Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel du Vieux Quebec 3 stars

1190 Rue Saint-Jean, G1R 1S6 Quebec City, Canada

#3 of 104 hotels in Quebec City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 299 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in Quebec
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small

    Considering our room was facing the road, soundproofing was very good. Location was excellent. Environmental policies were excellent. A great stay, would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Memorable stay and will recommend to others!
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To close to many restaurants and pubs and we ate and drank too much :-0

    Outstanding from top to bottom - from rooftop garden to ground floor lounge, and restaurant next door. ALL staff were excellent, and location was ideal!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, amazing staff, delicious breakfast in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, amazing staff, delicious breakfast in a basket delivered to room, perfect location! Everyone speaks English so very easy to communicate!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    As I said, everything was wonderful. We will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything as great.

    This is an exceptional hotel. Everything was wonderful, right down to the lovely basket room breakfasts. Nothing negative to say here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've been to this hotel almost every year since 2008 and my room was always beautiful, the basket food was so cute and the pastries so tasty. The hotel is perfectly situated, the rooms are clean, the staff is nice. I can't find one bad thing to say it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom fan was spotty and the bathroom floor heating did not work. We kind of felt quilted for using booking.com instead of the hotel website.

    The bed was very comfortable. You cannot beat the location. Coffee machine in lobby was a life savor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    The location was perfect it was in the heart of ild quebec...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect it was in the heart of ild quebec with the major tourist spots only a walking distance away, very convenient so many good restaurants and shops surrounding the area, the staff was excellent now we were there for a mother’s day trip and requested a nice surprise greeting for our mom, not only did they do that but they upgraded the room, the room was great roomy, clean and bed was really comfortable i would highly recommend this place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in old Quebec
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Loved this hotel. Centrally located in old Quebec. Very friendly, welcoming staff who took the time to talk us through local attractions. Liked the communal lounge area where you can have coffee, read, play games or try out the massage chair!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, outstanding location, wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a wonderful experience it was to stay at Hotel du Vieux-Quebec! I had selected it because of the location and love the idea of the breakfast delivered in the picnic basket. (Please note though that the picnic basket breakfast is extra if you book through a third party site.) The staff was amazing and very knowledgeable about the area and side trips. (We took a bus tour to the countryside to see the Waterfall and Shrine to St Anne which was very nice. They picked us up at the hotel.) Everything is within walking distance;from the hotel. The restaurant attached to the hotel is delicious with a beautiful ambience and service which made for a great experience! The hotel even has movies you can borrow and popcorn to take to your room. Fresh fruit in the morning and espresso maker in the lounge area with books and games. The room was fantastic with wonderful beds which were so comfortable. Nice size bathroom and a beautiful soaking tub. Fresh filtered water in glass bottles at no change (you can even borrow a travel beverage holder) as they are eco friendly. All of the staff was wonderful but I particularly loved Angie. So funny and warm and helpful! I really really enjoyed this hotel experience and having traveled all around the world, I would put this experience in the top percentile. I would come here again in a minute! Thank you for a wonderful time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for Quebec getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was fantastic about this place, staff are outstanding, room is on the smallish side but acceptable, wifi great, the downstairs area to sit at and play games, chill and have a coffee or fruit was fantastic. It's really central to the old town, but do yourself a favour and wander out of this area as well to other great restaurants and such. We loved our stay in Quebec and the hotel played a big part of that, thank you. Gary & Karen - Australia

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Convenient and Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located in the old part of the city, Hotel Du Vieux Quebec is a perfect starting point for exploring the city by foot. Fine dining and great shopping are just a few steps away. The staff are very helpful with restaurant suggestions and with guidance on how to best explore the old city and it's attractions. Recently remodeled, the hotel is both upscale and stylish. We had a room with two double beds. We found the room to be spacious, comfortable, and clean. We particularly liked the free coffee available at the coffee machine in the lounge. We would definitely try to book this hotel again should we visit Quebec City again in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Friendly hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was tight

    Perfect location in old city, near restaurants, historic sites, shops; friendly staff; convenient and reasonable parking; large meeting/lounging room with toys, fresh fruit, etc. available for guests

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Totally worth every penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing...the place is amazing!

    Wonderful hotel with probably THE best location in old Quebec city if you are there for food, sightseeing and nightlife! This hotel is right on Rue St. Jean. On summer evenings, this street is closed to traffic and you can walk freely from bar to bar. Restaurants close by are amazing! Our room was beautiful. Super clean and big! The whole hotel has been remodelled and it is beautiful. The common lounge is great! We were there in March and the weather wasn't the best, so we spent time playing cards and sitting by the fireplace. I can't say enough about the staff. Everyone was wonderful! The movie library and free popcorn is great too. If you want to be close to absolutely everything in Old Quebec, this is the best place. Sometimes it's best to spend a little more!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything in fact.

    The staff is very kind. We enjoyed the hotel very much, it has a kind of play room with comfortable sofas and games to go and relax. The room was clean and has a pretty view. We’ll definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Friendly Staff, clean and large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly Staff, clean and large room. Queen size bed allowing us sleep well. And the hotel is located at dt of Quebec City, so it is very convenient. And also free coffee is offered at lounge. It is the greatest hotel I have ever stayed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    The hotel staff was wonderful and accommodating, the lounge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff was wonderful and accommodating, the lounge area with DVD booklets and popcorn was a welcomed surprised. The room was fantastic and the restaurant beside the hotel is top notch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel restaurant had weak service. The female waiter did not talk with us. I am not sure if this is because we were speaking English, but we found her unfriendly.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing hideaway in the heart of the walled city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't know there was a cappuccino machine in the lounge until the last day. We went out to get coffee each morning. Too bad.

    Very comfortable beds, in-room breakfast was excellent...so much food. Great location and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    The staff were really great and able to answer all of my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the room was quite small - the desk was very crowded - once my computer was set up there was no room for my documents. Other than that, it was great.

    The staff were really great and able to answer all of my questions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Heart of Old Quebec City in a historic building that has been renovated with style, a lovely mixture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we loved it all

    The experience was spot on from the booking in to the booking out, we loved the room the details the friendly staff, the location the parking arrangements - we would highly recommend it and we will be back in the summer

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful boutique hotel, centrally located in Old Quebec City, could walk to all tourist spots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, the hotel is a gem.

    Excellent location in old Quebec City. Wonderful and accommodating staff, very helpful and they spoke English. Pierre (front desk) was so helpful and booked us in for dinner reservations at a lovely Fondue restaurant that we would have never found on our own. Within the hotel there is a great room available to guests (terrific for the kids). There is a cappuccino maker that you can use for free, board games to play and nice warm gas fireplace - a comfy place to relax and unwind after a day of sightseeing. Our room was terrific, excellent fixtures, attention to detail, deep soaker tub, clean room and very comfy beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get the free breakfast deal because we booked through booking.com. This is something they should consider and negotiate with the hotels.

    The hotel is right in the old city and a walking distance to all the beautiful places in Quebec City.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Bel accueil du personnel, chambre prête même avant l’heure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bel accueil du personnel, chambre prête même avant l’heure promis, alors ceci nous a permis de profiter encore plus de notre journée ! Hotel super propre, à proximité de tout ! J’y retournerais sans hésiter !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel exceeded our expectations! Everything was wonderful - the staff, accommodations and location. There were so many details they provided that made our stay beyond comfortable. A beautiful lounge with 24 hour coffee, fruits and ice water. Bottled water delivered to our room daily, complimentary as well aan Extremely comfortable bed and pillows. The staff were so friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Simply amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was simply amazing! Comfy room with fireplace, definitely a plus on a very cold weekend! Staff was always welcoming and helpful. Perfect location, within walking distance to everything! We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Quebec!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely small hotel in the heart of a wonderful city to explore on foot. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options - see above.

    Superb location. Lovely rooms. Bathroom a bit small, not enough counter space. Very helpful staff. Breakfast option a bit confusing upon arrival - wish we had known that in advance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Perfection. Convenient to everything, excellent amenities and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I tried and failed to think of something that could be improved. I will probably be judging other hotels to the standards of this one for years to come.

    I loved the breakfast baskets so much. It's not just the convenience or the comfort of being able to wake up slowly, but it gave me something to look forward to each morning, like opening a present. This is just one example of the kind of attention to detail and care that make this place so special. Every staff member I interacted with was friendly and genuine. I can imagine that if management knows how to take great care of guests, that they also understand how to take care of their employees - they must be quite happy to work here and it shows.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Our stay here was wonderful and would strongly recommend it to family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought that after looking at the hotel's website that there would be a little more variety in the snacks provided,however this wasn't a big deal for me.

    It was wonderful to be able to have breakfast (at an additional cost) delivered to our room the first morning after our arrival. That gave us some time to scour the area for other options if we desired. The breakfast was delicious and was more than enough to fill a hungry stomach. The staff offered unbelievable hospitality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    This boutique hotel accommodates in every way with a personal attention to comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Both gentleman at the front desk were phenomenal! Customer service was spot on:). Accommodations were excellent from cleaning staff to management. Walking tour the hotel provides is very good also! Very special boutique hotel and a must stay for location and accommodations!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Boutique hotel with lots of character in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms had exposed brick, which added a lot of character. The bed was extra comfy and there was a selection of pillows so we had a great night's sleep! The common room had water, coffee and fruit 24 hours a day and there was a coffee pot in our room as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, attractive & up-to-date right in the center of things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning couldn't really be adjusted in one of our rooms and consequently we were rather chilly. The lighting in the bathroom was lousy for putting on make-up. But this seems to be a problem that most hotels have not addressed successfully so I certainly wouldn't hold it against them.

    The hotel is very nicely decorated. The beds are comfortable. Staff is thoughtful and helpful. We had two rooms which were very different in configuration; both were very attractive. We definitely enjoyed our stay and would strongly consider staying here again. Additionally, the hotel is making a concerted effort to be environmentally responsible and I appreciated that very much - the use of roofs as gardens is both attractive and "green thinking".

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Watch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overcharged for room by 49$ and taxes 229 vs booked at 180. Also charged 25$ for parking. Unaware as it was pouring when we left and wife signed out as I ran for the car.

    Wonderful room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we like everything

    My husband and I booked room at booking.com We arrived around 1:00 am and were greeted immediately. Room was ready and spotlessly clean. We had to stay only two nights and did not ordered big suite. Despite the room size everything were perfect. Hotel location, customer service, food at restaurant was perfect. Our safe in the room did not worked, and after asking portiere for fixing, maintenance came in 5 seconds. Room cleanest was amazing, I would highly recommend this hotel. 5 Stars

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    "Queen" bed felt very small.

    Perfect location! Very clean overall. Espresso machine in the lounge was a big plus. We will definitely stay there again during our next visit!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    A lovely place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints whatsoever.

    The room was large and comfortable, the bed and PILLOWS excellent, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There was a comfortable public area on the main floor where fresh fruit and beverages were always available. I appreciated the "green" focus of the hotel, and there is a nice restaurant attached.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Bed extra comfy, many pillow sizes to choose from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed extra comfy, many pillow sizes to choose from Free movies can be attained from front desk with free popcorn. Free coffee machine. Very clean Very friendly Comfortable atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful, modernized, Eco & historic hotel in the heart of Le Vieux-Québec
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved having the expresso/speciality coffee machine, lemon water & fruits available free of charge in the main floor common guest area at all hours. Adored the well maintained and tastefully kept inside stone walls, refinished bathrooms, the privacy of the hotel, the Eco aspects of the hotel such as use of solar power, roof top garden, etc. I also really enjoyed the history of the hotel on display throughout and in a guest room booklet. Super wknd at this hotel! Will recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Efficient eco-conscious and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I love the eco-consciousness and simple ,tasteful, efficient style of the hotel -probably the best three-star ever !and very kind staff with super location and value. I loved the fruit always available and massage chair! Quiet room was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Will try to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ?

    Location. Friendly & helpful staff. Cleanliness & quietness. (Loved the choice (3)of pillow firmness) Our room was modern and had all the amenities we required, even more than expected in the bathroom. Enjoyed the lounge and also their adjacent restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    A great time at Hotel du Vieux Quebec
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While the size of the room was small, it was a great value for the price and it was immaculate and the bed was super comfortable. An added bonus was that it is an ECO friendly hotel and had implemented many practices that are needed for our Earth. LOCATION LOCATION! We walked to concerts, restaurants, attractions and stores and loved it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    I would highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was excellent-very helpful and made parking our car, checking in and out efficient and easy. Hotel offers lots of little extras, that made the stay terrific. We loved our room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful, quaint place to spend a winter weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather was not great....but that is out of your control.

    We liked the little extras...like popcorn and movies provided on a rainy day. The fireplace in the lounge room with an endless supply of fruit, water or coffee/lattes was also extra nice!!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    6.7
    Not the best experience in Old Quebec
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was uncomfortable. There was too much noise at all times, noise coming from other rooms or the hall and floors above. The elevator took too long each time (10 minutes). When you book a hotel you want to sleep in a good bed and in a quiet environment. This was non existent in this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay immensely.. Your staff was very friendly. The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The description on the website said that breakfast was included in the amenities, but it was not.... as a courtesy we were given one day free... I brought in the printout from the computer stating that was breakfast was included..... You need to update or fix the amenities list. Thank you...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A huge plus for us what that they were a green hotel. Green products and Earth caring practices. Loved the farm to table restaurant next door, the location, the staff. We will definitely stay here next time we are in town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    Great place for reasonable money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...!

    Excellent place, focused on comfort and convenience rather than flashy. Well situated on St-Jean, busy commercial street full of nice boutiques. Great value for your money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Gem located in Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free basket of breakfast goodies were only for guests who booked their stay directly with the hotel.

    Lounge with a fireplace, complementary fruit and hot beverages was a great place to hang out, meet other guests or enjoy playing provided games or read the newspapers.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    Perfect Birthday stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to location street noise can be a problem. Being there during the winter, salt trucks were out at night. Possibly it would be quieter if I had been on an upper floor.

    Perfect location as we walked everywhere. The staff were superior to any 5 star.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Immaculate, comfortable rooms right in the heart of old Quebec City!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was immaculate. The bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was ultra clean and newly refurbished with a marble floor and beautiful fixtures. I liked that we could control our thermostat so easily. The complimentary water was lovely. The walking tour description in the desk served as our guide through the city. Everyone immediately switched to English as soon as we said "Hello".

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    Would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for two, cleaning didn't replace body lotion or towels (towels were fine but clean wash cloths would be good). At night you could hear water running in other rooms and constantly felt like I needed to check ours to ensure nothing was actually running

    Location was great, bed comfortable, staff great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Fantastic Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    The rooms are big and luxurious. The hotel is in a great location and you can walk to everywhere in Old Quebec and it was just a few mins to the Christmas markets. The town in just so pretty. It snowed during our stay and it was gorgeous. The hotel staff were amazing and so friendly and you are made to feel at home. Couldn't ask for better service, they even have DVDs to watch and they will make you fresh popcorn. The fireplace in the hotel lounge is very relaxing. We highly recommend the restaurant next door for dinner too. There are many cafes bars and restaurants around. Thank you Hotel Du Vieux for a great stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Best way to sum it up is to say we would definitely choose...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best way to sum it up is to say we would definitely choose this hotel again. Everything exceeded our expectation. First trip to Quebec...speak no French...loved it! Room just as described. Restaurant next door a welcome find in bad weather or otherwise! Loved the fresh honey!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    Great Service and Location in Quebec City - Highly Recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Firmer bed

    Very helpful staff - great location -nice lounge area with coffee & board games available. Also had a large selection of DVDs to checkout and free popcorn! Great selection of pillows for sleeping. Close to many restaurants, coffee shops, stores, and pubs. Excellent Farm to Table restaurant right next door - great to visit on a rainy day - no need to go outside!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    First Class Should be 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were very pleased.Great value for our money. Perfect location for walking around. The staff was excellent We will be staying there on our next trip for sure. Nice to go to the lounge early in the morning to get a couple of coffees and head back to the room before the day begins.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful Spacious Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotels I've been to. This hotel is just beautiful. Talk about location, wow! Right in the middle of it all. Very comfortable, clean and well decorated. The front desk staff is very courteous and accommodating. Our room was absolutely beautiful with hard wood floors and modern decor. I asked if we can have a room with stone walls and Pierrot at the reception desk made sure that our request was granted the next day. Both rooms were beautiful and cozy. The lounge in the lobby is gorgous. Plenty of books and magazines for enjoyment and relaxation. The cappuccino machine is a great touch while taking a break from all the walking or to grab a cup on the go. Also there's a bowl of fresh fruits available for guest along with fruit infused water. For a late night, the hotel has over 800 DVD's that guests can check out and they give you a bowl of popcorn to enjoy with your movie. This is my second visit to QUEBEC CITY, perviously, I stayed at the Fairmont Chateau Frontenac, But the Hotel du Vieux Quebec is where I'll stay for future visits. Can't beat the personal attention.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking and breakfast were extra costs. Otherwise all was good.

    Great location. Comfortable, clean room with fireplace and refrigerator. Good coffee. Complimentary snacks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Beyond expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was beyond expectation. Loved the extras like variety of pillows, and lounge room comfort. Staff was helpful with directions and use of technology. The availability of videos with popcorn was a nice touch as was the veggies and dip.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Best place to stay in Quebec City
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, when you are #1 on TripAdvisor, there is a reason. There is not one bad thing I can say about them. Don't forget to go to the liunge area and have coffee.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    A wonderful place to start
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent! Lounge is lovely for early risers and coffee available 24 hours a day is a plus. This hotel does not try to be grand .....it is a refuge after a long day of sight seeing...the staff are welcoming , the accommodation comfortable and the old city is at your fingertips. Make sure you take the tour offered !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Excellent!!! We will come back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not have booked a better hotel centered in the middle of many beautiful sights and entertainment!! We could walk to many sights. The Hotel du Vieux Quebec we loved. The beds were very comfy. The room had everything we needy. We will come back!! We will pass this on to our friends!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a lovely living room for quests with water and fruits. We borrowed DVD and guess what, it came with popcorn. :))))

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is an extra.

    Location was excellent. Lounge was relaxing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bREAKFAST

    LOCATION

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Espresso machine in the lobby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Espresso machine in the lobby!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    It was a great staying!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a great staying! Thanks for providing such nice cozy rooms to guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Will book there again if given a chance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff piero & andy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Couldn’t have asked for a better place to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything I didn’t like.

    The staff was amazing, so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Clean. Very hospitable staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    The best trip I've ever had, the hotel was centrally located in the heart of Old Quebec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedding could have been a bit better in terms of comfort for a hotel.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating to all of our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice location Convinient to shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restuarant in the hotel

    Booking .com

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Excelent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All things was very good . I like too much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    good location , walking distance to museum and chateau, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good location , walking distance to museum and chateau, inside restaurant is charming and delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Can’t wat to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect for access to Vieux Quebec. Their room-service breakfast in a picnic basket is charming. And it’s a very green hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the TV was difficult to work. no fridge

    nice room, good bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Must stay here when visiting Old Quebec City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location, amazing staff, adorable breakfast and comfort of the room. Every detail is fitting and charming. Wouldn’t change a thing.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel du Vieux Quebec traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: