Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Windsor Waterfront 3 stars

33 Riverside Drive East, N9A 2S4 Windsor, Canada

#7 of 28 hotels in Windsor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 100 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, clean with a cool view of Detroit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking situation was a bit frustrating.

    The bed was very big and comfy and the view was really cool. It was very close to the border, which is what we needed. The perfect place to rest your head on a busy weekend trip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful, very comfortable and will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was very nice, clean hotel and huge comfortable rooms. Breakfast was included and location was excellent...I will be staying w u again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    As we only stayed one nite, and not even expecting to, it was very lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking area was small

    Staff was friendly, room was very clean, and nicely laid out. We were only there one night but I would stay there again. I highly reccommend this place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    The clerk did help us by going outside to point the to the direction of the lot and how to get there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid 15.00 for the parking however when we arrived late one night there was no parking. The front desk staff informed me I can park across the street. It would of been nice to know about the overflow of parking at the lot across the street.

    The bed was very comfortable. I slept through the night. The view of the waterfront was spectacular, during the day and at night. The breakfast area was clean and met my expectations. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful especially Nima. She thanked me for choosing the Holiday Inn.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    The parking is terrible, there were faubs for the lot beside...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    PARKING

    The parking is terrible, there were faubs for the lot beside but the hotel ran out, sent me to a parking garage a block away, very inconvenient. There was lots of parking available in the lot beside, had to pay my own way to get in not happy at all with the parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Excellent downtown hotel in Windsor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 elevators are slow.

    Very comfortable beds. Enjoyed free breakfast. Sparkling clean. Close location to Caesars casino colosseum where we attended a concert - 5 min. walk. Just steps away from Windsor River Cruise ship dock where we enjoyed a 3 hr. dinner cruise. Close to many downtown restaurants. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Not too bad!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff upon initial contact was not polite. Very confused and confusing when speaking to them. Got 3 different stories from 3 different people. Any front desk staff contact was confusing, either things werent explained properly, or they just answered questions in a very round about way.

    Beds and Pillows were VERY comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good considering.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Our stay was amazing hotel is very conveniently located and view was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was really small and parking in the parking garage got annoying

    I asked for a room with a view and I got it, amazing view and the room was very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    The location was fantastic right on the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was crowded and not enough seating for everyone in the hotel.

    The location was fantastic right on the waterfront....lots of restaurants close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    All in all it was a good stay for a one night stay over..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was hoping and I requested a nice view from our room, but didn't get one. The parking was also cramped.

    I liked the cleanliness of the property. The breakfast was good. The check-in was fast and easy..Nice walk to the casino and the Market Buffet at the casino is a must to try. Very reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    A 100% positive experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had the morning breakfast which we both enjoyed very much. Good variety and good food. Adds to the value of the experience. Will stay again. Photos included are views from our room! ;-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    I felt at home and very safe. It was a wonderful weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My rooms bathroom wasn't the cleanest and had a faint odor of urine. I cleaned it myself when I checked in. Only because I knew you were extremely busy and I couldn't wait. Also, you need a can for cigarette butts outside. The whole city does but your small area needs on badly.

    Everything about my stay was fabulous! The staff in every department was friendly and very helpful. The beds were like sleeping on a cloud! The complimentary breakfast was great and the coffee was even better!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Friendly staff except for the lady that got upset about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were literally on top of each other.. Also the breakfast ends way to early people comes down around 9 930 staff refuse to refill the bar at 845 in the morning leaving straps if anything to eat

    Friendly staff except for the lady that got upset about the breakfast lol

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    The rooms were comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The disappointment was the brunch. The food lacked variety and the quality of the food was poor

    The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    It was fine. Nothing special.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was changed from a king suite to a queen suite. It was cold the first night, and I got in quite late, so I took the blanket from the second bed, and the next day the blanket was removed from the room. Strange.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    So not happy
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk was mean, we ordered a king size bed room in higher floors. But our window just facing the equipment in third floor. And we changed to fifth floor but they only gave us 2 double beds room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Clean, good location, slightly noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is annoying. The lot doesn't hold many cars, and "parking overflow" takes you to an adjacent garage (that requires a separate tag for your vehicle). Soundproofing was not built into this hotel's design. If you have neighbors who do anything louder than sneeze, you will hear it. I saw several reviews that raved about the "delicious breakfast," but it was low budget / cheap (not in the good way) eats. The breakfast staff were very polite, though.

    The hotel and its rooms have a clean, modern feel. Staff are polite and friendly. In terms of location this is nearly ideal: right next to the river walk, quick walk to the big casino, and relatively quick walk to downtown restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Excellent ! Great view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I don’t think it’s the hotels fault the parking was a little squishy and nearly impossible for us to park somewhere. Luckily we brought our little car instead of our suv

    I liked the bed it was super comfy and the breakfast was insane. Literally everything you could want ! Staff was super friendly and fast. The hotel was easy to maneuver and easy to find!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.4
    We had stayed there before the renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no indication that the pool was closed until we arrived. Rooms are very small

    We had stayed there before the renovations. A lot of work has been done to improve this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable rooms, but a bit noisy on this stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was probably just bad timing. It was as if 'Bro'-fest was going on in town. Lots of early 20 somethings drunk in the hallways at stupid hours of the night making noise and carrying on. The doors to the room are a bit thin, so the sound carried into the room and woke me up a number of times throughout the night.

    Rooms were clean, and the bed really comfortable. For the most part I slept well. Doors need to be more soundproof though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic. Clean room, friendly service, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best value hotel I've ever stayed at. We were surprised to see that what we were expecting to be a Travellodge had actually been converted and remodelled to a new Holiday Inn. Everything was new, clean, and comfortable. Staff were pleasant and as always, the free breakfast as great before hitting the road. I would absolutely recommend as it's hard to find great price and quality on the river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.2
    Unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a hotel with parking space, however, the hotel was under construction! The parking lot was inaccessible. I had to park on the street and I got a ticket for that! There was a lot of noise coming from the construction, it was impossible to relax during day time. I understand that they are working to make it a better hotel but, nobody told me this while I was booking it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.8
    Facilities and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a big problem cause a hotel is going through building works. It was like sleeping on a buil.site with noise and drilling. I did complain a lot. Dont think they should sell rooms if a hotel is not finished. Noa reception, No a pool. And instant noise!!!!! When all works done, it will be a lovely place to stay.

    Facilities and location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    The staff were incredibly helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was under renovations during our stay so all the facilities were closed.

    The staff were incredibly helpful and kind. The room was very comfortable, quiet and newly renovated. Location was perfect; it was walking distance to the restaurants downtown, Caesars casino and the bus shuttle to Detroit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    comfy bed, good room with microwave which was good.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were unable to check in early even after we requested to on booking.com (Not sure whose fault that was). Also unfortunately there was some construction going on and the lift would occasionally be out of service and we had to use the stairs instead.

    comfy bed, good room with microwave which was good. Lady at the front desk was really nice and the location is great (close to the riverfront and downtown).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    The hôtel was under renovation so we cannot rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our beds smelled like a street walker slept their for a month so the sheets were not changed after the previous occupant. We had only freezing cold water to shower

    The room was visually very nice and the renovation upgrades are looking good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Great !!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything great place will stay again without question !!!!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One elevator down not working

    Breakfast included

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    It was beautifull and memorable
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was to short I wish I could of stayed longer it was

    I love the staff the breakfast and the ambiance of the hotel my sta

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Clean rooms and cautious staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Provision of meals in the eveningsd

    Clean rooms and cautious staff. Location down time was just okay and staff willing to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    We would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator and hallways were very hot!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air condition in hall or elevator found bugs in bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Location and friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited parkikng and parkikng cost

    Location and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    The parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Beds were awsome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet seemed dirty

    Beds were awsome

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    no air conditioning in hall way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air conditioning in hall way. air conditioner in room very loud and not working properly. bathroom floor was dirty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Close to the casino for the concert
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm in middle of night, I know it wasn’t hotel fault but couldn’t fall back asleep

    Close to the casino for the concert

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    The view from my room was AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that I had to pay for parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    It was ok
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not very good

    Location. Great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    I'd stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking!

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Location, nice staff, view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym a bit small, pool very small, restaurant too small for full hotel

    Location, nice staff, view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Mobility Access with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate parking on site and an additional cost

    Pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handicap parking. Hard to park.

    Location. Room was. Ice but musty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Didn’t know there was an extra fee for parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t know there was an extra fee for parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My credit card was charged wrong

    Bed was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Staff was great, room was perfect.
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View wasn't the greatest.. but the view wasn't important to me.

    I enjoyed my stay. The beds were very comfortable. I didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    The room was nice and the breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not open.

    The room was nice and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Super convenient to the locations we came to be close to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking across the street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    too expensive

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    My stay was good other than the experiences with the staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seemed extremely stuck up and snotty

    The look and cleanliness of the hotel and rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    Elevator is slow and small. Not very efficient

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.8
    The building was under construction, so can't really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was under construction, so can't really judge anything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant. Hotel was under construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking for the size property

    The room was very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Great value, thanks.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reno was inconvenient but understandable.

    Great value, thanks.

    Stayed in September 2017

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Holiday Inn Express Windsor Waterfront traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: