Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gladstone Hotel 3 stars

1214 Queen Street West, M6J 1J6 Toronto, Canada

#34 of 133 hotels in Toronto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 275 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an exceptional time here, the property was only exceeded by the wonderful guest service. If you're looking for a beautiful, unique hotel in the heart of downtown Toronto, look no further! my only downfall was we didn't have the opportunity to enjoy the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small improvement would be a slightly bigger shower, but it's an old building so space is at a premium.

    Hotel was a hub of music, arts - there was a gallery right out side our room and bands, art discussions and various events during the three days we were there. It had a real energy, an interesting history and was right in the middle of Toronto's best neighbourhood for food, culture and nightlife.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in our room slanted so badly you almost fell into the toilet when in the bathroom and getting out of bed. Understand that’s the charm of such an old building but it was quite disconcerting. Also lighting in the bathroom was so low that it was impossible to put on makeup, or my partner to shave. Please invest in full size ironing boards, you have the room to store them, the tiny ones are useless.

    Beautiful historic building in an awesome neighborhood. Proximity to some excellent dive bars was a bonus, if you are into that type of thing. People were super friendly. Comfy bed. Coming from NYC we didn’t find it noisy (others who live in dead quiet towns might).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Left my Phone charger in the washroom, and called in the same day. They told me that any lost items will be put in the lost in found, but when i called to pick up, they didn't find anything. Its obvious that housekeeping stole my charger. Be sure not to leave anything behind Beds are really hard to sleep on

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    washrooms could be updated. one of the doors was broken.

    I loved the individual artisan rooms. parking very reasonable staff super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointing experience. I live in the area and was really excited to check it out. When we entered the room, it was freezing cold. We fiddled with the stat, but it did not seem to be working. The bathroom was extremely small, and cramped. Neither I nor my partner could comfortably fit in the miniature shower, and we are slim. The toiletries were cheap, as were the towels. The decor was ok. Nothing special. Certainly not worth 300 a night on a tuesday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very small and I’m just an average size person. Lighting also not great for getting ready. No coffee when I woke up - had to wait 20 min.

    Loved the location, the decor, the elevator, the character of the building and the art. Really beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise on the weekends. It was quite unbearable and we were in the 4th floor. The hotel has a bar and a club and the noise is impossible to avoid including the crowds of screaming kids outside. We used a noise maker and it wasn't enough for Saturday night. If you want a quite night, by all means avoid this hotel.

    The hotel is very cool with a lot of character. You don't get free breakfast, but the complementary coffee was good, if you purchased food, it was very good, the staff was super friendly, the location was great, although far away from subway stations, the bed small but comfortable. It was overall a positive experience except for...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are extremely small: for two people it is incredibly cramped - particularly the bathroom where you can barely even turn around. The shower was particularly uncomfortable, especially if you are average-tall height. Moreover, the AC unit was extremely loud, and the bed was definitely not the most comfortable. It was highly overpriced for what you actually get.

    The concept of the hotel is quirky and novel; each room being its own artwork is a really neat idea, and the hallways and elevator add to the unique experience of staying in a living art gallery!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't realize there's a nightclub on the main floor on weekends. Our mistake for not researching better. The noise was no issue from our hotel room, however; it's definitely something other travellers might want to know about ;)

    Restaurant is awesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a quirky, arty hotel which is a rare find in Toronto and I love that they do something different but it’s definitely not luxury considering the cost of a room. Small rooms, poor finish of fixtures and fittings and tired looking bathroom.

    The staff were really lovely, super helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room faced Queen Street West and unfortunately the noise was considerable. Not even the ear plugs supplied helped (think that double glazing would be more helpful than giving guests ear plugs)!

    The Gladstone has a creative flair and atmosphere which is nice to soak up. The location is great for exploring the neighbourhoods around Queen Street West while the street car right out the front provided easy access to downtown Toronto. It was nice to have coffee supplied in the mornings too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is friendly but pretty random; they seem very understaffed Food at the Cafe/Bar is very basic; much better breakfast/lunch/dinner options just down the street

    Location and neighborhood

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A floor in my room was dirty, no hair dryer, no refrigerator, no free breakfast, very small shower cabin.

    Gallery, design, location, nice staff, delicious food at the cafe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website photos don’t do justice how gorgeous the rooms are. But that is it.

    The staff were amazing, we had two rooms so it was fantastic to be able to experience different designs! They were all superb!! Just a lovely cool vibe! Clean, tidy, fantastic food, and the staff were outstanding! Will recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This being an old hotel, one of the originals in the city, the structure is not level. You can feel it in the rooms. The bathrooms are incredibly small, the shower can barely fit an adult. It's a good thing my husband and I are quite slim. We knew we might be in trouble when we saw earplugs are supplied in the room. And sure enough, we barely slept all night. Not really because of people being noisy but noises of compressors and motors and such. There's a door that is kept closed in our section and it was consistently slammed with each comings and goings. I was very disappointed also that there was no recycling bins available in the room. In this day in age, it's a must to recycle.

    The hotel has a unique artsy charm to it. I loved the old elevator and large staircase. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The location for us was perfect. We were pretty much in walking distance to the shops we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Gladstone had the best Wifi on any place I stayed when travelling for 5 weeks (Very handy when your travel plans get disrupted because of Hurricane Irma) The staff were all friendly and helpful and the place had an excellent vibe. Tram stop at the front door and supermarket behind the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows are single pain glass, you hear ALL the street noise which is exceptionally loud, people talking, horns blasting at 3am, the noise in the hotel is no better, you can hear everything everyone is saying in their rooms

    The location was probably the best thing about the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a bit claustrophobic but since every room is different could be that it was just our room. The view from the room wasn't very great but it wasn't really noticeable as most of the time we didn't spend in the room anyway.

    We loved our stay at the Gladstone hotel. It's very artsy and every corner of the hotel is interesting and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and the toiletries that they provided were very nice. The location is great, right on the central street of Queen St. a lot of nice cafes and restaurants nearby. We'll definitely recommend it to everyone we know and we'll stay there next time we'll be in Toronto.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was difficult to identify the hotel's outdoor parking area due to poor signage.

    Hotel is in the heart of hipster west end Toronto, close to a great diversity of local shops, restaurants & budding craft beer locations. A really nice place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was so tiny!

    The bed was super soft and the room unique and very nice. The staff was wonderful. Especially liked the elevator operators. Will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff member was rather unfriendly at check in. He was efficient, but all business. We made two special requests through Booking and neither were respected. We requested a parking spot and informed the hotel that it was our wedding anniversary, apparently, they hadn't received (or seemed to care about) either one upon our arrival and check in. Bathrooms - toilets are located very close to the wall making it uncomfortable for some people to use. Also the toilet paper dispenser is very inconveniently located. The showers are plastic mold's and have shower curtains. I get the whole 'vintage feel' thing but we expected a larger and more luxurious bathroom in relation to the cost per night.

    Location, cleanliness, theme of the hotel. AC worked well. TV came pre loaded with popular streaming services and other goodies. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dealing with Booking.com on this reservation. There were a number of inconsistencies with statements on the website vs. what actually was allowable. Will book directly with hotels from now on.

    The Staff is great. Great. Happy, friendly, great sense of humour. Knowledgable. Welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No comment.

    Vintage architecture. Spacious room. Very nice, helpful and attentive staff. Good food. The conference I attended was convened at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we were advised there was no parking so we paid to park on the street and then found out our room included parking which we then found out by "include" means you still have to pay $25 for parking. The shower was very small and barely fit one of us but we just chalked it up to being such an old building.

    I like that each room is a different theme. It would have been nice if the front desk staff told us what theme our room was?? They have great coffees and we loved the old elevator! Very unique place but a bit pricy for one nights accommodation mid week.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Drinks but no drinks fridge in room, great bar but not always open as closed for weddings (one other bar available but not as nice).

    Karaoke night on Friday/Saturday was good fun, room was clean and comfy, bed sheets clean and crisp, good cocktails.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't enough spare plugs, we had to take out the bedside lamp to charge a mobile. The room we stayed was nice but the bathroom was very small. It was on the top floor and you were not allowed to use the lift by yourself, but they forgot to mention that there is a bell to press and someone will come to get you. We had a quick breakfast on our last day the person on duty wasn't very friendly.

    The hotel was a lovely Boutique Hotel with Art on the walls. It was in a great location very close to the centre and to a street called Ossington Avenue which has great restaurants and bars, like Pizzeria Libretto, Salt and Sweaty Betty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were originally attributed was so tiny, we could not walk normally around the bed. The staff gave us another room which was a little bit bigger but still very small . The bathrooms are so small you can't take items out of the toiletry bags to keep them near the basin as there is simply no place available at all, the shower is a plastic cubicle (like in sailing boats) and you cannot move at all inside it and the water pressure is dreadful. Travelling from Europe to Canada for a whole month we do have a lot of luggage and we could not move around the room without bumping into furniture. I must specify my wife and I are both normally sized individuals. Our room No 413 was on the top 4th floor) and we hardly slept during our 4 nights stay, due to the unbearable noise from the A/C machinery on the roof overhead. When leaving our room before checking out, the maid was working on other rooms and showed us two normal,sized and pleasantly decorated rooms. When we told the reception desk attendant that our room had been far too small and noisy and we Didi not understand why they did not give us one of the more normal sized room, he retreated behind platitudes and procedures saying we should have specifically requested those at the time of booking, how we're we to know from pictures on a website?... We were nonetheless charged for three bottles of still water consumed during our stay, which under the circumstances I thought he would have offered us. My advice: avoid this hotel in this nonetheless charming and most interesting part of Toronto.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was done in a victorian style and was *slightly* creepy but we honestly really enjoyed it! We asked for the most unusual room available and the hotel definitely delivered on that. Other people might not like that the room was very small or that it overlooked a grocery store, but we didn't mind at all! We were there to explore the city and we definitely looked forward to returning to our room at the end of each day.

    We were traveling for our honeymoon, and the Gladstone staff had a chilled bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room when we arrived! The bedding was like a fluffy cloud, the AC was perfectly chilly, and we absolutely LOVED the quirky, unusual room! We had so much fun exploring the hallways in the different floors to see the art installations, and the birdcage lift was a lovely and unexpected surprise. The food in the hotel bar was delicious (we had breakfast there on our last day before checkout) and the staff was wonderfully helpful when suggesting restaurants in the area!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had some mobility issues and had to wait for the elevator to come to the 4th floor a number of times

    breakfast was fantastic, staff very friendly. Art exposition was superb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complimentary coffee was always lukewarm and I had 3 cups every morning from 7.30-9am. A kettle in the room would be handy or the use of the one available in the morning. Some of the artwork needed to be secured as the hall fans blew the non framed wall features loose. I had a block of wood on the windowsill the whole stay which had been left after repairs and could of been removed. Possibly housekeeping wasn't sure if it was a feature of the room or not! Generally late afternoon is a rest time for guests in any hotel and I found it a little inconvenient that on all 3 days the room hadn't been attended to before 4.30pm. These are small criticisms as I enjoyed my stay and everyone was very helpful.

    The location was great! The bed was extra comfortable with good linen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms let the place down. The shower wasnt great, didnt get very hot and didnt have great pressure and was teeny tiny. I suppose if you're after a place with a great bathroom then this isn't the place for you. Its not too much of an issue but when you get to your hotel after a really long journey sometimes all you want is a nice long hot shower. I suppose the space adn bathroom facilities are the downside to the old building.

    I loved the quirkiness of the place. I cam with friends so was able to see a few different rooms. They were a lot smaller than they looked on the website, but then how much time do you really spend in the hotel room when you are visiting a place? So that doesn't really matter. There was a great 'buzz' to the place with a lively bar downstairs and a few events were on whilst we were staying, openings of the gallery spaces on each floor etc. It's not like any hotel I've stayed in before and really is individual not only in its decor but its whole feel and livelyness. My room's decor wasnt super artsy, it was kinda just felled with victorian furniture with oriental wallpaper. The sort of room you'd get in an old BnB back in England that hasnt seen and interior designer in a while. A few of my friends rooms were more 'different'. The location was amazing, a short walk to loads of lively bars restaurants and easy to hop on the bus into downtown toronto.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I get that each room was designed by an artist, but room 402...well, let's just say I can see why it's not in your promotional materials. Looks like a teen with a warped view of Victoriana designed it. Ugly, dark, and impractical for modern use.

    Love the hand cranked elevator and slanted staircase. This building is really something. Kudos for maintaining as much 1800s charm as possible. Also liked the easy access to public transit, not to mention the art and free coffee in the hallways.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy/lively at night. Only hotel i hsve come across that gives out earplugs in the rooms. In reality i had no noise problems in my room. However TV limited unless you have personal netfliks account.

    Great staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was small, cruise style.

    Staff was very good Nice historical old hotel with a cool vibe, I like the old elevator. Clean, comfortable. I couldnt try the restaurant or the bar but they were always full of people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking, while just across the street, seemed a bit sketchy. There were on my 6 parking spaces and it was in a parking lot that didn't seem the most secure.

    The food and drinks at the bar were delicious! The room was very clean and comfortable. The ambiance of The hotel was swanky and refreshing. The staff was accommodating when asking about how to get around and giving advice on where to go to eat or find entertainment.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant and cafe very nice. Staff welcoming. My room 406 was a little dark. Fun atmosphere. Loved the book of instructions in the room: sample: Q: Do we have room service? A: Kinda. Go to down to the restaurant and order take out. ...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful hotel that employs quite possibly the nicest hotel staff we have ever met. They provided us with heaps of local information, arranged for our laundry to be sent away and picked up and helped us no end when we had problems with our credit cards. Genuinely kind and friendly people!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit of a struggle not having a boiler and a fridge in the room with a 14 month. But I was able to get one at the end. The wifi did not work well at the bar on the ground floor.

    Overall I loved my stay. The staff were amazing. The bed was very comfortable. I loved the art work in the hallways.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More direction where things were in the room, took me 2 days to find the TV and 3 to find the DVD player(not that I used it) but if it is in the room would have been nice to know where is was, My safe also, did not work (was given a free breakfast), but for the length of my stay had to carry my valuables around with me.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an historic property so the room was small. Still, it was adequate for one person.

    The elevator is the oldest in Toronto and requires an operator. The hotel has a very lively and youthful vibe, with interesting artwork.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast brunch did not have some of the items on the menu that they were advertising. Food was just ok.

    The room was nice. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking...condo the best and felt safe as a female traveller

    Art, ambience and fantastic meal. Not the clinical dry 'same as' hotel experince.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Parking No Parking

    The check-in desk folks were pleasant, friendly & quick to make our stay perfect It was our 33rd Wedding Anniversary & they sent up non-alcoholic with toasting glasses #tolove

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny, even for boutique hotel. Bumped my knee on the bed a couple of times trying to navigate the room. Thankfully we spent most of the night on the town. There was no A/C on a warm night and the room was 90 degrees Fahrenheit. Staff were unapologetic about conditions and claimed they could not turn on the A/C because it was February, which was likely true. Still, it was a sweaty night and better customer service would have gone a long way. As a tall man, I could barely fit in the shower. The shower is a stand-up shower and there's not a lot of room for movement. If you're a larger person, I could see this being a huge limitation. Not that we watched much TV, but the TV is small (23 inches perhaps) located on the top corner of a wall and faces not at the bed, but straight ahead at the opposite wall. The rooms were expensive despite these shortcomings. Also, there was no parking available at the hotel so we had to park down the street. Not a huge inconvenience. Likely wouldn't stay here again.

    Great location. Love that area and we were able to walk to our destinations, which was great. The art in the room was unique, which was pretty cool. The hotel has as lot of character. Nightlife at the hotel is fun and lively. There was a wedding at the bar and the place was jumping. Not a great place to stay if you're looking for a quiet night in, but otherwise, it's great. The hotel does provide ear plugs if you need them. We didn't use them.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were in a 3rd floor Queen Street side room (309) - noisy from traffic, including streetcar stop right outside from early hours until quite late. Ear plugs were provided (nice touch) which I sleep fine in, so not a huge problem...but just be aware.

    Exceedingly good and friendly service from all staff. Nice vibe - both day and night. Bars in the hotel are good, and proximity to the many treats of Queen St West is fantastic. Wonderful location. Excellent brunch available. Agent Cooper approved coffee outside rooms from 7-11am was great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queen st facing room was very noisy (but expected). Both rooms were over 80 degrees and would not cool down.

    Great location, super friendly staff, unique decorated rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting. The lighting in the rooms was rather somber due to the lamp shade cover fabric and use of long lasting bulbs. While the 'red room' is cute, having a red hue on everything is not. Bit noisy being directly on Queen Street.

    Staff went above and beyond to deal with my unusual request. Very accommodating. Loved this art display on during Feb. All around super.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the restaurant could have been better. The server took our drink order then he seemed to forget about us .

    We like staying at smaller boutique hotels. The layout of the Gladstone, with the gallery space on each floor gave it a nice,relaxed feel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My eggs were a bit cold for breakfast even though the presentation was excellent!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The art was everywhere; it was great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room small and the shower was even small for my teenage daughter

    Location was good for why we were there. Loved the old wood and how they kept a lot of the original details

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were horribly uncomfortable and in dire need of replacement!!! Shower was extremely small and we are small people! Couldn't even shave my legs.

    The hotel was very hip and rooms were decorated nicely! Great drinks!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was rocking on a Friday night. Lots of young people around. As a 50 something business traveler, it was bit loud. The room was smaller and the bathroom was definitely dated. It was VERY clean and the staff were amazing. Made up for a somewhat tired looking room and a noisy environment.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the hotel is conveniently located, it is located right on Queen Street which is extremely noisy. I had to write an important licensing examination the next day and was unable to get any sleep due to the amount of noise coming from Queen Street. Even with the ear plugs and heavy blinds closed it did not help. My friend stayed at the back of the building and could not sleep either due to the noise.

    The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant located in the hotel serves fantastic food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heater in our room didn't work, but the staff immediately gave us another room.

    The art and the design of the rooms. Staff was friendly. Location was great, it was very close to great shops and Queens street is a fun street to be around. Food was Ok.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Emphasized cool over service. I arrived a few hours before official check in time and most hotels mange to find or quickly clean a room. Although they said they would, they just let housekeeping go about their business and after I told them the room had been cleaned finally gave it to me.

    Fun design, well done.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers in the regular doubles are old school motel stalls -- cute, I guess, as retro, but it really makes it hard to shave your legs.

    The textile show on the third floor was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking fee is hefty, our room was indeed very small

    Arty atmosphere, lively and inviting environment, excellent arrangement of art, accomodation, dining and entertainment

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in the small side, but fine for 2 people.

    Great location. Very unique rooms. Cool vibe, and staff was very helpful. Breakfast at the on site restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel is very noisy because of the set-up. Unfortunately there was also a wedding during our stay which ended up in a big party next to our room.

    bikes were nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I realize it is Toronto but the size of the room was a little ridiculous. I a 5 '3 small woman and when I put my arms up to wash my hair in the shower my elbows would touch the wall, you can imagine how that panned out for my 6'2 husband. Also, the location is not that great.

    The setup of the hotel is very unique, and beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old elevator cool but also require staff to operate.

    Great bed and they acknowledge that the location can be noisy at night and include ear plugs. Really funky place avant garde. Old elevator cool but also require staff to operate.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for the size if the room and amenities. Did not match pics in their ads. No bathtub, had to ask for elevator over and over since staff not assigned to just that. Noisy parties til 3 or 4 am, not counting special event at hotel. Not worth tthe money!!

    Location was near the event.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tiny. About the size of a small bedroom and the lighting in the room was quite dim (even though there were 3 sources of light). However, there was a big window which provided great lighting until it became night.

    Great location and interesting history of the hotel itself. The staff were also very polite and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't like to climb the stairs, it's little hard to go up to the fourth floor. The noise from outside and street can be some problems but it's easy to solve if you wear ear plugs.

    I love the interior design of my room. The art exhibition was nice. It's very easy to take streetcar to entertainment area. The only thing needs to be considered is the noise from street. You may need ear plugs to avoid the noise. You can walk around the galleries and explore local restaurants there. It's a lovely area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed at the Gladstone previously I was shocked by the difference in quality of the rooms. This felt like staying in an over priced dormitory compared to the luxurious feel at previous rooms. Not worth the risk of staying again as you feel like you're playing Russian roulette with a price like this !

    Really wonderful art throughout.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little on the small side (but not overly a problem).

    I loved staying at the Gladstone to explore Toronto. The building, the sustainability practices, the hotel's location and helpful staff all added to my stay being so enjoyable. But of course, you can't go past that each of the Gladstone's rooms are designed by different artists which adds a great sense of adventure and fun to staying here. There's also galleries across the floors to explore, a great cafe and bar downstairs, and freshly brewed coffee in the mornings. And, then there was the incredibly comfortable bed!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect the way it was.

    Location was perfect, in the heart of Toronto's artistic neighborhood; room 404 was perfect, original decor, ultra-comfortable, everything provided; staff was excellent, always helpful; artwork in every noon & cranny. We loved it all.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly. Hotel was very quaint. Rooms were beautifully decorated - small but very cozy. Perfect for a little getaway! Would definitely recommend this place and would for sure stay there again. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room 306 was rubbish, squirted out the top and didn't spray very much, what a shame, that's the only fault I could find!

    Tanner was amazingly helpful with hot tips on where to go and how to get there....thanks so much x Also beautiful long haired blonde girl in bar who helped us use Uber, also so helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could use fridges and some drawers.

    Staff were welcoming and friendly. Decor was unique and creative.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For business meetings the location might be a little out of the way.

    Friendly and attentive yet unpretentious staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what you get.

    The front lobby and cafe loooked nicely restored

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place to be! Ear plugs a must! The evening was hopping, and the morning was tranquil

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are better than others

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: