Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of High Country Inn 3 stars

419 Banff Avenue, T1L 1A7 Banff, Canada

#21 of 46 hotels in Banff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 900 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    main street location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location as it was on the main street in town and a short walk to shops and restaurants and also the train station as we were catching the Rocky Mountaineer the next morning. The free shuttle bus to Banff Gondola was also only a block away so you didn't have to drive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay in Banff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all great

    Location was excellent, easy walking distance to centre of Banff. Room was clean and fresh. Staff were all helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Trevor the night time receptionist was so helpful to two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being the nearest room to reception we could hear what people were saying at the reception desk.

    Trevor the night time receptionist was so helpful to two tired, hungry travellers ! So kind we called him Treasure ! The coffee was excellent in our room, comfy beds and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    I would stay there again and would tell others of our experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We weren't really impressed with the offerings in the restaurant, so did not eat there. Maybe we would have enjoyed it had we given it a chance.

    I was traveling from the US with my 14 year old granddaughter who had chosen Banff as her birthday/8th grade graduation trip with me. The location was perfect for getting everywhere (we walked back and forth to the shopping area often) and the staff was very friendly, giving us tips on places to eat, sights to see and where to pick up buses and shuttles. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    part of the corridor that was elevated and luggages had to be carried in the stairs. We stayed at room 353.

    Comfortable atmosphere and strategically located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    greet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the high country inn is a greet hotel and in a good location the and is easy to get to the rooms are very clean and a good size and the staff really helpful no downside is the hotel it is on the main road and easy to find the town is an easy walk I would no problem staying their again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at room 353 which was located at the far right and elevated so we had to drag our heavy luggages bec that part is not accessible by a lift.

    Modern furnishings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Good Location, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    We enjoyed our 2 day stay . The superior queen room was large and on the 3rd floor with a view of the mountains. It was very clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. The beds were comfortable. Underground parking was nice to have .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    We were pleasantly surprised with location, close to main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was just fine!

    We were pleasantly surprised with location, close to main Banff intersection, . Accommodation was well furnished, bed comfortable, linens and toiletries high end. Free underground parking a bonus, The staff very informative regarding local amenities, dining and "where and what to see" We will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air con was a little inefficient and noisy.

    Lovely hotel with an excellent location. Room was spotless and very comfortable. Housekeeping very efficient. We were a little delayed (travelling in on The Rocky Mountaineer Train and there was a derailment which caused severe disruption). Called ahead to notify of very late arrival and a note had been made and there was no problem at all! We loved our balcony with its wonderful mountain view. Coffee maker and coffee provided in the room was great and much appreciated. Thank you to all the team at the hotel we would not hesitate to return and highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    nice, quiet hotel, room is big enough for 4, clean, pool and hot tub are fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location to downtown takes about 5-10 minutes, it would be better if it's closer.

    The room is newly renovated, the pool is warm, very relaxing temperature

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    short, but sweet and very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillows smelt weird, and i wish there was a continental breakfast available. it would have made our stay nicer

    beds were very comfortable, but the pillows smelled weird. the pool was nice and warm, and the room was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay at the High Country Inn. Great value for money, clean rooms, great location and very comfortable beds. Our room was on the road side with a mountain view and balcony which was beautiful to wake up to and although we were so close to the road had no issue with sound or lights from outside. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly particularly Mike who did overnight shifts while we were there and Brooke who is new to the position but very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasnt much I didnt like except the freezer left my ice cream unfrozen.

    The beds were comfy and the room was spacious. The view outside the window is amazing and breathtaking. It was nice and clean and there was hardly any noise at any time of the day. It is one of the closest hotels to the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Would 10/10 recommend for anyone who wants comfort at an affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was pretty good. If i had to make one complaint to be picky it was that the coffee was bad, but that's just me choosing something.

    Its was cheap and in a great location. Less than 5 minutes walk from the centre of downtown. I also liked that there was coffee and juice waiting for you downstairs everyday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel for the money in banff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was terrible for a large vehicle trying to turn around to get out. It was easier to park on the street. Having the exit and entrance the same does not work.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint I have is there are no numbers on the outside of the building. When you travel with gps you are looking for an address number Most of the buildings in Banff do not have numbers anywhere

    Staff were helpful and extremely friendly Location and hotel were very good The swimming facilities were excellent l loved it all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Pretty good value of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one bar soap but there were 4 of us staying in the bedroom suite. Of course we could easily ask for more but would be nice to have at least 2?

    The bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Clean, organized and spacious accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking situation for any vehicle that isn’t a car under 6’ wasn’t great. It wasn’t a busy weekend so it was manageable but I can’t imagine attempting it during peak season.

    Room was spacious and comfortable. Enjoyed having a view and close proximity to all the shops on banff ave.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    I cannot wait to come back in the summer!! I loved my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was excellent

    The Pool was excellent heated to about 82 degrees and LARGE with 2 hot tubs that had different water temperatures. The Sauna is outside the pool area and private. There are 3 floors and I did not take the elevator the whole stay. There is coffee, tea and lemon water with orange juice at the front lobby morning. Coffee and Tea all day. The free Parking is UNDER GROUND important in a snowy city. The lighting in the room was bright and very good with lamps and ceiling lights both.The downtown with all the shops, library and theatre information centre etc is all within a 10 min walk. We had a Fridge,coffee maker, Keurig machine and got a kettle and microwave when we asked for them. The television has "closed captioning". Beds are large...we had 2 queens. Bathrooms are immaculate and the cleaning staff will give you extra amenities no problem. WE had a mountain view room...just gorgeous. The curtains are black out for a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Banff is absolutely gorgeous, friendly locals, hotel perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good! Lots of tourists, but that's what we are.

    Lots of good eats within walking distance- particularly enjoyed Coyote's Grill. Convenient parking at the hotel, easy in, easy out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    The rooms were clean, the underground parking was warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was next to the stairs and there seemed to be very little sound proofing. There were frequently people in the hallway, often in ski boots, and it seemed a lot louder than at other locations I've stayed at.

    The rooms were clean, the underground parking was warm. There was also parking behind the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Very satisfactory property on a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no vending machine for snacks.

    For hotel pillows these ones weren't bad, the beds we're comfortable. Great location walking distance from all the best restaurants and shops. Free parking. 2 hot tubs, nicely renovated interior.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Family short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 2 nights in the 1 bedroom suite with our 2 kids. Queen bed in the bedroom but also a second queen bed in the sitting room. Kitchenette was a good size but didn't come with anything (no cups, cutlery, bowls etc) so we had to call front desk to bring things as we needed them, this was annoying but they were always friendly and more than happy to help. The pool area was a hit with the kids. Easy walking distance to the village and many restaurants. Foyer was being renovated, I suppose the rooms are next as they seemed a little dated but very clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    It was just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ticino's the Italian-Swiss restaurant next door. Food was very good; service was horrible. We were the only customers in the restaurant and we were ignored! No offer of second cup of coffee, no napkins, no utensils and very long wait to order ....we were made to feel like we were not welcome.

    Upgrade .... but I had asked for a room that was not facing a parking lot and then we were promptly put into a room overlooking the parking lot!!! The front desk staff was good about providing an upgrade.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One gentleman at the front desk (with glasses) wasn’t very friendly in all encounters. He was there when we checked in as well. All other staff were smiling and friendly.

    Great pool and location. Room was mice and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was large with two comfortable chairs for relaxing. Beds were comfortable. Staff were helpful. This hotel has some room configurations suited well for family groups. Located a short walk from Banff shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and...
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The faucet in the bathroom area leaked around the base and ruined a bunch of things we had left on the counter.

    The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and very helpful with anything we needed. We will stay here again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early and asked if we could get checked in early. They said it would be about 40 minutes so we decided to wait in the pleasant reception area. We were given no updates except when we asked and, each time, were assured that it wouldn’t be much longer. Well, if we had know it would take 3 plus hours we probably would have gone and done something else with our time. I realize we were asking for a favor up front but I would have been far happier if they could have under promised and over delivered.

    Room was clean and comfortable. Great, convenient location for access to downtown Banff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Super affordable clean digs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets were very crisp so not very comfy. Resauraunt wasn’t open when it said it would be. We planned on breakfast there before we hit the slopes.

    Close to amenities. Clean room. Environmentally friendly practices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Superior suite with balcony mountain view was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the back is a bit tight with a large vehicle but got in and out without issue

    Superior suite with balcony mountain view was very good. Lots of room. Clean. Good beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upstairs wasn’t renovated like downstairs. Misleading when you come in

    The rooms are gorgeous and clean! Saw housekeeping staff literally inside tubs cleaning them! So impressive!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Great location and staff, rooms are very clean and comfortable. Restaurant next door is a must!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately we had some loud and rude guests across the hallway. They were warned accordingly but then came back at 3:00 in the morning to once again wake everybody up. The hotel cannot do anything about people like this, but maybe look into better doors that are more soundproof and do not have an inch or so gap underneath. This might make a difference.

    Rooms were extremely clean and staff is very accomodating. Restaurant next door is outstanding and a bonus accessing it through the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    nice little overnight getaway from Red Deer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay was short nothing to dislike

    Awesome location, weren't super busy so they were able to accomadate early check in by about and hour amd a half, staff was helpful and kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed had a huge dip in the middle and I did not like having my room on the first floor by the stairs. It was noisy and none of us slept well :(

    The pool and hot tub were awesome! The pool water was the perfect temperature.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall it was Good for the Price you pay and Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was great, close to the action and shopping, easy access to leave Banff located on the main road. clean rooms, comfy beds, extra pillows, storage for skis on main floor, bus transfer to ski hills out front a bonus! parking was a breeze, pool area average, the staff was helpful, I did not try their own restaurant to review.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable stay
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since my last stay they have taken out the deluxe breakfast, we tried the restaurant attached and was way over priced for our baby sized meal . No joke . Also no gym . Time to find a new go to hotel .

    High Country has been my go to hotel in Banff for over 10 years . And have always liked the clean rooms , pool and deluxe continental breakfast . And good location to down town .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, spacious room, nice pool and hot tub area, underground parking available. Room was clean and comfortable with fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Location was about 5 mins from centre of Banff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    The bed was really comfortable and location perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a room next to the stairs and all through the night people were coming back from the bars and slamming the door shut which rattled stuff in our room . If a slow close door was fitted then this wouldn’t happen.

    The bed was really comfortable and location perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    2.9
    Horrible. Couldn’t wait to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management. Bed bugs. Run down. Skeleton staff which makes it very unsafe and no one around to help. Quality is poor

    They have bed bugs and don’t like to deal with it or get pest control. Staff are friendly but management is awful. Never stay here. Much better in Banff for the same cost.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    We really liked the bed and the air flow in the room. Also, it was quiet for sleeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the parkade was awful--too limited. Door does not open sometimes. Needed to get staff to open.

    Heating/ventilation system was very good--no stuffiness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay, great location, and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially I was given a ground floor room - the room was fantastic but there were no sheer curtains to block view from the car park, which meant I had to keep the curtains closed during the day for privacy. I was able to move to a higher level room - also no sheer curtains but at least outside cars or people don’t have direct view into the room.

    Spacious room, large beds, comfortable bathroom, good coffee machine, quiet and convenient location for catching the ski shuttles and short walking distance to restaurants, shops and supermarket.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay, close to town, comfortable room and nice pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm and there was no thermostate to control temperature. Didn't mention to front desk as we were too busy during the day, but seems like they could have done something about it so do ask if your room is too hot.

    Great overall stay, comfortable rooms with balcony and great view of mountains/town. Pool was nicely heated and the two Hot Tubs as well. Enjoyed them every day after skiing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    The property looks a little dated from the outside and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The property looks a little dated from the outside and we booked late, so were not sure what room we would be allocated. However, we were given a really nice 2 bed suite. All really clean and modern and very spacious. Also great to have the covered parking, given the weather was very cold. Had a great stay, many thanks. Only down side was the sauna - we asked for it to be turned on so we could use it but it really didn't get hot enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    All good except when a customer mentions something is wrong there should be a follow up to why thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mentioned the heater stayed on all the time so we had to keep air conditioning on all the time to get temperature right. No one mentioned the reason why this was happening nor did they offer us another rom. Are all rooms the same? I only mention once because I figure that's all I should have to.

    Beds very comfy and staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    2.5
    DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! Spend ypur hard earned money elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top to bottom there was absolutely NOTHING to like about this poorly owned,run and operated dump to stay!! It was...BY FAR...the wrost "experience" we've EVER had!!

    This has to be the worst place you could EVER stay in Banff!!! Please do yourself a huge favor and spend the extra money and stay elsewhere!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    A good experience but staff are not friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not friendly they need to learn how to smile and be nice. Also the communication with them through email was useless you have to call them.

    I like the cleanness of the Rroom ,comfort of the beds and the location was very convenient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay whilst visting Ski resorts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The restaurant next to the hotel was average and staff were rude. Not a good selection of vending machines for late night snacks. No communal seating area to sit and relax with drinks. Wifi was also a bit flaky.

    Staff were friendly and helpful when asked questions about the area recommendations on place. Room had really really big hot tub, which was awesome after a long day of skiing. The balcony was also a big size as well. Good laundry service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Mid-week getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was impressed with my stay at the High Country Inn. They have done some renovations and it looks alot more modern. I was so pleased with my room, I selected the room at check-in option and was so surprised, it was a beautiful suite with lots of room, just gorgeous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.7
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much noise isolation also the bathrooms are small, no coffee cups or water glasses in room, vending machine ate our money, breakfast in Ticino restaurant was very bad with poor service.

    Location was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Our family had a comfortable and enjoyable weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar soap was available for bath vanity Only one bath hand towel was found

    Bed linens were clean Room was very clean Front desk staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    The staff were very helpful and well informed about the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very helpful and well informed about the area.At the time we stayed the elevator was temporarily .out of order so the staff carried our luggage to the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Clean, newly upgraded hotel. Busses in the morning are loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shuttle busses outside the hotel in the mornings were very noisy and kept us awake. They started at 7AM and didn't stop. Bathroom was teeny tiny. Clean, but very cramped.

    Room and hotel were very clean and newly upgraded- was nice to see.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Room and location were good. Hotel is understaffed so there is typically no one at the front desk.
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one at the front desk to check us in or check us out. We waited for the check in for 10-15 minutes for someone to show up, but had to leave and then call for the check out.

    Room worked for our family. Silent enough and comfortable. When staff showed up or answered the phone, they were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    Not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noisy. The hallways were loud. When anyone was in the hallway it sounded like they were in your room. Got no sleep the two nights we were there.

    Clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Clean room ,comfortable bed, clean toilets very satisfied...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about our stay in the hotel .Brackfast was very good all up I give the hotel 4.5 out of 5 I would stay there again if we visit Banff again.

    Clean room ,comfortable bed, clean toilets very satisfied with the room and facilities Loved the upgrade very helpful staff . Highly recommend High Country Inn

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Location and underground parking is great. Room was cold due to drafts off season air conditioner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer a kitchenette the next I book. Better for preparing little snacks or breakfast. The Ticino restaurant was to expensive for breakfast 15.95 for a standard 2 egger sunrise breakfast. Really???

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.0
    The staff were not very helpful. They did not fill up the water in the vending machines. Did not see
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi, customer service

    The staff were not very helpful. They did not fill up the water in the vending machines. Did not seem to know the answer to many questions we had. The wifi was also quite poor. Our sheets were not changed and I had a blood stain on mine. No room service, the room service offered in compensation which was called “Banff to go” took 2.5 hours to receive our food. The toilet also sometimes would not flush.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    It was overall good. They are doing Reno’s in the lobby which will be real nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sound proof. We were woken up early to people talking. Our room was right next to the elevator so every morning we heard staff in th office talking, people coming off the elevator early being loud.

    The rooms were cozy, view was good, bed was comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No breakfast option, the Ticino restaurant attached to the hotel is expensive and was cold inside when we were there. There is no option for a larger group (15 people) to gather around a fire and talk, the only usable place is around the fireplace at reception, which is small and could affect closeby rooms by noise.

    Location was very close to downtown, room was cleaned every day, wi-fi worked well

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Everything just right
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Expensive due to the holiday season I would avoid the restaurant - as the breakfast is not included, this is not difficult

    Certainly exceeds our expectation. Love the room, classy decoration, great bedding and pillows, the aircon is working properly and not too dry (!!!), friendly staff, clean hot tub, convenient to get on the shuttle to the ski resorts and the bus to the Sulphur Mountains. Particularly love the warm family atmosphere. Everything is just right, would love to stay again! Thank you for the lovely five days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    We liked that the pool was indoor as we were travelling with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked that the pool was indoor as we were travelling with 4 month old twins. The rooms were spacious allowing plenty of room to set up a twin travel crib and all those extras that you carry when travelling with babies.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    8
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The renovations. I reserved this place because of the photos i saw. Was not happy to be there during renos. Everything i saw i liked in photos was removed or covered.

    8

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is conveniently located, about 10 minutes away from the centre of Banff with a multitude of restaurants. Unfortunately the coming and going of hotel guests (especially late on a Friday night in our case) was very noisy and did not make for a relaxing stay. They were also undergoing renovations (which was not alluded to when booking) and the associated restaurant was closed for breakfast though this was not mentioned anywhere in the hotel. None of this in isolation is a big problem, but grouped together means I would not stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.3
    I'm glad I know what to expect for next time, I'll be booking elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under construction, no elevators, dusty, air very dry, underground parking extremely tight, not enough stalls, bathroom so small, coffee not very good. The suite case rack broken, kept falling over

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Room and bed was cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed to not be aware the hotel and restaurant were under reservations. Elevator was not functioning therefore taking luggage up to 3rd floor was abut of work.

    Room and bed was cozy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    You can do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is full of young people and teenagers drinking, partying and being rowdy at all hours of the night. The walls and doors were thin so it was like being in dorms at university. The main floor was uber renovations, like bare plywood and the elevator was out of service, leaving us to carry our bags up flights of stairs. The breakfast was unavailable, the restaurant was inexplicably closed for a few weeks.

    The location is very close to downtown and has free parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.9
    Always happy here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently there is construction and they didn't tell us when booking. Thier elevator wasn't working and we struggled with three kids and a stroller going up and down stairs.

    Close to downtown, accommodating staff and cozy place to stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.0
    We were disappointed. Place was under construction. Room was small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first thing that met us was the construction in the lobby and the cleaning supplies in the hallway. Our first impression was the place looked so shady. Should the website mentioned that there was a construction, we would not have stayed there. Room was small.

    Room was clean and decent. Great location, near the centre. Staff were polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    Awesome Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave In the room!

    The room was spacious and very clean, beds were true to size and also very comfy. Had an amazing mountain view and the pool/ hot tubs were well maintained with a mountain view as well, will come back for sure!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Would be great once renos done! No elevator!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doing renovations!!!!! No elevator!!!!!!

    Staff was great. Renovations being done and elevator broken!!' Had to haul 3 kids under 4 up 3 flights of stairs several times but staff was very nice and quick to help carry anything they could to help smooth the awkwardness.. room itself was great. Clean! Free Parking! On main strip downtown!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    4.2
    Poor quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    elevator is out of used. I have to carry a huge luggage to 3rd floor. Real room is different from what I see in picture.

    Nothing! The worst hofel I will never visit again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    We have stayed before and will certainly stay again, great service and convenient to all down town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to know renovation were going on, and seemed liked the ice machine was down for a bit

    Rooms were very clean and staff was accommodating, although there was some renovations going on and the elevator was down, they had 2 staff help with luggage. When asked for extra towels and coffee, there was no hesitation and they were brought up shortly after making the request.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.3
    The only annoying part was that We were talking at normal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only annoying part was that We were talking at normal volumes late at night after going out, were told that there were no noise complaints but the security guard gave us noise level notifications and then a warning. Walls are apparently very thin.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    Awesome pool area and 2 separate hot tubs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facility was being renovated and there was no mention of this prior to booking only upon arrival and elevators didnt work at the time.

    Awesome pool area and 2 separate hot tubs

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: