Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fox Hotel and Suites 4 stars

461 Banff Avenue, T1L 1H8 Banff, Canada

#19 of 46 hotels in Banff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1441 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel apart from our one problem, great in house...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had asked for 2 beds and this had been confirmed by the hotel and they had also stated it may be a sofa bed which was fine. But at 11pm when in my pyjamas I pull out the bed and it's not made. I had checked my booking earlier. When contacting reception they were apologetic and sent up the houseman with linen and to make the bed but I just made the poor quality sofa bed myself. It was disappointing when you pay so much for resort style to not get the one simple request done then have to sleep on a very thin lumpy mattress.

    Lovely hotel apart from our one problem, great in house restaurant and very helpful staff. A beautiful town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Comfortable beds, stuffy rooms, no air conditioners, pricey but it is Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price very expensive for a view of a courtyard. Complimentary coffee wasn't always replaced.Room was small and stuffy. Windows only open at the top.No air conditioners.

    The beds were comfortable, and nice hot tub.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Doubles
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived a little early for our reservation but the staff was able to accommodate and check us in early. Also, they were able to extend our check out time an hour later since we have little kids (3yo and 11mo old) to make sure we are able to get them ready by the time we leave. Although it was only one night stay, we enjoyed our room. We would love to stay here longer on our next visit to Banff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    we only stayed one night and for that purpose it was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was expensive, they automatically ask for $50 deposit for extras, certain really nice, others okay

    I liked the convenient location It was walking distance to lots

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.8
    Not worth the money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived late. NO WHERE TO PARK. Had to get up a 8 and move our vehicle. There was no movie channel - having issues with the provider (spoke to three different people before we figured that out. SO overpriced. And the staff are undertrained - asked about the vending machine and ice (basement). The property is old and out of date the bedding is even shabby. Def over priced at $429 a night. WAYYY off the strip walk a km just to hit downtown.

    The Cleaning Staff was very nice and did a great job. We seemed to miss them for two days but when called they came. The property is overpriced. Stay at the Moose for the extra $60 a night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot in the night with no air con

    Very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Convenient location with free bus into the centre. Food in the bar was nice. Staff very friendly, particular mention to Tom who looked after breakfast and was always at hand for a coffee top up and such a jolly man!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice Rooms... But No Air Conditioning For Hot Summer Nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While I doubt it would be necessary most of the year, we were in the middle of a Canadian heat wave with temps in the 80's (30º C)... and there was no air conditioning in the bedrooms. The living room was air condition and they did supply fans... but it's 2018... air conditioning should be standard.

    We spent 2 days at the Fox Hotel. We got a 2 bedroom with living room suite. Or... a one bedroom suite with an attached room with a queen bed and bath. The hotel was nicely appointed and had a nice hot springs style spa downstairs. The hotel itself in a moderate walk from the main part of town but that was okay. We enjoying walking. The rooms were clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    This is an overpriced odd hotel - the ‘standard rooms’ are below standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in standard rooms - impossible in summer. Very small rooms for a high price.

    Hot pool; attractive construction; reasonable breakfast overall despite negative reviews.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Family trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in a standard room 2 adults and a child, once sofa bed was turned out you could nearly open front door to room, bit of a safety issue I think! Mentioned this at front desk and were told these rooms were only really for 2 people (yet you can book for 3). Other point to note is that there is no sink in the bathroom, it's in the bedroom.

    Fab hot pool, breakfast staff especially Tom were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have included a warm protein like scrambled eggs. This is the only feedback in what has been a lovely stay.

    Excellent staff, spacious room and good amenities. Just the right location, in downtown but a few blocks from the hustle bustle. Nice concept for the pool and sauna to make it resemble a hot spring, kids enjoyed it. The view from the room was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    The staff are wonderful throughout this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was no air conditioning in our room, so it was very warm, as we booked for August. There was a fan supplied, which was nice, but we were surprised not to have air conditioning.

    The staff are wonderful throughout this hotel! The hotel is exceptionally clean, and well tended, and the lobby and the rooms are lovely. Being within walking distance of the downtown area, but far enough to ensure it is quiet, this is the ideal location to stay at! We’ll book again here for certain!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, nice staff, but choose your room carefully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very small double room. ie with 2 double beds and very limited space for luggage.

    We liked the suite that we were upgraded to and the fact that staff responded to our request for a change of room after the one that we were initially allocated to was dark, cramped and not to our liking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Adequate
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds soft and old Terrible coffee No A/c in bedroom part of 2 BR FAMILY suite

    Great location. Not in the craziness of downtown but easy walk! Glorified motel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    We stayed here and had a great time, room was lovely, spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here and had a great time, room was lovely, spa and pool area was great and the bar and food area looked good although we didn't eat there. Easy walk to town with lots of restaurants to choose from. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location for Banff, free travel on buses around Banff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air conditioning only a small window for ventilation. Car park is a bit tight driving in/out. A lot of mosquito's around this year, make sure you have some repellent.

    Good location for Banff, free travel on buses around Banff, bus stop outside hotel. On site underground car park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    one staff from australia,didnt give cleary information about the location of the room, our room is facing outside the building and had diffrent entrance, the staff didnt even said sorry when i asked her again about the room, she gave 2 number of room, the one is false, i had to went back and ask for twice where is ecxatly the location, is really annoying with a very big luggages,i had to carry the luggages with a stairs to the room, the room couldnt reach using lift

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Close to chillis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cramped. There was no A/C and it was quite uncomfortable. We had a fan provided but it squeaked all night. It was not a pleasant stay. It was the worst place we stayed throughout our long trip and the most expensive. Breakfast was not the best either. Only boiled eggs and no meat. Only ice was in the parking garage.

    Close to chillis

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    A Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom is a little stuffy but they do provide a fan.

    What a beautiful spot to stay at in Banff. We had a one bedroom suite with a balcony that overlooked the mountains. The hot tub in the cave was another plus! We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needing to pay extra if you wanted bacon at the continental breakfast. Stain on the comforter. Booking.com not honoring the cheaper rates for the last two nights— only the more expensive rate of the two. Then when I called to inquire, the rep saying that the notes only state the more expensive rate being agreed upon.

    Location. Pool. Getting a refrigerator on day 3, as it is not included with basic rooms. Thankful for that. Nice front desk staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    great location and people, small rooms and could be cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the rooms could have been cleaner and they were very small, really only suitable for 2 max, not suitable for children as no space to get around. Also as there is only a door between rooms it was quite noisy

    lovely breakfast and lovely pool. Staff were attentive and always happy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were dismayed with our “4 star” room. It was tiny, room for one suitcase only, poor view of a small inner courtyard, and the second floor external walkway was very noisy with loud chatty guests passing by starting at six AM. No air conditioning. An upgraded room may have been more acceptable, but we were very disappointed with our pricey basic unit.

    Room was very clean, breakfast had a good selection of fruit, waffles, and basic cereals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel staffed by incredibly friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lovely hotel staffed by incredibly friendly and helpful people. The onsite restaurant was amazing, and the service was outstanding. The upgrade to a suite was a lovely surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Great leisure hotel close to all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Really good leisure hotel Booked 2 bed deluxe suite for 4 adults. The suite had 2 bedrooms 2 baths (1 en suite) plus a seating dining and kitchen room The kitchen was setup for self catering Rooms very clean Breakfast was very good Staff friendly and professional Food in Chilis bar very good Location very good Overall a very pleasant stay for 3 nights

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again. Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only small complaints would be the bed was too firm and the program that runs the TV is annoying to use.

    Nice rooms and enjoyed the bathtub. The staff in the restaurant went out of their way for my son and I who are Celiac. Loved the handmade cold process soaps in room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    The location is central, and within walking distance of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint was that the glass leading out onto our balcony was very dirty and covered in kids handprints.

    The location is central, and within walking distance of the village.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.0
    Good location, very helpful staff, shame about all those stairs, smokers and noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Doubles
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stairs. Dragging heavy suitcases up and down stairs. There was a lift to one floor but then the suitcase had to dragged down one set of stairs and then up one set of stairs. The accommodation was on two levels, the bathroom and shower/toilet area being on the lower level. There was semi spiral stairs going down. Outside was very noisy with people going past and traffic noise. One day we had to wait a while to go into our door because 4 people were smoking near our door, just outside their door, 1 metre away, leaving cigarette butts. During a public holiday there was still a party going on at 3am next door.

    Breakfast was very good. Fresh fruit was served and replenished quickly. The waffle machine was very popular. Staff at breakfast were very attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Our room was upgraded on check in to a king loft room which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A continental breakfast buffet was included and was pleasant, although it would’ve been nice to have had some hot buffet food too; egg, sausage, bacon etc.

    Our room was upgraded on check in to a king loft room which we loved. We really enjoyed the hot pool area inspired by the historical Cave & Basin site. The attached restaurant (Chili’s) was really nice, we had dinner and drinks here multiple times. Their lime snow-jito is delicious! Our server Jay who was from the Philippines was really nice and gave us lots of tips on things to do in the area. All of the staff were lovely, both in the hotel and the restaurant. One day we rented bicycles from the hotel which was $30 each for the day, a great way to explore the town of Banff. Location was good, only a 10 min walk to the main town area. Good secure underground parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel, perfect spot, love the cave hot tub, breakfast is great , love the front lobby ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Doubles
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise walking above us kids jumping, stairs, like the one level better next time , too far from the elevator hard to move luggage from parkade to the suite outside ,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff and a good, comfortable room. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Common areas in elevator lobbies (from room side) and door area not well maintained. Pigeons were camped right outside our door for days with all their poop there too. Elevator waiting area had chicken bones and huge dust balls in it all week - guess no staff is assigned that responsibility.

    Room was nice, bed very comfortable and we had a fireplace in the room! Checking was easy, staff were friendly when we asked questions and met any request we had. Enjoyed the hot springs I the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative was the room location was in front of a large AC Unit that was a little loud but really not a big deal, the grotto and steam room were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    2.5
    Out of the many times I've stayed at the fox this time...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of the many times I've stayed at the fox this time unfortunately I probably won't go back due to the management and how they handled the issues that were apparent...partying all night long and food was cold and half portions with forgotten items - horrible horrible horrible experience...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    Bad value for money, and won't come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Room too small; 2) Un-lubricant doors and windows make annoying sounds everytime you use them and disturb sleeping; 3) Room lighting was too dim especially those on the ground level cos you have to lower the blinds for privacy.

    Location and the hot spring.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small and very hot!! Had to have the window open all night and with a generator outside it proved very noisy. Bathroom very small. TV limited channels. Room not serviced during our stay, we reported it to reception on booking out and the reaction we had was ‘we’ll let the housekeeping team know’.

    Two night stay which was enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    4.6
    Unimpressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really low quality and poor choice. The dining area was dirty. The tables were very sticky. The room was small. Everything just felt cheap and outdated.

    The location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous Banff view and fantastic hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a little more room around the buffet breakfast area

    Suite was perfect for our family. The balcony was nice as well. Loved the hot pool. We truly loved our stay at the Fox hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    The rooms are big and the bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's little bit farther from the centre.

    The rooms are big and the bed was really comfortable. The restaurant in the hotel serves delicious meals. The pool (hot tube) was amazing and was a lot of fun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ac. We were hot. Fairly expensive but I guess everything in Banff is expensive. We visited in May, off season but still very expensive.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic property close to downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of a walk into downtown but definitely an easy walk.

    Location on the Main Street was great, spacious rooms and no hesitation in giving us a discounted upgrade. Love the kitchen facilities and size of the bedrooms as well as multiple bathrooms in the 2 bedroom rooms. We also loved the cave style pool!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Easy check in and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Doubles
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small pool. It was nice but not enough space. I wish there had been a bathroom on the man floor (had a 1 bedroom suite).

    Easy check in and out. Loved the kitchenette space. The coffee in the room was very good. Really like the set up of the rooms (except bathroom)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Great stay, we upgraded to a king deluxe suite maybe a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Great stay, we upgraded to a king deluxe suite maybe a bit big for the two of us but made the visit a little extra special. The beds are so comfortable and all was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay when you’re in Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, nice rooms. Very friendly staff. Awesome Hot Tub. It was my wife’s birthday and they‘ve put a wine-bottle as well as a greeting card in the room when we arrived. Very very nice :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    It was a nice setting, hot tub is beautiful, rooms are cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable, our tv didn't work but no one was available to fix it, and there was a huge crack in our sink.

    It was a nice setting, hot tub is beautiful, rooms are cute.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    The bed was so comfy and the thermal spa was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bath was really small and the balcony layout was poor as the table blocked the door from opening.

    The bed was so comfy and the thermal spa was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    The pool is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym is not well equipped.

    The pool is awesome. The hotel is well located, close to shops and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and very cleaned. Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Just loved our stay and the price point was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub was uncomfortable... that’s about the only complaint I could come up with.

    Loved the hot tub and the room, though quaint, was wonderful! Chilli’s delivered right to our room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Good trip. Would have been excellent if sofa bed had been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bed sofa was not great for my adult daughter - who fortunately could stay elsewhere in Banff. Staff provided matres topper x2 which helped but still not great. The sofa bed did look like it had seen better days. Otherwise accommodation was comfortable. Would have liked a hob for cooking but we managed with eating out and takeaway. Cooked breakfast would have been good as we were skiing - was available at extra cost. It is a fair walk into town - especially going home as very cold when we were there but we could have waited for bus so largely our fault and balanced with pick up to ski resort bus usually lots of space getting on and drop off also early stop - pretty good.

    Location was good with bus stop next door for access to ski resorts. Would have been excellent if only 4 of us staying. Breakfast buffet was fine. Facilities to make waffles great. Hot pool great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are amazing. We put in the notes that it was our eight year old’s birthday and they had balloons and a little present waiting for him AND for his little sister too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Check in was quick, breakfast included was nice, love the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room set up was awkward and unwelcoming. And the AC unit was located in the living room far from the bedroom and the temperature controls in the bedroom did nothing. There was no way to cool down the bedroom and it was so hot in the bedroom.

    Check in was quick, breakfast included was nice, love the grotto (except for the loud stag that was drinking in the grotto). This was my 4th stay at the hotel but the most disappointing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    They upgraded us to a suite for my friends birthday for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast wasn’t what I was expecting, you hav to make your own waffles (which is fine) but not at all what I was thinking when I was told buffet. Great staff working at chilis.

    They upgraded us to a suite for my friends birthday for a really good price and it was a beautiful room! The beds were so comfy I did not want to leave....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Our stay was excellent overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told my room had a fridge so I brought perishables & there was no fridge.

    Excellent Breakfast! Beds are very comfy. Hot pool has an excellent atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.6
    Terrible value. Stay elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room was extremely warm / no circulation, no AC so had to open the window which resulted in hearing EVERY single thing from the outside courtyard area - Room was extremely SMALL for what you pay for it - Property was so noisy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.0
    Does not deserve a 4 star rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shabby and run down. Carpet stained, furniture beat up. There was literally a light hanging off the wall by its wires with an open electrical box. Room was very small. Awkward washroom layout. Terrible pillows. Overpriced for what you get. Don't be fooled by 4 star rating.

    Clean. Friendly staff. Lobby looked nice. Underground parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Was a great experience, will be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like how the wifi kept cutting out if I was in the living room instead of the bedroom

    I really enjoyed how we had to walk outside to get into our room because it was so beautiful out and the views are spectacular

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Stay at the Fox
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room was clean, until I dropped something and found garbage, dust, and coin under counter and along side couch. Also for the price, bed could be more comfortable. Room is also very cranped.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Setting is beautiful. Spa is gorgeous. Buffet is good, but only continental. Eggs and meat extra, but nicely done.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel with only a few minor flaws
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Showers had weak water pressure, rooms were a tad dated and small for the price (furniture was crowded in the room), and the walls were a bit thin, leaving you to hear everyone walking by and potentially your neighbours (wasn't an issue for us, we had no neighbours).

    The bed was superb, I will be thinking about that bed while falling asleep in my own bed for the foreseeable future. The location was good, only about a 7 minute walk from downtown Banff, the cave-like indoor hot tub was good if a little suspiciously foamy. The staff were excellent and personable right down to the friendly wait staff at the Chili's downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Our stay was relaxing and fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed!!! It was old and extremely uncomfortable. The fixtures and furniture in the room were visibly worn and in need of either a paint job or replacement. And the underground parking - there are chains dangling from the clearance bar - which scratch the hell out of your roof if your vehicle even remotely touches them. I specifically asked if our truck would fit due to the size etc - and nothing was mentioned about the chains. Put something on those chains so they don’t damage another vehicle! Or don’t let tricks into the underground parking.

    The hotel is in a great location. The staff were all friendly and sociable. The hot tub was very unique and nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    The people were all amazing service was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet was leaking in our bathroom. I understand stuff like this happens, but I used all our towels to dry up the mess, and maintenance just left them in our bathtub. I know it’s where u our dirty towels also, but we did not receive any new ones, or even really want to use the bathroom, as the tub was filled with toilet water towels until we left;)

    The waffle Station was awsome! As well I loved the plain yogurt! Most continental breakfasts are filled with sweets;) there was lots of healthy option and still lots of delicious snacks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    It was a nice stay , not what I expected and not sure if I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was dissapointed with the room,we couldn’t see the fire in the fireplace very well because the glass was clouded over with white film, the place didn’t look very clean, lots of dirty corners and floors and the furniture was not in good condition. I tapped my foot on the rug in the living room and dirt clouded up. Was grossed out a bit by the gob of hair that was on the shower wall but the tiles were dark so could have easily been missed. The wallpaper was peeling or damaged in many places and it just wasn’t what I expected for how much we paid for the room.

    The make your own waffles for breakfast were delicious and the grotto pool was very relaxing , best time to go was around 10am , less ppl. The balcony was nice with a good view of the mountains , the front desk lady was helpful, friendly and kind. We got a nice little gift for our birthday celebration of a bottle of wine 🍷

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    We were very pleased with our decision to stay at Fox! The staff was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Doubles
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we stayed in the biggest room you had, king loft with two doubles. Great sized room which we used to gather our family around before dinners etc. The room just looked tired, for the money I would have hoped the lamps didn't have holes in them, and the wallpaper torn etc.

    the coffee was excellent and our server ( who was from Toronto 17 years ago, sorry dont know his name) was so awesome. He made our two breakfasts so special. The food was good , waffles very good, boiled eggs very good. Fruit was a tad off but Im sure they were just out of season.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love this hotel. I’ve stayed here before and it’s a really nice hotel for the price. Free breakfast and parking is a nice bonus and close 10 min walk to town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay with a spa and wonderful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice and clean, a good size for two people. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a wonderful choice for breakfast, everyone can find what they like - eggs, toast, loads of fruit and Great waffles. The hotel also has a spa, unfortunately, we did not have time to use it. Maybe next time we come to Banff. And another bonus - deer roam freely around the hotel, so you can bump in them anytime.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable! Definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the rooms shower was horrible! It sometimes was so low that it didn’t even keep the shower on.

    The beds were very comfortable and the room was excellent. We loved the hot pool!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Our stay was fantastic, the room was luxurious, the grotto hot pools and sauana was so relaxing too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit softer than I liked but I forgot my pillow at home.

    Loved the loft with the king bed! The huge windows provided a great view too! The grotto hot pools and sauna were fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't stay here again. It was nice with the hot tub but that's pretty much the only perk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two hiccups...they checked us into a different room than I booked. I booked a two bed room and they gave me one bed room. I was staying with my father. Time was spent waiting & changing rooms. Then discovered by using one of the key cards it was not locking the room when we were out!!!!! We have no idea how many times it remained unlocked while we were out before we noticed.

    The hot tub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    The room that was offered was cramped and very low quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that was offered was cramped and very low quality for the cost compared to other hotels nearby. The staff offered an upgrade at check-in and so I believe was part of the scam. I had to upgrade. The accomodation ended up blowing my budget at $200 more than expected. I will not stay at this property again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was an earlier check in

    Really enjoyed staying there Close to everything Caves were awesome Break fast great Even had gluten free choices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Size of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level from hot tub. Breakfast was basic for the price charged. We would have preferred paying less and having breakfast out given the breakfast provided.

    Size of the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Our dinner were great! We do have Filipino server at Chili that night and he is very nice and friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do have one staff that day and she told me she was just borrowed but i confirm that day if we can extend our stay until 3pm same room and she check it and she told us we can do that she even told me that we can just call in the morning to confirm the amount of the extension hours but when we call in the morning the staff told us we can't stay in the smae room for additional hours cause it is book already they need to move us if that's the case. So me and my husband decided not to extend anymore cause it is hustle if we will change room although they told us when we check in that it is available and just call on the next day to confirm the amount of extension.

    Our stay is awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    Not completely what I expected for the money I paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool change room was very dirty, the “guest laundry” was constantly being used by hotel to clean linens and towels, the shower was broken, the room was connected to another, walls very thin, breakfast included is not very good at all... unless you like cereal and waffles. Otherwise the hotel was pretty interesting, and the hot tub was nice!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect price nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge and walking outside to get to the hot tub.it just snowed and the sidewalk was not shovel so it was slippery. Only 1 luggage rack

    I like the coffee in the room and the beds were great. I love the safety deposit box. Love the free transit option with our room key. Love the breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellant place to stay in banff. The cave hot pool was the highlight of my kids trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better branded bathroom toiletries. Not necessary, but would be attractive!

    We booked a superior 2 bedroom suite and it had a downstairs room. Perfect size and very comfortable!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Great time in Banff with a cosy stay and friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baths too small and shallow. Some simple cooked items at breakfast would be nice.

    Great main beds, sofa bed not great. Suite very cosy and we'll equipped. Good parking and location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed my stay would visit Banff again but stay in different hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Doubles
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options were a little limited The room very poorly lit The spa was un clean caught an ear infection after using the facility A bit to far out of main Town thoroughfare

    Nice suite and good staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great stay, will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fox was great to stay at- Staff were friendly and answered all questions! is a bout a 10 minute walk to main shops but bus stop right outside is free with your hotel key and the walk is beautiful anyway!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    I can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location with some breathing scenery surrounding it. Easy access to ski resort transport and only a few minutes walk from the town centre. The onsite restaurant has amazing food and drinks!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: