse, indoor pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beach area is small and the rooms by the lake reserve all the loungers early in the morning so there are no seats available for anyone else.

    Shuttles to and from the beach area are on time and multiple. Restaurants are reasonably priced and have some good food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay 😁 we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above comments

    Alot of things to do. I have a 9 yrs old boy. He enjoyed fishing, pool, beach,going to the petting farm, seeing the animals at the zoo where the could see and pet small animals,magic show and learn about magic, tree house and the arcade. I found the restaurants a bit pricey. Food quality was good. Staff were very helpful. The atmosphere at Deerhurst was relaxing. Parking on the weekend was tight for parking spots but the weekday was more available. I found out that they do accept pet in certain building accommodation. So we will be back with our pet next time. We stayed at the Bayshore building and near the beach . Accommodation was very nice over looking the lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    Fun stay, just needed some more food options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cost of meals became a lot more expensive than we imagined. It would have been great if there could have been some sort of package or continental breakfast. We stayed for 3 days and ended up paying $21 each for the all you can eat buffet breakfast. There was also a lot of things in the buffet dried out and not very good.

    All the staff we encountered were very nice, they offered great service and helped us out wherever we went in the resort. The beds were very comfortable, did not have any trouble falling asleep on them. The beach and watersports were excellent, a great way to spend a warm, sunny day or even a cloudy day. There were a lot of options on activities or places to spend the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.5
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    room wasnt ready at check in, staff forgot to message us when room is ready and we had to inquire again, then they remembered.

    quietness of the whole deerhurst experience. relaxing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.1
    Overall ok good restaurants 10 minutes away Deerhurst rest. Are over priced and low quality, pizza w
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I dislike the lack of poolside chairs and the lack of shade at the pools and no shade at the beach thru the hottest parts of the day

    I liked the outdoor pools

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    8.8
    The property was beautiful and the room was spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were really uncomfortable and the bed was also quite uncomfortable. I could not sleep most of the night. They need to provide more options for pillows.

    The property was beautiful and the room was spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.2
    It was relaxing.
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is wifi but not good. I was not able to log in to resume my work. The price was cheaper if I booked through the reception and I will get discount on the spa which I didn’t get when I booked through booking.com

    I like the place and the nature around it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.5
    Room was very clean but felt no a romantic place for a get away. More of a conference place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't felt important. Had wrong room off the start. Did not get early check in as requested. Very expensive pub.

    Antler restaurant was fantastic. Dora was an amazing server.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.9
    Very chilled environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place is too "civilized" - It feels like moving all the city facilities to a small town. You can see buildings and constructions everywhere. If you like a "city-like" ambiance, this is your choice; but if you like a more "countryside" feeling, I recommend Port Cunnington Lodge instead.

    Very chilled environment. Staff are friendly and helpful (not all of them but most of them). Food is okay. Quiet of lot of things to explore for a long weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    The ambience & the privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    someone knocked our door for how many tomes when we check there’s no one,maybe someone try to prank us or scare us...

    The ambience & the privacy...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    5.0
    I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The general cleanliness was poor. We had a ground floor room because of access to outside for our small dog. The outside was littered with cigarette butts. The front doors and windows were filthy. The pool and hot tub area had used towels lying on the ground. In addition there are lots of extra “resort” fees for things we didn’t use.

    Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.6
    Love, love loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the design of the lodge and the main building. The interior are up to date and so impressive.

    It was an excellent night stay for where we were to be the next morning and has been for the last sixteen years.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    I plan to return! Very lovely place to experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We enjoyed our dining experience, but would have liked more selection at the tapis restaurant.

    The staff were excellent and we received a room upgrade when requested for a 50th birthday celebration.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    5.4
    Completely unsatisfied with my Deerhurst experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    No room service, and also when my family and i went to eat ...i had to sit with my daughter on my lap in the restaurant for about 25 mins..after waiting around for the staff in the Maple pub to do so..i then got up myself and went and found a chair for my daughter to sit in. I ordered a meal of mac and cheese expecting a gourmet meal..honestly it was cheap macaroni elbows found at the dollar store and cooked and served to me at a steep price of 18$+tax. No room service was a big deal and a doubt ill return to this resort.

    The Staff was a great help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay just wish it wasn’t so expensive and a lot of extra charges for extra activities for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    New king size pillows were to hard. Had to request other pillows. Maple pub food was not very good.

    Bed was comfy. Hot tub was nice and hot. Magic show was good. The March break itinerary for kids was fantastic and well designed and thought out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    6.7
    This location is a beautiful winter wonderland a must see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have a gluten allergy and the food choices at the lunch and dinner, and the wait staff were unclear of what i was able to eat, and the choices were very limited. on our second night we were asked to change rooms, as there was no hot water and they were working outside the building, there was no compensation for our having to pack up and move. If I had not noticed the red light on the phone I would not have known there was an issue with the water. A note attached to the door would also have been important.

    The view from the first room, was lovely, we over looked the lake

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    8.3
    Very nice sites with a lot of activities. A very nice place to go for a winter getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Given the size of the room, the washroom should have been made bigger.

    The room was very big and the sites from the room was lovely. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay at Deerhurst
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night

    The washroom was very small - only big enough for one person at a time. We stayed in a room that joined to another with a door which limited the privacy significantly as we could hear everything from next door.

    We stayed in the Bayshore building, the room was huge, looked onto the lake with a great view. The bed was very comfortable and I had full control of the thermostat! We had dinner at the Maple Pub inside the Pavilion - it was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    8.3
    Nice place in Muskoka
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fridge was a little too small. The Keurig coffee in the room was weak, I went and bought other k-cups from the village. The coffee at the bar was too expensive. There were children running and yelling on the corridor early in the morning however that was not the hotel's fault.

    Our room in the pavilion was nice, spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The fireplace in the lobby was nice place to meet friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    7.1
    The main building and area around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed at Summit Lodge. Nobody told us that the suite is on the third floor without elevator. The wallpaper in the bedroom is peeling off the wall from ceiling to floor and in a bathroom too. That did not look nice. Next time we will stay in the main building.

    The main building and area around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    10
    Traveled with kids ages 6-12 in Dec— super cold, but we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great lodge, totally satisfied!

    Traveled with kids ages 6-12 in Dec— super cold, but we were prepared! Face masks a must. Loved XC skiing & snow shoes. Ice on pond wasn’t ready for pond skiing yet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    6.3
    Good Location! Poor service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no Microwave on site. Minifridge didn’t work and was too small. Couldn’t fit 2 bottles at once. Winter recreation facilities were a Joke! Staff at the winter recreation store didn’t even bother to look for the safety of first time skiers! Just helping someone to fit the boots and skis and signing a waiver isn’t enough.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful & scenic; felt like a Winter Wonderland for Christmas.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Buffets for Christmas eve and Christmas dinner was extremely low in selection and Christmas dinner was truly quite picked over. Very much a shame for what you pay, although any and all food that *was* out was delicious!

    Had an amazing time trying out the winter activities available to me and my family. I especially loved that this resort is pet friendly since I couldn’t imagine not spending Christmas with my furry friend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    8.3
    The view over the lake was fabulous from our room Bld 1 room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there for less than 24hrs so can't really comment.

    The view over the lake was fabulous from our room Bld 1 room 309? I think. Our room, which was a Twin Queen-sized was massive, almost too big. On the cold crisp walk back to our room (-8C) we saw a huge deer walk right past us, no more than 10m away....awesome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    6.3
    Location is nice but resort is getting old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms and buildings themselves are getting dated and need repair. We were at Deerhurst 2 yrs ago and it was nice. It is not what we remembered it being. Parking spots are small.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    9.2
    We went to dinner within the resort at the restaurant beside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a bit of a mishap checking in, I booked two rooms but they couldn't find the second booking. Turns out they put my first name as my last name for the second room...not sure why that happened but it was sorted out after a bit of a wait. Aside from the resort itself, just be mindful that booking.com has some fine print about taxes and a resort fee, was a little surprised about the total at the end but it's alright we know for future reservations.

    We went to dinner within the resort at the restaurant beside the reception. The front desk indicated that it was only tapas style, but we were pleasantly surprised at the full (3 course) dinner menu that they had. The lamb shank was absolutely amazing, and the specialty beer too. Breakfast was pretty decent, service was good and the dining room is quite well designed giving a view of the lake. We stayed in the building directly facing the lake. From the exterior, the building looks quite old and not very aesthetically pleasing, but the rooms themselves have been renovated and are clean. Overall we were quite happy with our stay, and will visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    5.8
    Would not go back and will not reccommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old, outdated room for way too much money. I have paid much less for much better.

    Black mold in bathroom in several places around tub. Dried urine at toilet base. I have the photos.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay-the pool is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive;when we wanted to enjoy dinner in their dining venue, it was closed that day(Sunday)Access to the beach is difficult for people with mobility problems...

    The location is great-near the lake with lovely views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurants on site are quite expensive. There are however several restaurants near by at downtown Huntsville about 10 min drive away. Check in is at 4, not one minute before. The lobby is quite comfy though.

    Beautiful scenery around the resort. Plenty of parking. Level 2 EV charging as well as Tesla stations. Free wifi throughout.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the money for a one-night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds Suite with Resort View - Summit Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony wasn't clean (beer can from previous occupant was even out there so hadn't been cleaned). The "resort view" was of the parking lot. The room was okay but the bedding didn't fit the bed. The resort was under renovation in parts and we couldn't find any footpaths so could only walk on the road. The whole place seemed dated.

    The staff were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a hidden fee of about $35, called a non optional resort fee that was not mentioned in the price. Calling the view from our hotel room a "resort view" was also misleading, because all we could see from our room was the parking lot. The bathrooms are small and outdated. The mattress was OK, but I've had better mattresses for less money.

    The rooms have nice balconies. The room was neat and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed in all areas of stay, especially as we came from the UK to give an elderly Aunt an 80th
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unable to receive WiFi even though it was advertised that Wifi was available in all rooms. The rooms were tired and in need of updating and modernising. After Labour Day the resort closed many of the facilities including restaurants and there was no evening entertainment. This is very different to our stay in 1999.

    The day we arrived all restaurants were open. Room was basic and not what we had anticipated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    5.8
    Lovely location but generally tired and dated and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The resort is tired and dated and desperately in need of some upgrades. Breakfast buffet was very average. Housekeeping left our room unlocked when they finished, so our room was open while we were out all day. Wouldn't go back

    The landscape was lovely, the proximity to Algonquin was good, the room was large

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    5.0
    It is a beautiful place but not what we expected, it seem more catered to family and of course golf
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lakeside building where we stayed was not very appealing There was a musty smell in the hallway when we first arrived We feel it was not worth the price for the 2 days we stayed Eating was very expensive so we did our dining in town There was nothing to do in the evenings......no entertainment

    The view of the lake was great from our room The indoor pool was very nice The grounds were nice for walking around

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the fact we were checked into the wrong room and had to move everything to begin with. We then did not have a working set of keys and had to wait another hour to get some . So the first two hours of our stay was a a disaster and we had to cancel preplanned activities including golf. Golf was supposed to be rebooked for the following day bit the pro shop screwed up and didn't rebook it properly and the only option was a 6 pm tee off which wouldn't allow is to get a full game in. Very disappointed. We were also disappointed that the paddle boards were put away. Given it is after Labour Day but the weather was certainly warranty to get at least a couple out to be used. All in all it was not a good experience for my wife and myself. We were planning a return trip next summer with our 5 kids as a week long vacation but after this experience we will be looking for other options instead. We wanted to go to Deerhurst for many years. A very big disappointment and wasn't worth the wait. It's outdated and not near to some of the other 4 star resorts going up in Collingwood where were going to go next year)

    The layout and property

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    6.7
    Not a great resort unless you have children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hauling the cases to Reception only to be told we were put in a building 1/2 mile away! Lot of building work going on in the vicinity of our block. Entrance area in block really shabby and room decor tired. The Eclipse restaurant (buffet) had the feel of a holiday camp and food selection poor.

    Very picturesque location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    9.6
    The Bed was very comfortable nice size room and love the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Resort View- Pavilion
    • Stayed 1 night

    we could have used a couple of smaller extra pillows, also no soap for the sinks, no shower cap otherwise it was a great experience

    The Bed was very comfortable nice size room and love the little balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    7.1
    Way overpriced for value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cost. Rate included amenities that were not used, extra $40.00/night plus tax. Also included in that was parking where you had to walk more than 100 feet to get to your car. Bathroom toilet seat was painful for such a high cost room. Rust in coffee maker and dusty, didn't care to use it. Some grit in shower and behind toilet. Walls were thin. For the price, no comparison to comfort in in Sudbury at $100.00 less per night. Would have expected a Jacuzzi tub. Also comparing 4 various types of pillows on bed to (2) at Deerhurst. Beds at comfort were much more comfortable. Services, restaurants, etc were posted on a flash through TV screen. Would have preferred a book in the room.

    Large room and view. Staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    6.7
    view and room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds - Bayshore
    • Stayed 1 night

    rented the lake view room, view and room size are prefect, but when we were going to take shower, there were no hot water,after fix, still have to let water ran a while. when we were going to brew coffee, the coffee maker could not work😔

    view and room size

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Deerhurst Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: