Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown 2 stars

335 Jarvis Street, M5B 2C2 Toronto, Canada

#95 of 129 hotels in Toronto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 676 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable and reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were friendly and the place was clean. Breakfast was a bit sparse with coffee and juice being out of order at some point over 4 days. The hotel is basic and pretty tired looking but it was reasonably priced, 10min walk from Dundas and Yonge and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.2
    It was very good except for the lack of parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really didn’t like that there wasn’t any parking at the hotel. There wasn’t any space at all to take out our suitcases at the hotel. I’m not used to driving in Toronto and I finally found parking about 20 minutes later about one km from the hotel. The parking issue is the reason I’m never going back to this hotel.

    Continental breakfast was good and the eating area was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    4.6
    Almost the worst place I've ever stayed at
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you travel for business you definitely need to avoid this hotel. It says on booking.com that there is wi-fi but in reality there is no. I mean you can connect, but the speed and its work overall is so poor that you hardly can download your e-mails. I had to cancel several skype calls due to this internet. Another thing, don't agree for the room on the first floor. My window was right to the road - so I had to shadow the window all the time (otherwise people will just look at you from outside) - so it felt like you are living in basement. Continental breakfast actually means banana, bagel and terrible coffee. Oh, and btw, the automatic door works only from 10 am - so if you go out for a cigarette or whatever early in the morning, make sure there is anyone at the reception, otherwise you'll need to spend some time outside (room card doesn't work).

    The only good thing about this hotel is location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    It was adequate for the one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is dated and the interior stairways really need repair and painting. Carpets need to be replaced. The noise level from the hallways was disturbing.

    Staff were very helpful and courteous. The actual rooms were small & basic, clean and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Econolodge worked for us this trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was high considering the basic facility, possibly due to TIFF. Did not like the flooring in the bedroom section, prefer carpet but understand the reasoning - easier to keep clean. Could use non-skid mat in the bathtub for showering, or a grab bar for getting out of shower/tub.

    Staff was helpful and friendly - calls for taxi, store luggage, response to questions re using heat/air, parking possibilities. Brand new, very clean bathroom facilities. Good location for attending Toronto Film Festival. Nothing luxurious but basic needs met - facility worked for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice Stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was quite low, so you might hear some traffic noise, but it is basically acceptable.

    The room was very clean! The staff who helped me check in was really nice & friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.8
    The bedroom was clean but very spartan.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallway walls were damaged and in need of painting. The carpet in the hallways was vintage and filthy. The bathroom vanity was not level so articles would roll off onto the bathroom floor. The air conditioner did not work in the room.

    The bedroom was clean but very spartan. The people on the front desk were pleasant but not really well trained to function efficiently in their positions

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Hotel slightly tired ,excellent clean room , good breakfast and helpful staff. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main stairway and halls walls and carpets really need updating but dining room was good. Area not the best but within a ten min walk your in the centre.

    Room very clean and contained everything needed. Couldn't fault it. Staff very friendly and helpful at all times

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfy beds, very helpful staff, basic breakfast but great on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but clean and great for a place to sleep after a busy day.

    Comfy beds, very helpful staff, basic breakfast but great on the go. Close to subway, transit and restaurants. Bonus is right next to the conservatory!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Modern rooms and very cleaned!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what you got, and the breakfast is very simple. The rooms are good, but the building is old and not much cleaned, specially the corridors. No elevator! No parking!

    Modern rooms and very cleaned!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    2.5
    Booked this room several weeks in advance for almost double...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this room several weeks in advance for almost double what they were charging the day of check in. Had a family emergency the evening before checkin date. Requested some cancellation leniency. Even a credit to use another day. Simply received a curt email stating “no refund”. Asked Booking.com to help. They called hotel for me. Still with no result. Very disappointing hotel customer service. Just emailed me a copy of my 360.00 charge to my credit card. Will never stay at this chain again.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    if you need a place to stay for a night or two it’s not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Cigarette and marijuana smells in the hallways ( minor but annoying) - no free parking or parking passes issued - wifi was hit or miss - neighbourhood is kind of sketchy

    -Central location, 9min Uber to the waterfront -An in room air conditioning unit I could control - friendly staff - Tim Hortons across the street - good for a quick 1-2 night stay but I wouldn’t stay more than that - there are two pay parking lots about 1-2 blocks away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.0
    Would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking....that was a nightmare. That area simply doesn't have much. We did find some close by however. So all was good.

    Staff were lovely and helpful. Bed was very comfy. Location was just what we required for this trip. It was a great time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Friendly staff upon check in and the Breakfast room was ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking are for checking in and unloading bags

    Friendly staff upon check in and the Breakfast room was well stocked A good way to start our day. Ice machine and snack machines were easy to find. Coffee machine in the room was a nice touch. The bathroom was clean and we had lots of towels

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    No frills near the heart of Church St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Twice during our stay we woke up to a member of the housekeeping staff knocking on our door to get in to clean the room, fair enough it was late morning. We got up and left the room only to come back hours later and find the room had not been cleaned. After the second occurrence I went down to the front desk to speak to the personnel there and before I could finish explaining what happened he finished my sentence. The front desk was apologetic and was able to give me fresh towels. It seems like this is a regular practice at this hotel.

    The location is great, very close to the heart of Church St., and not far from the CBD.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Helpful and friendly staff made our stay more enjoyable !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was sparse. Orange juice machine was empty or out of order. Shower had very low pressure.

    Staff were attentive and very good to deal with. Room was clean. Air conditioner was quiet and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to change the booking, could not prepay and then they called asking for prepayment. Was a bit difficult bc it was travel for work

    Staff was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to be told that the hotel was under renovations. Also would have been nice if the listing clearly said that there were no elevators in the hotel.

    Good location you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    Pricey for a 2 Star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so lugging suitcases up flights of stairs could be problematic for some. Room looks dated and ground floor rooms are currently being upgraded, guests may find the paint odour discomforting.

    Location though on the city fringe and not in the best part of the city, most tourist sites are walkable from this hotel. Breakfast was simple but adequate to start the day. Front desk staffs are generally friendly, Wifi is slow but a welcome feature. Comfortable bed. TV channels are plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location and updated clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very basic, no workout facilities and no parking.

    This hotel is in a fantastic location just minutes from downtown. The hallways and common areas look a bit tired, but the guest rooms are updated with wood floors, white bedding, and modern furniture. The rooms are immaculately clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.0
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, wrong room,no elevator, stairs were cramped.Gave us a room that clearly was not ready for guests. 5 hrs to get another room.☹☹☹☹☹☹☹

    Not a thing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointed. Not worth for the money.
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the front desk to hall way,to upstairs 3rd fl. Is narrow, carpet looked old and dirty. No elevator.The quality of breakfast is cheap. When arriving,the front desk asked $200 more for the deposit which booking.com did not tell us about it.

    The room is clean. The bathroom is clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    Great room + Great staff + Bad Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no elevators. Make sure you don't bring large and heavy luggage like I did. If you are elderly, I recommend you request the room on low-floor, so it would be easy for you with the luggage and not having to walk up and down the stairs. The choices of breakfast were very limited.

    The Mexican Male staff with glasses was very helpful at helping me finding and booking the tour. The hotel room is good size with comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.6
    Wonderful people, clean room but medicore hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was much further from the centre than it appeared on the site. In addition, the hotel was noisy (one could hear everything in the hall and in the next rooms). Furthermore, the room, while clean, had a window looking onto a brick wall. I had to request a change in room as the first room offered was on the ground floor and did not seem safe.

    The personnel were extremely helpful and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    The reception are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They were still renovating the rooms. I missed a hint at check-in about this, so that you are aware of the noice and dirty floors. The price per night was too high for the given comfort. I stayed in San Francisco or New York at hotels which offered a much better comfort for this price.

    The reception are friendly and helpful. The room was nice and new renovated. The location was 15 min. walking distance from downtown. Continental breakfast was included and okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    I would go back for another stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There were some issues with noise from the floor above; perhaps made more a problem because of no carpeting. The staff was willing to help and most of the time, the noise stopped.

    The room was clean and well-serviced. It was sparse, no carpet on floor, made it easy to relax.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.2
    Avoid this place if possible
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is undergoing renovation. Upon my arrival there were no phones or internet working. Heating also didn't work in my room. I got a portable heater which was very noisy. Extremely thin single pane windows facing noisy street. Unpleasant management.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.0
    the other guest in two rooms on other side of our room were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the other guest in two rooms on other side of our room were a total mess and the police had to come to sort them out at 3:30. They were yelling and banging doors until 5:30 am

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    2.5
    I didnt like anything
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't sleep in the whole night. this is not a place to rest. strange noises from the above floor. dangerous neighborhood. I had to go to front desk at 2:30 pm to ask for my money back and go to a “ real hotel” obviosuly, they doesnt give me anything. dirty room, nasty bathroom, mice poop, etc. I didnt want to have breakfast because I felt disgust and nausea. the front desk doesnt give me an apology. the price is too high. not applicable you get what you pay for. please! dont go there!!! I felt unsafe, I saw strange people smoking inside the hotel.

    I didnt like anything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.3
    Budget Price, Budget Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator and no parking...I would have paid extra $ for a better room at another hotel that had parking included. The rates were ridiculous, I had to park down the street at the Ramada $40 for overnight and that's if your out by 7am...I ended up parking in another lot down the street for $21,it really was a hassle traveling with a stroller and the area isn't ideal for walking at night from a parking ramp with children. Overall the staff was very friendly and helpful, one staffer(manager I believe) was very nice he had black hair and wore glasses and a suit, super helpful and kind, the rest of the staff helped with my stroller and any questions I had. There was one worker who may or may not have been another manager(short/bald) he was less than polite when we arrived he was very short with me and came off very unapologetic about the no elevator/parking situation. At first glance the room appeared to be clean but wasnt, there were crumbs left on the floor toilet was dirty. TV didn't work but the manager on that night was quick to fix it. There was a lot of work going on in the morning I could hear every drill and hammer. This was our 2nd time staying here, the first time i wasnt aware of the parking issue because i took the train in and i utilized public transit, but will definitely be the last.

    Prime location,close to eaton centre convention center and ripleys aquarium

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    4.2
    Horrendous and very disappointed
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very very dirty, there was a hole in the wall, tub was dirty, housekeepers screaming child was wild and screaming in the hallways at 7 in the morning if not earlier, homeless man knocking on our window while we were getting ready to ask us for money, no salt was put out and the front entrance wasn’t propperly taken care of during the snow fall and the floor was very slippery and I fell down the stairs at the residence. Beds were very uncomfortable. Sheets were dirty (looked like blood), we took the sheet off and left it on the floor (got a clean one from the front desk) the housekeeper came the next morning and put the dirty sheet back on the bed and took the clean one (put the same dirty one that was on the floor back on the bed). Wouldn’t recommend, very pricey for the not so good quality.

    Certain staff was nice, other unpleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    Location is great, the rest is medium.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is old, not renovated, without a lift, and on a busy street, hence the very reasonable price

    Location is great, the rest is medium. Good for one night layover.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    I enjoyed my stay and I shall return!
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleaner could improve on the replacement of towels for the bathroom.

    The room is quite comfortable especially the bed. The front desk officer was very pleasant, patient and helpful. Great host. I enjoyed the convenience of breakfast and the use of the microwave oven.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    3.8
    Worst experience ever, especially the stuff and cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front office was horribl, very aggressive and his talking like a fire (Mr.Jacoub) The bed especially and the room generally was not clean at all I think they reused it without cleaning

    The Location is wonderful near to many malls and supermarket

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    I will likely stay at Econolodge again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I were able to be accommodated with a sofa bed in the room, but having said that the room was not very big and a sofa bed was not advertised as being included in the room 😊

    Decent accommodation for the money and time of the year.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.0
    Spartan and adequate, good value for money, but, by no means luxurious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly slow WiFi, very tattered and scruffy, a lot of visible damage in common areas, no elevator, heat doesn’t work well, hot water ran out mid-shower, “free breakfast” is just toast or cold cereal (not ideal for people on low-carb diets for blood sugar), housekeeping doesn’t restock towels or coffee, visible water damage in room, smell of stale cigarette smoke in room was strong, hard pillows.

    Room is clean and simple, and relatively new decor, staff is pleasant, central location, inexpensive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    The room was clean and adequate for themoney.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no parking and the area was very busy which was quite noisy.

    The room was clean and adequate for themoney. Staff were friendly and it was in walking distance to my purpose for being there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Generally pleasant. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator at this hotel. Had a hard time carrying my luggages to my room. So if you have lots of luggages, request for a room at the ground floor, but do note that these may be close to the road and could be noisy.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. Nice breakfast area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Good location and pleasant staff. Breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaniness could be improved. The carpets seemed like they are quite dirty. Toilet is OK though.

    The room first assigned to me was very close to the road and so was rather noisy. When this matter was raised with the reception, they immediately offered another room. Friendly and responsive staff at the reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.0
    It could be much better.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Building is old, no elevator and a little bit smelly. Breakfast basic, just to get you started. First day we paid insurance without prior notice, and requested to cancel it during checkout but never happened. WiFi was lost at times.

    Room was newly renovated. Hot water at all times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.6
    Wouldn't go back unless I had to or unless I was told that guy was fired or disnt work there nymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy that called me in the morning and told me if I wasn't there by 4pm he was giving my room away because my credit card was updated and I had a new expiry date. I tried to give him the proper number and he wouldn't even listen to me just yelled at me. He was a total goof. So I had to rush out the door and fight traffic to get there only to be greeted by someone else who was super nice.

    The guy working the desk was really nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the heart of downtown Toronto. It's a basic hotel - no bells and whistles- but it's clean and comfortable and a great price for a downtown hotel. If you're just looking for a place to rest your head after a day if exploring the city, this is perfect. No parking on site, but there is street parking, free between 9pm and 10am (Friday to Saturday) and there are lots/garages nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay if you are sightseeing Toronto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift in the building.

    The rooms were clean and comfortable,corridors and stairs could do with updating. Although their are refurbishment going on . Staff are very help and pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and staff very courteous, friendly
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints they accomodated us if required

    I would definitely book another stay. Staff was awsome! Location was close to many attractions, restaurants etc... you just need to be careful which areas you walk especially at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.4
    Happy it was only for one night...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room window was at street level on a very busy street and on garbage day, so view was piles of garbage, window wouldn't close because of portable A/C unit, bathtub needed a good scrubbing, very dingy. I have stayed in Econo Lodges before, well below their usual standards, and higher prices (but this was downtown Toronto...)

    Bed was comfortable, check-in was quick. Free wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    may return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No on sight parking have to walk about 4 blocks to find under ground parking that hotel; dose not pay.no elevator so have to carry bags up 3 flights of stairs.

    room was newer and updated since last stay a few years ago.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    The room was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit like a hostel with own bathroom. Not a great selection for breakfast, no fruit. The WiFi in the room was very slow, basically unusable.

    The room was clean. Good location, within walking distance to the city center. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    A very pleasant stay despite the two stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A double room should be provided with two baggage racks, there was none. A safe would have been handy, too. A major downside was the cleaner: we are certain that during our stay (5 nights) she didn't sweep the flloor and sometimes she didn't change the towels; we don't mind the fact itself, even at home we don't change towels daily, but we know that and we don't make believe; anyway, towels didn't smell fresh at all.

    We liked the size of the room, its practical design except for the baggage rack which was missing. We appreciated the courtesy of the desk clerks. The location of the inn is really great and we had no encounters whatsoever with unpleasant homeless people.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old, carpet in room are old dirty and humid so the room had a weird smell. Location is good but very noisey room, homeless people right outside the window. Breakfast is so basic it shouldn't even be mentioned in the description of the room as intercontinental

    Nice staff, location close to city centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Bathroom was very clean and renovated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls were paper thin. Certain outlets in the room weren't functional. Breakfast was pretty pathetic, but that's what I was expecting. No business centre, but the man at the reception desk agreed to print something off for me.

    Bathroom was very clean and renovated. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Good Hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that you need to improve the breakfast variety.

    The location was great, very close to downtown and the bus terminal. the room was really comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    3.3
    Hooker Blvd.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. No parking. Terrible location. Over priced. Dirty outside. This place is awful. I would never go back. Ever. My husband was propositioned by a hooker and the hotel staff had to run her off...

    Friendly staff... That's it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    The location was good. I thought the room rate was very high for what was there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i was shocked that there was no elevator and the common areas looked very tired. There was a problem with the free wifi for most of our stay which was very irritating.

    It appears they were staring to renovate so what was in the room was nice. It still looked sparce though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Competent, helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs updating. Carpet, ceilings, everything in the room is beyond cleaning - it needs replacing. Breakfast is very minimal, but convenient for a morning start. No parking onsite.

    Competent, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice and clean accommodation at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some issues finding parking and ended up having to pay for parking a distance away from the hotel

    The location was great, the room was clean and overall it was good value for the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Loved the proximity to the downtown core and the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no parking on site. Parking was up the street on Jarvis not too far but it's something we're getting used to staying at hotels in the area.

    Loved the proximity to the downtown core and the bed was really comfortable. Our room was decorated beautifully and up to date

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.6
    Adequate for a short stopover but if I had known about location I would have looked elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main issues were location. When booking be aware that the street that runs parallel to Jarvis St appears to be skid alley with what looks to be some hostel/ rehab infirmary and people strolling around the street who looked like crack heads. No parking within 200m of the hotel so not sure I would fancy a walk on a dark night. The parking proposed at the hotel reception is expensive or insecure. I was not happy to park my hire car in either but the receptionist did suggest a place on 40 Garrad St E. This was $15 for 24 hours. Our room was a bit dingy but ok for money, however bathroom was tiny and there were cracked tiles etc. Cleanliness was good however. View from the room was onto a brick wall and an alley full of junk/rubbish. Room only had a portable aircon unit which was too noisy to use. When I compare what I pay for Premier Inn at Heathrow in the UK (50% of the price I paid for this room) then value for money is very poor.

    The receptionist was very helpful regarding where to park our car and all staff were polite and friendly. The breakfast was ok although all on disposable paper plates. I would not really call it Continental (no croissants etc) however there was a good selection of bread and some muffins etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.8
    Never going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking.... Night staff that hit on my wife in front of me... How there was a used tampon in the trash can as we first walked into our room...

    How there was no parking lot to park in and all the construction and homeless people .... ill never go back there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.8
    It's seen better days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were attending a wedding and it was a 4 minute drive (cab ride) from the church. The men at the front desk were nice.

    The ad pictures are much better than real life. No elevator, no parking, it badly needs new carpet and a paint job. I wouldn't recommend it nor will we be back. They neglect to tell you that it's the worse part of Toronto you could be in...until you look for a place to park!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    2.5
    Terrible experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible rooms, beds were terrible. Air conditioner not properly installed. Bathroom leaking fawcetts everywhere. No room for a crib in the room after saying we had a child. No elevator! No trolleys to bring your bags from the cab. Had to make 3 trips 11pm at night with our luggage left on the sidewalk. Overall terrible experience will never stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Lots to see and do, even on a tight budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on-site parking! Expensive to park overnight at the lot down the street, we should have just bussed it. Worker staff walked into our room on 2 seperate incidences. Also despite the staff being pleasant: too many cooks in the kitchen. One person did NOT tell me the payment was coming off credit card right away, then the other person made me pay cash!! We ended up paying twice! They did end up reversing the credit card but it did not help us as the had taken all of our spending cash and the credit card company stated it would take 3-5 business days to complete the transaction! Not a very relaxing situation.

    Comfy, clean and modern renos in the hotel. We had a great room with a view. Location was great for what we wanted: walked around neighbourhood to grocery store, found unique pizzerias and the Eaton Centre is a walkable distance. Love that Allan Gardens: an indoor beautiful lucious gardens with free admission) was at our door step!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.0
    The staff was very friendly and did everything to help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The subway is a good 10 minutes walk in a ddepressing neighbouhood. The property had portable air conditioning which was excessively noisy. Needs upgrading. Priced at least 40% too high for the value

    The staff was very friendly and did everything to help despite the hotel's poor quality

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.4
    The bed was clean and comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no water supply to the room when we arrived in the afternoon. Water was restored later in the evening but no hot water. The water was again cut off to guests by 9:30 the following morning. This made adequate washing difficult and showering impossible.

    The bed was clean and comfortable. The room was cool due to the AC unit. The room was adequate for our purposes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.8
    Great bed, horrible breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However for the price you pay the breakfast is not even worth mentioning. Unhealthy prefab food and there is hardly anything there. That you really cant call a breakfast. It is more like a youtu hostel thing. Even so the internet connection is very poor. I slept great but it is overprized

    The bed was fantastically comfortable and the room, bathroom were good and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    3.3
    Dangerous location, several homeless junkies surrounding the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dangerous location, several homeless junkies surrounding the hotel. Disgusting breakfast. Will never return and most def DO NOT recommend staying here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.0
    good question.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place to park as you check in. Parked a block away and walked with luggage, only to learn we had to walk up with luggage to the third floor as there was no elevator. Included breakfast choices were poor. Packaged muffin and OJ.

    good question. Hmmmmmm?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    2.5
    Appalling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is dirty the toilets are all blocked and the sewerage comes up threw the bath plug.There were no apologies from manager at all.The place should be shut down as health hazards.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    4.6
    Would not come back here. Would not come back here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like how the wires got crossed between staff so much. I had to make any request at least three times in order for it to be heard, and when the next employee start of their shift, there was confusion and I was getting calls again about the same things (ie. was harassed THREE times about my late checkout for noon). And by 11:00 PM, you can't even use your room key to get in the front door. I staff member has to be there. And on two occasions during my one night stay, I had to wait for 10 minutes for a staff member to get back to the front desk to let me in. And by 11:00 PM, you can't even use your room key to get in the front door. I staff member has to be there. And on two occasions during my one night stay, I had to wait for 10 minutes for a staff member to get back to the front desk to let me in. Again, as a young, single, travelling female, that doesn't make me feel very safe being stuck outside downtown Toronto. I had to resort to calling the front desk several times so that someone would hear me. And they weren't the most friendly. The breakfast was not worth it- only coffee, toast, and cereal. **Each Time I would turn on my sink top in the bathroom, the water would come out BROWN at first for a few seconds. And every 10 seconds it would happen. That was and every 10 seconds it would happen. That was EVERY time Are used my sink. ***As A young woman travelling alone for business, it was also a little nerve-wracking that my window was broken to the point where it was open. Pieces of glass were missing and I had to keep the blinds shut just to make sure nothing was getting in A young woman travelling alone for business, it was also a little nerve-wracking that my window was broken to the point where it was open. Pieces of glass were missing and I had to keep the blinds shut just to make sure nothing was getting in.

    That they listened to my request to not be on the first floor. Other than that, that was about it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    For the price, I should have booked somewhere else with free parking included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no place on site to idle my car while checking into the hotel in order to find where to park. The hotel could have been a little more upfront about parking options and what to do on arrival. The walls in the hotel are pretty thin so you can hear your neighbors conversations despite turning on the AC. Breakfast was okay, nothing hot outside of toasted bread/bagels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    The location was excellent, and the room was clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price we were charged was higher than that quoted. The breakfast was dismal. The parking was in a commercial lot that was unattended, and we were a little worried about our car.

    The location was excellent, and the room was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Clean, convenient and safe hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a clean, convinient but very basic hotel. Its the perfect place to stay if you just need somewhere safe to lay your head after a day of adventuring.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms were very humid and hot. The sheets were worn out. The room wasn't very clean. The bedding seemed synthetic that I woke up overnight because it was too hot and uncomfortable. I had to sleep wearing earplugs as it was very noisy outside. I did not think it was good value for money.

    The location was perfect. The staff were nice. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.4
    Stay here only as a last resort. Complete dump
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was stained and the room stunk. The sheets weren't changed. There was dirt in the corners of the bathroom and we also found hairs in the bed.

    Prime location. Cheap price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel itself was good and confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were booked from the Friday to Sunday, I was told my credit card didn't work so after few tries I gave a 2nd card to charge the total amount of $404.54. At my arrival at home I checked for the problem on my credit card... The hotel was already charged 2 days +$50. déposit on the 1st card and again on the 2nd card. Now Wednesday 3 days later I still complained and the money is not back on my card $554.54 Not impressed with the response yet I'm still waiting for them to call back because they don't find the charge and I'm out of that amount.

    The hotel itself was good and confortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location & amazing staff
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There appears to be renos going on and the rooms need updating: holes in the wall, peeling wallpaper, etc. The breakfast lacks imagination. A bit of fresh fruit in a bowl and a waffle iron would raise the bar.

    This is a centrally located hotel that provides easy access to transit and the sites in downtown Toronto. The hotel is quite old but it is clean and the staff is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: