Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Diplomat Inn 2 stars

5983 Stanley Avenue, L2G 3Y2 Niagara Falls, Canada

#71 of 103 hotels in Niagara Falls

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 670 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c was not working in one of the rooms.

    The bed was great, my room was really clean and the location of the hotel is amazing, everything that you are interested in visiting is really near.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    Facility fine for money. Check in process unpleasant all the way around after a long drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took a long time. They didnt have the booking for 4 adults in 2 rooms... clearly. The booking ended up in our guests name as the primary... so they had to stand with me to check in... but I was clearly the one paying who had made the booking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    3.8
    the hotel didn't even bother to contact us before they handed over our room to someone else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could have called us to know that we are running late. We drove from Ottawa to Niagara, having booked a room here, only to know that they handed over the room to someone else because we weren't there at 9:00 PM. Our repeated attempts at contacting them during the drive was a failure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    OKay but only if you were to apy $70-80 a night. This motel is not worth $120 a night we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stinking smell like cat pee in hallways. a lot of stains in carpet in room, on chairs and in hallways. Pool was nor being kept clen and no desire to swim in cloudy or algae tainted pools.

    Beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.3
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having 2 rooms booked costing roughly $320 we were very disappointed. Our first impression walking to our rooms was a fail right from the start. The hallways leading to our rooms smelled like cat urine. It was absolutely disgusting. Upon getting into our room, they checked us in after 5 and gave us our keys but one of the rooms was still being cleaned for an additional 20mins. Once in our rooms there were no phones which meant no direct line to front desk, no using it to make a local call to order food but mostly NO WAY TO MAKE A 911 CALL if needed. Very unsettling. Then after a day out and returning back to our room we were greeted in the parking lot being told to park down a dark alley way by the workers house and walk back to our room....NO WAY. AT THE PRICE WE PAID EVERY ROOM SHOULD HAVE A VISIBLE PARKING SPACE IN THE PARKING LOT. Definitely will not be staying here again.

    .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.0
    Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we checked in our rooms were not ready yet she gave us the keys anyways, then she was unable to put my credit card through as the boss was on the phone. The hallways smelled of chemicals, There was no one at the desk overnight, The entrance doors to the hotel were not locked anyone could have walked in at anytime no security.

    the water pressure was good in the shower. Everything was within walking distance. The falls were a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The WEGO stopped right in front of the hotel. Lundy's Lane and Clifton Hill were walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 211 had a terrible smell even outside the door. But the staff was very accomodating. Stairway carpet needed a shampooing desparately

    Friendly filipino staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.4
    Not the best, but great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was not ready by check in time. Reception had to tell house keeper to hurry up. The bathtub was uncomfortable to shower in. Firemen came banging on my door in the middle of the night stating fire alarms were not working and had to check it.

    Location was close to all main attractions

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    Housekeeper was a nice lady
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found that the inn won't change pillow case to wish after customers move out. A bit disgusting. I need to sleep on the pillowcase which others had used. Poor wifi

    Just the location with cheaper cost

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice staff, but role m had terrible mould smell and not very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very strong overpowering mound smell in room and very wet spot several feet in front of air conditioning like it happens all the time and that where mild smell coming from. Bad mood smell in hall but overpowering in room and I am not picky at all about budget hotels. No staff on overnight at office and door just left unlocked so no security and no cameras on the hallways move

    People were very nice and staff was accommodating . Good price and convenient location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    2.9
    Never come back to this hotel and anever recommend to anybody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are rude rooms bathroom are very very dirty and stinky and lots of different insect inside like spiders and bed bugs.

    None. The room is very dirty and nasty. And lots of bed bugs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.2
    Free parking, close to the falls
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst place I've ever been to! Bad smell, No wifi at all, No ice, Door is open to anybody, there was a stranger lady on the 3rd floor at night!!!!!

    Free parking, close to the falls

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.2
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel wasn't like we found it in 2012. We were really disappointed. I think that the hotel needs a profound renovation. Ww booked a double room but we had a single room!!! We traveled the hole day with kids and a baby to find the Air conditionner OFf!!! The staff said that they don't put it on until the client arrive!!! So we weited in the car until the temperature went down. Internet quality is very poor, No iron, hair dryer doesn't work. Hotels near by are better for approximately the same price...

    The location Free parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.2
    Ask Before You Buy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one warned me that if you are under 25 you can't check in by yourself. What type of law is that? The staff made an exception since I was by myself, but there should seriously be a warning asking the buyer their age before allowing them to book the hotel online. I'm not from Canada, as many others who were staying here, and I didn't even think to look up such a thing. My room was so ugly and had a terrible smell. Way too much money for terrible quality. I'm a 19 year old female by the way, so I understand why people thing it's strange for me to be traveling alone, but that doesn't give you the right to bombard me with questions. Creepy staff member asked, "why are you alone? You're so beautiful? You don't have a boyfriend? Why not?" Made me uncomfortable...

    The only thing good about this hotel is the location. It was very close to where you wanted to be. Still overpriced in my opinion.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    4.6
    Staff are friendly location is ok. Hotel needs serious work
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room STINKS of mould. TV is on an antenna and gets about 5 channels some are too snowy to watch. Bathroom faucet is broken and won’t adjust the temperature.

    Not much

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    Is near of Niagara Falls walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff never cleaned my room. In the fridge was food for the guest before us. The staff never answered the phone. To noise.😢 Never came back

    Is near of Niagara Falls walking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    HORRIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee maker one down by lobby did not work,floors were filthy..did not get clean towels for 2 days..never again

    Not much,Iam pretty laid back..but the place was dirty nothing worked...not vending or coffee machine. Staff was rude...Never will go back there..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    location is the only thing I liked
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    my room didn t have a door knob, couldn t lock the door, had to use the key to lock it. Internet didn't work at all. Front desk clerk couldn't find my reservation due to internet being so slow.

    location is the only thing I liked

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi. Tv wasn't working. Pool was closed due to high pH. Front desk wifi not working and check in took way longer than it should have.

    Free parking. Close to the falls.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    The location was good for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had a stale smell and the rooms were dated. I thought for the price it would be nicer. It was tolerable.

    The location was good for us. It was not to far of a walk with kids to the falls.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    Good if not picky about stained carpets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained carpets in hallways and room, and some smell in hallway made an impression of lack of cleanliness.

    Fridge, but didnt want to use it due to suspision of it being unclean. Air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.2
    This place is in urgent need of renovations, halfways need new carpets, wallpaper is old and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad odours in the hallway, dirty carpets in the hallway. No ice machines. But they will give you a small bag of ice in the office,if you ask.

    Large room, free parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    3.8
    Worst place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty and the toilet didnt work properly kept making a horrible sound plus there so called free WIFI kept going out on us And i had to pay a 1.50 for coffee from a vending machine horrible

    Staff was ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Poor quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor internet. The hotel needs, definitely some renovations. Old rusty fridges in the rooms should be removed. TV programs of very poor quality. The owner should invest in his property in order to enhance it.

    The employees!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    I enjoyed my stay. I was by myself for relaxation and felt safe walking around the area at all hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A coffee machine would have been nice. Not many channels on the TV but then who spends much time in the room when you are in Niagara Falls.

    Room was clean and big. walking distance to many restaurants. Walking distance to the falls. Staff nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Not coming back again .
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought we can use the pool but they’re fixing it i asked front desk if its open she said yes but then when we are entering the pool the staff talked to us and say they’re fixing it ..

    Its very clean and the beds are so comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    lower budget motel would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    moldy musty smell carpets wet from shampooing and overwetting not letting carpets dry thouroughly still wet next morning and musty throughout stay not horrible but basement like smell

    room clean, beds comfortable, well lit ,felt safe ,quiet, if in reasonable shape walking distance to most tourist things

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    The staffs are always smiling and available to help when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated furnitures. I’m not comfortable with the carpet and though they seemed clean the beddings aren’t soft, no fitted sheet. I think if you stay in this inn you should your own beddings and inside shoes.

    The staffs are always smiling and available to help when needed. We like the jacuzzi the most.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    Goodlocation... thats all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was closed due to required rep airs. No hot water in shower on second day :-( Problems checking in.....

    Good location to entertainment. Jacuzzi tub was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    I would stay again despite things advertised but unavailable. Very affordable and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No pool, no coffee, no wifi and hairdryer didn't work. A casino shuttle was advertised but didn't exist. Carpet plush but needs replacing.

    The price was excellent. Beds were comfy. Great location. Ice was available. Furniture was nice. Cleaning staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean, location, good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet, They have WIFI that does not work even when I ask the recipient she confirmed its not working and even if it worked it would be extremely slow, hair dryer not working, vending machine also broke.

    Clean, location, good bed. Good if you spend all day out and want to sleep only.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    WiFi was not functioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not functioning. Pool closed. Room cannot refresh air. Pillows had no cover. Hair dryer not functioning. One nice Indian guy was all the personnel. Also too expensive for such a room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.8
    Don’t get me started, the first room I was booked in had wet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t get me started, the first room I was booked in had wet carpets and the room smelt like bo and dirty feet. The second room had a very funky smell

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was a problem is that the water temp in the shower was too hot.l actually burned my right foot from the scalding water.Everything elses was fine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location, low quality inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is dated. It was in need of a renovation ten years ago. The drapes did not close all the way, & we were on the first floor. Painted countertop with stains showing through. Mild smell in room. Floors felt damp, even the carpet. Cleaning staff did their best. They left a dirty, used envelope in the room asking for a tip as soon as we arrived. A couple of things bugged me. The ice machine was on the second floor halfway around the hotel. I wanted ice after returning from a long walk and found the ice machine out of order. In fact, the power wire had been cut and was sticking out of the wall. I don't think the ice machine worked in months. It would have been nice to know that before wasting my time and energy looking for it in an unmarked room. The staff did give me a small bag of ice for "drinks" not for keeping things cold in a cooler. I had to throw out a lot of food. The pool was closed. Not mentioned during the booking. This was the beginning of June. The advertised rate was lower onsite than what I found online. I think this is a scam that hotels are using to charge people more who book online. Next time I am going to take a chance and just find a room when I get there instead of booking in advance. I paid over $200, for two nights, for a room that was really worth less than $100.

    The room is large, the beds were comfortable. The staff were friendly-ish. The location was the best part! We walked to everything: The Falls, Scotiabank Convention Centre, Greg Frewin magic show. Get the pass for the incline railway. It is a short cut to the Falls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable stay and good for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn't working properly in the room.

    Stay was quite comfortable and location was very close to the falls. We could take red line bus just outside to the hotel and it was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    You get what you pay for. Great for our night out in Niagara Falls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an old building with very few upgrades in terms of décor. The decor was like going back in time to the 60's and 70's.

    It was right by the casino and restaurants. Easy access by foot or car to get to where we needed to. It had lots of parking. The staff was very accommodating and if something was not right, they went out of their way to help solve the matter. Truly very nice staff. The bed comfort was amazing!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.3
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet was dirty. No pillow cases, just shams that were reused. Crummy TV reception. hair dryer didn't work. No one answered at the front desk. Door off hinges. No water in pool. won't go back

    not much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    A great choice for students or anyone who wants to visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As expected room was not really clean when we came. Lots of dusts behind the bed and drawers. Looked like one of the bed sheet wasn’t changed as well.

    A great choice for students or anyone who wants to visit Niagara Falls and to save money as well. A receptionist woman was really nice to us. Location is great! 10 min walking from the Niagara Falls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    It was good. Hotel met my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and room space

    Location is good. 15 minutes to falls view or the main street. Room is comfort for a family of 4-5. Parking is free. Close to Al Mac's Buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    2.5
    We are on the way and end moment I received call that our...
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not our mistake but they spoil my birthday

    We are on the way and end moment I received call that our system is not k that room we are not able to give that price we are canceled your room we are very disappointed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    a cheap hotel in every sense
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    my keys consistently had a problem with opening my room door, the only ice machine was broken, the hallway was unlit when we arrived, front desk clerk was clearly having a bad day and needed one of my friends to fix their printer to allow ourselves and others to sign in, room was ice cold when I arrived

    room seemed clean, they found my booking easily and honoured it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    The person on that day was friendly and good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee stuff in the room. The pantry was away from the room and was not isolated so outside winds were coming. Room Heating was not that good. Location was 2kms away from the falls

    The person on that day was friendly and good.strong wifi connectivity.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    It was fun, staff as super friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv channel we’re very limited. And most of them didn’t work. The wifi didn’t work most of the time. We got the queen spa room and the bed wasn’t a queen felt more like a double

    The jacuzzi was amazing! Staff was super friendly. Place was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    there was no heat in the room I told the man behind the desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no heat in the room I told the man behind the desk he gave me a small heater it di not keep the room warm will not stay in the motel in the winter time

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    Only strayed because of price- no amenities are offered and when asked no one is sure is possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are somewhat run down; when asking fr anything extra at booking time it is not always certain that it will be available or in the room and then as per example a refrigerator the temperature control does not work and the fridge is dirty and very old. The water in the bathroom is reversed- cold is hot, hot is cold and the heating/AC does not maintain a temperature. The television is not cable connected and there are possibly only 2 channels that can be viewed without snow on the screen. The connection keeps dropping and often " no signal" is displayed.

    Only the price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    4.6
    my stay was moderatly comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't properly clean i.e the carpet wasn't clean to a standard it was a bit smelly, they used dark color sheet for the bed spread i was expecting white sheet as dark color sheet hide dirt. i would recommend great interest must apply to presentation with regards to every aspect of interior.

    however i very much like the location and the off street parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ice in the ice machine, not clean enough, rude staff. And they knocked on our door after 11 pm becuase they forgot to photo copy our reciept....we were sleeping

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    2.9
    Horrible, disgusting, smelly, run down etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything.

    WE have been going here for years when Joanne and her husband owned it. However now it is completely run down, smelly, no ice machine, no coffee etc. WE were told that it is being totally renovated top to bottom we shall see about that. Also seems to have some transiat people at that place. Not impressed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.8
    It's ok, if your looking for something cheap and nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Doesn't have usb chargers or anything fancy. No good TV stations. Outdated. Strong odor in the hallways and stuffy air in the rooms. Bring a scented candle.

    It's ok, if your looking for something cheap and nothing special. Really just a room and bed. Big room but outdated. Beds are ok, but not as comfortable like other high end hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.8
    Good place to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival had to ring for a looooong time until someone came out from behind the reception. The hair dryer did not work but I got a new one rapidly after asking. The air conditioning seemed from another age, so I did not turn it on for too long. All in all, the place looked quite run down.

    Good location, the local bus passes by the hotel, great beds, lots of space (big rooms!)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Other than getting very little ice on a very warm day, my trip was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ice machine was not working and it has not been working all summer. They did provide you with ice, however, it was only for pop which makes no sense. The facility has no fridge or restaurant, people with kids need a cooler to keep things cool. Every hotel should have a working ice machine.

    We stayed in the 3rd floor room which was very quiet and comfortable as compare to my previous stay at that hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.0
    not coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    washroom not flush cause water is very slow.. so when i'm check out around 7:00 am nobody there in lobby.. then i contact there phone like 20x nobody answer then so i put my key in the mail box cause i can't wait for long cause my train should be first trip in the morning..

    thats my firsttime to book diplomat inn but washroom not flush good water is very slow..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable beds, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition good but noisy. Room and hotel in general in need of an upgrade in Most departments.

    Comfortable beds, reasonable standard of facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    3.3
    I was really grateful to leave and go to a clean and pleasant hotel after one night at the Diplomat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled of smoke in the room. The whole property was filthy and unpleasant. There was no tea or coffee. Only one pillow. No ventilation in the room and nobody available to help when the fire alarm went off for an extended period of time. The room was VERY run down and unclean. It was very poor value for money at $140 for one night in a filthy run down hotel that I wold make sure to never visit again. Oh and the pool had no water in it. I called ahead and asked if the pool was open and was specifically not told it was drained.

    The location was walking distance to the attractions

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.3
    The price we paid was double what was being advertised on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price we paid was double what was being advertised on the front sign upon arrival. We paid 102.00 plus tax for one night through booking.com but the advertised price on the sign was $49 per night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    3.8
    it was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff could've cleaned our beds earlier, it was really late at 4:30 and we were already back at our hotel rooms and plus they didn't have any towels for restock

    convenient to downtown core, the AC was really cold which was awesome on a hot day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.2
    would not go back or ever recommend to family or friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets were dirty and need replacing the bathroom fan was non existing WiFi poor the silicone around bath was black instead of white. The whole place needs a revamp.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.8
    Shower water Was strong
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roomand hall way smells Sink was cracmed I paid to much money for rate No coffee machines in rm No jCkozi in rm Alot more bad

    Close to attractions

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change the first room offered to us because it had a strong smell of animal urine, the second room had a strong smell of cigarettes but we had to take it. There was a loud tapping noise in our room for about 2 hours that started at 4am and we had no Wifi. There were crumbs in one of the beds and the towels were very old and dirty looking. The rooms were a good size but overall it was an uncomfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    Will not stay there again.....too much competition in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was freezing we tried to use it but could not even get in it was definitely not heated even though it says it had a heated pool For the price we paid we felt it should have offered breakfast plus the advertised price on their outside board was way less than we paid. Our biggest concern was that the outside door to go to our second floor room was neverocjed or needed a key to get in so anyone could have entered the hotel at any time We fully expected to see someone sleeping in the inside hallway That was a bit scary The lady at the front desk who checked us in ignored us for a good 5 minutes because she was on the phone arguing with someone over a booking . Com reservation, they wanted to cancel and was was arguing that they couldn't, she ended up putting the phone down on them and making a comment to us about booking.com, then she was a but sheepish when she realized we had booked through .com as well! Not very

    That we could park at the property free of charge and that it was walking distance to the falls

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    2.9
    Niagara Falls was beautiful, the hotel was horrible. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude, everytime i asked a question, i was told to look at the map. There was a horrible smell in the hotel. Ice machine was broken. No refrigerator in the room. Housekeeping did not come until 4:30 in the afternoon.

    Not much at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    2.9
    Very bad
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very bad. I actually hurt my back while sleeping on them. There was no ice to be found . No was would answer the front desk phone. No one give us the wi- fi password. We check in at 5pm, and our room was still being made .

    Close to the falls

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    2.5
    Overall, the room was not worth its price and made to look better than it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no wifi, no coffee maker, and no microwave. The room smelled like smoke and the service was very poor - we asked for extra pillows and shampoo and they were very stingy with it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    3.3
    The phone and the hair dryer didn't work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The phone and the hair dryer didn't work. Beds were not so clean. It wasn't like the photos. The pool looks wonderful in the pictures, but it wasn't that nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.0
    Cheap low quality rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly, the WiFi hardly worked, floor carpet was in disgust, the ice machine didn't work there's no microwave in the rooms, and the pool needs to be redone

    Clean sheets

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    3.3
    Terrable get away, The sighn out frount was right. it was a $49 room. Paid way too much
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all how about some comfortable beds. Then maybe at least a coffee maker in the rooms. Then maybe some towels that are at least big enough to cover and dry you off with. Then maybe have the air on in the stair wells so you don't walk through a sauna to get to your room.

    The beds were terrible. They took an old water bed from and put it around a terrible mattress. The frame made noises every time you moved. The mattress was the worst I ever tried to sleep on. I would never go back to this hotel. The price was rediculas. Especially since they advertise out frount that the rooms are $49 and up. For what I paid , id hate to see what you get for $49.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    2.5
    Only good thing about this hotel is the location. I will always stick to brand names from now on
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Very expensive and unclean. Everything in room was broken. Tv, lights, plug outlets, toilet and shower were clogged. Terrible!! Worst hotel ive ever stayed at!!

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    3.8
    Crummy place and we'll never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dark. The television received 6 or 7 channels and not all were clear. The rug was damp the entire time that we were there. We were there for 3 nights and only had housekeeping come one time and that was after our 2nd night. Everything seemed old and rundown.

    Quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    4.2
    Hotel in a very bad shape
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very poor sanitary condition, stairs were in worst condition. That was the worst hotel I have ever been. I wanted to move to another hotel but couldn't get refund and had to stay. I would not recommend anyone to go to that hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    2.5
    Poor service , poor management, poor cleaning, poor entertainmen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As said not a single thing impressed me

    Nothing is really impressive about the hotel and the service provided. In fact they didn't offer the same room that I booked initially till I called and complained

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    3.8
    Diplomat Dive !!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No ice machine that worked , no fridge to keep things cool, No coffee pot in the rooms . vending machine didn't work in lobby , we got locked in our room due to a broken dead bolt we had to wait an extra 2 hours the morning of check out for management to break the lock to get us out, it could have been a death trap if there was a fire we could not get out from the inside of our room. very expensive for the type of service state of rooms very out dated and the room it self was not clean but bearable, never going back there.

    The Jacuzzi Tub was the only good thing !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    Fire in room above and we were evacuated with nowhere to go for 4 hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi didn't work..you could connect but there was no internet which staff said is a typical problem. The system is so old it can't handle the traffic.

    The room was fairly clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We witnessed them give rooms away to walk in's and didnt have rooms for reserved customers. We showed up at 1 ( check in was at 11) and none of the rooms had been cleaned yet. They said staff was very slow. They didnt really seem to care. Wi fi wasnt great!

    We liked that everything was in walking distance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Last minute decision to travel to Falls.--picked wrong place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator. Front receptionist loud and unprofessional. No Wifi available. No breakfast. TV kept going off and on. No Kleenex in room. Greatly overpriced for facilities. Price was double for a holiday weekend. Hotel well worn, paint job terrible. Towels thin and small--not your regular shower bath towels. Only stay there if you absolutely have to. Could not cancel after booking.

    Bed was comfortable. Location good.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: