Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DesBarres Manor Inn 4 stars

90 Church Street, B0H 1N0 Guysborough, Canada

#1 of 1 hotels in Guysborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 57 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent accomodations but amenities were lacking at this time of year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website advertises that a full breakfast is included but we received an email after booking saying there was no food service available. We were also charged more than what we were quoted by booking.com

    The bed and bed linens were the most comfortable of any hotel I've stayed in. Gorgeous antiques as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice change from the usual hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a few more options for breakfast which was a basic home-style meal of scrambled eggs and bacon, cereal and a sweet bun.

    Beautiful large rooms decorated with antiques in a heritage house. Quiet location. Enjoyed the intimate onsite dining room with an upscale menu. Great friendly service. Neighborhood has many interesting historical homes. In a scenic area of Nova Scotia.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Frustrating but pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely no water pressure. When showering the water would disappear altogether at times. The wifi was very poor. It kept dropping out all the time & wasn't strong enough to search info about the area.

    The rooms were very large. The staff were cheerful & helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    A great place to stay for a relaxing break but bring your own wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the wine. $148.00 for a bottle of mediocre Pinot Noir was far too much.

    A beautiful old manor house which has been restored to a high standard and still retains the old world character. Room was very spacious and comfortable. The property is located in the middle of Guysborough, a very pretty village retaining many original buildings built in the colonial style. Breakfast was more than adequate and the bacon was cooked to perfection. Dinner was delightful - the best pork loin I've had in ages. The staff were so nice and could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Lovely relaxing place to stay in an interesting area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely old building, full of character. Very friendly staff. Lovely breakfasts. One night we had a superb dinner. Huge outside veranda with large chairs, overlooking quiet countryside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Experience resembled that of the Lord of the Manor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little more variable.

    Room was upgraded as a result of early arrival. Victorian atmosphere was outstanding. Staff were extremely courteous. Setting was very beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, Everything was great!

    Lovely restored mansion from the 1800's in a small picturesque village Gourmet Dinner was available on site for an extra charge but was excellent Breakfast was excellent amazing service Best place we stayed at in Nova Scotia

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful restored early 19th Century manor with a courteous and helpful staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no AC and the rooms are too warm on a hot summers evening. The pillows are the hard foam variety and they do not have a feathered option.

    Beautiful restored home originally built in 1837. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. The staff is courteous and helpful. The grounds are well maintained with lovely plants and ample shade trees.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    The Des Barre Manor Inn was a relaxing stop in the middle of a long road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guysboroigj has little to offer- a pleasant walk but not much else to enjoy

    It was a very restful place after a long day's drive- great place to relax The kitchen staff was accommodating with a cup of coffee between meals

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.8
    Good but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a tired facility. From the stains on the carpets, walls, and curtains, to creaking doors it needs a complete overhaul. Everything is just basic and there's no attention to detail. For example, there's no information in the room on how to call the front desk, or the internet password; there's no kettle in the room, no shower cap in the bathroom. The tv is from 1990s! Even in the cheapest motels there have more amenities. What they think they are (quaint, romantic inn) has to be realigned with reality (dated, lacklustre heritage facility).

    Location of the inn was in a quirky little town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Warm, welcoming, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't figure out how to operate the TV -- but that's because of my general befuddlement with electronics. It would help to include an information sheet with the TV.

    Excellent, prompt, friendly service by Anna, Bonnie and breakfast waitress. (Re the facilities: the limitations are those to be expected in a heritage inn of this vintage: no elevator, no grab bars in bathroom. But, unprompted, Anna arranged to move me to a lower floor when she learned that I am arthritic, and made sure a rubber bath mat was provided.) I was pleased to find a radio in my room: seems like a small thing, but I miss it if it isn't provided in other hotels. The dinner was very satisfactory.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was a bit high for a bb in a small town.

    The room was lovely and spacious. Very cosy and relaxing. Beautiful restored facility. Staff were great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.6
    This is an imposing looking property in large grounds with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is overpriced and doesn't live up to the billing. It is a fairly ordinary b and be in a nice building. The food was poor and overpriced. The starters were all pre- prepared and there was a very limited choice of main fishers. The food was homely and that is ok but not when you are charging restaurant prices -ie 30Canadian dollars for an ordinary piece of fish. Given the earlier reviews we concluded it must have changed hands.

    This is an imposing looking property in large grounds with an attractive decked area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    So for most of our stay was far to good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us the bed was to firm.Menu was a little slim. My wife is allergic to fish and is not to found of pork.There should be staff at the inn around the clock.

    Facility were nice. The staff were extra nice and helpful.the room were v nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.8
    Room size, bed was comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food service, no one staffing the bar, televisions were ancient. Couldn't shower because water was rusty/discolored.

    Room size, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful, old manor with a history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like, but since we were there in April it was off season, so we were not able to get breakfast. However, we were directed to a wonderful cafe within walking distance that served a very delicious breakfast.

    The staff were very accomodating and enjoyable. The room/ suite was large, tastefully appointed and comfortable. Upon arrival we were given an upgrade.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Too late in the season, to sort of a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our expectations were all met.

    The facilities were excellent and we had a wonderful time with friends. We were late in the season so we missed some of the seasonal shops but our visit to the distillery more than made up for anything we missed. Looking forward to returning next year in September.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Great find and wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I can see...everything was great!

    This was the highlight of our trip...so glad that it was the last B&B we stayed. The breakfast was delicious and we were pleasantly surprised to learn upon checking in that they offered an evening meal. That was a fabulous meal. They have a full bar and everything is freshly made...even the bread. The chef was outstanding and the staff was hilarious and informative. Everything about this establishment was outstanding. The room was large and the bathroom was also. It was a quiet location and its position allowed for wonderful walks along the water. There is a a great time frame for breakfast between 8 and 10...and they accommodate any request. The display of fresh fruit, juices and muffins was available for walk up and then you ordered whatever you wanted for breakfast. For the price this B&B (or Inn) was top notch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.8
    Good place to start a trip along the beautiful Eastern Shore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fine, but could have been helped with a variety of seasonal fruit and local baking.

    Room was clean and comfortable. Dinner was simply delicious!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Great friendly staff, good food,beautiful grounds,beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows and bed too soft,

    Great friendly staff, good food,beautiful grounds,beautiful large rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful house and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable.

    Beautiful house and very friendly staff. Food was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Rooms are dated
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very plain, nothing special

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little pricey.

    Bed was comfortable. Food great. Staff helpful. Inn is appointed beautifully.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beautiful setting, quiet!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Characterful inn. Good for overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs to third floor rooms narrow with luggage. Above average price.

    Comfortable room. Great bacon & eggs for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was perfect as was the room! Staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    This is an older building but it was roomy, new beds, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an older building but it was roomy, new beds, and immaculately clean. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    We were given an upgrade ,very comfortable bed, can't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given an upgrade ,very comfortable bed, can't fault anything about our stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful old manor with superb restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything! This place is just beautiful! The breakfast was superb, staff were very nice and helpful, and the dinner was the Amazing!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    A really great place to stay at the end of a month on the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was so good.

    A beautiful hotel, large rooms with lots of space. An excellent evening meal and a great choice of things for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    5.8
    Quirky Respite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We drove out of our way & felt the value was not there! Clean though & comfortable enough bed!

    Historic aspect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Charming historical home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If really hot, no A/C on third floor

    Beautiful period home Great food at in- house restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Bonnie was a wonderful hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bonnie was a wonderful hostess. The dinners were delicious. We thought the town was charming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    Stylish huge house and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stylish huge house and lovely staff. The room had wonderful view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Brilliant stay, will recommend to all our friends and anyone who asks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To ba able to open a window in the room.

    The friendliness and excellent service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    The scrambled eggs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37