Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Canada hotel reviews
  3. Ontario B&B and inn reviews
  4. Toronto B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Spadina 11 Guesthouse

Reviews of Spadina 11 Guesthouse

11 Spadina Road, M5R 2S9 Toronto, Canada

#49 of 115 B&Bs and Inns in Toronto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 212 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2019

    7.5
    Location was excellent as right next door to subway with 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although bedding and main part of the room were clean many area's were very dusty e.g. inside wardrobe, corners of room and windows. Room could do with a deep clean. Property is very old and has a slightly neglected feel. With work it could be an amazing place. However, felt that overall we got good value for money .

    Location was excellent as right next door to subway with 2 lines and trolleybus, seven eleven opposite. Cafes, bars, restaurants and supermarket in the immediate vicinity. You could even walk to downtown in about 30 minutes. Busy location so felt safe to return to even late at night as busy neighbourhood. I asked for a quiet room and I got this. Room was good size, with good storage, warm and comfy. Microwave and small fridge in the room. Check in went smoothly although this was the only time I saw a staff member. Use of shared kitchen

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2019

    7.1
    almost perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - pots and pans are unfortunately way under an acceptable condition. Old and badly kept the need to be replaced. They are not healthy in those conditions!!!

    - the staff has been super nice and pleasent during the entire journey - the size of the room has been great! super livable - the check-in has been super efficient and smooth

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2019

    8.3
    Nozomi was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is unbeatable but it can get noisy at night, since there are several frat houses and an Irish pub just a street over.

    Nozomi was fantastic. She gave me the ins and outs of the property and was very bubbly the whole time.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Great value for an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basement - Twin Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is a little run down and in need of renovation but every effort is made to make it comfortable. It's right over the subway, so the noise of the trains and trams is loud in the basement room. No kettle in my room but there was a microwave!

    Excellent location, right next to 2 subway lines and a street car and walking distance from Yorkville, Kensington Market, scenic University areas and ROM. New IKEA beds in the basement room. Friendly helpful staff. Supermarket, drug store and plenty of cafes in a few minutes walk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    It's very noisy but cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room doesn't look as in the picture. There are cheap and old furniture. The floor creaks. I supposed that I would have to share washroom with only another apartment, but it turned out that there was one washroom on the whole level (there are four apartments on the level). The window is on the side of the parking, cafes and restaurants and it was very noisy in the night untill 2-3 o'clock.

    There are two convenience relative to this place. It's an ideal location: the guesthouse is about 10 metres from the subway. And it's a real downtown. Besides that, the price of renting is pretty cheap.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Localization is the best, close to Spadina Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear the subway during night. It didnt bother me, but it can annoy people with light sleep. Microwave in the kitchen was very dirty, installation in general is a bit old.

    Localization is the best, close to Spadina Station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.4
    Very noisy as the kitchen was supposed to be closed at 10pm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basement - Twin Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy as the kitchen was supposed to be closed at 10pm but 3 nights of 4 it was not. My room was directly under the kitchen and so was not good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    2.5
    Low cost...and unfortunately lower quality!!!
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I decided to stay at the Spadina 11 Guesthouse and will NEVER do so again. It was nowhere near the quality of a Ritz-Carleton; putting it somewhere near the quality of a Ritz Cracker is even pushing it!!!When traveling, I try maximizing quality while minimizing cost. While I minimized cost, the quality was also minimized. Firstly, I was struck by the fact that it took two tries calling by phone, before someone actually came to the door to let me in. The room I got didn’t look like the pictures in the website, with paint peeling off the ceiling. I was shocked by the fact that the hardwood flooring was done in a half-assed way. I would like to say that the shower blew in from a KOA, but I think that is too insulting to KOAs. I read reviews stating that the basement room could hear the subway, but it turned into white noise after a while; well folks, my room was on the main floor (the owner called it one of the better rooms), and with the window A/C going fill-tilt and my bringing a personal fan, I STILL heard the subway every few minutes! Spadina 11 Guesthouse proudly displays that it had a rating of 8.6 from Booking.com in 2016. I would suspect it is much lower in 2017!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Location is close to downtown and right next door to TTC :)
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all rooms have AC but fans were available and would’ve been nice to have a TV somewhere for people to share :)

    Location is close to downtown and right next door to TTC :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    Very gentle and kind crew.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property needs manteinance. The toilet tank's intake valve didn't work and water kept running through the drain. I called the crew and they said they needed to wait the owner to solve the issue. The front door area is dirty, full of cigarrete's butts, some trash and lots of weed. The bed was small and even me and my wyfe being short people we were not confortable. When we arrived, the front awning was torn. The overall appearance was so bad the uber driver asked me if we were shure that was the correct addres.

    Very gentle and kind crew. Japanese people. Educated, responsible and orderly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Compared to a hotel, this is much better value for your money since the cheapest hotel was $300.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning was too loud and the bed was sent on an old style wooden frame which meant that every movement came with a loud speak. Overall we did not sleep well because of the two things. Also although clean, the bathroom door on the inside was quite dirty and the fan in the room had not been dusted.

    This place is right beside the tram line/subway station. Very convenient. It's in a bit of a cheaper area, right by the university so drinks out are better than right downtown.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    2.5
    Very unhappy with my stay. Will never go there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rude staff with non-professional attitude and greedy about money. It is not written on the website that they charge you 15 Canadian dollars for check-in each hour after 9 pm and you learn about this only after you book the accommodation. Shabby furniture. No toiletry provided. Only one shower for the whole floor and the toilet is also in the same bathroom. As there is no sink in the room, even to wash your hands you need to wait for other people, let alone using the toilet or the shower. I stayed for one week there and there were many times when I left the accommodation in the morning without using the bathroom as it was constantly occupied by different people. Also the room has a very loud air conditioner - it is not possible to sleep with it being on. The location is not good either, as it is not close to downtown Toronto. You need to take the subway to go downtown.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The exterior is horrid. The kitchen was not horrid but below OK. The room was just OK

    The location is great. For being on a busy street it was quiet at night. The bathroom was mostly clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value for Would recommend the accommodation for those who want somewhere convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basement - Twin Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The air conditioning was a bit noisy in the single room I stayed in. I had difficulty contacting the landlord by cell phone. I didn't have anything else worth complaining about.

    The staff were very hospitable and carried my bags up the stairs and to the taxi. It was located close to the subway and shops. Guest were considerate. The noise of the train was noticeable in the basement room. The showers were hot and great pressure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    The privacy and private shower & toilet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basement - Twin Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go to the shared kitchen for basic cup saucers and no glasses. We had a kitchen but could not boil a kettle for a drink without going up stairs

    The privacy and private shower & toilet. The kitchen and clean linen . Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    It’s location - just beside the underground train station
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks a bit dilapidated. I told the staff to repair the front awning. The cloth cover is torn and discoloured

    It’s location - just beside the underground train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    The staff was very friendly and helped us with the public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ceiling fan in our bedroom needed to be cleaned. Unfortunately our bedroom was just in front to the Pub and the noise was unbearable until 2 a.m. I suggest to bring your towel and pillow from home.

    The staff was very friendly and helped us with the public parking payment. The check-in was perfect. The location is great because the guest house is just in front to the Spadina Subway. The toilet was clean (even if shared) and the floors too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Pretty good given I used three different rooms. Excellent staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above comments.

    If you don't like heat or noise in the summer ask for a room with air conditioning. Or use the board to keep your window open. Basement apartment is lovely but not for light sleepers because of the train noise. Take your own face towels. Studio Apartment had a sink, cupboards and microwave but no utensils or plates. etc for cooking Small shared kitchen available for use. If you have issues with knees book a ground floor room. Like I said it is value for money and great for small periods. I had 9 nights accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Good cost benefit ratio, if you want to explore the city all day long
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basement - Twin Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the rooms were very clean, the complete building has aged and therefore some renovations could be done to make an even better impression. You can hear the metro driving by, so you should be used to noise in the early hours.

    It is a typical guest house as you expect it: There is hallway where you get in, to each side are multiple rooms and the house has three stories. The manager is friendly and helps out, if you have to carry heavy bags or suitcases. The kitchen is free to use as long as you clean up your stuff afterwards. The coffee and tea is complimantary as well as the WIFI and there is even a fridge in the room, if you want to store your stuff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too noisy on the street. And window seems not well sealed. The building is too old.

    Very friendly staff. Super helpful for the checkin and chekout. Can be contacted anytime with extremely great patience. Thanks for their effort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.0
    My single room, shared bathroom was as advertised.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My single room, shared bathroom was as advertised. Unfortunately, what was not advertised were the tiny space, cramped/sloped ceiling, creaky floors, chipped paint coming off the walls, lack of A/C, noisy street,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    11 Spadina Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thick dust on ceiling fan, blinds, and window sills, only one chair which was very uncomfortable, not enough hangers in wardrobe, which door and mirror where held to get her by gaffer tape.

    The location to subway, streetcars, and bus links. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location for a reasonable price if you don't expect hotel comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If you check in after 9 pm, a late check-in fee of 15 CAD/hour applies. Maybe charging the fee after 10 pm would be more reasonable. Also, the fridge in my room was pretty noisy. I did not use it but also could not turn it off without making a big mess. It obviously had not been defrosted for quite a while.

    Perfect location to get to the University of Toronto campus, explore the city or enjoy Toronto's nightlife. College and Bloor St with many restaurants and pubs are in walking distance. Spadina subway station with access to both major subway lines as well as the streetcars to Union Station is literally next door. Best way to get there from the airport: take the 192 "Airport Rocket" TTC bus line to Kipling and get on the subway from there to Spadina. Takes about 30-40 minutes for just 3.25 CAD (2018). Only have to carry your bags for about 50 m on the way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, charming residence.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to take off your shoes when entering the house, which is fine. However, the staircases are not clean, so your socks get dirty. Floors are clean though.

    Perfect location, can’t beat the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    convenient but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public transportation was very noisy. There is a bat with loud music behind the guesthouse. The website claimed the room would have coffee and tea and a microwave, but it didn't. We had to use a shared kitchen for that (not a big deal, but misleading information that helped us choose the place).

    Very nice staff and easy access to public transportation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Simple place beside Spadina subway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great place for visiting Toronto. Spadina subway station is right beside the guesthouse. Place itself is simple, but has all necessary utilities. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Affordable place to stay in Toronto.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little bit dusty in some places, and slightly annoying to have to take your shoes off at the front door as you're coming and going.

    Conveniently located next to a metro station, with little to no noise, facilities were what I needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    If just needing a clean stay with bed and shower ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Requested single room, got big room with large bed, communication with staff on site (Shu) was good. Property in immediate need for some refurbishment around entrance area. No good choice for visitors with sleeping dist. (Metro from below) Perfectly located, close to Spadina stn. and UofT Campus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value and convenient
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located right by the Madison pub and people leaving the pub at 2am we’re pretty loud. You could feel the subway go by during the day but it was too bad. Private parking is very small and awkward as you enter right from Spadina and the lip of the curb is half the width and a post prevents one of the two spot from parking straight.

    Good location so very easy to drive to, use the subway and Bloor st is very close and you can find a lot of good little shops there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.8
    Good location - very close to spadina subway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street traffic was quite loud at times (my room faced spadina). Also, the premises requires a thorough cleaning.

    Good location - very close to spadina subway station. The host « shu » was very helpful and provided excellent service. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    Although the property looked less than desirable, it was clean, and extremely convenient and cheap.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The appearance of the exterior is dreadful. The ripped canvas canopy gives a really run down impression. The towels were few and very worn

    The very convenient location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure to bring ear plugs as you can everything coming from the subway station and when the pub closes at night.

    Staff were excellent. The one lady carried my suitcase all the way up to the third floor. My suitcase was over 50 pounds at the time. I said I would carry it but she took it for me. She's a very lovely young lady. Plus I was able to check in early.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    Good location to explore the city, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole house smelled a bit, either like dirty socks at the entrance or Chinese food in the kitchen. The curtains didn't fully covered the windows so at night there was still light from the street coming in. A bit noisy.

    Location while not central was a good starting point to explore the city. The heating worked when it was cold outside and the money was OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    I liked the place, but don't expect too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shower. Everything was great or at least acceptable in the room apart from the shower (bathroom in general was ok and clean, a bit outdated, but hey, it's not a 5* hotel). Shower was terrible (still it was at least clean). Small and old, veeery outdated. The shower head was nondetachable and it takes forever to wash long hair. Also, it's an old house, so every door and floor makes noise (if you are noise sensitive person or can't sleep when you hear people upstairs, better look for other place).

    I liked the location, near bars and super close to metro station (like 20m close). I got double room, so it was big, not veeery bright, but good enough. Bed was big and comfortable. I was staying there in the beginning of October, so the hostel wasn't very busy or loud. (guests wise).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.2
    disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no adequate ventilation or air conditioning/ ceiling and stationary fan worthless with temp of 89-90 degree weather/sweatshop conditions

    location only/ Canadian population in Toronto city helpful and gracious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling fan needed cleaning.

    Very clean bedroom and bathroom. Very clean floors. Excellent service. Prompt and helpful. I would stay here again. Price was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Won't stay there again-for me, disadvantages outweighed advantages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Refused to forward important phone message-could have left note on desk in room. No place to sit while using phone in hall. No TV in room-needed for daily weather reports. Patio for pub just outside window-while on Tuesday & Wednesday ended early; on Thursday extreme noise-IMPOSSIBLE to sleep-even with window closed-UNTIL 3:00 A. M. Shared bath.

    Bargain price. Steps from subway. Clean room. Fridge in room. Comfortable bed. Blackout blind. Plentiful hot water in shower. Grocery (24 hr.), drug, & other stores as well as restaurants nearby. Excellent security: lock on front door & dead bolt as well as lock on room-dead bolt only usable from inside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Exactly what I was looking for
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I really wouldn't expect anything more. It blew my expectations out of the water

    Super convienent location ( close to everything you need , well by bike everything is pretty close ) great price and friendly staff. Was a really basic room which was all I was looking for in a place to crash for a couple of nights with a rather decent bathroom and shower to clean me up before I carried on .... When I'm back Toronto way ( as I'm crossing Canada on the train right now with my bike ) I'm definitely going to try to stay here again. Thank you again for the stay :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    No frills; great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third floor was hot but A.C. was good. A bit far from the waterfront attractions but public transportation is great.

    Safe, quiet, convenient to TTC station and ROM. On-site parking. Hosts friendly and gracious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    nothing fancy, but fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    weather in city unusually hot for Sept. window air conditioning unit in room, but room was still too warm.

    central city location. steps from subway station. small bar fridge and microwave in room appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    It was convenient to get places with the subway located next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building and rooms were very old. They could do with some updates and renovations.

    It was convenient to get places with the subway located next door.(Unfortunately you could hear and feel every time a train went through.)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Very clean comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Back room overlooked the patio or a bar so it was fairly loud Fri and Sat evening. Would be much better in the winter when patio is closed. Last time here was near the front where the noise wasn't nearly as noticible

    Very clean comfortable room. Good value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.8
    A depressing stay in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hot airless room. Couldn't open windows as they faced the street at ground level. No air-conditioning. Noisy dripping toilet. Bedlinen looked unwashed. Didn't want to use the shared kitchen facilities. Steep steps leading up to door. Key sticks, needs to be manipulated in both outside door and room door. It is daunting trying to open it.

    The location was close to a Metro station and convenience stores, which was handy. Take airport rocket bus to Kipling station and then metro to Spadina station and No 11 is right next door. Cheap ride. Get Metro maps.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.0
    The back of the property faces a noise and popular bar among...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The back of the property faces a noise and popular bar among UofT students that is open until late in the morning. The place needs badly a deep cleaning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Unbeatable location, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no air condition in the top floor room - awfully hot and airless in the middle of the summer. Noisy street, not much sleep unfortunately.

    Unbeatable location, lovely staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Nice location and alright place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's not a fun place. Solo travelers would get bored probably. Also, couldn't get in touch with staffs. Hard to find them. The room and bathroom could have been cleaner.

    I liked the location. it's good for rest your head.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Ok for a few nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. I also didn't like that they charge extra if you check in after 9 pm.

    Location is perfect, very central and easily accessible. Price is reasonable compared to other TO guesthouses.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.4
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was dusty it had clearly been cleaned a few days before our arrival. The bedroom did not have a TV. The communal area was just a kitchen that provided no information or leaflets and there was no TV. The Wi-Fi was absolutely dreadful it only worked sometimes and was very slow when it did work. The outside is not much to look at I was sure it had closed down until we got to the front door and on the intercom you rang a number to check in on the kitchen table. The bathroom door did not lock or close properly.

    The location was great, it had a subway/train station next door to the property. It was very close to restaurants and shops and some museums were walking distance. It had a ceiling fan and an extra free standing fan this was good as it was very hot when we were there. The room also had small fridge and coffee machine in the room. The bathroom looked brand new.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    Convenient budget accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most of the property is clean, but there is a worn out old bath mat in the bathroom. Be aware that some of the single rooms have a sloped ceiling that makes the room feel cramped - you cannot sit up in bed without hitting your head.

    The host is nice, but you probably won't see him often as there is no reception desk. It is like a rooming house. It is nice to have a large kitchen at our disposal. The location is great in some ways because it is almost beside the metro and near some restaurants and banks. I felt safe traveling back at night because I knew it was such a short walk to my accommodation. However, there seems to be a noisy restaurant nearby which keeps going all night. When I was there, there was AC, which was much needed in a small room in summer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2019

    7.9
    Amazing vfm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kinda basic

    Amazing vfm

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2019

    10
    Every thug
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok

    Every thug

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2019

    7.5
    Fine!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot for sleeping at night, The place could use a lick of paint for the dusty and musty feeling

    Comfy bed, wifi, great location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2019

    7.1
    Overall ok for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basement - Twin Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for the parking ($15). Could hear the metro pass every 5 mi minutes with the room shaking a bit.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2019

    8.8
    Location, price, atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was not comfortable

    Location, price, atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2019

    9.6
    It feels like home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It feels like home..

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2019

    7.9
    The propinquity to the subway station was a great invitation to explore Toronto.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    2nd floor room and perilous stairs

    Location near subway

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2019

    10
    The staff was nice and understanding with my request. The price was reasonable.
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    7.5
    Clean and close to work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean and close to work

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    10
    Property was perfect, idea location with a tube station one...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Property was perfect, idea location with a tube station one minute away and loads of shops and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    Locality perfect, close to city and sub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy aircondition, smell from the kitchen, pay public parking, bed wasnt so good, need reconstruction

    Locality perfect, close to city and sub

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent position and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The staff was very kind, the room was clean and comfortable. We went here with our little kid and it was a beautiful experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Luiz Siqueira
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basement - Twin Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room should be cleaned daily.

    Local. Confortable. Quiet. Cleaned.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Interesting stay but for the missing facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non provision of Television in the rooms. Stress of Shared Toilets

    The shining wooden floors

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    It is OK
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location is good,very close to spadina station.safe and quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    2.9
    Will not stay again or reccommend to anyone.
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    4" Mattress, No TV, Dirty SHARED Shower, Right next door to a Subway, Dirty Kitchen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared kitchen is old and kinda grungy. No air conditioning in room, but the ceiling fan did help.

    Very nice room and free coffee and tea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Location, proximity to the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the most unconfortable bed we've ever slept in. The house and furniture is really noisy.

    Location, proximity to the metro station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    It's courtly place and nice people
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    I like service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Okay for the money. Very basic. Had parking for $10 extra, very convenient.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise from street-facing room. Two flights of stairs, although young man carried my suitcase up for me.

    Great location next to subway station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    The location
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sound proof windows, can hear traffic at night and steps inside because wooden floor

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom and no closet

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    The historical aspect of the house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were minor repairs and deeper cleaning to be done

    The historical aspect of the house

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    This place is excellent and the price is reasonable for everyone to stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While I was staying at this guesthouse, I liked everything especially a kitchen, laundry room and bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.7
    nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    sometimes noisy

    friendly staff ,near the station ,supermarket is nearby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.8
    Fair
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is close to train station and easily accessible

    The staffs were courteous and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Spadina 11 Guesthouse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: