Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport 3 stars

2881 Gibford Drive, K1V2I9 Ottawa, Canada

#24 of 56 hotels in Ottawa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were so comfortable. The room was nice and quiet. Breakfast had a good selection and the staff were amazing. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the website for the hotel the pictures showed it had a hottub, which was one of the reasons we went there, but when we got there they didn't have one.When you search the hotel it says it has a hottub,we were very disappointed , as we both have back issues and we were looking forward to it.

    The breakfast was good, nice variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sent here from sister property with two queen beds booking. Made sure to ask for two queen beds. Came back late and figured out we were in two 54" double beds so was a tight squeeze all night for our stay. Should not say beds are queen if they're not.

    New facility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think that the breakfast area needs to be separated into sections, as it would stop all the congestion as son people just wanted items, but have to wait in line for people waiting for toast ot for pancakes, it really would make a big difference for the future.

    We though the place was brand new as it was so clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is overground, so be careful with the snow. The have a lot of teams there, so be prepare to have a lot of kids around. A bit far from downtown.

    Big room, great shower, comfortable bed. Free coffee whole day in the common living room Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and super helpful. The room was a good size and very clean and comfortable. The hotel itself was in a great location for us and was very easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon departure there was an unexpected additional "Ottawa tax" added to our bill. This increased our quoted price by 5%. When we questioned the tax not being part of our quoted price the person at the front desk adjusted the bill for us. Quoted prices should include all taxes for all cities.

    Convenient to where we needed to be in the city. The breakfast included with our stay was good. We liked the size of the room - very spacious. The room was quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink was not draining well.

    The staff was very attentive, the complementary breakfast was rather good if simple. Room was up to date and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we where in , the curtains dont close , so as soon asnthe sun was up it was shining right onto my bed....Room 215..... I found that unusual....Should be able to close your curtains??

    The breakfast had a nice variety..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little loud and noisy, there was a wedding party getting ready, a divided breakfast room might work well in those situations.

    Room layout was different than expected. Sofa bed was separated nicely from the main bed, if I was traveling with more people it would have been perfect. Beautiful, clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Milk in the room for cup of tea. I had trouble phoning the hotel for a shuttle so got a taxi. Found it difficult coming from a country where we promote sustainable living to use disposable plates and cutlery at breakfast.

    Handy to the airport. Late checkin. comfortable bed. Very friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't offer a short stay rate Would have liked some utensils in the room and maybe glasses for a drink

    Very clean, modern, very nice decor, very comfortable beds, small appliances in the room which is very handy, quick and curtious service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was great, except for vegetarian options available for breakfast. I suggest that for vegetarians there should be some cooked vegetables and hash browns for breakfast. Vegetarians don't have option to eat hot food at holiday inn. Like meat eaters vegetarians also need protein. Egg is not vegetarian food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to write here. Everything was great.

    Exceptionally clean room. Very welcoming front desk personelle. They suggested a breakfast to go in the morning because I was leaving before their buffet was to be opened. I ate it in the airport and that was terrific. Good shuttle bus service and the friendliest and most helpful driver. Free Globe and Mail I read on the plane. Nice sitting area while waiting for shuttle arrival.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath plug did not work so we showered instead. Noisy people in the hallway. Airport shuttle doesn't start until 6am on the weekend.

    Friendly staff - we had to leave very early so they got us a breakfast bag to take with us. We thought we had left something behind so phoned from the airport and they cheerfully searched and called us back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was light and airy with excellent facilities. Breakfast was good with plenty of selection. The pool area was nice and clean. The local bus to the city centre was just around the corner and took only 40 minutes. The receptionist was really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was not what was promised. I have booked in advance I was given a price and it was not honoured. I paid a lot more than what the website said. And at the time of registration at the hotel I inquiry about it and the answer was that the prices it fluctuates and they didn’t know anything else. The price was not locked as the lowest as I was promised by booking.com even though they have my payment info filed.

    Staff was kind... place clean...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken step in the swimming pool and no changing room. Bath plugs were difficult to use in bedrooms..

    Very good and helpful shuttle bus to and from Airport. Spacious comfortable rooms. 24 hour tea and coffee in Dining Room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location and spotless hotel, Staff couldn't do enough for us throughout our stay especially William on front desk who was extremely helpful. Would certainly stay here again when next in Ottawa

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We books a suite as we needed beds in 2 separate areas. However the mattress on the hide a bed was awful and we had to jury rig it so that it wasn't sloped. I called housekeeping but had no answer to my message.

    Breakfast was great . The room was clean. Lots of restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toasters in buffet area were very inefficient - took a VERY long time at highest setting to get any/minimal browning on toast.

    Location was great for our needs, staff very attentive and quick to respond to any of our needs. Desk staff able to provide us with very quiet room (always appreciated when close to airport) and we didn't hear ANY airport/plane noise during our entire stay. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea bags in rooms, but tea available down stairs always. Nowhere to change by pool. Bath plug didn't work but plastic cup did.

    Very comfy beds and friendly staff. Nice pool. Good shuttle bus.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Overall experience was great Except for the wifi that I could not figure out all was as expected plus more, eg was able to take out the free breakfast provided which was a good variety

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed where a bit small, feet sticking out

    Cinnamon rolls

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staffs are nice and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were great. Comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the pillows very hard for me.

    Room was very quiet and slept well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean and comfortable, it has the best pillows. The breakfast was consistently good and well stocked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that onbthw website yhwtebis à picture of a hottub and there was none was disappointing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room key is not working and has to wait almost an hour before it was arttended to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nice big room with comfortable bed. good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleanest, carpet is stained and bathroom needs to be cleaner or updated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra blankets would be lovely

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast buffet have very little options to choose, could have kept more varieties to choose.

    room was spacious and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of

    Rooms very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast area convenient and offerings very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were welcoming and accommodating. Quick shuttle pickup to airport also very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all

    Yes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear the planes from the airport.

    Room was great, bathroom was nice, clean. Beds were very comfortable. Hotel was pretty quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beds were a little uncomfortable getting well used

    breakfast was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have loved a hot tub and sauna in the facility

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Proximity to the airport was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaness , small pool

    Parking near Big room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have a lot of Juice options "Very Good"

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger breakfast selection, more fruit

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, well laid out. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com showed me one price for the booking and I ended up paying more!!!

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location and everything available for short distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Continental breakfast in the morning made things so much easier for us! Would be nice if you had a bar

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i have allergies so don't like the idea of carpets but that is everywhere

    Location was extremely important

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price. Too expensive.

    The pancake maker was a cool feature. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How it took so long to get onto the internet and breakfast could of been bigger.

    we liked the friendly staff, cleanliness, facilities, location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold. Very poor quality. Bad service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was cold The beds werent comfortable

    The service was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quiet and in the perfect location near the airport and near our Ottawa family.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle stopped running when I arrived (11:30pm) so had to take a taxi.

    Location and cleaniness

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Breakfast was good but it would have been nice to have more variety of eggs.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spaciousness

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    The girls

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and there were no coffee cups :(

    The location is amazing!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Very friendly check In

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was too hard

    Great staff, good food, safe and quiet environment, spacious suite

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff curtesy , cleanliness of facilities, location and excellent service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains on window did not close, most annoying

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Cleanliness and location plus the comfortable beds!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Were only there for a few hours mainly to sleep. What we did see looked good and I would certainly recommend this hotel for an airport hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows where terrible. Windows did not open. Breakfast was minimum

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My air. Conditioner did not work for the duration of my stay. I lodged a complaint but it was never rectified

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillows were not the best

    good location for a stop over when access to the airport is high on the list.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a nice location close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast poor have no virayte

    Nice small hote clean and nice staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: