Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu 5 stars

181 Rue Richelieu, G5A 1X7 La Malbaie, Canada

#7 of 13 hotels in La Malbaie

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1013 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If it wasn’t for the location this hotel would never be rated 5 Star. Queue to check in, queue for breakfast (which we gave up on!) and people in the pool with cans of Budweiser! Not exactly 5 star. This hotel is too noisy, too big and too expensive for what you get.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a very long walk to our room, which was in a separate building. I could understand this at initial check-in, but it was disappointing that once we were situated we could not have easier access from outside the building. The room itself was luxurious, which I clearly expected for the price. However, there was no apparent tailoring for the preferences of guests, e.g., cleaning of the room before 4 or 4:30 p.m., information about parking or preferential parking for hotel guests over casino guests.

    The hotel is absolutely beautiful, in a great setting with a spectacular view. Our concierge was extremely helpful in providing information and literature to us. Few other staff were as friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.3
    Doesn’t meet the Fairmont 5-star standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Table et terroir restaurant for breakfast was a real. Service was awfull. The tables around us were dirty, when people paid and left, their dirty dishes were left on the table for 30 minutes. The breakfast à la carte was very expensive and really not worth a 5 star Hotel. For 21$ you will get 2 scrambled eggs that aren't cooked enough, 4 mini potatos, 2 small sausages and 3 cherry tomatos. And the bread that comes with it will not be buttered, and we had to wait 15 minutes for a server to bring us some butter and jam. Careful ar the hotel bar they don’t know how to pour beer (they make it 2/3 foam, 1/3 beer). The building needs some renovation.

    Amazing View Confortable room Pools are nice Can’t be any closer from the casino

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    TO EXPERIENCE AT LEAST ONCE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost is quite high to begin with, then the Quebec government takes $70.00 of taxes per night, then the meals are expensive and the valet parking is $26.00 per day plus tip, otherwise you have to walk quite far. We ordered a martini which costed $21.00 and it was served without a napkin or a coaster; just placed in front of us... There are sometimes long lines to enter the restaurants as there is no alternative in a walking distance so that is not very pleasant.

    The Manoir Richelieu is part of the history of the tourism industry in Quebec. As early as the 1800's travelers came to La Malbaie to experience the St. Lawrence River and its majestic beauty, so I always wanted to stay at this place. Was I happy ? Yes but a bit disappointed...The hotel is grand and has a spectacular location with fantastic views. The common areas are beautiful and reminiscent of a period when travel was for 'the rich and famous'. The bedroom was very clean with all the amenities and a view of the entrance to the casino. The food was good but nothing exceptional. The large public balconies facing the river are a pure delight. The golf is very popular and seems to attract a clientele from all over. The outdoor pools are very enjoyable and warm but the indoor one was extremely cold. If you like gambling the Casino is worth visiting. Overall, the service was good, especially the maid, the concierge and at the registration desk but in the restaurants and bars, it was not as great. We were told that it is very difficult to find good staff as the hotel is located far from the big centers like Montreal and Quebec City.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a nightmare. For the rates you pay for these rooms, parking should be more accessible. Judging from the empty valet spaces the next morning and the fact that the lots were almost entirely full, very few people pay the extra fees for valet parking. The first parking space I could find was literally up five stories! A shuttle bus stood empty. Many golf carts were parked one story up from the ground floor entrance to the hotel. I was told they do not provide shuttle service to these faraway lots. My husband is handicapped. I was referred to the attendants at the door. Their attitude is quite snarky if you decide not to use valet parking. We moved the car and managed to find one available space in the closest lot to the hotel entrance. It still required a five-minute walk in the pouring rain. So if you are willing to pay an arm and a leg for a very fine room, I suggest you cough up the extra fee for valet parking (and I hope you will then be treated respectfully by the attendants at the door).

    Beautiful room. Everything comfortable inside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was good, but not great for the price. You do pay for the name, and in La Malbaie, there are plenty of other restaurants to choose from. I will go back to the hotel, but not the restaurant.

    The room was great, the pool awesome and we had a long walk on the property that made the evening. The staff is wonderful as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff in general-reception,doorman etc- need more training and be more courteous- for example greeting guests at check in etc. Amenities-rooms, pools etc need upgrading, for example damaged concrete around pools, no mattresses on pool lounge chairs, old bathrooms without separate shower area, old flat screen tvs, carpet and I could go on and on. Definitely not a 5 star level. Food quality poor and drink prices excessive in pool areas. We found our last 2 visits disappointing and will only book again once/if refurbishing done.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant. Lots of fun activities on site (even if you don’t golf...)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food options for families are limited. Lots of fine dining available in several high-end restaurants. The one choice on site that’s typically child-friendly (St. Hubert) refused to seat my 13-year old because it’s technically part of the casino!! The “bouncer” told us (quite rudely) to get take out and she could eat in our room.

    Lots to do. Great setting. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very expensive place to stay, but we knew that ahead of time. The drinks at the bar and the restaurants are extremely expensive. There are much less expensive places to eat in town and the food is just as good, if not better. It’s a very large hotel so you don’t really get the personal touch. We opted to park in the free parking even though it’s a long walk to the hotel, but it was beautiful weather so it was okay with us.

    We travelled to La Malbaie for the first time. It is a very beautiful part of the country. We have stayed at a Fairmont a couple of times before. The beds were very comfortable with crisp white sheets. The bathroom was small, but the shower was lovely. We enjoyed walking around the beautiful grounds and taking in the views. We enjoyed using the pools and hot tub.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    The grounds are beautiful and the facilities are great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little small. Not really Family friendly (with small children). Beds are high and no fridge in the room. A very small one was provided but for a longer stay, it’s a little more difficult. For the price we paid about 500$ a night for a week it made it a little difficult with two small children (under 4)

    The grounds are beautiful and the facilities are great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    We booked there as a big treat for us but with your method of parking & not allowed to take trolley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small - bed too soft - free parking is a joke when you have to take all those stairs to get to your car. We were in parking 8 - terrible. Valet parking too expensive considering the price for room. We were told free parking but we were not told about all the stairs - you should have better access for parking. Not allowed to take trolley for luggage was unacceptable to us

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    The most positive thing was the a guided tour on the hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet was kind of disappointing - in a hotel of this class the scrambled eggs shouldn't be from fish-fed chicken, having a fish-taste. And if you are doing omelette show-cooking, you shouldn't use a separating agent from spray can. If this is used behind the scenes: Bad enough. Put in fron of the guests you HAVE to use butter or something similar. No maple syrup pan-cakes, even not to order. Dinner in the table et terroir restaurant was a bit disappointing, too - not worth the money. We did not try the buffet (another dinner option in another restaurant). But the good thing is: There are a lot of very good alternative breakfast and dinner options nearby in La Malbaie village and at the port, so for us this wasn't a big issue. The hotel information system on hotel's TV is the slowest, non-reactive, I have ever seen.

    The most positive thing was the a guided tour on the hotel, called "history" tour, but included much more, even visiting the kitchen. If you are in this hotel, that's a must-see. Swimming pool is great, view and look of the hotel stunning. Location incredible. If you are lucky (we were) you even can see little whales right from the hotel's terrace!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location for family to relax and have different...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite pricy restaurants, TV channels didn’t have much of English varieties.

    Excellent location for family to relax and have different facilities at the resort for all the family members.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel with amazing staff and very nice views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Route 362 from Baupre to Mal Baie scared me with it’s steep hills and one hairpin turn. I took route 138 back which was so much better and still very scenic.

    Beautiful hotel with amazing staff and very nice views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    A vacation for everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Priority line. We didnt qualify - we are points collectors and priority members - because we booked on Booking.com

    The rate, the property, the location. Everything was amazing. The interaction between Booking.com and hotel was seamless. The staff are all polite and helpful. Our dog was a welcome guest! There is something for everyone here!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pools are smaller than expected. The breakfast was basic, chaotic and very expensive. Small queen bed. The hotel lacked elegance and a luxury feel.

    The bed was comfortable, grear organisation of’the world cup final watching. The bufffet restaurant was tasty but did not have real olive oil. Loved the walking trail.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Property is well maintained, clean and gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants are overpriced-nothing really special about the breakfast buffet but they charge $29 per person-worth $15 at the most

    Property is well maintained, clean and gorgeous. All staff very friendly and eager to help

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Wish we could stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is small.

    The river view from my room is unbelievable and hotel location is great. We like the quality of breakfast. The staff are very helpful. The hiking trail around property is a plus. We wish we could stay longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Great for 1 or 2 days especially if you have out-of-town visitors you want to impress
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the staff a little junior. Cappucino overpriced and service at the terrace ( GH ) very slow. Food was not worth the price either.

    Breath taking location. Everything at hand. Convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.8
    location and views are top, all else at best average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    most areas of the hotel have low charm, indoor swimmingpool has very unpleasant ambience, some facilities closed or under construction

    location and views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Great view, regal hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because we were in between seasons, many of the resort perks were closed. Call ahead so you aren't disappointed when you get there.

    Beautiful location where the St.Lawrence River widens. The outdoor heated pool is amazing and truly worth some quality time. We took the "fleuve" trail, which not only goes 3km through the woods with multiple scenic outlooks, but also has informative panels on the Solar System (with proportionally spaced planets along the trail, starting with the Sun) and native plants. The view of a Loon diving amongst the ice floating down the river is one of the enduring images from our visit to Canada. At night there is an outdoor campfire in front of the hotel and a fire in the grand fireplace in the great hall. It is a great hotel to explore and soak in the experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    BEST HOTEL, GREAT STAFF!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is by far the best resort you'll find in Canada. Everything is just wonderful about this resort: the staff is amazing, the hotel is beautiful, it's so relaxing! I've read other reviews about people complaining and you should not consider them. Basically, most people who leaves reviews are people that were unsatisfied. If you want my opinion, you will not find a better hotel in Canada.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Amazing Short Stay - Warm, Cozy and Elegant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Forget the minibar - small refrigerator in room would be better. Maybe a vending machine somewhere on site for quick snacks/drinks.

    Check in staff - Welcoming and Efficient Accomodation - Our room was a basic room - Simple but comfortable and clean. All amenities were wonderful - loved the heated outdoor pool along with the steam room Buildings (including Casino) and Grounds are picture perfect / scenic and well maintained Had a wonderful meal and would recommend - grilled shrimp on creamed polenta

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Wonder, just stay away from the casino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The casino crowd is not always the best but there were enough vacationers to cancel them out. It’s too bad such a wonderful property had to have a casino to survive

    Beautiful surroundings but it was a long trip!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Room with river view was worth the extra $'s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant service was a little slow, and being seated in the over-flow area (even with reservation) was not of same quality as the main room.

    Room with river view was worth the extra $'s. Were happy with ample towels, bath robes and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    lifeguards were very cool and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    driving to the entry to the hotel was confusing (signage) parking was a distance when I was going golfing and couldn't take a cart to my car to pick up my clubs. Had to walk. and lug my clubs back. No curtains that completely closed to darken the room only the inside clear curtains shut but that's no good for darkness in the morning if I wanted to sleep in. front desk kept telling me that the room with a view of the st lawrence was extra cost when I was booking and/or changing my reservations with Booking.com and another company. golf was difficult due to the extremely hilly terrain even in a cart. many blind shots that could be dangerous from golfers from other holes. I bought a hotdog, chocolate car, beer and palm bay after 9 holes and paid $24!! As steep a price as the proshop itself.

    lifeguards were very cool and helpful multiplex facilities were very nice; pool, sauna, hot tub. fabulous golf was difficult due to the extremely hilly terrain even in a cart. many blind shots that could be dangerous from golfers from other holes. I bought a hotdog, chocolate car, beer and palm bay after 9 holes and paid $24!! As steep a price as the proshop itself.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Large room looked like it was recently renovated with very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free self-parking is miles away from the hotel, while valet parking is $26 a day! There are no shuttles to the free parking ... you have to hike up hundreds of steps.

    Large room looked like it was recently renovated with very comfortable king bed and high quality bedding. Vegetarian options at the T&T restaurant were excellent. Loved the Nespresso machine in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is very confusing, and unless you want to pay $26 for valet parking expect a long hike to the free lot. If you are a couple, have one person stay with the luggage in front of the hotel while the other finds a place to park.

    Comfortable room, good resort. Like all Fairmonts, first class. The free WIFI was better than that of many other hotels where we have stayed on recent trips, we did not need to take the more expensive upgrade to meet our needs. Enjoyed the walking trail.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.6
    The price and service does not match!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room temp. is set to low and heating was out of order. They did not charge toiletries everyday.For little kids there is nothing to do.Rooms size is to small for 2 double bed.

    The location is excellent! The property is luxurious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    Property a bit outdated. Lots of other lovely places to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clients have to pay $26 per day to park! If you didn't want to pay this, free parking was available but 5 minutes walk and not ideal when pouring rain! The games room is depressing and their indoor pool too. Didn't look clean or appealing at all to the point that we didn't even swim in it 😔 Lady at reception - think her name was Kelley Ann - had quite a bit of attitude when we checked in because we had booked through booking.com. Our booking was for 2 adults & 1 child. She insisted our booking was for 2 adults only. Luckily we had the written confirmation to show her. Even with a written confirmation from booking, she still seemed to have a snotty attitude because we didn't book directly through the hotel. She gave us a room where our windows (which only open about 10cms) were overlooking a huge flat roof. We travel a lot and paid a lot of money for our room to have such a terrible view. My husband went back to reception and spoke with a lovely man called Miguel who proceeded to change our room and gave us a nice room overlooking the garden. Can't understand why the lady couldn't give us that room when we checked in the first place. Our guess is because we didn't book directly with them.

    Location and grounds of hotel are great. Lovely long walk down through the forest. Good gym.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    A treat to come here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel guests would benefit from a small pantry-style bistro where one can pickup little things to eat, e.g. coffee and a muffin or a yogurt, rather than having to order an enormous breakfast in order to get any food at all.

    The hotel is beautiful! The restaurant terraces and the front lawn offer views that are breathtaking. We love roasting marshmallows by the fire. The pool is very nice. My family loved the walk to "the planets of our solar system". Neptune 3 kms away will have to wait for a next visit!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    Did not acknowledge booking with Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not acknowledge booking with Booking.com; would not honour room booked and provided lower end room; would not valet my car and made me park in a lot that was a trek; and lastly breakfast was delivered late and they got the wrong order - lack of English speaking staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Flawed jewel on the St Lawrence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No instructions on coffee maker and safe. Safe did not conform to the usual model in hotels, and if that is going to be the case, there should be instructions. Ditto the pod coffee maker. Not all of us use pods, and instructions would therefore be handy. A request to the cncierge produced all aid short of help. Moreover, it's a complicated and sprawling hotel, but there was no floor plan, either on a wall, or in paper handouts, or on the internet. They ought to issue explorers' kits. We tried two levels of restaurants. One, the lowest, St-Laurent, was actually efficient, tasy and pleasant. The next ub, Table & Terroir, was confused, confusing, had long line-upos for admission (with a reservation!) and featured staff who did not seem to have any useful function, or at least did not respond to requests. Incidentally, in all three restaurants the wine prices are for the most part very high. Knowing what the liquor store price of Sancerre is , we practically fainted, and certainly did not order. Perhaps these are minor items. The room was in fact very nice, though in an isolated section of the hotel, with only one route in or out. The view was as promised. The staff member handling the baggage was very nice, once he appeared. (Half hour wait on departure to have bags picked up, with no line-ups either at check-out or exit from the hotel.) But it must be said, this is a building in the grand style. It brings back the hotels of the 1920s and 1930s.

    Wonderful views, excellent system of paths.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful resort with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't stay long enough!!!!

    Had river-view room -- beautiful view and quite large. Very comfortable and luxurious. The hotel is old but well maintained. the food was very good but not inexpensive. Having breakfast and dinner on the terrace with the amazing view was wonderful!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    2.5
    DON'T LET THE BED BUGS BITE......!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't let the bed bugs bite!!!!!........We were bitten by bedbugs for the first time in our lives (unfortunately my kids 5 & 7 years old were bitten too) ......we were clueless of what is going on with our "red" and some "blood" spots in the back of our heads after our second night so we went to the La Malbaie HOSPITAL where they told us that these are bed bugs and the hotel should take action. The hotel REFUSED that they have bugs and didn't take any action. This hotel is dangerous, outdated and really dark in the interior. It's not a Manor but more like a TERROR Hotel!!!!!! It was a bad experience!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Expensive resort in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No closet in room. Very small bathroom. You need to climb 121 stairs to get to the free parking. Very expensive. Rude porters.

    The location. The pool area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful historical site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hair dryer in our room.

    The hotel offers breakfast on the terasse with a beautiful view on the river. The service is impeccable and the staff of the hotel professional and courteous. I liked that the hotel displays pictures with descriptions of the site dating back a century, everywhere in the hallways and the rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Needs improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet leaked water from bottom! No fan in bathroom! I asked for room upper level, with view. Instead I over looked a driveway in back! We had to drive in circles for parking as spaces were full due to hotel sharing parking with casino!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Visit for dinner and the view, pass on the lodging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is not near the hotel. All guests are charged a daily resort fee even if they do not use the resort features, and the hotel does not make this clear when one makes the reservation. Unless you need a casino and golf course, we recommend staying elsewhere and just visit for dinner.

    Courteous staff and great view. Comfortable beds, and rooms well-appointed. Very nice espresso maker in the room, but coffee pods not replenished each day. Bathroom had odd sliding door that did not provide privacy. Two different shower heads in shower with complicated control levers and no instructions. Sink stopper in bathroom would not release easily. Excellent food in the T & T restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Deserve their good reputation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in particular!

    Great location with river view, clean and comfortable room with jacuzi, overall facility with outstanding dining selections and food. The evening fire pit is cozy and relaxing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel nested between nature and mighty St. Lawrence river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Queen size bed was the smallest we ever slept on. 2. Parking was not very convenient considering we had to search for a parking spot up the slopes in 3 different areas. 3. Bed was too soft. 4. Selection on food at the restaurants was limited. 5. For the price, the room was too small.

    1. Proximity to the trails. 2. Heated pools. 3. Casino across the hotel. 4. Staff attention to details. 5. Historical pictures of Canada

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    short stay at nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Supper in the Table et Terroir : Roman salad- so salty thanks to a huge amount of anchoys and bacon, when I asked to put cheese on the top, the service girl replied me that I have already in salad ( was a tiny piece in between anchoys..) but I like when its sprinkled over the lettuce.... As for the principle plate : ragout from lamb- where was a lamb....? 1 small piece divided on micro parts with 1 merguez sausage...And it costs money.. Desserts : I choose Praline and Tiramisu for my husband.... never ever had such unfresh and untasty ( I even did not tried to go further after 1 bite) desserts! Le service was ok, if you not count that we finish our coffee 15 min before actual desserts were coming . I always plan in my trip to go have a breakfast in the resto and , especially, of such hotel, but after having supper- even did not tried to go in in the morning, sorry. And, last.. I don't mind to pay extra money for extra services but here 20$ what for..? The receptionnist told us that it is for the access to the swimming pools, saunas( never saw one , at least in the spa which was closed on Sunday..), to have a free ride (??? no one horse around), etc... Usually, it should be include in the price of Hotel room but if there are extra service we have to pay for the services named and not just 20$ extra to all taxes and still unclear what for..?

    EVERYRHING ( room, hotel as a building, exterior swimming pool and jaccuzzi, , ) BESIDE supper in the resto Table et Terroir on June 11 p.m.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice Get-Away, but dining not up to standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant where we planned to have a nice dinner was closed. While we waited the next morning for a breakfast table by the window to be cleared, it was given to someone else. And they were out of strawberries for the French toast and substituted terrible pineapple. So eating at the hotel was a disappoibtment.

    Beautiful setting

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous hotel exuding of world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On-site restaurants are overpriced, and it's a bit of a drive to get to alternatives in town. (Highly recommend Vices Versa!)

    Gorgeous hotel exuding of world charm. Amazing views and good walking trails on property. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Remi at the sports center. Enjoyed the spa, pools and golf. Loved having a Nespresso in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    6.3
    Manoir Richelieu Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work in first room. Room too hot, fan gave off foul smell. Needed to change room for second night. Once transferred, baggage was not transferred immediately as promised. Got to new room and light bulbs were burnt, therefore, needed to call maintenance. My daughter's room did not have air conditioning either, therefore, she needed to change rooms as well. Concierge was never seen at his desk! Always had to ask reception for questions, who did not always have answers about the surrounding areas Rooms were tight. No fans in the washrooms. Beautiful fire pit on grounds, but never lit at night!!

    Bed very comfortable. Extremely well kept hotel inside and out. Beautiful exterior grounds and wonderful view of the Saint Lawrence River.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.9
    Very pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room's floor was still with wall to wall carpeting. Food in the restaurants, had dinner and breakfast, rather pricy for quality. The food was good and not spectacular to justify the rather steep prices.

    The room was very spacious and lots of natural light. Friendly staff at reception and in the restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast is overpriced, the pool closes in the middle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is overpriced, the pool closes in the middle of the day because one of the staff members has to take a full hour break for lunch. Room service is closed during the night and no restaurants are near the facility .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    Loved the outdoor heated pool and hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The cozy fireplace and wonderful views of the St. Lawrence River were great. It was a really relaxing time for all of us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    5.0
    No value for money, expensive hotel. Good location. However hotel and facilities are ran down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building is ran down and needs renovating. Food is not to the standard you would expect. Hotel is expensive for the service received. Beware of all the additional fees. Even a website such as booking.com does not include tax, read the fine print!

    Bed was comfy. Good location quite off season

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.3
    beautiful old hotel with outstanding staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was doing repairs on roof right across from our room. The unrequested wake up call started at 7:30 am with pounding and construction noise. I was told that there were only some 100 guests staying at the hotel during our stay so why necessary to give us a room in the construction zone??

    Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel is old but in excellent condition. Walking trails around the property were wonderful. Food and service were very good although we felt expensive. Restaurant choice was limited however, its November

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.4
    Great for a ``happy hour `` on the terrace but will not be my first choice for a room at La Malbaie
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows too soft for someone with back problems - we were told no other pillows were available.Riverview room expensive when your view includes roof renovation!!Lack of fridge -everything is overpriced!!! Supper and service at Table et Terroir very ordinary..

    Location and facilities (gym,pool) was great. Breakfast buffet is very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.5
    Very nice, great location.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Two of four restaurants closed: no prior notice given. Fans were not working (told because it was off season) Many repairs happening, giving impression that customers didn't matter after Thanksgiving.

    Staff very friendly, with bilingual service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    The river side patio and its view are spectacular and in themselves worth the visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was disappointing and over priced for the quality.

    The outdoor pool was a lovely way to cap off an evening. The staff there were a pleasure to meet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Perfect for Rest & Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid WiFi and could not get a dinner reservation at the Charlevoix. It would be nice to advise guest at check-in, that reservations at the Charlevoix should be done ASAP as it gets booked up quite fast.

    The relaxing/elegant feel of the hotel. The view of the river is amazing!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    A Grand Stay in an Historic Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very pricey for breakfast. +$56 à la carte for two light to moderate eaters. However, food is absolutely exceptional. Added charges: facility fee ($20) and local taxes ($5.00) are added. These charges weren't easily identified on my original booking as they are found *in the fine print. They add up! So long as you're aware it's not a shock at the end. Free parking is up a small hill -- weekends your lot choices are further uphill and beyond. Quite a walk if you've got health problems or are elderly. Then you are left with pay or valet parking.

    Location is beautiful. The views and grounds are gorgeous and plentiful. Hotel is a historic cadtle : quiet, large, tastefully decorated. The staff is very very accommodating and friendly. Ready to help at any time. All were fluent in both English and French but it's a great, safe environment to try your French! Food in restaurant on main floor for breakfast was outstanding! Butter maple syrup crêpes were the best I've tasted.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.8
    A very nice getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged for valet services which shouldn't be an extra. The elevators and corridors look somewhat tired.

    The historical pictures of the area and scottish legacy of Murray Bay. The breakfast was excellent. Bathroom toiletries were superb. The reception staff went out of their way to help. The shops downstairs stocked very good quality products (loved the slippers). The grounds of the resort are what appeals to everyone - -genuinely superb. BTW there is a pleasant walk down to the waterfront where there is a nice tea shop. A meal in Chez Truchon - WOW!!!!!! Oh and the hotel provided bathrobes for children!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    view and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room mini, river-view room's window so small, have no enough place in the bathroom.

    view and garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    will return someday for special occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    choice of the menu, always the same and limited.

    friendly staff, very quiet and exceptional location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    The food wasn't great and value wise it was very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't great and value wise it was very poor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    My Partner enjoyed the spa and I liked the golf .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My Partner enjoyed the spa and I liked the golf .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.0
    Would definitely stay again even though it’s a little expensive compared to surrounding hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking is not convenient, but daily parking is also only $12.

    Beautiful Hotel! Great views and Casino is connected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable rooms, great terrace and bar menu, pool area was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants boring and pricey

    Comfortable rooms, great terrace and bar menu, pool area was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful spot in La Malbaie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the view over the St. Lawrence, dinner was excellent....breakfast buffet was also very good but expensive. Room was good but outdated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Want to go back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pools!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the hotel, the staff. Food is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous location, the sleeping mattress is awesome!..never slept so good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed in New Year’s Eve meal ... expected better from Fairmont ... service at lobby bar very slow and uninspired

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    The pool, spa, steam room, workout area are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool, spa, steam room, workout area are fantastic. There are three large pools. Everything is spotlessly maintained.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Plaisant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to say

    The site

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    amazing scenery and a great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive

    amazing scenery and a great place to relax

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    BEAUTIFUL AND CLEAN ROOM
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking was a disaster

    BEAUTIFUL AND CLEAN ROOM

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Casino

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Traditional experience in Charlevoix region
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking lot is a little bit far to reach by feet

    it's a Fairmont!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: