Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3 stars

2 Princess Street, K7L 1A2 Kingston, Canada

#12 of 26 hotels in Kingston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 614 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.3
    Tired and depressing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    40 years over due for a Reno. Feels like a super cheap motel that costs five times more than it should.

    the location was very good as the hotel is very old and is built in a premium location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Kingston!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1- The facility was very tired. 2- Pool was not functioning 3- Plumbing antiquated. 4- Entry card problems 5- Parking fee overpriced for a Holiday Inn guest

    1- Location. 2-Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is looking worn for the price. They could use a decor refresh.

    The bed was very comfortable. We also really enjoyed taking a dip in the outside pool as the weather was very hot. The cleaning staff was very helpful and exceeding nice. when asked about breakfast locations we were given great options within walking distance of the hotel .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    Classic bait and switch on price and when I saw the room I felt swindled. Should be a $65 room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was misrepresented from when I booked to when I checked in. It was $100+ more by the time I checked out. I admit I may have not paid attention to the final billing page as somehow the price inflated and I did not catch it when I clicked final selection but this felt like a bait and switch from the beginnind and when I got to the room and looked at what I was getting for the money, I felt swindled.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff was super friendly and the gentleman at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing too serious! The room is old and the wallpaper is starting to peel off. Also, there were a couple of not-so-small spiders in the room, which took us some hunting to get rid off.

    The staff was super friendly and the gentleman at the reception honored my request for a waterfront-facing room after seeing the note in his system, which was a nice touch as we were given a regular room already. Also, we had a nice buffet breakfast at the hotel's restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.6
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had extremely loud music playing outside room at night. Asked to change rooms and was told by an extremely rude man at the desk who said he was a manager that there was no rooms left and what was he supposed to do about it. Horrible customer service!! Also rooms are in bad condition and carpets are filthy!

    Pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    Perfect location but overpriced for the type of room we got .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a moldy smell and I quickly realized it was the shower curtains . They were wrinkly and obviously didn’t dry properly so they had a moldy funky smell . I went to the front desk and told them and they apologized and said they would change them. I went out for a few hours and when I go back they were changed . But then I hear a knock on my door and it was the chambermaid . She asked me if I had made a complaint about the shower curtains .... I couldn’t believe she was actually confronting me . I explained what happened and she proceeded to tell me that they were trying out a new bleach ! I told her that these new ones smelled fresh . Also they were having computer issues when I want to the front desk so I guess the complaint got sent five times and she made sure to tell me that. I told her that I remember them saying they had computer issues and no I didn’t make five complaints. I just cannot believe that she actually came to my door to confront me as a guest in the hotel . Then when I left the room she was still in the hallway and when she saw me , she brought up the subject once again and told me that they were very very busy And doing their best . I’m certainly not one to complain but I did pay a lot to stay in this room and there is no way I was going to let that smell stay in the bathroom and also the bathroom door didn’t close properly so It kept opening up .

    The location was perfect and the view from my room was beautiful . They have a really nice outdoor patio with gas fireplaces so it’s really nice to sit out there in the evening .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Rooms need updating (for cleanliness, not for appearance) but otherwise good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms very dated - carpet didn't seem clean (needs to be replaced) - balcony was covered in cobwebs. The bathtub floor 'sank' a bit when stepped upon, giving us the feeling that it may be moldy underneath.

    Great location - fantastic and responsive staff - great restaurant and patio.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced and poor quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were poor quality/ old fashioned and in need of a lick of paint. We had mosquitos all over the inside of our room. The room also stank of stale cigarette smoke, which as non smokers was very unpleasant.

    Beds were comfortable, location was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of staff (the first one we met) was rude and not receptive, However later the staff were O.K in particular the male staff were more attentive and helpful

    It is comfortable and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Location was key!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service at the Dox was terrible. We actually got up and left because once we were seated, nobody came to us!!! Very disappointed, as we were looking forward to eating there.

    Location was key!! Outdoor pool AMAZING!! Staff was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    A great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's on the waterfront so use insect repellent when out and about in the evening.

    Great location for exploring Kingston and great facilities for when you just want to relax. Helpful informative staff, ask Heather for local places to visit and Mary makes a great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall, we had a fun time in Kingston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn’t get a view of the water. We asked the front desk for more coffee but were never given extra coffee even though we were told that someone would be up to give us some more.

    Closeness to the waterfront. The staff at the restaurant were great for substituting food for my friends food allergy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Not all rooms are equal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the shore end of the building and we didn't get a good view of the harbour. I asked to change room but was told yes but at a significant price increase.

    Good location and convenient parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.0
    Great location but definitely needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very dated & bathroom needed some much needed work. It has gone downhill from previous years staying here.

    Great location though right on water in downtown core. Live music on the patio on weekends

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    Done in previous answer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well i asked for a floor with a view we were stuck on the 5 th floor in a corner really couldnt see all water only a little. Curtains didnt close needs to be updated screen didnt open or close on patio door the attitude of lady upon checking out wasnt nice also stayed we could use debit card and actually did charge our cards which we didnt want. For the price of room not worth it

    Walking around the area close to water

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Very. Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tha out door pool wasn’t fixed

    The staff are great I went with 2 babies 5month 6month the staff were great the 2cribes were in the room so clean gave me jugs of hot water I needed to make bottles everyone always had a smile for you early morning late at night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Great Location but over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are old, and our bathroom and balcony doors were falling a part and hard to use. When our faucet handle broke the staff was very quick to fix the problem. They did start their clean up at 8am which was unfortunate as it woke up everyone.

    The staff were absolutely wonderful and very helpful. They were quick to solve the issues in our room and provide us with the items we requested. The location was right in the center of downtown and a short walk to a number of restaurants and stores.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were too small I can pay same price and get better room in different hotels. They said lakefront and could not see anything. I booked it three months ago and got a very tight room not happy at all

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the waterfront location and the comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV cut in and out, at times no reception at all. Tub plug did not work and could only shower. No microwave. Ceiling stucco is not in good shape.

    The bed was excellent - very comfy! Good view of the waterfront.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    The king bed was amazingly comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a room over looking the water and I got a room that overlooked half the parking lot and pool and I did see the water but not what I expected

    The king bed was amazingly comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    We had an amazing time and would love to visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was small the pool there were pieces fallen of it the bathroom was to far from the pool the juzzic was to hot and paying for parking

    The breakfast was awesome the staff always says good morning the room was cozy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Holiday Inn is run down, dirty and stinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room rate you gave me was miss leading. First night rate you gave I thought was the room rate for the next 2 nights. The rate for parking you gave me was incorrect and I was informed that was last years room rate. I am very disappointed with Booking.com and because of the miss-information I will no longer use your services.

    the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not a included continental breakfast. There was not that much selection for breakfast items.

    The room was adequate. The view of the water was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    The ladies serving breakfast are very nice sng friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids are not happy because we requested two rooms will be next to each other. The one in the front desk who help us kind off not friendly . The way she talks .

    The ladies serving breakfast are very nice sng friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location by the lake, with a view, and downtown...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No help with my luggages from the car to the room. Although the weather was warm and beautiful, the access to the terrace was closed.

    Excellent location by the lake, with a view, and downtown Kingston. Walkable distance from restaurants, boutiques, historical sites and more. Friendly staff and welcome drink with snacks that were greatly appreciated after a long travel. The quiet room was also very important.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.0
    Not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains did not come all the way across the patio door. The light shone in the room all night and it lacked privacy. Having to pay for parking as a hotel guest is ridiculous. The hallway noise was loud and the bathroom needed a deep clean. For the money...i wont stay again

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    Hotel rooms in urgent need of renovation - I will spend more money and stay elsewhere than return.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in room did not work. Advised front desk and went to bar to wait - it was the Maple Leafs playoff night! Waited for an hour in bar went back to front desk to check on status and the maintenance fellow still had not been advised- so back to bar to wait another 40 minutes. TV was fixed and able to watch rest of game in my room but when I went to change channel TV lost all reception again. By this time it was too late at night so phoned front desk simply to advise them TV was broken again. In the morning the lady at the front desk was not at all sympathetic to the disruption this had caused and in fact implied it was my fault I didn't let maintenance back into the room at 11pm to fix the TV for the second time. While the rooms are "clean" as in no dirt on floor it is a very worn out hotel in urgent need of renovation

    The bed was comfortable. The lady at Dox bar was excellent and the mushroom bruchetta was great value for money, delicious and piled high with mushrooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.0
    Avoid at all cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    For the amount of money should have had free breakfast...will never go there again and will tell everyone that I know on facebook and family and friends. What a rip off !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    I didn't like the fact that it was non refundable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that it was non refundable. Because of the ice storm, we were unable to drive from Belleville to Kingston . Out of ur control. We not only missed the concert but had to pay for the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely I’m sure in the better weather Bad storm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee not hot enough. Not enough staff night of concert Got a little better later on. In the restaurant

    Nice and friendly. Good waitress first morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    stay was good, but they need to upgrade their rugs and cleanliness..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    that there was a bug found on the bed and immediately called front desk. we were changed to another room. this just simply should of not happened

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.8
    Very unhappy about accomadation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As stated above. Accommodations. Not promised as book handicap room with 2 double beds

    This is a dislike about the room. The was only one double bed. We requested 2 double beds. I guess the pullout chesterfield was too count. Double was one of the high ones. My husband has Parkinson’s. Very dangerous trying to climb in and out and have you ever tried to sleep on a pullout. Hard on seniors hips\knees trying to get out. Not happy with what was suppose to be a handicap room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed the hotel and especially its location but found the price quite high per room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we realised we had to pay for parking we felt $20 was expensive.

    The room we had was large and well equipped. We were able to check in one hour before check in time which was appreciated. The location near to the downtown and water is excellent. Offering balconies is a positive. We paid for breakfast in our room rate and it was excellent and in a waterfront dining area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t know there was going to be a bunch of kids there for some sort of tournament. I know the hotel can’t decide who stays there but going to the pool after a romantic day would have been much better if there wasn’t 30 kids running around taking up the whole space until it closed.

    The room was beautiful and the staff was super nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms are small. Fitness centre well equipped but no towels present in the pool area or fitness area to use.... Temperature in the fitness centre/pool area was too hot

    Rooms are clean and nicely furnished. Beds are comfortable. location is great and central.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    Not worth $179 a night, they don’t offer robes or slippers...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth $179 a night, they don’t offer robes or slippers to go to the pool, the picture on the tv kept going black as we were trying to watch, the beds were so uncomfortable, couldn’t get a good nights sleep and kept getting woken up with loud bangs. For $179 a night I was expecting a lot more!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Booking.com doesn,t give you options on what floor you will be on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the second floor was not as anticipated.Re: fire works display .I will not use Booking.com again because you have no option on what level you would like to stay to see the view.All the years I have stayed in hotels I never had to pay for parking.

    Rooms are clean but starting to get tired.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old dirty carpets. A room we stayed in last summer actually had several rips in the carpet.

    I love the location. The outdoor pool and the indoor pool are great because we have grandkids in the area and they come see us at the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    The biggest draw to this hotel was its proximity to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The biggest draw to this hotel was its proximity to downtown. We didn't want to move our vehicle once parked. The nice surprise was our view to the east over the harbour! Fabulous views of the court house, etc., in the downtown. We will return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Great location and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Clean room, very comfy bed! Very courteous staff when we checked in and answered all of our questions. Great location in the downtown core and loved our view from the balcony of the water and the Wolfe Island Ferry

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.3
    All we heard till 3am was loud music coming from the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All we heard till 3am was loud music coming from the bar. They did not offer us another room or any options to accommodate. There response was there was nothing they could do. Never again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    Filled out their card to have selected breakfasts brought to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filled out their card to have selected breakfasts brought to room. Hung card on the door nob as instructed. It was still hanging there in the morning so no breakfast. We ate elsewhere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, courteous staff along with clean facilities at great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay $17 parking fee on top of room cost of $200+. Felt that was too high for less than 24hrs.

    All staff extremely friendly, courteous & helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    Good
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness area and bathrooms need and upgrade. For the price paid would have been nice to have breakfast included.

    Great location Comfortable rooms Good food in restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    It was a bit pricey for my budget but I wanted to take my granddaughter on a 3 day vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Internet was intermittent.

    I loved the pool. We swam and hung out every day by the pool. It was cool and windy outside and tropical inside with a clean lovely pool. Zoe is 3. I am 70. A perfect Nana holiday. Thank you. Everyone made us feel super welcomed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay and will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub needed more TLC. You could see the ring of soap scum

    The bed was really comfortable. It’s important to us to have a good night sleep in a comfortable bed when we are away from home

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Near restaurants, nice view, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building with old bathroom fixtures. Bathtub water didn’t drain, it was like standing in a reservoir during shower. There’s no fan in the bathroom. For 2 days in a row, fire alarm went out for about 15 minuets. That was 8am!!! Staff advised opening windows would help.

    Near restaurants, nice view, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    3.3
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything else about this hotel is just TERRIBLE. We paid more for a room with a view and the receptionist gave us a room with half the parking view and hardly seeing the water when I told her I paid more for a view she said "Booking.com is not my problem" and gave us an ultimatum either take the room or a full view of the parking !!, very rude. They made us pay for parking $17/day which we didn't know about from booking.com!, the cleanliness of the room is below zero we had spider webs in our room (Yes in the room on the walls and behind the chair and desks), the balcony was filthy we couldn't step in it, the carpet had stains and the chair looked like someone peed on it. The bathroom was also not very clean but okay and the pool was also okay. This hotel is way overpriced for its amenities and current rooms. I am not sure if I should be angry at Booking.com or Holiday Inn, it seems they are giving their worst rooms to booking.com and do not honor the reservation details you made on the site.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    Subpar anniversary experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dirty, room was not super clean. It had dead bugs or dirt smeared on the ceiling. Restaurant was dirty also. Cobwebs in the corners and chairs were in need of reupholstering. The staff were not as friendly as I hoped for and the room was expensive. Overall it was a fair experience.

    Really enjoyed the convenience of being downtown and on the water. But that is about it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    not impressed, overcharged
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to sleep on a pull out couch (rooms flooded), asked the manager for a night and asked what can they do to accommodate this mess up, only given free breakfast.... will jot be bookong my 5 consecutive weeks of accommodation in Kingston for work. They also charged me multiple times and now I have to call back to fix that too.

    Location was good, morning andvsome staff were helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Our stay was most enjoyable and will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was low.....very little water came out.

    The breakfast buffet was excellent. The bed was super comfy!! Last but not least....the staff were friendly and very helpful. Definitely will return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.3
    A nice hotel on the waterfront but the building could use some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi kept cutting out on us or it was spotty. The bathroon didn't have a fan and it got really steamy when we showered and the room was humid.

    The balcony on the waterfront was awesome! Kids eating free at the restaurant was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Great stay and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small complaint was the water in the indoor Pool was freezing and hot tub jets don't work Well

    Everything about this hotel was so convenient The hotel room was clean, beds were very Comfortable and staff were very helpful With suggestions and directions etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.8
    sad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid and parked the car in the parking lot in front of the Hotel, but the bicycle was stolen at that night, nobody in the administation office of the hotel would like to take responsibility.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    It was ok loved the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in our room was really bad. It smelled like there was a party of smokers in the room or it could have been mold smell. I did not sleep very well due to the smell.

    That it was easy to get at and close to the events we were taking part in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    this hotel is certainly not what you would expect from a holiday inn the first floor is in dyer need of upgrades the walls are full of scracthes some tiles fell off the walls in the pool area and were still on the floor where they fell the pool was ice cold the carpet in my room as well as my friend's room were full of stains (most likely from dogs) it was discusting

    the location is good the staff very good the beds comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    When we first arrived we were given a room on the first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived we were given a room on the first floor room 102. It's wasn't what I had in mind for a room location and to be quite honest we were very disappointed. I spoke with the people at the front desk requesting an upgrade as we were staying for 3 nights and really wanted an experience we could remember with fond memories. Much to my surprise and delight there was a cancellation and we were upgraded to a room on the third floor with a magnificent view over looking the marina and st Lawrence River. It was a wonder experience for both my wife and myself. Thank you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Most enjoyable & well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool surrounds & lounges & towels need upgrading urgently

    Great location & guest laundry facilities werexa bonus for us after travelling for done tine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We'd planned to have a 2 night, 3 day romantic get-away and were very disappointed by the lack of comfort at this hotel. We felt like we were staying in a cheap motel. Bathtub wouldn't stay filled (metal plug was broken), shower head didn't work properly. Ceiling of the room had been patched and only partly painted with a slightly different color of white paint so it looked terrible, deep cut in the wall, poor lighting, room not soundproof (you can hear every word said in the hallway and all of the doors opening and closing all night). View was ok, but mostly of the pool and parking lot than the river. (I'd asked to change rooms as soon as we saw our room and our view but they said they had nothing else available). There were so many little things that went undone and added up to a very bad impression. Ex. Indoor pool not heated, Towel bin at the pool was full to overflowing and not changed, Soap dispensers at pool showers were always empty. Parking was added on to the bill: $17 a night! We won't be back.

    Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    very good location, in the heart of the city and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was extremely cold inside the hotel, in the lobby area . Why do they need to put the airconditionning system to 18 Celcius???

    very good location, in the heart of the city and close to the boats departures. Good breakfast and pleasant swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel and a perfect location for exploring Kingston on foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small for a family of four.

    Brilliant location for exploring Kingston and the indoor and outdoor pool was good for the family. Breakfast choice was fine - and even pleased our fussy kids.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was within walking distance to the activities we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay extra for parking and breakfast was not included.

    The hotel was within walking distance to the activities we wanted to access. And the waterview from the balcony was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    We will nto be back. Stop charging for parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is ovepriced and in need of a renovation. It does not meet the standards of other Holiday Inns yet is higher priced. Coffee maker did not work - could not adjust the thermostat nor open the door due to holes and rips in the screen. The bathroom door did not close properly nor did the fan work.

    appreciated the make-up mirror and the pool although there were no towels on Sunday

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    Lack of cleanliness on outside of hotel, restaurant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of cleanliness on outside of hotel, restaurant and rooms are ok but could be better and especially the balcony... Despite the note that says hotel is at the merci of pigeons, they should still take time to clean the balcony and show that they care for their customers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Overall I would recomend this Hotel for a wonderful stay and location in Kingston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had difficulty signing in to wifi in our room. Our friends in the next adjoining room had no issues with the wifi. It seemed to just be our room. We also waited along time for service at the bar and restaurant more than once.

    Check in was easy and efficient, as was parking. Location was perfect and loved the room with a balcony and water views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location with most things in walking distance or less than a 5 min drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little expensive for an outdoor lot.

    Waterfront location is very nice. About half the hotel has rooms over the water. If you have mobility issues I'd request a room close to the elevator as the hotel hallways are very long.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    In fairness, i cant generalize the bad experience because the restaurant staff are very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    check in was so poor. The reception(kathryn) was notvvery accomodating. Seems like all the request i made was not even considered. I felt like if you disnt book directly from them that they will give you least priority. I intend to email the managee to give a full feedback. I requested for a lake view and was given room on the 2nd floor with a swamp bybthe balcony. We opened our balcony door and was welcomed by smelly stagnant water, cigarette butts and cofee cups dumped on it. I requested if we can move to a higher floor and i was told they can just give us a parking lot view. However, when i was in the cront, they were able to give a lakeview to a walk in couple. I am very disappointed.

    We like the DOX restaurant, good food, good serving and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.8
    I have stayed there seversl times in the last 15 years and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed there seversl times in the last 15 years and the rooms have not been upgraded and it really shows. With parking the bill came to 347.00 for the night for crunchy room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable time slurping wine on the outdoor patio!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed overnight for 1 night so is don't have any negative comments to add to what I've already stated.

    Bed was so comfy it was like sleeping on a cloud!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    what a vibrant town, will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing that was not great was the cleaning of the washroom sink, there was mold under the lip of the counter were it meets the sink. makes you not want to clean you face and teeth in it.

    Kingston is always a nice place to go, we enjoy the activities that we can do in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful view of the marina from the balconies as well as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't smoke on the balconies and the only smoking section was next to the parking lot. I thought this was impolite and would have apreciated at least a smoking section near the terrace outside.

    Wonderful view of the marina from the balconies as well as restuarant terrace .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    had a fantastic stay in kingston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too over priced, facilities could be updated

    liked the location, friendly staff, but inconvenient princesss st closed and no one infomred us when we came so had to drive around to find parking. also buffett breakfast was delicious, hotel is very clean but could be updated somewhat, and I thought it was overpriced

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Left in a hurray my daughter was afraid even though the fire alarm was only in our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm went off twice while my daughter was in the shower scared her half to death and all she wanted to do was go home. Wrecked our whole 2nd day. Went home that morning which we didn't intend on doing. I don't think when we visit Kingston which we do often that my daughter will want to stay there again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    That its right on the water and the restaurant was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our heating/air conditioner was broken and had some noise.

    That its right on the water and the restaurant was very convient for breakfast with outdoor seating!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: