Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fairmont Empress Hotel 5 stars

721 Government Street , V8W 1W5 Victoria, Canada

#23 of 52 hotels in Victoria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 692 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Paid WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    The location was excellent and the view of the harbor from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very small and there was quite a lot of bird poo on the outside of the window. The TV remote did not work well.

    The location was excellent and the view of the harbor from our room was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Everything I ever dreamed staying at the Empress would be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Gold One Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast food was varied, but a bit soggy/poorly cooked compared to the paid room service we ordered on the following morning. For what we were already paying, it was in poor taste that the hotel chooses to gate the music programs on the TV behind a $10 a day additional fee. I suggest using the free wifi and streaming spotify or youtube instead.

    The hotel is perfection. From the recently renovated main lobby with a 1300kg crystal chandelier, to the Gold room lounge with high-level style decor and balcony with the best view in the entire city of the harbor (note: if you are here for Canada Day, you MUST book a Gold room and watch the fireworks from the balcony - there is always space even if you get there at the last minute so don't sweat squatting on a table all day to save the spot). The Gold one-bedroom suite was also incredible, with not one but two bathrooms, a full living room, office nook, and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I've stayed in some pretty amazing hotels and this one blows all others out of the water. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Hotel location is fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really big with small number of elevators!!!!

    Hotel location is fantastic It’s close to all tourist stuffs Close to restaurants bars. Shopping

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    From the moment we arrived in the car park the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the moment we arrived in the car park the staff were welcoming and courteous. The room exceeded our expectation and the facilities were fantastic down to the dressing gown provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Wish we could stay a week!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow cases were a bit scratchy

    the mattress was awesome. The staff were very patient and helpful. The food was excellent' The music was spot on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    It was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over all the total experience was 10 out of 10. The location is the prime and the best. The staff is very well trained and cooperative. Facilities are outstanding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    Paid alot for very little
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived at 4;00 to check in, after confirming our reservation at 2;30 that day. We weren't checked in till almost 5;30. They changed our room from 2 queens to a king, which was a lot smaller room. We weren't informed of the turn down service till the third night. They left one set of towels the second day, had to call. The desk was damaged, they said it was a chip, more like 6 to 8 inches. We were celebrating 46 years of marriage and told the person at the front desk.. We asked to upgrade our room, but was told it wasn't possible. We were stuck in a small cramped room. They gave us a free breakfast, BIG DEAL!!!!!

    The hotel is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    A fantastic romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave..

    We loved the entire experience at the Empress. From the moment we stepped on the grounds of the hotel the entire staff was there with a friendly smile and a question of did we need any help with anything. We weren’t supposed to be able to check in till 4pm but the check in staff went out of their way to get us in early (with an upgrade!).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel. Great refurbishment. Only complaint is window in room wasn't more than about a foot wide! Quite dark during the day. Needed lights on. Used to be a room they housed the photocopier in, and although a good size, really shouldn't be advertised as a deluxe room.!!

    Perfect location. All public areas very nice. Bit snooty about can't have a cream tea, only afternoon tea! But minor issue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    This place deserves an All Season Romance Award.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    :

    Atmosphere? Awesome! 44 years ago my beautiful wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. We returned with many good memories of our life together, and this wonderful hotel has added new ones. Thank you Empress.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Staying at the Empress is kind of like meeting a favourite celebrity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting parked.

    The history, and look of the property was the biggest draw. It was a bucket list thing for me to stay at the Empress. Didn't get to the high tea, but that's okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the negative side, we were unable to get into our room until just after 4pm because the people staying there before were granted a late checkout until 3pm, I believe, which seems very late to me. We had been told earlier that day that we should be able to get in before 4pm, so we waited around a bit and lost some valuable sight seeing time. Also, the Jacuzzi and pool at the spa were unavailable during our very expensive spa visit, so we were unable to use the full spa facilities.

    The hotel was beautiful. I love that the scent of roses was always in the air and in our room. Beautiful flowers and décor. The location was excellent and within walking distance of the things that we wanted to see and do. My favorite spot was the Q lounge overlooking the harbor. They served delicious drinks and specialty popcorn, and there was live entertainment there during the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    the hotel is impecable renovated - except that the bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two Queen room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    ice cold bathroom (no heating there!!) - you had either to heat up the bedroom suite and leave the bathroom door open (which is weird when travelling with 3 friends) or you just get a shower in a freeezing cold bathroom heating / air condition very, very loud (you have to switch it off to be able to sleep) very unfriendly staff at reception and not what you expect in a 5 star hotel (was the worst we had so far in any of the 5 stars we have stayed) Check in at 4 pm and check out at 11 am is not customer friendly at all. No bathrobes in the room and when ordered at housekeeping it took them 30 min to deliver them. when you book a room for 4 people you would expect 4 pairs of slippers and 4 bathrobes in a hotel of that category (we had no bathrobes and just one pair of slippers) the afternoon tea experience is overrated - was ok but not as exeptional as marketing lets expect - price a bit steep for the experience (compared to e.g. Peninsula in Hong Kong a waste of time and money)

    the hotel is impecable renovated - except that the bathroom does not have a heating at all bell boy service was outstanding nice pool amazing gym breakfast quality outstanding hotel in walking distance to Harbour Air Airport (seaplant) which is very convenient / helipad for Helijet service just 5 min away by taxi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location and service was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Original suite was in bad location - lowest floor right above construction. Loud. Ended up paying for upgraded location (harbor view). If you can swing it, pay for the harbor view.

    Great location and service was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the Room was much smaller than I expected, no space in the bathroom for two peoples bathroom toiletries , couldn’t adjust the temperature to be cooler, after multiple attempts. However I did not report this. A room around us ordered room service and we were both awakened by how loud the person delivery the food was... woke us both up.

    Liked the quick check in and getting the room earlier. Liked the pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Historical Hotel...Historic Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were a little on the small side - and I upgrade to a larger room!

    The hotel is so historic and you can image the impact it had on the community when it was first built. What makes this hotel still great is the service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Staff could not be more pleasant, hotel is beautiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only inconvenience is that the hotel is huge and you have to walk a lot till you get to your room.

    Staff could not be more pleasant, hotel is beautiful and location is perfect. We enjoyed our staying a lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Best location to stay. Walk to entertainment and restaurants. All so close. Great renovation of hote
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think rooms too plain for the kind of Reno done. Needed more style and spark

    We appreciated the upgrade to superior king room but expected better view not back of building and found bathroom too small really. Nice comfy bed and clean room but no minibar?! Surprising. Gorgeous renovation of facilities though and very nice staff. Beautiful modern decor & styling of restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    The best hotel to spend holiday is absolutely the Fairmont Impress Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing else. Every thing is perfect.

    This is really a perfect hotel in Victory, B.C.. Whether the location, the historical building, or the kindness staff, everything is wonderful and perfect. I can feel the professional quality and best service through all the details the Fairmont Empress Hotel did for the guests. It is really so wonderful! Thousands thanks for the staff Ereven. When he knew that we want to go to Chinatown, he was so active in driving for us with his own car. By the way, I strongly suggest the afternoon tea and apply for the upgrade of Fairmont Gold. It will be a good memory for my daughter, wife and me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the tea room : we did not know there were 2 different tea room. We wanted experience the 2 pm tea time but the attendant was not clear what we wanted not only that (made us back and forth) seem not wanted serve us so we ended up missed famous Fairmont Empress tea time we had tea next room a server was great and very courteous made us feel okay - but I was very disappointed.

    Greetings at the front was very welcoming and made us feel important.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, with not 5* service
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for late check in and they said that not possible because they have other guests, not even for one hour, i checked on the internet they had lots of avalible rooms...so we wanted to check out at noon, i asked to bring my car, they answered me 45 min to 1hour?? yes you heard right to bring my car from the garage 1hour? So i called on reception and told them that i wont go out of the room because my car wont be ready 1 hour, and then wasn’t anymore problem to stay one hour late, I am really disappointed, this is not 5* service especially not for Fairmont...

    Hotel is nice, with great location, good food and drink in Q bar...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    all in all lovely hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the view was terrible of a wall which was very disappointing...as hotel was not busy it would have been nice to stay in a harbour view room. Dinner at the restaurant was just so so and very expensive for small portions....ingredients on menu pretentious eg reindeer pistachio mousse included with the crème brulee and not very tasty...fish entrée was very small with fancy lettuce and small portion of potato, some veggies would have been nice...For $48 entrees a basket of rolls would have been a nice touch.

    beds very comfy...room very clean...staff very polite and helpful...breakfast in dining room and in room service great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our Christmas stay. The dinner at the Q was divine. Incredible chefs. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No FREE wifi. With the cost of hotel, charging for wifi seems wrong. Most everywhere else wifi comes free.

    Bed very comfortable. The Willow Spa was amazing. Staff were welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location with a gorgeous view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. There was no heating in the bathroom and it was winter. The floor/tiles were cold as ice. Since there was no window in the bathroom all the damp from the shower went into the room and blinded the windows and the view. 2. We had booked a deluxe room with harbor view. But there was no possibility to hang a wet coat. The bathroom had so much humidity and no heating, not even for towels and in the room there was no facility. By the way, even the closet was just too small. A hint: a simple hook would help! And please: put some heating, it gets cold in December, even in Victoria

    Beautiful hotel, nicely restored and maintaining the old charm. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Room was gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear a lot of noise/voices from neighbouring rooms....very distressing when you pay high $$ and have to listen to kids and other conversations. When paying for room at this caliber of hotel I'm very disappointed that instead of sleeping in on my holiday I'm listening to outside noise because rooms/hallways are poorly sound-proofroofed.

    Room was gorgeous.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Happy to recommend this hotel to anyone for a special experience. Whoville display was delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So sorry the Bengal Room is only open now for special functions. Such a period place and have always enjoyed having a meal there and enjoying the surround views.

    The bed was like a cloud. the staff were more than just courteous, they were friendly but not cloyingly so. the weather was fantastic which always improves ones mood but it was the stellar location, building staff and food that mad the whole experience to die for.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and halls are in need of renovation. The hotel charges for everything from water to wifi and music. Room bathrooms are small and very outdated.

    Awesome location and service. Beautiful building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Q restaurant’s food portion needs to be more consistent.With the high tea price of $75, it would be expected a little more

    Like the service at the spa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.0
    front door was fabulous, desk was also, bar staff good, down hill from there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food, service, value,

    once a great 5-star hotel, no longer even close. Anniversary dinner was ruined by poor food /service. So-called sustainable food and service should not mean "poor" and "less" A ghost of the fabulous hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    We stayed in a king gold room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Gold King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a king gold room. It was fabulous and having access to the gold lounge/terrace was worth the extra cost. The view of the harbor from the terrace can only be seen if staying on the gold floor and it was extra special.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.8
    Underwhelmed for the price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underwhelming check-in. Had to pay for parking after paying 500 a night. Very small room. Staff were not that friendly. Poorly organized banquet facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The room was dark and univiting . Two tiny windows- no view. Had to be relocated because the first room offered stank of cigarettes. The mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable. For a five star hotel, the sheets were low thread count. The bathroom was minuscule. I will never stay at another Fairmont again. No value here!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Really nice and enjoyable with courteous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just more drawers to put the clothes in

    The room was very quiet and comfortable. For two women more drawers would help. Loved being close to the waterfront

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Bed like a cloud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night we were sent to another hotel because they didnt have a room for us. But they payed for it and got us a free upgrade to a suite on 2nd night.

    Bed like a cloud

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel on Victoria harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given an upgrade, which was very nice, however we weren't sure if it was really an upgrade as the room was quite dark and felt a bit cramped.

    Bed was really comfortable. Great location right on the harbour and within walking distance from shops & restaurants. We liked that the pool area was open late, nice to have a soak in the hot tub after dinner. Facilities were clean and lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location, facilities and service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con was really noisy and couldn't be shut off. Everything else was great!

    Great location, facilities and service. I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    The good attitude of the staff in the lobby and their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was not enough supply of tea and coffee in the room.

    The good attitude of the staff in the lobby and their handling of our questions. The restaurant was very good and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    The room was nice and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not happy with my room view , the window was so small to enjoy the view (one window only o an ld it was very very smal )

    The room was nice and modern

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Great rooms, great location, moderate cleanliness in public spaces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Public restrooms on the bottom floor were a real problem. The mens room on the bottom floor (next to the Tea at the Empress) had no paper towels, toilet paper, or soap. Not acceptable for any Fairmount Property. Ever.

    Amazing room service for breakfast. Poached eggs are not easy for room service - but, they were perfect for us! Also - the room was small but perfect. Great bed. Great shower. All around incredible room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.4
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two Queen room with Two Queen Beds and Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just an ordinary hotel from inside, nothing different or special for the price.

    The location is excellent. Perfect for take a walk around the city. Beautiful from outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    the breakfast staff and the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to talk with staff 3 times to get more pillows and only to receive only 1 of the right one. Having to see after 12 hours the same dishes and glasses outside guest rooms not picked up.

    the breakfast staff and the food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    We will return.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I miss the old dining room with the more formal setting. You've cheapened the experience. Maybe it works for Millennials but not my generation nor my parents.

    The refurbishing of the accommodations and preserving all the great woodwork.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    It seems there are more hotels around that offer good harbor or city view. It is over-priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two Queen room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room does not have a good view. Surprise to see there is no cabinets to put away our belongings, which normally even a standard hotel would have. The bathroom is too small.

    The location of the property is along the waterfront and is excellent to walk along the promenade during the evenings. The flower beds of the hotel yards is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel with the most amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Gold King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful hotel with the most amazing view of Victoria Harbour. We loved the view from the Club level on the 2nd floor - the fire pits in the evening were such a great feature whilst watching the amazing sunsets. Staff and facilities were outstanding and the attention to detail was top class.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lengthy wait for breakfast the time we tried it,so we ate elsewhere thereafter. Disgusting accident on the reception staircase of a human kind.Unfortunate for the gentleman concerned but we were appalled by the length of time it took to clear the mess.At least the stairs should have been cordoned off as people were walking past for at least 30 mins.A sad mistake for a good hotel.

    View from the room. Central location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    We paid for two nights in a premium room that failed .miserably to live up to expect expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and housekeeping was very disappointing. Room, while large, was very sterile, no ambience, total lack of decor. Bathroom was unbelievably small with no room to even for even a Dopp kit. Many oversights by housekeeping.

    Staff, service and grounds were all impeccable. Food was above average.View of inner harbor almost offset disappointment in lackluster room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    We were unhappy that our room was not ready by 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unhappy that our room was not ready by 4. We arrived early (at 3pm) and we were hoping to have access to our room. At 4 it still was not ready. We were given complimentary drinks, but we would have preferred that this luxury hotel would live up to its contract. There were others who also were waiting for their rooms. Understaffed???

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    A very pleasant hotel which needed much greater hands on management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Major restaurant doubled with the breakfast room. The evening meal ambiance was just like eating breakfast. Extortionate cost of tea. So we avoided that supposed highlight. Rigid policy over paying the bill. It took about an hour to get a special agreement to pay with funds sent from abroad and be given the change of about 200 Canadian Dollars which I needed to give tips etc. Miles to walk to our room.

    The position over the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Can't beat location and the fact that the property has a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from our room was not great.

    Can't beat location and the fact that the property has a renowned history. Also liked the fact that the shuttle to Butchart Gardens makes a stop right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Great folks, but the rooms are smaller then you expect for something this expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great folks, but the rooms are smaller then you expect for something this expensive.

    Great folks, but the rooms are smaller then you expect for something this expensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny tiny room Aircon old and in bad working condition, very noisy Cleaning service asked we leave the room 10 minutes after we got back from a morning out, then didn't make up the room, we were out for another 2 hours then they knocked 10 mins after we got back again Rooms was very noisy, every sound in the hall could be heard in the room - whole conversations, constant banging of doors

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    I requested and booked two beds in each of the two rooms I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above. Our room was a along way from elevators and facilities. The rooms were overpriced for the accomodations.

    I requested and booked two beds in each of the two rooms I booked. Only one room had double beds and the staff was unable and unwilling to accommodate the bed request, nor provide a cot. We did find a sofa sleeper in one room and had to request that be made up to meet our needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    In general, all in all it was a great location and hotel, next time would book through the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Desk chair was uncomfortable, should be on wheels. The anti-slip area in the shower should be larger to cover the entire floor. Room quality sacrificed by not booking directly with the hotel, small window, limited view.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Empirical Empress
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was terrible - back of Bldg and overlooked the roof of conference

    The bed was super comfortable The property gorgeous - staff very helpful and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    view from the room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    internet/wifi weren't complimentary service until we called the front desk and asked for it. I mean when you pay $530+ per night... do you still charge the customer for extra $15 for internet? such a knit pick rip off service. We stayed in Georgian court hotel at a suite in Vancouver a night before. For the same price, their amenities were much better (welcome treats, dining room, free internet and parking, several free water bottles, hair irons, hair curler, bathrobes, and slippers).

    view from the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.4
    Great Location - However it lacked soul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that the room was not adequately private and had to have new blinds installed. Didn't like the paint peeling from the ceiling and didn't like the the noise from other guests in the hallway. Didn't like the fact that the choices for vegetarians diets (vegan) were not really supported or even cared for. Went to the breakfast room and we felt that we'd be an annoyance, especially as there were not many choices for us. So we left to find something outside of the hotel. Would have liked an extra hour on day of checkout and this was declined immediately.

    Location was superb. Had a lovely reception chandelier. However, the place lacked a nice warm feeling. Maybe because there were so many people checking in/out that the personal feel to this hotel was lacking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable bed. Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two Queen room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink was too shallow, and water kept overflowing as my husband shaved & as I washed my face, even though we were careful. Neither of us liked the rainfall shower head.

    The bed was fantastic, and the room very clean with a pleasant, subtle, fresh scent. The decor was understated elegance and the hotel has been beautifully remodeled without losing its historical patina.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    4.6
    Although I stayed there before, this last experince was not the best or expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a harbor view room, however my room was very small, first floor, corner that barely see harbor, housekeeper barely speaks English, hard to understand, use language was not the best for guest.

    location is convenient for all activities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the cost. View in rooms is poor. Paint was peeling from ceiling, bed were uncomfortable, no reasonable dining for family in hotel, cafe outside facing west in summer is a poor idea at best. Plastic Signage on front facade looks cheap on the historic building.

    The location is good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Historical stay appreciated with luxury items
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrendous noise all afternoon from room attendants moving in and out of rooms. Doors continually banging within seconds of each other. Very disapointed in noise level as i was given a 'quiet' room in new extension.

    Shower, disappointed no bath. Lovely toiletries

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Stunning waterside hotel with historic architecture and pure luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Gold King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved absolutely everything

    The refurbishment is sympathetic to the original architectural intent and it is all well services, located and the service of all staff was excellent. It was super clean, friendly and good value. The view each morning was simply stunning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    A trip to remember!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two Queen room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I took my 14 year old granddaughter on this trip for her birthday! It could not have been better! A special hotel!!

    Room Service was prompt...food was excellent..staff is amazing. Everyone is very friendly and helpful in supplying you with information about tours and restaurants that are the best in the area. They supply you with a user friendly map to get you to main sights...all within walking distance...the view is breathtaking...walk the Wharf front and see the planes taking off and landing on the water...if you like seafood...this is the place to be..you are right in the middle of the best seafood in the world

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Still smiling and reminding each other how special our stay at the Empress was!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not bother to pay for the wifi. Always irritating that such a pricey property feels the need to charge. So we went full on vacation without it.

    This was a beautiful, elegant, amazing hotel - lobby, building, corridors and rooms! We were unaware a renovation had recently finished and were THRILLED with the results. Love the old fashioned quirky room size and shape. The bed and bedding were the best. The bathroom and shower and all were sensational - especially loved the pan head/rain shower. The air system was so quiet and efficient and the windows and layout were wonderful. Better even than the fancy Epic Hotel by Kimpton in Miami! The best night of the whole summer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    The Fairmont Empress is a stunning example of historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Fairmont Empress in the last year (or so) went through a very lengthy renovation. However, our room had peeling paint on the ceiling near the window.

    The Fairmont Empress is a stunning example of historic architectural heritage within the city of Victoria. The ambience, the gracious and accommodating staff, the location of the hotel to all the surrounding activities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Good but not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm a decorator by trade so I'm pickier than most people. The bath only had a rain head. They did a provide a shower cap. The faucet needs to be setback because everything on the counter gets wet. The cabinet that housed the coffee maker and drawers for your clothes would tip forward even if just one drawer was open. You had to be very careful. One light in the room was not obvious how to turn off and on and it being a nightstand light we had to reach around and unplug it and plug it back in each time we used it. We were there when they closed the majority of the facility to their paying customers (us) while they had a private event that was for the celebration of the Fairmont people and new renovation of the empress?? They sent letters the day before informing us of limited bar and restaurant services... not a big deal had we not been traveling with our two 80 year old parents. For us being able to use the restaurant instead of getting out was easiest but not that particular night. Did not appreciate that I had to join the Fairmont club to get free wifi. $500 plus a night.. free wifi no questions asked!!!

    Service by all staff was top notch. Spa was excellent. Location can't be beat. Valet service was top notch. Lighting in the bathroom was great. Bed was super.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Best of Victoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mini bar was completely empty. No bottled water even for purchase

    The bathroom had twin sinks each with a lighted magnifier mirror. We had a little sitting room in a turret.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Rooms are updated unlike some of the other Fairmonts, extremely polite staff and they make you feel at home. Turndown service was definitely a bonus!! Will definitely be back to the Empress!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Great historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    My partner & I enjoyed our one nite here! It was fun roaming the hallways examining historic fotos. Breakfast in the elegant old dining room, with big portraits of Empress Victoria looming over us, was a treat.. maple syrup on fullsome oatmeal. Be sure to explore the older lobbies, restaurants & arcades of the hotel, which are somewhat apart from the new lobby/check-in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful Hotel, Amazing Saff with glorious views of the Harbour. We will return. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the only thing I can think of is we were sad not to have stayed longer.

    Your friendly staff on arrival, the helpful staff that booked a table for us. Just simply everything. You made us feel so welcome on our Honeymoon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Fancy Place. Poor Check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist tries to persuade me to join the Fairmont Gold, a club that offers benefits and exclusive areas in the hotel. In addition, I had a problem with my check in. The receptionist wrote the wrong number of my room on paper. After almost half an hour looking for the room between the long and endless corridors, we were told by a chambermaid that the number 354 did not exist. We were forced to return to the reception to make the correction (room 394). She asked for a million excuses and gave a voucher for 2 drinks at the bar as compensation. But honestly, after a 4-hour trip, I was very disappointed with this welcome.

    The Tea Ritual is something unique! Worth the trip. Also, the cosmetics in the bathroom are wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Lots of pros, several unfortunate cons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was very cramped, and located immediately next to the staff elevator - very loud. The fridge was too small to hold more than a few single-serving half & half cups and a small water bottle. The complimentary toiletries (shampoo, soap, etc.) smell HORRID - it's a strong, musky perfume that's far too heavy.

    They offer currency exchange at the concierge desk. The staff are all friendly and the hotel itself is beautiful. They have a little marmot on site as a sort of mascot - Roger is so adorable! The gardens are magnificent. The food is delicious. We had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    For a top quality hotel one would expect a dinning room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above!

    For a top quality hotel one would expect a dinning room with table cloths on the tables at dinner time; the dinning room was more like a fancy coffee shop! The staff was exceptionally competent and friendly. The evening dinner, in the dinning room, was again a coffee house experience. The staff very casually dressed, etc. One who dressed in a suit and tie felt very out of place - and this is the Empress? You could, and should do better!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor value. Very expensive for just average accommodations. Feel like you're paying for the name and the expensive remodeling. Very difficult to reach a staff member by phone -- long hold times. Overpriced breakfast -- $18 for a deck-of-card sized French toast!

    Corner room, so two windows. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Exceptional location but mixed service experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were not very friendly or helpful. Service should have been exceptional given the price. Too much carpet - hard to pull luggage over carpet.

    Afternoon tea was wonderful. View from our room was great. Staff members Ramon and Loren were terrific. I wish all staff were like them in terms of level of service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Recently renovated, spectacular faculty and surround...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recently renovated, spectacular faculty and surround (touristy but gorgeous around the harbour, interesting and funky as you move away from heavily touristed portions); Hotel staff seemed flawlessly trained and entirely pleasant at every level

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: