Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Helm's Inn 2 stars

600 Douglas Street, V8V 2P8 Victoria, Canada

#8 of 52 hotels in Victoria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 956 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looking very jaded round the window frame. One chair had duct tape on it and base of bed looked a mess, laminate peeling off. Kitchen and bathroom excellent.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrific location-we were able to visit everything easily without the need to hire a car. Ability to organise our own food was very welcome. Some staff were more approachable than others. Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apartment was very comfortable and we enjoyed our trip. Only issue is the carpet near balcony is worn and needs replacement. We would stay here again.

    Front desk staff was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impression wasn’t great, dusty furniture in reception, old tatty furniture then when we went our room on ground floor by reception was very disappointed , it was dark, dreary and depressing. Then went into bathroom and toilet seat was disgusting. All the coating was pealing and cracked! We asked about a room on higher floor and was told they were fully booked. My husband complained again about toilet seat and the receptionist actually changed it whilst we were out!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    someone brought in fried fish, for their dinner I presume, which caused the entire floor to stink. Not the hotels fault, tho.

    very nice room, very clean, towels were a bit thin but still nice. had a street side room so was a bit noisy. close walk to a beautiful park and to downtown area. Parking was convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding on the sofa bed was questionable. The linens had holes in it. That was somewhat understandable, as those can get caught in the mechanism of the sofa bed. But the blanket had dark marks on it. So it made me wonder had they been cleaned for our visit or was it a case of out of sight, out of mind??

    The room was adorable. It was like a little apartment; it had everything we needed and more. No problems with our neighbors; we never heard them. Plus the hotel is in a fantastic location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Patio furniture had bird droppings all over the back, no screens on windows so can't let in any fresh air (lots of mosquitoes)

    location, lots of closet room, fan in room, kitchenette

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift. We were on the 2nd floor. The staircase is very narrow. The outside of the hotel put me off but once inside it was ok. Reminded me of England. Very very noisy AC. Did not feel good about leaving window open as there are signs everywhere warning about thieving. Quite a bad homeless problem in Victoria. Small bedroom - no space for suitcases but having the sitting area did help. Towels were old and worn.

    Kitchen was a bonus. It was clean and quiet. Otherwise as expected from a normal hotel. It is not like one of the chain hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were not changed during our stay. Coffee percolator was not cleaned after use. Reception didn't answer any calls from room.

    Comfortable room and quiet. Great location for sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the 2nd floor and over looked a busy intersection, so the traffic noise was loud and disturbing in the early morning.

    This Inn is very close to the bus station, wharf and other prime attractions. The room we had was large, king bed; which was very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and out of sight in this room. This building is old, but well maintained. It suited our needs well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had no negative issues at all. Lovely, home-like but pampering, utterly charming establishment.

    Fabulous room with sitting room, kitchenette, bathroom, loads of closet space and double bedroom. Clean, well appointed, gorgeous brick terrace, views of park and gardens. The reception staff and management were wonderful - always generous and customer focused. Nothing was too much trouble. The place also oozed charm. A perfect choice for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    3 separate 3 story hotel buildings with steps to enter each building and no elevators inside the hotel buildings. The bathroom was exceptionally small with a very narrow standing area between the toilet, sink, door and tub. The toilet paper was on a roller under the sink which was across the standing area from the toilet. The kitchen sink had a faucet that was very sensitive and came on with a burst of water ejecting that took some practice to reduce the flow.

    A comfortable bed in a separate room; nice kitchen with a large refrigerator, two burner stovetop, microwave oven, separate eating table plus pots, pans, dishes and utensils; plus a loveseat area and small table for watching television. A landline phone was in the unit and secure WiFi access was available in the unit. Offstreet onsite parking, an excellent location behind the provincial museum, only one block away from the Empress Hotel, Parliament Building, and the harbor waterfront area with the city tourist information office, plus diagonally across the street from the 100 plus acre Beacon Hill Park with free parking areas, lots of trails, benches and an excellent children's farm with a goat petting area. Very friendly staff very willing to help carry luggage up the steps to the individual accommodation units.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The climb to the 3rd floor was not real convenient with an infant. The rooms were not as clean as we would have liked.

    Thanks for the coffee/tea & treats. good sized rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    elevators would be nice! Maybe a little breakfast, just muffins and juice in the lobby to get your guests on their way.

    Your location is perfect for walking around in Victoria. The beds were so comfortable and the chairs were too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Floor tiles in the bathroom were chilly, WiFi was spotty in the room.

    Great bed and pillows. Perfect location. Very quiet at night. Welcoming reception, friendly accommodating staff. Strong Shower, everything was modern and updated. Lots of lighting in the room. Nicely decorated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is really good. Quiet, but you don't have to walk a lot to get to the center of the city. There is a museum like two minutes away, and all you need is really walking distance. The bed was comfortable, hotel was clean, and the shower was great (these things are really all I want after a day walking around town)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We both found the bed too firm; which cause sleeplessness for us as we prefer a mattress with more give to comfort weary bones and bad backs.

    We loved the location; especially close to the museum and harbour front to take in the sights. We loved the walking distance to exceptional restaurants like Bubby's Kitchen at http://bubbyskitchen.ca/ where we enjoyed exceptional meals within pleasant walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is not great. Even though, they have overflowing parking not far away.

    We were really impressed with the room. We had a double room with an almost full kitchen (including coffee maker, kettle, a little toaster oven, toaster, plates, cups, glasses, etc.) and the washroom was clean and good sized tub.The location is perfect for tourists since it has everything walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the room is comfortable. During my three night stay, the tenants above me were very disruptive and constantly walking during the night and kept me awake. Despite advising reception (several times) of the situation, the disruption never ceased I was disappointed that management didn't suggest to move me to another room. I have been going to Helm's Inn for many years and I plan to go back. On my next visit, I will request to have a top floor room to avoid any kind of problems.

    I like the location and the staff has always been friendly. I also enjoy having a well equipped kitchenette and the cleaning staff are very nice and caring. It's very convenient as the stores, restaurants, Royal BC Museum, Beacon Hill Park are all in walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a great location for us. If you wanted to be closer to shops and restaurants it wouldn't be do good. But it's a very easy and picturesque walk.

    Great to have a well equipped kitchen to use.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a central location. Always super clean and comfortable rooms. Staff at front desk are like family!!! So helpful. Checkin and checkout are easy and efficient and they always have my room ready way ahead of the recommended time. Parking is cheap and easy access in and out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is always accommodating and the location is wonderful. Our room was quiet and comfortable. A full kitchen is always a bonus and they had ample supplies for an enjoyable stay. This is where we stay when in Victoria and we have had no disappointments.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in had very low ceilings and a very small bathroom. Fine for me but slightly uncomfortable for my partner (he is 6’5). Unfortunately we had a baby and we’re not able to change room because we were on the ground floor and there are no elevators. Only stairs.

    Great kitchenette, amazing value and amazing location. We loved Beacon Hill Park!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting could be brighter in bedroom, for looking in suitcase, but the same goes for most motels/hotels for me personally.

    Large suite made us feel like we were in a home not a hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fridge opened the wrong way and was very awkward. The bathroom windows were very low to the ground and had no blind or curtains. Shadows would have been very obvious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No suggestions; it's great just as it is!

    A beautiful suite that cost less than typical hotel rooms. Great location! Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No issues.

    I've commented before what great value Helms in is. That's where we stay when we go to Victoria from up Island. Centrally located within a short walk of a multitude of attractions and a lot of excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is very small and low Too small and low altogether and the bathtub also too small.

    The suite was beautiful roomy and closed off bedroom with second tv was excellent. Kitchenette was surpringly well appointed and roomy with a comfy breakfast bar. We hope to book this suite for future medical trips to Victoria and especially an extended one for surgery and recovery!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifully renovated rooms that were very well laid out and had just about everything you could want: from a kitchenette to an extra murphy bed. Super friendly, helpful staff and a great location close to the harbour and downtown. One note: if you can't negotiate stairs, this isn't the place for you. Otherwise, I would return in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our rooms was by on the main floor by the front reception area, room 110. You could hear the conversations at the front desk with customers, doors open and closing during the night as tea cups being put away. Also, the room was facing a bus route. These issues were disruptive to our stay. The second floor room was quite. No elevator.

    The room kitchen, bathroom, floors and beds were clean. Coffee and tea at the front reception was nice in the mornings when heading out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I noticed dirty laundry left in the hallways all day by the cleaning staff, not necessary and unsightly

    great location, comfy bed, but very high some kind of water pipes are very noisy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Orange Pekoe tea bags but I am fussy.

    Our room was a spacious one bedroom apartment with large fridge, microwave, oven and stove. Main bed huge and comfy. Television in both bedroom and lounge area. Kitchen and bathroom very fresh and clean. It would definitely suit a family with 2 kids as the lounge is a sofa bed. The Inn is one block from the Victoria Capital City Bus station (BC ferries bus ends there from Vancouver) and a 5 minute walk to Inner Harbour and James Bay supermarket. Beacon Hill Park across the road. It is a home away from home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing though bathroom could have been a little bigger.

    Great little hotel. King suite had lots of room with kitchenette, two TV’s and dining area. Nice and clean, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we initially got in, our room hadn't been cleaned. The housekeeping staff came and rectified it right away so it was quickly a non issue, however with the state our room was in initially it merits mentioning for sure

    Property was great, front desk staff were very friendly, location was perfect!.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking onto a cement floor outside our ground level window (dark room) and being awakened between 5-6 am by high pitch monotonous buzz or humming - couldn't determine what that was. It lasted for about an hour, bur then we were unable to go back to sleep.

    Great location, friendly staff, great decor and price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being older, the rooms were not as quiet as we would have liked. Wooden floors are beautiful but noisy. Nothing serious but our sink had a hair line crack from top to bottom.

    Easy walking distance to sights and restaurants. Building is older but well maintained. Very nice to have a complete kitchen. We had a very enjoyable and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - all good

    Stayed here for 2 nights whilst holidaying from Australia. The staff were friendly and helpful at check in, explaining the parking, room location etc – there are 3 buildings here. Parking car be a bit tight- you are given a voucher to display on your dashboard and if the carpark is full they can give you an overflow parking voucher for the street. The hotel’s location is good, walking distance to attractions such as the parliament and harbor front area. There is also shops and supermarkets a few minutes away by car. Our room was great, quite roomy with full cooking facilities, plus a full size fridge. We were able to cook some nice meals here, a welcome change whilst travelling, staying in hotels for 7 weeks. Lounge area with comfortable couch, 2 TV’s – 1 in lunge and 1 in bedroom, plus a little courtyard outside. The bed was high up but comfortable The internet was excellent- our room had its own internet modem. There were 2 safes for valuables in the room, plus plenty of power points The info guide book in the room was a great addition to help guests. The shower worked well The building our room was located in had security card entry to gain access to the building. On site in the main building was a guest laundry which was great - $2 wash and $2 dry – only 1 machine of each though, so have to time it when other guests not using it, which we did. Overall a great stay, would stay at Helm’s Inn again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit noisy, we could easily hear the TV in another room.

    Great location, close to the harbour, park and downtown. Room is spacious and well decorated, with all necessary facilities provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking space was too tight for my taste, especially when the other car beside you was parking too close to your slot. I am not sure there are enough parking space for everybody but I always managed to find a parking. Since there is no elevator, if you stay in a unit on the 2nd floor and will big luggages, it may be a bit physically demanding.

    Nice beds and beddings. Good size living/dinner room, with fully equipped kitchen. The room size is excellent and a lot bigger than regular motel/hotel rooms. The location is close to most of the attractions in Victoria and a short distance to the beautiful Beacon Hill Park. The Parliament and the harbour are only all within a 5 min walk. Considering the location and the room, the price is excellent an I could not find anything better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stupid “eco-warrior” mentality concerning almost everything. I’m paying a decent amount of my hard-earned money to stay at a good (3.5-4.0 star) hotel and so I expect to not have to buy things like toilet paper and tissues!!!! C’mon, what am I paying for 😡Makes me want to stay somewhere else next time I come out here. Things like this make me even want to stay away from places like Victoria in general due to this so-called ‘sustainabilty’ stuff. If my mother-in-law didn’t live here, I’d probably never be back. There are just as many beautiful places in other parts of the world without this idiotic over-the-top “eco-warrior” mentality.

    Location, location, location. Very friendly staff. Rooms were clean—old furniture, but clean room and a decent bed. Bathroom faucet in our room (#208) leaked like a sieve.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the bathroom could be a bit bigger. I missed a lift dragging my suitcase up to the second floor.

    The hotel is centric; you are in walking distance from Fisherman's Wharf, city centre and Chinatown. The rooms are big and have a small kitchen with lots of equipment. Even if the building is not very new, rooms are renovated. It was also quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was conveniently located. Easy access. Great location to Parliament Bldgs, Park and Museum. Very easy to find and very close to the people we were there to visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't very good, but on checkout we were told that we should have reset the modem - we didn't think of that, so hopefully it was just our issue.

    The room was modern, quite chic and looked newly refurbished. It had an excellent kitchen in the room, fridge, oven, microwave etc with good utensils and crockery. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom had everything you needed, with plenty of hot water and a powerful shower. The two members of the front desk that we met were friendly and helpful. Perfect location, by the museum and a few minutes walk to The Empress. Plenty of easy free parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated. Bathroom could use a refurbishment. Better quality towels.

    Location across from Beacon Hill Park and easy walk to downtown. Good sized room. Kitchen. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Traffic noise was a bit disturbing but overall - great

    Very spacious room with great kitchenette and utensils. Very close to major attractions in Victoria. Great for visiting the Museum!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the toilet and tub were in a separate room down the hall from the sink and mirror. This made a shower and shave and hair dry awkward

    good location helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More bedroom space. Two queen beds were a squash in the bedroom.

    Having facilities to cater for yourdelf on occasions but beware of sensitive smoke alarm when using toaster. Also on our last morning the loo backed up. Staff came immediately but I got the impression that this was not a one-off event.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was completely misrepresented on your website. staff were extremely unhelpful. Room very noisy, trucks revving engines and walls paper thin. No bar, no facilities except laundry. Felt like a dark prison cell. Would not recommend it. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we could have stayed a month.

    Spacious and comfortable. The room was appointed with a king size bed, desk, dining table and chairs and sitting chairs and side table, along with a complete kitchen. Tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation was poor. Bed was unmade first day, and front desk said they would make a note of it and make it next day, which they did, but seemed surprised that they were supposed to make the bed. Bathtub had fungal growth around edges. Room had cheap plastic glasses. Room was mainly in the basement, which meant we couldn't use the outdoor patio which was below ground level, and no screen on the door so we couldn't open the door. Carpets were dirty with long-use stains. Hotel has no food and no restaurants nearby. So long walks of more than 10 minutes to get breakfast. Nothing to like about this room. Place badly needs a major renovation and a place for breakfast.

    Close to BC Museum, Robert Bateman Centre, Legislature and main harbour

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioner didn't work but there was a fan in the room so that helped.

    The bed was very comfortable . The size of the suite was very good with a nice kitchen that had everything to make meals . Loved the little balcony to sit and have a glass of wine after a day of walking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a problem for us, but don't expect breakfast buffet and the like

    Plenty of space with separate bedroom and kitchenette. A stone throw away from the main city sites and shopping areas. Once your car parked at the premises, one can explore most places on foot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missed the coziness of the main building. Did not like the price which was almost double what we paid for a similar room in January.

    Friendly and efficient desk person. Comfortable bed. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to climb the stairs with my bad knees.

    Helm's was an excellent choice of hotel in Victoria. Couldn't beat the location, right by several major sites (Parliament buildings, Bateman's Gallery and Royal BC Museum) and a short stroll to the waterfront walks and piers. Only a block away from the BC Ferry Connector shuttle. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Tea and coffee and fruit in the foyer, and a coin laundry!! Beds huge and very comfortable. Our room had a well appointed kitchenette and a pharmacy, petrol station and 24hr grocery store were only a couple of blocks away. All made our stay the best.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had problems with the TV, but again staff were great about resetting the TV.

    The staff were absolutely fabulous! I had several questions and the woman at the counter was so friendly and patient it is worth remarking on! I'm in Victoria regularly for work and have stayed at many downtown hotels but not one of them has staff as good as the people at Helm's Inn.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift in property and a little difficult with luggage, but Staff were very helpful.

    Very comfortable apartment close to centre of city and public transport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small but sufficient.

    The staff was wonderful. The room was very spacious and clean. The location was really great. Everything that we wanted to do was within walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa not too comfy

    Stayed at Helm Inn on several occasions- ideal location for all the sights in Victoria- at the rear of the BC National Museum and IMAX theatre- very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator to 3rd floor room. Staff assisted with luggage on check-in but only 1 front desk person at morning check-out so had to haul own luggage, cooler and bags down stairs and out to vehicle. Also no luggage carts.

    Good location close to major attractions and facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not have an elevator, it's a four story building.

    This is an older hotel, that has been remodeled nicely. The staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful. Our room was a suite with a full kitchenette, frig,micro,stove/oven. We really enjoyed our stay and would come back. Thank you, Chris for the excellent service and tips!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great-only a couple blocks from downtown. The hotel has parking too...which is key in Victoria. Rooms are spacious-has a sitting area with a table, a kitchen area, and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hand bar to get out of the tub/shower. 3 out of our group is all over 75.

    Easy access to our rooms as two of our party had problems walking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't want to leave. We missed our return ferry to US. You were booked for that night. Had to beg at the Days Inn

    very friendly staff!!!!! nice room and bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like - it was perfect.

    The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The room was spotlessly clean and so comfortable. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While being on the ground floor was a plus, as there are no lifts for the upper floors, the room was rather dark and the outdoor space never got any sun.

    The apartment had everything you would need for a comfortable stay. The bed was huge and very comfortable. There was a small patio outside the room with table and chairs. The kitchen was well appointed and easy to use. Helms Inn is very central to everything, an easy walk to downtown Victoria, Beacon Hill Park and right next door to the B.C. Museum. We had a rental car on arrival but as we were so close to everything, we returned it early.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was difficult to get in and out of. The door opened inward and for htat bathroom size it w was a poor design.

    Perfect locatii. Kitchen in the room helped and it didn't feel like a typical hotel. Very cozy and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not what was "pictured" in write ups. Thought set up was "weird" I would have liked to trade rooms for a "hotel style" room. No need for kitchen. There were three adults and one of us had to sleep on the pull out couch so that took up too much of the room. We might stay there again but only if we got a better room for our three nights !!!!!

    very nice staff. Good location for walking "every where."

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being tea drinkers, the coffee machine still tasted of coffee when we heated water for tea... perhaps a small jug or water heater?

    We had room to move, a lounge area, and comfortable beds. The staff were pleasant and helpful. From the bus depot to helms is just a short walk, likewise to the inner harbour was also only a short walk. Very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner was very loud and kept me awake half night. Only 2 small windows that could open was not sufficient for hot night. My decorative pillow was dirty and was placed directly on my bed sheets. No elevator which is fine if you know in advance.

    Layout of room nice, spacious. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location of this hotel is excellent, just a short walk and you are in the main area of Victoria! The rooms are large with decent sized kitchenettes for some self catering. Beds were lovely and comfortable, I would recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a little harder to find a variety of nearby restaurants that one could walk to, though there were food trucks behind the B.C. Museum.

    As a single traveler, I felt very comfortable and safe staying at this hotel and walking around the neighborhood. I was particularly pleased by how close it was to a number of places that I would want to visit.. Also one bus stop was across the street, other buses passed a block away, and the bus/ferry connection from downtown Victoria to downtown Vancouver was only about 1 1/2 blocks away. For the 4 days spent in Victoria I did not have to take another taxi but could walk or take a bus to most places.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night I slept on a terrible pullout couch. Just awful. They promised to put a new one in. Also we found that room very small.

    I booked a second night at the front desk. They moved us to another room and it was bigger and the pullout couch was newer. Much much better. The staff was so accommodating and friendly. Wonderful people.,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet behind the bed was a little dusty. The hairdryer tried to eat my hair. These things were so very minor in comparison to everything else, which was outstanding.

    The room is bigger than my house. It has a full kitchen. It has a Murphy bed! I didn't try the Murphy bed, but the main bed is extremely comfortable. It's clean (an absolute must) and in a great location, just across the street from the park and a mere few blocks away from the bus stations. Staff are friendly and very easygoing. They give such a good indication and vibe of the city in general; really warm and congenial people. Coffee and cookies are generously provided (and happily consumed).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a set of stairs to access our room, never really easy when you have a stroller.

    The room is clean and it has a nice kitchenette. Exactly what we were looking for. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Ice machine was broken. Not many shops nearby.

    We were a bit worried that there were stairs and no elevator but the check in guy couldn't have been more helpful and carried most of our heavy bags up to our room. The Inn was very close to the waterfront walk and park.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: