Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel du Nord 3 stars

640 St-Vallier Ouest, G1N 1C5 Quebec City, Canada

#83 of 104 hotels in Quebec City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1207 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    3.8
    Staff was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is terrible. The hotel is located in a dirty neighborhood and it’s very far from main attractions, specially Old Quebec. There’s no elevator and you have to climb yourself to your room with your luggage. But the worst is how dirty the room is.

    Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Very good experience. The room exceeded my expectations. The in door pool was a bonus.Added some fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good. Nothing that I didn’t like. The only thing I could say is we were on the 3rd floor with no elevator. Not a problem for us but I could see might be an issue for some.

    Very Friendly staff, needed an extra bed for my daughter and they were very accommodating. Very clean, comfortable bed. Went for a swim, also took advantage of the free breakfast and it was very good also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    bed size matters
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it would be good to have eggs/ham in breakfast.

    this room is much better, bed size is good for 2 persons. nice to have a table in the room. this room meets my expectation to 3-star. free parking is always good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Free parking, good service from front desk, easy to take...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is very small, not good for 2 people . Breakfast is quite simple, no eggs/meat. Room is very small, and no elevator

    Free parking, good service from front desk, easy to take bus1 to downtown

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Extremely helpful staff, nice clean rooms exactly as shown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from old Quebec , not many places to dine in around

    Extremely helpful staff, nice clean rooms exactly as shown on pictures, breakfast was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Suite was good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Kitchenette and Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should have something that's not sweet. They were out of both oat meal and cream cheese. No eggs, sausages or bacon. Otherwise the breakfast would be good.

    Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Was great and comfortable!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the hotel is very clean, there are not enough employees to handle the breakfast and the daily cleaning in the rooms.

    The pool was really nice for kids!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Great holiday hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good in all categories! Metro 100 yards away. Connecting well. Staff very helpful. Full restaurant on ground floor. Good breakfast. Very helpful staff. Great holiday. Rooms with a balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    Not a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircondition was placed right next to the head on one side of the bed and the air would blow straight on your face while sleeping. The room was very stuffy and the aircondition did not seem to be effective to cool the room. Breakfast was just a formality. I would not criticize the fact that there is no lift in the hotel as I have experienced this to be a norm across many canadian inns and B&B.

    One of the front desk gentlemen was courteous and offered to help with our luggage up on stairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    Check in was fast, when we got in our room the bathroom (...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was fast, when we got in our room the bathroom ( toilet ) was not cleaned, seemed like blood on the seat, contacted front desk and somebody came to clean it, asked for a wake up call for the next morning, never got it, woke up an hour and a half late, when i talked to front desk he did not seem to care at all. will we stay there again..No.. better places for the same amount of money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    2.5
    Avoid (pictures are deceiving)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators. The hallways had no proper ventilation so going up and down the stairs was difficult. (Would be next to impossible for anyone 60+ to get upstairs). The breakfast wasn’t that great, no eggs. The halls smelled of the pool. There is no fridge in the room. The tv was horrible, watching was all choppy. This hotel is not good for anyone needing accessible rooms.

    The bed was alright.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    For the price in Quebec City this pklace was acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small as was the bed. It was on the 3rd floor with no elevator. Parking was good. Breakfast was good.

    It was clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. The location for the price was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money and pleasent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC temperature could not be regulated properly front desk short staffed and parking across the street.

    Good Breakfast friendly helpful staff big bathroom nice indoor pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Ideal location for exploring Quebec City without the need to drive your car into the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect out of town location to explore Quebec City from. Bus stop virtually outside the hotel for trip into town. Excellent. Fast food outlet “Subway” within walking distance. At least 2 restaurants within walking distance, most notably “Le Fin Gourmet” at 774, rue Rahul-Jobin, G1N 1R9. Ideal location for

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Chic and minimal. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really negative to say, other than there are no elevators for this hotel, so if you have elderly folks with you it is not recommended. The toilet chains came off the lever, so we had to reconnect it by ourselves; flush was also weak. The electrical outlet was very loose, and we had to shove a magazine to keep the laptop plug from falling out. There was no view from our room, but that’s ok because we were out a lot. Parking was $10/day but a small amount to pay compared to other hotels. Other than those trivial items, no real complaints.

    Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. Really liked the 24 hr access to the pantry to complimentary coffee and water. Breakfast was simple but good for the value we paid for the room. Bed and pillow was firm and comfy. The room in general was quite small, one can say it was minimal yet quite chic at the same time. I would definitely stay here again for my next trip to Québec City.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Well worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not great

    Friendly staff, very accommodating. The room was small but comfortable for two people and very clean. Although it is a bit far from the old part of the city, the Uber only cost us $5 to get there. Great value for the price, I would definitely go back and stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.8
    I won't book there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    This small hotel does not go the extra mile to accommodate you, ex : I asked if an early arrival 2pm was possible, they did not even try and said no. A very small room with non existent view. Bad smell in the common areas due to the poor ventilation.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Spacious simple hotel with comfy beds, indoor pool and friendly staff. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tried to take a deposit beforehand without notifying (which sent my bank into fraud mode and shut off my card). Outside the room smelt pretty chlorine-like because of the inside pool. Not very walkable from the main city centre.

    Simple hotel but plenty of room in the two-queen room they even snuck in a third bed. Bathroom was of a good size too and very clean. Really friendly bilingual staff. Didn't try the pool but the parking was also convenient and cheap. Great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Liked the convenience of location and proximity to a variety...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked some protein options with continental breakfast. Would have liked to have an elevator in the hotel. Would have liked to have an ice machine on more than one floor.

    Liked the convenience of location and proximity to a variety of restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.6
    Would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Half a bathtub. No air circulation in the room. Can’t open a window in winter to get fresh air in. Not properly cleaned. BAd smell in room. No eggs for breakfast

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful, but comfortable and convenient. Really good stay thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small and the lower three drawers of the chest were jammed.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Nice self-service breakfast and ability to get hot drinks at any time was great. Bed was very comfy. Parking on site was very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly professional staff, nice and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the site of hotel it says distance to old city is less than 1 km, in fact it is more

    Friendly professional staff, nice and clean rooms. Would recommend it to my friends.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    Great stay. I would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were hard and the coffee was bad. I would have liked a coffee maker in the room to make my own and a mini fridge would have been nice.

    I really liked how close we were to everything. There was a nice variety at breakfast too and staff were really nice and smiley. Hotel was clean and no shortage of towels which was nice when you went to the pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff and nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift in property which is bummer if you have lots of bags would be nice to have some muscles at the hotel to get bags up the stairs :) Laundry service was good but only 1 machine for washing and tumble which would get busy in peak season. Also the room where these are is filthy!

    Friendly staff and nice room We didnt use the pool but it did smell nice as you walked in the hotel :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Hotel is well maintained and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell of toasting prevails everywhere in the building during breakfast.

    Hotel is well maintained and clean. Easy, cheap parking is an important bonus any time of year in the city. My room (3rd floor) was very quiet. Staff at the reception desk are very friendly and helpful, speaking fluent English if needed. Great value for what I paid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room with one bed was very small. We could hear the doors opening and closing till 11pm.

    its close to everything, you can even take the bus to old port. Nice pool and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    There was a glitch with the credit card payment, but it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not know that there was no elevator in the hotel and of course our room was on the second floor. I would have requested a ground floor room if I had known

    There was a glitch with the credit card payment, but it was corrected and settled very graciously and pleasantly. Katherine was very pleasant and sweet. She made our day!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    I enjoyed my stay, the breakfast was awsome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'm disappointed that the pool was cold and the rooms are smaller than they appears in the pictures and for the price...

    I liked how close to downtown it was. Even with public transportation, it was easy access. I like the staff, they were extra welcoming and making sure we had fresh towel everyday. (Stayed 3 days)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    I will come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the swimming pool was quite cold. It was not a nice experience.

    Almost everything was perfect. Room very clean and beds comfortable. Nice breakfast. Price is fair. I recommend if you are looking to a place relatively close to Old Quebec (by car

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    3.8
    Price.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds very uncomfortable. Terrible bathroom, dirty room, big wet spot on floor, far away from downtown. Would not recommend staying at this hotel.

    Price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Very nice stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic breakfast. Parking is a bit further down the street. A bit of noise from the corridor door, and there is no lift

    Very comfortable bed, nice room and quiet area (even though we were near the corridor door and could hear people going in and out). Easy to get to the center by bus or walking (25min), staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.3
    Clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean hotel. Outside city. Wouldn't recommend staying on first floor, especially room 106. Air conditioner didn't really work. Continental breakfast very weak. Staff was friendly and spoke English. Good parking. Price was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.3
    Price/quality fair!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower walls need a good cleaning. A bit far from old city.

    A bit further from old city than expected.had to use car. Shower walls were moldy between tiles. Breakfast pretty good. Bed O.K. reception very helpful. Felt very safe in the area. Price/quality fair!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, friendly staff. Would be ideal if closer to the centre of Quebec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the location was easier to access centre of Quebec by public transport, it was a 15 min drive which was easy enough, but we would have preferred to avoid additional parking charges and travelled on bus.

    Lovely spacious room and friendly staff. Ease of carparking and nice that the hotel has a pool (could do with heating though!). Comfy beds and good bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    3.8
    If I was back packing and the cost was much lower then I would consider staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The base structure of the hotel needed a lot of work, cabinet doors broken, lights not working, carpet cleaning...

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.4
    Not much .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Kitchenette and Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refer above comments

    Not much ...older building narrow hall ways, $5.parking per night , no elevator limited television networks /channels, not best part of town only highlight was helpful friendly staff and clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Overall comfortable place to stay for a short trip to Quebec City. Good value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit old, we had trouble with the shower knob and there were some fluid drops on the walls. TV cable reception was poor, couldn't get much channels. 5$/ night parking fee should be waived for all customers.

    Staff were very helpful, breakfast included, private parking space, comfortable and clean bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    All in all, enjoyable. A surprise find was the Fleur d'Asie Vietnamese restaurant across the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathtub was too small to be useable except to stand while showering. The location may be 800 meters to the city's old neighbourhoods, but much further away from what one usually would regard as the old city.

    It was clean and quiet. To us, that's key. The breakfast was excellent and 24-hour availability of coffee/tea was very nice to have. The pool temperature was decent, too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Advertised free parking on hotel website, but then charge $5.00 a day, Tacky !!!

    Clean and comfortable. Good continental breakfast but staff would get overwhelmed when lots of people would show up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Good family experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tiles mouldy. Bfast space congested. Pool freezing.

    Great friendly reception staff. Comfortable beds. Great wifi. Easy cheap parking. Bfast ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Good value for the time we stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area didn't feel particularly safe. I wouldn't have walked round it after dark alone, but no incidents - just a feeling. There's no elevator. Hotel is quite a walk to Old Québec - ok for one or two days but might become tiresome if staying longer.

    Desk staff were super friendly and helpful - English spoken, no problem. Price was good as we stayed during Festival d'été de Québec just for one night passing through. Can't remember how long it took us to walk to Old Québec but maybe 30 minutes at a steady pace. There is also public transport right outside. Parking is easy but not right next to the hotel - that parking lot is for the store opposite and is guarded by a guy who will tell you where the right parking lot is (in French).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely stay here again! We loved our room, the staff, the pool, and Quebec!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was somewhat of a long walk to the old city but we ubered everywhere for $7-$14

    Loved the look of everything in our room and the rest of the hotel! The pool was a great feature as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    Free access to buffet any time for tee and coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms for two families, the AC in one room made a lot of noise, did not make a cool. We opened windows for night. No fridges in rooms, even small ones. 40 min by walk to Old Quebec.

    Free access to buffet any time for tee and coffee. Parking is on the backyard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Easy access to the old town by bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room in the basement that felt moist when the air conditioning was not running. The decor in the bathroom was outdated.

    The hotel is located next to the bus stop that can help you get around the city. Although the hotel is not in the old town, getting from the hotel to the old town was really easy. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    This hotel was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was very clean and well kept but there were not enough chairs to lounge

    This hotel was very nice. We liked best that it was within walking distance to the sights and sounds of old Quebec City.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Very accommodating staff and great breakfast selection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were quite warm and there was a gap between the wall and the A/C unit so outside warm air was able to get in. The towels provided were very very very small so we definitely could have used more than the 2 per room that were given.

    Great breakfast variety for a continental breakfast! Comfortable bed! Very helpful staff who were able to store our bikes indoors!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.0
    Staff were excellent and breakfast was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, 105 was in the basement and the bathroom had black mold on the tiles. The room was dark and damp and had the worst layout. One of the beds was directly under a dusty air conditioner. All rooms 101-106 are in the basement level that look out to the parking lot.

    Staff were excellent and breakfast was fine. Parking onsite was convenient and security was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Nicely decorated, clean & comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a strong smell of chlorine in the hallway and reception area because of the swimming pool. There was no central lighting in the bedroom, only bed lamps so it was a bit tricky coming into the room. The lighting in the bathroom was cold and rather dim (tube light) which clashed with the rest of the suite.

    The continental breakfast was simple and offered an adequate number of choices. The room was clean, comfortable and cozy, nicely decorated. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good value for the money and great location. I would come to this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.0
    Staff does a great job with what they have;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are tired, furniture is worn, towels are threadbare.

    Staff does a great job with what they have; they are very nice and helpful! However, I would rate the facilities one star NOT 3! (and the neighborhood was unsettling to us.) i only booked this because I thought it was 3 star hotel. It is close to the bus line (we didn't want to drive the narrow streets).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small

    This hotel is in a good location for the old town itas it is easy to go on a short bus ride to get there.The receptionist was very helpful and went the extra mile to help us with information

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    The room was very clean and the bed was firm yet comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    While the hotel is very close to main bus routes, the bus service is not very reliable adding to travel times to the old section of Quebec City (not the hotel's fault).

    The room was very clean and the bed was firm yet comfortable. Wifi was very good and password protected. Additionally the hotel allows up to midday for checkout which is quite the rarity for hotels. The hotel was quiet if you didn't use the air conditioning in your room (not a problem as the sliding door has a fly mesh). Lastly, the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. I will stay here again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    First visit to Quebec City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should provide a better map of Quebec. The advertisement for this hotel should include the fact there is no elevator. My husband has difficulty with stairs. It's good our room was on the second floor.

    The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was quite satisfying.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Great value, clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpeting on the stairs was striped and were difficult to see the steps, had to be very careful or you could easily fall.

    The hotel was clean, beds were comfy and staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Good for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the smell of the room when we entered so we opened the windows for some time. I asked for Febreze but unfortunately they don't have it. We didn't like the smell of the towels as well, so it's better to bring your own if you could. The breakfast is just bread and waffles and the only toppings they offer are butter and syrup. We were expecting that there would be eggs and sausages for breakfast, but none. so the breakfast is not too filling. Also they have a separate room for French people's breakfast only. Well, we checked it out and the only difference is the croissant.

    Our family liked how the room was so spacious! There were 3 beds in a room (2 queen and 1 single) and on the other room that we stayed on there was a table so we ate comfortably. The bathroom was big and clean as well. The lady at the reception was really nice answering some of our questions and she showed us where to go for the breakfast next morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.5
    Mostly satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived with my daughter to fond only one bed, that was disappointing. Had to pay extra for 2 b3ds that I thought I was getting already

    Clean comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    5.4
    Th Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wake up in the morning and take a cold shower everyday... this is what is waiting for you at this hotel....Rooms with no windows too

    Th Pool Is nice for children

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Great value for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast was very slim pickings, but overall not bad. There was only bread and eggo waffles for "hot food" and then you could make cereal and oatmeal. They also make you put down an 100 dollar deposit. I didn't mind because you get it back at check out, but I didn't like that no one said anything about it when I spoke to the front desk after I made my reservation. Also the shower came out a little colder than expected when the dial was turned to hot.

    The rooms were nice & clean. The place was secured after a certain time at night so you can only access with your key or the front desk let you in. There is no elevator, but the steps aren't too bad & there is more than one exit. It's a great location and the staff was very accommodating. Pillows were nice and soft & they put plenty on the bed. They also have channels in English and in French.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    3.3
    Dreadful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean, the floor was dirty, the towels were dirty and with stains. The bathroom walls were grows. The carpet was dirty and smelled mold, we got really bad allergies. The room was very noise and we couldn't sleep on both nights we spent there. I called reception to complain and the receptionist told me she could not move is to a different room because it would be extra work for them. Breakfast was horrible, the food station was never clean. I will never be back to this hotel.

    I did not like anything, it was really a very bad experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    4.0
    The hotel of my nightmares
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    For one they need to invest in soundproofing of the walls. I had to listen to people having sex in the room above our room. Secondly, the shower was rusty and had scratches. The bed in room 304 was broken and when we looked under the bed we saw the leg had tape around it. If the bed is broken please replace it. There is noise at night from the street. Don't expect a quiet sleep.

    There was nothing about this hotel that I liked.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.8
    I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A fruit salad prepared with fresh fruits would be a nice addition to the breakfast buffet (coffee / tea, milk, juice, yogurt, cereals, fruits, toast / bagels, jam, butter)

    (1) The ladies at the front desk were VERY nice and TRULY helpful. Thanks a lot !!! They patiently answered all of my questions. And, they even wrote a little note for the bus driver, since I didn't speak French (although pretty much everyone in Quebec City speaks English). (2) I spent three nights at Hotel Du Nord. The maid thouroughly cleaned my room each morning and did very a good job. I really liked the soap / shower gel. (3) There are two bus stops very close by. Bus line #1 connects the hotel with the VIA Rail train station (downtown), for CA$ 3.50 one-way, and without transfer. A taxi ride is roughly CA$ 15.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.1
    Architecture gone astray
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is like a rabbit warren, with poor signposting of how to get to the next level up or down. Also, the use of the parking lot should be part of the hotel fee, not a CAD 5 extra/day. The window in the lounge could not be closed properly and allowed howling cold wind to dispel any comfort in the rooms. Even the 10% discount because of this did not make it any more comfortable.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.9
    Good value for money if you don't mind being a bit further out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit further out than I would have liked as there is not much to do around the hotel but not too far to walk to old Quebec, train station etc

    Comfy bed Decent shower Friendly staff Good price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.3
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Had to carry bags to 3rd floor. Bath tub are older, but clean.

    Clean, renovated older building. Nice staff. One quick bus ride direct to old Quebec City. Breakfast was generous. Tea and coffee available 24hrs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    6.7
    Leave the car at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't connect to wifi from the room nor the lobby.

    Practical parking behind the hotel ($5) Ironing facilities in the room. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    5.0
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. No fridge and hot water boiler in the room! No elevator and I have to carry my luggage to the third floor! :(

    Just alright for one night stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.9
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool chlorine was very strong. Ventillation system felt like it was not running; too humid inside pool area.

    Most everything was good. Very good staff at the front desk and good location to everything. I like that it was quiet in the evening which was very important for sleeping.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    5.4
    Good hotel, not close enough to historic downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms need to be updated, they are old, and it doesn't go well with the updated colour scheme.

    The breakfast had a lot of options, perfect for children

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    6.3
    Swimming pool is good way to spend time after long travel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel blocks $100 deposit :( Room was not very clean and hotel itself didn't have a renovation for a long time. Breakfast room is so small for all the guests. Long line can form easily waiting for a table.

    Swimming pool is good way to spend time after long travel day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.1
    Great value, but needs an elevator or staircase elevator for older clients!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a hotel for older people with mobility issues! No elevator, and we were placed on the third floor up two very steep staircases!!

    Good location. Comfortable room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    5.4
    Breakfast is really poor, full of sugar and GMO.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the room closed to the pool. The entire floor smells of chlorine. This can be improved also.

    Breakfast is really poor, full of sugar and GMO. A healthier option will be a good option for this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.3
    Great place on a budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit sketchy. It's a bit far from the old Quebec area. The breakfast was disappointing.

    Very clean, and very courteous and cooperative staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.9
    Recommended for consideration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was a bit plain, ideally there should be an omelette or boiled eggs. Bed was a bit small for two people, ideally all rooms should have queen size.

    Good location for travelers who like to walk. Stuff is friendly. Hotel is clean. Metro store and a few good restaurants are nearby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    5.4
    Bad choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a very bad property. It does not have the lift for older people with luggage. The air-conditioning is just a joke. It is old and noise. The washroom leaks like crazy. It turns out to be our nightmare at Quebec City!

    It is clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    The pool was a pleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room 1 bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was closer to downtown.

    The pool was a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small. Bathroom was too old. No elevator.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel du Nord traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: