Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Canada hotel reviews
  3. Alberta hotel reviews
  4. Banff hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Fox Hotel and Suites

Reviews of Fox Hotel and Suites This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

461 Banff Avenue, T1L 1H8 Banff, Canada

#24 of 47 hotels in Banff

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1449 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed our stay although too short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon check in the host made offer to upgrade room which we did, Room very cozy. Room safe was an added bonus. We went to the cave hot pool which was very relaxing, Change rooms with keyed lockers for a quarter were appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    6.7
    Not as great as my first time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can hear others all night long, neighbors were very loud. When made a noise complaint, it didn't stop., 2 days no sleep. when addressed they only offered a 10% discount on my next stay. The suite was a bit run down and part of the wall paper was coming off the wall. Requested a 2 bedroom which advertised a Kind suite in one room and 2 beds in the second room. Ended up with 2 suites both double beds. Had to sleep in a separate bed from my husband as the beds were only doubles.

    The food was good, the hot tub was great, the beds were comfortable, lots of space

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    8.5
    Convenient location cool and fun grotto hot springs super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds could be updated with face lift for rooms

    Convenient location cool and fun grotto hot springs super plus the hotel gave us bus passes for local transportation.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    5.8
    We had been referred to this hotel and had expected better facility and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'mountain view" that we had paid extra for as an upgrade was a disappointing side partly covered view. The hot tub was a dangerously hot 42C. While this may be a deliberate deterrent to soak longer, it is not fair to guests who long to have a comfortable soak after a day's outing in the cold. Breakfast was so-so. Our room was not cleaned until we returned at 4 pm and had to call for it to be cleaned.

    Room had high ceilings with loft.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.5
    nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 207 is not big enough for a dog as well. We paid $25 extra for this. The towel service in the hot tub changing rooms was appalling.

    I looked thati could take breakfast to the room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    8.3
    Aside from the bathroom/sink locations, everything about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom sink was separate from the toilet and bathtub.

    Aside from the bathroom/sink locations, everything about the room and breakfast met our expectations.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    7.5
    Loved the underground parking and grotto hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some things need a little attention. Railings coming loose , lampshade had a hole in it. Minor things.

    Loved the underground parking and grotto hot tub. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.8
    Very good place to spend the long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fan in the bathroom, no robe provided to use the hot tub and no massage available in the building.

    Overall I love their hot tub and breakfast included! It’s a nice property! The staff is very polite and helpful!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean, although a little small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were some drunk people shouting in the early hours, went on for quite a while. Sounded like they were having a party. They only seemed to stop when a lady shouted that she would call the police. Not sure where security were.

    The room was clean, although a little small. Free underground parking. Free continental breakfast. Good location. Quaint, pretty hotel. I think we would definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and enjoyable. We will be coming back with our kids in the future, very impressed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only issue was the vending machine on the lower level not giving change back, not a knock to the hotel though.

    Location was great, staff was super friendly and easy to deal with. Rooms were super cozy and clean. Underground pool was fantastic 👍

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    8.8
    Fall escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing missing was a fireplace.

    The Fox Hotel was quiet, clean, and very comfortable. The hot pool was great! The staff were very personable and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.6
    It was fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I traveled with my Daughter & Son & I am from Ireland my son lives in Calgary & it was daughter's first time in Canada she loved the hot spa in your hotel, until the next time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    8.3
    Nice, easy, no frills stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is the one of the furthest from the town centre. As the town is small, this means it's only a 15 minute walk away so not really major, but still the location isn't the best. Breakfast was a little lacking in variety, also charging $2.50 for a side of bacon isn't great.

    Sizeable rooms, powerful shower, can get adjoining rooms if you need, underground hot tub grotto (although the water is full of chlorine & salts, the bubbling side stings the eyes).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.6
    Nice Sta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't watch TV, maybe the remote is out of battery. Breakfast just OK, because if add beacon should pay 2.75 for each piece.

    Room is very clean, nice kitchen. Very good Spring pool in this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Clean and big room, staff was nice, 5 min walk to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need to update electronics. TV was old and the cable was SD. Extension cords and cable connectors hanging out along the walls.

    Clean and big room, staff was nice, 5 min walk to the main strip. Free breakfast and underground parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.0
    Tad disappointed for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Size of room were very tiny, walls were very thin, room was too hot; had heat turned off for 2 days and still 22 degrees in room, breakfast very weak; selection of fruit poor, lack of variety of food available for breakfast was not good. No fridge in room, and only 1 ice machine for entire hotel located in parking level

    Restaurant on site; Chillis, friendly staff, and hot pool was okay

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Couldn’t have asked for better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived in the morning after a long overnight bus, the staff let us check in early AND gave us a room upgrade. They were super helpful in advising what trails to do and generally very kind and always ready to help. We particularly loved the robes and the spa facilities at the end of a long hiking day!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.5
    The cave hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room sizes a little cramped but loved the decor. No fridge in our room but fortunately we had a connection with the next room which did so we shared there fridge.

    The cave hot tub. Staff left us a welcome present of a small bottle of sparkling wine to celebrate our anniversary.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    10
    Fabulous Mountain Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid for a moderate upgrade with a gorgeous view of the mountains. The cavernous hot tub was peaceful and felt natural, even if it wasn't. Great place for acouple.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    4.6
    Poor hospitality for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we booked was not what was given to us. Wrong room layout and bed size. Front desk gave a mere apology but offered nothing else to ensure our return. Way overpriced for a night’s stay!

    Location is great

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My only negative comment is that most of the time there was only 1 person at reception which meant we had to wait for quite a while at times before we were seen to.

    We upgraded to a larger room which I was really pleased about as I don’t think it would’ve been big enough for us otherwise. Room was very satisfactory and clean. Friendly staff. Lovely continental breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2 double beds instead of a king/queen

    The hotel is wonderful. Staff were very accommodating. Rooms are small, with no option to have a king /queen bed to trade for the 2 doubles. (Without paying extra) overall.. it’s a great hotel!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.8
    Was very convenient being able to access your room from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had barking dogs all around us. I think there needs to be an area just for pet friendly rooms and an area for guests not bringing animals

    Was very convenient being able to access your room from outside

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.6
    Nice quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is a short walk from the main shopping section. Could be too long walk for older or people with mobility issues. City shuttle available, though

    Nice quiet hotel. Nice staff. Spacious suite.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.6
    Have stayed multiple times and will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Prior to arrival I requested a room with a good view since it was my boyfriend’s 26th birthday. Upon arrival our room was upgraded and a bottle of wine and birthday card was waiting for him in the room. Thanks so Fox Hotel and Suites and staff for making his day so great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    6.7
    Nice accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Doubles
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was at the end of Banff Ave so, it was a bit of a walk to shops and restaurants. The hotel room we we’re given had multiple floors which was not indicated upon booking. We requested a single storey and had to pay a fee to upgrade. I would suggest asking if multiple levels before checking in if you’re unable to use stairs.

    Breakfast was lovely, staff we’re nice and Beds we’re comfortable (medium) but not plush. Linen, towels and amenities we’re all great. Guest Luandry was excellent to have access to.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing that we did not like.

    Staff were very friendly and the position of the hotel was great. Short walk to the centre of town. Restaurant had a good selection of food and was reasonable on price. We had a two bedroom suite, plenty of room for 4 adults. Lift from foyer so access to all floors was good. We did not use but the natural hot bath looked great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    7.9
    Loft room was light and airy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Loft Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small bathroom. Breakfast looked so unappetising that we didn’t have any, (and we were there for 3 days). Central heating was easy to operate. 4 star-no robes/slippers??

    Loft room was light and airy. Comfy bed. Small gym. Near other restaurants. Separate sitting area. Small patio.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were offered and accepted an upgrade to a suite for a few more dollars on arrival. Having the bedroom on a lower floor allowed one of the guests who had just arrived from overseas to get some extra sleep while we stayed up. Perfect set up for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    4.6
    Would not recommend this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 1st room we were given was in the basement. The 2nd room was on the 4th floor and better but still for the money this was a big disappointment. The room was just beat up. The furniture was older and tired. The living room stand up lamp was so shaky you had to hold it up when trying to operate. One day no maid service was provided. This room was expensive and we expected nice accommodations. Again, very disappointing. This was our 35th anniversary weekend. My wife and I have both worked in this industry so we know and understand the business well. This was bad.

    Location was ok. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel apart from our one problem, great in house...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had asked for 2 beds and this had been confirmed by the hotel and they had also stated it may be a sofa bed which was fine. But at 11pm when in my pyjamas I pull out the bed and it's not made. I had checked my booking earlier. When contacting reception they were apologetic and sent up the houseman with linen and to make the bed but I just made the poor quality sofa bed myself. It was disappointing when you pay so much for resort style to not get the one simple request done then have to sleep on a very thin lumpy mattress.

    Lovely hotel apart from our one problem, great in house restaurant and very helpful staff. A beautiful town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    5.4
    Comfortable beds, stuffy rooms, no air conditioners, pricey but it is Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price very expensive for a view of a courtyard. Complimentary coffee wasn't always replaced.Room was small and stuffy. Windows only open at the top.No air conditioners.

    The beds were comfortable, and nice hot tub.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Doubles
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived a little early for our reservation but the staff was able to accommodate and check us in early. Also, they were able to extend our check out time an hour later since we have little kids (3yo and 11mo old) to make sure we are able to get them ready by the time we leave. Although it was only one night stay, we enjoyed our room. We would love to stay here longer on our next visit to Banff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.1
    we only stayed one night and for that purpose it was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was expensive, they automatically ask for $50 deposit for extras, certain really nice, others okay

    I liked the convenient location It was walking distance to lots

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    3.8
    Not worth the money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived late. NO WHERE TO PARK. Had to get up a 8 and move our vehicle. There was no movie channel - having issues with the provider (spoke to three different people before we figured that out. SO overpriced. And the staff are undertrained - asked about the vending machine and ice (basement). The property is old and out of date the bedding is even shabby. Def over priced at $429 a night. WAYYY off the strip walk a km just to hit downtown.

    The Cleaning Staff was very nice and did a great job. We seemed to miss them for two days but when called they came. The property is overpriced. Stay at the Moose for the extra $60 a night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was hot in the night with no air con

    Very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Convenient location with free bus into the centre. Food in the bar was nice. Staff very friendly, particular mention to Tom who looked after breakfast and was always at hand for a coffee top up and such a jolly man!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    7.9
    Nice Rooms... But No Air Conditioning For Hot Summer Nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While I doubt it would be necessary most of the year, we were in the middle of a Canadian heat wave with temps in the 80's (30º C)... and there was no air conditioning in the bedrooms. The living room was air condition and they did supply fans... but it's 2018... air conditioning should be standard.

    We spent 2 days at the Fox Hotel. We got a 2 bedroom with living room suite. Or... a one bedroom suite with an attached room with a queen bed and bath. The hotel was nicely appointed and had a nice hot springs style spa downstairs. The hotel itself in a moderate walk from the main part of town but that was okay. We enjoying walking. The rooms were clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    5.8
    This is an overpriced odd hotel - the ‘standard rooms’ are below standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning in standard rooms - impossible in summer. Very small rooms for a high price.

    Hot pool; attractive construction; reasonable breakfast overall despite negative reviews.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    7.5
    Family trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in a standard room 2 adults and a child, once sofa bed was turned out you could nearly open front door to room, bit of a safety issue I think! Mentioned this at front desk and were told these rooms were only really for 2 people (yet you can book for 3). Other point to note is that there is no sink in the bathroom, it's in the bedroom.

    Fab hot pool, breakfast staff especially Tom were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    10
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have included a warm protein like scrambled eggs. This is the only feedback in what has been a lovely stay.

    Excellent staff, spacious room and good amenities. Just the right location, in downtown but a few blocks from the hustle bustle. Nice concept for the pool and sauna to make it resemble a hot spring, kids enjoyed it. The view from the room was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    The staff are wonderful throughout this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately there was no air conditioning in our room, so it was very warm, as we booked for August. There was a fan supplied, which was nice, but we were surprised not to have air conditioning.

    The staff are wonderful throughout this hotel! The hotel is exceptionally clean, and well tended, and the lobby and the rooms are lovely. Being within walking distance of the downtown area, but far enough to ensure it is quiet, this is the ideal location to stay at! We’ll book again here for certain!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    7.5
    Great location, nice staff, but choose your room carefully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The very small double room. ie with 2 double beds and very limited space for luggage.

    We liked the suite that we were upgraded to and the fact that staff responded to our request for a change of room after the one that we were initially allocated to was dark, cramped and not to our liking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    6.3
    Adequate
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds soft and old Terrible coffee No A/c in bedroom part of 2 BR FAMILY suite

    Great location. Not in the craziness of downtown but easy walk! Glorified motel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    9.6
    We stayed here and had a great time, room was lovely, spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here and had a great time, room was lovely, spa and pool area was great and the bar and food area looked good although we didn't eat there. Easy walk to town with lots of restaurants to choose from. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    8.3
    Good location for Banff, free travel on buses around Banff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air conditioning only a small window for ventilation. Car park is a bit tight driving in/out. A lot of mosquito's around this year, make sure you have some repellent.

    Good location for Banff, free travel on buses around Banff, bus stop outside hotel. On site underground car park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    7.1
    Rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    one staff from australia,didnt give cleary information about the location of the room, our room is facing outside the building and had diffrent entrance, the staff didnt even said sorry when i asked her again about the room, she gave 2 number of room, the one is false, i had to went back and ask for twice where is ecxatly the location, is really annoying with a very big luggages,i had to carry the luggages with a stairs to the room, the room couldnt reach using lift

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    7.5
    Close to chillis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cramped. There was no A/C and it was quite uncomfortable. We had a fan provided but it squeaked all night. It was not a pleasant stay. It was the worst place we stayed throughout our long trip and the most expensive. Breakfast was not the best either. Only boiled eggs and no meat. Only ice was in the parking garage.

    Close to chillis

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    A Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom is a little stuffy but they do provide a fan.

    What a beautiful spot to stay at in Banff. We had a one bedroom suite with a balcony that overlooked the mountains. The hot tub in the cave was another plus! We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needing to pay extra if you wanted bacon at the continental breakfast. Stain on the comforter. Booking.com not honoring the cheaper rates for the last two nights— only the more expensive rate of the two. Then when I called to inquire, the rep saying that the notes only state the more expensive rate being agreed upon.

    Location. Pool. Getting a refrigerator on day 3, as it is not included with basic rooms. Thankful for that. Nice front desk staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.5
    great location and people, small rooms and could be cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the rooms could have been cleaner and they were very small, really only suitable for 2 max, not suitable for children as no space to get around. Also as there is only a door between rooms it was quite noisy

    lovely breakfast and lovely pool. Staff were attentive and always happy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were dismayed with our “4 star” room. It was tiny, room for one suitcase only, poor view of a small inner courtyard, and the second floor external walkway was very noisy with loud chatty guests passing by starting at six AM. No air conditioning. An upgraded room may have been more acceptable, but we were very disappointed with our pricey basic unit.

    Room was very clean, breakfast had a good selection of fruit, waffles, and basic cereals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel staffed by incredibly friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lovely hotel staffed by incredibly friendly and helpful people. The onsite restaurant was amazing, and the service was outstanding. The upgrade to a suite was a lovely surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    Great leisure hotel close to all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Really good leisure hotel Booked 2 bed deluxe suite for 4 adults. The suite had 2 bedrooms 2 baths (1 en suite) plus a seating dining and kitchen room The kitchen was setup for self catering Rooms very clean Breakfast was very good Staff friendly and professional Food in Chilis bar very good Location very good Overall a very pleasant stay for 3 nights

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again. Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our only small complaints would be the bed was too firm and the program that runs the TV is annoying to use.

    Nice rooms and enjoyed the bathtub. The staff in the restaurant went out of their way for my son and I who are Celiac. Loved the handmade cold process soaps in room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.2
    The location is central, and within walking distance of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only complaint was that the glass leading out onto our balcony was very dirty and covered in kids handprints.

    The location is central, and within walking distance of the village.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    8.0
    Good location, very helpful staff, shame about all those stairs, smokers and noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Doubles
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stairs. Dragging heavy suitcases up and down stairs. There was a lift to one floor but then the suitcase had to dragged down one set of stairs and then up one set of stairs. The accommodation was on two levels, the bathroom and shower/toilet area being on the lower level. There was semi spiral stairs going down. Outside was very noisy with people going past and traffic noise. One day we had to wait a while to go into our door because 4 people were smoking near our door, just outside their door, 1 metre away, leaving cigarette butts. During a public holiday there was still a party going on at 3am next door.

    Breakfast was very good. Fresh fruit was served and replenished quickly. The waffle machine was very popular. Staff at breakfast were very attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.2
    Our room was upgraded on check in to a king loft room which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A continental breakfast buffet was included and was pleasant, although it would’ve been nice to have had some hot buffet food too; egg, sausage, bacon etc.

    Our room was upgraded on check in to a king loft room which we loved. We really enjoyed the hot pool area inspired by the historical Cave & Basin site. The attached restaurant (Chili’s) was really nice, we had dinner and drinks here multiple times. Their lime snow-jito is delicious! Our server Jay who was from the Philippines was really nice and gave us lots of tips on things to do in the area. All of the staff were lovely, both in the hotel and the restaurant. One day we rented bicycles from the hotel which was $30 each for the day, a great way to explore the town of Banff. Location was good, only a 10 min walk to the main town area. Good secure underground parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel, perfect spot, love the cave hot tub, breakfast is great , love the front lobby ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Doubles
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise walking above us kids jumping, stairs, like the one level better next time , too far from the elevator hard to move luggage from parkade to the suite outside ,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff and a good, comfortable room. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Common areas in elevator lobbies (from room side) and door area not well maintained. Pigeons were camped right outside our door for days with all their poop there too. Elevator waiting area had chicken bones and huge dust balls in it all week - guess no staff is assigned that responsibility.

    Room was nice, bed very comfortable and we had a fireplace in the room! Checking was easy, staff were friendly when we asked questions and met any request we had. Enjoyed the hot springs I the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative was the room location was in front of a large AC Unit that was a little loud but really not a big deal, the grotto and steam room were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    2.5
    Out of the many times I've stayed at the fox this time...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Out of the many times I've stayed at the fox this time unfortunately I probably won't go back due to the management and how they handled the issues that were apparent...partying all night long and food was cold and half portions with forgotten items - horrible horrible horrible experience...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    5.8
    Bad value for money, and won't come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Room too small; 2) Un-lubricant doors and windows make annoying sounds everytime you use them and disturb sleeping; 3) Room lighting was too dim especially those on the ground level cos you have to lower the blinds for privacy.

    Location and the hot spring.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room small and very hot!! Had to have the window open all night and with a generator outside it proved very noisy. Bathroom very small. TV limited channels. Room not serviced during our stay, we reported it to reception on booking out and the reaction we had was ‘we’ll let the housekeeping team know’.

    Two night stay which was enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    4.6
    Unimpressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was really low quality and poor choice. The dining area was dirty. The tables were very sticky. The room was small. Everything just felt cheap and outdated.

    The location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous Banff view and fantastic hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need a little more room around the buffet breakfast area

    Suite was perfect for our family. The balcony was nice as well. Loved the hot pool. We truly loved our stay at the Fox hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    8.3
    The rooms are big and the bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's little bit farther from the centre.

    The rooms are big and the bed was really comfortable. The restaurant in the hotel serves delicious meals. The pool (hot tube) was amazing and was a lot of fun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ac. We were hot. Fairly expensive but I guess everything in Banff is expensive. We visited in May, off season but still very expensive.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    Fantastic property close to downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit of a walk into downtown but definitely an easy walk.

    Location on the Main Street was great, spacious rooms and no hesitation in giving us a discounted upgrade. Love the kitchen facilities and size of the bedrooms as well as multiple bathrooms in the 2 bedroom rooms. We also loved the cave style pool!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.9
    Easy check in and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Doubles
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small pool. It was nice but not enough space. I wish there had been a bathroom on the man floor (had a 1 bedroom suite).

    Easy check in and out. Loved the kitchenette space. The coffee in the room was very good. Really like the set up of the rooms (except bathroom)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    Great stay, we upgraded to a king deluxe suite maybe a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to fault

    Great stay, we upgraded to a king deluxe suite maybe a bit big for the two of us but made the visit a little extra special. The beds are so comfortable and all was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay when you’re in Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place, nice rooms. Very friendly staff. Awesome Hot Tub. It was my wife’s birthday and they‘ve put a wine-bottle as well as a greeting card in the room when we arrived. Very very nice :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    6.3
    It was a nice setting, hot tub is beautiful, rooms are cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was really uncomfortable, our tv didn't work but no one was available to fix it, and there was a huge crack in our sink.

    It was a nice setting, hot tub is beautiful, rooms are cute.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    6.7
    The bed was so comfy and the thermal spa was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bath was really small and the balcony layout was poor as the table blocked the door from opening.

    The bed was so comfy and the thermal spa was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.2
    The pool is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym is not well equipped.

    The pool is awesome. The hotel is well located, close to shops and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and very cleaned. Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    10
    Just loved our stay and the price point was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tub was uncomfortable... that’s about the only complaint I could come up with.

    Loved the hot tub and the room, though quaint, was wonderful! Chilli’s delivered right to our room!

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Fox Hotel and Suites Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: