Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Embassy Inn 3 stars

520 Menzies Street, V8V 2H4 Victoria, Canada

#15 of 49 hotels in Victoria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 749 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Just Avery comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was excellent. The breakfast is one reason we continue to return along with the fact that the location is so great. Staff are very accommodating and polite.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable convenient hotel less than 5 minutes walk to the harbour front and legislature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    The room included fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a proper kettle ( something of a rarity in Canada it seems) Bed and pillow were comfy and there were plenty of towels. Brilliant position to be able to walk to everything . The staff were very helpful and the included breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.1
    It was great Except for the above issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were placed next to the elevator which was very very noisy and interrupted our sleep. Also very noisy neighbours in the middle of the night.

    Did not have breakfast ter

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Location was perfect - few minutes’ walk to Royal BC Museum,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing about which we were unhappy.

    Location was perfect - few minutes’ walk to Royal BC Museum, BC Legislature, etc...- and the front desk staff were extremely helpful in accommodating our special requests. Room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast included a good selection; we even found lots for fussy 9 year olds! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Location, size of room, value for money and they had parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk attendant was quite blunt. The pillows in the room where shocking

    Location, size of room, value for money and they had parking included and you could fit a 4x4 with a roof pod

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Location and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a warm or friendly welcome i was checked in while the front desk person was on the phone talking to another guest. Rates were more at check in then posted on booking.com.

    Location and good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    I recommend this hotel for your next stay in victoria downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing much.

    everything about this hotel is sooooo awesome! The breakfast was perfect <3 the staffs were all friendly and helpful and the room was perfectly awesome

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs to be updated.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. We loved the hot breakfast in the morning and appreciated the large seating area. The location was excellent! We would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    It's the 2nd time members of my fam stayed here so will definitely stay and recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice if there was a small coffee and gift shop for odd hours of check in or stay in.

    We liked the fact that we could very easily walk to the key sites of the city. Checking in was a breeze and staff were all very friendly. The rooms were perfect !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not swim in the pool, in part because it faces the street and did not seem very private.

    The location is excellent, the room was clean and comfortable, and the full breakfast was awesome--real food on real plates!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Unfortunate to get a room with a joining door
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had a joining door and we got woken up by children in the next room at 6.30am however on check out reception said we should have called them and they'd have dealt with it. There was a bit too much furniture in the room as we struggled to lay out two suitcases. Had to put the desk chair on the balcony!

    Good location for exploring James Bay and the harbour

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Location. Location. Fabulous breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was really comfy. Couldn't beat the location within walking distance to everything. The breakfast buffet was the best I have ever had

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Great family fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator was out of commission thankfully it wasn't when we were checking in or out

    swimming pool was excellent for the kids. Location enabled us to walk to most attractions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    wonderful trip with grandbabies to see Victoria and so central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately only one of the elevators was running which caused a few long waits but likely due to PARTS ORDERED AND COMING IN FROM A FOREIGHN COUNTRY!!!!!!

    excellentbrekkie, staffwereso friendly and helpful. Like the underground garage.' Grandbabies were thrilled with their little gift from Manager; truply thoughtful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    We have a good stay in the Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have a good stay in the Hotel. Location Location Location!!! so short walking to the Harbor, it's so delightful to have such a beautiful Canada Day long weekend there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit pricey for the only real perk being the location. The facilities were clean but very dated and we had issues with our tub draining, even after maintenance came in twice to repair it. The bathroom was incredibly small so we had to store all our travel toiletries in the main room.

    The location is great; within walking distance to everything downtown. The beds were comfortable and it had the basic amenities. We didn’t eat breakfast at the hotel because we wanted to enjoy the local restaurants but it was great to have free breakfast available. Parking was free too so that was a nice bonus!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location & delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check-in process could have been a bit more engaging & welcoming, but the rest of the staff made up for that.

    The hotel is close to all the important sites. The room was spacious and quiet. The staff in the breakfast area did a great job: they greeted everyone every morning and they refilled everything in the most efficient way.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location for a few days stay in Victoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been cleaner Apparently some of the hotel has been updated but not the room we stayed in

    This hotel is located close to the Waterfront & not far from lots of restaurants & coffee shops. The breakfast was probably the best we had in Canada

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    perfect location for a relaxed stay in Victoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. It was all lovely.

    We absolutely love the location of this hotel. It is within easy walking distance of everything in Victoria yet the location is quiet. We had a suite again and were delighted. Everything was spotless, the bathroom looked like new and the bedroom was very comfortable, as was the living area. Breakfast each morning was varied and excellent with plenty of everything. The restaurant staff are brilliant and the chef and restaurant manager a delight. Staff on reception were extremely helpful and very friendly. It was our 4th stay and we will definitely be back on future trips to Canada. Many thanks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    The whole experience at the Embassey Inn was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience at the Embassey Inn was exceptional. The breakfast is the best in town. We have stayed in many hotels in Victoria and this is our new go to place to stay. The staff go out of their way to accomodate you. The rooms are clean and quiet. The location is great. We recommend this hotel to all our friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic central location, walking distance to Inner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic central location, walking distance to Inner Harbour etc. Older hotel but well maintained. Great staff. Generous breakfast- husband particularly loved waffle machine!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Breakfast is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is excellent. The hotel location is perfect. We book a room for 3 persons and we got corner room with Government House view. The room is large with 1 bedroom and 1 living room. It is comfortable. I would recommend to stay at this hotel. It is value for money. Staffs are helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Great family friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We had such a warm welcome when we arrived. We were given a room on the top floor, with a sky light window, which made the room feel more spacious. The location was right next to the parliament building, so we had everything close by. The highlight for us all was the breakfast, which was complimentary. There was a different choice of hot food everyday, with a huge selection of fruit, cereals, pancakes, muffins etc. Scott, the head chef, was always on hand, making sure everyone was looked after. I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel. We would definitely stay again, on our next visit to Canada.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    A wonderful time in a lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pillows were a tad lumpy! But apart from that there was nothing else that came up.

    We loved the location and our room. Very roomy and well equipped for a one week stay. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Thanks for a great holiday - and the weather couldn't have been better!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Clean rooms, friendly staff, and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Embassy Inn is located in a perfect location in Victoria! The hotel is clean, has comfortable beds, and the staff members were friendly and professional. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have to compliment Greg on his going the extra mile to ensure that I would be refunded by my booking service due to me having to leave early due to illness. Gregs actions ensure that my next visit to Victoria will certainly entail booking a room at this fabulous hotel. Kudos and big thanks to Greg. He embodies the word service. Thanks again. Greg Battle

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location- can’t wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator clunky but no trouble Would perfer on wall heating thermostat Coffee creamers for in room Keurig machine or flavoured ie French vanilla

    Lots of free parking, different hot breakfast each day, excellent location, close to everything we wanted, met Seniors who stay there for weeks at a time, movie night -Saturday night, keurig coffee machine-quiet- we will return & recommend highly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    It was a very nice location as we walked back & forth to the I Max.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee was strong with the breakfast. It would have been nice to have creamo in our room .

    The breakfasts were delicious. Enjoyed the back bacon the first morning and then the second morning, the scrambled eggs were great with spinach and tomato. The seeded bagels were very nice also with marmalade.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Super Clean, Great Location from Downtown and the Ferry Terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complimentary breakfast is ok .... get what you pay for ;P

    Nice stay at the Embassy. While dated, it's super clean, the water pressure and temperature are surprisingly spot on as not often seen in older buildings, and staff are friendly and efficient! Walkable to downtown, would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.7
    Same good hot breakfast that you can find there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Musty old smell in the room, wind blowing through the balcony door and noisy A/C. it's time for the hotel to think about an upgrade, or they will loose their clients soon.

    Same good hot breakfast that you can find there. Location is ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    We had a great stay and we are glad we accidentally discovered this hotel a few years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    We've stayed here before and really enjoyed it. Bike storage is a bonus. Love the location, friendly staff, cleanliness, very nice breakfast included and free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    We had a great time, great room, great breakfast and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have nothing that we didn't like. Can't wait to come back.

    We had a wonderful stay, we booked two rooms. We found the staff at the front desk extremely helpful. I can't wait to stay again. The breakfast was fantastic. James was very friendly and helpful. Thx

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    My stay was for work, the room surprised me in terms of cleanliness but didn’t sleep well at all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a single woman I was put in a room with a connector room door which made me feel uncomfortable. The flags were very noisy st night grinch the wind and Kept me awake. House keeping started cleaning at 8:00am and I could hear the vaccum going which prevented me having a sleep in on the weekend.

    Same as above

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    This unpretentious hotel is a super comfortable place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot breakfast was surprisingly good and had lots of variety (eggs with spinach and feta, potatoes, yogurt, waffles, coffee, juices) . The rooms are large and modern, the bed comfortable and the shower big. Perfect location, too, within walking distance of the harbour, Government Street shops, James Bay, Beacon Hill Park, and downtown Victoria. The front desk staff were super helpful and even let us check in early.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Central location, affordable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy parking, complimentary hot breakfast was great. Central location near parliament building. Friendly staff. Booked online after midnight. Checked-in only a few mins later (my other plans fell through at the last minute)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Quiet place but don't book in advance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked the room 5 months in advance and asked for a room up high, Got an email back from the hotel saying they had me on the top (4th) floor. The day I arrived at 3:25 pm was told my room was ready. Handed me a key for the 2nd floor. I informed them about the request and the email and was told, sorry we've already given all those rooms away already. WHY did I make a reservation? Especially 5 months in advance. Obviously they don't honor them.

    The bed was super comfy and the room was real clean. Loved the underground parking. Nice and quiet after7 pm. Breakfast in the mornings was great. Usual eggs but the meat was different every day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.3
    Clean, quiet property.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We actually stayed the 24th and 25th and even though it was Christmas Day we were a little disappointed there was no cleaning or maid service. Would have been nice to have the amenities refilled.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    We will be back. A very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness, location, friendly staff, breakfast room, reasonable rates, two newspapers, the coffee. This is our second stay and we will be back. The location is beyond excellent, the hotel is exceptionally clean and well maintained and the staff is very accommodating. This Hotel is excellent value for the money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    3.3
    Little disappointing for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small for the 2 beds, bathroom no place for putting toiletries other sink area, breakfast had terrible eggs n sausages

    Waffle maker worked well....staff helpful, nice breakfast room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    A great breakfast and convenient location but very average room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was not quite as nice as in the pictures and the man at the front desk wasn't very friendly. I had edited my arrival dates at hotel.com and they didn't have a record of it. Thankfully I had printed my booking agenda

    The breakfast and service at breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    OK for the price but would not pay more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -reconstruction of other rooms on the floor did not tell us before hand. work was done during reasonable hours, hence the lower than usual price for the room.

    - Location...next to Parliament building, easy walking distance to other major hotels and downtown. I stay in the general area a few times a year and would keep this hotel on the list that I check and take the best price offered

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    A clean, comfortable place within walking distance to most attractions, shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    An updated bathroom would have been nice. Now we'll have to go back to check one out!

    We've stayed at other accommodations in the same area but this is the first time at the Embassy Inn. The room was as expected from their website. Clean, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom had not been renovated yet, but was clean and there was lots of hot water, shower pressure was also good. The free breakfast was great, lots of choices and good, hot coffee. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had requested an early check-in and though it wasn't guaranteed, our room was ready when we arrived. We also had no problem leaving our vehicle in their parking after we checked out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic value, free parking, free breakfast and accept pets.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some renno's happening while we were there. Small inconvenience, but shows they are serious maintaining their property.

    Rooms were very comfortable and included breakfast was fantastic. Close to harbor and downtown, and staff were great too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful location and excellent value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the hotel had a lounge with a bar and a light entertainment but not if that were to significantly impacts the price. Value for price was a big part of our choice

    Location was perfect and atmosphere very conducive to a relaxed vacation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have travelled a lot and always bring my own pillow. The cleaning staff noticed this and put some of the pillows from my bed in the closet. Very observant of them and I appreciated that.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful time!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....

    Breakfast was very good. Room was very clean, very good water pressure in the shower. Close to town. Stored our bags after we checked out, until our boat came. We forsure would stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Breakfast was included with the already very reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included with the already very reasonable lodging cost. Scott and James did a great job of serving a buffet style breakfast with a lot of variety every day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Had a very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms a bit dated but I believe they are in the process of being renovated. The room was on the smaller side for a family of 4 but the location more than made up for it.

    Beds were comfortable, room was clean and staff were helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was very nice. Excellent value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Great friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for 4 people but once again tea/coffee/mugs/milk and sugar setup in the room accommodated only 2 people when we arrived. We had to ask for extra.

    Great friendly staff. Clean room with comfy beds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Very quiet in an excellent locaton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Due to an allergy I was unable to eat the hot egg selection at breakfast. When I mentioned this to the attendant fresh eggs with spinach, feta and tomatoes without the onion were prepared for me. That was exceptional!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Being so close to the downtown harbour front was a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Helpful front desk staff...gave us a great recommendation for dinner close by. Beds are very comfortable Room was clean ...no lingering odour. Elevator was always prompt Breakfast was the best ‘included ‘ one we have ever had....and staff were very attentive. Hotel is right next to the government building and a 5 minute walk to the harbour. Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent accomodations. We were happy with room, staff, and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem we had was a lousy sleep the first night when we kept rolling into the centre pit. The next night we tried the other (both Queen sized). It was excellent and very comfortable. I let the front desk know of this and they said it would be looked after and they appreciated my letting them know. Maintenance was on their way to the room before we reached the lobby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    The location was excellent as I was travelling with an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent as I was travelling with an elderly lady. We were able to walk to the Inner Harbour, eateries and sight see. The cost was great for the location. The hotel was very clean and everything was 100%. I'll be staying here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    My daughter and I where there to run the half marathon and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My daughter and I where there to run the half marathon and wanted a late check out and they where able to do this. Also the hotel is right at the start and close to the finish line. I would book here again for next year.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Quiet location and good breakfast offerec
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom lighting needs to be upgraded to white light. Missed out at 0900 breakfast bacon, saw others with bacon on their plates; breakfast sausage offered until 10:30 no doubt

    Bedding very comfy Location good Parking a bonus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, will be coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The breakfast is one of the best included. You can make your own fresh waffles, attentive staff to ensure food is well stocked, and most of all attentive with possible cross contamination. The front staff were great and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Friendly staff and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff members were very friendly and helpful. I was participating in the Victoria Marathon and found the hotel did a great job accommodating the runners.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Really nice hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is amazing , so close to parliament and the water. Just behind the pan pacific hotel and close to the empress fairmont. The hotel itself is very comfortable and clean , breakfast was very good . Overall real value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Accommodating staff and a very clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This short hotel is surrounded by much taller hotels and buildings obscuring any views from the rooms.

    Accommodating staff and a very clean hotel. One block from Canadian Parliament building, very nicely situated for walking around beautiful Victoria. Superb breakfast with chef assisting in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    We thoughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside parking spots are tight, but good underground parking lot below.

    This is an older, but updated, hotel. The location is excellent, as it is next door to the BC Parliament Buildings. You can walk everywhere from the location. Breakfast was included serving a good variety of well prepared items. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Very pleased with the location, reception staff pleasant, rooms clean and adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public areas were devoid of any life by mid evening. The breakfast buffet was very basic. No plain yoghurt available, only flavoured stuff, and was told rather snappily that no-one ever asked for it!

    The bed was comfortable and the room basic but clean. The location was superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    3.8
    As I said I stayed one night after booking four and moved to another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was very disappointed in this hotel. I booked four nights stayed one and moved to another hotel. I found this place to be old, a bit run down, beds uncomfortable and rooms very small. I could not recommend this place.

    The location is what attracted me too this hotel but when I arrived that was all that was attractive to my estimation. Not a bit too my liking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    This is probably where we'd stay again due to location and better value for good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in staff not too welcoming. Big wet place in room carpet-I put towels there to soak up.

    Location, walking distance to harbor, museum parliament, farmers market on weekend, a very convenient place. Better than average breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed ourselves. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking stalls were very tight. Nice to have free parking but it was a tight squeeze.

    Breakfast was very good. The lady that checked us in was amazing!! Great location. Room was clean & big, a little dated but the cleanliness made up for that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great stay! Staff is very friendly, rooms are clean and the breakfast is very good. A lot of parking, also underground. Everything is within walking distance, the harbour, restaurants,...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Clean with great location. Nice and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets slipped off mattress...should be using fitted sheets. Hot breakfast food selection very limited. Perhaps add bacon or sausages.

    Very clean rooms and property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Large room with sitting area & full kitchen, real dishes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room with sitting area & full kitchen, real dishes & cutlery at breakfast, nice breakfast selection, wonderful location, right across from Parliament!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay in this beautiful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy 'frig in room.....had to switch off to get any sleep.

    Fantastic location, walking distance to most things. Appreciated the early check-in after long flights and the super easy set-up for checking in/printing boarding passes. Great to get a "take away" breakfast for an early flight out too....much appreciated. Lovely fluffy towels....makes such a difference.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, clean rooms and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon was loud in the room but that is a small concern to the overall stay.

    Our flight from the UK was delayed which meant we missed the last Ferry from Vancouver to Victoria. A quick notification call to the hotel was received very well and they even gave us a full refund. This then allowed us only 2 days in this brilliantly located hotel. We were upgraded to a suite and the Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The start to our holiday was a nightmare but this hotel and the staff soon put us back on course. A big THANKS.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable convenient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best feature is its location: right next to the parliament building, 3 minutes walk to the water. We were there on BC day long weekend, and there was outdoor concert. We were listening to the music in the outdoor pool, quite an experience! The music sound superb in the pool. The rooms itself are modest, so I think a fairly big part of the price is its location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Quick but wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby was not decorated to be inviting

    The hotel was exceptionally clean. The location was fantastic. We appreciated being able to park the motorcycles close to the front door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was much better than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor is slightly dated.

    The breakfast was much better than expected. A full hot meal was provided. We were also upgraded to a suite. The location is great - walking distance to all of the fun stuff in downtown Victoria.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.6
    Very friendly kitchen staff at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises in the hotel made me feel I was sleeping on a motor boat (beside the motor room). Tried two rooms on different levels and on different sides of the hotel. Both the same...horrible! Outdated and not value for money.

    Very friendly kitchen staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Great Location, but a bit pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was next to the ice machine, and the doors do not fit very well so you hear everything in the hallway from a domestic argument to someone filling their cooler with ice at 6:30 am.

    Breakfast was pretty good, the parking and location convenient and the staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was a little on the older side.

    I traveled with my daughters family and there was a lot of room for all of us in the one bedroom suite. the breakfast was nice and the location was ideal next to the clipper dock. the hotel was a little on the older side but very comfortable. I would recommend it to families.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: