Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ottawa Embassy Hotel & Suites 3 stars

25 Cartier Street, K2P 1J2 Ottawa, Canada

#39 of 56 hotels in Ottawa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 149 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Location was great, balcony had nice views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our balcony didn’t have any chairs or a table, which was very disappointing as that’s where we spent most of our time. Shower could of been a little bigger, also the parking lot was very limited for parking, we checked in early and got a parking spot than left for dinner and it was gone. I would suggest getting there early and walking places not driving as you may lose your spot

    Location was great, balcony had nice views. Room was very clean and the little kitchenette was handy to have. I was able to check in early at 1:00 which was very nice. Great room for the price, lots of things walking distance. Rideau centre was about a 15 minute walk

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Another great 3 day stop in Ottawa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed here for the 1st time and it enabled us from the location to see other areas in Ottawa that we hadn't seen in our last 3 visits to the city. We biked a lot (rentals) along both the Rideau Canal and the Rideau River and walked all over the city. We went to Lansdowne Park to check out the area (must see) and had supper at Craft Beer Market with over 100 craft beers and more on tap. Food was great too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.2
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not upto date. Bathroom is extremely small. Balcony was unkept. They started doing construction outside the building at 8 am on a Saturday morning

    Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, nice staff, lovely room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some construction work and scaffolding to the outside of the building which began pretty early in the morning, but I had to get up any way!

    This was a really smooth business trip - I was amazed by the size of the room - a mini suite! With kitchen!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    It is a good place only if you want to stay close to downtown.
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room on the top 11 floor was noisy. They keep the cooling aggregate on the roof and it makes a lot of noise.

    Location is good, very close to places to visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good location, Ottawa can be explored by foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor appearance could be improved (unrenovated block building), balcony in poor state.

    Very good location, Ottawa can be explored by foot. Clean and quiet room. Very fast Wi-Fi!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall we were pleased with the hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only area we were disappointed in was the that the heat had been turned off. We are seniors and my wife in particular has trouble when it is cold. On the positive side staff did provide us with a space heater which helped

    The service was great, check-in check-out was efficient. The restaurant was great, really good food, quantity and quality. The staff were great in providing directions to place we wanted to go and to suggest other areas we might be interested in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    It was okay for our short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small for 2 queen beds. no chairs to relax bathroom very small - no extra towel bars, had to juggle hanging the towels- wet vs. dry.

    Bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall I would definately stay there again. The staff were great and the hotel was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I sort of wish there was a movie rental option in the room, unless I missed that during my stay.

    I liked the overall setup of the room, very cozy. It was nice to see it was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Good value, convenient location, spacious room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't think my room had air conditioning, or if it did, I couldn't figure it out. Good thing the patio door opened, because I kept it open most of the time when I was in the room to cool down. Of course, this led to some problems when my downstairs neighbors on the first night chose to use their balcony as a smoking deck...ick. Good thing they checked out before I did. Bathroom is really small without much counter space.

    Room was HUGE, bed was comfortable, and it was nice to have a small kitchen. I also appreciated that the patio door opened to a small balcony so I could get fresh air into the room. The location was very central to City Hall and food and drink options on Elgin, and a short walk to the Shaw Centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Very good week end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no accessories provided. Only 2 glasses 2 cup of wine ... no bathrobe .. but it was a nice size away. They have kept the older side in decoration but it works well with the location. Very good week rend.

    The grandeur of the suite and all that was nearby is wonderful. Nice location to go walking and see lots of things. Great location. The staff was really nice and approachable. thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice Ottawa stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite small and the parking at first was confusing and wasn’t included. Room has only a few items for cooking like plates and cutlery and didn’t have a baking tray for the oven.

    Willing to change dates on the day of check in. Loads of space and even included a kitchen area in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    I rate this hotel 7 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were uncomfortable. The bathroom was very small in the bachelor suite and took the water 15 min to get warm!!

    The room was very big and the hotel was quiet. Close to downtown but not walking distance. I loved the kitchen!! I would stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in room scratch on coffee table stain on rug, horrible parking garbage with few spaces and extremely difficult to manuecer

    Room smelled - particularly in the washroom. Hotel was not told by booking.com that I was bribing dog even though it put in notes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.8
    While the hotel has a nice outward appearance once in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the hotel has a nice outward appearance once in the room you find a very dated hotel with new paint. The rooms are very large but the furniture was dated and extremely uncomfortable. There was a musty smell throughout the hotel although it was very clean looking. Staff were excellent and friendly. Parking was expensive and lacking in spaces. ( although winter snow does effect that ) Overall if you need a large room with a kitchenette this is a decent place to stay, just don't expect comfort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were nicely renovated but we were disappointed with the details (loose wires, broken cupboards, etc). Tiny bathroom

    Location, comfortable, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Pleasurable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were very pleased the hotel was within walking distance of the activities & points of interest to us. We also enjoyed the on-site bar & restaurant. Very relaxing just to wonder down & have a meal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only recommendation I would make is in the bathroom set up. There was limited counter space and the shower was awkward because you have to reach over the toilet to set the temperature before you get in.

    Large suite with big kitchen was a lovely surprise. We arrived a little late but the staff was very welcoming and assisted us with some large pieces of luggage that we couldn't leave in the vehicle. They kept it in lock up for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    The room was adorable, with super comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a huge gap between the bathroom door and floor, so you can listen everything what happens there. It was a little bit cold in the room, but I didn't find how to change the temperature. Also, parking is not included, so I paid extra $18. The last thing is, they asked me credit card which I didn't have.

    The room was adorable, with super comfortable bed. There is a balcony with a nice view. The kitchen was fully furnished and ready for cooking. The bathroom was beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.1
    Very spacious room, prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only closet in the room was very shallow, outfited with only hooks (no hangers for your clothes) How are you supposed to unpack and hang your clothes after pressing?! Inconsistency in housekeeping level of service and replenishment of amenities. V

    Very spacious room, prime location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    The staff were so helpful and polite. The suite was excellent we will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say I didn't like anything!

    The room was so spacious and perfect for a gathering before our Christmas party. The kitchen was stocked well with glasses and dishes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Location was good and close to all attractions. In a residential area. I felt safe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amenities. No bathtub. Although the room was spacious, the bathroom was tiny with no counter space.

    Good location. Could walk to everything. Safe and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    The king suite was spacious, tastefully decorated and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited exercise room in basement?

    The king suite was spacious, tastefully decorated and clean.The bed was super comfortable, the staff friendly and eager to assist and being able to open the balcony for fresh air a bonus. Would return to this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Great staff, terrible air circulation system. I wouldn't stay there again because of that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room I was given was unbearably warm, above 80 on the thermometer in the room. I was told that because it was after October 15, the air conditioning system AND THE FAN SYSTEM had been turned off. I requested another room and was given one with a balcony. The room was still hot, but at least with the balcony door open and all the windows open I could move some air through the room. The room was very clean, the bed was quite comfortable, but the temperature issue was big, and there were no solutions other than "open the window".

    The staff accommodated my request for a change of room (see below), and the new room was larger and better ventilated, but still extremely warm. The staff was nice and did all they could.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could have been cleaner. The TV in the living room could have been larger.

    An old condo is an old condo. However, the location is nice and the refurbishment seems to be done OK. On-site parking is horrible but the staff tries to help guests find a spot on the ground. Good-quality towels. Simple but nice furniture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Quick, clean and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have seemed a bit happier. I know I am young so I get categorized quickly, but I am still a paying customer. EVeryone was fine, no complaints just a recommendation.

    amazing room, clean, beautiful design

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable but short
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee machine set up in the room did not state anywhere if it was complimentary for the guests.

    The staff was pleasant and accommodating! I enjoyed my short stay and hope to go back for a weekend get away and stay at the Embassy again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    very good place to stay, especially for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was full when I arrived, they direct me to park in cityhall parking garage which cost me $4 for 24 hrs. location is very good, just behind city hall, 10-15 minutes walk to parliament hill. the suite includes everything. the bed is very comfy. I will re-book if I go there in the future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bachelor Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    The balcony in the room was very dull and dirty with no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony in the room was very dull and dirty with no seating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice place for short breaks or holiday, home away from home
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking spaces

    Centrally located, suite has everything you need

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Best place ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool 😞

    Best place ever!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    It was decent enough
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Balcony, construction

    Clean Room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    The bed is excellent amd the service too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Netflix on the TV and there are not enough pot for the kitchen and the bathroom is really small

    The bed is excellent amd the service too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Best family suite for the Marathon weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a free, simple, breakfast buffet for the Marathon weekend

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful city....we loved the tulip festival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Raining..... Balconi needs paint!!!

    Extra large suite Nice bedroom and super clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Full kitchen with fridge, clean, stuff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Washroom - barn door with 2 inch space at the bottom.... what's that?

    Full kitchen with fridge, clean, stuff was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice rooms/suites, decent bed, central location and much...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice rooms/suites, decent bed, central location and much more

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Poutine fest getaway!! Wonderful weekend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    Upgraded from a queen to a king suite. beautiful room. Nice view. Lots of windows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Rooms were very spacious. Staff exceptionally friendly. Location superb. Would stay again and again and I will!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Convienient
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was not that clean

    I liked most the space design and the Interior as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.8
    Not As Expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no parking, other room very noisy

    Food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool.

    Everything was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dated, bathroom very small

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Very nice, would recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls between the suites were very thin, we could hear our neighbours watching TV.

    Excellent facilities, very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Convenient location and friendly staff. I would return another time.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough space in bathroom to hang towels, clothes, etc.

    Suite was very clean and convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Clean and very big room, comfy bed, full kitchen.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and very big room, comfy bed, full kitchen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Fulfilling
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff is friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Good value for your money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good can't really say I didn't like anything about the property.

    The suite made it feel like home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Would certainly book again ,great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    2.5
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Parties till 5 in the morning. Notified front desk and they did nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Slightly noisy, as my room was adjacent to the elevator.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly noisy, as my room was adjacent to the elevator. You might want to double-check your room location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the restaurant vent we could not open the window because of the smell.

    Amazing staff, very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    It was awesome !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was huge !

    Excellent ! Very big and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    The staff is very unfriendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very unfriendly!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu should be more rich

    Good experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    They didnt provide me with a receipt after i payed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bachelor Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didnt provide me with a receipt after i payed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.2
    It was a great clean room, very big and spacious with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed had a few stains on the sheets, it wasn't anything worth bringing up but future guests may be alarmed by it.

    It was a great clean room, very big and spacious with a lovely and friendly staff. Definitely would book again!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.4
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no air conditioning in the room. The corridor on our floor was like a building site. No flooring or skirting. The buttons to the elevator were hanging off the wall

    The staff were very friendly. Newly renovated room.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.9
    The staff were helpful,the maid although very limited...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had the same breakfast both days but on the second day the bill was $2 more. Also the waitress apologized for giving me toasted rye instead of whole wheat. I said it was ok, but charged an extra .35c for their mistake. I paid cash both times so could not do much about it, and did not have time to argue as we were leaving to catch a train. We also made sure to ask for the coffee to be very hot otherwise it was cool.

    The staff were helpful,the maid although very limited English was very nice and smiley. I did not realize the hotel was being updated when I booked and it was hard to keep clean but all things considered the staff did a good job

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.9
    Our suite had been updated and although not totally finished...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel unfortunately is under construction and so not up to standard in the common areas. Perhaps breakfast could have been included to make up for the disruptive construction.

    Our suite had been updated and although not totally finished, was extremely comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Had a great meal at Deacon Brodies, the Scottish pub on the corner at Elgin. Would use this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    6.3
    this facility is under construction now, the sound of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    this facility is under construction now, the sound of drilling wakes you up at 7:30AM, being on vacation that was not very pleasant at all. Other than that everything was great.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    Bed was very comfortable and we had a suite which was great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was not the cleanest. Our balcony door glass looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a month. Currently under construction so huge holes in the hall ceilings. A tray from someone else's room service sat in the hall for the whole 3 days we were there with dirty dishes.

    Bed was very comfortable and we had a suite which was great for preparing some of our own meals. Had breakfast at Coopers each morning and it was good value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    6.3
    The big suite with full appliances like if ur home, good for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It would have been nice if there was a pool or more entertainment and cheaper rates

    The big suite with full appliances like if ur home, good for long stay

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel is currently under construction. Wish we knew this before making our reservation. 2nd floor of the hotel is used to house Syrian refugees. Lots of kids which means lots of noise. I would suggest you secure a higher floor. Again, wish we knew this before making our reservation.

    Great location. We were upgraded to an executive suite because our reservation was mixed up.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    6.3
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel is very old and needs renovations. Signs of water damage in the rooms, patches not repaired. I stayed there in the 90s and nothing has changed since...

    Location is great. Fully equipped kitchen, everything worked well, although everything is very old and dated.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    4.6
    A'la Carte breakfast menu in the cafe was good - unlike...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Carpets were stained and had a musty smell. Unkept balcony. Doors of cabinets old and missing hinges. Room looks and feels a bit run-down.

    A'la Carte breakfast menu in the cafe was good - unlike other standard hotel breakfasts. Check-in & Check-out was fast.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    7.9
    Room has it own kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell from the hotel restaurant was direct into our unit window! We COULD not control the room temperature and it was 23 degrees C !

    Room has it own kitchen

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.1
    I was not notified about needing a credit card and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was not notified about needing a credit card and the person at the desk while signing in was very rude about it. Also was not the room I was expecting

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    7.1
    Location and price;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smell of stale smoke; one wall had significant paint bubbling suggesting serious water leakage problems.

    Location and price; staff were friendly; kitchenette facility would be great bonus if staying for a while; had small balcony for fresh air

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    8.3
    Spacious room, good shower with enough water pressure,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    In our room, there was a constant high-pitched hum from the plumbing. It didn't bother my wife at all, but I found it irritating.

    Spacious room, good shower with enough water pressure, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    6.7
    The staff are very welcoming and work to meet your needs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Allot of the materials are old, such as carpets, paint, some of the furniture. Would like a work out area.

    The staff are very welcoming and work to meet your needs. The facility is clean.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    7.5
    I stayed at a junior queen suite, it was well equipped and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit dated and there was mold around the bathtub. It was hot at night, I could not adjust the temperature since heating was centralized, so I opted to open the window.

    I stayed at a junior queen suite, it was well equipped and spacious. My sister loved the bed and pillows, nice and firm. The location was not bad, about 5 mins walk to Elgin Street where there was restaurants and stores and 20 mins walk to Parliment Hill.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    3.8
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The service of this hotel is extraordinarily bad. RIght before I did the check in with the hotel, I had reminded them for a couple of times that I did not want my credit card to be charged and I wished to pay with my debit card instead. They said okay and they would just put an authorization hold my credit card. Nevertheless, the hotel still went on to charge my credit card without letting me know. So when I did the check- out with the hotel, I had told the staff (who was very unfriendly) that I would like to have a refund on credit card and I would pay by my debit card instead. So that staff did it with a very bad attitude. Then later when he showed me the receipt, I noticed that the refund had been made to my debit card instead of the credit card. I told him about this and he just said this could not be right and simply ignored me. When I said it again, he just looked at me with disdain and ignored me again. Today, when I checked with my bank, the refund was made to my debit card and my credit card was charged. It is a small matter, but this reveals how bad the service is and how unhelpful the staff are. If you don't care about the quality of the service during your stay, this is a good option. if you do, don't go to this hotel. I have never seen hotel staff with such a low quality before. And this is my first time to write a review on booking.com because I feel like everyone should really be aware of the bad service of this hotel. I will never come to this hotel anymore and I certainly do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Nice room.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    The hotel was lovely, very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The parking was difficult. A limited number of spaces were available in the restaurant parking area, which were all taken. Unknowingly, I parked at what I thought was the hotel lot. An hour later, I went out to find I had been issued a $55 parking ticket. When we came back after dinner, although I had paid for hotel parking, and had reserved weeks ahead, my electronic card wouldn't work. The staff fixed up the problem quickly, but the underground parking is really designed for smart cars, and I had a mini van. Many support pillars made for tight manoeuvring.

    The hotel was lovely, very clean. Amenities included a coffee pod machine in the kitchenette, with coffee pods, sugar and creamer. Morning newspaper at the door.

There are also 53 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: