Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel des Coutellier 4 stars

253, rue St-Paul, G1K 3W5 Quebec City, Canada

#6 of 104 hotels in Quebec City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 560 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    Small boutique hotel with nice rooms, including two...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Keurig in the room was not well supplied, no black tea available. We preferred to go out for breakfast at Veravin across the street which was great

    Small boutique hotel with nice rooms, including two armchairs. It’s very quiet and the staff was extremely helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Friendliest staff and beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location to walk to the old town and for us to get to the cruise terminal. Staff went out of their way to help - fantastic staff in Reception and the Manager was very helpful organising a reservation for a special birthday dinner, nothing was a problem for them. Well recommend this hotel for a great place to stay. Rooms were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Lovely setting, caring staff, parking lot right across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast..really need less sweets and some protein options. Applesauce and muffin or croissant not a good way to start the day.

    Lovely setting, caring staff, parking lot right across the street, close to old city

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and really helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No pre-notification that there was no stopping/unloading in front of hotel. Had to finally find a parking lot and carried bags across road to be able to check in.

    Breakfast served in suite

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    I will be back to this wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, our favorite hotel on our trip through Eastern Canada.

    The Hotel Des Coutellier exceeded my expectations from the moment we checked in to the minute we left our experience was just delightful! John Sebastian, at the front desk became a friend. John suggested some great restaurants, gave good directions and always had a smile and hello whenever we saw him. (I actually thought John owned the property as he showed the pride of an owner). The rooms were so comfortable and roomy, the location was perfect as it was not in the busy upper town and not in the heavy trafficked shopping area but just outside of these areas within easy walking distance. We were also in a nice corner room above a busy street yet once the windows were closed it was absolutely quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.7
    Highly recommend this hotel for visits to Wuebec
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat loud near traffic and trucks. Otherwise liked everything else.

    Lovely property with modern industrial look. Good location. Parking close. Near Antiques area and lower city. Offered tea and fruit in the lobby. Appreciated breakfast delivery to room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Exactly what we were looking for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly staff. One of us was ill during our stay and they rose to the occasion. Truly a great place to stay in Quebec. Perfect for seeing the old town and having a. Nice lunch or dinner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    A hotel worth the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes the breakfast delivered to the is a bonus and we will recommend this as a benefit. The location is excellent, near the station, near a Hop on and Hop off bus stop and walking distance from the old city. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was really bad. They have it set so that you can’t go below 21.5 so the air quality was awful. Bed was hard.

    Nice people. Room ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.0
    Welcoming and comfortable spot to start your exploration of Old Québec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location made it easy to get around, with parking nearby and reasonably priced. The room was comfortable and quiet. The staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The hotel was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    The hotel was wonderful. Chrystelle and Justine were so delightful helping us with our adventures. The room was clean, big and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Anyone staying there will enjoy the breakfast served at your door each morning. We will be back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As it's an older building, the soundproofing is not adequate. One morning, we were woken up around 5am by the neighbors' loud coughing. It went on for about an hour.

    Breakfast was nice!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Lovely small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not accessible for handicapped. You have to carry your luggage up 4 stairs to the elevator.

    We loved the croissants brought to our room each morning. The staff was very helpful and the location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Booked it now. It’s worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel that has include all the special touches for a pleasant stay. The room, location and service was better that expected. Breakfast waiting at your door in the morning topped off a great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Great first trip to Quebec City. Looking forward to another trip someday and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough coffee pods in the room. Would be nice to have 2 cups per person. Bed is hard. We prefer a euro top or soft pad on top of a firm mattress.

    Loved the breakfast delivered to the room and the soft bathrobes. The staff was fantastic. The location can't be beat. Easy access to lower and upper city and sites. Easy parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    It is a nice hotel and good location, they just need to bring their service up their star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There never seemed to be anyone at the front desk, always had to ring bell for service. Our room was hot and we had to ask an employee to turn on the air conditioning each night (in a separate control room), we didn't know this the first night so it was uncomfortable; if you have a guest booked in a room it should been done without asking. We had 1 bottle of complimentary water (for 2 guests) and it was only provided upon check-in, not daily; I have never experienced that in a 4 star hotel. Breakfast of croissant, pastry, sour orange juice got old during 3 day stay. Sheets and towels were not changed daily, I prefer the option of this service - not the assumption.

    Hotel is just outside the old town so an easy walk and quiet location. Parking fee was a great price. Our room was large but we paid extra for that. Bed was comfortable except for hot duvet in the middle of summer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    love this hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was perfect...the girl at the front desk when we arrive was very nice, she even came outside to show me where the parking was....the room was very nice and comfortable and also very clean...and the morning basket was very appreciated...I would go back to this hotel anytime...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Friendly but freezing AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC is totally centralised. No possibility to switch it off and we had the staff to try to block it by sticking a piece of cardboard on the grid. It did not last more than 2 hours. It was July but we were very cold in the room. The staff member was aware that 2 rooms per floor are colder than others. Our room was 206.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Long summer weekend in beautiful Quebec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hidden jewel of a hotel in a great location. Very clean and staff exceedingly friendly and helpful. Room well laid out and super comfortable. I've stayed in many different hotels in Quebec over the last few years and this property is definitely one of the best experiences. Generous continental breakfast delivered to room each morning. Definitely would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Great Boutique hotel in the best area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast hanging on the door in the morning was so great; I was shocked to find nothing on my door when I got home. The neighborhood was away from the main tourist areas and in the best location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel will retun again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great hotel with awesome location, access to Old Quebec and farmers market with plenty of restaurants nearby (walkable). Can catch the Red Line tour near the hotel for a city tour. Also can walk to the upper city to see the sights there. If we are in Quebec again we will stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.0
    Good location, but the necessities were poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We work while we travel and their internet was basically not functional. We were traveling from out of the country so we definitely needed reliable wifi. Also the AC did not work. Our thermostat did not go below 27c (80f), so it was miserable for us.

    The location was great. Rooms were well decorated. Their breakfast was juice and bread delivered to your room in a cute little 'Lunch bag', but we used the local hotel restaurant for breakfast because we wanted a better selection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    The Great Escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative...maybe a couple extra coffee pods in room. None were there 2nd day.

    Convenient yet a bit less touristy. Nice bar and hapoy hour. Great restaurants nearby. Loved LaLa. Very nice staff, hop on hop off busstop just across the road. Enjoyed the continental breakfast!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and stylish hotel in lower town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable room in a nice sized hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The location of the hotel is very handy to the train station and lower town (it is a bit of a steep walk up to the old upper town but its not very far). The included breakfast is left in a bag outside your door each morning for you to eat whenever you like and the room had a pod coffee machine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    May consider it again if we revisit Quebec city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room shape is quite odd, may because it is converted by an old building. Space is limited.

    Great location, close to old town. Public parking is comparably convenient. We may park at the front door for several minutes to unload our suitcases. Breakfast is cold and delivered to our rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes

    Wonderful atmosphere. Friendly helpful staff. Unique and very satisfying continental breakfasts. Perfect location. Spacious comfortable room with equally comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    it was pleasant and just a short walk to the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    our room was quite small and cluttered. more tea bags and some real milk would have been nice. instructions for the aircon did not exist.

    the breakfast basket each morning. The staff went out of their way t help'

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The climb up the hill may be difficult for some. Room service did not tidy up the bathroom or provide clean towels. It's like they got started and rolled up the bathmat then did not finish.

    It was in a good location across from the outdoor market and at the foot of Upper town Old Quebec.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay near Vieux Quebec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having someone to help with the bags or direct the parking outside would have been helpful.

    I really liked the breakfast delivered to the door. That was a nice treat! The location wasn't in the heart of the old town, but it was close!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    The perfect stay for our 25th wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the arrival of the breakfast bag each morning. It gave us a light breakfast that was eaten at leisure in our suite. The bed was exceptional...the pillows were the soft, the comforter light and cozy, the mattress perfect for us. We stayed in a suite which was extremely roomy, with a wall-mount fireplace, couch and bistro set. Perfect for relaxing after a day of walking. We had both a tub with jets and stand up shower with wall-mount jets which was soothing at the end of the day. The staff were beyond accommodating. Friendly, cheery and beyond helpful every day. It was a pleasure to deal with them. Every need was met with a smile. And...they have board games available for use, so every evening we played Yahtzee while sipping wine. Perfect! We also loved the location. At the edge of the lower town, the hotel is across the street from a market where you can purchase wine, baguettes and cheese, among other things. It is an easy walk to the lower town...perhaps 5 minutes, with the option of either walking up or taking the Funicular to the upper city. All in all, perhaps 15 minutes to the Chateau. If you like to wander, there is a Metro grocery store and Pharmacy close at hand, and the waterfront is across the street for a leisurely stroll. A beautifully maintained hotel, in a quieter location, with amazing staff and accommodation. 10/10 from us!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    I loved this hotel, very beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    This hotel was beautiful and perfect for what we were looking for. The adjoining restuarant was very convenient! I absolutely loved the breakfast that was delivered to our door in a bag. The croissants were delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stay at boutique hotel custom made for seasoned travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very comfortable room. Do book the suite if you're able! Staff bent over backwards to make my stay perfect. Though I missed the breakfast due to a very early morning departure, my breakfast-to-go was waiting for me at the front desk upon checkout - very much appreciated and some special touches inside... The parking solution across the street couldn't have been easier. Though this hotel is outside of the old city walls, it's actually better that way: your walk back to the hotel after touring the town is always downhill! Wonderful location...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    An excellent hotel, very well located, close to everything and a great staff. I left the hotel before 4:00 AM, and they were kind enough to give me a breakfast to take to the airport. Very kind. It is within walking distance to the train station and all of Québec's old city attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Unique Quebec hopitality and committment to customer experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI was a little temperamental. But it didnt impede enjoyment

    Absolute attention to detail. The breakfast bags were delicious. The shower was powerful and the bed was really gard to get out of

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    10/10 would reccomend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the breakfast delivered daily to the room. Everything was delicious, rooms were lovely, staff was always helpful and friendly. Right at the wall in old town perfect distance to walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location for visiting old town Quebec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room furnishings somewhat dark and need upgrading. Breakfast in a bag okay but a hassle, especially returning to the coffee machine for extra refills.

    Great location and very helpful and friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Nice amenities. Easy parking access across from hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    A hotel to remember and come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel boutique, elegant design, frenchy breakfast exquisite, the room is large with a very comfortable bed. Location near important attractions. Very good price. We really enjoyed our stay, we'll repeat the experience if we travel again to Quebec.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect relaxing weekend with great restaurant suggestions from the staff. Nice robes and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the shower was a bit weird. Also would have liked to have been able to have access to the HDMI port on the TV for chromcast

    Really awesome how the breakfast is there waiting for you when you get up. Croissants were great so we're the staff. They were super accommodating with the room type

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great in the lower town but the hotel sits on a boulevard. Not much of a view. A rather industrial look for on the room. View of a parking lot across the boulevard.

    Great location in lower old town. Beautiful junior suite. The bed. Quality linen. Beautiful amenities. Attention to detail. Spacious bathroom. Breakfast in a lunch bag hanging outside the door. Very clean. Large windows. Walking distance to a lore of sites, restaurants, antique shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was great - we loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We loved the hotel, but I have a heart condition and being at the bottom of the 'cliff' made it difficult for me - we had to always head to the funicular because of this.

    The room was fabulous and the staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Best option to stay near Quebec station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much.

    It was a very fine room! We were looking for a reasonable price near the station and this was a perfect option. The room is very clean and nicely organized. It was spacious with sofa and desk. The staff was very kind and helpful, and the station is literally right outside. The hotel is also very close to the old port market. They deliver breakfast to your room, which is a small bread with yogurt. They have a coffee machine inside the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent room, staff, position, value for money, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel went to extra effort with everything - very friendly and helpful check-in staff, was able to check in before the stated time, cleanliness, towels, quiet room, toiletries, bed, tv, and the included breakfast delivered to the room was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    I’m glad we only stayed two days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the hotel was misrepresented in the photos. ALL OF THE HOTEL.

    The staff were wonderful. Continental breakfast was very good if you’re a light eater in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice clean centrally located with so many dining options to sample from the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eh.. Breakfast was just ok, would really prefer a small buffet instead of the bagged variety of muffins and croissant with juice , yogurt etc. The effort is definately in the bagged breakfast but I personally prefer more choices and the ability to serve our selves from more variety.

    Well appointed small room, great use of space, clean and comfortable. Great location within walking distance to anything we needed or wanted to do. Nice area for walking always felt safe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Amazing stay! Excited to come back in March 2018! Great location and couldn’t ask for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was in and out making it difficult to do work.

    We absolutely love this location! The staff was extremely friendly, the rooms were clean, the bed and pillows were very very comfortable! The central location made it easy to get around Old and newer parts of Quebec. Excited to come back and we will surely stay here again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall we had a great stay.The reception is very helpful and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking across the street left a lot to be desired and the fact that you also have to pay for it.The TV English stations are VERY limited!The day of our checkout which is at noon we were disturbed at 11am and the housekeeper just walked into our room without knocking, despite the NO disturb sign being up.She knocked again at 11:30 once again.

    I like that you received a daily cold continental breakfast every morning and that you are not disturbed.It is left outside of your door.The bed was very small but comfortable.Room very clean and comfortable.I loved the bathroom.Hotel well situated and very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Excellent property and would have no hesitatation recommending this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Complimentary breakfast bag was great, location good and easy to access buses and train station. Staff were very helpful and offered advice relevant to our needs. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    Cute Place with Extraordinary Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some detail cleaning was needed, but nothing major.

    The staff at Hotel des Coutellier were incredible! They went over and above with our welcome and assisting us while we were there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    The subtle charm is in the details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only two details to mention: water pressure in the shower head (perhaps related to the extremely cold weather during our stay?) and a surprising amount of sound transfer from the rooms on either side. Mostly voices/conversation.

    Airy, eclectic room with zen-like California shutters on windows. Cozy configuration that provided many comfortable accents for travelling gear. High quality bath towels/guest robes were a welcoming touch. Well-appointed efficiency kitchenette an unexpected bonus during our stay. Housekeeping details were impeccable. An extremely well designed layout that offered every option in an elegant, calm, understated manner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Just what I needed/expected. Very pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was pretty pleased. This place met my needs and expectations.

    Continental Breakfast to your door is a great idea. The standard rooms are small but nice. The location is excellent to access old Quebec. There is a parking deal at the front desk, with the lot across the street. Staff were very friendly. Great, award winning restaurant attached to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    My stay was excellent. I will be back for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great but I wished it was different each day. The bag of breakfast daily at your door makes you excited to see what’s inside.

    The staff was excellent! Great customer service. I almost did not make my trip so I called the hotel if they would consider rebooking me even if I booked a non-rebookable stay. They said yes. I made it thankfully. On my 3 day stay, the staff assisted me with how to go around the city and booked my Christmas Eve dinner when all restaurants were booked online. I love that the hotel’s location is close and in walking distance to the attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    I l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is a bit pathetic

    Everything was wonderful and thoughtfully planned in this hotel except for the lack of breakfast facilities . Although the notion of having a continental breakfast served in a bag and delivered to the room is a novelty , it wears off after one day . I miss my hot breakfast .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    We are already planning our return to this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was so warm and inviting, the bedding was amazing. I felt so comfortable I couldn't wait to get out of the cold and curl up in the bed. I absolutely love that they deliver your complimentary breakfast to your door every morning. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    Loved it. What a wonderful place. We would highly recommend staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved this hotel. It did cost the most per night then all the other hotels we stayed at over our 1 month holiday in Canada, but it was soo luxurious and was everything we would want and more.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Had an enjoyable time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay wish it could have been longer but we will be back.

    Fabulous breakfast which you can it when you want as it is delivered to your room and left on the door handle

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, walking distance from Gare du Palais (Quebec...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are some steps to walk into the receptionist area as the hotel is small, therefore it is difficult if you have big luggage with you

    Great location, walking distance from Gare du Palais (Quebec City's Train Station)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    We would go back and recommend it to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the bathroom could be better. A magnifying mirror would be a plus.

    We took a taxi to the hotel so we had no trouble getting there. The bed & pillows were better than home! The hotel staff was great for directions around town & restaurant recommendations. A big plus - very close to the cruise terminal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved it! Bed was comfy, blankets and sheets were soft. It was only a few minute walk to the Via Rail station which was very convenient. It was close to many restaurants and other attractions. We enjoyed having breakfast delivered to our room each morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in the old city. Rooms are excellent, beds comfortable. A continental breakfast delivered to the room each morning. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.7
    We only stayed one night and then moved to a hotel closer to the center of things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They deliver a continental breakfast to your door each morning. It was adequate, but the croissant was not very good.

    The room is clean and functional, but pretty sterile.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Awesome hotel!!! We'd definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You do have to go up a few steps with your luggage to access the hotel's lobby.

    Each morning a breakfast bag was hanging outside our room door with fresh baked goods, orange juice, and other goodies. Loved it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Definitely will recommend to everyone I know
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast will be served in the room. In this case, I wish the table in the room can be a little larger so that we can enjoy it better.

    I like everything here. The staff, the room, the service, the breakfast, and the legende.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Great stay. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is quite good however today I might choose a hotel in the old town.

    Everything and I mean absolutely everything was excellent. Comfy room designed to cater for all needs, good location and very helpful staff. Thanks Crystalle!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    A charming stay in Quebec City!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked this property to spend several days in Quebec City in advance of a cruise. We were delighted when we saw our room. It was lovely, with both a comfy bed and chairs, and plenty of room to relax. What a treat to have the morning breakfast delivered to our door! Wonderful warm pastries, yogurt, fruit and juices. The front desk recommended dinner next door at Restaurant Legende. It's a modern upscale spot with interesting dishes using Quebec Provence ingredients. We were not disappointed! All in all, a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't have been better!

    Young lady at the front desk was superb! Gave us great recommendations on places to go and restaurants to visit, shop, etc. Bed was perfect. The service was excellent all around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't find anything unpleasant about this hotel.

    Everything about the hotel was good. The staff was helpful with all our questions and had excellent suggestions. The room had everything we needed for a 4 day stay. Very clean, comfy beds, nice amenities and we loved the "breakfast in a bag" at our door in the morning. It is well located for shopping, restaurants, the port and the farmers market. We will be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff....great place to stay when in Quebec
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.....We want to go back.

    Very welcoming reception staff. Big comfy bed. Great bathroom with big towels. Plenty of space in the room. Nice compact gym for workout. Great location. Did not want to leave this hotel and this City. Would stay here again in a heart beat. Even with "Brekkie in a bag".

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Loved it all! Great stay! Lots of conveniences!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot is right out front but across the street. Not unexpected though due to it being a busy, populated city.

    Very comfortable- from the bed to the included breakfast delivered right outside your door! Quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Charming, small little hotel in a good location for areas of the lower city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A hike uphill to get into the upper city, room was small, a bit on the expensive side.

    Adorable hotel, lots of charm, great location for everything in the lower city, close proximity to the train station, personalized touch with the individual breakfasts delivered to the room each morning, overall super cute.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    I hope to come back some day soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the European decor of the furnishings and the very elaborate and intricate shower and jetted bathtub. The staff was most accommodating to our needs. We traveled on to Ottawa by train and the hotel was close enough to just pull our suitcases the 500 metres without any problem. The hotel is within a few interesting walking blocks of the scenic Old Town, with many antique shops along the way. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Great visit. Old Quebec is an amazing taste of Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location to access/walk to all of the great areas of Old Quebec and the St. Lawrence coast. Cool/funky bar downstairs next door. Friendly staff. Small, but nice gym. Delicious (and free) croissants. I would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    A Great Place to Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was very pleased with our room, as it had everything a traveller could wish for. It had really good bedside reading lights (hooray - this is so rare!!), accessible charger plugs for phones and computers and good wifi. It was a pleasantly decorated, relatively spacious room, with a comfortable bed and great bathroom. The hotel is located just on the outskirts of the old city, so we could easily walk and explore the old city, the harbour area, plus access good restaurants. The breakfast was delivered to the room each morning; the pastries changed daily, and juice, yogurt etc were included. A good quality coffeemaker is available in the room. It wasn't my preferred type of breakfast, but my husband enjoyed it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Great honeymoon spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with open bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel restaurant (Légende) is way over priced. We had 2 desserts and 2 drinks there and our bill was about $60 American. The decor is great. The drinks were good. The dessert was beautiful and artistic, but very bland. Not what I expected with all the hype. The food should have knocked our socks off, but it was like eating nothing but texture. I would not go there again or recommend it to anyone.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. Definitely check in before parking - They have discounted parking passes at the front desk. The room was modern, but comfortable. The bed was great and the jetted tub and shower were fabulous! Just make sure you have none of your belongings near the tub area as it is quite powerful and water can end up outside the tub. The room was quiet except for a brief (yelling) argument we could hear from the next room. Other than that you couldn't hear the neighboring rooms. We loved the location because it was a little away from the hustle and bustle of being right in the middle of old town, but walking distance to most everything we wanted. We loved the market just up the road from the hotel.Picked up wine, bread, meat, cheese and fruit and had a wonderful picnic lunch with local foods. I would stay here again! Great honeymoon!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel in Quebec!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was on a main street but not in a crowded, touristy area. The room was really nice with a comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom. There was an elevator and parking was right across the street. Breakfast is delivered in a bag every morning to your door and consists of croissants, a fruit or yogurt and a muffin or some kind of pastry. It is an easy walk to wherever you want to go.... close to water, museums and good restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Awesome Paris feel kind of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about... It met my standards of what I was looking for:)))

    Loved the look and comfort of the feel of being in Paris ..staff was very kind ... Extra touch of breakfast at the door... Walking distance to old and new Quebec...

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel des Coutellier traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: