Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham 3 stars

300 Commerce Valley Drive East, L3T 7X3 Thornhill, Canada

#2 of 4 hotels in Thornhill

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 309 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable. The staff were not friendly or trained well.

    The location is convenient to all of my go-to places, restaurants, and shopping area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked my hotel I thought I had also booked my breakfast but there was no record of this.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. The decor was beautiful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free breakfast and no shopping centre nearby.

    Spacious room and friendly staff. Free coffee offered in the morning and lime water in the afternoon. Lots of restaurants in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like the Dinner, there were a three things we requested and they had run out but we were not told before we ordered the meals. The bar had also run out of clamato juice for drinks. Disappointing considering we opted to stay in and closer to our room for dinner. When steps away we could have enjoyed a lovely meal out.

    Breakfast was very generous , I liked the idea of the cook making it to order.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in girl, Cherry, was quite rude and unwelcoming; however the morning after staff was excellent.

    The pillows were super comfy! I would have been nice if they had bottles of water in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating system was noisy. The television was sometimes blurry.

    The service was great. Breakfast was tasty. Excellent fresh fruit. Omelette was good too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the temperature in room is low,even though adjust the air conditioner,still can not reach22%

    the location is really convinence,and the parking have enough space,the room has nice view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Deepest Gratitude for a Gold Medal performance in all areas...

    Opulence at the Paris Hilton is overshadowed by Thornhill's Garden Hilton Gem: Hidden in plain sight.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only slightly negative thing was the Keurig coffee tasted bad - maybe stale? We have had Timothy's Breakfast Blend in our own Keurig and it was good so maybe these had been in the room too long?

    The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The location was easy access and free parking is a bonus in Toronto. The room was clean and spacious. The price was reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast should be included, like few hotels around in the area

    close to restaurants, clean, easy drive to downtown, beside expressway easy on and off close to hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant had limited gluten free selections, consequently we had to go out to eat. Room air conditioning was very noisy.

    Room size was very good. Staff were excellent! Internet was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Went to the gym and there was a family there that was letting their kids play in the gym even though it has signs indicating kids not allowed. Its once thing just being in there watching but they were allowing their 3 and maybe 5 year run on the treadmill and elliptical.

    Staff was extremely nice and the breakfast was really great. Definitely worth the purchase.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keurig coffee machine was not clean and the brewed coffee was not drinkable. Furniture, sofa were not in the same quality of similarly rated hotels.

    Staff were helpful. Bathroom was clean (but dated design bath tub, ceramic walls, etc.)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service in the restaurant was not the greatest. Confusion of food delivered to table and breakfast not served as per request. Waiters do not approach frequently if you need a refill on your coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been alittle more comfy but not too bad

    Free coffee and cookies, pool and hot tub was nice too, nice bar downstairs all around great hotel for the money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was given small smelly room, with to queen bed, no room to maneuver between desk, chair & bed. I heart myself with corner of the bed, due lack of enough room between bed & desk. Dirty bathroom, funguses in bathtub corners. This Hilton Garden Inn was totally different from other Hilton Garden Inn locations.

    Location & Parking Space

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast only has the breakfast buffet option for$14.99. We come to this hotel because it is convenient for visiting family. We prefer a continental breakfast. A long time ago there was a continental breakfast option.

    We were here for a family get-together. The bar area has comfy chairs and a lovely lounge area. The room was quiet and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Real milk for coffee in room.

    Immediately adjacent to Sheraton where the Ad Astra sci fi fantasy literature convention was happening. Great service at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee station, need Milk and Cream rather than this nasty edible oil product. Grabbing a good coffee on the way out is important. Save us time and a trip to the coffee shop.

    Nice Gym and Pool Area, good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sidewalks could have been salted as there was freezing rain during the evening. The parking lot was fine, but getting there was dangerous.

    The room was quiet with no noise from the hall or other rooms. Nice, clean bathroom with good water flow. Room was well appointed and the furniture was in good shape. Front desk staff were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We all agreed there was nothing to complain about.

    We booked a weekend at the Hilton Garden Inn and our whole family stayed. Everything about this place is top notch! The staff was exceptionally friendly, which surprised us as we had 4 children under 4 years of age and sometimes it can be a little overwhelming. The whole staff smiled and chatted the entire weekend - couldn't have asked for nicer! The rooms were spotless, the restaurant food was fresh and well prepared and the pool and hot tub perfect for our crew.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I was put in a room that had a broken bottle of perfume or something with very strong smell. Luckily I was able to be moved to another room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No continental breakfast, needed to pay $15 for breakfast. Unless we missed something but were were down there long before 11 as well.

    Great stay, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 2 in the morning they started doing road repairs right across the road from my window. It went on till 3:30. This was not the hotels fault, but definitely ruin an otherwise good experience.

    The beds were very comfortable. There were a good many restaurants to choose from in and around the hotel. The breakfast was fast and delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the rooms could use an update. The shower curtain was ripped and old looking The tub need caulking. The furniture was outdated.

    It was a very good value. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Odd way of ordering breakfast...kind of like ordering your hospital meal - if you've ever been hospitalized for any period of time you'll know what I mean. Unfortunately, the cook got two out of three orders wrong (for our table) - even though what we ordered is ticked off on the sheet. On a more positive note, it was tasty and they discounted our breakfast as a result of the mix-up (without us asking)..

    Clean, comfortable and roomy. The breakfast was good. The waiter in the breakfast area was friendly and fair.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hallway could be quieter if you can stop people from talking on their cell phones there.

    Room is always clean and comfortable. Great location on Highway 7.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk could have been more helpful instead they told me that i need to call booking.com to change my stay from 2 days to 1 day. After a lengthy time on the phone trying to get in contact with booking.com they ended up putting me to the reservation desk at the hotel anyways. Contacting booking.com just seemed to be a unnecessary step in this case.

    Enjoyed the layout of our room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is out of service and no free breakfast but only free coffee!! It's too far from Markham to Toronto,

    We stayed here for 2 nights and the front desk is friendly, the room is clean and beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I made reservations on line and when I got there is was told I was upgraded. However it was not an upgrade. We had reserved a queen bed with a pull out sofa for myself (mom) and 3 teens. We were upgraded to a king size bed. How was I to fit myself and 3 teens in a king bed. I have a daughter and two sons. We had arrived at 2:30am and expected to be able to just jump into bed as I had worked all day and traveled 4.5 hours. We then had to make arrangements to have cots and I had to make beds. I really was not impressed!!!!!

    The room was exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel beds not comfortable very hard matresses no other complaints

    Hotel very nice , location very close to a lot of restaurants . Though breakfast Not included very good full breakfast and great staff service as well

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hotel is located rather far from downtown. The distance might not be much but with the horrible traffic jams it took us a long time to get to places.

    The staff were super friendly and helpful. One of the managers, Mr. Ali Mostafaei was kind enough to print out points of interest for us with maps and everything. The breakfast was great especially the poached eggs made by Mustafa. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. It was comfortable, very clean and convenient. The microwave in the room made it easy for us to manage food for kids at odd hours of the day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Place was clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly. Decor was fabulous. Overall everything was excellent, I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included. Few places to eat in area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was way below Hilton's standard

    Reception staff very professional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought the pool would have had a sauna and bigger changerooms

    Bed was comfortable and rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lots of free parking, friendly front desk staff; walking distance to many restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in person was not welcoming , plus we asked for taxi and got limo without asking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the heater.

    The breakfast was excellent. The waiter was super!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Group
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud hallways at night Housekeeper walking in without knocking first

    Breakfast beat expectations. Nice size handicap room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels provided were less than occupants. Housekeeping not attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service in the dining room for breakfast. Food was terrific. All staff made you feel welcomed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the temperature is low in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating/cooling system had a noisy fan that went on and off every 10 minutes or so.

    Beds and overall ambience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too cold and the controller did not work.

    Serving breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    n.a.

    everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were spacious and the pillows on the bed were cozy with a comfortable bed to boot. :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool could have been warmer!

    The bed was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front Desk I booked double bed but was only one

    Property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast are excellent and tasty. They have very comfortable beds. We will pick this hotel again in our next visit

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a semi buffet idea....was nice! Bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure was not the best

    Bed was super comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping didn't provide sufficient towels.

    Friendly staff and location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff for facilities and front desk service are not friendly at all.

    Staffs for room cleaning are very friendly and done their job.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to upgrade the room to have a spa tub, but they didn't have them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    It was in a great location. The staff was accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast could have been a little better, it wasn't bad but could have been better

    staff was superb, almost like a 5 star hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    THE FOOD WAS NOT AT THE LEVEL OF HILTON

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, quiet, secure, wonderful room, had to study, desk and lighting was perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated but clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay at Hilton whenever I I travel to Florida and for half the room rate a continental breakfast is always included.

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the air conditioner was a bit loud

    the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dirty pair of underwear in the corner.

    Great atmosphere on entrance. Great fitness center and pool area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not ver comfortable

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok

    Convenience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was not comfortable. Sinks in the middle and slightly lumpy (uneven softness and firmness)

    Staff in general and location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was only meant as a layover.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water was coming out when we put on massage mode.

    Overall experience was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One side of the bed was more confortable than the other. Left side sunk in too much.

    Very clean and well decorated. Quiet room Great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was good

    Check in and out was quick

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no free breakfast

    spacious room, clean, wifi, good location, free parking

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no free Wi-Fi. and this is a simple thing that was suppose to give for the guest.

    Was suppose to be King size, But was a Double bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: